Frontier Utilities Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Frontier Utilities are the order experience, rated at 2.1 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.8 of 5.

Frontier Utilities Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 2 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

139 Reviews for Frontier Utilities


Bait and switch

(1.8 / 5)

  I was a customer with this company for last 5 yrs. when it was time for my renewal, I called the CS and asked for better rates, so they offered me a plan saying there is no fees or additional charges or no minimal charges. I accepted because rates were very competitive. Only after I got my first bill I understood that they cheated me to get a plan which had TDCU charges separate from energy charges, that means, I have to pay more than double what I was told my plan charges will be. for example, i thought I agreed for 11.4c per kwh but I have to pay 24.37c per kwh because TDCU charges and taxes are billed separately on the same bill.

unhappy customer from Pearland
February 22nd, 2018

We believe that sharing reviews publicly provides helpful insides to making the right decision when choosing an electric provider. In case of a negative review like yours, publishing a review with the name that is associated with your account will help us to provide a fast response from our team. We are very committed to resolving any of our customers concerns or issues that cause a poor customer experience with Frontier Utilities. Since we are not able to reach you, please feel free to contact us at 866-926-8192 or if you would like someone from Frontier to contact you directly, please respond to this message with your contact information. Please refer to Cyla when you call us. Thank you for your feedback

Frontier Utilities Responds March 14th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Frontier utility's trash all around

(1.8 / 5)

  I give frontier a zero star rating prices are great but with that their services are horrible, customer service? There is no service, only time I ever can get a hold of them is when they disconnect my power. I myself work 16 to 17 hours a day always out of town for work their suppose to email me my bill but never got a email once just paid a 231.11 bill and their still charging trying to charge me another 285.00 because I've had no service with them in two months called customer service they told me my power would be on in 2 to 4 hours but still no power talked to a supervisor and he told me to call back tomorrow because my account was suspended but yet they still took my money and said my power would be on but again it's not, so pretty much they've stolen my money or robbed me whichever way you wanna see it as, so no I would not recommend this power company to anyone, be smart on who you give your account number to because you'll get scammed just like I did

John sprinkler from Katy
July 21st, 2017

John, I understand your concerns regarding your account. I would like to speak with you directly. Would you mind providing me with your account number and a good contact number please?

Frontier Utilities Responds August 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They Discriminate Based On Income and Class

(1.6 / 5)

  If you have bad credit or low income, you will most likely be conned into their prepaid plan. You can expect that your payments must be at least $20 each time you make a payment. Not $10. Not $5. Even if you pay twice a day. You must pay $20 each time. Expect to pay at least $120 a month per every 200 square feet. You will not be able to speak to a rep in the US, and it is extremely difficult to explain anything not within their basic understanding of English and prewritten script. They do not give prepaid customers bills and you are given 24 hours or less notice by text (if your phone gets the text) of a disconnection the next day. You must have enough prepaid by Friday morning to get you through the weekend to Monday. If not, your utilities will be disconnected Friday morning. They will not hold disconnections despite medical conditions either. Bottom line, the less your income the larger your utility bill.

Disatisfied and Disappointed in Houston from Houston
April 10th, 2019

Hello Disatisfied And Disappointed In Houston,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. We appreciate the feedback and bringing this matter to our attention. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and sincerely apologies for any inconvenience you may had. Based on the name provided in your review, we are unable to locate your Frontier account and your contact information. Please contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

the worst experience ever!!!

(1.6 / 5)

  This company might have been good in 2017 but unfortunately I signed up with them Aug 2018 and it has been a nightmare. It makes me wonder if these reviews are false. I could not get a bill from them, they turned off my electricity, when I tried to phone to get everything sorted they have never been able to correct the problem. They would phone me saying they will get it all straight/sorted/corrected and I could never get in touch with the person who phoned me. Finally I went with a new company for my own sanity's sake. They have now turned it over to a collection agency. I find all of this extremely hard to believe from someone who has excellent credit and just wanted to pay their bill. I think they're going through some tough times and I would NEVER recommend this company. It's fine to make a mistake but have the skills to make it right and let the customer talk to someone who can actually problem solve.

lmc from Houston
March 22nd, 2019

Hello Lmc,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us and appreciate the feedback and bringing this matter to our attention. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and sincerely apologies for your poor experience with us. My name is Araceli and I will be more than happy to further assist you to resolve this matter to your satisfaction. Fell free to contact me at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

THE MOST EXPENSIVE ELECTRIC BILLING COMPANY

(1.6 / 5)

  They will promise to help you save. Its the fees they charge that get you. When u sign the contract with them. They know u cant switch without paying that very high cancellation fee. So they start with $20 fees here $6 there before you know it. You are paying an average of $34-$96 in fees more every month on top of your electric usage

Baura from Spring
February 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BAIT AND SWITCH, BEWARE OF THEIR "LOW PRICES"!

(1.6 / 5)

  The first 12 months we had a great rate, then we found out what they do to make money. They said they notified us by USPS mail about the contract expiration. I wasn't emailed or called about the contract expiring, so they billed me the out of contract rate for a month at +$400 (my bill is usually 170 or less). I called to see if they would correct it, and they would not. I was offered a small deduction, but they wanted me to sign a new contract. The new contract would increase my bill by $85/mo. I refused to sign any new contract. New customers get the really nice prices listed on their website. Existing customers are not offered anything close to the pricing for new customers. Now, they will get nothing from me. No one really cared about keeping me there, including multiple account managers. It took me 5 minutes to switch companies.

DONT DO IT from Spring
October 12th, 2018

Hello,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. We appreciate the feedback and bringing this matter to our attention. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and sincerely apologies for any inconvenience you may had. Based on the name provided in your review, we are unable to locate your Frontier account and your contact information. Please contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com so we can get this matter resolved immediately.
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds October 29th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

2 Months in and Underwhelmed by Customer Service

(1.6 / 5)

  I have only been using Frontier for about 2 months now, and the service itself has been adequate. However, the customer service, online interface, and billing process have all been negative thus far. I had to call (2) separate times in one week to update my contact phone # since that function is not available on the online portal. The second time, they input a nine digit # and I had to call back to have it updated again.
Regarding billing, I have autopay set-up, which drafts on the day the bill is due. An invoice was issued earlier on the same morning, reflecting that I had not paid my previous bill even, though it auto-paid later that same day. The online portal shows the Invoice as unpaid, but the Paid status shows it as paid, and I confirmed that it was paid over the phone. Both misleading and confusing how the (2) different tabs on the online portal show different information. Also, I don't understand why an invoice would be issued prior to the auto-pay on the same day, making it appear as though the customer was late on the previous month's payment.
Finally, there was an overlap in service between my apartment and home, so I was paying for both locations at the same time, and had requested a specific cut-off date for the apartment at the time of setup; we were not told that any additional information or requests would be required for this future transaction. I called back, after that date to confirm that service had been cut-off to the apartment, and it had not and customer service had no notes or recollection of this conversation. They claim to have put in the request, but insisted that I would receive a paper copy of the transaction in the mail, as opposed to an email (which they have on file). At this point, I have limited trust that they will complete these actions correctly, and in a timely fashion. Which will most likely require more phone calls and more frustration.
To sum up, the electricity itself has been fine, but any human/website interaction so far with this company has been very disappointing and frustrating.

Jen from Richardson
May 22nd, 2017

Hi Jen. Thank you for your feedback. I want to reach to you regarding your concerns with the online portal. I understand this has been very frustrating for you and I do apologize. I would like to speak with you further. Would you mind providing me with your account number and a good contact number please? Thank you.

Frontier Utilities Responds May 26th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Over paid for a few months

(1.6 / 5)

  I have a small studio apartment and was paying around $50 per month in the summer. In the fall it decreased to about $40 per month. Just switched to Reliant and am saving about 15 to 20 dollars per month with an energy conservative plan.

Chris from Plano
November 14th, 2016

.

Frontier Utilities Responds May 17th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not worth the discount

(1.6 / 5)

  This is the worst company I have ever dealt with. The customer service is horrendous. I can go on about how they shut my power before my due date on my bill then charging me a reconnection fee to increasing my deposit by $300.00 and only giving me 2 days to do it. Just stay away.

Jim from Rockwall
June 11th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Billing and Account Management

(1.6 / 5)

  Biling cycles consistently change without proper notification. While meter reads DO change, billing cycles should not. This ultimately leading to disconnection/reconnection fees. I would NEVER reccoment this to a friend. If you travel it is not likely that you will recieve proper notification when a disconnection notice or billing issue arises, leading to returning home with no AC and a refrigerator full of rotten food. I even called to ask if they would work with me and there was nothing they are willing to do. They claim to be an accredited business from a couple of organizations, which Im not sure how that is possible unless these so-callled business organizations operate with zero merit.

Angry/Annoyed Customer from Houston
October 28th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Payed highest electric bill ever!

(1.4 / 5)

  They offered 7.3 cents for 2000 kWh and then put in the contract 16.60 cents per kWh for over 2000 kWh. I have never paid over $600 for an electric bill or anything close in my 45 years on this earth! Absolutely ridiculous and a terrible company!

Courtney Cox from Midland
July 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Service

(1.4 / 5)

  Frontier website only allows payments and referrals. Everything else must be done over the phone, US mail or email. Called in to change address and could not understand the agent who spoke with heavy eastern european accent. Automated email response for Memorial Day is a week old. They still haven't checked the email box.

Poor Service from Webster
May 30th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service and Billing and Account Management

(1.4 / 5)

  The employee that signed me up arbitrarly signed me up for electronic invoice instead of regular mail like I requested. I have contacted customer care multiple times both by phone and email trying to get the billing problem corrected but have not been successful. Customer care listens and tells me the problem will be corrected but they don't follow through to make sure it gets corrected. It seems like it would be a very simple fix but they just can't seem to get it done.

Jerry from Fort Worth
April 22nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch out for this company

(1.4 / 5)

  Got a surprise, my electric bill was going from $140-$170 a month. I renewed my contract with FRONTIER UTILITIES in August. I was shocked when my January electric bill was $438. This is for a two bedroom apartment. I figured some mistake had been made and paid it. This month the electric bill was for $383. I called FRONTIER UTILITIES yesterday. I had to get through two people before I got to a manager. She told me that my usage hadn't changed that much. This is where it got strange. She said that my rates changed in August when I renewed, from 6.3 cents/kilowatt hour to 10.5 cents/kilowatt hour. When I asked why the rates didn't change in August she told me they hadn't changed. I repeated what she had told me the rates were and she agreed that it was correct, but the rates hadn't changed. Now if I sell you a hamburger for $5 this week and $9 next week, and I tell you the price hasn't changed I'm either a idiot or I'm lying. I'm stuck in this contract until August, and you better believe I'll have a new electric provider lined up on July. Until then all I can do is ask you to STAY AWAY FROM FRONTIER UTILITIES.

Steve Williams from Rockwall
February 27th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sky rocketing rates on renewal

(1.4 / 5)

  I renewed my service with them after a uear and the price of the bill tripled. They only give you two day ectentions and require half the bill first. I'm shopping for more affordable service. They are a rip off.

Lynn from Houston
November 10th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Okay then suddenly, just. not. okay.

(1.4 / 5)

  I started my service in June of last year at a new apartment. The pay as you go system was convenient and relatively affordable. Then recently I moved to a new apartment. I called Sept 10th to have my service moved to my new address. The agent was friendly and seemed to do his job. 3 weeks later I noticed my text updates weren't showing any power usage. This meant that my service hadn't been switched over. So I called the customer service line and spoke to another agent. He was friendly and transferred me to their sales department. The sales department hung up on me. I called back and went through the same process with another agent. The sales department hung up on me AGAIN! I called back a third time, by now I was understandably irritated. I asked to speak with a supervisor and got a lady with a name that sounded like Mayela. I only remember her name because she seemed to be the only one at the company with any brains. This time when she transferred me to the sales department, I spoke to someone. His name was Gordon. I remember his name because he tried to upsell me at a time when I wasn't interested in upselling. He was going to close my current account and open a new one rather than simply transferring my service. I didn't actually lose my temper until he tried to charge me the 75 dollar new account fee. I have a long fuse. I'd been on the phone at work with these people for an hour and I'd already been hung up on twice by this department. Yes, I was angry and I did yell at him because I'd finally had it. So when he hung up on me I called back and spoke with my savior Mayela again. She transferred my service herself no problem in the course of 15 minutes. That was all I wanted, and I was happy. That is until I noticed that the 60 dollars I had prepaid on my account was depleted after 3 days. When I called customer service I spoke with another supervisor I think his name was Issac, I don't clearly remember because at this point I was ready to drop my service. What I was looking for was something along the lines of "We're so sorry this happened, we'll refund your money to you right away and fix the issue immediately." What I got was Issac being argumentative stating that obviously a 2 bedroom 600sqft apartment was using 40kwh a day and the problem was totally mine. He didn't even check if it was a problem on their end, even though I'm obviously paying for two apartment's electricity usage. Its the weekend and I'm being extorted until monday when I can switch to a different company. My cost says its 10 dollars a day for electricity but 30 dollars seems to only last about 24 hours. I will NEVER use this company again! DO NOT USE FRONTIER! The pay as you go is convenient and the text updates are savvy and informative. I know sometimes people try to get away with stuff and when it fails they write crappy reviews. I used to work in a call center and I get it. THIS IS NOT ONE OF THOSE SITUATIONS! This company is screwing me out of money I don't have. I'm actually debating if it would be worth it to be out of power for the weekend rather than pay 30 dollars for power the third time this week. DO NOT USE FRONTIER.

Rachel from Galveston
October 6th, 2018

Hello Rachel,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. We appreciate the feedback and bringing this matter to our attention. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and sincerely apologies for any inconvenience you may had. Based on the name provided in your review, we are unable to locate your Frontier account and your contact information. Please contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com so we can get this matter resolved immediately.
We are open Monday through Friday 7 am until 6:00 PM CST. We are also here to serve you on Saturdays from 8:00 AM to 2:00 PM.
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds October 29th, 2018

Its really convenient for you that you can't find my account. It detracts credibility from my experience. You say that you provide excellent service, and at least one of your managers believes that... My experience directly contradicts that. It was an ordeal that cost me money I didn't have. I made 9/hr at that time and my husband and I couldn't afford groceries because of it. This isn't consolatory, this is just further evidence of my experience.

Rachel Replies October 30th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible company with predatory practices

(1.4 / 5)

  Absolute crooks. I had their prepaid service for almost 2 years. It got to where it was over $12 a day for 40kwh of electricity. I had only ever lived in areas with single municiple power providers before this, so I didn't know how crazy high these companies can mark up prices.

Just switched to Griddy, also a prepaid service, and using the same amount of power, same temperatures outside, and the same wholesale power costs, we are paying about $2 per day for the same power. Yes, that includes the delivery fees as well. All in, we are hitting $75 for the month now where we were paying about $350 per month before.

I am a fool for not looking in to it sooner, but this system of selling power seems to intentionally convolute the process so predatory companies like Frontier utilities can take advantage of people.

In addition, they have, without exaggeration, the worst websites I have ever used for a utility. The data is slow and convoluted when compared to other companies. Not even the credit card form is formatted properly. Browsers don't recognize the form as a credit card form so if you use systems to securely store card info and fill those fields, it won't work.

Jonny from Austin
September 16th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

OUT OF THE BLUE THEY CHARGED US DOUBLE

(1.4 / 5)

  I was very disappointed to receive our July 5, 2018 bill. We went from paying .21 cents per kw to .26 cents per kw. That does not look like much, but it is a little more than half of what we were paying. When I called and spoke with Melvin in customer service, he said it was because we had not had a contract with them for five years and that President Trump had changed the bill with increasing rates. I did my research and found that President Trump had not done any such action. Then there was the issue that he said we had not had a contract within five years. I questioned as to why after five years of never receiving an email or phone call from them they would randomly increase the rate without warning. He said that they had sent out a letter, which we never received.
I asked Melvin if they could adjust the bill back to our rate of .21cents per kw and he said no. He could do that on the next bills if we signed a new contract.
Unfortunately, they lost my business for two reasons. One, the false statement about President Trump increasing the rates, and two, the fact that they were not willing to work with a long standing customer.
I have shopped around for better rates and have gone with a local company that gave me a fixed rate of .10 cents per kw. FOLKS, SHOP YOUR RATES.

Wendy G. from Houston
July 9th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

RUN FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!!

(1.4 / 5)

  This is by far the WORST company that I have ever encountered! They are a complete RIP OFF! I was with them for 3 years and the first 2 years they were great, however in 2018 they changed for the worse. I had prepaid electricity and I'm guessing that the company is struggling and so they are using the PP customers to rip off and try to keep afloat. I was paying $25.00 per day and EVERY morning, I'd get a disconnect notice stating my account was in the negative. I even started turning my breaker off at night just to see if I'd still be billed and sure enough, the next morning I'd have a disconnect. DO NOT..I repeat DO NOT use this company. The reps are rude, they barely speak english and you will go broke with them! I took a chance and applied for TXU and only had to pay a $50 deposit, plus I get free nights and my bill is nearly 75% less than what I was paying with this Rip off company! Take heed to all the bad reviews!

Lynette from Crowley
July 5th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They will rob you! So I put $50 in yesterday I put $50 in my prepaid account yesterday

(1.4 / 5)

  I put $50 into my prepaid account yesterday today it's showing I have a balance of $20 I did not use $30 of electricity in one day this is not the first time this has happened! When I call they never have an answer for anything! When I ask to speak to a supervisor they put me on hold I was on hold for 10 minutes and then they hung up on me! I was a loyal customer to them for 3 years and I'm fed up! I'm going to switch service and I want my $20 it's in my account now to be giving back to me

Crystal Stacks from Arlington
May 24th, 2018

Hi Ms. Crystal Stacks:
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the service we provided. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and we appreciate your feedback. My name is Araceli and I reviewed your Frontier account. I tried to contact you but nobody answered and I was unable to leave I voice message, I would like to speak with you to review your inquiry further. Feel free to send me an email at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com or call 1866-926-8192 and ask for Araceli.
We are open Monday to Friday 7 am until 6:00 PM CST. We are also here to serve you on Saturdays from 8:00 AM to 2:00 PM.

Thank you.
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds May 30th, 2018

Araceli tells me to email her at the provided email address and I immediately get a failure to send notice to that email. It doesn't exist. Wow...ridiculous

Crystal Stacks Replies December 31st, 1969
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...