Home > Read Reviews > First Choice Power > 1534434479166449615

The Best

(5 / 5)

  I have been approached many many times by other vendors to change from first Choice Power. I have been with this company at least 40 years and I have not found any reason yet to change. Reliable, dependable service and customer service is always available. ( a human being)

Sweet Jennings from 77568
August 16th, 2018

Words cannot express our happiness that you have stayed with us for so long and have been so willing to tell others about your experience at FCP! We truly appreciate your loyalty and are here to help with any questions or concerns that you may have in the future! Thanks again for such an amazing review! -Kate

First Choice Power Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

First Choice Power Customer Reviews

The best review categories for First Choice Power are the order experience, rated at 2.5 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.5 of 5.

First Choice Power Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 2.9 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

146 Reviews for First Choice Power


Excellent

(5 / 5)

  Have not had a problem at all with this company.

Cas from Houston
April 10th, 2012

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

First Choice Power Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

CEO

(4.9 / 5)

  Great experience. No tricks on billing or hidden
charges.

Dr. Malcolm Jones from Houston
July 27th, 2010

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

First Choice Power Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great service

(4.8 / 5)

  Great electric company

Debra from Houston
August 14th, 2018

Thanks Debra! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review :) - Allie

First Choice Power Responds February 27th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So far they have billed me as expected. Nothing hidden.

(4.8 / 5)

  I selected a plan that best suits our needs. Now let's see if they have a similar plan for returning customers. Too many providers bait you and jack the rates up when you try to sign up again. Time will tell. Very
pleased so far.

Don from Arlington
July 6th, 2018

We're so happy to hear that you've enjoyed our service thus far and left a 5-star review for us! When it comes to renewals, there are a few ways to see rates from inside your Online Account, to calling or even using our Live Chat feature online. We'd be happy to assist you any time if you have any questions we can help with. Have a wonderful week! -Kate

First Choice Power Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great choice of energy

(4.8 / 5)

  I don't understand how this company is rated a "1.3." I had a misunderstanding regarding my bill but it was clarified and I was credited on my account. My bill is extremely reasonable at $31 month and much better than Austin energy I hear people complain about. Compared to AZ with outrageous fees I can truly say I'm extremely happy with

FCP user from Austin
May 25th, 2017

Thank you for your kind words and great rating! We are happy to hear we could assist in saving you some money with our competitive prices! If you should have any questions or concerns, please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. Have a great week! - Ally

First Choice Power Responds May 30th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Wonderfull

(4.8 / 5)

  Great experience all around.

Shirley from Dallas
August 14th, 2014

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

First Choice Power Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

great provider for us!!

(4.8 / 5)

  We are a non-profit community provider in Odessa and First Choice was great. We are saving about 450-500 dollars per month. This helps with the budget. Wish we had this provider many months ago. We did start Aug 2011.

Margaret Burton from Odessa
March 22nd, 2012

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

First Choice Power Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

just my opinion

(4.7 / 5)

  I have been with First Choice for about 7 years , had money problems along the way and never had a problem getting an extension and if you know you are going to be late they wont charge any extra IF you call for extension before due date . I read a lot of reviews complaing about thier rate going up after the introductory rate period ran out..a lot of providers offer a ridiculous rate of around .04 as a way to get you to choose them..it only last a couple of months people so instead of taking that rate for 3 months get a 1 year rate and nobody is going to give you more than 3 months at .04 . First Choice worked with me when I was laid off and was slow paying my bills so I will stick with them as long as I get a good rate from them . I am currently paying .09 and I am happy with it . I always get friendly and helpful people when I call .

Scott from Cleburne
January 26th, 2012

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

First Choice Power Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

When problems arise, true value seen.

(4.6 / 5)

  I was dropped by Breeze energy leaving Texas market and I was switched to provider of last resort (POLR) that I didn't want in less than 12 hours after first notification. UNHAPPY! Decided on First Choice and chose at Power-To-Choose. First billing messed up by TNMP but First choice corrected it promptly. The real test of good customer support is when things go wrong. I was happy with First Choice response and ability to reach and talk to their customer support. Bill corrected, happy again.

Happy Again from Friendswood
July 8th, 2018

We're so happy to hear that despite the drop by Breeze Energy, that everything went smoothly for you! We completely understand that situations like that can be stressful, but we are thankful that we were able to get everything up and running with us very quickly. Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experiences with us. Please let us know if you have any other questions in the future! We are always a call or email away. Have a wonderful week. Thanks! -Kate

First Choice Power Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

First Choice Power

(4 / 5)

  It would be nice to have daily usage reports like others provide.

Bob from Irving
June 12th, 2018

We completely understand! It's definitely something we can request and see if we can add it! We do have weekly usage updates that you should receive via email, or you could register at Smart Meter Texas to get your usage readings in real time 15-minute increments! Thanks - Kate

First Choice Power Responds August 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Mrs

(4 / 5)

  I like first choice I am on the pay as you go bbq plan the daily price is a little high but Im trying to become eligible for month to month

Charlotte Mitchell from Lufkin
August 20th, 2017

Thank you for the review! We would be glad to see if we have any options for reducing the bill. Please feel free to email us your account details at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. Thank you, -Cole

First Choice Power Responds August 25th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I WOULD WANT PEOPLE TO GET!!

(3.8 / 5)

  I am thankful that this company has been good to me in the past month. I was paying well over $350 and my bill went down to $180. I couldnt be happier because i was able to be at ease and have money left over to start taking out my wife again. Things have been better because of first choice and i would honestly recommend to others. Plus i already helped two relatives about this and they have veen saving money. KEEP DOING WHAT YOURE DOING FIRST CHOICE. Thank you for all that you have done.

