Home > Read Reviews > Frontier Utilities > 1511308365634148700


great plan
(5 / 5)

  excellent customer service by franky.

sana from 75243
November 21st, 2017

Sana, thank you for your feedback and we are glad you are a customer of Frontier Utilities. If you have any questions or concerns, please call us at 1-866-926-8192 or email care@frontierutilities.com. Thank you again for choosing Frontier Utilities!

Frontier Utilities Responds November 27th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions


Frontier Utilities Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Frontier Utilities are the order experience, rated at 2.1 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 1.7 of 5.


Frontier Utilities Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.






112 Reviews for Frontier Utilities


Great Rates
(5 / 5)

  I have been with Frontier for a few years now and will continue to renew my plan with them for as long as I can because I have yet to find a company which can beat their rates! I have also experienced great follow up and resolution to a previous inquiry from their customer service team.

Juana from North Richland Hills
December 15th, 2017

Juana, thank you for your feedback and we are glad you are a customer of Frontier Utilities. If you have any questions or concerns, please call us at 1-866-926-8192 or email care@frontierutilities.com. Thank you again for choosing Frontier Utilities!

Frontier Utilities Responds December 20th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

great plan
(5 / 5)

  excellent customer service by franky.

sana from Dallas
November 21st, 2017

Sana, thank you for your feedback and we are glad you are a customer of Frontier Utilities. If you have any questions or concerns, please call us at 1-866-926-8192 or email care@frontierutilities.com. Thank you again for choosing Frontier Utilities!

Frontier Utilities Responds November 27th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

FINALLY - Only Electric Company that does not bold face lie!
(5 / 5)

  Been in Texas 20 years now and every year I shop for a new electric company until now since Frontier continues to renew me at the best rate I can find! And the rate is exactly as they said it would be!! All, and I mean at least 10 different power providers, that I have used in the past would bold face lie to me and say yes you will only pay (~8 to 12 cents per Kw-Hour) and every time there was hidden fees that they lied to me and said "there are no hidden fees". Note fees are still not straight forward, but get them to calculate what your monthly bill will be at 500kw-Hr, 1000kw-Hr, 1500kw-Hr before you sign up then once you receive a bill you'll see if you were lied to (Frontier was the only one that my bill is very close to what it should be at 500kw-Hr per month).

JeffH from Houston
June 24th, 2017

Hi Jeff. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We definitely appreciate it. It's nice to know that you acknowledged that we provided you with the rate and fees upfront as that is what we strive to do for all of our customers. Hope you enjoy the service and thank you for choosing Frontier Utilities. If you ever have any questions or concerns please give us a call at 1-866-926-8192 or email care@frontierutilities.com. Have a great day!

Frontier Utilities Responds July 27th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent
(5 / 5)

  We've only been with frontier for a short time but are so very pleased with the experience so far. They're rates our great, customer service is fantastic, and signing up was quick and easy. Already we've save a LOT of many by switching over. So glad we did.

Alana from Watauga
December 5th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy set-up and fair price
(5 / 5)

  Best price among all the suppliers in the area, activation on time, friendly customer service

Jose Diaz from Katy
December 5th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Happy Resolution
(4.8 / 5)

  I was very upset to see that my double the amount that usually pay per month, I called Frontier Utilities and to my surprise they answered immediately, the customer service agent David was very attentive and kind, he explained me the charges for the past 3 invoices, let me tell you. I felt really bad when I realized that I forgot to send my payment, I usually let my husband pay this bill, but since he failed to make the payment I will be taking over this duty. David also told me that I can pay online and he guide me how to register online to avoid late fees. I am glad I call and I was able to resolve this issue immediately.
Alicia

Alicia R. from Tomball
June 7th, 2018

Hello Mrs. Alicia R. Thank you kindly for your five-star rating. We really appreciate you for taking the time to share your good experience. Please contact us at Care@Frontierutilities.com or call us at 1866-926-8192 if you have any questions or concerns in the future. Thank you again for choosing Frontier Utilities as your electricity supplier!
Sincerely
Amin S.

