Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Infinite Energy are their customer service, rated at 3.0 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.9 of 5.
5 Stars
28%
 
4 Stars
11%
 
3 Stars
3%
 
2 Stars
14%
 
1 Stars
44%
 

Recent Good Review from Patient and Competent

Patience and Competence
I am new to reside in Texas and Ed with Infinity Energy made my experience and the signing up process very easy. He was helpful, patient, competent and kind. Thank you!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Patient And Competent from Galveston, TX on March 6th, 2020


Our Analysis of Infinite Energy

Community Outreach
4.5 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Plans & Products
4.4 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Innovation
3.7 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Rewards
2.8 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.
Complaint Resolution
2.4 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Market Perception
2.3 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

22 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Patience and Competence
I am new to reside in Texas and Ed with Infinity Energy made my experience and the signing up process very easy. He was helpful, patient, competent and kind. Thank you!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Patient And Competent from Galveston, TX on March 6th, 2020
New to Infinite,
So Far the costumer service has been amazing. Sarah was very helpful and explained everything very clearly and promptly. You can tell she has a ton of respect for their company and their clients.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sarah from Fort Worth, TX on February 27th, 2020
Great customer service experience
I called to inquire about what Infinite Energy offered and was pleasantly surprised at the reasonable rates but more specifically the young lady Suzanne at the Customer Experience Department. She was so helpful providing all the information I needed. I will be reviewing my annual kwh usage and then moving my service to Infinite Energy within the week. Thanks Suzanne for all your help!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sharon Cooper from Joshua, TX on January 3rd, 2020
Transfer of Service/Customer Service
I had a great experience with Laura yesterday. She was able to get my services switched from my apartment to my new house with no troubles. She was very informative when going through my new plan, and let me know everything there was to know. She was very helpful throughout the whole process, and made it very very easy. This is the main reason that I continue my service with Infinite Energy, the customer service/process is simple, and not to mention they have GREAT rates!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nick from Bedford, TX on December 19th, 2019
Great customer service, no gimmicks!
Read the info sheets carefully but the reps on the phone usually guide me to the plan I preselected or have insights to improve my bill. I've had 3 different plans with them and it's been great!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alex J from Houston, TX on September 18th, 2019
Great Customer Service
Dustin was probably the best customer service agent I've spoken with in many years; friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable. What more can you ask. It's hard to rate "Billing" as I am a brand new customer, but the "Management" of my accounts online is very easy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JS from Sherman, TX on September 9th, 2019
Great Customer Service
Just renewed with Infinite Energy. Great Customer Service with Renesto and Alan - they are both AWESOME!. They both took time to find me the right plan for my usage. I love the fact that there are no hidden fees and the weekly reports are great help! I recommend to family and friends.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Robin from Houston, TX on August 23rd, 2019
Great service
Great service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Satish from Houston, TX on April 27th, 2019
Change plans as needed, IE has been best
Good service online and on phone. Great plan for my usage. Energy Facts Label are clear. Sometimes people complain about electric company bec they didn't read the plan details & look at their usage pattern. Bill easy to read & on time. Good android app.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Greg Gee from Waco, TX on March 20th, 2019
The Best We Have Used
These people have it together. They are quick to respond, confirm and assist. If there is a problem, you actually get to talk to a live person. I would highly recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Custom Corporates from Katy, TX on December 14th, 2018


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

9 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Infinite energy service
Pleasant experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Timothy Majero from Mckinney, TX on April 25th, 2019
Great rate until your contract ends-beware!
All the reviews are right until your contract is up. Then the fees and rates cause your normal bill to go to 3-4 times the amount. They dont offer decent or low rates for existing customers. The power to chose website is useful and there are other viable options out there.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Janet Kingsley from Houston, TX on July 14th, 2018
Hi, Janet, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Unfortunately electricity markets vary a lot, and prices are different from year to year, so sometimes we have to offer plans higher than what you last had, though sometimes we get to offer lower as well. All of our prices are the same for both new and existing customers, though.

