We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, Champion Energy Services, TriEagle Energy and Gexa Energy

my review

(2.8 / 5)

  at first i thought it was a great rate.first bill reasonable and affordable.second bill way too high.

mesha Williams from Dallas
March 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

GEXA Promotion wasn't really honored when given to me

(2.8 / 5)

  I changed from Amigo Energy to GEXA based on a promotion that they had advertised. hey were going to give me a flat rate for energy provided to my home. I was surprised when I received the light bill! The rate I received was not what was discussed and agreed upon. I called to let them know this was no way or no how to do business. Thankfully the young Hispanic lady I talked with went to her supervisor and said they would give me a fixed rate for 12 months. That will start next month. I will see if they hold true to their word. Thank You!

No from Houston
July 31st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

ratings

(2.8 / 5)

  My bill runs about 150.00 to 200.00 a month more than last provider.

Mel Lene from Seabrook
July 11th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lost me as customer!

(2.8 / 5)

  Good for new customers but not for loyal ones who have been around a while. Just got renewal after 2 yr contract - from 9.1 to 10.6 - poor business decision just to raise revenue but lose customers. Went to Bounce and hope I am right to choose them - got 8.9 rate with Terrific 12 plan - going paperless to go from 9.1 to 8.9 and got Visa gift card for $25. Sad to leave Gexa since I've been with them for so long, at least 4 years, but raising my rate that high is not right.

Sam Courtney from Carrollton
August 12th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ok but they do not want loyal customers

(2.8 / 5)

  I have been with Gexa for the past year and have no complaints, until it came time to renew my rate plan. I currently pay 7.8 cents per kWh, when I went to check the "great renewal rates" they are quoting me 10.4 cents per kWh! However, go to powertochoose.org and they are offering 8.2 cents per kWh for12 months! So I called up Gexa to see what the deal was and they tell me that rate was only for new customers, the best rate they could offer me (a good existing customer) was 9.9 cents per kWh! Oh and did I want to accept that rate and sign up for 12 months now? I litterally laughed at that. This is not new, and not just GEXA, in fact I end up switching electric companies every year just to get a decent rate. Personally I have been switching back and forth each year between GEXA and AMIGO for this very reason. When switching electric companies is one of the easiest things you can do, I just think it is ridiculous that these companies try to blatently screw their existing good customers. I suppose there is a percentage of customers who will not shop around but really? So as a good reliable customer we are going to reward you by increasing your rate by over 20%, but some clown we don't even know will get the substantially lower rate. Get with it guys if anything, proven loyal customers should get even better rates. So until they figure this out, customers are going to be easy come, easy go.

Eric Michel from Grapevine
July 10th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

no reason to stay

(2.8 / 5)

  Have been with Gexa for years but the last increase in rates seems unreasonable. As with so many companies the new customer rates are great but it seems the longer you're with them the higher your rates and just give me the best price don't make me search for promotion codes. Looking for someone else.

current customer from Fort Worth
July 10th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Renewal Rates Outrageous

(2.8 / 5)

  I picked their company based on price alone. It was a great deal. I had no problems with getting my bill by email every month, Unfortunately, when it came time to renew, their prices were a lot higher than most of the other companies. They sent me several emails with 'deals' to renew, but every one of them was higher than the average of the other companies on powertochoose.org. I also appreciated that they reminded me of when my contract was going to expire, so I wasn't surprised when the rates went up. But at the end of the day, they are not as interested in retaining their customers long term as acquiring new ones, so I switched to save a few bucks. I would recommend them---if their rates are good on the day you are looking.

A.Carrolla from Arlington
May 5th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Screwed me at the end

(2.6 / 5)

  I always recommended and sent many people to them. I moved after 5 years with them, I called weeks in advance. They didn't offer service in my area. I requested a total bill and paid a week after moving out giving time to get all my electricity together. After a few months, I was just playing around I wanted to see if maybe they were branching out because I liked them so much. They put more money didn't tell me stating they sent me the bill. I MOVED... they knew this. I was so upset. I worked so hard on my credit. they didn't show any concern. the bill was posted a few months after the last one I paid even, not even directly the next month. what kind of shady crap is that. So upset and disappointed. Never late, never a bad customer.

