We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, 4Change Energy, Frontier Utilities and Cirro Energy

My Experience

(4.8 / 5)

  I'm currently satisfied with gexa, though I am always looking for more favorable rates.

Mary White from Dallas
May 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great rates, easy account management and responsive customer service

(4.8 / 5)

  My electric plan was up for renewal and after shopping around I found that Gexa had rates that were about half the cost of what I was paying with another provider. My summer electricity bill dropped from about $300 a month to $150 for a 2400sqft house.

Setting up service and managing my account has been easy using the Gexa website. I always set up auto pay so I don't have to remember to pay my bill every month.

Shop around for the best rates when looking for a new provider and always read the EFL!!

Dec 2015 Update: My contract was up for renewal and I compared all the plans out there. Gexa Choice Select 6 was the best value for me so I renewed with Gexa. While renewing online I had a question so I called Gexa and a customer service rep answered right away and they were able to answer my question. Very happy with Gexa!

Wes from Houston
December 2nd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Long Time Customer - No Issues

(4.8 / 5)

  I have used Gexa for about 7 years. Their prices are low and if there was an issue, they now steer everyone online to make changes, nothing done over the phone anymore, which I guess at my age (50+) would prefer the human touch.

Porfirista from Houston
May 23rd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great first experience - solid bargain

(4.6 / 5)

  Ordered new service through Texas Electricity rating. The plan I purchased was not offered directly by Gexa. The switch went smoothly and I have been saving almost 50 to 60 percent over my prior plan. I havent had to interact with customer service, so my rating is ok for now.

Eric from Pflugerville
December 29th, 2018

Hi Eric, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity prices and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Gexa Energy Responds January 22nd, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great experience

(4.6 / 5)

  I have been using Gexa for 2 years now and everything has been great. Good customer service. I couldnt find a better rate in the DFW area. My monthly electric bill is $30 for my apartment!
Gexa has a coupon referral for $25 off your bill after you sign up.

Samuel from Fort Worth
June 2nd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa is the way to go

(4.6 / 5)

  My electric bills were cut in half. I had no issues with ordering or billing. Because I was so satisfied with my service, there was no reason to contact customer service. My only regret was not accepting a longer period of time for the promotional.

Lyn Garrison from Ovilla
February 5th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Multiple time customer - no problems

(4.6 / 5)

  Have had Gexa multiple times - 3 - with no problems. Only reason I change is to look for better rate, new contract, or more renewable content in the generation. They have been exactly as advertised, notified of contract end date. Their new customer rates are very low, with renewal rates about double. If you can manage the company switch at the end of every contract period, they have caused me no problems.

Honest Ron from Grapevine
February 17th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best electric company yet!

(4.6 / 5)

  I switched to Gexa last October and have never had an issue with them. I admit I have never had to call them so I can't really rate their customer service. They email me when my bill is ready to be viewed each month and I have no issues using the online bill pay service. Their rate was exceptionally low during my contract period. I only wish their rates were more competitive now so I could stay with them (I switch every 6 months). Highly recommend these guys!

Lisa from Tomball
March 21st, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Need to Value Current Customers

(4.6 / 5)

  I liked Gexa and would have stayed with them except their rates went up at the end of my contract. I called to see if they had a special rate for old customers and they did not. Two days after I signed up with another company a representative from Gexa called with a better rate. I had already signed up with another company. Gexa needs to value their current customers with lower competitive rates.

Susie
January 17th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Problems With Gexa

(4.6 / 5)

  I have been with Gexa for 5 or 6 years and have had no problems. That is not to say I will not check rates before re signing because I think there are better rates available.

Jack Lowe from Houston
March 28th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied Customer

(4.6 / 5)

  I have been with Gexa for 6.5 years and have never had any issues with anything! They have been terrific as an energy provider! I def recommend them to anyone! They have not done me wrong!

Pam from Fort Worth
October 13th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company

(4.6 / 5)

  I have been with Gexa for over 2 years now. They have a low rate and give American Advantage miles every month. I was previously with TXU and Reliant and both were so much more expensive than Gexa. I have recommended Gexa to everyone I know.

Phylis from Fort Worth
May 1st, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too soon to rate

(4.4 / 5)

  I have not yet received my first billing. It is too soon to ask for feedback. So far my experience has been good but I'm about to get charged for my first billing cycle.