Frontier Utilities Responds June 14th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

love frontier
(4.6 / 5)

  I love my fixed rate for my electricity but now that my contract is up next week my renewal rate is double which means I will be leaving. I guess one year of great rates is all I get.

One year servcie from McAllen
August 8th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

one of the best electric company
(4.6 / 5)

  I had this company for a year. I checked my bills very closely and nevr had to call questioning my bill. I left them only because I had solar installed and the solar company told me I need TXU. Thanks

aley jacob from Desoto
December 1st, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Verry happy with the rate and the service
(4.4 / 5)

  I switched from Reliant to Frontier. Best decision ever! Not only did I get much better customer service and no longer have to wait an hour on the phone to talk to a Reliant representative, I also got rid of my 15 cents rate that Reliant charged me for over 3 years.

Patrick K from Houston
May 19th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No problems at all in 6 months
(4.4 / 5)

  I switched to Frontier 6 months ago because they had the best rate. I wasn't thrilled initially with their customer service and had a few calls that I was on hold for quite a while. I made the change anyhow and haven't had to contact them since. My bills have been correct. The weekly email with a usage summary is a plus. My contract is ending and I am shopping for rates. If Frontier is competitive, I won't hesitate to stay with them.

Karen from Trophy Club
January 8th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

RE: Bad Customer Service is now GREAT!
(4.2 / 5)

  I did have an experience and I was shocked that someone (Sophia) contacted me on a SATURDAY! I was very impressed. She was very courteous and professional. She was willing to help me and completely understood my situation. I am now absolutely pleased with Frontier's customer service and would definitely recommend them!

Lezlie from Dallas
October 22nd, 2017

Ms. Jones, thank you for your feedback and we're are glad you are a customer of Frontier Utilities. If you have any questions or concerns, please call us at 1-866-926-8192 or email care@frontierutilities.com. Thank you again for choosing Frontier Utilities!

Frontier Utilities Responds October 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awesome Utilities
(4.2 / 5)

  I enjoy paying the same price every month but I hate that my billing cycle ends on the 27th of the month and there is no grace period. I would prefer a billing cycle that ends within the 1st ten days of the month. And frontier would not change it. Otherwise they are a 5 star company.

Dee from Arlington
April 2nd, 2017

Hi Dee. Thank you for your feedback. Would you mind providing your account number and a good call back number so I can speak with you regarding your account please? Thank you.

Frontier Utilities Responds May 26th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Choice!
(4 / 5)

  I have had Frontier for the past year now, and I have had absolutely no issues with them. When I initially signed up, I was told I would receive a $20 bill credit every month that my usage exceeds 1000kwh; I received the credit every single month. One thing that I love above Frontier, which I think sets them apart from other providers, is that they send me a summary of my energy usage every single week (via email) so I know how much my usage varies week to week, but more importantly, it gives me a very good idea of how much my bill will be at the end of the month. In the year since I have had Frontier, I have had absolutely no reasons to call them. I receive my bills electronically, and my account is auto draft. I would truly recommend them to anyone. Unfortunately my one year contract is coming to an end so I am shopping around for lower rates (as I do every year), but honestly my experience with Frontier has been superb. If I do not find any rates that beat the one they are currently offering me to renew, I will stick with them.

Diana P from Spring
September 8th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The company good in a pinch!!!!!
(3.2 / 5)

  This company's ok in a pinch .one thing I don't think people realize is your no getting sufficient power to power your electrical appliances at times and that is reducing the life of them and thus costing you more money.

Switch to txu,the smart thing to do.. from Athens
August 15th, 2018

Hello Ms. Kimberly Britt,
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service we provided. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and we appreciate your feedback. My name is Araceli and I would like to speak with you regarding your concerns about the power load you received in your home. Frontier Utilities as any other Retail provider only bills you for the electricity you use, we have no control of the energy delivered to your home, the Utility Company has control of the electricity load, feel free to contact me directly at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com to answer any questions you may have. I look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds August 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible service with contract renewal issue
(2.8 / 5)

  I chose Frontier Utilities when we finally moved into a house with non-regulated electric provider and until today I was overall very happy. I got a bill that was near double my normal bill even though the usage was barely more. I was so confused. After a very long wait on customer service, I was told that my contract ran out and I received paperwork in May. Well first, I travel for work and I just started a new job so I have been gone a ton. Second, I get emails from them Frontier every week and I never received any reminders, calls or anything. At first, the customer service rep acted like he could help and then he came back and said he was still researching a rate for me but he wanted to let me know there was nothing he could do about this bill. I spoke to him for awhile and asked for a supervisor and he put me on hold for a long time. Then he came back and told me a supervisor would call me back. After quite some time, I finally called back again, waited on hold again and was told the supervisors were gone for the day and there was nothing that could be done any way. So I was completely jerked around. I am researching and calling other providers now. So disappointed because up unitl now, I had been so happy.

Melissa W from McKinney
August 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

You get what you pay for
(2.8 / 5)

  Very affordable rates and always a low bill as long as you stay under contract. My lights are cut off atleast every 3 months. When I call and let them know my bill isnt due yet they always tell me they sent another one out before. So apparently I am supposed to pay 3 bills in a month. I always pay on time with everything and never have a problem. They can never seem to have an answer for me. Its not the post office, I have gone to them. I check my mail daily and they are not sending this mystery bill. They are always rude and unapologetic on the phone. Id rather pay more a month and have a company that knows what they are doing and treats their customers with atleast an ounce of respect.

In the dark. from Fort Worth
January 22nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not Very Helpful
(2.8 / 5)

  Id go another route if I were you. If you in a jam and need some help, they arent very helpful at all. I needed a two day extension. Had some issues over the holiday and was flat broke. I called to get a two day extension, they told me to pay half the bill. I scraped up half the money and paid it. I called to make sure I didnt get cut off and they told me it had to be oid the day before so I was too late and they would cut me off anyway... smh. Not a good way to serve your customers at all. I got cut off for $64.

Not A Happy Camper from Dallas
November 28th, 2017

Mr. Guy, thank you for your feedback. I understand your concerns and would like to take the time to address them. I reviewed your account and we did not disconnect your services and tried to accommodate you in the best possible way. If you have any further concerns, please call our Customer Service department at 1-866-926-8192 and ask to speak with Safiya. Thank you.

Frontier Utilities Responds November 28th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pat due
(2.6 / 5)

  I want to know why my past due bill has went up 3 times once for everyday I'm late? Tried emailing no reply If it goes up again tomorrow I'm cancelling I did like this company now I'm alittle alert

What's going on with this company from Dallas
May 6th, 2018

Hello Mr. Jeremy. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. We appreciate the feedback and bringing this matter to our attention. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and sincerely apologies for any inconvenience you may had. Based on the name provided in your review, we are unable to locate your Frontier account and your contact information. Please contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com or call 1877-926-8193, so we can get this matter resolved immediately.
We are open Monday to Friday 7 am until 6:00 PM CST. We are also here to serve you on Saturdays from 8:00 AM to 2:00 PM.
Thank you
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds May 7th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Low "gotcha" rate then a huge regular rate
(2.6 / 5)

  Low teaser rate of 4c/kWh, then a huge rate of 13c/kWh for regular service + $10/mo "customer charge" - if you sign up under a promotion with this company, cancel and switch a month early to make sure you're not suckered in to their extremely high prices.

A Ramos from Chester
January 11th, 2017

Hello A. Ramos. I understand your frustration regarding the increase in the rate. Would you mind providing me with your account number and a good contact number to reach you? Thank you.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 25th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Price, Horrible Service
(2.6 / 5)

  Signed up for Frontier Utilities via Power to Choose Website. After Signup I received an email confirming the change of service. When I received my first bill I was charged an Electronic Auto Pay Opt-out Fee $5.00. The agreement does indicate that Auto Pay is required which is fine but I was not given an opportunity to sign up for Auto-Pay prior to receiving the first months bill. When I called Customer Service to sign up for Auto Pay and request a Refund of the fee the Rep would not refund the fee, was not friendly and didn't seem to care. The rep submitted a request for someone to call back within 24-48 hours to discuss the fee with a manager. Great way to start off new service.

Mike from North Richland Hills
June 6th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions



Updated: 11-17-2018
Example Bill
loading...