Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Gexa Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.4 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.1 of 5.
5 Stars
8%
 
4 Stars
9%
 
3 Stars
7%
 
2 Stars
14%
 
1 Stars
61%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from Eric

New customer: first review
Well I need electricity switch into my name, also out of time. So I called and I needed to give a deposit. So my only thing I can say is it would have been nice if they accepted american express also if paying by cash there was more locations to pay
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eric from Trophy Club, TX on April 5th, 2021
Hello Eric, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy


Our Analysis of Gexa Energy

Community Outreach
4.7 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Plans & Products
4.1 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Innovation
4.0 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Complaint Resolution
3.8 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Market Perception
2.2 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Rewards
1.7 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

32 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great transfer experience
My rep was Zafar and he was excellent! He made it very easy for me to transfer my electricity. He took the time to answer all my questions and explained it in detail to where I can understand. The experience was fantastic and I would recommend and refer my friends and family to this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Melanie S from Houston, TX on July 10th, 2020
Hello Melanie, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans and we're so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Representative went above and beyond her duty to help
Gina is an exceptional employee with a sincere desire to do her best.She is patient,kind and very effecient.My encounter with her was a very pleasant one .I am very pleased and won't hesitate to recommend Gexa to others because of her.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mae Wartell from Houston, TX on March 17th, 2020
Hi Mae,, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Gexa can cut your electric bill in half
I called Gexa engery before we change and they were the most nicest people I've ever worked with
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My Worries Are Over Gexa Did What They Said They Would Guy Didn't Lie Like Other Companies from Sunnyvale, TX on October 29th, 2019
Hi Alvin, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
This is the way it should be... seamless and easy
I was coming off a very frustrating experience with Griddy. Everything about the transition to Gexa was intuitive and painless.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ron R from Watauga, TX on October 15th, 2019
Hi Ron, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Great service
They gave me a great deal, and even waived my deposit for me... Also included free weekends on my plan k would definitely recommend
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Allison Ayala from Elkhart, TX on July 24th, 2019
Hi Allison, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Great Electric Plan
The Electric Plan gave us the best pricing that we have ever had.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CSG from Houston, TX on May 21st, 2019
Hi CSG, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Great Experience
I used Gexa over the years and found them to be responsive and attentive to our needs.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Greg from Dallas, TX on May 7th, 2019
Hi Greg, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Gexas So Far So Good
Easy set up. Great rate. Helped me on a Sat.
Had a bad experience with Tri-Eagle Energy. Do NOT recommend them or their Budget Billing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tami Lynn Carlson from Ingleside On The Bay, TX on April 20th, 2019
Happy Customer
Good rates.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jennifer from Wadsworth, TX on March 17th, 2019
Awsome
It was great service around the plans and price were great
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Martinez from Corpus Christi, TX on March 14th, 2019
Hi Martinez, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

38 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Thank goodness
As far as pricing and hook up goes they are pretty average, but what has me writing this review is how they have handled the Texas grid issues during this stupid winter storm. While other companies are gouging their customers, Gexa suspended billing and disconnections for people so they could be taken care of during our states stupid power issues. A lot of people lost power, including us, but that want gexas fault, it was Oncors and I think they handled the people well and kept their customer base as well taken care of as they could. Im thankful for this and I know a lot of other Texans are too.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mey0018 from Fort Worth, TX on February 25th, 2021
Hi Mey0018, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Binoy mathew
Excellent service and billing, everything is clear at website.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

BINOY MATHEW from Sugar Land, TX on July 1st, 2020
Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans and we're so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Service Provider
No problems.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Residential Provider from Tomball, TX on May 4th, 2020
Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Very concerned .
What is your company doing to help customers who has lost their jobs
..noticed nothing on your site about the crisis we all are facing!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bonito Tracey from Sunnyvale, TX on March 26th, 2020
Hello Bonito Tracey, The health and well-being of our communities is our top concern. Were committed to remaining flexible and responsive to your needs and are taking additional steps to provide relief during this uncertain time. Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please DM us with the name on your account, your account number or service address. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. To find out more about the COVID-19 Electricity Relief Program visit https://bit.ly/GEXACOVID19RELIEF . Thank you!
— Gexa Energy
Easy Peasy......
Dawn Pletcher
Service was turned on quickly. Very easy to sign up for service on website. Better service thus far than any other electric company I have been with in 20 something years. Haven't gotten a bill yet so I am not sure how to grade on that. So far so good.....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dawn Pletcher from Baytown, TX on March 4th, 2020
Hi Dawn, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
So far, so good. No issues.
Sign up was easy and I haven't experienced any issues. I would have liked to have seen more plans to choose from. There are more plans but they didn't show up on the site I was using. Otherwise, no issues so far.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jonathan Julius from Plano, TX on March 1st, 2020
Hi Jonathan, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Review
Everything has been a good experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