Kyle from Standly
August 10th, 2016

Kyle, thank you for taking time out to let us know how we are doing! We are pleased to hear you are enjoying your service. Please let us know if you have questions! You may email those questions to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. Have a wonderful day! -Elle

First Choice Power Responds September 2nd, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

First Choice Power

(3.5 / 5)

  I have been with First Choice Power for over two years and I have not had any major issues. I have been offered good promotions each time I renew my plan and I am satisfied. My electricity bill is still extremely high but I would not imagine it has anything to do with them, It's HOT!

Shante Sanders from Houston
August 28th, 2011

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

First Choice Power Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Get you in and you want out

(3.2 / 5)

  Getting a plan and the service was not complex. After having their service for over 7 years. After IKE they changed after the hurricane!

Unknown
August 19th, 2009

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

First Choice Power Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

1st

(3.1 / 5)

  This has been my company for a couple years. When someone told me about another company, I started checking them out. I decided to give Green Mountain Energy a try. I ordered a six month plan that was a little cheaper to try to save a little money.

Charles R Brown from Gatesville
September 1st, 2010

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

First Choice Power Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Changed since sold To Direct Energy

(3 / 5)

  I have been with First choice power for 10 years. I have never had any problems with them until recently when I was having a guard light activated. I couldn't really get a straight answer on the cost. At that time the girl was more interested in getting me to renew my contract four months early at a higher rate. Customer service had no idea the cost to activate it. They had me call Oncor and Oncor sent me back to my provider. After being on hold for quite awhile I was finally sent to the commercial department and was giving the cost. An appointment was set up for January 17th for the light to be activated. They came out, cut a huge limb off my tree and left ruts in my yard from the truck. The light never came on. I got a call from them on the 18th stating there was a billing mix up and it would cost a little more. At that time I asked when it would be activated. I was told they should turn it on right away. Still not on. I called again in the 19th and was told 7 to 10 days for activation but I was still getting charged like it was turned on the 17th. I know it's not using electric because it is not activated, but I should not have to pay all the fees until the light is active and has electric running to it.

Colleen Trevino from Belton
January 20th, 2017

Colleen, thank you for taking the the time leave your feedback. We would like to apologize for any misunderstanding and frustration. If you have any other concerns or questions we would be happy to speak to you. Please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. All the best, -Melinda

First Choice Power Responds February 8th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Only So-So

(2.7 / 5)

  Overall, I didn't have many problems with my power except with all the unexpected outages after Hurricane Ike. My problem came with billing when one month they apparently "estimated" my usage and billed me. When the bill came and it was more than double my normal bill, I called and they changed it. But shouldn't billing someone for accurate useage be a requirement for a good company? They also tend to be one of the more expensive companies currently so I will be switching as I move to a new apartment complex this month.

Bethany S. from Houston
September 10th, 2010

We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden

First Choice Power Responds October 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They will get you

(2.6 / 5)

  Went along fine for a year, but then on the coldest months they jacked the rate to 14.2 Cents/kwhr.

Mello from Dallas
January 28th, 2018

Mello, sorry to hear your experience hasn't been a good one recently. We would like to fix that! Please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account details so we can take a look at this right away. All the best, - Jane

First Choice Power Responds January 30th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

$10 a day

(2.6 / 5)

  I loved this company at first because the service was rapid and cheap! I have the "free weekends" plan, I get daily (seems hourly) text updates and it pings my (our) usage at about $10 or more a day and its highly unlikely that we use that much so I am writing this review mid "new electric provider search"! I'd say just admit to splitting the weekend usage throughout the week day payments and we could understand better why we pay so much yet use so little...

Nicole from Fort Worth
July 12th, 2017

Hi Nicole, thank you for the review. We would like to look at this account with you. Please send us your account number, address and phone number along with a brief description of this concern to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. We look forward to speaking to you. Thank you, -Jane

First Choice Power Responds August 7th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overall, the worst!!

(2.6 / 5)

  First Choice offers what appears to be a good package with the pre-paid service which includes free weekends and then after 60 days, if you meet certain qualification, you can enroll in a post-paid account with no deposit.

I met those qualification, and enrolled in a post-paid account. My online account even showed that I had been enrolled and a service start date. Within about a week I kept receiving messages about my pre-paid service, but I initially ignored them as I had enrolled in a post-paid account and service had been started. This past weekend I received a disconnect notice regarding my pre-paid service. Obviously, that was a bit alarming. I contacted first choice for assistance only for them to tell me that an order cancellation was done on my post-paid account stating that the "customer" did not submit documents (ssn card, etc.) I The rep told me I should have received a call or email. I checked through all my voicemail and email and other than the congratulatory email stating I was not enrolled in a post-paid account, there was nothing requesting any type of documents.

Here's the kicker. Even through I had all the supporting evidence to show that I had followed the correct procedure and there was an obvious amount of neglect on the part of First Choice, I am being made to use a pre-paid account for the next 60 days to re-qualify for a service I had already signed up for, and that the representative could see.

Really, First Choice is a worthwhile power company, however; customer and doing the right thing, you won't get that here. they advertise these great packages but don't know how to keep customers. I will be switching companies and will be advising all those whom I've referred to do the same as First Choice based upon the available information really could have done much better.

Teebai from Grand Prairie
November 28th, 2016

Teebai, we are so sorry to hear about the experience you have had with our company. If you would like for us to look into this further for you, we would certainly like the ability to turn this around for you if we are able to. Please send us an email to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account number, full address and a good phone number to reach you at. We hope that we can find a resolution to your concerns quickly. Thank you! - Kate

First Choice Power Responds December 8th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Example Bill
loading...