From your message, it sounds as though your account may have rolled onto a variable rate when your contract ended. We often have more competitive options available for you to choose, however. Thanks for your review, and give us a call if you'd like to learn about more pricing options.
— Infinite Energy
Excellent provider
I have had infinite for over a year and never had a problem with higher bills. They charge what they say that is in the contract, so the person from carrolton, tx who had a problem with high bills, you probably did not renew your contract. Month to month is going to be higher.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Keven Gigout from Highlands on April 23rd, 2015
Hey Keven, thanks for taking time to leave a review. Sorry in the delay in responding! We do our best to send notices through mail and email regarding expiring rates to help prevent those rollover variable rates from ever taking effect. Thanks for choosing Infinite Energy!
— Infinite Energy
So far so good
This company seems, at least, to be honest, unlike most
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Donald Cline from Mckinney on March 1st, 2013
Hi, Donald, thanks for taking the time to share your review--glad to have you with us!
— Infinite Energy
12 Month Plan 7.8 cents, not bad
No problems, auto pay with credit card. They sent me a letter one month before cotract expiration explaining what to do next.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tod Six from Farmers Branch on January 21st, 2013
Hi, Tod, thanks for the kind words and for taking the time to share your thoughts!
— Infinite Energy
So far, So good. But will it last.
Signed up with Infinite on a whim due to the increadibly low teaser rate. My contract expires at the end of this month so it is time to start the hunt for a new contract. I have found other providers out there with a lower rate than Infinite is now offering. Unless they are willing to match one of the other rates, I'll be changing providers. Not for the service I've recieived but just simply a decision made from my pocket book. Less money in the paycheck these days means I've got cut expenses somewhere. So here we go. I'll gladly stay with them if they give me a good rate. Keep your fingers crossed.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anette Coppedge from Euless on January 15th, 2013
Hi, Anette, I know this is older, but thanks for sharing and letting us know what's most important to you in a rate plan. I wanted to let you know that since you wrote this, we've expanded our plan offerings to try to represent as many usage patterns as possible, and that often leads to even better pricing. We know how important budgeting can be, and we're always working on new products that help you save.
— Infinite Energy
Great Service Good price need better billing online
Have had them since April, started with a 90 day bait and switch. I liked them so much I took a year contract plan. I wish they would post my bill online in my account. You have to wait for the printed bill to see what your kwh useage is for the month.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

James L. from Abilene on September 17th, 2012
Hi, James, I know this is an old review, so I just wanted to come back and say that not only do we now have an online customer app where you can see your account and usage, BUT we also have that feature through a mobile app AND we now send weekly emailed usage reports. Hope you can still get your service through us and see the difference!
— Infinite Energy
Great customer service
Customer service was very nice to deal with. I had to delay my start date at the last minute and they took care of it nicely with a return phone call when it was all taken care of. I like them. I hope they keep their rates low so I can keep them. If you get a paper bill and pay by check, or if you get ebilling and pay online there is no service charge. It'll cost you 4.95 if you get a paper bill and pay electronically.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brent Goodwin from Watauga on July 15th, 2012
Hi, Brent, I know it's been a few years since you left this review, but we wanted to come back and let you know that we've made some updates, and there is now never a fee for credit card payments for residential customers! Thanks for the feedback!
— Infinite Energy
No Problems
Had them for a year with no complaints whatsoever!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Elaine from Arlington on January 7th, 2012
Thanks for the feedback, Elaine! Great to have you with us.
— Infinite Energy



