Reviews Overview
The best review categories for First Choice Power are their plans and pricing, rated at 1.9 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 1.9 of 5.
5 Stars
12%
 
4 Stars
6%
 
3 Stars
3%
 
2 Stars
9%
 
1 Stars
70%
 

Recent Good Review from Carolyn

First Choice Power
Well, I have only had the opportunity to pay only one month because I have just started working with them. But so far so good, I feel I have saved a lot more money with this company as with my previous provider,but we shall see, got a full month with using my AC all month .to be continued..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carolyn from Lancaster, TX on June 26th, 2021
Welcome to First Choice Power, Carolyn. We are honored to have you as part of our family. Glad to know that you found the best plan. Thank you for taking the time to leave this fantastic review. Have an amazing day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— First Choice Power


Our Analysis of First Choice Power

Innovation
3.2 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Complaint Resolution
3.0 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Plans & Products
2.8 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Community Outreach
1.6 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Market Perception
1.5 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Rewards
0.0 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

22 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
First Choice Power
Well, I have only had the opportunity to pay only one month because I have just started working with them. But so far so good, I feel I have saved a lot more money with this company as with my previous provider,but we shall see, got a full month with using my AC all month .to be continued..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carolyn from Lancaster, TX on June 26th, 2021
Welcome to First Choice Power, Carolyn. We are honored to have you as part of our family. Glad to know that you found the best plan. Thank you for taking the time to leave this fantastic review. Have an amazing day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
My experience
I was very easy to switch over online!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stacie Strebeck from Caddo Mills, TX on December 2nd, 2018
Thanks Stacie! We are glad to hear your experience online went well! - Allie
— First Choice Power
My experience
Since I have switched to this company I am overwhelmingly pleased with the service and rates that I have. There were no hidden fees and the bills are really low in cost compared to the previous company that I had!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alicia Williams from Freeport, TX on August 23rd, 2018
Yay! We are so glad to hear you are happy with our company! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. -Allie
— First Choice Power
The Best
I have been approached many many times by other vendors to change from first Choice Power. I have been with this company at least 40 years and I have not found any reason yet to change. Reliable, dependable service and customer service is always available. ( a human being)
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sweet Jennings from La Marque, TX on August 16th, 2018
Words cannot express our happiness that you have stayed with us for so long and have been so willing to tell others about your experience at FCP! We truly appreciate your loyalty and are here to help with any questions or concerns that you may have in the future! Thanks again for such an amazing review! -Kate
— First Choice Power
The tech person
He was very patient with us. The wifi went out it had to be reset . We're seniors so we aren't very tech up to date. He understood that and didn't try to rush us. I wish everyone could be like him. AWESOME!!!!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Look It Up from La Marque, TX on July 7th, 2018
Thank you so much for the 5-star review! We truly appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your experience. Have a great week! - Kate
— First Choice Power
Best Electric Service In Texas
First Choice is the best choice Ive made. There reasonable and affordable. They help you out when your in a crunch. I love FCP!!! Wouldnt change unless I didnt have the choice for First Choice.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Outlaw from Richardson, TX on June 28th, 2018
We are so happy to hear that you're enjoying your service and took time to tell others about the service you've received! We appreciate and value your loyalty. Have a wonderful week! -Kate
— First Choice Power
Awesome
Great service!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ms. Carter from Seagoville, TX on June 12th, 2018
Thank you for the wonderful 5-star review! We truly appreciate it! - Kate
— First Choice Power
Best prices
Best prices around and set up was a breeze!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

TravisF from Troy, TX on June 12th, 2018
We're so glad to hear that the enrollment process was such an easy step for you! If you have any questions about your account in the future, feel free to reach out to us! Have a wonderful week! - Kate
— First Choice Power
Perfect so far!
Really low electric bill so far. Customer service seems exceptional, and I really like the detail on usage.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Royce from Dallas, TX on May 9th, 2018
We apologize for our delay in response, but we want to thank you for the wonderful 5-star review! We hope that we have continued to provide excellent service and if you have any questions regarding your account, feel free to reach out to us any time at digitalcare_fcp@directenergy.com. Have a wonderful week - Kate
— First Choice Power
Best power company experience ever.
Great transparent pricing, easy connection process, easy payment process, and weekly usage reports are excellent for budgeting. I wish I would have found First Choice Power years ago.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

J from Pflugerville, TX on April 28th, 2018
We are so happy that you're finding many benefits from having our services! We apologize for our delay in responding to your review, but we truly appreciate the time you took to tell others about your experience and provide all the reasons that you've enjoyed our service. We hope you have a wonderful week! - Kate
— First Choice Power


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

10 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great service
Great electric company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Debra from Houston, TX on August 14th, 2018
Thanks Debra! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review :) - Allie
— First Choice Power
When problems arise, true value seen.
I was dropped by Breeze energy leaving Texas market and I was switched to provider of last resort (POLR) that I didn't want in less than 12 hours after first notification. UNHAPPY! Decided on First Choice and chose at Power-To-Choose. First billing messed up by TNMP but First choice corrected it promptly. The real test of good customer support is when things go wrong. I was happy with First Choice response and ability to reach and talk to their customer support. Bill corrected, happy again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy Again from Friendswood, TX on July 8th, 2018
We're so happy to hear that despite the drop by Breeze Energy, that everything went smoothly for you! We completely understand that situations like that can be stressful, but we are thankful that we were able to get everything up and running with us very quickly. Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experiences with us. Please let us know if you have any other questions in the future! We are always a call or email away. Have a wonderful week. Thanks! -Kate
— First Choice Power
So far they have billed me as expected. Nothing hidden.
I selected a plan that best suits our needs. Now let's see if they have a similar plan for returning customers. Too many providers bait you and jack the rates up when you try to sign up again. Time will tell. Very
pleased so far.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Don from Arlington, TX on July 6th, 2018
We're so happy to hear that you've enjoyed our service thus far and left a 5-star review for us! When it comes to renewals, there are a few ways to see rates from inside your Online Account, to calling or even using our Live Chat feature online. We'd be happy to assist you any time if you have any questions we can help with. Have a wonderful week! -Kate
— First Choice Power
First Choice Power
It would be nice to have daily usage reports like others provide.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bob from Irving, TX on June 12th, 2018
We completely understand! It's definitely something we can request and see if we can add it! We do have weekly usage updates that you should receive via email, or you could register at Smart Meter Texas to get your usage readings in real time 15-minute increments! Thanks - Kate
— First Choice Power
Mrs
I like first choice I am on the pay as you go bbq plan the daily price is a little high but Im trying to become eligible for month to month
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charlotte Mitchell from Lufkin, TX on August 20th, 2017
Thank you for the review! We would be glad to see if we have any options for reducing the bill. Please feel free to email us your account details at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. Thank you, -Cole
— First Choice Power
Great choice of energy
I don't understand how this company is rated a "1.3." I had a misunderstanding regarding my bill but it was clarified and I was credited on my account. My bill is extremely reasonable at $31 month and much better than Austin energy I hear people complain about. Compared to AZ with outrageous fees I can truly say I'm extremely happy with
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

