Home > Read Reviews > Gexa Energy > 1528208170145044791


So far so good
(3.8 / 5)

  I have only been a customer of Gexa for a few months but so far I am happy with my rate and service. The bill pay website has frustrated me both times as the links to pay have caused me to have to login more than one time per visit. My original start up date was delayed thru what was explained to me by Customer Service as a fault of the local provider but eventually I was switched after about a week's delay. I am waiting for my plan promotions to kick in as well.

Jewels from 76135
June 5th, 2018

Hi Jewels, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity prices and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know youve valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback!

Gexa Energy Responds June 7th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions


Gexa Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Gexa Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.6 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.6 of 5.


Gexa Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 4.9 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.






177 Reviews for Gexa Energy


great so far
(5 / 5)

  I called them with concern about my bill and they put me on budget billing.

Shelley from Katy
July 24th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great company
(5 / 5)

  Excelent service

Lillyana Batten from Dallas
June 13th, 2018

Hi Lillyana, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity prices and customer service for our fellow Texans, and we're so glad to know youve valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback!

Gexa Energy Responds June 14th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The gexa gotcha plan!
(5 / 5)

  I am old and use very little electricity per month, normally about 650 to 800 in summer and 300 to 400 in winter. (gas heat) So the gexa low usage plan with the $40 rebate was excellent! ($40 rebate for usage between 500 and 1000kwh) Very low electric bills all summer! But now that the AC is off, my usage dropped below 500. The $40 rebate disappears! So my bill for 450 kwh was almost double my last month's bill for 600kwh! YIKES! The Gexa gotcha! Here's what to do: In the winter time when you are not using the AC, use an electric space heater enough to bring your bill to the 500 kwh threshold. Then switch to your gas heat to save even more! The main thing is to monitor your usage and make sure that for your billing cycle you are always as close to just over 500kw as possible to get the best monthly deal. Other than that, Gexa has been excellent in all respects. Seems dumb to have to use more electricity to get a lower bill!

ronna from Houston
November 3rd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great experience so far!
(5 / 5)

  I recently switch to Gexa and it's been a good expiance so far. I like the bill credit because my bill is not as high in the summer.

Ryan H from Spring
October 20th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Renewal price was even lower!
(5 / 5)

  I had never been able to choose an electricity provider before, so I was a little uncertain how it would work out when I first chose Gexa in October 2015 when we moved to the area. I was paying 15.0/6.9/8.4 with a $40 bill credit for >999 or <2001 kwh. We are coming up on the end of our 1 year contract, and I received an email from Gexa to review plans. I opened it and then also opened the comparison website that shows all other companies. Not only did the renewal rates beat what Gexa was offering on the comparison website, it far and away beat all the other companies at 12.8/5.7/8.2 with a $60 credit for any month between 1001-2000kwh (which is where we stay).

We have had zero issues with billing or service - and customer service has always responded to my messages promptly and courteously. Can't ask for more than that!

Sarah B. from Sarah B.
August 1st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa is my favorite energy company
(5 / 5)

  Gexa is the best energy company we have used. We use less than 1000 kwh per month (500 on average) and they give us a credit of $25 each month for that. Sometimes our bill is even negative and is subtracted from the next month's bill. I thought for sure it was just a ploy to get new customers and it wouldn't be renewable, but I just renewed our plan, and our net charge for using about 500 kwh is now around 3 cents!! We are paying about 8 cents minus a $40 credit! In the past our electricity bills have been around $100 in the summer, but now in the summer (in Texas - it's 90 - 110 degrees Fahrenheit every day) it's usually around $40 or $50 :) Also, they are always so nice on the phone and I have never had to wait on hold. Keep it up, Gexa.

Julia S from Dallas
June 27th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Outstanding
(5 / 5)

  I moved here 10 years ago from Florida where I was a FP&L customer the switch was smooth and easy. I have not had any issues with Gexa Energy ever. I am on the Conserve 12 plan where I get a $40.00 customer every month this month no bill I used under 300kwh Thanks Gexa. A very satisfied customer of almost 11 years.

Robert from West.Texas
April 28th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent plan and service
(5 / 5)

  Using from past 6 months and been able to save a lot as their plans are really cheap and they will give $25 credit every month if you use less than 1000 KW. Not even a single problem in last 6 months, haven't even called their customer service till now.

Krishna murthy from Dallas
January 30th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent service and billing
(5 / 5)

  There really isn't anything to type b/c my service has been great. I have online billing, my bills aren't outrageous, and haven't had any issues. My contract expires the 12th of June, I was thinking of switching to discount power, but after reading reviews on them, seeing how Gexa prices are competitive with other companies, I think i'll stay. If they keep their rates low, I may end up being a lifer.

Thomas Wilhite from Killeen
June 4th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Experience - twice
(5 / 5)

  I don't typically write these things, but since I feel more people will take the time to slam a company online, I thought I would give a thumbs up. When shopping for power in Houston, I always use powertochoose,org and for the second time in the past 5 years or so, Gexa came up as the most competitive supplier. The sign up process was flawless, and when I had a question about my first bill, customer service was there to answer my question and clear the confusion. Read the Facts Label and you will find their fees to be very competitive.