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Ordering from Infinite Energy
As I was approaching the end of the contract I had with Star-Tex Power (Constellation), I approached IE because they offered a fixed low price for a lengthy period of time. On or about August 9, 2018, I called to enroll with them and asked for a start date of August 24 so as not to incur any charges from exiting too soon from STP. I was assured that would be done. At 4:00 p.m. that afternoon I received an email from IE thanking me for choosing them and informing me that I was already enrolled. When I contacted IE again, they informed me that their system automatically selects "first available." When I informed them that I was explicitly told that my service with them would not begin until August 24 (which they confirmed from their own record of the conversation), they had to begin a rather convoluted process of switching me back to STP for approximately two weeks and then reestablishing my service with them. In my opinion, this was completely unnecessary and should have been handled in a more conscientious way.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Randall Robinson from Lake Jackson, TX on October 9th, 2018
Bill pay problem
I am in Texas. I mailed my payment to them on the 6th along with 2 other bills from the same mailbox. The other 2 bills posted to my account on the 12th. I got a disconnect notice from infinite energy on the 18th. Customer service explained to me that billing was done in Texas and reported to them. He was not allowed to tell me if it was a contract service but he did tell me that they have had many other complaints. I set up auto pay so we will see how that goes.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dianne from Princeton on September 19th, 2013
Hi, Dianne, I know this is an old review, and I'm not quite sure what's meant about the reporting, but we'll definitely work with customers when there's a mail issue. We do (now) have an online account and mobile app where you can see your invoice, and there are no credit card fees for residential customers, and we offer options for paperless billing and autopay to make this all a little easier.
— Infinite Energy



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

11 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Not satisfied
We didn't renew the contract as their prices were becoming higher and higher and we decided to move to another provider. After a month we received the bill-they charged us for the whole month when we used only 10 days. Called the customer service they say it is because of your plan usage from 0-1000 is charged fully. So let me understand this even if we used 0.005 we would be charged the whole amount. Havent seen this with any other company. It is not about the money but about the fact that big businesses become big by stealing from the nation. Not satisfied at all.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anna from Dallas, TX on June 14th, 2018
Hi, Anna, thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience. That specific plan is per billing cycle, but usually that time frame would be pro-rated. We do have other plans that are structured differently, so we may have a better fit for you. Sorry that didn't work out this time, and we hope to earn your business again in the future.
— Infinite Energy
Infinite Energy is "Not Customer Centric"
When you first set up account, you are charged a $250 deposit. When they send you a bill, you have only 2 weeks to pay it. Sometimes, based on Reliant's billing to Infinite, you can get billed twice in one month. This can make things hard on a family's monthly budget. However, if you are even 1 day late on payment you get a bad mark on your record that is forwarded to the next company you want to move your service to. So, then you are required to pay another deposit with the new company. The kicker is, they are allowed to keep your remaining deposit for "4 to 6 weeks after your final bill is processed"! So the customer only gets 2 weeks but they can keep your money for 6 weeks, "after they process your final bill". NOT CUSTOMER CENTRIC!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pam from Houston, TX on April 19th, 2018
Hi, Pam, we see you also posted on Yelp as well, and we wanted to make sure you saw our response: While our payment period of 16-20 days may seem tight, keep in mind we as the supplier have to pay in advance for the electricity you use, and we only bill you after you've already used it, so that time period is pretty standard for Texas electricity suppliers. We do try to offer ways to make this process a little easier, such as paperless billing, a mobile app and online customer account to help you keep track of your invoice outside of waiting on the paper copy. On the payment side, there's never a fee for credit cards for residential customers, so we've worked to make that convenient as well.

For the deposit, we do wait to make sure an account is completely closed and billed before we issue a final refund, and that can take four to six weeks. That way, you can be sure there won't be any new charges that apply--the deposit is usually just applied to any final charges, so it could get confusing if we sent you a refund and then a bill.

