Gexa Energy Reviews

Gexa Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Gexa Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.4 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.2 of 5.

Gexa Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 4.2 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

351 Reviews for Gexa Energy


Excellent plan and service

(5 / 5)

  Using from past 6 months and been able to save a lot as their plans are really cheap and they will give $25 credit every month if you use less than 1000 KW. Not even a single problem in last 6 months, haven't even called their customer service till now.

Krishna murthy from Dallas
January 30th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent service and billing

(5 / 5)

  There really isn't anything to type b/c my service has been great. I have online billing, my bills aren't outrageous, and haven't had any issues. My contract expires the 12th of June, I was thinking of switching to discount power, but after reading reviews on them, seeing how Gexa prices are competitive with other companies, I think i'll stay. If they keep their rates low, I may end up being a lifer.

Thomas Wilhite from Killeen
June 4th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Experience - twice

(5 / 5)

  I don't typically write these things, but since I feel more people will take the time to slam a company online, I thought I would give a thumbs up. When shopping for power in Houston, I always use powertochoose,org and for the second time in the past 5 years or so, Gexa came up as the most competitive supplier. The sign up process was flawless, and when I had a question about my first bill, customer service was there to answer my question and clear the confusion. Read the Facts Label and you will find their fees to be very competitive.

Jim G from Houston
August 28th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Been with Gexa for Six Years with NO PROBLEMS - Promo Code 484371

(5 / 5)

  Every company will have complaints. Some customers don't read the fine print of contracts, so they get caught unaware when something unexpected comes along. The key to a good customer experience is to be your own best advocate and read everything. Sometimes terms are only mentioned once. If you don't understand something, ask the company and ask someone you trust who knows what's what.

We use balance billing. That means we pay the same each month. I have had decreases. I have had increases. But at least I have a set amount to fit into my budget. I know what to expect. That comes from a good relationship with the company...meaning I pay my bills on time (about a week prior to the due date). If you do the same, you will reap the benefit.

For full disclosure, all the promo codes you see on these review sites are ones provided specifically for each customer after they have signed up. It is a referral code. It helps me, the customer. It helps you, the future customer. I hope you will accept my honesty about it and use it.

D Mixon from League City
June 10th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa was great to me

(5 / 5)

  I joined Gexa last year around this time for their new customer promo of 9.1 cents inclusive of TDU and $4.95 base charge. I loved Gexa. Not a single problem with billing or bill paying. I pay online via Discover card. The only problem I have had was that I had to switch after the promo 12 month contract was over. Their rates jumped .02 and I was getting better promo offers from other companies. After I switched, Gexa cut off my ability to pay my last bill online so I had to mail a check. I was worried about this but after 7 business days, I saw the payment credited since they still allowed me to view my bill online. Customer service is polite and up front about everything. No silly cash back gimmicks, just a low rate. I wish so much that I could have stayed with Gexa since it is so well run but their renewal plans were all too high. I went with Cirro this time for 12 month 9.6 rate. Not as good as I had with Gexa but the best my research could find.

S Morrow from Baytown
July 4th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best Company EVER !!!!

(5 / 5)

  I absolutely love dealing with GEXA and their customer service is the best I've ever dealt with. Will most definitely refer to my family and friends.

David Jones from Lake Jackson
March 29th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awesome Energy Company

(5 / 5)

  I have been with Gexa for over 8 years. They have the lowest rates around and the customer service is outstanding. I've dealt with Reliant, Texas Power and numerous others providers and I've never been treated so well. My rates were low in the beginning and have stayed low, much, much lower than any other provider. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Donna Jones from Lake Jackson
March 26th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No problems, good rates, 5 years with them so far.

(5 / 5)

  I have not had any problems with them, setup autopay for billing. Even got them to "pricematch" one year when they were a little higher than others. I would recommend them.

Chuck from Cedar Hill
June 16th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Service

(5 / 5)

  Never had a problem with them, and they have
excellent Customer Service. I have used many
utility providers from around the country and will
only deal with them if I can. They are always
responsive to any needs I have.