Alma from Humble
November 13th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied customer

(4.3 / 5)

  Ive had gexa for a few years now. I was looking into switching to a lower cost provider but after reading horror reviews I think ill stay with the slightly higher rates. When I contact customer service Im able to talk to a person (although they may not always be upbeat) they take care of the issue quickly. I've never been billed multiple times per month or asked for any crazy deposits or random cancellations. I would recommend them to my friends and family.

Jay from Houston
February 26th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Third Year

(4.2 / 5)

  I just renewed for year 3 with Gexa. I have had no problems and the rates are very competitive. Very satisfied.

Al from League City
May 12th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easiest customer to get is the one you have...

(4.2 / 5)

  and this one is changing. I think I've been with Gexa for about 18 months. Originally signed up on a good promotional plan and then renewed at rates similar to that plan. Have been getting emails urging me to "buy now" even though my term wasn't up for 3 or 4 months before I started getting the renewal email blasts. Their rate increase was about 23%. Moving to another provider, my rate will increase -- but only about 5%. I'm not sure but I think we have the Texas legislators to thank for the Power to Choose and an easy to use website to compare rates. I have overpaid my electric bill by hundreds of dollars. I'll be back on here if I don't get a prompt refund of that overpayment. As far as service, it's been flawless (except for Oncor's outages every now and then). Haven't had to deal with customer service. Soooo -- if you can get a good rate from Gexa, I would go for it. I can't so I'm switchin' (but it won't be to TXU who shafted us all on rates for years).

Dan from Frisco
May 21st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa has a great rate...but has some issues with billing

(4.2 / 5)

  I have been with Gexa for 3 years now. I just added my 2nd house to my account. For tax reasons I need 2 bills. Well Gexa felt the need to take a payment from my primary house, and applied it to House 2. So that left the main account short...late fees, disconnect notice and hit on my credit report. They fixed it... and waved all kinds of fees for the fast connect on the 2nd home. The same issue has happened 2 more times, but they are great about fixing it... but 3 disconnect notices and the time to fix it is a pain. I would still recommend them to anyone, but stay on top of them with the billing... it could take up to 3 months to fix. And make sure you contact them when your contract is almost out of date, or you might get a bit of a jolt when your rate goes up..mine went from $0.11 KWH to over $0.19 KWH. Gexa fixed it but it took 3 months to get my $392 back.

Justin F. from Houston
September 11th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fair price - nothing outstanding

(4.1 / 5)

  GEXA is a good electric company that has lost it's way in price promotions. Their customer service is ho-hum at best, not outstanding, although their call-back service is excellent.

Average Joe from Houston
January 8th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Decent plan, not the cheapest

(4.1 / 5)

  I'm sure when I switched to them, they were the cheapest. I did use cust
service to resub once and lock in a lower rate on a fixed plan than I
already had, which they let me do before my previous term was up. So
that's nice that if the rates drop, you can do a new contract at the lower
terms.

brd from Ft. Worth
July 17th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa Has Improved

(4.1 / 5)

  When I heard Gexa had come under new management, I called back to check their rates. The customer service people were very helpful, and they had some extremely low rates. I would suggest other people check them out. They used to be terrible, but now seem to be much better.

Shaunna from Houston
May 27th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Low Income Customer receives Disconnect Notices every month

(4 / 5)

  I had to apply with a Charity to be able to keep Gexa from Disconnecting my service

Della Johnson from Rowlett
September 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No complaints so far, but pricy!

(4 / 5)

  Everything great, but a little steep price when bill arrives.

J from Harker Heights
August 29th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliable, Satisfactory Provider

(4 / 5)

  I've been with Gexa for two years with no problems. At renewal I shopped rates and found lower rates. I read the reviews on providers offering lower rates and saw lots of dissatisfied customers and problems with billings, etc. I spoke to a Gexa rep and explained that I would like to stay but would like to see better rate. I was offered a discounted loyal customer rate which brought them close to the competitive lower rates. When I compared annual costs between Gexa and the lower rate offers, I would end up paying $65 more annually to stay with Gexa. Because their service has been satisfactory and reliable, I decided that was worth paying a bit more.

Sharon from Sugar Land
February 10th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never had any problems

(4 / 5)

  They offer competitive rates and provide airline miles. Only reason I am considering switching is due to the rate increase.

Kris from Roanoke
January 30th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Issues

(4 / 5)

  I have not had any problems with Gexa. Even though I never signed up for a contract they have kept my rate reasonable. Not as good as a contract rate but they did not gouge me.

Anonymous from Richmond
August 9th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions