All 1 Star Reviews

87 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Back to All First Choice Power Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Customer Service is NOT in the U.S.
I called the number listed on the Electricity Facts Label regarding the "special charge from American Electric Power - Texas Central that is not included in the total average price for electric service..........you may contact us at 1-866-469-2464 for more information regarding the price and applicability of the charge." The person was not in the U.S. (yes, I asked), was reading from a script, and had no idea what I was asking. Yet the company is in Houston? Really?? I will be doing business with a United States company!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Native Texan from Corpus Christi, TX on April 29th, 2021
Good afternoon. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with us. We definitely would like to look into this for you and help in any way we can. We care for you and we will do our best to solve your concern.

Please feel free to connect with our Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/FirstChoicePower/ or Twitter team at https://twitter.com/firstchoicepwr?lang=en, or you can also contact us by phone toll-free at 1-866-469-2464. For your convenience, we are available Monday-Saturday from 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. all times are Central, or through our Live Chat department at www.firstchoicepower.com, so we can better assist you. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thanks for the feedback. Have a nice weekend! - Sophie / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
DISCONNECTED DURING A WINTER STORM
This crappy company just disconnected my service during a winter storm. I paid my past due amount and got promised that they will resume in 2to 4 hrs, Am spending the night in the cold, This is the most inhumane company ever. Am switching immediately
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

STANLEY NGIGI from Dallas, TX on February 11th, 2021
Hi STANLEY, we are terribly sorry for any inconvenience this service interruption may have caused you. We would like to check the status. Please connect with us through chat at www.directenergy.com. It will be a pleasure to assist you. Have a good day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
Incompetent
I've lived at my current address for about 2 years and within that time they allowed someone else to sign up with my address THREE TIMES!!! How can that be allowed when you should clearly be able to see that that address already has service under a different name?? Why not attempt to confirm that address is vacant instead having me pay for my own power AND SOMEONE ELSE'S?? HOW DO YOU MESS THAT UP THREE TIMES?! And customer service never has a reason why they just allow it. I mean getting cable is much harder than just giving them any address and they have y'know SECURITY PROTOCOLS
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

AM from Dallas, TX on February 3rd, 2021
Good afternoon. Thank you for sharing your experience, thank you for the feedback. We would totally appreciate the opportunity to further investigate this matter and help in any way we can. Please do not hesitate to connect with our Facebook or Twitter team, or you can contact us by phone or through our Live Chat department, we will do our best to provide you a solution. We look forward to hearing from you soon. All the best! - Sophie / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
Scam!!!!
This company charges you late fees 2 days after your bill is due and they also charge you $29.95 4 days later if you havent paid your bill. I paid my bill 4 days after the due date. I call them to find out why did I have disconnect charges and why is my bill so expensive. I asked if we have a grace period after the due date before late charges occur and no one could answer my question. I asked that they mail me the contract because I need in writing how this billing works. This isnt right and as far as the disconnect fee goes, my lights have never been turn off!!! This company is a joke and I will never refer anyone to them!!!!!!!! They are trying to get rich off of people. I dont care if you have no other electricity company to choose from, DO NOT USE FIRST CHOICE POWER!!!! To prove how shady they are, you cant submit your review without giving them stars!!! If I could give negative stars I would
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Keshia from Coppell, TX on January 25th, 2021
Hi Keshia, we want to start off by sincerely apologizing for your negative experience with our First Choice Power. We certainly understand your concern in regards to the Collections Recovery Fee. This fee of $29.95 is assessed in an attempt to recoup the cost of the effort to collect on the amount owed. Keep in mind when an account is past due, is automatically subject to collection activities which include collection calls, late payment fees, collection recovery fees & potentially service interruption. Please be advised that we can waive this fee once in a 12 months time frame. We are more than glad to assist you, please engage with us through chat at www.firstchoicepower.com. Have a great day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
Horrible company, Stay away!
There was an error on the apartment number when I signed up for their service, but I called on Monday, the next business day( since it Saturday after hours) and reported it. I was made to understand that it was fixed and I wouldn't be charged because of the error. Furthermore the email I had received by then said that the order had not been completed. I was surprised to be charged then inspite of having reported the mistake in the order before it was completed.
Another issue is that every time I called them to get this issue resolved, their employees were more interested in pressuring me to sign up for a fixed rate plan or some additional features that l never needed. Am glad my plan was not fixed, I switched to another company as fast as I could. Would not recommend this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Denis from Fort Worth, TX on January 11th, 2021
Good afternoon, Denis. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are truly sorry to know the difficult situation you have experienced. We care for you and we would love the opportunity to enhance your experience and regain your trust in us. Please do not hesitate to reach us through any of our communication channels and we will do our best to solve your concern. Thank you for the feedback. Have a great start of the week! - Sophie / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
Can not access account to pay bill
I have had to reset the password 4 times already and still have no access. They send lots of emails about bill overdue, but I can not access to pay. Call center is not in America and had language barrier issues. Have spent hours on phone and problem persists. Only been with First Choice for 2mths and it has been a bad experience.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Frustrated from Fort Worth, TX on December 28th, 2020
Good afternoon. We are terribly sorry for the bad experience you have had. We would love the opportunity to take a deeper look at this and help in any way we can. Please do not hesitate to connect with our Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/FirstChoicePower/ or with our Twitter team at https://twitter.com/firstchoicepwr?lang=en, you can also contact us through our Chat team at www.firstchoicepower.com. We will do our best to provide you a solution. Please accept our apologies. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind regards! - Sophie / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
"Contract" my ass
Funny how I signed up for a 12-month "contract" and it kept going even after the 12 months were over. Got almost $200 in extra BS cuz I figured 12 months meant it was done after 12 months if I didn't renew!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Wyoni from Arlington, TX on October 31st, 2020
Hi Wyoni, I am sorry that you feel you had a less than 5-star experience with Direct Energy. Your review is very concerning to us. We would love to hear more about your situation so that we can use your valuable feedback to deliver an even better experience next time. Please engage with us through chat at www.directenergy.com We are looking forward to hearing from you soon! Have a good day! Zoeh / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
Beware fruad/Cheaters First choice power
I gave all my details with proper verifications including SSN I got energy and used for 10 days , then all of a sudden 1 fine Saturday morning they have disconnected my power from my apt. I called customer care which was another nightmare the worst customers service ever. After talking to few agents several times finally i got to know the reason that they need my License no. I mean seriously when at times of giving connection they took my SSN at same time why they did not ask for License no. And due to this they discontinued my service and disconnected my energy without any prior emails, mails or any telephonic conversation just gave me surprise on Saturday morning where I was out for biking and my son and my old parents were at home and they informed me abt the situation. It was worst situation for them . I requested customer service that i will do needful once I reach home as my License was at home , till then plz switch on my lights but they hang up on me saying we cannot do until they have license no. I mean seriously this way this company works .
This is really fraud company runned by all goons and cheaters.
I will keeping spreading bad reviews abt this company FIRST CHOICE POWER in all platforms .
I will not recommend this company at all . If you love ur family behind you once you go out then dnt ever trust this company anytime they will disconnect your line .
BEWARE FRAUD CHEATERS COMPANY .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Vb from Houston, TX on September 26th, 2020
Thank you for writing a review. We understand why you would feel disappointed with us. We value your business and your satisfaction with our service is our priority. We take all concerns raised about our practices very seriously and we would like to take a closer review of your situation. Please connect with us through chat at www.directenergy.com/texas We are looking forward to hearing from you soon! Have a great day! - Zoeh
— First Choice Power
Fraud/Cheater light Company in Texas
I gave all my details with proper verifications including SSN I got energy and used for 10 days , then all of a sudden 1 fine Saturday morning they have disconnected my power from my apt. I called customer care which was another nightmare the worst customers service ever. After talking to few agents several times finally i got to know the reason that they need my License no. I mean seriously when at times of giving connection they took my SSN at same time why they did not ask for License no. And due to this they discontinued my service and disconnected my energy without any prior emails, mails or any telephonic conversation just gave me surprise on Saturday morning where I was out for biking and my son and my old parents were at home and they informed me abt the situation. It was worst situation for them . I requested customer service that i will do needful once I reach home as my License was at home , till then plz switch on my lights but they hang up on me saying we cannot do until they have license no. I mean seriously this way this company works .
This is really fraud company runned by all goons and cheaters.
I will keeping spreading bad reviews abt this company FIRST CHOICE POWER in all platforms .
I will not recommend this company at all . If you love ur family behind you once you go out then dnt ever trust this company anytime they will disconnect your line .
BEWARE FRAUD CHEATERS COMPANY .
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

VB from Houston, TX on September 24th, 2020
Hello VB. We are terribly sorry for the bad experience you have had. We would love the opportunity to take a deeper look at this and help in any way we can. Please do not hesitate to connect with our Facebook or Twitter team, or please contact us by phone or through our Live Chat department, we care for you and we will work diligently to provide you a solution. We look forward to hearing from soon. Thank you for the feedback. Have a wonderful day! - Camila / Digital Care
— First Choice Power
Dont get Services with First Choice Power
Custom Services was poor, didn't solve my issue .Do not choose them for your light company service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carolyn Yarbough from Houston, TX on September 21st, 2020
Good afternoon, Carolyn. We are sorry to hear that the experience you had with our Customer Care Team was anything less than outstanding. We always strive to provide an excellent customer experience and apologize if we missed the mark. We look forward to the opportunity to provide you with outstanding service going forward, and we appreciate this feedback! Have a fantastic week! - Camila / Digital Care
— First Choice Power


All First Choice Power Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
11.3¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$113 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
11.5¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$115 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • 1 entire year of rate stability
  • It’s easy to budget when your rate never changes
  • 18 Month Fixed Rate
    18 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $111 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $113 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month