Frontier Utilities Reviews

Frontier Utilities Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Frontier Utilities are the order experience, rated at 2.1 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.8 of 5.

Frontier Utilities Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 2 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

155 Reviews for Frontier Utilities


Frontier has HORRIBLE Customer Service

(2 / 5)

  I became a Frontier customer a few months ago because of their great rates but those rates come at excessive cost. Their billing system is atrocious, I never received an email or even a note saying to check my account on the website when the bill was due. All I ever get is disconnection notices sent to my home address, which is how I know the bill is due. After months of requests, they still have not got IT to solve the email issue and they have refused to credit even one late fee. The fees have been $6-8, the last one for $8 was only 2 days late yet they charge it and refuse to help out, even for goodwill. I do NOT recommend this company.

Greg J from Houston
May 30th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shop around and Read Reviews

(1.8 / 5)

  I use this electricity company(pre paid)when I'm working on my rental homes. I thought since that went well I would get a month to month for another small house on my property. My bill was $13-$15 BUT if I paid **1 DAY** late I got a disconnect payment of $20 EVEN if on the billing statement it says 5.0% after due date. Please be careful with this company do your research and shop around. I'm happy that I have Reliant Energy for my own house.

Unsatisfied Customer from Pearland
May 5th, 2020

Thank you for your feed back.

I am sorry you where not happy with our services. I will share this feed back with my team. If you would like to discuss more regarding the fee you can contact our customer service department at 1-866-926-8192.

Thanks,
Frontier Utilities.

Frontier Utilities Responds May 5th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch your contract date...and watch the rates then.

(1.8 / 5)

  My fault for not paying attention and letting this run on auto-pilot, but apparently once your contract period ends, the rate starts growing rapidly. As billing and payment were automatic, I'm sure they fulfilled exactly as the contract stated, but once it's over...you better be paying attention! Convenient for me that this was so automatic, but very lucrative for them if you're not watching once the contract period is over. I get it that they don't sustain their promotional rate, but the way it's grown seems like price gouging.

I'm sure it's prevalent with all electric providers, but it's a shame that their practices punish what really could be a good and steady customer base.

Howard from Keller
August 31st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't take the bait!

(1.8 / 5)

  They are very deceptive on their pricing. Their customer service is a call center in Latin America. No real answers/solutions.

Frontier is a joke. from Cypress
August 20th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't be late

(1.8 / 5)

  My mail was routed to a neighbor at my new home. But given that the company only gives you 14 days to pay your bill or they charge you $25 for being one day late and send you a letter threatening to turn off your power the day after is simply ridiculous. Most power companies send the bill out at least 3 weeks in advance so if on vacation etc. you have time to get it in without late.

Then customer service is so noise and the people can only read scripted answers. Awful - moving to another company!

dissatisfied customer from Houston
July 1st, 2019

Hello, Dissatisfied Customer from 77009,
We would like to extend our sincerest apologies concerning the issues that you have faced with us, we'll be more than happy to review your account to look into the additional fees charged in your account. Feel free to contact us at Resolution@frontierutilities.com to further assist you.
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds July 21st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Should of done more research

(1.8 / 5)

  You can easily find better alternatives than this company. My last bill was $116 for electricity charges (which isnt too bad) and then a $82 "utility service charge!" I understand having service charges but not for an amount that is more than half of my electricity usage. Suffice to say I will not renew with this company.

Joe T. from Houston
October 11th, 2018

Hello Joe T,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. My name is Araceli and I want to reach out to you to answer any questions you may have regarding the charges on your bill. As you know all plans with all Retail Electric Providers have the charges from the TDSP (Transmission and Distribution Service Provider) this is to cover the generation of electricity and the maintenance of the power lines and equipment. Please feel free to reach out to us at www.Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com to further assist you.
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds October 29th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont be tricked! Frontier deceives and has horrible customer service

(1.8 / 5)

  I recently switched to frontier via an online energy comparison company. When speaking with the rep he seemed knowledgeable of my needs for the best choice of plan. The next day after reviewing the plan more carefully I realized it was not for us. The rep told me I had 3 business days to cancel. When I called frontier the next day to cancel they said I could not cancel because this was a new home move in. I explained that I have lived in the same home for nearly 7 years and this was not a new move in. They said they could not switch me back or I would be charged a $250 cancellation fee. I pressed that this was not what the rep told me on the phone. They then said they would have to review the phone tapes from my initial conversation with the rep and it would take several days. Can you believe this? Obviously they are insinuating that I am lying about the rep telling me I have a 3 day cancellation period. What happened to customer service? They have zero! The original rep also told me incorrect information such as it being a $200 cancellation fee after 3 days not $250 and the kw usage was different then what he quoted. Run from this company! They also said if I tried to cancel before it was resolved my power would be turned off because they cant or won't cancel the order and send me back with my previous energy company.

Kelli from Frisco
March 14th, 2018

We believe that sharing reviews publicly provides helpful insides to making the right decision when choosing an electric provider. In case of a negative review like yours, publishing a review with the name that is associated with your account will help us to provide a fast response from our team. We are very committed to resolving any of our customers concerns or issues that cause a poor customer experience with Frontier Utilities. Since we are not able to reach you, please feel free to contact us at 866-926-8192 or if you would like someone from Frontier to contact you directly, please respond to this message with your contact information. Please refer to Cyla when you call us. Thank you for your feedback

Frontier Utilities Responds March 14th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and switch

(1.8 / 5)

  I was a customer with this company for last 5 yrs. when it was time for my renewal, I called the CS and asked for better rates, so they offered me a plan saying there is no fees or additional charges or no minimal charges. I accepted because rates were very competitive. Only after I got my first bill I understood that they cheated me to get a plan which had TDCU charges separate from energy charges, that means, I have to pay more than double what I was told my plan charges will be. for example, i thought I agreed for 11.4c per kwh but I have to pay 24.37c per kwh because TDCU charges and taxes are billed separately on the same bill.

unhappy customer from Pearland
February 22nd, 2018

We believe that sharing reviews publicly provides helpful insides to making the right decision when choosing an electric provider. In case of a negative review like yours, publishing a review with the name that is associated with your account will help us to provide a fast response from our team. We are very committed to resolving any of our customers concerns or issues that cause a poor customer experience with Frontier Utilities. Since we are not able to reach you, please feel free to contact us at 866-926-8192 or if you would like someone from Frontier to contact you directly, please respond to this message with your contact information. Please refer to Cyla when you call us. Thank you for your feedback

Frontier Utilities Responds March 14th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Frontier utility's trash all around

(1.8 / 5)

  I give frontier a zero star rating prices are great but with that their services are horrible, customer service? There is no service, only time I ever can get a hold of them is when they disconnect my power. I myself work 16 to 17 hours a day always out of town for work their suppose to email me my bill but never got a email once just paid a 231.11 bill and their still charging trying to charge me another 285.00 because I've had no service with them in two months called customer service they told me my power would be on in 2 to 4 hours but still no power talked to a supervisor and he told me to call back tomorrow because my account was suspended but yet they still took my money and said my power would be on but again it's not, so pretty much they've stolen my money or robbed me whichever way you wanna see it as, so no I would not recommend this power company to anyone, be smart on who you give your account number to because you'll get scammed just like I did

John sprinkler from Katy
July 21st, 2017

John, I understand your concerns regarding your account. I would like to speak with you directly. Would you mind providing me with your account number and a good contact number please?

Frontier Utilities Responds August 23rd, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Frontier utility

(1.6 / 5)

  Extremely dishonest for 1 year my utility Bill was the same down yo the penny 149.62 even when utilities were turned off for vacation,.

