Gexa Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Gexa Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.6 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.4 of 5.

Gexa Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 4.7 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

259 Reviews for Gexa Energy


No Problems With Gexa

(4.6 / 5)

  I have been with Gexa for 5 or 6 years and have had no problems. That is not to say I will not check rates before re signing because I think there are better rates available.

Jack Lowe from Houston
March 28th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied Customer

(4.6 / 5)

  I have been with Gexa for 6.5 years and have never had any issues with anything! They have been terrific as an energy provider! I def recommend them to anyone! They have not done me wrong!

Pam from Fort Worth
October 13th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company

(4.6 / 5)

  I have been with Gexa for over 2 years now. They have a low rate and give American Advantage miles every month. I was previously with TXU and Reliant and both were so much more expensive than Gexa. I have recommended Gexa to everyone I know.

Phylis from Fort Worth
May 1st, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Should send email when bill is ready

(4.4 / 5)

  This is the only company that does not send an email letting you know your bill is ready to view.

Invoice email from Magnolia
June 6th, 2019

Hi there: When you enroll in paperless billing you will receive email notifications when your bill is ready. To sign up or confirm if you have already signed up for paperless billing, please login to your account on MyGexa via this link: mygexa.gexaenergy.com/login.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too soon to rate

(4.4 / 5)

  I have not yet received my first billing. It is too soon to ask for feedback. So far my experience has been good but I'm about to get charged for my first billing cycle.

Alma from Humble
November 13th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied customer

(4.3 / 5)

  Ive had gexa for a few years now. I was looking into switching to a lower cost provider but after reading horror reviews I think ill stay with the slightly higher rates. When I contact customer service Im able to talk to a person (although they may not always be upbeat) they take care of the issue quickly. I've never been billed multiple times per month or asked for any crazy deposits or random cancellations. I would recommend them to my friends and family.

Jay from Houston
February 26th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Should-ve called to speak to a representative before contracting

(4.2 / 5)

  I changed to Gexa when my permanent rate company (Frontier Utilities) had expired their 1 year promotion contract, which was of $74 dollars when using from 1000 to 2000 kWh, so I paid $74 dollars almost all 12 months. When that ended I searched for something similar online and found Gexa, the description seemed to offer the same, ultimately it didn't

Elizabeth G from Mission
May 22nd, 2019

Hi Elizabeth, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customercare@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds June 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good company

(4.2 / 5)

  I have had no issue with my Bill. I was being billed an additional 50 to 70 from AEP North (is what my bill says) for distribution charges. So the credit if 75$ of using over 1000 kilowatts cancelled it self out.

Ashley from Abilene
March 16th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Third Year

(4.2 / 5)

  I just renewed for year 3 with Gexa. I have had no problems and the rates are very competitive. Very satisfied.

Al from League City
May 12th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easiest customer to get is the one you have...

(4.2 / 5)

  and this one is changing. I think I've been with Gexa for about 18 months. Originally signed up on a good promotional plan and then renewed at rates similar to that plan. Have been getting emails urging me to "buy now" even though my term wasn't up for 3 or 4 months before I started getting the renewal email blasts. Their rate increase was about 23%. Moving to another provider, my rate will increase -- but only about 5%. I'm not sure but I think we have the Texas legislators to thank for the Power to Choose and an easy to use website to compare rates. I have overpaid my electric bill by hundreds of dollars. I'll be back on here if I don't get a prompt refund of that overpayment. As far as service, it's been flawless (except for Oncor's outages every now and then). Haven't had to deal with customer service. Soooo -- if you can get a good rate from Gexa, I would go for it. I can't so I'm switchin' (but it won't be to TXU who shafted us all on rates for years).

Dan from Frisco
May 21st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa has a great rate...but has some issues with billing

(4.2 / 5)

  I have been with Gexa for 3 years now. I just added my 2nd house to my account. For tax reasons I need 2 bills. Well Gexa felt the need to take a payment from my primary house, and applied it to House 2. So that left the main account short...late fees, disconnect notice and hit on my credit report. They fixed it... and waved all kinds of fees for the fast connect on the 2nd home. The same issue has happened 2 more times, but they are great about fixing it... but 3 disconnect notices and the time to fix it is a pain. I would still recommend them to anyone, but stay on top of them with the billing... it could take up to 3 months to fix. And make sure you contact them when your contract is almost out of date, or you might get a bit of a jolt when your rate goes up..mine went from $0.11 KWH to over $0.19 KWH. Gexa fixed it but it took 3 months to get my $392 back.

Justin F. from Houston
September 11th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fair price - nothing outstanding

(4.1 / 5)

  GEXA is a good electric company that has lost it's way in price promotions. Their customer service is ho-hum at best, not outstanding, although their call-back service is excellent.

Average Joe from Houston
January 8th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Decent plan, not the cheapest

(4.1 / 5)

  I'm sure when I switched to them, they were the cheapest. I did use cust
service to resub once and lock in a lower rate on a fixed plan than I
already had, which they let me do before my previous term was up. So
that's nice that if the rates drop, you can do a new contract at the lower
terms.

brd from Ft. Worth
July 17th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gexa Has Improved

(4.1 / 5)

  When I heard Gexa had come under new management, I called back to check their rates. The customer service people were very helpful, and they had some extremely low rates. I would suggest other people check them out. They used to be terrible, but now seem to be much better.

Shaunna from Houston
May 27th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Review

(4 / 5)

  Everything has been a good experience

J. Powers from Waco
July 8th, 2019

Hi J, thank you for sharing your feedback! We love hearing from our customers and are so happy you took the time to let us know how we are doing. We work hard to provide great electricity rates and customer service for our fellow Texans, and were so glad to know you've valued your experience with us. We also want to take this opportunity to make sure you are aware of our Share & Save Customer Referral Program, where you'll earn a $5 credit on your bill each month for up to a year for each new customer you bring onboard with us. Learn more by visiting: www.tinyurl.com/GexaEnergyShareAndSaveProgram. Thanks again for leaving your feedback.

Gexa Energy Responds July 15th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Low Income Customer receives Disconnect Notices every month

(4 / 5)

  I had to apply with a Charity to be able to keep Gexa from Disconnecting my service

Della Johnson from Rowlett
September 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No complaints so far, but pricy!

(4 / 5)

  Everything great, but a little steep price when bill arrives.

J from Harker Heights
August 29th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliable, Satisfactory Provider

(4 / 5)

  I've been with Gexa for two years with no problems. At renewal I shopped rates and found lower rates. I read the reviews on providers offering lower rates and saw lots of dissatisfied customers and problems with billings, etc. I spoke to a Gexa rep and explained that I would like to stay but would like to see better rate. I was offered a discounted loyal customer rate which brought them close to the competitive lower rates. When I compared annual costs between Gexa and the lower rate offers, I would end up paying $65 more annually to stay with Gexa. Because their service has been satisfactory and reliable, I decided that was worth paying a bit more.

Sharon from Sugar Land
February 10th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never had any problems

(4 / 5)

  They offer competitive rates and provide airline miles. Only reason I am considering switching is due to the rate increase.

Kris from Roanoke
January 30th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Issues

(4 / 5)

  I have not had any problems with Gexa. Even though I never signed up for a contract they have kept my rate reasonable. Not as good as a contract rate but they did not gouge me.

Anonymous from Richmond
August 9th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...