We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, Champion Energy Services, TriEagle Energy and Gexa Energy

I love Gexa but prices are much higher this year

(3.8 / 5)

  I had a great "new customer" rate last year but this year it isnt so good.. Im going with another company mid September to get their new customer deals... Love Gexa but gotta go where the rates are lower. I dont understand why these companies dont value loyalty and give old customers the same prices as the new customers get. I guess thats why I shop and change almost every year. Ill probably see Gexa again in 2 to 3 years...My next door neighbor who is 89 years old goes with whichever company I choose so he will be changing also...

Jim from Missouri City
August 14th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Review of Gexa Energy Contract Experience

(3.8 / 5)

  Very good service and the best rate to start. The renewal rate is not good and virtually doubled the starting rate. Our renewal will be with another provider.

Steve Stone from Sabinal
July 25th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ok For Now

(3.8 / 5)

  We had no negative issues with out service from Gexa. While we will continue to shop for the best price, we would have no problem using or recommending Gexa

NBA from Richmond
July 5th, 2018

Hi NBA, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity prices and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know youve valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback!

Gexa Energy Responds July 20th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So far so good

(3.8 / 5)

  I have only been a customer of Gexa for a few months but so far I am happy with my rate and service. The bill pay website has frustrated me both times as the links to pay have caused me to have to login more than one time per visit. My original start up date was delayed thru what was explained to me by Customer Service as a fault of the local provider but eventually I was switched after about a week's delay. I am waiting for my plan promotions to kick in as well.

Jewels from Fort Worth
June 5th, 2018

Hi Jewels, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity prices and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know youve valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback!

Gexa Energy Responds June 7th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa would rather lose you than give you a good renewal product.

(3.8 / 5)

  Well, I thought I had found a company to stick with. Easy sign-up, great rates, auto billing and online account access was a breeze. But, when renewal time comes around, the specific plans they offer you are nowhere near your current plan. I expected my plan to go up, but even the best renewal plan was double my current plan based on my 12 months of usage. Isn't it easier to keep a customer than replace a customer??? Can't you just give me a plan that you're offering new customers? If not, I switch, and that's what I ended up doing. You aren't like Spectrum or AT&T - there's plenty of competition and you can't just double the rates without someone noticing. Doesn't make sense to just hope you get someone to renew at a doubled rate and then deal with the complaints, reviews, bad references, etc. Why not just give your existing customers a decent renewal rate and not have to compete as hard for new ones?

djo111 from Arlington
March 21st, 2018

Hi there, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds March 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

worked like it was supposed to

(3.7 / 5)

  No problem with Gexa, I would use them again if their price was competitive at the time.

Dan from Kingwood
July 7th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

not much extra...

(3.6 / 5)

  Reliant emails you a weekly report on your power usage that includes hourly use graph & monthly bill estimate. excellent tools and not difficult to compile with SmartMeters. Gexa literally does nothing but send you a monthly bill. good rate but no tempting promotions.

Gexa = meh from Fort Worth
August 31st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Maybe leaving gexa

(3.5 / 5)

  I found gexa after another 'no name' supplier went bust. They've been okay for the most part, I get air miles by paying with credit card and Gexa also give me airmiles. I can pay online and their website now has a better way to download the bill as a PDF.

My main problem was I autopay with credit card each month. Normally it is no problem., just go to a web site and update the info. Gexa want you to call them and try getting somebody to answer in under 10 minutes. Sure they have a call back system. However, it came time to update the expiry date for my new card, no new number just the expiry date. Gexa charged my card and it was declined. After always paying on time since I moved to Texas 12 years ago I appear to be on their 'loser' list as my renewal notice has left me feeling they no longer want my business. So it took me a call or 2 to have the late charge reversed, but it looks like I'll be leaving gexa soon.

Greg from Allen
June 24th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Electricity Provider

(3.4 / 5)

  I "signed-up" with Gexa Energy. They contacted my previous "electric bill sender" and made my transfer to Gexa painless and hassle free. The business transaction was as it should be. It's difficult to give a superior ratting when things happen as they should. Note; I did highly recommend.

Gary Robinson from Galveston
May 15th, 2018

Hi Gary, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity prices and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know youve valued your experience with us thus far. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback!

Gexa Energy Responds May 16th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great service and website, but expensive on renewal

(3.4 / 5)

  Always had great customer service with Gexa. They answered the phone in a reasonable amount of time when I called and were generally friendly. The website was also very easy to navigate. I just had a hard time finding a plan that was competitive after my intial contract ran out. Would love to have stayed with them.

Ky from Houston
March 25th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sorry but I left you

(3.4 / 5)

  I was with Gexa for the last three years due to excellent pricing and low bills. This year....well, they suck. I called because my current rate was 8.2 per kilowatt and now they want 10.1 so sorry but I can do better. I called customer service and the budged down to 9.5 but based on 2,000 kwh that is still 9.9 per kwh in my usage range. I finally decided to go with trieagle and I guess we'll see. They have good reviews so I'm optimistic.

Matt from Arlington
June 7th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Wish they would price to keep me

(3.4 / 5)

  I have had Gexa since 2008, but they obviously are not concerned about keeping customers since the rate to renew is higher than for a new customer to join. Wouldn't you want to keep a customer who always pays the bills? I would recommend the company to a new customer. I've never had issues with billing or customer service, and questions have always been promptly answer. When my contract was up, they contacted me several times to let me know and to try to get me to sign another, but there were much better deals elsewhere.

Mel R from DFW
May 25th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceptive Marketing

(3.2 / 5)

  I choose Gexa due to the fact they were advertising a 8.5Kw pricing which is what I signed up for. What was not explained in the marketing material that was for only those users who were under 1000Kw monthly. Instead I received a bill for 12.5kw for the month. When I called to inquire as to billing issue, I was told because I had exceed the monthly usage I had to pay the higher rate. I then asked to find a better rate, and was provided a better rate, I asked that it be applied to the currently billing period which was denied. So I end up paying 2 periods at 12.5kw when this was not what I thought I had signed up for nor able to change.

Mike S from Waco
October 2nd, 2018

Hi Mike, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds October 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No longer

(3.2 / 5)

  I've been with Gexa several years, ebill, no issues. They are good at notifying when contract is ending, but I always have to play hardball to keep a competitive rate. This year they just won't give me a good offer -- new customers are more important than retaining existing good customers. Go figure.

Rose from Dallas
April 10th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

gexa energy

(3.2 / 5)

  Customer Service very avaerage; rates very good. Gexa is a subsidiary of Florida Power & Light and is on very solid financial footing. They give Continental Air miles each month as an incentive to be a customer.

d L from Houston
May 12th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa was Good

(3.2 / 5)

  I had Gexa as my electricity provider for about a year. Ordering was fairly simple, and I never had any problems with them that required any customer service. I'm not sure what else someone can ask for other than that in terms of electricity service.

Matt from Houston
May 2nd, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa 8 month plan

(3 / 5)

  The first full month of January I'm paying $151 for 1546 kw hours. I'm afraid to see what it will be like when it gets hot again! I'm glad I only chose the 8 month plan. I won't be renewing with Gexa.
$81.63 for power usage.
$69.13 for delivery charges.

Mike from Baytown
January 27th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rate

(3 / 5)

  THe rate quoted when ordering was lower than rate Gexa is showing on my rate. Not pleased

Kurt from Ponder
October 7th, 2018

Hi Kurt, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds October 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions