Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Griddy are the order experience, rated at 3.0 out of 5, and their billing & account management system, rated at 3.0 of 5.
5 Stars
7%
 
4 Stars
30%
 
3 Stars
13%
 
2 Stars
3%
 
1 Stars
47%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from Jacek

I never know that spot prices could go over $8/kWh
It is a day before big freeze today. Currently the price is $8.08per hour and seems to be going up. Yesterday my estimated cast was $43. Today it will be $200 or maybe way more. I have been customer for 1 1/2 year. Griddy says I saved $2500 so far. I guess this month I may lose all these savings. Griddy is definitely not something for people living paycheck to paycheck. Seemed like a good idea to go with griddy, but next week I will evaluate if it is worth staying with them.
I am so glad I did not recommend it to any of my friends.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jacek from Trophy Club, TX on February 13th, 2021


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Wholesale pricing is awesome
Moved from California, paying4- 6 times what I pay with Griddy.
Im averaging, all in costs, 7-10 cents a kWh. The 10 buck subscription is well worth it. I just avoid using a lot of electricity M-F 2PM-5PM when rates are higher. Ive saved 600 dollars in 18 months compared to the average Texas all in rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tim Knoch from Mansfield, TX on October 3rd, 2020
July "All-In" rate (INCL TDU, & Taxes) was 7.8, Avg Price (Not INCL TDU) was 3.4
I have saved almost $500 so far in the 3 months I've been with Griddy. They charge a $10 monthly membership fee + the Wholesale price for power (which varies according to supply & demand) + the TDU charge that everybody pays.

There ARE price spikes, but Griddy does a Great job anticipating them & keeping you completely up2date when they happen - their App & web site shows the current and projected wholesale price, which varies from (literally) Zero (oversupply) to 3.5 (average) to brief spikes as high as $9.00 (at which point Griddy is ringing All of their alarm bells), which are typically very short lived. August has been a tough month & my average Energy Price is still 5.3 (Not INCL TDU), or 11.0 including TDU, ALL state & local taxes & fees.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Franko from White Settlement, TX on August 19th, 2019



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

9 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great prices if you are careful
I really like the cost savings and simple ability to monitor prices and have the related management options of my electricity usage. I will say that it becomes tedious to deal with it during the problematic months of Jul, Aug and Sep when prices can spike crazily. I will consider what I will do during those months in futgure years but also will look for leadership from Griddy to bring solutions to bad wholesale prices at that time of year.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charlesb from Sugar Land, TX on October 9th, 2020
Good Decision
Great decision. I've had Griddy for about 3 years now and I will have to say that it's the best decision that I've made. I was skeptical about switching over to a "pay as you go" service. But 3 years later and I'm still with them. I love having access to see the rates, what peak times are and etc. I feel like I actually have more control over my electric service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Auna from Houston, TX on October 8th, 2020
Go Griddy
So far this has been a great service for a great price!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from Houston, TX on October 5th, 2020
Convenience!
Griddy is so easy and convenient. You can pay and look at any details you need to on the app. Theres no contracts so its pay as you go! Just simply place some money towards the lights whenever you feel like!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Griddy Is Great from Bacliff, TX on October 3rd, 2020
Love it
We have been with Griddy for about 2 years now. There have been a few hiccups, namely August of 2019 where we got hit pretty hard with a crazy high price for the month, but for the most part, we save pretty good money using them. Most of the time we pay between 7 and 9 cents per kilowatt hour, which, all in, is pretty great!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

K. Himmler from Houston, TX on October 2nd, 2020
Awesome
Have changed all of our properties to Griddy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ck from University Park, TX on October 2nd, 2020
Great provider for savvy customers
Griddy provides a great option for wholesale electricity pricing. Its not for everyone, but for people like me who want to squeeze additional savings from their utilities, it can save a bundle. If youre into set it and forget it Griddy might not be for you. If you are more informed and comfortable with technology tools, its a great fit. I just want to save money after all!! I live in the DFW area.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Great Provider! from White Settlement, TX on October 2nd, 2020
Griddy is great for saving money.
I've used Griddy for a year. I've saved over $300 from the previous year when I had a contract. The contract that I had gave me a discount only if I used a certain amount of electricity, which I only did in the summer months or a cold month in the winter. With Griddy, it's easy to see how much electricity every minute of the day. Most of the time it's cheaper than the contract pricing. I would also recommend a Wi-Fi thermostat so you can control your usage even if you're away from home.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

E. McMann from League City, TX on October 2nd, 2020
A good deal for the careful consumer
I love Griddy because I know they are NOT scamming their customers. The rate is the wholesale power price plus the delivery charge plus $10/month. While it is possible to see a huge bill when the wholesale power price spikes, that's the tradeoff for getting lower prices the rest of the year. To save money consistently, you will want to use their app and/or some other realtime wholesale price monitor, and you will have to adjust your consumption when the price spikes. You can also run the ERCOT app and get forecast prices for each day; while that's only a rough guide, it can put you on notice that you'll need to keep a closer eye on prices that day. Another good tool is IFTTT (If This Then That) when tied to your smart thermostat. Griddy is not a set-it-and-forget-it service. I'm looking into getting some solar panels with one of their solar energy partners so that I can sell power back to the grid for up to $9/kWH when the price spikes.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mr Bill from Houston, TX on June 30th, 2020



