Home > Read Reviews > Gexa Energy

Gexa Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Gexa Energy are their customer service, rated at 2.8 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.7 of 5.

Gexa Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 4.9 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

199 Reviews for Gexa Energy


Gexa Energy Rocks

(5 / 5)

  I have had nothing but a wonderful experience with Gexa. I signed up with them last year on a fixed contract plan at a good rate. It carried me through crazy summer. My contract recently expired and they sent me a nice letter reminding me that my contract was expiring and I was eligible to renew. I compared their rates to others and found Gexa to have really low rates for their fixed contracts. Regardless of rate, their customer service has been awesome and always helpful if I have a question. I highly recommend Gexa to anyone looking for a solid electricity company.

Todd S from Houston
May 21st, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company

(4.9 / 5)

  The reviews on this site don't give them any justice. I used Gexa Energy when I first moved to Houston in 2005. Then in 2007, I switched to Sparks energy because they had cheaper rates. and Then I moved back to Gexa energy in 2009. I have always had a pleasant expereinece with them. The second go around, I asked if I can get service without having to provide my SSN, they said, just give us a letter of credit from your current provider that you have never been late and you are in good standing with them. As soon as I did, they switch process was a breeze, didn't even feel it!
Most of the people who left negative reviews, have been charged with late payment fees and ofcourse they are bitter about it!

Ahmed Younis from Houston
August 9th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Would not switch

(4.9 / 5)

  Been their customer for over 3 years. Priceing is good and customer service is great. Never had a problem.

Mel from Houston
June 18th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My Experience

(4.8 / 5)

  I'm currently satisfied with gexa, though I am always looking for more favorable rates.

Mary White from Dallas
May 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great rates, easy account management and responsive customer service

(4.8 / 5)

  My electric plan was up for renewal and after shopping around I found that Gexa had rates that were about half the cost of what I was paying with another provider. My summer electricity bill dropped from about $300 a month to $150 for a 2400sqft house.

Setting up service and managing my account has been easy using the Gexa website. I always set up auto pay so I don't have to remember to pay my bill every month.

Shop around for the best rates when looking for a new provider and always read the EFL!!

Dec 2015 Update: My contract was up for renewal and I compared all the plans out there. Gexa Choice Select 6 was the best value for me so I renewed with Gexa. While renewing online I had a question so I called Gexa and a customer service rep answered right away and they were able to answer my question. Very happy with Gexa!

Wes from Houston
December 2nd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Long Time Customer - No Issues

(4.8 / 5)

  I have used Gexa for about 7 years. Their prices are low and if there was an issue, they now steer everyone online to make changes, nothing done over the phone anymore, which I guess at my age (50+) would prefer the human touch.

Porfirista from Houston
May 23rd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great first experience - solid bargain

(4.6 / 5)

  Ordered new service through Texas Electricity rating. The plan I purchased was not offered directly by Gexa. The switch went smoothly and I have been saving almost 50 to 60 percent over my prior plan. I havent had to interact with customer service, so my rating is ok for now.

Eric from Pflugerville
December 29th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great experience

(4.6 / 5)

  I have been using Gexa for 2 years now and everything has been great. Good customer service. I couldnt find a better rate in the DFW area. My monthly electric bill is $30 for my apartment!
Gexa has a coupon referral for $25 off your bill after you sign up.

Samuel from Fort Worth
June 2nd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa is the way to go

(4.6 / 5)

  My electric bills were cut in half. I had no issues with ordering or billing. Because I was so satisfied with my service, there was no reason to contact customer service. My only regret was not accepting a longer period of time for the promotional.

Lyn Garrison from Ovilla
February 5th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Multiple time customer - no problems

(4.6 / 5)

  Have had Gexa multiple times - 3 - with no problems. Only reason I change is to look for better rate, new contract, or more renewable content in the generation. They have been exactly as advertised, notified of contract end date. Their new customer rates are very low, with renewal rates about double. If you can manage the company switch at the end of every contract period, they have caused me no problems.

Honest Ron from Grapevine
February 17th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best electric company yet!