J. Powers from West, TX on July 8th, 2019
Hi J, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Gexa Energy
I was a bit surprised by the Oncor charges that increase the avg kilowatt charges.
I would like to see more savings for seniors who live on a fixed income.
Other than that, I'm happy with my service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bledsoe from Waco, TX on June 27th, 2019
Hi Bledsoe. Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.
— Gexa Energy
Should send email when bill is ready
This is the only company that does not send an email letting you know your bill is ready to view.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Invoice Email from Magnolia, TX on June 6th, 2019
Hi there: When you enroll in paperless billing you will receive email notifications when your bill is ready. To sign up or confirm if you have already signed up for paperless billing, please login to your account on MyGexa via this link: mygexa.gexaenergy.com/login.
— Gexa Energy
Should-ve called to speak to a representative before contracting
I changed to Gexa when my permanent rate company (Frontier Utilities) had expired their 1 year promotion contract, which was of $74 dollars when using from 1000 to 2000 kWh, so I paid $74 dollars almost all 12 months. When that ended I searched for something similar online and found Gexa, the description seemed to offer the same, ultimately it didn't
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Elizabeth G from Palmview, TX on May 22nd, 2019
Hi Elizabeth, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

30 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
New customer: first review
Well I need electricity switch into my name, also out of time. So I called and I needed to give a deposit. So my only thing I can say is it would have been nice if they accepted american express also if paying by cash there was more locations to pay
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eric from Trophy Club, TX on April 5th, 2021
Hello Eric, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Ho hum
Switched to budget billing October 2019... paid $175 for service in September... switched to budget and billing jumped to $228.... remained that way until April 2020 then jumped to $338... not sure whats going on... Ive looked through the bills and our actual usage is less than the payment amount... now $338??? Feel like Im being ripped off....

Initially service was tremendous but as with most things the luster wears off.. riding out my contract and then leaving! Never had issues with Stream Energy! Never shouldve left..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chris from Harlingen, TX on May 16th, 2020
Hi Chris, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Gexa Energy
No problems with service nor billing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gexa Energy from Houston, TX on May 10th, 2020
Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Much MUCH higher cost than estimated
I took my time to understand how all the charges are calculated and still Gexa got me. Maybe it's because of their contracts with the specific provider in my area, but I paid more than double of any other electricity plan in the last 5 years. I had just moved into a new home and I blamed that for the difference - until my contract ran out and I switched to TXU. 6 months now and consistently half the monthly cost.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Round Rock Homeowner from Round Rock, TX on April 21st, 2020
Hello, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Not recommended for low consumption
The website and the payment methods are easy but the rate is quite high if you don't really consume
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David from Dallas, TX on January 13th, 2020
Hi David, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.
— Gexa Energy
Its ok
Customer service is good and the experience was good but prices are too high for me. I was paying a lot monthly bill with frontier and made the mistake to switch to gexa. Im back with frontier. I lost a lot of money for a year but guess i should have done better plan.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fran from Houston, TX on December 4th, 2019
Hi Fran, thanks for bringing this to our attention. We will share your feedback with the Gexa Energy team.
— Gexa Energy
Plans
Wish I would have chosen a different plan! I didnt use enough electricity this month. Was charged $40 more because of it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JR from Wylie, TX on November 6th, 2019
Hi JR: Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Did you know Gexa has a 60-day Happiness Guarantee? If you are not happy with your current plan, please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. Our Customer Care will reach out to discuss other Gexa plans that may work better for your usage amount. Learn more by visiting: http://www.tinyurl.com/HappinessGuarantee. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.
— Gexa Energy
Gexa Energy
N/A
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gexa Energy from Burleson, TX on August 27th, 2019
Thank you for leaving a rating! We love hearing from our customers and are happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. Thanks again.
— Gexa Energy
Your phone service
SUCKS. do you people ever act like a customer and phone in to experience what us customers have to go thru? I think not. I kept getting looped around to the same places. all I had was a simple question, and it took like 30 min, by which time I had figured it out. but that was probably what you people wanted, right? loop them suckers around till they give up and quit bothering you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lecatpuke from Krum, TX on August 13th, 2019
Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Confusing, misleading; welcome to America
Switched to Gexa, fact sheet says one price, we got billed another, so many fees, fact sheet said I believe 8.3 but we got billed 10.96, odd
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

3 People Care: No Bod Ee from Corpus Christi, TX on August 4th, 2019
Hello: Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.
— Gexa Energy


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

58 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Price gouging
Highest electric bill I have ever had. Definitely price gouging and taking advantage of its loyal customers after the winter storm and power failures. I will be searching for another service immediately.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Fort Worth, TX on March 20th, 2021
Hello Mike, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Money grubbers
It was my mistake that I cancelled my account a month too early, March 10 instead of April 10. Gexa saw fit to charge me a cancellation fee of $153.00, per the terms and conditions of the contract which they were quick to point out to me. When I asked if they could do anything about the excessive cancellation fee they were also quick to point out to me, again, the terms and conditions of the cancellation fee. It would appear Gexa has no desire to work with it's customers and I would suggest you shop elsewhere.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mipenrai from Sugar Land, TX on March 15th, 2021
Hello Mipenrai, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Dont do it!
The highest bill I have ever had in my life was from Gexa! $488.00 for a 1200 sq. Ft. House. And then after the cancellation fee my total was $765.00 I called a competitor and the told me my bill would have only been $200 if I was with them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The Most Ridiculous Bill Ever! from Dallas, TX on February 7th, 2021
Hi, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Good Service Until You Deal With Customer Service
Set up was easy. I used a third party that was able to show the difference in price based on my needs and situation. I looked at reviews at the time both good and bad. The bad reviews were about customer service which I thought was subjective and situational. That was until I had to deal with customer service. I was moving to a new area where they could not provide service. When taking to their agents, I felt like I was talking to those guys that are running a telephone scam. We agreed on the phone that I was moving out at the end of the month and that I would not be going to a month to month contract. Not only did they not turn my power off at the end of the month, I put me automatically in a month to month. I had not missed a bill up to this point. However, with all the emails involved in buying a new home for the first time, I missed my last bill with Gexa which caused them to turn off my power after 14 days into the new month during the COVID pandemic. Makes me wonder about others that could not afford to pay their bills. My new bill had charges for the last month, new month to month, and disconnection. I told them on the phone that I want my final bill to pay and be done with it. After disagreeing on whether or not I should pay for a reconnection fee in order to pay my bill, we agreed that I will pay my last month and the disconnection fee and they would rebate the month to month. Finally, they said that my last bill will be a zero balance. My last bills arrives with fees for the month to month time. With a different agent, they stated that the first agent was wrong even though that agent alleged talked a a supervisor. However, this agent was going to rebate $25 for my inconvenience. This turned out to be a lie as the agent never rebated the $25. So I paid the amount as my time is more important and the cost was too small to deal with in court. Last thought, customer service will do whatever it takes to get you off the phone to include lying to you. Where I saved two dollars a month for the year over another plan for a total of $24, I paid just over $75 in unnecessary charges in order to cancel my service. I only got the lower monthly price with them over other companies because of their veteran plan.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Houston, TX on January 8th, 2021
Hi Mike, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
DO NOT USE BUDGET BILLING
For the love of God do not sign up for budget billing youre basically using Gexa like a credit card and only paying a little amount of your actual bill if you stay within your kilowatts. So they keep that remaining balance only to charge you the second you shut off service. We were forced to move back home (Florida) when my office in Houston closed. I woke up to an email that my checking account was -$500 I check it and find that Gexa decided to take out what I owed them which was $800. After being on the phone with their customer service I got a sweet paper check for $100 for the confusion on how budget billing worked. ITS A SCAM. DO NOT USE IT.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chris from Pearland, TX on January 4th, 2021
Hi Chris, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Do not use
Customer service left me on hold for over an hour.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Robert from Houston, TX on September 2nd, 2020
Too many fees. Not happy
Too many fees.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Not So Happy from Dallas, TX on September 1st, 2020
From plan to Month to Month a 2.7 % increase!!!
I was on a plan and my bill was $127 for 1995 kwh. Next month BAM for LESS kwh 1919, I was charged over $344!!!!! ROBBERY!! Bend over! So that's how you treat your customers during a pandemic.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sgytex from Rosharon, TX on August 7th, 2020
I think their plan is a bit unethical
I just signed up for Gexa. Supposed to be very cheap. For about 1200 sq ft, my first summer bill was $151.00 and my second one was $375.00!! Ouch! So the plan I have takes off $100.00 if you use between 1000-2000 kw. I used 2063.. so yes, that was over 2000. But this is July, and instead of a mont to month cycle, they used 33 days this cycle. Its up to them if they want to use anywhere from 28 days to 33 days. Beware of this. I just believe it is unethical when they can use fluctuations of the amount of days. I did call and questioned this and they gave me $25.00 off. The customer service rep talked very fast was very hard to understand. I am so tired of computerized care from these companies, it takes you a 20 minutes for a real person to come on and then you strain to understand every word. So funny when you call to set up service, you get to talk to an easy to understand American.. but once youre under contract!! Its so very frustrating!! And its amazing how vivid 19 effects the service of every company! My rant!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mary Berggren from New Summerfield, TX on July 29th, 2020
Customer Service???
I just called Gexa to get pricing if I stayed with them beyond my service plan. The automated voice message said it was an estimated 20 minute wait, but I could retain my place in the que and receive a return call, so I did. It took an hour for the return call, then I was placed on hold for 33 minutes before I hung up.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Horrible Customer Service from League City, TX on June 30th, 2020
Hello, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

