Home > Read Reviews > Frontier Utilities

Frontier Utilities Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Frontier Utilities are the order experience, rated at 2.3 out of 5, and their billing & account management system, rated at 1.9 of 5.

Frontier Utilities Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

121 Reviews for Frontier Utilities


Low "gotcha" rate then a huge regular rate

(2.6 / 5)

  Low teaser rate of 4c/kWh, then a huge rate of 13c/kWh for regular service + $10/mo "customer charge" - if you sign up under a promotion with this company, cancel and switch a month early to make sure you're not suckered in to their extremely high prices.

A Ramos from Chester
January 11th, 2017

Hello A. Ramos. I understand your frustration regarding the increase in the rate. Would you mind providing me with your account number and a good contact number to reach you? Thank you.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 25th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Price, Horrible Service

(2.6 / 5)

  Signed up for Frontier Utilities via Power to Choose Website. After Signup I received an email confirming the change of service. When I received my first bill I was charged an Electronic Auto Pay Opt-out Fee $5.00. The agreement does indicate that Auto Pay is required which is fine but I was not given an opportunity to sign up for Auto-Pay prior to receiving the first months bill. When I called Customer Service to sign up for Auto Pay and request a Refund of the fee the Rep would not refund the fee, was not friendly and didn't seem to care. The rep submitted a request for someone to call back within 24-48 hours to discuss the fee with a manager. Great way to start off new service.

Mike from North Richland Hills
June 6th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too quick to disconnect

(2.4 / 5)

  Just started with Frontier. Had paid our previous bills. Got a bill due Dec. 26 - day after Christmas. Slipped through the proverbial cracks. Got a call from Frontier on Jan. 9 saying we need to pay or they'd disconnect. Fair. We paid that night.

Shockingly, they still disconnected us the next day. When I called, Francisco, a manager, confirmed that they had indeed received our money the night before. He had no good explanation.

To be fair, he did say they would waive the disconnect and reconnect fees as well as the late fees.

Just customer beware: Frontier is a very aggressive Company. Will shut you down if you're two weeks late.

Carl G from Houston
January 10th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worste company

(2.4 / 5)

  My light got shut off , granted it was my mistake, but when I called after making payment the lady told me she would put me in for a connection it in the meantime she would look to get me a better rate. I have a baby that has severe allergies and is hooked up to a breathing machine overnight. When I told the supervisor, that there had to be some kind of emergency procedure they could follow she insisted that it was center point who would not be available to turn on my power until the next day but since I was going to be connected until morning I might as well get a good rate. Forget that my baby wont be able to breathe. I WILL NOT WAKE UP TO A DEAD BABY BECAUSE OF THE INCOMPETENT UNEMPATHETIC "SUPERVISOR" I will be staying in a hotel tonight looking for a better light company.. even if that means paying a higher rate.

Moon from Houston
December 6th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad Customer Service

(2.4 / 5)

  Ive been a customer for over 5 years.. Not really any problems until recently. You cannot understand ANY of the employees anymore. They are all foreign and communication is now horrible, even with SUPERVISORS! I stopped getting my messages and ive repeatedly complained to no conclusion. I can't get anyone to explain this. They have disconnected my service AFTER I've made payments and still wanted me to pay the reconnect...after sitting on the phone for an hour! They USED to be good.

Lezlie from Dallas
October 20th, 2017

Hi Lezlie, I apologize for the customer service experience you encountered. I was able to locate your account and would you like to speak with you further. Thank you for your feedback.

Frontier Utilities Responds October 21st, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

i have plane not right at all

(2.2 / 5)

  I renewed my contract online this my account # 0541859 for the same plane I have before easy 12 I just have to pay$75 if I dont use over 1000 kw and month after I find out my plan was changed to different plan because The bill Change is not the same what I was paying the last contract I call all they said I did this change I said ok can I go back to my oldest plan they said no I talk to supervisor same thing they just dont care I dont use over 1000 kw Monthly I dont pay over $75 now my usage for this November was 694 kw and the charge was $109 this is scam am going to cancel my service I dont recommend this company safe your time they not even 24/7 service we you never charge me for the past year for center point charges and taxes for this new contract am having this is how you lie to people I got to pics show the different for this year and last year also I have the charges for last August 28/2018 right before my contact finish and ready to renew which I did online but look at the different

audi from Houston
November 29th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Giant rate hike

(2.2 / 5)

  With Frontier many years. Most recent bill increased 6x from prior month. Discovered that the rate increased to $0.25 per kW-hr. Last bill was twice as large as the highest ever seen at this house in 17 years. I could not switch fast enough.

Former customer from Sachse
July 13th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I'll likely be switching asap!

(2.2 / 5)

  I moved to a new apartment after losing my home to Hurricane Harvey. I was excited to have a company that offered the same rate monthly. I was beyond excited to receive my first bill last month and see my usage because I knew I was being overcharged by my previous company. I paid my bill and received my confirmation and it was deducted from my bank. Imagine my surprise when I got home this evening to no power. Only me, nobody else. I checked my account via automated phone and it says my account is paid, no balance due and thank you for my payment last month. Apparently I'm not the first one this has happened to based on reviews. Lesson learned to read reviews first. Very unsatisfied customer here.

Teresa from Houston
February 13th, 2018

Hi Teresa, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer, and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve. Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further? Hope to connect with you soon.

Frontier Utilities Responds March 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Renewal Process

(2.2 / 5)

  I've been with Frontier for a few years now and absolutely love the rates however I have not been able to renew my plan causing my bill to almost triple.
The online option to renew times out on both a desktop and mobile app. I have called customer service and was on hold several times, once exceeding 40 minutes.

Juana from North Richland Hills
December 10th, 2017

Hi Juana, I understand your concerns and apologize for the inconvenience. I left a message for you to return my call on my direct line. I would like to speak with you further regarding your account. Best regards,Safiya

Frontier Utilities Responds December 11th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Double the cost of TXU

(2.2 / 5)

  My bill went from $45 to $80 monthly to $150 monthly regardless of how much energy I use. I guess I signed up for some sort of scam...

Neal Orr from Missouri City
December 6th, 2017

Mr. Orr, we appreciate your feedback. However, as we tried to inform you that you processed a self-enrollment online and selected the plan that has a flat base fee for up to 2000 kwh. The Electricity Facts Label was also available for you to review and for any questions you did have the opportunity to contact Frontier directly. We do try to accomodate our customers in the best way and we did offer to change your plan which you declined. If you would like to reconsider please give us a call. Thank you.

Frontier Utilities Responds December 20th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware end of contract

(2 / 5)

  3x times previous rate. Change provider and new 2 year plan is down to what we got on frontier contract. If companies can give a fixed rate that long that means the off contract at 3x is just gouging.

2 year customer from Fort Worth
July 8th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Run, they will take all your money

(2 / 5)

  I am on their "prepaid plan" which was suggested by one of their reps. The deal was great but then I notice I was using more money to keep my lights on but literally wasn't at home . I work 6 days and my off day I sleep. After getting my invoice in an email; I spent over 209 dollars for an apartment. When asked about a cheaper rate with using more than 500kWh( which is apt usage) I was not given the correct information. I'm looking for something better and would never recommend this company to a soul. I will be reporting to the BBB.

Jasmine from Humble
October 11th, 2017

We believe that sharing reviews publicly provides helpful insides to making the right decision when choosing an electric provider. In case of a negative review like yours, publishing a review with the name that is associated with your account will help us to provide a fast response from our team. We are very committed to resolving any of our customers concerns or issues that cause a poor customer experience with Frontier Utilities. Since we are not able to reach you, please feel free to contact us at 866-926-8192 or if you would like someone from Frontier to contact you directly, please respond to this message with your contact information. Please refer to Safiya when you call us. Thank you for your feedback. Frontier Customer Service

Frontier Utilities Responds November 4th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Frontier has HORRIBLE Customer Service

(2 / 5)

  I became a Frontier customer a few months ago because of their great rates but those rates come at excessive cost. Their billing system is atrocious, I never received an email or even a note saying to check my account on the website when the bill was due. All I ever get is disconnection notices sent to my home address, which is how I know the bill is due. After months of requests, they still have not got IT to solve the email issue and they have refused to credit even one late fee. The fees have been $6-8, the last one for $8 was only 2 days late yet they charge it and refuse to help out, even for goodwill. I do NOT recommend this company.

Greg J from Houston
May 30th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Should of done more research

(1.8 / 5)

  You can easily find better alternatives than this company. My last bill was $116 for electricity charges (which isnt too bad) and then a $82 "utility service charge!" I understand having service charges but not for an amount that is more than half of my electricity usage. Suffice to say I will not renew with this company.

Joe T. from Houston
October 11th, 2018

Hello Joe T,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. My name is Araceli and I want to reach out to you to answer any questions you may have regarding the charges on your bill. As you know all plans with all Retail Electric Providers have the charges from the TDSP (Transmission and Distribution Service Provider) this is to cover the generation of electricity and the maintenance of the power lines and equipment. Please feel free to reach out to us at www.Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com to further assist you.
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds October 29th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont be tricked! Frontier deceives and has horrible customer service

(1.8 / 5)

  I recently switched to frontier via an online energy comparison company. When speaking with the rep he seemed knowledgeable of my needs for the best choice of plan. The next day after reviewing the plan more carefully I realized it was not for us. The rep told me I had 3 business days to cancel. When I called frontier the next day to cancel they said I could not cancel because this was a new home move in. I explained that I have lived in the same home for nearly 7 years and this was not a new move in. They said they could not switch me back or I would be charged a $250 cancellation fee. I pressed that this was not what the rep told me on the phone. They then said they would have to review the phone tapes from my initial conversation with the rep and it would take several days. Can you believe this? Obviously they are insinuating that I am lying about the rep telling me I have a 3 day cancellation period. What happened to customer service? They have zero! The original rep also told me incorrect information such as it being a $200 cancellation fee after 3 days not $250 and the kw usage was different then what he quoted. Run from this company! They also said if I tried to cancel before it was resolved my power would be turned off because they cant or won't cancel the order and send me back with my previous energy company.

Kelli from Frisco
March 14th, 2018

We believe that sharing reviews publicly provides helpful insides to making the right decision when choosing an electric provider. In case of a negative review like yours, publishing a review with the name that is associated with your account will help us to provide a fast response from our team. We are very committed to resolving any of our customers concerns or issues that cause a poor customer experience with Frontier Utilities. Since we are not able to reach you, please feel free to contact us at 866-926-8192 or if you would like someone from Frontier to contact you directly, please respond to this message with your contact information. Please refer to Cyla when you call us. Thank you for your feedback

Frontier Utilities Responds March 14th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and switch

(1.8 / 5)

  I was a customer with this company for last 5 yrs. when it was time for my renewal, I called the CS and asked for better rates, so they offered me a plan saying there is no fees or additional charges or no minimal charges. I accepted because rates were very competitive. Only after I got my first bill I understood that they cheated me to get a plan which had TDCU charges separate from energy charges, that means, I have to pay more than double what I was told my plan charges will be. for example, i thought I agreed for 11.4c per kwh but I have to pay 24.37c per kwh because TDCU charges and taxes are billed separately on the same bill.

unhappy customer from Pearland
February 22nd, 2018

We believe that sharing reviews publicly provides helpful insides to making the right decision when choosing an electric provider. In case of a negative review like yours, publishing a review with the name that is associated with your account will help us to provide a fast response from our team. We are very committed to resolving any of our customers concerns or issues that cause a poor customer experience with Frontier Utilities. Since we are not able to reach you, please feel free to contact us at 866-926-8192 or if you would like someone from Frontier to contact you directly, please respond to this message with your contact information. Please refer to Cyla when you call us. Thank you for your feedback

Frontier Utilities Responds March 14th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Frontier utility's trash all around

(1.8 / 5)