As far as the late payment reporting, that doesn't sound like our process. If there's a particular instance you're concerned about, do you mind sending us your account information and the details so we can look into what happened there?
— Infinite Energy
I feel cheated sometimes.
I had just moved to Irving & was new to setting up energy service. I had opted for the Infinite Energy "3-month Smart Charge" Plan & it tuned out really bad. I had to move out of an apartment but was still to continue with infinite energy. I found out i was charged a "smart base charge" of $65 for just 2 days of service. And even when i changed/ renewed my plan, I was still charged "smart base charge" instead of being pro-rated.

I was with the company for more than 2 years but it was worst at the end. I had to switch, i couldn't take it
The customer service was good when contacted. but plans were not.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Katie from Irving, TX on March 18th, 2018
Hello, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. Were sorry to hear your experience with Infinite Energy wasnt what it should have been, and wed like to look into this further.

We do offer a wide range of rate plans for different usage patterns, so its possible your plan might not have been the best match for your usage, and there may be better options for you. However, with the plan you mention, we would usually pro-rate charges as you said-- Im not sure what happened there, so wed like to go back and review that for you.

Do you mind sending us your account details so we can look into this further?
— Infinite Energy
Mistake Made
My boyfriend and I moved in with each other previously having had Reliant and Veteran Energy. I loved Reliant but was hoping to get a cheaper rate having had more information this time around. Last time I clicked on the first link that popped up. This time, I did research on power to choose. Infinite had cheaper prices than our previous companies and had fairly good reviews with no hidden fees. There were no problems until the bill came. Our bill was twice as high as our previous bills with other companies and we're keeping the blinds closed, the air above 80 consistently, unplugging misc items. After the first bill we decided to cut back our energy (specifically air) and the second bill WAS EVEN HIGHER?! How does that even happen? Our energy usage has consistently gone down per our weekly energy reports but our overall bill was higher, which makes absolutely no sense to me. Have no clue where the Delivery Charge comes from and why it's half the bill. Feel like they just pick a random number and charge it with no explanation. I feel like we're getting ripped off...it would probably be cheaper to pay the dumb early termination fee and switch to another company. We would probably even recoup our fee and save money over time because our bill is way too high. Feeling frustrated and cheated. Definitely won't be going with infinite again.

The only good thing is the weekly reports sent.....but that seems fake now.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hillary from Austin, TX on August 22nd, 2017
Hi, Hillary, I know this is an old review, but we wanted to check in with you and see if we can't get this resolved. While there are some plans designed for higher-usage homes v. lower-usage homes, we'd want to take a look at your account to see just what's going on here. The delivery charges are the same no matter which supplier you have, so if you do have any feedback on how those are presented, we'd be glad to hear it--we don't set those ourselves but just pass them through without markup.

Glad to hear you have been enjoying the weekly usage reports, and we hope to hear from you to see if we can make the service and plan more beneficial for you as well. If you want to send us a message or give us a call, we'd like to take a look with you.
— Infinite Energy
Mistake Made
My boyfriend and I moved in with each other previously having had Reliant and Veteran Energy. I loved Reliant but was hoping to get a cheaper rate having had more information this time around. Last time I clicked on the first link that popped up. This time, I did research on power to choose. Infinite had cheaper prices than our previous companies and had fairly good reviews with no hidden fees. There were no problems until the bill came. Our bill was twice as high as our previous bills with other companies and we're keeping the blinds closed, the air above 80 consistently, unplugging misc items. After the first bill we decided to cut back our energy (specifically air) and the second bill WAS EVEN HIGHER?! How does that even happen? Our energy usage has consistently gone down per our weekly energy reports but our overall bill was higher, which makes absolutely no sense to me. Have no clue where the Delivery Charge comes from and why it's half the bill. Feel like they just pick a random number and charge it with no explanation. I feel like we're getting ripped off...it would probably be cheaper to pay the dumb early termination fee and switch to another company. We would probably even recoup our fee and save money over time because our bill is way too high. Feeling frustrated and cheated. Definitely won't be going with infinite again.

The only good thing is the weekly reports sent.....but that seems fake now.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hillary from Austin, TX on August 22nd, 2017
Hey, Hillary, it looks like you submitted this twice, so just wanted to be sure you saw our response:

Hi, Hillary, I know this is an old review, but we wanted to check in with you and see if we can't get this resolved. While there are some plans designed for higher-usage homes v. lower-usage homes, we'd want to take a look at your account to see just what's going on here. The delivery charges are the same no matter which supplier you have, so if you do have any feedback on how those are presented, we'd be glad to hear it--we don't set those ourselves but just pass them through without markup.

Glad to hear you have been enjoying the weekly usage reports, and we hope to hear from you to see if we can make the service and plan more beneficial for you as well. If you want to send us a message or give us a call, we'd like to take a look with you.
— Infinite Energy
Beware of differing monthly billing cycles and unpredictable bills
My position is that Infinite manipulates the billing cycle (# of days) to maximize their profits since they wont provide me a listing of the billing cycle in advance. Infinite Energy claims they rely on Centerpoint Energy to determine the billing cycle and the corresponding start and end reading on the power meter. BUT, that is ridiculous since they have access to the information on my smart power meter. There is a website called "smart meter Texas" that will provide smart meter readings every 15 minutes and this information is available to Infinite Energy.

I selected a tiered plan with Infinite Energy that provides a $100 credit when consumption exceeds 1000kWh. So, my game plan was to monitor my power meter during the month and "adjust" my energy consumption to ensure I exceeded the 1000kWh threshold to get the $100 monthly credit. At least that was my expectation, but it appears that the monthly billing cycle will vary and the customer service supervisor claims they don't know the billing cycle as that is determined by the "energy provider" which in my case is Centerpoint Energy. Infinite energy claims that Centerpoint "reads" the meter monthly and transmits that info to Infinite and that Centerpoint determines the billing cycle. Well, I confirmed with Centerpoint that I have a smart meter and no one physically comes to my home to "read" a meter.
Well my bill stated that I used 992 kWh but the "Smart meter Texas" website stated in the same time period I exceeded 1000kWh. Those 8 kWh are the difference in my monthly bill being $121 instead of $21 hence you can see there is significant incentive for this company to try and manipulate customers billing cycles and/or withhold basic information such as the exact dates of the billing cycle.

So, I paid my last bill as I received the $100 credit and will plan to submit a complaint to PUCT and also change to another provider if Infinite wont correct my bill to reflect useable > 1000kWh for my last bill.
I will also seek clarification from PUCT regarding energy providers responsibility to provide customers a firm billing cycle schedule.


Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eric Fierson from Houston on April 6th, 2016
HI, Eric, I know this is an older review, but I can confirm the utility does set the billing cycle--they may not physically read the meter, but they bill us for distribution for a set number of days, and our supply charges match that. Meters can be re-read if there's an error, but we do just go off of what CenterPoint says. I'm not sure about the discrepancy in your bill, but the billing cycle may not be the same every time, and unfortunately that's not something we can control. if there's anything here you'd like to look at further, let us know.
— Infinite Energy
Good until you renew
I was a customer for 6 months, then wanted to renew for another 6 months. Sales rep told me it was impossible, that he could only do 3 month contracts, however he would contact me before end of 3 months to discuss a renew. That never happened and my price has nearly doubled. Upon calling them, the billing clerk said something would have been mailed and there was nothing she could do.

Some associate will probably reply saying "I'm sorry you had this experience, blah blah blah", but frankly I'm out $150 extra dollars for showing any customer loyalty to them.