WP from Galveston
September 1st, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thank GOD

(5 / 5)

  I had been with reliant for years then I tried some off brand company called APNA I don't even know if they are still in business! Gexa has given me nothing but the best customer service excellent rates w/ fair & timely billing. What more could you ask for?!

Neil from Katy
January 17th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Problems plus Great Rate

(5 / 5)

  I've been with Gexa over a year and have experienced no problems with billing, delivery, or customer service. Also have enjoyed a very low total rate of 9.1 cents/kwh plus $10/mon customer charge on a 12-month fixed plan expiring in June 2010. We'll see whether they continue to offer attractive rates when the current plan expires, and how cooperative they might be if I choose to change providers. Thumbs up so far.

Dave from Dallas
January 15th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa Energy Rocks

(5 / 5)

  I have had nothing but a wonderful experience with Gexa. I signed up with them last year on a fixed contract plan at a good rate. It carried me through crazy summer. My contract recently expired and they sent me a nice letter reminding me that my contract was expiring and I was eligible to renew. I compared their rates to others and found Gexa to have really low rates for their fixed contracts. Regardless of rate, their customer service has been awesome and always helpful if I have a question. I highly recommend Gexa to anyone looking for a solid electricity company.

Todd S from Houston
May 21st, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company

(4.9 / 5)

  The reviews on this site don't give them any justice. I used Gexa Energy when I first moved to Houston in 2005. Then in 2007, I switched to Sparks energy because they had cheaper rates. and Then I moved back to Gexa energy in 2009. I have always had a pleasant expereinece with them. The second go around, I asked if I can get service without having to provide my SSN, they said, just give us a letter of credit from your current provider that you have never been late and you are in good standing with them. As soon as I did, they switch process was a breeze, didn't even feel it!
Most of the people who left negative reviews, have been charged with late payment fees and ofcourse they are bitter about it!

Ahmed Younis from Houston
August 9th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Would not switch

(4.9 / 5)

  Been their customer for over 3 years. Priceing is good and customer service is great. Never had a problem.

Mel from Houston
June 18th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

binoy mathew

(4.8 / 5)

  Excellent service and billing, everything is clear at website.

BINOY MATHEW from Missouri City
July 1st, 2020

Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans and we're so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Gexa Energy Responds July 22nd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My Experience

(4.8 / 5)

  I'm currently satisfied with gexa, though I am always looking for more favorable rates.

Mary White from Dallas
May 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great rates, easy account management and responsive customer service

(4.8 / 5)

  My electric plan was up for renewal and after shopping around I found that Gexa had rates that were about half the cost of what I was paying with another provider. My summer electricity bill dropped from about $300 a month to $150 for a 2400sqft house.

Setting up service and managing my account has been easy using the Gexa website. I always set up auto pay so I don't have to remember to pay my bill every month.

Shop around for the best rates when looking for a new provider and always read the EFL!!

Dec 2015 Update: My contract was up for renewal and I compared all the plans out there. Gexa Choice Select 6 was the best value for me so I renewed with Gexa. While renewing online I had a question so I called Gexa and a customer service rep answered right away and they were able to answer my question. Very happy with Gexa!

Wes from Houston
December 2nd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Long Time Customer - No Issues

(4.8 / 5)

  I have used Gexa for about 7 years. Their prices are low and if there was an issue, they now steer everyone online to make changes, nothing done over the phone anymore, which I guess at my age (50+) would prefer the human touch.

Porfirista from Houston
May 23rd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Service Provider

(4.6 / 5)

  No problems.

Residential Provider from Houston
May 4th, 2020

Hello, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Gexa Energy Responds May 28th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa Energy

(4.6 / 5)

  I was a bit surprised by the Oncor charges that increase the avg kilowatt charges.
I would like to see more savings for seniors who live on a fixed income.
Other than that, I'm happy with my service.

Bledsoe from Waco
June 27th, 2019

Hi Bledsoe. Our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss your feedback, and to work with you to find a plan that better matches your electricity usage through our Happiness Guarantee. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We value your business and hope to connect with you soon.

Gexa Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...