Crooks
They lured me in with their rebate promotion, $100 back after 1000 kWh of use. That worked out to something like 6 cents per kWh, about what I was paying with my previous provider. The first month was short, so I came in well under 1000 kWh. The price was astronomical, over 15 cents per kWh. I was shocked. Texas average is 11 cents, and I was paying 6 cents before. I asked the customer service rep to release me from my contract. He explained that he couldn't but that he could forward me to someone who could. I sat on hold for an hour. No one came to the line.
The next month, I was over 1000 kWh, got my rebate, but the average was still way over Texas's average. The next month, I was over 2000 kWh, but no rebate. Why? Because they said the rebate was for between 1000 and 2000. So my bill was $326, 15 cents per kWh, well over the average. In other words, unless you hit the exact sweet spot of 1001 kWh, you'll pay more than anyone else, and they'll flip you the bird when you ask to be let go from the contract. I'll find a provider that will pay my penalty and never look back. Gets can kiss my you know what.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jules from University Park, TX on January 18th, 2021
Hi Jules, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Scammers and thieves
These people gave me a plan I didnt choose n my bill was higher than normally. I went on n paid them in full every month never coming in on the same cycle! I would call and there was always a balance to be paid! I broke my contract when I realized I was being scammed! They hired pro collect in Dallas to retrieve their money. Pro collect agreed to $25 a month until paid in full but they reported me for non payment! I had $126 to go n just paid in full today! They are wolves in sheeps clothing!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charlene Haynes from Plano, TX on January 12th, 2021
Hi Charlene, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Good Service Until You Deal With Customer Service
Set up was easy. I used a third party that was able to show the difference in price based on my needs and situation. I looked at reviews at the time both good and bad. The bad reviews were about customer service which I thought was subjective and situational. That was until I had to deal with customer service. I was moving to a new area where they could not provide service. When taking to their agents, I felt like I was talking to those guys that are running a telephone scam. We agreed on the phone that I was moving out at the end of the month and that I would not be going to a month to month contract. Not only did they not turn my power off at the end of the month, I put me automatically in a month to month. I had not missed a bill up to this point. However, with all the emails involved in buying a new home for the first time, I missed my last bill with Gexa which caused them to turn off my power after 14 days into the new month during the COVID pandemic. Makes me wonder about others that could not afford to pay their bills. My new bill had charges for the last month, new month to month, and disconnection. I told them on the phone that I want my final bill to pay and be done with it. After disagreeing on whether or not I should pay for a reconnection fee in order to pay my bill, we agreed that I will pay my last month and the disconnection fee and they would rebate the month to month. Finally, they said that my last bill will be a zero balance. My last bills arrives with fees for the month to month time. With a different agent, they stated that the first agent was wrong even though that agent alleged talked a a supervisor. However, this agent was going to rebate $25 for my inconvenience. This turned out to be a lie as the agent never rebated the $25. So I paid the amount as my time is more important and the cost was too small to deal with in court. Last thought, customer service will do whatever it takes to get you off the phone to include lying to you. Where I saved two dollars a month for the year over another plan for a total of $24, I paid just over $75 in unnecessary charges in order to cancel my service. I only got the lower monthly price with them over other companies because of their veteran plan.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Houston, TX on January 8th, 2021
Hi Mike, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
DO NOT USE BUDGET BILLING
For the love of God do not sign up for budget billing youre basically using Gexa like a credit card and only paying a little amount of your actual bill if you stay within your kilowatts. So they keep that remaining balance only to charge you the second you shut off service. We were forced to move back home (Florida) when my office in Houston closed. I woke up to an email that my checking account was -$500 I check it and find that Gexa decided to take out what I owed them which was $800. After being on the phone with their customer service I got a sweet paper check for $100 for the confusion on how budget billing worked. ITS A SCAM. DO NOT USE IT.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chris from Pearland, TX on January 4th, 2021
Hi Chris, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
BAD TECHNOLOGY
Whomever heads up their technology is incredibly underqualified -- or underfunded. 1. Their "app" is a shell that ultimately just opens your account in mobile web. 2. They sent out an email communication talking about the "new" Gexa app with screenshots that don't even match the actual app functionality. I assume it was early/a mistake, but there was never any follow-up. 3. I cannot download my own bill. Every time I try, I get a token/authentication error that says I don't have access. REPEAT: I CAN'T SEE MY OWN BILL. So, I'm now holding (for 30 minutes) to see if customer service can send me one.