Jim G from Houston
August 28th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Been with Gexa for Six Years with NO PROBLEMS - Promo Code 484371
(5 / 5)

  Every company will have complaints. Some customers don't read the fine print of contracts, so they get caught unaware when something unexpected comes along. The key to a good customer experience is to be your own best advocate and read everything. Sometimes terms are only mentioned once. If you don't understand something, ask the company and ask someone you trust who knows what's what.

We use balance billing. That means we pay the same each month. I have had decreases. I have had increases. But at least I have a set amount to fit into my budget. I know what to expect. That comes from a good relationship with the company...meaning I pay my bills on time (about a week prior to the due date). If you do the same, you will reap the benefit.

For full disclosure, all the promo codes you see on these review sites are ones provided specifically for each customer after they have signed up. It is a referral code. It helps me, the customer. It helps you, the future customer. I hope you will accept my honesty about it and use it.

D Mixon from League City
June 10th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa was great to me
(5 / 5)

  I joined Gexa last year around this time for their new customer promo of 9.1 cents inclusive of TDU and $4.95 base charge. I loved Gexa. Not a single problem with billing or bill paying. I pay online via Discover card. The only problem I have had was that I had to switch after the promo 12 month contract was over. Their rates jumped .02 and I was getting better promo offers from other companies. After I switched, Gexa cut off my ability to pay my last bill online so I had to mail a check. I was worried about this but after 7 business days, I saw the payment credited since they still allowed me to view my bill online. Customer service is polite and up front about everything. No silly cash back gimmicks, just a low rate. I wish so much that I could have stayed with Gexa since it is so well run but their renewal plans were all too high. I went with Cirro this time for 12 month 9.6 rate. Not as good as I had with Gexa but the best my research could find.

S Morrow from Baytown
July 4th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best Company EVER !!!!
(5 / 5)

  I absolutely love dealing with GEXA and their customer service is the best I've ever dealt with. Will most definitely refer to my family and friends.

David Jones from Lake Jackson
March 29th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awesome Energy Company
(5 / 5)

  I have been with Gexa for over 8 years. They have the lowest rates around and the customer service is outstanding. I've dealt with Reliant, Texas Power and numerous others providers and I've never been treated so well. My rates were low in the beginning and have stayed low, much, much lower than any other provider. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Donna Jones from Lake Jackson
March 26th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No problems, good rates, 5 years with them so far.
(5 / 5)

  I have not had any problems with them, setup autopay for billing. Even got them to "pricematch" one year when they were a little higher than others. I would recommend them.

Chuck from Cedar Hill
June 16th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Service
(5 / 5)

  Never had a problem with them, and they have
excellent Customer Service. I have used many
utility providers from around the country and will
only deal with them if I can. They are always
responsive to any needs I have.

WP from Galveston
September 1st, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thank GOD
(5 / 5)

  I had been with reliant for years then I tried some off brand company called APNA I don't even know if they are still in business! Gexa has given me nothing but the best customer service excellent rates w/ fair &amp; timely billing. What more could you ask for?!

Neil from Katy
January 17th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Problems plus Great Rate
(5 / 5)

  I've been with Gexa over a year and have experienced no problems with billing, delivery, or customer service. Also have enjoyed a very low total rate of 9.1 cents/kwh plus $10/mon customer charge on a 12-month fixed plan expiring in June 2010. We'll see whether they continue to offer attractive rates when the current plan expires, and how cooperative they might be if I choose to change providers. Thumbs up so far.

Dave from Dallas
January 15th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa Energy Rocks
(5 / 5)

  I have had nothing but a wonderful experience with Gexa. I signed up with them last year on a fixed contract plan at a good rate. It carried me through crazy summer. My contract recently expired and they sent me a nice letter reminding me that my contract was expiring and I was eligible to renew. I compared their rates to others and found Gexa to have really low rates for their fixed contracts. Regardless of rate, their customer service has been awesome and always helpful if I have a question. I highly recommend Gexa to anyone looking for a solid electricity company.

Todd S from Houston
May 21st, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company
(4.9 / 5)

  The reviews on this site don't give them any justice. I used Gexa Energy when I first moved to Houston in 2005. Then in 2007, I switched to Sparks energy because they had cheaper rates. and Then I moved back to Gexa energy in 2009. I have always had a pleasant expereinece with them. The second go around, I asked if I can get service without having to provide my SSN, they said, just give us a letter of credit from your current provider that you have never been late and you are in good standing with them. As soon as I did, they switch process was a breeze, didn't even feel it!
Most of the people who left negative reviews, have been charged with late payment fees and ofcourse they are bitter about it!

Ahmed Younis from Houston
August 9th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions



Updated: 08-19-2018
Example Bill
loading...