(4.6 / 5)

  I switched to Gexa last October and have never had an issue with them. I admit I have never had to call them so I can't really rate their customer service. They email me when my bill is ready to be viewed each month and I have no issues using the online bill pay service. Their rate was exceptionally low during my contract period. I only wish their rates were more competitive now so I could stay with them (I switch every 6 months). Highly recommend these guys!

Lisa from Tomball
March 21st, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Need to Value Current Customers

(4.6 / 5)

  I liked Gexa and would have stayed with them except their rates went up at the end of my contract. I called to see if they had a special rate for old customers and they did not. Two days after I signed up with another company a representative from Gexa called with a better rate. I had already signed up with another company. Gexa needs to value their current customers with lower competitive rates.

Susie
January 17th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Problems With Gexa

(4.6 / 5)

  I have been with Gexa for 5 or 6 years and have had no problems. That is not to say I will not check rates before re signing because I think there are better rates available.

Jack Lowe from Houston
March 28th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied Customer

(4.6 / 5)

  I have been with Gexa for 6.5 years and have never had any issues with anything! They have been terrific as an energy provider! I def recommend them to anyone! They have not done me wrong!

Pam from Fort Worth
October 13th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company

(4.6 / 5)

  I have been with Gexa for over 2 years now. They have a low rate and give American Advantage miles every month. I was previously with TXU and Reliant and both were so much more expensive than Gexa. I have recommended Gexa to everyone I know.

Phylis from Fort Worth
May 1st, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied customer

(4.3 / 5)

  Ive had gexa for a few years now. I was looking into switching to a lower cost provider but after reading horror reviews I think ill stay with the slightly higher rates. When I contact customer service Im able to talk to a person (although they may not always be upbeat) they take care of the issue quickly. I've never been billed multiple times per month or asked for any crazy deposits or random cancellations. I would recommend them to my friends and family.

Jay from Houston
February 26th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Third Year

(4.2 / 5)

  I just renewed for year 3 with Gexa. I have had no problems and the rates are very competitive. Very satisfied.

Al from League City
May 12th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easiest customer to get is the one you have...

(4.2 / 5)

  and this one is changing. I think I've been with Gexa for about 18 months. Originally signed up on a good promotional plan and then renewed at rates similar to that plan. Have been getting emails urging me to "buy now" even though my term wasn't up for 3 or 4 months before I started getting the renewal email blasts. Their rate increase was about 23%. Moving to another provider, my rate will increase -- but only about 5%. I'm not sure but I think we have the Texas legislators to thank for the Power to Choose and an easy to use website to compare rates. I have overpaid my electric bill by hundreds of dollars. I'll be back on here if I don't get a prompt refund of that overpayment. As far as service, it's been flawless (except for Oncor's outages every now and then). Haven't had to deal with customer service. Soooo -- if you can get a good rate from Gexa, I would go for it. I can't so I'm switchin' (but it won't be to TXU who shafted us all on rates for years).

Dan from Frisco
May 21st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa has a great rate...but has some issues with billing

(4.2 / 5)

  I have been with Gexa for 3 years now. I just added my 2nd house to my account. For tax reasons I need 2 bills. Well Gexa felt the need to take a payment from my primary house, and applied it to House 2. So that left the main account short...late fees, disconnect notice and hit on my credit report. They fixed it... and waved all kinds of fees for the fast connect on the 2nd home. The same issue has happened 2 more times, but they are great about fixing it... but 3 disconnect notices and the time to fix it is a pain. I would still recommend them to anyone, but stay on top of them with the billing... it could take up to 3 months to fix. And make sure you contact them when your contract is almost out of date, or you might get a bit of a jolt when your rate goes up..mine went from $0.11 KWH to over $0.19 KWH. Gexa fixed it but it took 3 months to get my $392 back.

Justin F. from Houston
September 11th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fair price - nothing outstanding

(4.1 / 5)

  GEXA is a good electric company that has lost it's way in price promotions. Their customer service is ho-hum at best, not outstanding, although their call-back service is excellent.

Average Joe from Houston
January 8th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Updated: 01-18-2019
Example Bill
loading...