Is that really the type of company you would want to do business with? I know I'll be avoiding them like the plague.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steven from Lewisville on August 26th, 2014
Steven: I apologize about this and I think there was some confusion on our end. We offer all sorts of terms but perhaps the rep was trying to keep you paying the same rate and the only way to do that at the time may have been on a 3 month rate. In addition to the mailed letter, we're starting email notifications moving forward as an added notification. Another thing we've started doing is each month if you login to pay your bill on the mobile app or online, if you're eligible for renewal, a big button displays to call your attention to it. We know not everyone checks their mail or opens every piece of correspondence and hope that these added features help you control your contracts better. Thanks, Mat
— Infinite Energy
Horrible Rates: They just want your money
I have been a customer of Infinite Energy for almost two years. I live with roommates and we split the bills. For the first year or so we didn't have a problem, but then the rates started shooting up to where we are paying an average of $.14/kwh which is ridiculous, so I called about a fixed rate. (Which is an ordeal in itself if you work 8 to 5 because they don't answer phones on nights or weekends.) We locked in a rate at .7/kwh which was wonderful. I was told over the phone that they would give me notice at the end of the contract. I was given no such notice. I found out that the fixed rate had ended by the $350 bill I received. I am moving in a month, and needless to say, Infinite Energy will NOT be coming with me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cheryl from Commerce on May 11th, 2014
Cheryl: I'm sorry that this was your experience with us. We have been working to expand our notifications and go above and beyond the normal mailed notice required and offer additional notifications such as email. If you have a web or online account with us you are able to renew online at any time of day or night that is convenient for you. If you're account is eligible to renew you will see a renew button right after you login. I'd love to hear more ideas and feedback from you as to what would make your experience with us better. If you would like to reach out to us at www.InfiniteEnergy.com/feedback with your contact information we can communicate directly about what we can do to make your experience with us the best it can be. Thanks, Mat
— Infinite Energy
Infinite Energy: My Experience
I had infinite energy for 6 months. I attempted to use their autopay system and was continually behind the payment schedule (at first it was blamed on a delay between when you set it up and when it goes through, later it was blamed on my card itself, which was fine.) They did remove late charges when asked, but when they cut my power off 2 weeks before a payment was due I decided I had had enough. I called them and told them to reconnect the power and then 5 minutes later decided to switch companies. When I called back, they said that the power had already been reconnected and to disconnect now would cost a total of $60. $20 for initial disconnect, $20 for reconnect, and $20 for final disconnect. I could not dispute this and will now be paying them $60 dollars. This company does not provide customer service after 5pm, has an awful autopay system, and will disconnect your power without notifying you (they said there was a notice sent via mail. I have not received it.) Major inconvenience. Great pricing though!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scuba from Houston on February 13th, 2013
Hi, Scuba, I know this is an old review, but I wanted to check in with you. With autopay, the system does only apply it for future bills that generate, not any charges already on the account--we've worked to make this clearer now when you enroll. We also extended our service hours to 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Central. We do attempt to call customers when a bill is past due, and we do send a letter as well, so I'm sorry to hear that was unexpected. Sorry for any confusion, and please check in with us if you still have any questions.
— Infinite Energy
Do Not Trust
Be warned. They have very aggressive bill collection policies. I got a collection notice 30 days after I terminated service. They didn't mail me a final bill or a warning, just a collection notice. There were several other incidents but I don't have time to explain in detail. Just be careful, for an extra $0.005 I will go with someone that doesn't harass me with threatening letters before my payments are even due.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David from Richardson on September 17th, 2012
Hi, David, that doesn't sound like our usual practice. I know this is an older review, but thanks for the feedback, and we'd be glad to look into this if you have your account details.
— Infinite Energy


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

35 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
I would not recommend this. Copied email of issue
I am having a hard time reconciling the information communicated/pitched to me when I purchased my solar panels. I originally was paying a bill of $86 a month before making this purchase. 5 months later I am now averaging a total $130 a month and this is expected to go up 2.9% every year.

I also discovered that the solar panels installed (4.9) have a max capacity of 750kw on average (can someone confirm the max capacity of these as I had to google to get this information?) and they are currently only producing an average of 332 kwh. My average usage at the time (sept and oct) was around 876kw. I was pitched on the idea that my solar panels should have capacity to support my daily usage and will more than likely produce more to the point where I will get money back as the electricity companies will buy the power from me. Making this a win win offer in addition to environmental pros.