Stabbed at the end. from Grand Prairie
March 13th, 2019

Hi there, thanks for bringing this to our attention. We will share your feedback with the Customer Care team.

Gexa Energy Responds March 21st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too Expensive

(2.6 / 5)

  For one month my bill is $553.00. I have NEVER in my life had a bill with any electric company that charges this much for one month. I am canceling this agreement and looking for a more reasonable energy company. I had another home about the same size as the one I am in now, and the bill was less than 1/3 the cost of this one. I'm done with GEXA. Shopping for another company.

Not Happy with Gexa from Mesquite
July 16th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Time to switch

(2.6 / 5)

  All of the good deals are for new customers. Renewing customers don't fare so well!

Ouch ! from Cross Plains
April 11th, 2018

Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds April 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not really different from other companies

(2.6 / 5)

  Sounds better than it is

Herbert from Houston
April 8th, 2018

Hi Herbert, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds April 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware Billing Cycles for Plans with a Minimum

(2.6 / 5)

  I signed up with Gexa last year. It was easy and the plan looked good, but I missed the monthly minimum. My fault, not theirs. My complaint is how they use billing cycle placement to get extra monthly fees. So I signed-up in September, and should have easily covered the minimum, but they set my billing cycle such that I was a few days away from the minimum usage. No place was it indicated what my billing cycle date would be, so I had no idea my usage would be below the minimum. It was a hbigh usage month! I called, and Gexa said, they would refund the fee if it was less than 15 days of billing...yeah right. Well planned Gexa. Then on the final, I got billed the monthly fee again for being 1 day over the billing cycle date. Called again, but sorry customer, Gexa couldn't care less - no refund.

Chuck G from Dallas
September 29th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ten years down the drain, oviously dont want me as a customer...

(2.6 / 5)

  I have been with Gexa for ten years now. It was always great. I have turned lots of friends and family on to them over the years. This is the first year they did not offer anything for existing customers. no retention department. The lady was actually rude to the point of fine go some where else. I think it is more disappointing that they would do this to loyal customers.

Chris from Cypress
January 28th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lied About Late Fees!

(2.5 / 5)

  I sent my bills to Gexa religiously on time for years, and suddenly they started charging me late fees, saying my bill never came in on time. Well, I was sending out my bills well ahead of the due date regularly. They said it most be a postal issue, and they kept charging me. I've switched providers. Don't trust them.

Brian from Plano
May 27th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service Is Lacking

(2.4 / 5)

  I'm ending my time with Gexa. I find the reps rude whenever I have an issue. They remind me of the IRS or bill collectors. Why so angry? Why so rude? When will energy companies realize that a little customer satisfaction goes a long way? I am willing to pay just a little bit more at another company not to have to deal with jerks.

Anne from Jourdanton
June 3rd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible experience with GEXA

(2.2 / 5)

  I signed up for a low kilowatt rate and they placed me in a month to month plan. Took several months to get it resolved. The new rate is higher then what I signed up for. I get a 100 credit when I stay below 1500 kilowatts each month. I've noticed GEXA is not consistent in the number of days each month the take a reading from my meter. For example this months cycle is 33 days. Which makes it more difficult to stay under 1500 for the month. Below is the response when I inquired about a 33 day cycle.

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for contacting Gexa Energy. In response to your inquiry, unfortunately, we are unable to determine the last day of each billing cycle. Oncor energy meter reads can range between 28-33 days each billing period. We apologize for the inconvenience.

If you have any additional questions, please call Gexa Energy Customer Care at 713-961-9399, or call us toll-free at 1-866-961-9399, Monday - Friday from 7:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m., and Saturday from 8:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m., and allow one of our customer care representatives to assist you. Thank you for being a Gexa Energy customer. We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Gexa Energy Customer Care

Joe Reyes from Plano
December 18th, 2018

Hi Joe, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds January 22nd, 2019

I understand Oncor can can read meters from 28 to 33 days. The inconsistency is ridiculous. However, GEXA still didnt address the issue that you did not sign me up for the correct plan in the first place and then when you changed it from month to month, they gave me a higher rate then what I renewed for. If you want to make good, when I have to renew, give me a good rate, the correct rate.