  I give frontier a zero star rating prices are great but with that their services are horrible, customer service? There is no service, only time I ever can get a hold of them is when they disconnect my power. I myself work 16 to 17 hours a day always out of town for work their suppose to email me my bill but never got a email once just paid a 231.11 bill and their still charging trying to charge me another 285.00 because I've had no service with them in two months called customer service they told me my power would be on in 2 to 4 hours but still no power talked to a supervisor and he told me to call back tomorrow because my account was suspended but yet they still took my money and said my power would be on but again it's not, so pretty much they've stolen my money or robbed me whichever way you wanna see it as, so no I would not recommend this power company to anyone, be smart on who you give your account number to because you'll get scammed just like I did

John sprinkler from Katy
July 21st, 2017

John, I understand your concerns regarding your account. I would like to speak with you directly. Would you mind providing me with your account number and a good contact number please?

Frontier Utilities Responds August 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BAIT AND SWITCH, BEWARE OF THEIR "LOW PRICES"!

(1.6 / 5)

  The first 12 months we had a great rate, then we found out what they do to make money. They said they notified us by USPS mail about the contract expiration. I wasn't emailed or called about the contract expiring, so they billed me the out of contract rate for a month at +$400 (my bill is usually 170 or less). I called to see if they would correct it, and they would not. I was offered a small deduction, but they wanted me to sign a new contract. The new contract would increase my bill by $85/mo. I refused to sign any new contract. New customers get the really nice prices listed on their website. Existing customers are not offered anything close to the pricing for new customers. Now, they will get nothing from me. No one really cared about keeping me there, including multiple account managers. It took me 5 minutes to switch companies.

DONT DO IT from Spring
October 12th, 2018

Hello,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. We appreciate the feedback and bringing this matter to our attention. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and sincerely apologies for any inconvenience you may had. Based on the name provided in your review, we are unable to locate your Frontier account and your contact information. Please contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com so we can get this matter resolved immediately.
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds October 29th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

2 Months in and Underwhelmed by Customer Service

(1.6 / 5)

  I have only been using Frontier for about 2 months now, and the service itself has been adequate. However, the customer service, online interface, and billing process have all been negative thus far. I had to call (2) separate times in one week to update my contact phone # since that function is not available on the online portal. The second time, they input a nine digit # and I had to call back to have it updated again.
Regarding billing, I have autopay set-up, which drafts on the day the bill is due. An invoice was issued earlier on the same morning, reflecting that I had not paid my previous bill even, though it auto-paid later that same day. The online portal shows the Invoice as unpaid, but the Paid status shows it as paid, and I confirmed that it was paid over the phone. Both misleading and confusing how the (2) different tabs on the online portal show different information. Also, I don't understand why an invoice would be issued prior to the auto-pay on the same day, making it appear as though the customer was late on the previous month's payment.
Finally, there was an overlap in service between my apartment and home, so I was paying for both locations at the same time, and had requested a specific cut-off date for the apartment at the time of setup; we were not told that any additional information or requests would be required for this future transaction. I called back, after that date to confirm that service had been cut-off to the apartment, and it had not and customer service had no notes or recollection of this conversation. They claim to have put in the request, but insisted that I would receive a paper copy of the transaction in the mail, as opposed to an email (which they have on file). At this point, I have limited trust that they will complete these actions correctly, and in a timely fashion. Which will most likely require more phone calls and more frustration.
To sum up, the electricity itself has been fine, but any human/website interaction so far with this company has been very disappointing and frustrating.

Jen from Richardson
May 22nd, 2017

Hi Jen. Thank you for your feedback. I want to reach to you regarding your concerns with the online portal. I understand this has been very frustrating for you and I do apologize. I would like to speak with you further. Would you mind providing me with your account number and a good contact number please? Thank you.

Frontier Utilities Responds May 26th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Over paid for a few months

(1.6 / 5)

  I have a small studio apartment and was paying around $50 per month in the summer. In the fall it decreased to about $40 per month. Just switched to Reliant and am saving about 15 to 20 dollars per month with an energy conservative plan.

Chris from Plano
November 14th, 2016

.

Frontier Utilities Responds May 17th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Updated: 02-18-2019
Example Bill
loading...