Comparison pricing from Dallas
May 8th, 2020

Thank you for your feedback.
I am truly sorry you are not happy with our services. We would like to discuss this matter with you and see how we can help, please call our customer care department at 1-866-925-8192. We are open today till 6pm.
Thank you,
Frontier Utilities

Frontier Utilities Responds May 11th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nickle and Dime you

(1.6 / 5)

  Did not know this before I signed up for Frontier if I had of I would not had chosen them I was one day late and they send you a letter of disconnection notice charges you 20.00 for that and then chargers you late fee on top of that because I had missed the cut off I got charge $ 33.43 on top of my bill for being one day late I so glad that my contact is up with them this next month. The renewal is double to what I was paying so BYE BYE FRONTIER

J.MORTON from Fort Worth
August 16th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They Discriminate Based On Income and Class

(1.6 / 5)

  If you have bad credit or low income, you will most likely be conned into their prepaid plan. You can expect that your payments must be at least $20 each time you make a payment. Not $10. Not $5. Even if you pay twice a day. You must pay $20 each time. Expect to pay at least $120 a month per every 200 square feet. You will not be able to speak to a rep in the US, and it is extremely difficult to explain anything not within their basic understanding of English and prewritten script. They do not give prepaid customers bills and you are given 24 hours or less notice by text (if your phone gets the text) of a disconnection the next day. You must have enough prepaid by Friday morning to get you through the weekend to Monday. If not, your utilities will be disconnected Friday morning. They will not hold disconnections despite medical conditions either. Bottom line, the less your income the larger your utility bill.

Disatisfied and Disappointed in Houston from Houston
April 10th, 2019

Hello Disatisfied And Disappointed In Houston,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. We appreciate the feedback and bringing this matter to our attention. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and sincerely apologies for any inconvenience you may had. Based on the name provided in your review, we are unable to locate your Frontier account and your contact information. Please contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

the worst experience ever!!!

(1.6 / 5)

  This company might have been good in 2017 but unfortunately I signed up with them Aug 2018 and it has been a nightmare. It makes me wonder if these reviews are false. I could not get a bill from them, they turned off my electricity, when I tried to phone to get everything sorted they have never been able to correct the problem. They would phone me saying they will get it all straight/sorted/corrected and I could never get in touch with the person who phoned me. Finally I went with a new company for my own sanity's sake. They have now turned it over to a collection agency. I find all of this extremely hard to believe from someone who has excellent credit and just wanted to pay their bill. I think they're going through some tough times and I would NEVER recommend this company. It's fine to make a mistake but have the skills to make it right and let the customer talk to someone who can actually problem solve.

lmc from Houston
March 22nd, 2019

Hello Lmc,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us and appreciate the feedback and bringing this matter to our attention. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and sincerely apologies for your poor experience with us. My name is Araceli and I will be more than happy to further assist you to resolve this matter to your satisfaction. Fell free to contact me at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 13th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

THE MOST EXPENSIVE ELECTRIC BILLING COMPANY

(1.6 / 5)

  They will promise to help you save. Its the fees they charge that get you. When u sign the contract with them. They know u cant switch without paying that very high cancellation fee. So they start with $20 fees here $6 there before you know it. You are paying an average of $34-$96 in fees more every month on top of your electric usage

Baura from Spring
February 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BAIT AND SWITCH, BEWARE OF THEIR "LOW PRICES"!

(1.6 / 5)

  The first 12 months we had a great rate, then we found out what they do to make money. They said they notified us by USPS mail about the contract expiration. I wasn't emailed or called about the contract expiring, so they billed me the out of contract rate for a month at +$400 (my bill is usually 170 or less). I called to see if they would correct it, and they would not. I was offered a small deduction, but they wanted me to sign a new contract. The new contract would increase my bill by $85/mo. I refused to sign any new contract. New customers get the really nice prices listed on their website. Existing customers are not offered anything close to the pricing for new customers. Now, they will get nothing from me. No one really cared about keeping me there, including multiple account managers. It took me 5 minutes to switch companies.