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
I never know that spot prices could go over $8/kWh
It is a day before big freeze today. Currently the price is $8.08per hour and seems to be going up. Yesterday my estimated cast was $43. Today it will be $200 or maybe way more. I have been customer for 1 1/2 year. Griddy says I saved $2500 so far. I guess this month I may lose all these savings. Griddy is definitely not something for people living paycheck to paycheck. Seemed like a good idea to go with griddy, but next week I will evaluate if it is worth staying with them.
I am so glad I did not recommend it to any of my friends.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jacek from Trophy Club, TX on February 13th, 2021
So far no problem!
I have started saving from Griddy by anticipating price spikes, shutting AC off during spikes, unplugging when not using, turning lights off, not using lights during the day, and using blackout curtains. Really easy to switch addresses and love the rewards program!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

LDRN from Houston, TX on October 3rd, 2020
Great data
Griddy has great graphs that show usage by day, month, and year along with energy prices. They tried to change things up and the new stuff was not as transparent, however they listened to their customers and brought back the graphs and information.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kat from Tomball, TX on October 2nd, 2020
The risk is all yours
Everything I ever saved using Griddy was lost in a few hours when wholesale electricity prices spiked. Griddy didn't cause the problem or profit by it, by that gives me no solace - my August cost will be near $600 and it's that low only because I drastically cut usage after I realized the problem.

Someone is gaming the electricity market. Are you reminded of what Enron did to California?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

SorryGriddyUser from Houston, TX on August 21st, 2019



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Don't sign up with Griddy
I have been trying to cancel my service for 2 weeks and they still keep recharging my account with my credit card.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carl Mathews from Corpus Christi, TX on July 29th, 2019



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

14 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Price Gouging
Under a declaration of disaster by POTUS Joe Biden, they continue to gouge customers. E-mail saying everything back to normal, I get charged over $500 for one day. GRIDDY SUCKS
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pissed Off Griddy Customer from Baytown, TX on February 21st, 2021
BEWARE!!!!
Just got past the 2021 winter blast. With Griddy my electric cost for the 5 days Feb. 13 2021 - Feb 18 2021 was $2907.76 not including delivery, taxes and fees. My kwh usage for that period was 468.3kwh. The average price per kwh $6.20. The all in cost for Feb 1 - 18 was $3154.03. Never in my life has my electric bill doubled my house payment. You've been warned!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

PO'ed Texan from Garrett, TX on February 19th, 2021
Griddy is greedy
Worst energy provider ever. During this winter storm I was charged over 400 dollars for 53kwh. $9 per kWh. Who does that.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jasmine from Dallas, TX on February 19th, 2021
Crazy company
I just switch with this company 2 weeks ago and they charge me almost 2000$ for electricity outage for 4 days.how is that crazy. dont go with this company they should call greedy company not griddy. dont fo with this kind of company people..hope they can sleep to cheat with that customer..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Janice from 78036 on February 19th, 2021
Screwed!
Griddy has charged my account $1125 in the last four days including $625. This obviously has nothing to do with my usage as I have a gas kitchen and furnace. I am reporting this to the Texas Utility Commission. I have made a stop payment on them on my checking account. If they turn my power off before the switch is made to TXU on Monday I will sew! What a joke!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Yes from Richardson, TX on February 18th, 2021
Do NOT go Griddy !! Insane ! 2.14.21
With the extreme cold weather electricity surges in Killeen TX and and Round Rock TX my girlfriend was charged $375.00 for one day of home electricity. One day!!! The cold wont be over till next week here in TX. We cannot afford $2000.00 for a weeks worth of electricity!$&$&. We will be filing a class action lawsuit against them. Griddy you are insane and a thief !
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rodriguez from Round Rock, TX on February 14th, 2021
Their customer service is atrocious.
Their customer service is atrocious. Seems to be just one guy--Demetrius--who picks from a set of canned answers just to end the call and move on to the next inquiry. Like talking to a politician who aims to provide nothing but vacuous answers. Absolutely not helpful.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terrible Customer Service from Houston, TX on May 20th, 2020
Quick to take your money
I signed up for Griddy at approximately 8:40 a.m. CST and cancelled (on phone, in person) within 15 minutes. They charged me $49 anyway and contacted my current utility company to break contract 9-10 hours later (AFTER I cancelled). So, now we are having to deal with that. They are quick to change things in their favor but not quick to stop payment. I would not trust any company that "plays" this way.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Greedy Not Griddy from Rowlett, TX on January 25th, 2020
Beware of this company
They charge you a fee of $20.00 for a letter, and $10.18 for late penalty. The payment is sent to a PO box which they conveniently don't check and then charge you unnecessary fees for disconnection. Don't sign up with them no matter how good the fees seem.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Yolanda G from Pearland, TX on October 4th, 2019
Griddy is BS... Cost me over 1200 for 1 month
Griddy must be a scam. Save money! I don't think so. Thanks to Griddy I was charged $1005 between 8-7-19 and 8-26-19. Over 1000 $$$$ before I could stop the bleeding. It would have been close to $2000 for 1 month. Well if that's wholesale then I need to be in the electric business. I've already spent more than I did last year for 8 months, in less than one month. It's all BS!!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael Shaw from Lewisville, TX on August 26th, 2019


Recommended Electricity Plans