252 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Late fee on autopay
For the past 3 months I have received a late fee despite being enrolled in autopay since account inception. I call to correct and get place on hold. If you ask to speak to a supervisor they transfer you an no one ever picks up so you are cycled back into the holding queue. The late fees are one 1-4 dollars so still cheaper than canceling their contract.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Leland from Westworth Village, TX on April 7th, 2021
Hello Leland, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Gexa has awful customer service
I called and ask a question and they could not answer it..also I received a letter that made on sense ...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jgirl from Needville, TX on April 1st, 2021
Hi Jgirl, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Cancelled service when I did not cancel service
I have never been late on my bill. I paid my bill due on 03/08/21 on 02/28/21 in full. Received final cancellation bill dropped on 03/06/21, with a $150.25 penalty. I contacted customer service and was told that there was a glich and that they had received notification that I had switched providers but now they know that I have not and will take the cancellation fee off my account and not cancel my service. But I have to pay this current bill by 03/22/2021 in order to keep my account in good standing and avoid late fees. I explained that I get paid once a month and pay my bills accordingly. Now I have 13 days in order to pay a bill that dropped early due to their glich. I will be cancelling my service in June when my contract renews.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Vicki Pierce from Sweeny, TX on March 17th, 2021
Hello Vicki, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Gimmicky overpriced and unwilling to help
Be careful about signing up based on what they're marketing to you. My plan is advertised as a certain price/kw, however that price is ONLY after a $100 bill credit for using a specific range of electricity. After nearly a year, my usage didn't land within that window a single time, and when the credit isn't applied, the price is outrageous and far above what I can get elsewhere. Tried to call and have my plan changed, but they were unwilling to help and would not allow me out of my contract. Supposed to have a "60 day happiness guarantee", but that does not apply when you move or change plans. Some might tell me to "read the fine print" before signing up, but that's exactly the problem- do i really need to defend against gimmicky plans and sneaky advertising? There are other options out there who give transparent and honest pricing, so yeah, I expected the rate I was told to be the rate I get and not have to meet certain criteria buried in the details to get it. Feels like a slimy and sad business practice on behalf of Gexa... Just cancelled in the middle of my contract and reluctantly paid my $290 early termination fee, which showed up as $307.41 on my bill even though it's in writing on my EFL that the termination fee is $290. What a giant waste of money Gexa has been. I'm still going to save money by switching to a new provider after paying them this ridiculous termination fee.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dan from Sugar Land, TX on March 6th, 2021
Hello Dan, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Thanks for making the leave decision
THE ENTIRE planet is aware of how we Texans fared during the winter to make up for those we didn't have over the last five decades of my life. I am absolutely positively unsure how using 1500 KwH vs 1200 KwH raised my bill from $113.00 to $675.42 when I am on a flat rate plan (have been until now) and my credit points are between 500 and 999 KwH per month.