FCP User from Austin, TX on May 25th, 2017
Thank you for your kind words and great rating! We are happy to hear we could assist in saving you some money with our competitive prices! If you should have any questions or concerns, please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. Have a great week! - Ally
— First Choice Power
Wonderfull
Great experience all around.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shirley from Dallas on August 14th, 2014
We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden
— First Choice Power
Great provider for us!!
We are a non-profit community provider in Odessa and First Choice was great. We are saving about 450-500 dollars per month. This helps with the budget. Wish we had this provider many months ago. We did start Aug 2011.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Margaret Burton from Odessa on March 22nd, 2012
We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden
— First Choice Power
Just my opinion
I have been with First Choice for about 7 years , had money problems along the way and never had a problem getting an extension and if you know you are going to be late they wont charge any extra IF you call for extension before due date . I read a lot of reviews complaing about thier rate going up after the introductory rate period ran out..a lot of providers offer a ridiculous rate of around .04 as a way to get you to choose them..it only last a couple of months people so instead of taking that rate for 3 months get a 1 year rate and nobody is going to give you more than 3 months at .04 . First Choice worked with me when I was laid off and was slow paying my bills so I will stick with them as long as I get a good rate from them . I am currently paying .09 and I am happy with it . I always get friendly and helpful people when I call .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scott from Cleburne on January 26th, 2012
We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden
— First Choice Power
CEO
Great experience. No tricks on billing or hidden
charges.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dr. Malcolm Jones from Houston on July 27th, 2010
We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden
— First Choice Power



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

6 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
HARASSMENT
I am ill, following cancer treatments and while I like the company and pay my bill regularly without fail. I feel I am being harassed and loosing sleep. Beginning Wednesday 8/26/2020 I have received the exact same TEXT over 23+ times. I appreciate them providing guidance on preparing for storms, however I don't understand why I have to receive that information that many times. Then to call in and get asked questions they don't even ask when you have real problems of unconcern just to get the text that ran all night at 3am, 4:25am, etc to Stop is rediculous. Then to continue getting them after calling in and their closed for the day, means I have to vibrate my phone to get rest, when I have elderly parents who could have an emergency is wrong. HELP me please.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sick And Concerned from Houston, TX on August 27th, 2020
Good afternoon. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are terribly sorry for the situation you have experienced and we would like to help in any way we can. Please do not hesitate to connect with our Facebook and Twitter team, or you can contact us by phone or through our Live Chat department, we will do our best to provide you a solution. Thank you for taking the time to share this review with us. We care for you and we look forward to hearing from you soon. Please take care and be safe! - Camila / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
Changed since sold To Direct Energy
I have been with First choice power for 10 years. I have never had any problems with them until recently when I was having a guard light activated. I couldn't really get a straight answer on the cost. At that time the girl was more interested in getting me to renew my contract four months early at a higher rate. Customer service had no idea the cost to activate it. They had me call Oncor and Oncor sent me back to my provider. After being on hold for quite awhile I was finally sent to the commercial department and was giving the cost. An appointment was set up for January 17th for the light to be activated. They came out, cut a huge limb off my tree and left ruts in my yard from the truck. The light never came on. I got a call from them on the 18th stating there was a billing mix up and it would cost a little more. At that time I asked when it would be activated. I was told they should turn it on right away. Still not on. I called again in the 19th and was told 7 to 10 days for activation but I was still getting charged like it was turned on the 17th. I know it's not using electric because it is not activated, but I should not have to pay all the fees until the light is active and has electric running to it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Colleen Trevino from Belton on January 20th, 2017
Colleen, thank you for taking the the time leave your feedback. We would like to apologize for any misunderstanding and frustration. If you have any other concerns or questions we would be happy to speak to you. Please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. All the best, -Melinda
— First Choice Power
I WOULD WANT PEOPLE TO GET!!
I am thankful that this company has been good to me in the past month. I was paying well over $350 and my bill went down to $180. I couldnt be happier because i was able to be at ease and have money left over to start taking out my wife again. Things have been better because of first choice and i would honestly recommend to others. Plus i already helped two relatives about this and they have veen saving money. KEEP DOING WHAT YOURE DOING FIRST CHOICE. Thank you for all that you have done.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kyle from Standly on August 10th, 2016
Kyle, thank you for taking time out to let us know how we are doing! We are pleased to hear you are enjoying your service. Please let us know if you have questions! You may email those questions to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. Have a wonderful day! -Elle
— First Choice Power
First Choice Power
I have been with First Choice Power for over two years and I have not had any major issues. I have been offered good promotions each time I renew my plan and I am satisfied. My electricity bill is still extremely high but I would not imagine it has anything to do with them, It's HOT!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shante Sanders from Houston on August 28th, 2011
We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden
— First Choice Power
1st
This has been my company for a couple years. When someone told me about another company, I started checking them out. I decided to give Green Mountain Energy a try. I ordered a six month plan that was a little cheaper to try to save a little money.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charles R Brown from Gatesville on September 1st, 2010
We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden
— First Choice Power
Get you in and you want out
Getting a plan and the service was not complex. After having their service for over 7 years. After IKE they changed after the hurricane!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unknown from on August 19th, 2009
We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden
— First Choice Power



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

16 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Faithful
I have been a long time user of first choice power this year, my contract was up so I called to renew. Well the agent at the time did not work with me, to get the best possible rate, so here I am stuck with a high energy rate for 24 months. There is a $135 fee to terminate my contract. I would not recommend this utility co to anybody. I am a senior citizen and did not realize what I was getting. This company has always had reasonable rates until now. I cringe every month when my bill comes in. I just wish I understood what the agent was giving me and went with a different provider. Now I am stuck. This is a warning to others to shop around.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Armando from Texas City, TX on December 5th, 2019
Good afternoon. We absolutely appreciate your loyalty to us after all this time and want the chance to work with you. If you do not feel comfortable with your current rate, we will see what other options are available. Please connect with our digital support team through Live Chat https://www.firstchoicepower.com/ or Social Media https://www.facebook.com/FirstChoicePower/ to continue forward with assistance. Thank you. - Megan / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
Difficult to deal with
I accidentally disputed my final bill and the credit card company (Citicards) refunded it. I'm not sure if they checked because it shouldn't have been accepted. Afterward First Choice Power wouldn't accept credit card or checking account payments. What they didn't say was they would only accept cash or debit card which was discovered by process of elimination at a bill pay center.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Leroy from Mckinney, TX on June 27th, 2019
Hi Leroy,

We certainly would like to apologize for the frustration and inconvenience caused by this situation. If there is anything that we can do to help improve your experience, please feel free to reach out to us. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
— First Choice Power
Been with 1st Choice about 3 years
I first came to this company when moved to this house and needed electricity without huge deposit. So we signed up for prepaid with 1st choice (it was somehow tied to Direct Energy). The process was long but all good. Absolutely loved the rate, got balances daily and the monthly average was just unbeatable. Customer service was excellent although sometimes hard due to language barrier on their part. After a year we were offered a 12 month plan with no deposit so we accepted. Everything went well for about a year, the monthly bill was extremely affordable. When it came time to renew, we were offered a good rate on a month to month plan and so we did that. This is where problems started to appear. My bills literally doubled and even tripled, especially in the summer. I went online to try to find a better rate/plan and ended up signing on to a 12 month plan. It as lowered somewhat but the bills are still much higher every month. I have had a couple of payment plans that they do not update in a timely manner and it has led to saying I broke the agreements even when there were times when I paid installments early and/or completely off. Customer service has gotten terrible and you can call and speak to someone, hang up call back and get someone else and the info you get is completely different. Frustrating! And they can be very borderline rude sometimes and make you feel like you are being unreasonable just by asking a question or are bothering them just by calling. My contract is up in October 2019 and I am starting now to look at other options and will be aggressively shopping for alternatives. I will renew this time only if I find no better option. I am a loyal customer and prefer to stay with a company but when things progressively slide downhill as this experience has, I'm smart enough to know it is time to consider alternatives. Dammit, 1st Choice!!! You were amazing for so long!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

R Hannah from Fort Worth, TX on May 22nd, 2019
Hi,

We appreciate your loyalty and trust to us over the years. We are working diligently to improve processes within our company to ensure that we have consistently great customer satisfaction.

As a friendly reminder, we issue renewal notices with your invoice on page 3 60 days prior to the current contract expiry date. Renewal rates may be reviewed in your online portal or by speaking with an agent via phone or live chat.

During each renewal period, there are multiple plans to review in your online portal that consists of different promotions. Please keep in mind, as with many companies, rates are subject to change each renewal period based on the market. Keep in mind, when reviewing the renewal rates, it is the energy charge displayed in the EFL below the rate plan that you are agreeing to not the advertised rate shown.

Please don't hesitate to contact us by phone or live chat should you need our assistance. Thanks again and have a wonderful day!
— First Choice Power
Customer service representative Rude
She didn't allow me to speak, interrupt me multiple times. Ruth didn't have no listening skills. She force me to be place on hold after I told her PUC need to get involved on the calls. Great plans
Terrible customer service

Agent name: Ruth 19406
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

from Dallas, TX on July 5th, 2018
We're so sorry to hear about the experience you had with one of our Customer Service Phone representatives! We take pride in our customer service, and we are sad to hear that we may have missed the mark with your experience. If you have any questions in the future, you could always use email us at digitalcare_fcp@directenergy.com or try calling and speaking with a different agent. We hope to also have a Live Chat online feature available soon, so keep an eye out for that as well. Please feel free to reach out if you have any additional questions or concerns. Thanks - Kate
— First Choice Power
Once your promotional plan expires YOU WILL PAY
I'm new to Dallas so I started a 3 month contract (promotional fixed bill amount rate) first before jumping head first for a 12 month - not knowing how things worked. That was my mistake as the 12 month version was available.
After receiving a notice to renew, I expected to continue the same for 12 months but FCP offered me plans that doubled my bill.
When I called customer service I was told my plan was no longer available.
But then I called back acting as a new customer I was able to select the same promotional rate... at least until I told the (very helpful) sales person that I was already a customer.
I was then redirected to customer service to be told again that my promotional plan was no longer available.
So I have to now accept a higher bill CONTRACT. Don't renew and pay A EVEN HIGHER RATE for month to month. Or switch to another company.
All was asking was to continue my current rate for 12 months.
Very unsatisfied with the experience. I would have understood if after 12 months there was no longer a promo rate available to me. But 3 months? Really?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dissatisfied Customer from Dallas, TX on April 13th, 2018
We can imagine how frustrating this whole process must have been for you, and we apologize that you received less than exceptional service. We know that it has been a while since you left this review, but if you are still a customer of ours, it's definitely something we'd like to work to resolve! With renewals, we do get new pricing each month and we always take into consideration the current state of the Energy market. For most of our customers, if they sign up for a contract, the rate they enrolled on, is not available a year later due to the changes in the marketplace, however, the renewal options should still be competitive. If you ever have questions about your rate, or to see what rates we have available for existing customers, please email us at digitalcare_fcp@directenergy.com and we can investigate further for you. Thank you! -Kate
— First Choice Power
They will get you
Went along fine for a year, but then on the coldest months they jacked the rate to 14.2 Cents/kwhr.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mello from Dallas, TX on January 28th, 2018
Mello, sorry to hear your experience hasn't been a good one recently. We would like to fix that! Please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account details so we can take a look at this right away. All the best, - Jane
— First Choice Power
Meter problem
I have been on the phone for over an hour trying to put in a request.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Robin Paul from Brazoria, TX on August 8th, 2017
Robin, we are sorry to hear this! If you still need assistance, please send your information to us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. We would be glad to help. -Cole
— First Choice Power
Switching companies immediately
I have been with first choice a while now and have had a variety of little problems I overlook but tonight/early morning takes the cake. I am a Pay as you go customer and it's a Sunday I have had electricity all day I leave my house around 7pm and come back an hour later and my electricity is off I then get a text that say I need to make a payment so furious that it's 8 something at night when they decide to do this I go make a payment and I know usually it takes up to two hours I wait 4hours and still nothing by then it's midnight I try to call customer service of course it's closed late Sunday night then I report an outage it's currently 2:25 am and still nothing I have work at 6am and I'm 5 months pregnant and since it's so late have no where to go but be stuck in a dark hot house since it is the middle of summer. I am switching companies immediately this is ridiculous. Do Not go with this company. I plan to complain on every social media platform. So if you want to sit in your car at 2 am on a Sunday so you can charge your phone 3 hours before work then this is the company for you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Renee from Waco, TX on July 31st, 2017
Renee, we sincerely apologize that you had this kind of experience. We would like the opportunity to look further into this. Please send your account number, address and phone number to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com and copy the review in the email please so we can look into this. Thank you so much, -Jane
— First Choice Power
$10 a day
I loved this company at first because the service was rapid and cheap! I have the "free weekends" plan, I get daily (seems hourly) text updates and it pings my (our) usage at about $10 or more a day and its highly unlikely that we use that much so I am writing this review mid "new electric provider search"! I'd say just admit to splitting the weekend usage throughout the week day payments and we could understand better why we pay so much yet use so little...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nicole from Fort Worth, TX on July 12th, 2017
Hi Nicole, thank you for the review. We would like to look at this account with you. Please send us your account number, address and phone number along with a brief description of this concern to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. We look forward to speaking to you. Thank you, -Jane
— First Choice Power
Overall, the worst!!
First Choice offers what appears to be a good package with the pre-paid service which includes free weekends and then after 60 days, if you meet certain qualification, you can enroll in a post-paid account with no deposit.

I met those qualification, and enrolled in a post-paid account. My online account even showed that I had been enrolled and a service start date. Within about a week I kept receiving messages about my pre-paid service, but I initially ignored them as I had enrolled in a post-paid account and service had been started. This past weekend I received a disconnect notice regarding my pre-paid service. Obviously, that was a bit alarming. I contacted first choice for assistance only for them to tell me that an order cancellation was done on my post-paid account stating that the "customer" did not submit documents (ssn card, etc.) I The rep told me I should have received a call or email. I checked through all my voicemail and email and other than the congratulatory email stating I was not enrolled in a post-paid account, there was nothing requesting any type of documents.

Here's the kicker. Even through I had all the supporting evidence to show that I had followed the correct procedure and there was an obvious amount of neglect on the part of First Choice, I am being made to use a pre-paid account for the next 60 days to re-qualify for a service I had already signed up for, and that the representative could see.

Really, First Choice is a worthwhile power company, however; customer and doing the right thing, you won't get that here. they advertise these great packages but don't know how to keep customers. I will be switching companies and will be advising all those whom I've referred to do the same as First Choice based upon the available information really could have done much better.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Teebai from Grand Prairie on November 28th, 2016
Teebai, we are so sorry to hear about the experience you have had with our company. If you would like for us to look into this further for you, we would certainly like the ability to turn this around for you if we are able to. Please send us an email to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account number, full address and a good phone number to reach you at. We hope that we can find a resolution to your concerns quickly. Thank you! - Kate
— First Choice Power


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

124 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
DON'T USE THEM
I have a 700 square foot apartment and my bill is $184 00 this month and I have free weekends! I know people that have a 4000 square foot home and their bill is not even $100! Since the snow storm in February my bill has been over $150!! I didn't even have power for 1 week! Month before I was told I don't use enough electricity so I was charged for it and this month I called and I was told I used too much! A bunch of crook's if you ask me!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Yvette from Fort Worth, TX on June 20th, 2021
Hi Yvette, thanks so much for your thoughtful and detailed review. Direct Energy is an electric supplier who can offer you a fixed rate that gives you peace of mind knowing that your rate won't change during the contract however the bill will depend on the customer's consumption. You also mentioned that you have the Free Weekends plan that means that your free service starts from Friday after 6 PM until Sunday 11:59 PM and the rest is being billed. We highly recommend you to check our save energy tips at https://www.directenergy.com/learning-center/25-energy-efficiency-tips that will help you to reduce the usage during summer/winter also you can register your service address at https://www.smartmetertexas.com/home so you can confirm the actual reading on a daily basis. If you need help feel free to contact us at any time. It is a pleasure to assist you! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
Avoid First Choice
First Choice transferred my service back to my previous provider which was a higher rate without notifying me and provided no explanation.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ern from Crosby, TX on June 7th, 2021
Hello Ern. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced. We would like to further investigate this matter and help in any way we can. Please feel free to contact us through any of our communication channels:

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/FirstChoicePower/

Twitter https://twitter.com/firstchoicepwr?lang=en

Live Chat at www.firstchoicepower.com

Or you can also contact us by phone toll-free at 1-866-469-2464. For your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday from 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are Central.