I am now discovering that all of this was grossly incorrect and almost impossible at the current rates. Per the contract I was estimated to produce 7500kw in the first year. The solar panels installed are currently missing the mark by 47% and I am paying (literally) for it. It my understanding that if i'm expected to produce less than 10% of the amount estimated that is something that should have been communicated to me.

During the initial pitch, I was communicated the following:
Oncor charges will be gone after the first 3 months of operation (the primary point of the pitch was that my costs would be greatly reduced once the oncor charges were removed).
I will only have 2 bills for the first 3 months of operations and then it will go back to one with my solar panels in operation.
I can cancel at anytime.
Reduction in cost benefits for me and my family.
I can have the panels removed.
If I move, I will not have to pay for the costs of moving the solar panels.

Now it is my understanding that none of this was true.

I spoke on the phone with Luis A (3769) from Sunnova and he was unable to communicate anything of value to me in terms of rectifying this issue. He did state, however, that my bills (which only had a couple months of data at that point and for some reason was understated on my bill), would be utilized and that is how my solar panels would be picked (to cover the amount of usage I typically use). I trusted the competency of the solar experts from both Sunnova and Infinity Energy to make that assessment. As noted above, the current ones installed don't have the capacity to do that (mathematically impossible) negating the whole premise of what was pitched/communicated to me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

1/10 from Dallas, TX on March 31st, 2021
Do not sign up
Summer months so it drives up your bill significantly!

I recalled to renew my contract with them under the impression I was going with a new plan. (5.8c per kwh flat) I had called customer service to ask if it was 5.8 cents per flat and they had a ROUNDABOUT WAY OF ANSWERING. I literally asked Is this 5.8 cents per kwh no matter how much before I got cut off with her answering Yes, so this is going to be the same plan as you currently have just locked in at a cheaper rate for 4 years. Notice how the customer service said yes to my question but then switched to saying it was my same plan! TLDR; They still are charging 20 cents per KWH after 1000.