Joe Reyes Replies January 22nd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Wont Sign-Up Again

(2.2 / 5)

  This was my second go-round with Gena and I was very happy until the Houston temps soared! First, I know I didnt sign up for a 12-month plan but thats what I told I was listed to have so I couldnt change without a long costly dispute and cancellation fees! Customer service rep was nice but inexperienced and script-stricken! Told them I needed time to pay the huge amount that wasnt expected but they gave no real options to avoid disconnection. Usage alert emails used to help in managing the bills to keep my costs down, but those were VERY inconsistent with Gexa.

Gexa isnt a horrible company, theyre just sticking to the current billing trends which are truly designed to take advantage of customers so that companies get higher profits! Gexa like others could easily stick to a straight-forward, flat rate pricing model, but their tiered model that stacks rates on monthly fluctuating kW usage is very hard for most people to understand, let alone calculate if you either dont keep up with all your usage history info from month-to-month/year-to-year OR if you dont have a crystal ball.

Last but not least, companies like Gexa should allow people who clearly say they have trouble paying their bill to switch plans to get a break or end the contract early without a hefty fee because if theres no way to get their bill down to a reasonable amount they can pay, why charge them a cancellation fee just to weasel them into paying the exorbitant costs!!

Looking back its my fault for choosing Gexa because Ive always known that the companies who pay for tv ads arent EVER really concerned with anything except profits.

DoubleR from Missouri City
September 16th, 2018

Hi Ruth, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds September 17th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware of advertised price

(2.2 / 5)

  I signed up with Gexa because they advertised a price of 5.9 cents for a one year contract. I got my first full bill and the price I'm paying is 9.5 cents kwh. Now I'm stuck with this rate for one year. It would be nice if Gexa advertised the real price and not try to trick consumers with a false advertised price. Beware. I won't use them again.

Price not as advertised from Lancaster
April 19th, 2018

Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds April 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service

(2.2 / 5)

  I called customer service to change my due date from 10th to the 15th, when I get paid. They told me they could not do it. Asked for a supervisor and got the same answer. Previous electric companies like Cirro, were more than willing to do this. Now, I have had to pay a late charge every month! Will not renew with this company again.

Dissatisfied in Red Oak from Red Oak
February 3rd, 2018

We value your business and our Customer Care team would like to reach out to you directly to further discuss. Each and every customer is important to us and we want to take the time to learn more about your experience as a Gexa customer and how we can improve. At your earliest convenience, can you please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, the account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you? You can also call us directly at (866) 961-9399 during the following business hours: Monday-Friday: 7:00 am - 8:00 pm, Saturday: 8:00 am - 2:00 pm. We hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds February 6th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unless You Enjoy Billing Hassles, Stay Away!

(2.2 / 5)

  Don't know what is going on with the billing procedures for this company, but I have been a customer for seven months and have had to call Customer Service (and ask for Supervisor Intervention) on four occasions. For some unknown reason, the Auto Payment system is totally FUBAR (look it up.) I've had active working credit cards on file and have even changed preference from Discover to Visa to no avail. Getting a disconnect notice AFTER having successfully paid you bill is somewhat stressful. You might very well be seduced by their low rates, but be forewarned that your experience will (probably) not be unremarkable.

Gordon from Richardson
April 6th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STAY AWAY from GEXA - from a 7+ years' customer

(2.2 / 5)

  Started off with them over 7 years ago. Just switching away after my contract ended. GEXA's rates, their customer service and choices have noticeably deteriorated over time. Definitely NOT a TOP PICK for me any more. STAY AWAY

AJ from Houston
September 7th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa review

(2.1 / 5)

  Horrible experience. Online bill pay was the worst, had to use bill matrix (3.95 fee) or paypal. Paypal could take days to go through, if the payment was late by a day, they would have you disconnected immediately. No grace period. No online account management. I had to wait until I got my bill, have my paypal account funded already, send payment immediately or it would get cut off. I had it cut off several times due to being out of town when mail arrived. All of my other bills I can log in to check my balance and pay. Not here. Good luck getting customer support too. Finally switched to Reliant.

manny from Dallas
January 12th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too expensive

(2 / 5)

  Much higher bill than I expected

Lee R Beeson from Houston
November 19th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Offer...bait and switch

(2 / 5)

  I received emailing offering ME the new rate. I was rejected because the a cvount we have is in my husband's name. I received the OFFER of a lower kilowatt hour and then offer denied to me. We are seniors on a FIXED income and would like the OFFER extended to ME. I feel a bit and switch!!! Help me please. Look forward to a prompt response.

Bait and switch! from Allen
October 9th, 2018

Hi there, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds October 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing issues already--just 3 month into my plan. Don't trust their auto pay

(2 / 5)

  Don't trust their autopay even if you get a conformation that you are now enrolled. Their plans are impossible to figure out. while they give you 45 to 60 days to chage for free, you barely get one full bully cycle to make a good determination.

I'll pay more next time for high reviews with billing, and price/plans

MJB9 from Fort Worth
June 6th, 2018

Hi MJB9, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds June 7th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not happy

(2 / 5)

  The service is good but the pricing is not.

Brenda Villeda from Killeen
May 23rd, 2018

Hi Brenda, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds May 31st, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible experience with Gexa Billing

(2 / 5)

  Based on my experience with Billing & Account Management at Gexa Energy, I will recommend AGAINST using their services. My 6-month plan was to terminate 8/31. I confirmed cancellation of the plan online on 8/17. At the time my plan was to cancel (8/30) Hurricane Harvey was hitting Houston and I was unable to follow up on the cancellation. Since I didn't CALL to cancel my plan, they did not honor the cancellation, and I was charged up until 10/16 when they finally terminated my plan. In this time, I spoke to representatives over the phone on 4 occasions, each lasting more than 25 minutes as I repeated the same information each time and they placed me on holds and transfers, etc. They refused to adjust my billing for the period of time before I spoke to someone over the phone, and thus I was charged for 1 month of services during which time I was not residing in the apartment. The bill was double that of my highest bill during actual usage.

I will note that use of the electricity services themselves were fine and costs were low on a 6-month new user plan.

Rachel from Houston
October 18th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Read the fact sheet carefully

(2 / 5)

  Contrary to my experience over the years with other providers, the price/kwh as displayed on the Power to Choose website didn't turn out to be the average price I was billed. My billing was actually more than 30% higher. My fault because I was careless about reading the fact sheet, but I feel like I was gamed and will never use Gexa again.

No! from Houston
August 4th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

More expensive than most

(2 / 5)

  I called to renew with Gexa, whose month-to-month was 3x higher than the deal I had been on in a contract. When I asked for a better rate, all they could offer me were a variety of single rate contracts applicable only if I kept my electricity within a parameter of 500kw, 1000kw, or 2000kw. Outside of any of those usages there is an automatic $9 charge and the overage or underusage rate was twice or three times as high. I don't use the same electricity year round, having both a gas and electric home. That won't work for me (and I wonder how many others like me). I think what pushed me over the edge was their use of the words, "we CATER to people who keep their electricity within certain kilowatts". Cater? Like they were valet in a high rise penthouse and I was a resident. It's 3rd party electric service. What a spin! In truth, if your usage doesn't fit what they set up for their monetary benefit, obviously, then you're gonna get gouged. Gexa rates are both too high for my budget and higher than many other service companies. They are unwilling to offer workable rates. I refuse to "cater" to companies willing to change the facts and meanings to part me with my money. I have been with Gexa before and found this to be true even then. Don't allow them to head fake you with qualifiers for a service you can get from any number of companies. Shop around before you buy the marketing tactics and spend more than you need to.

Laurie from Laurie
August 3rd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions