Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Gexa Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.4 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.1 of 5.
5 Stars
8%
 
4 Stars
9%
 
3 Stars
7%
 
2 Stars
14%
 
1 Stars
62%
 

Recent Good Review from Don

Best Renewable Option
Gexa provided the only 100% renewable option for my area and the rates were reasonable and better than some non-renewable options. Thus far I have had no problems and they don't bug me, which in my opinion is perfect.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Don from Woodway, TX on June 29th, 2021
Hi Don, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans and we're so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy


Our Analysis of Gexa Energy

Community Outreach
4.7 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Plans & Products
4.1 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Innovation
4.0 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Complaint Resolution
3.8 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Market Perception
2.2 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Rewards
1.7 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

33 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great so far
Ive had nothing to complain about thus far.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

E.W. from Houston, TX on June 15th, 2021
Hi E.W, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans and we're so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Great transfer experience
My rep was Zafar and he was excellent! He made it very easy for me to transfer my electricity. He took the time to answer all my questions and explained it in detail to where I can understand. The experience was fantastic and I would recommend and refer my friends and family to this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Melanie S from Houston, TX on July 10th, 2020
Hello Melanie, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans and we're so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Representative went above and beyond her duty to help
Gina is an exceptional employee with a sincere desire to do her best.She is patient,kind and very effecient.My encounter with her was a very pleasant one .I am very pleased and won't hesitate to recommend Gexa to others because of her.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mae Wartell from Houston, TX on March 17th, 2020
Hi Mae,, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Gexa can cut your electric bill in half
I called Gexa engery before we change and they were the most nicest people I've ever worked with
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My Worries Are Over Gexa Did What They Said They Would Guy Didn't Lie Like Other Companies from Mesquite, TX on October 29th, 2019
Hi Alvin, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
This is the way it should be... seamless and easy
I was coming off a very frustrating experience with Griddy. Everything about the transition to Gexa was intuitive and painless.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ron R from North Richland Hills, TX on October 15th, 2019
Hi Ron, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Great service
They gave me a great deal, and even waived my deposit for me... Also included free weekends on my plan k would definitely recommend
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Allison Ayala from Elkhart, TX on July 24th, 2019
Hi Allison, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Great Electric Plan
The Electric Plan gave us the best pricing that we have ever had.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CSG from Houston, TX on May 21st, 2019
Hi CSG, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Great Experience
I used Gexa over the years and found them to be responsive and attentive to our needs.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Greg from Dallas, TX on May 7th, 2019
Hi Greg, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Gexas So Far So Good
Easy set up. Great rate. Helped me on a Sat.
Had a bad experience with Tri-Eagle Energy. Do NOT recommend them or their Budget Billing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tami Lynn Carlson from Ingleside, TX on April 20th, 2019
Happy Customer
Good rates.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jennifer from Bay City, TX on March 17th, 2019


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

39 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Best Renewable Option
Gexa provided the only 100% renewable option for my area and the rates were reasonable and better than some non-renewable options. Thus far I have had no problems and they don't bug me, which in my opinion is perfect.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Don from Woodway, TX on June 29th, 2021
Hi Don, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans and we're so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Thank goodness
As far as pricing and hook up goes they are pretty average, but what has me writing this review is how they have handled the Texas grid issues during this stupid winter storm. While other companies are gouging their customers, Gexa suspended billing and disconnections for people so they could be taken care of during our states stupid power issues. A lot of people lost power, including us, but that want gexas fault, it was Oncors and I think they handled the people well and kept their customer base as well taken care of as they could. Im thankful for this and I know a lot of other Texans are too.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mey0018 from Fort Worth, TX on February 25th, 2021
Hi Mey0018, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Binoy mathew
Excellent service and billing, everything is clear at website.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

BINOY MATHEW from Missouri City, TX on July 1st, 2020
Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans and we're so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Service Provider
No problems.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Residential Provider from Houston, TX on May 4th, 2020
Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Very concerned .
What is your company doing to help customers who has lost their jobs
..noticed nothing on your site about the crisis we all are facing!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bonito Tracey from Mesquite, TX on March 26th, 2020
Hello Bonito Tracey, The health and well-being of our communities is our top concern. Were committed to remaining flexible and responsive to your needs and are taking additional steps to provide relief during this uncertain time. Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please DM us with the name on your account, your account number or service address. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. To find out more about the COVID-19 Electricity Relief Program visit https://bit.ly/GEXACOVID19RELIEF . Thank you!
— Gexa Energy
Easy Peasy......
Dawn Pletcher
Service was turned on quickly. Very easy to sign up for service on website. Better service thus far than any other electric company I have been with in 20 something years. Haven't gotten a bill yet so I am not sure how to grade on that. So far so good.....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dawn Pletcher from Baytown, TX on March 4th, 2020
Hi Dawn, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
So far, so good. No issues.
Sign up was easy and I haven't experienced any issues. I would have liked to have seen more plans to choose from. There are more plans but they didn't show up on the site I was using. Otherwise, no issues so far.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jonathan Julius from Plano, TX on March 1st, 2020
Hi Jonathan, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Review
Everything has been a good experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

J. Powers from Waco, TX on July 8th, 2019
Hi J, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Gexa Energy
I was a bit surprised by the Oncor charges that increase the avg kilowatt charges.
I would like to see more savings for seniors who live on a fixed income.
Other than that, I'm happy with my service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bledsoe from Waco, TX on June 27th, 2019
Hi Bledsoe. Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.
— Gexa Energy
Should send email when bill is ready
This is the only company that does not send an email letting you know your bill is ready to view.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Invoice Email from Magnolia, TX on June 6th, 2019
Hi there: When you enroll in paperless billing you will receive email notifications when your bill is ready. To sign up or confirm if you have already signed up for paperless billing, please login to your account on MyGexa via this link: mygexa.gexaenergy.com/login.
— Gexa Energy


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

30 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
New customer: first review
Well I need electricity switch into my name, also out of time. So I called and I needed to give a deposit. So my only thing I can say is it would have been nice if they accepted american express also if paying by cash there was more locations to pay
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eric from Grapevine, TX on April 5th, 2021
Hello Eric, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Ho hum
Switched to budget billing October 2019... paid $175 for service in September... switched to budget and billing jumped to $228.... remained that way until April 2020 then jumped to $338... not sure whats going on... Ive looked through the bills and our actual usage is less than the payment amount... now $338??? Feel like Im being ripped off....

Initially service was tremendous but as with most things the luster wears off.. riding out my contract and then leaving! Never had issues with Stream Energy! Never shouldve left..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chris from Harlingen, TX on May 16th, 2020
Hi Chris, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Gexa Energy
No problems with service nor billing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gexa Energy from Houston, TX on May 10th, 2020
Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Much MUCH higher cost than estimated
I took my time to understand how all the charges are calculated and still Gexa got me. Maybe it's because of their contracts with the specific provider in my area, but I paid more than double of any other electricity plan in the last 5 years. I had just moved into a new home and I blamed that for the difference - until my contract ran out and I switched to TXU. 6 months now and consistently half the monthly cost.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Round Rock Homeowner from Round Rock, TX on April 21st, 2020
Hello, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Not recommended for low consumption
The website and the payment methods are easy but the rate is quite high if you don't really consume
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David from Dallas, TX on January 13th, 2020
Hi David, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Its ok
Customer service is good and the experience was good but prices are too high for me. I was paying a lot monthly bill with frontier and made the mistake to switch to gexa. Im back with frontier. I lost a lot of money for a year but guess i should have done better plan.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fran from Houston, TX on December 4th, 2019
Hi Fran, thanks for bringing this to our attention. We will share your feedback with the Gexa Energy team.
— Gexa Energy
Plans
Wish I would have chosen a different plan! I didnt use enough electricity this month. Was charged $40 more because of it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JR from Wylie, TX on November 6th, 2019
Hi JR: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Did you know Gexa has a 60-day Happiness Guarantee? If you are not happy with your current plan, please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. Our Customer Care will reach out to discuss other Gexa plans that may work better for your usage amount. Learn more by visiting: http://www.tinyurl.com/HappinessGuarantee. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.
— Gexa Energy
Gexa Energy
N/A
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gexa Energy from Burleson, TX on August 27th, 2019
Thank you for leaving a rating! We love hearing from our customers and are happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. Thanks again.
— Gexa Energy
Your phone service
SUCKS. do you people ever act like a customer and phone in to experience what us customers have to go thru? I think not. I kept getting looped around to the same places. all I had was a simple question, and it took like 30 min, by which time I had figured it out. but that was probably what you people wanted, right? loop them suckers around till they give up and quit bothering you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lecatpuke from Krum, TX on August 13th, 2019
Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Confusing, misleading; welcome to America
Switched to Gexa, fact sheet says one price, we got billed another, so many fees, fact sheet said I believe 8.3 but we got billed 10.96, odd
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

3 People Care: No Bod Ee from Corpus Christi, TX on August 4th, 2019
Hello: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.
— Gexa Energy


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

60 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Loyal Customer with Two Accounts and Ready to Switch
I have been a Gexa customer for several years at my primary residence and loved their prices and service. For that reason, I decided to use them at my rental house for the last three years. When I called to renew my rental house contract last year, the rep said that I would "save a lot of money" by being on the Free Nights and Free Weekends plan - so I gladly signed up since it is a rental house and I'm trying to keep costs lower. My electric bills increased by about $75 more per month. Needless to say I was not happy. I called today to renew my contract hoping to get a better deal since I am a loyal customer with TWO separate accounts with Gexa. For that reason you would think they would be working hard to keep me. Nope!!! The rep said, "the best I can do is 9.9 cents per KWh from Gexa, plus a 4.9 cents per KWh from AEP provider, plus $4.90 per month base charge for the plan. . I asked the rep, "that's still a lot higher than my primary residence. Is that the best you can do because I can find another company that will beat that?" He says, "that's the cheapest plan." I told him, "then I guess I'm calling another company for a cheaper price." He said, "ok, thank you for calling and being a customer."

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

S. G. from Port Aransas, TX on June 30th, 2021
Hi Stacy, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
I got shafted
Renewed my plan a year ago. The guy said my plan was similar to the last one. I have never paid so much for electricity since I left TXU about 10 years ago. I really got the shaft from GEXA
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Upset Customer from Bedford, TX on May 12th, 2021
Hi Gary, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Price gouging
Highest electric bill I have ever had. Definitely price gouging and taking advantage of its loyal customers after the winter storm and power failures. I will be searching for another service immediately.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Fort Worth, TX on March 20th, 2021
Hello Mike, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Money grubbers
It was my mistake that I cancelled my account a month too early, March 10 instead of April 10. Gexa saw fit to charge me a cancellation fee of $153.00, per the terms and conditions of the contract which they were quick to point out to me. When I asked if they could do anything about the excessive cancellation fee they were also quick to point out to me, again, the terms and conditions of the cancellation fee. It would appear Gexa has no desire to work with it's customers and I would suggest you shop elsewhere.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mipenrai from Missouri City, TX on March 15th, 2021
Hello Mipenrai, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Dont do it!
The highest bill I have ever had in my life was from Gexa! $488.00 for a 1200 sq. Ft. House. And then after the cancellation fee my total was $765.00 I called a competitor and the told me my bill would have only been $200 if I was with them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The Most Ridiculous Bill Ever! from Dallas, TX on February 7th, 2021
Hi, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Good Service Until You Deal With Customer Service
Set up was easy. I used a third party that was able to show the difference in price based on my needs and situation. I looked at reviews at the time both good and bad. The bad reviews were about customer service which I thought was subjective and situational. That was until I had to deal with customer service. I was moving to a new area where they could not provide service. When taking to their agents, I felt like I was talking to those guys that are running a telephone scam. We agreed on the phone that I was moving out at the end of the month and that I would not be going to a month to month contract. Not only did they not turn my power off at the end of the month, I put me automatically in a month to month. I had not missed a bill up to this point. However, with all the emails involved in buying a new home for the first time, I missed my last bill with Gexa which caused them to turn off my power after 14 days into the new month during the COVID pandemic. Makes me wonder about others that could not afford to pay their bills. My new bill had charges for the last month, new month to month, and disconnection. I told them on the phone that I want my final bill to pay and be done with it. After disagreeing on whether or not I should pay for a reconnection fee in order to pay my bill, we agreed that I will pay my last month and the disconnection fee and they would rebate the month to month. Finally, they said that my last bill will be a zero balance. My last bills arrives with fees for the month to month time. With a different agent, they stated that the first agent was wrong even though that agent alleged talked a a supervisor. However, this agent was going to rebate $25 for my inconvenience. This turned out to be a lie as the agent never rebated the $25. So I paid the amount as my time is more important and the cost was too small to deal with in court. Last thought, customer service will do whatever it takes to get you off the phone to include lying to you. Where I saved two dollars a month for the year over another plan for a total of $24, I paid just over $75 in unnecessary charges in order to cancel my service. I only got the lower monthly price with them over other companies because of their veteran plan.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Houston, TX on January 8th, 2021
Hi Mike, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
DO NOT USE BUDGET BILLING
For the love of God do not sign up for budget billing youre basically using Gexa like a credit card and only paying a little amount of your actual bill if you stay within your kilowatts. So they keep that remaining balance only to charge you the second you shut off service. We were forced to move back home (Florida) when my office in Houston closed. I woke up to an email that my checking account was -$500 I check it and find that Gexa decided to take out what I owed them which was $800. After being on the phone with their customer service I got a sweet paper check for $100 for the confusion on how budget billing worked. ITS A SCAM. DO NOT USE IT.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chris from Pearland, TX on January 4th, 2021
Hi Chris, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Do not use
Customer service left me on hold for over an hour.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Robert from Houston, TX on September 2nd, 2020
Too many fees. Not happy
Too many fees.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Not So Happy from Dallas, TX on September 1st, 2020
From plan to Month to Month a 2.7 % increase!!!
I was on a plan and my bill was $127 for 1995 kwh. Next month BAM for LESS kwh 1919, I was charged over $344!!!!! ROBBERY!! Bend over! So that's how you treat your customers during a pandemic.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sgytex from Rosharon, TX on August 7th, 2020


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

264 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Stay away
I was double charged for my last month of electricity. When I contacted customer support they said it was for two different cycles but they were both for may 18-June 18. One was $155 and the other was over $200. The rep said they would put a hold on my account and I wouldnt be penalized or I could pay the full amount and they would send me a check for the overpayment. I told them I would not pay them until my account was corrected and she said I would get an answer in 15 to 20 days. 12 days later I received an email saying my account was past due and if I didnt make a payment I would be sent to collections. I again reached out to customer service and explained everything to them AGAIN and was told they would adjust my account in 3-5 business days. 7 days later (at 5pm) I received a single email with my adjusted statement. It had a due date that was over 15 days away. At 10pm that same day I received I received ANOTHER email saying that my account was past due and I was going to be sent to collections. Five hours after receiving my updated statement. Absolutely ridiculous. Happy we have chosen a new company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carly from League City, TX on July 14th, 2021
Customer Service is Terrible
I set up a commercial account, established service and Gexa never sent us a bill. Power was disconnected, so I tried to call and pay the bill. Unfortunately they aren't capable of sending me directly to the commercial department without dropping my call. 5 times I've called these people, waited on hold 25-35 minutes and they drop the call every time.
This is the second time we've set up a service with them and they failed to mail me a bill. This company's customer service procedures are awful!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JW from Dallas, TX on July 8th, 2021
Wrong meter reading
Checked my meter on the 2nd of the month and my usage was 1070 kw which is the contact agreement of use , if I use 1000/2000 kw I will get a $100 bill credit this month the meter was read on the 28th day of service@990kw shorting me the contact amount, I see a consistent reading to there benefit , Not very happy with Gexa energy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Robert from Corpus Christi, TX on July 8th, 2021
Gexa is the worst Ive dealt with
Ive spent hours on hold for a $400 bill. Ive owned the house 9 years and moving to Gexa has been the worst experience and decision I have made. I still cant get ahold of a rep.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Worst Company Ive Used from Santa Fe, TX on July 6th, 2021
Hi Valerie, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Not helpful at all
I am moving. So, of course, I needed to move my electricity company as well. The experience with GEXA energy has been horrific. I called 3 days before my move to turn on the electricity at my new residence and the agent that I talked to apparently did not do their job. They have no record of my call to turn on the electricity at my new residence. So, of course, I called for them to remedy the issue. I called and called. I talked to 3 different agents and all of them gave me the run around in broken English. The call center is located in El Salvador. I never spoke with an American. When I asked to speak with a supervisor, I was disconnected. When I called back and insisted to speak with a supervisor, they put me on hold for 2 hours!!!! I finally gave up. And I still dont have power. It is not an outage because all my neighbors have electricity. They simply have not connected my service which they do remotely. They do not need to be at my physical residence to turn on the electricity. I dont understand why they have nit turned it on and they will not let me speak to a supervisor.
Do yourself a favor and do NOT use this electric company. They do NOT care about their customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Not Helpful At All from Dallas, TX on July 2nd, 2021
Hi Holli, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
The worst customer service EVER
This company does not respond to customer calls. Your wait time by phone exceeds more than hour with every single call. It is awful.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kim from Irving, TX on July 1st, 2021
Hi Kim, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Deception is the game Gexa plays
I found Gexa through powertochoose.org. All was fine until renewal time. The deal was supposed to be 12.5 cents per kwh with free weekends. It's not. My last bill was 16.5 cents per kwh and with free weekends it went down to somewhere around 13 cents per kwh.

