No end-of-contract notification.... then $$$$$ increased!!
Was relying on their notification of when the contract term ended, so when it never arrived, the new rates, which were twice as high, kicked in and costed me about $200/mth more. Didn't realize it due to an assumption that the higher bill was due to adding a pool and having house guests for a few months. I checked the full email history and had every weekly and monthly update and invoice since the beginning, but, somehow, the notification of the end of contract "must have been lost or rejected by my internet or email". Because they could reproduce the notification letter in their records, they claimed that was evidence that it must have been sent to me, despite me somehow having EVERY other email they had sent except that one. I lost about $1000 over 5 months, and all they could offer was $150, only I renewed with them. NO THANKS!!

AVOID! They're clearly shady, and there's not much that can stop them from this type fraud :-/
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

AVOID! Or At Least Set A Reminder For When Your Contract Ends, And Don't Trust Their Email Notification. from Pearland, TX on January 13th, 2021
Unstable and wild billing.
I have had Frontier going on my second year. The first year was fine I stayed within the 30 day usage limit 1500 kw and was billed appropriately.

Beginning the second year Frontier began to expand my billing to 35 plus days creating an overage in my usage and throwing me into a much higher rate so not cool.

In addition to the fluctuations in the number of days in the billing period , they change the due date of the bill every month by several days, very hard to know when to pay to avoid late penalty. Frontier also takes more than the authorized amount from you account if you use the online payment but only posts the authorized amount to your electric bill. You have to call and ask why you were charged $20.00 or $30.00 than the amount due and you were only give credit for the amount due.

I will not be resigning with this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ed from Rosenberg, TX on December 13th, 2020
Hi Ed, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer,
and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve.
Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further?
You can also call our customer care department at 1-866-926-8192. We are open till 6pm today.
Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you
— Frontier Utilities
I thought I finally had my problem fixed, ( but)
I signed up for frontier on the 1st ( thinking) I would have a due date of the 1st of the month or later. I called and couldnt get any help. I explained I am retired and I get paid on the 1st and pay all my bills on the 1st. Frontier first said I had to show ( proof) I was on Medicare and get paid once a month. The problem is I DONT get paid from Medicare I get paid from my employer I retired from because Im not old enough to draw Medicare yet. THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE ALWAYS SAYS IT TAKES 24-48 HOURS TO CALL YOU BACK ABOUT A PROBLEM. EVERYTIME they call me back it says ( scam call) and they dont leave a message. Someone ( finally) called me in Nov 2020 and said they would change the due date to the 1-3rd every month and take off the late charges . Now its one month later ( December) I made my payment on the 1st like I said I would but I STILL got a notice in the mail of turning off my electric and to pay December late charge! The person I talked to in November said it would take 2 cycle dates to start paying on the 1st and she said she would take care of the late charges until my payment would start on the 1st. Well, it DIDNT happen, I had to call frontier AGAIN and they didnt even have it noted in my account they had even helped me! Now, Ive had to ask a ( supervisor) to call me AGAIN about my problem. Ive NEVER had so many problems with changing a due date to be able to pay on the 1st in my life. ALL IM ASKING IS TO LET ME OAY MY BILL ON THE 1ST WHEN I GET PAID ON THE 1ST. IVE NEVER BEEN LATE ON MY ELECTRIC BILL EVER UNTIL DEALING WITH FRONTIER. WHY ARE THEY MAKING IT SO HARD? PLEASE MAKE SURE IF YOU SIGN UP WITH THEM YOU ASK THEM WHEN WILL YOU BILL BE DUE TO BE PAID. ( I STILL NEED HELP FROM THEM SO THEY DONT CUT MY ELECTRIC OFF TODAY( DEC 10TH) 2020. I PAID ALL OF MY BILL EXCEPT THE LATE CHARGE LIKE SHE TOLD ME TO DO. THANK YOU...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Karen S from Arlington, TX on December 10th, 2020
Hi Karen S, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer,
and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve.
Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further?
You can also call our customer care department at 1-866-926-8192. We are open till 6pm today.
Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you
— Frontier Utilities
Overcharging
I was looking at my electric bill and it's stating that my due date is Dec. 4, 2020. However, the frontier utilities had changed my due date to Nov. 30, 2020. This is outrageous and it's taking advantage of the customer. I will report to better business bureau for scamming the customer without their consent.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kyle from Houston, TX on December 3rd, 2020
Hi Kyle, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer,
and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve.
Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further?
You can also call our customer care department at 1-866-926-8192. We are open till 6pm today.
Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you
— Frontier Utilities
PAYMENT DUE DATES CHANGE EACH MONTH / CUSTOMER SERVICE A JOKE
Frontier is the first billing institution I know that refuses to give clients a fixed due date. Payment dates change from month to month. I can't help but feel that this is done intentionally to confuse clients so they can charge the $25 disconnection fee. Goodness, the disconnection letter goes out on the due date. And don't even bother calling customer service, you are on hold for 30 to 45 minutes, and when you finally get an agent, they put you on hold to review your account and you get disconnected. Can't wait for the year to be over so I can switch service.
I am telling everybody I know to stay away from Frontier Utilities
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Linda from Plano, TX on November 10th, 2020
Hi Linda, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer,
and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve.
Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further?
You can also call our customer care department at 1-866-926-8192. We are open till 6pm today.
Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you
— Frontier Utilities
High Cost
They added about $75/month on top of the usage
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hershey from Katy, TX on November 9th, 2020
Hi Hershey, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer,
and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve.
Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further?
You can also call our customer care department at 1-866-926-8192. We are open till 6pm today.
Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you
— Frontier Utilities
DUE DATE
Do NOT sign up with Frontier ele if you need to pay your bill on the 1st! I signed up with them on the 1st and they made my due date 6 days BEFORE the first, NOW if I dont pay it on the 26th it is considered LATE! I am retired and get paid on the 1st of the month and I pay bills on the 1st! THEY WILL NOT WORK WITH A CUSTOMER AND HAVE THE DUE DATE ON THE 1ST! I THINK THEY DO THIS ON PURPOSE TO MAKE THAT LATE FEE. I HAVE BEGGED THEM TO CHANGE THE DUE DATE TO THE 1ST AND THEY WILL ( NOT) DO IT. IM BARELY MAKING IT AS IT IS.I WOULDNT NEVER BE LATE IF I COULD JUST PAY MY BILL ON THE 1ST OF THE MONTH! DONT SIGN UP WITH THIS COMPANY IF YOU NEED TO PAY YOUR BILL ON THE FIRST. ITS SAD TO TREAT CUSTOMERS LIKE THIS WHEN TIMES ARE HARD ENOUGH AS IT IS. PLEASE BEWARE. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. DONT LET THIS HAPPEN TO YOU LIKE IT DID TO ME. THANKS.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Karen S from Arlington, TX on November 2nd, 2020
Hi Karen S, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer,
and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve.
Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further?
You can also call our customer care department at 1-866-926-8192. We are open till 6pm today.
Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you
— Frontier Utilities
Outrageous price gouging
I change electric companies 1 to 2 times per year and have done so for many years. Frontier is the ONLY company that ever gouged me for going over the contract time and staying with them. They charged me nearly $1 per KWH. Most companies will charge you the going electricity rate which can vary depending on market price...but not Frontier. I had a $500 bill for barely 500KWH. My contract had ended the month previous, because we were moving. Figuring I would just pay the going average KWH rate, I didn't bother switching. By the time I saw the bill I was 4 days into the next month....and my bill is $117 for a bit over 100KWH. Unreal. I promptly got another contract with another company. This amounts to price gouging. If you sign with Frontier, be sure to watch them like a hawk.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JR from Round Rock, TX on October 7th, 2020
Hi Jr, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer,
and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve.
Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further?
You can also call our customer care department at 1-866-926-8192. We are open till 6pm today.
Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you
— Frontier Utilities
Plan Expiration
When I started it was great but I didnt realize my plan had expired. They never notified me and literally tripled my rate. Dont do business with them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Janice W from 74072 on September 19th, 2020
Hi Janice W , we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer,
and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve.
Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further?
You can also call our customer care department at 1-866-926-8192. We are open till 6pm today.
Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you
— Frontier Utilities
Totally ripped off
First they overcharged me by $150, then wouldn't refund or credit my account. Then they said I cancelled and turned off my power. Got it turned back on, but they are refusing to give me my money. Now I know why they have a 1.8 out of 5 rating.
Wish I had seen this before I signed on with them. DO NOT USE THESE PEOPLE.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Julie Hale from Houston, TX on September 15th, 2020
Hi Julie Hale, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer,
and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve.
Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further?
You can also call our customer care department at 1-866-926-8192. We are open till 6pm today.
Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you
— Frontier Utilities







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Frontier Utilities are the order experience, rated at 2.1 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.7 of 5.
5 Stars
4%
 
4 Stars
5%
 
3 Stars
1%
 
2 Stars
17%
 
1 Stars
73%
 
1.7 / 5
Overall
1.7 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
2.1 / 5
Order Experience
1.7 / 5
Customer Service
1.6 / 5
Billing and Account Management
1.3 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About Frontier Utilities

Frontier Utilities was founded in 2008 by two pioneers of the Australian and New Zealand retail electricity markets. In February of 2012, they were sold to a group of Texas based investors. The currently serve retail and commercial customers in both Texas and New York.


All Frontier Utilities Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
12 Month Bill Credit
12 months
5.6¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$100 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
12 Month Bill Credit
12 months
8.8¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$163 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 months
    7.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $101 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 months
    12.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $123 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 months
    11.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $111 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • No Hidden Fees!
  • No minimum usage or monthly base fees.
  • Perfect for townhomes and apartments
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 months
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 months
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $130 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 months
    14.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $144 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 months
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $147 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 months
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $135 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 months
    16.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $168 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month