"Contract" my ass
Funny how I signed up for a 12-month "contract" and it kept going even after the 12 months were over. Got almost $200 in extra BS cuz I figured 12 months meant it was done after 12 months if I didn't renew!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Wyoni from Grand Prairie, TX on October 31st, 2020
Beware fruad/Cheaters First choice power
I gave all my details with proper verifications including SSN I got energy and used for 10 days , then all of a sudden 1 fine Saturday morning they have disconnected my power from my apt. I called customer care which was another nightmare the worst customers service ever. After talking to few agents several times finally i got to know the reason that they need my License no. I mean seriously when at times of giving connection they took my SSN at same time why they did not ask for License no. And due to this they discontinued my service and disconnected my energy without any prior emails, mails or any telephonic conversation just gave me surprise on Saturday morning where I was out for biking and my son and my old parents were at home and they informed me abt the situation. It was worst situation for them . I requested customer service that i will do needful once I reach home as my License was at home , till then plz switch on my lights but they hang up on me saying we cannot do until they have license no. I mean seriously this way this company works .
This is really fraud company runned by all goons and cheaters.
I will keeping spreading bad reviews abt this company FIRST CHOICE POWER in all platforms .
I will not recommend this company at all . If you love ur family behind you once you go out then dnt ever trust this company anytime they will disconnect your line .
BEWARE FRAUD CHEATERS COMPANY .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Vb from Houston, TX on September 26th, 2020
Fraud/Cheater light Company in Texas
I gave all my details with proper verifications including SSN I got energy and used for 10 days , then all of a sudden 1 fine Saturday morning they have disconnected my power from my apt. I called customer care which was another nightmare the worst customers service ever. After talking to few agents several times finally i got to know the reason that they need my License no. I mean seriously when at times of giving connection they took my SSN at same time why they did not ask for License no. And due to this they discontinued my service and disconnected my energy without any prior emails, mails or any telephonic conversation just gave me surprise on Saturday morning where I was out for biking and my son and my old parents were at home and they informed me abt the situation. It was worst situation for them . I requested customer service that i will do needful once I reach home as my License was at home , till then plz switch on my lights but they hang up on me saying we cannot do until they have license no. I mean seriously this way this company works .
This is really fraud company runned by all goons and cheaters.
I will keeping spreading bad reviews abt this company FIRST CHOICE POWER in all platforms .
I will not recommend this company at all . If you love ur family behind you once you go out then dnt ever trust this company anytime they will disconnect your line .
BEWARE FRAUD CHEATERS COMPANY .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

VB from Houston, TX on September 24th, 2020
Dont get Services with First Choice Power
Custom Services was poor, didn't solve my issue .Do not choose them for your light company service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carolyn Yarbough from Houston, TX on September 21st, 2020
If you pay late , prepare to be charged an additional $50 in fees
I paid my bill late, it happens, but I was charged an $18.95 late fee plus a $29.95 collection recovery fee. I was never disconnected and I paid the bill 7 days prior to the date on the disconnection notice. If a person has to pay late, do you really think charging almost $50 in fees will help the situation??? This is just another form of price gouging and a completely predatory practice in a time when money is scarce for alot people.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tamasha Harris from Watauga, TX on September 14th, 2020
Terrible!
Horrible company!! They do not properly communicate how their trash billing cycle actually works and will disconnect your services...in the midst of a pandemic where millions of people have lost their jobs! There a lots of hidden fees and the bill you receive isn't exactly what they have in their system. This is a sad excuse of a company and I do not recommend them to anybody. Their call center is located in Central America so how can communication not get mixed up? My service is in Houston, TX and there is no one locally that I can contact. Their supervisor in Central America (Oscar) was of absolutely no use. Heartless, unsympathetic, and very nonchalant. Ive never had a problem with this company until this pandemic started, and this is the time that companies like that should be more understanding and proactive. Im very disappointed.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Vivian Okere from Richmond, TX on September 11th, 2020
HARASSMENT
I am ill, following cancer treatments and while I like the company and pay my bill regularly without fail. I feel I am being harassed and loosing sleep. Beginning Wednesday 8/26/2020 I have received the exact same TEXT over 23+ times. I appreciate them providing guidance on preparing for storms, however I don't understand why I have to receive that information that many times. Then to call in and get asked questions they don't even ask when you have real problems of unconcern just to get the text that ran all night at 3am, 4:25am, etc to Stop is rediculous. Then to continue getting them after calling in and their closed for the day, means I have to vibrate my phone to get rest, when I have elderly parents who could have an emergency is wrong. HELP me please.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sick And Concerned from Houston, TX on August 27th, 2020
Horrible
Website doesnt work so I cannot access my account information. I cannot get ahold of anybody to figure out my billing and account information. Don't use this company? I would call it fraud.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bob from Temple, TX on August 7th, 2020
Bait and Switch
Used the powertochoose.org web site and selected First Choice as the lowest priced provide. Went online and signed up, was called by a supervisor who said she needed additional information, and when I gave it to her she said all ood, got the plan I signed up for, but rather quietly quoted a higher price (classic bait and switch). When I questioned it, she said since the order was not completed online, I could not get the online price. I am guessing most orders get the supervisor call. Told them to cancel the order.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Elmo Blount from Hickory Creek, TX on June 19th, 2020
Complaint
Staff does not explain procedures well. Energy company refuse to extend ur bill 2 days after it is due and you pay them on time all the tine. Don't switch companies to these people because I went from a 124.00 bill to a 455.00 in a month with same people living in house. Rip off mostly. Apply switch holds on account so u want switch companies.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Leslie from Grand Prairie, TX on March 11th, 2020







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for First Choice Power are the order experience, rated at 2.7 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.5 of 5.
5 Stars
16%
 
4 Stars
7%
 
3 Stars
4%
 
2 Stars
12%
 
1 Stars
60%
 
2.5 / 5
Overall
2.5 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
2.7 / 5
Order Experience
2.3 / 5
Customer Service
2.5 / 5
Billing and Account Management
2.3 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About First Choice Power

First Choice Power was the retail electricity arm of Texas-New Mexico Power (TNMP), one of the five Transmission & Distribution Service Providers in the state of Texas. In 2001, they spun off from TNMP to focus solely on retail electricity service. In 2011 they were purchased by Direct Energy.

Direct Energy is the largest competitive retailer of energy and related services in North America. With operations across Canada, Texas and the north-eastern United States, Direct Energy delivers $8 billion of energy and related services to over five million residential and commercial customers. They operate generation assets, as well as retail electricity services in multiple states across the US.

Direct Energy is a member of Centrica, group of companies provides energy and other services with more than 32 million customer relationships.



Recommended Electricity Plans