Awful, awful, awful. I don't know if it's just mismanaged or if they are incompetent, but I'll pay more in the future for a company that can provide an organized service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CYinDal from Dallas, TX on December 28th, 2020
Hi CYinDal, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Do Not use Gexa
The prices are fine but not worth the hassle, I pay my bills online and schedule for the day the bill is due but I still Get a DISCONNECTION NOTICE the day after its due. I will cancel Gexa the day after my contract runs out
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Houston, TX on December 19th, 2020
Hi Mike, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
BAD COMPANY
I am so done with these people. They changed account numbers and every since, they have been saying my payments are late and I received a DISCONNECT notice. I called my bank because I do my bills online through my bank, who called Gexa. They said to give it a couple of more days to process - which I did. Still not credited. I have NO issues with any other company receiving and processing payments made online through my bank. They said I needed to provide proof of payment - which I can't do because it is paid through my bank. Also want me to wait until the day before their threatened disconnect (another 10 days) for them to find my payment! They appear to be unable to understand what my bank told them or what I have said to them. STAY AWAY from this company!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mad As A Hornet from Wylie, TX on December 11th, 2020
Hi, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Bill doubled?
Your Gexa bill will be low the first time but it will double... triple... quadruple from there. Dont make the mistake I made and choose another company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Run! from Houston, TX on December 5th, 2020
Hi, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to learn more about what led to your rating. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Don't use Gexa
This company may seem to offer good prices, but they will change and drastically so. I went from having $60 to $70 bills for my one bedroom to $130-150 a month by the end of my year contract. I did not renew with them. At the same time, my mother renewed with gexa, and turn saw her bills double immediately afterward. They always have some sort of justification to get out of refunding their customers. Just avoid them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

SF from Pasadena, TX on December 4th, 2020
Hi, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
WORST SERVICE AND WORST PRICES EVER!
I made payment extenion arrangements via Gexa on line and paid my 25% fee. Arrangements were approved via Gexa on line and payment was taken out of my account immediately. I came home from work 3 days later and my electricity was off. Customer service was very shifty! They had my money but no record of arrangement. Etc.... I ended up paying the balance immediately and then was told it would be a few days to turn my service back on. Because this was their Era I don't feel that I should have had to pay a disconnection fee nor a reconnection fee nor a late fee. I shopped the web and found their rates to be the lowest and I'm paying average $157 monthly for a 2bd apt where as with other companies that I had previously used less than 6 months ago in my 4,000 st ft home my bill in 3 years never exceed $140 monthly. GEXA is a sheer RIP-OFF!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very Angry And Dissatisfied Customer from Mansfield, TX on November 18th, 2020
Hi, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to learn more about what led to your rating. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Gexa Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.4 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.1 of 5.
5 Stars
9%
 
4 Stars
10%
 
3 Stars
8%
 
2 Stars
15%
 
1 Stars
59%
 
2.1 / 5
Overall
2.1 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
2.4 / 5
Order Experience
2.1 / 5
Customer Service
2.1 / 5
Billing and Account Management
1.8 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About Gexa Energy

Gexa Energy started in 2002 in the Texas deregulated energy market. Gexa services all Texas markets where electricity service has been deregulated. They were acquired by NextEra Energy, Inc. in 2005.

Gexa Energy is rated A+ by the Better Business Bureau.


All Gexa Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
Big Bill Credits
12 month
Bill Credit
5.6¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$114 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    8.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Good for medium-sized homes
  • Rate Includes $85 in bill credits
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Best for medium size homes
  • No fees to switch to Gexa
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $174 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $134 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Great for medium and large homes
  • Bill Credits at 1k and 2k usage!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $119 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    10.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $127 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Bill Credits cut your bill in summer months
  • Enjoy smaller bills in summer
  • 12 Month Price Protection
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $129 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $112 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $133 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    13.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month