We will do our best to provide you a solution. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for the feedback. Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
Will never recommend
When I signed up they tricked me into their surge protection program. I told them no multiple times but they wouldn't finish setting up my account until I said yes. I immediately followed their directions for cancelling the surge protection by sending an email which was never responded to. 2 years later I moved and canceled my service having never managing to cancel it. I was charged twice for the surge protection on my final bill, for the current month and for the month after. I moved the first week of May and I was charged for May and June. They are crooked and do not care about their customers. I will never recommend this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anon from Wichita Falls, TX on May 18th, 2021
Hi, there are no excuses for what you have experienced with our team. We would love to have the opportunity to deeply review your situation and find the best solution for your case. Please connect with us through

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/FirstChoicePower/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/firstchoicepwr?lang=en
Chat: www.firstchoicepower.com

Our Digital Care Team will be happy to help you. Have a good day! - Emma / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
Customer Service is NOT in the U.S.
I called the number listed on the Electricity Facts Label regarding the "special charge from American Electric Power - Texas Central that is not included in the total average price for electric service..........you may contact us at 1-866-469-2464 for more information regarding the price and applicability of the charge." The person was not in the U.S. (yes, I asked), was reading from a script, and had no idea what I was asking. Yet the company is in Houston? Really?? I will be doing business with a United States company!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Native Texan from Corpus Christi, TX on April 29th, 2021
Good afternoon. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with us. We definitely would like to look into this for you and help in any way we can. We care for you and we will do our best to solve your concern.

Please feel free to connect with our Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/FirstChoicePower/ or Twitter team at https://twitter.com/firstchoicepwr?lang=en, or you can also contact us by phone toll-free at 1-866-469-2464. For your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday from 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are Central, or through our Live Chat department at www.firstchoicepower.com, so we can better assist you. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thanks for the feedback. Have a nice weekend! - Sophie / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
DISCONNECTED DURING A WINTER STORM
This crappy company just disconnected my service during a winter storm. I paid my past due amount and got promised that they will resume in 2to 4 hrs, Am spending the night in the cold, This is the most inhumane company ever. Am switching immediately
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

STANLEY NGIGI from Dallas, TX on February 11th, 2021
Hi STANLEY, we are terribly sorry for any inconvenience this service interruption may have caused you. We would like to check the status. Please connect with us through chat at www.directenergy.com. It will be a pleasure to assist you. Have a good day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
Incompetent
I've lived at my current address for about 2 years and within that time they allowed someone else to sign up with my address THREE TIMES!!! How can that be allowed when you should clearly be able to see that that address already has service under a different name?? Why not attempt to confirm that address is vacant instead having me pay for my own power AND SOMEONE ELSE'S?? HOW DO YOU MESS THAT UP THREE TIMES?! And customer service never has a reason why they just allow it. I mean getting cable is much harder than just giving them any address and they have y'know SECURITY PROTOCOLS
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