This better be the LAST TIME I ever see your name.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cant Even from Highland Park, TX on March 5th, 2021
Hello, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
WORST COMPANY EVER!!!!
When I got with Gexa over a year ago things were fine. My bill was always affordable. In December 2020 I received a bill for almost $400. I immediately called them as I knew it was a mistake since were in a two bedroom apartment. Spoke with customer service and she informed me because I went over the kWh I didnt receive the $100 credit. I was okay at first because we had the Christmas tree on most nights and sometimes during the day. Spoke with a manager and he switched my plan to ensure that my bill would be affordable with $100 credit every month. Here we are February 2021 and my bill is $458. Im beyond frustrated with this company. I signed a contract to be locked in at a certain rate, but because I went over the kWh they decided to charge me 14.3 cent. This was never told to me. I will be switching companies soon and willing to pay $150 to get out from under this scheming company! I wouldnt refer a rich person to this company. They have fail to realize that many people havent worked since Covid hit and/or still waiting on unemployment and cant afford to pay a ridiculous bill. Not sure what the contract is for when they increase the rate without discussing it with the customer first. Lessoned learned!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jennifer Hayward from White Settlement, TX on March 1st, 2021
Hi Jennifer, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Do not Use them!
My bills where way overpriced. Way higher than what I had before. And I was in contract with them for a year and when after 8 months and being in the winter and they were still way higher than what I had before i cancelled and they charged me the full 155 cancellation fee. I will never use them or recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unhappy In Texas from Pearland, TX on February 22nd, 2021
Hi, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
We were not completely informed
This company is a complete scam. They made the average billing option sound so appealing, but failed to mention that the variance every month is compounded and has to be paid either at the end of the contract or if any changes are made to the contract. We found this out when we were one year into our two year contract. THEY changed our account number, therefore making a change to our account with out consent and we were all of a sudden stuck with a $635 bill! Oh AND they did not mention that they, at any time can up our average billing payment. So what started out as a routine $44/ month payment went up to $89 and then $177! In the contract it states they can only make these changes if the customer is informed and agrees to consent, which we were not and did not.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chris from Houston, TX on February 11th, 2021
Hi Chris, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Their thanks for 10 years of service
I've been with Gexa for almost 10 years. Up until now, I swore that this was the best electricity provider of all time. My bill is $500 for one month of service out of the blue..$600 for last month. Seems like they are out to take everyone's entire stimulus check. My budget billing is $400, how could that be in a 700 square feet house, no built in electric heater, I'm only using 2 space heaters and the kitchen oven for heat. I trusted them and all that do is keep disconnecting my service and will only restore if I pay them my stimulus money. I got a disconnection notice saying that if service is turned off, I will be charged $25 disconnection fee and another $25 reconnect fee. So, $50 I'll be charged if I can't pay the $500 bill, unless I use every dime I have to get it turned back on. Horrible,for times like this. I feel like crying, I just got my disability check today (3-3-2021), and if I don't pay $500 to Gexa, I'll be without electricity. If I do pay them, I'll only have $200 for the rest of the month.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brenda Matthews from Wichita Falls, TX on February 3rd, 2021
Hi Brenda, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy
Charges
Two days after the due date of the bill they added a $10 disconnection fee and a 5% late fee. Two days after the due date of the bill folks!! Horrible company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tonya from Mansfield, TX on January 27th, 2021
Hi Tonya, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.
— Gexa Energy


All Gexa Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
12 Month Bill Credit
12 month
Bill Credit
6.2¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$121 est. avg. bill
Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $123 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Best for medium size homes
  • No fees to switch to Gexa
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $169 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $129 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Great for medium and large homes
  • Bill Credits at 1k and 2k usage!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $115 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $123 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Bill Credits cut your bill in summer months
  • Enjoy smaller bills in summer
  • 12 Month Price Protection
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $134 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    Best 'Green Energy' Plan
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    10.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $107 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
  • Bill Credit!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
  • Good for Houses
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $133 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $148 est. avg. bill
    Based on a yearly usage curve averaging 0 kWh per month