Talking to their customer service is even worse than dealing with their horrible rates. I literally would have been satisfied with continuing my contract as is if they had helped alleviate my bill for ONE MONTH (out of a 48 month contract) but it was so hard talking to them. Please dont sign up with them!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dont Sign Up With Infinite from Fort Worth, TX on August 24th, 2020
Lies and I'm disappointed ...
They are the best when you are a new customer at their low rate but once you sign a contract (because you want to be loyal) it's over! They will increase your usage and you can't figure out why. You get your crazy high bill; yet, you can't see the invoice detail. You are still baffled and confused, so you start doing dishes by hand, not using your dryer, cutting the wash down and turning off the AC. I never use light but I started leaving the couple lamps off. Turning tv's off and unplugging anything that might be adding this unusual increase in usage.
You call, they always blame the AC and summer yet I am consistent from year to year and month to month. One person with same habits.
One bedroom 900 as ft apt and my bill usage was 1600 kilowatts. The highest it's ever been was one summer when my dog was dying and I was doing her bedding a lot so it was 1400 klw.
When I first moved in and I had to wash all my linens, blankets and clothes it wasn't 1600 klw. it was 1275klw in June in Texas same month as now and it's all the sudden 1600 klw.
I bragged to everyone and I'm in real estate. I will now make sure to tell everyone NO now.
They want me to pay $200ish to terminate and $200ish for the ring doorbell I could easily return as it's still in the box.
I loathe these people for lying. I asked her how much my biggest bill would be at my highest usage at the new rate she said; it shouldn't be more then $125ish my bill is over $165. I'm cancelling services because I don't trust them and I don't want to think about them ripping me off every month. I'll take the hit before I let them rip me off every month with lies about my usage!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Julie from Plano, TX on July 7th, 2020
Do not ever use this company!!!
I did purchase their tricky plan last year and end up paying around $500 per month for my 2 bedroom apartment. Tried to cancel or change the plan and find out it is better to keep the plan since cancellation fee and other things are too high. Customer service is unhelpful, instead of finding the solution, they will try to explain the plan everytime. Worst company. You can not find their google review since google hides it for advertising google product on infiniteenergy.com website. WORST...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marat from Irving, TX on November 12th, 2019
Worst company ever! Do not use them. They still your deposit!!!
Watch out! They steal your money! I terminated my contract with them in July and they were not able to repay my deposit since then. It is now mid November.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kristof Kutasi from Houston, TX on November 11th, 2019
Duplicitous - really poor admin for rate contracts
I was their customer for more than a year and at their solicitation I re-upped for a better rate contract which they never recordsd. They continued to charge me at the maximum rate - since I pay my bills months in advance due to travel - I didnt realize I was paying 30% premium. I called them and they still didnt fix it. So I changed providers. Suddenly they decided I owed a final bill of 260+ dollars. So I paid it just to be done. Now I have another email - saying I owe another final amount claiming I only made a partial payment. However I paid exactly what they said I owed. And now they want more. They will take advantage of any customer in any way they can.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Judith Blanchard from Houston, TX on January 28th, 2019
The worse energy company in texas, this is the rip-off company
The company rips off consumers by tripling their charges without any notice about their charges. I highly recommend NOT to deal with this company or get any services from them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Haitham from Cypress, TX on September 12th, 2018
Multi year customer who got tricked into poor renewal
Plan expired in July 2018. Selected new proffered plan with "9.2 kWh" for a 12 month term...Lo and behold when we got first bill turns out the rate was for "1000 kWh"...After that costs skyrocketed doubling bill (from $360/month to almost $800 for same number of kWh). Not acceptable. We are heading for a showdown somewhere, PUC maybe? We shall see
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mr. Terry Combs Ms. Linda Allen from Tyler, TX on August 16th, 2018
Hi, thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience. While market prices change from year to year and your rate might be more expensive than your last plan, this doesn't sound typical for any of our fixed rate plans. Do you mind contacting us so we can look into it further?
— Infinite Energy
Shady Practices
I was a customer for 5 minutes. No mention of a $250 deposit was made until after I enrolled in one of their plans. They refused to waive the deposit, despite my 750+ credit score with a $70k/yr income. This was for a $48/month electric plan for a small single-person 1,300 sq. home with no mortgage. Absolutely ridiculous. Their customer service reps had no desire to work with me at all, having a "take it or leave it" attitude when I called to either waive the deposit or pay the plan in advance. Thankfully, there is competition out there for utility service, and I did "leave it."
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rob from Crowley, TX on August 16th, 2018
Hi, Rob, sorry to hear your experience with us wasn't better. We do have options for deposit waivers, and in the event the credit check wasn't done properly, we'd want to know that too--if you don't mind, can you give us your information so we can be sure this doesn't happen again? Sorry we weren't able to keep you as a customer, and we hope you'll give us a shot again in the future to earn your business.
— Infinite Energy
Rip-off
I signed up with the company attracted by its low rates, for only 3 months. My contract begun on the 16th of the month and I didn't realize they charged me a full month, as they also charged me the full month, when instead of renewing it at a rate 3 times more expensive; I moved my business with a different energy company. My last bill is also charging me the full month service when I only used the service for half month only. Doing the math, I'm paying one extra month of NOTHING = 4 months payment for 3 months of service. What a bargain!
I would NOT recommend Infinite Energy to anyone ever!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mi from Houston, TX on June 10th, 2018
Hi, Mi, it looks like the plan you selected is tied to a billing cycle. Usually we would pro-rate usage for shorter cycles. Please contact us if that wasn't the case. Thanks for taking the time to let us know about this.
— Infinite Energy


Recommended Electricity Plans