AM from Dallas, TX on February 3rd, 2021
Good afternoon. Thank you for sharing your experience, thank you for the feedback. We would totally appreciate the opportunity to further investigate this matter and help in any way we can. Please do not hesitate to connect with our Facebook or Twitter team, or you can contact us by phone or through our Live Chat department, we will do our best to provide you a solution. We look forward to hearing from you soon. All the best! - Sophie / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
Scam!!!!
This company charges you late fees 2 days after your bill is due and they also charge you $29.95 4 days later if you havent paid your bill. I paid my bill 4 days after the due date. I call them to find out why did I have disconnect charges and why is my bill so expensive. I asked if we have a grace period after the due date before late charges occur and no one could answer my question. I asked that they mail me the contract because I need in writing how this billing works. This isnt right and as far as the disconnect fee goes, my lights have never been turn off!!! This company is a joke and I will never refer anyone to them!!!!!!!! They are trying to get rich off of people. I dont care if you have no other electricity company to choose from, DO NOT USE FIRST CHOICE POWER!!!! To prove how shady they are, you cant submit your review without giving them stars!!! If I could give negative stars I would
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Keshia from Coppell, TX on January 25th, 2021
Hi Keshia, we want to start off by sincerely apologizing for your negative experience with our First Choice Power. We certainly understand your concern in regards to the Collections Recovery Fee. This fee of $29.95 is assessed in an attempt to recoup the cost of the effort to collect on the amount owed. Keep in mind when an account is past due, is automatically subject to collection activities which include collection calls, late payment fees, collection recovery fees & potentially service interruption. Please be advised that we can waive this fee once in a 12 months time frame. We are more than glad to assist you, please engage with us through chat at www.firstchoicepower.com. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
Horrible company, Stay away!
There was an error on the apartment number when I signed up for their service, but I called on Monday, the next business day( since it Saturday after hours) and reported it. I was made to understand that it was fixed and I wouldn't be charged because of the error. Furthermore the email I had received by then said that the order had not been completed. I was surprised to be charged then inspite of having reported the mistake in the order before it was completed.
Another issue is that every time I called them to get this issue resolved, their employees were more interested in pressuring me to sign up for a fixed rate plan or some additional features that l never needed. Am glad my plan was not fixed, I switched to another company as fast as I could. Would not recommend this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Denis from Fort Worth, TX on January 11th, 2021
Good afternoon, Denis. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are truly sorry to know the difficult situation you have experienced. We care for you and we would love the opportunity to enhance your experience and regain your trust in us. Please do not hesitate to reach us through any of our communication channels and we will do our best to solve your concern. Thank you for the feedback. Have a great start of the week! - Sophie / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
Can not access account to pay bill
I have had to reset the password 4 times already and still have no access. They send lots of emails about bill overdue, but I can not access to pay. Call center is not in America and had language barrier issues. Have spent hours on phone and problem persists. Only been with First Choice for 2mths and it has been a bad experience.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Frustrated from Fort Worth, TX on December 28th, 2020
Good afternoon. We are terribly sorry for the bad experience you have had. We would love the opportunity to take a deeper look at this and help in any way we can. Please do not hesitate to connect with our Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/FirstChoicePower/ or with our Twitter team at https://twitter.com/firstchoicepwr?lang=en, you can also contact us through our Chat team at www.firstchoicepower.com. We will do our best to provide you a solution. Please accept our apologies. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind regards! - Sophie / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
"Contract" my ass
Funny how I signed up for a 12-month "contract" and it kept going even after the 12 months were over. Got almost $200 in extra BS cuz I figured 12 months meant it was done after 12 months if I didn't renew!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Wyoni from Arlington, TX on October 31st, 2020
Hi Wyoni, I am sorry that you feel you had a less than 5-star experience with Direct Energy. Your review is very concerning to us. We would love to hear more about your situation so that we can use your valuable feedback to deliver an even better experience next time. Please engage with us through chat at www.directenergy.com We are looking forward to hearing from you soon! Have a good day! Zoeh / Digital Care
— First Choice Power


All First Choice Power Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
11.4¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$114 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
Super 18 Month Value
18 month
Fixed Rate
10.4¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$104 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Extremely Low Average Bill
  • 18 Months of Rate Security
  • Amazing 36 Month Value
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    10.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $107 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • 3 Year Plan
  • Super Low Average Bill
  • 3 years rate security
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $115 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • 1 entire year of rate stability
  • It’s easy to budget when your rate never changes
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $115 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month