It's all in the fine print. Total deception.

I've already provider's. The $150 cancellation fee will paid in savings.

Totally ridiculous.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joe Mcbride from Denton, TX on June 21st, 2021
Hi Joe: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.
— Gexa Energy
Hope there is an negative reviews with minus stars
The worst company to go with. You call any customer service and say to cancel the service , one of them will say that service will be cancelled. But if you ask for confirmation number , they say no confirmation number.

Next day again called, they said, its not cancelled, and they raise another request without any ticket no or confirmation number. Like that i have to follow up for 6 business days, literally it was disconnected on the third day but i got information on 12th day of the disconnection. Until then my apartment current i am using and they charged me very heavily. Its my bad to be with them.

There is a twitter help, where they will respond to you after a month and not before that and they say, is the issue resolved ? lol.....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Maganti from Irving, TX on June 14th, 2021
Hi Maganti, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to learn more about what led to your rating. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Bad inceptions
Ive been living here for a year and for 2 bedroom and they have been charging me 400 to 550 dollars and that varies thats if they have a good month but that went up to 1000 dollars they delay my bills and they stack them up on me until it reaches a point where its 1000 dollars I have to pay I call they say the smart meter is very accurate and end the call
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rami from 75136 on May 12th, 2021
Hi Rami, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Taken advantage of!
Let me start with the Texas ice storm. Our bill, mind you that our power was off for a week, Was three times more that month than any other month. They were overcharged by Ercot and passed it along to customers. You can bet when the state of Texas demanded her cot pay back money to the electric providers, they kept that money and did not help the customers.
The billing is inconsistent, the customer service isnt competent enough to answer questions, and you get fined for leaving for a better provider!
Watch, they have a standard canned response for good and bad reviews, other than your name. They are far from a sincere service provider, and customer service department!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very Unhappy! from Georgetown, TX on May 4th, 2021
Hi , our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy


All Gexa Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
Popular "Bill Credit" Plan
12 month
Bill Credit
6.9¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$128 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $134 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $110 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Two Year Price Protection
  • All Around Great Value
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    10.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $127 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Bill Credits cut your bill in summer months
  • Enjoy smaller bills in summer
  • 12 Month Price Protection
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $119 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $114 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • No Pricing Gimmicks
  • Great for any size home
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $134 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $144 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $139 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $155 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    15.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $154 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month