DONT DO IT from Spring
October 12th, 2018

Hello,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. We appreciate the feedback and bringing this matter to our attention. At Frontier Utilities we strive to provide exceptional customer service and sincerely apologies for any inconvenience you may had. Based on the name provided in your review, we are unable to locate your Frontier account and your contact information. Please contact us at Resolution@FrontierUtilities.com so we can get this matter resolved immediately.
Sincerely,
Araceli R.

Frontier Utilities Responds October 29th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

2 Months in and Underwhelmed by Customer Service

(1.6 / 5)

  I have only been using Frontier for about 2 months now, and the service itself has been adequate. However, the customer service, online interface, and billing process have all been negative thus far. I had to call (2) separate times in one week to update my contact phone # since that function is not available on the online portal. The second time, they input a nine digit # and I had to call back to have it updated again.
Regarding billing, I have autopay set-up, which drafts on the day the bill is due. An invoice was issued earlier on the same morning, reflecting that I had not paid my previous bill even, though it auto-paid later that same day. The online portal shows the Invoice as unpaid, but the Paid status shows it as paid, and I confirmed that it was paid over the phone. Both misleading and confusing how the (2) different tabs on the online portal show different information. Also, I don't understand why an invoice would be issued prior to the auto-pay on the same day, making it appear as though the customer was late on the previous month's payment.
Finally, there was an overlap in service between my apartment and home, so I was paying for both locations at the same time, and had requested a specific cut-off date for the apartment at the time of setup; we were not told that any additional information or requests would be required for this future transaction. I called back, after that date to confirm that service had been cut-off to the apartment, and it had not and customer service had no notes or recollection of this conversation. They claim to have put in the request, but insisted that I would receive a paper copy of the transaction in the mail, as opposed to an email (which they have on file). At this point, I have limited trust that they will complete these actions correctly, and in a timely fashion. Which will most likely require more phone calls and more frustration.
To sum up, the electricity itself has been fine, but any human/website interaction so far with this company has been very disappointing and frustrating.

Jen from Richardson
May 22nd, 2017

Hi Jen. Thank you for your feedback. I want to reach to you regarding your concerns with the online portal. I understand this has been very frustrating for you and I do apologize. I would like to speak with you further. Would you mind providing me with your account number and a good contact number please? Thank you.

Frontier Utilities Responds May 26th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Over paid for a few months

(1.6 / 5)

  I have a small studio apartment and was paying around $50 per month in the summer. In the fall it decreased to about $40 per month. Just switched to Reliant and am saving about 15 to 20 dollars per month with an energy conservative plan.

Chris from Plano
November 14th, 2016

.

Frontier Utilities Responds May 17th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not worth the discount

(1.6 / 5)

  This is the worst company I have ever dealt with. The customer service is horrendous. I can go on about how they shut my power before my due date on my bill then charging me a reconnection fee to increasing my deposit by $300.00 and only giving me 2 days to do it. Just stay away.

Jim from Rockwall
June 11th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Billing and Account Management

(1.6 / 5)

  Biling cycles consistently change without proper notification. While meter reads DO change, billing cycles should not. This ultimately leading to disconnection/reconnection fees. I would NEVER reccoment this to a friend. If you travel it is not likely that you will recieve proper notification when a disconnection notice or billing issue arises, leading to returning home with no AC and a refrigerator full of rotten food. I even called to ask if they would work with me and there was nothing they are willing to do. They claim to be an accredited business from a couple of organizations, which Im not sure how that is possible unless these so-callled business organizations operate with zero merit.

Angry/Annoyed Customer from Houston
October 28th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Payed highest electric bill ever!

(1.4 / 5)

  They offered 7.3 cents for 2000 kWh and then put in the contract 16.60 cents per kWh for over 2000 kWh. I have never paid over $600 for an electric bill or anything close in my 45 years on this earth! Absolutely ridiculous and a terrible company!

Courtney Cox from Midland
July 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...