We currently recommend electricity plans from Entrust Energy, Constellation and Texans Energy

infinite energy and paying by mail

(1.8 / 5)

  we paid our bill by mail the day we received it and got late payment notice twice, renewed with infinite one time when they sent us paper work showing a much higher rate by "mistake"

never again
December 17th, 2016

Hi, sorry we're seeing this late but we still wanted to reply in case there's anything still outstanding here. I'm sorry to hear about the late fees--sometimes there are mailing issues, so we do work with customers in situations like that. I'm not sure what rate would have been sent by mistake, but if there's something here we can look into, we'd like to do so.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceptive Company

(1.8 / 5)

  This electric company is highly deceptive with their published rates on PowerToChoose.org. They have published rates (500 kWh, 1,000 kWh, 2,000 kWh) just like every other electric company, but Infinite Energy has hidden "Tiers" that cost more money as your energy consumption increases throughout the month. Do not use Infinite Energy, regardless of their introductory rates.

Scott Mollett from Mesquite
October 13th, 2015

Hey Scott, we're sorry that our tiered rate plans were not what you were looking for. We offer both types of rates so customers can choose a plan that makes sense for them. We have a lot of customers that love the tiered plans because it gives them incentive to conserve and save on their electricity bill. Our rate specialists are always available to go over rate options and explain the differences in the rate plans so we can get you on a plan that suits your individual needs.

Infinite Energy Responds December 14th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad pricing and billing

(1.8 / 5)

  First, let me start with the positive. This company has good customer service. The reps are friendly and tried to help with the situation. As for their billing and pricing it is awful. The bill makes no sense. I set an account up for my mother's house and I get my service from Green Mountain, so I know what to look for on the bills. The issues with the bill are nothing compared to their pricing. They offer a low rate that DOES NOT INCLUDE charges for minimum use and add ons from the utility. So instead of getting a great deal as promised, I am paying more at my mother's house than my own. I complained to the BBB and the PUC against this company, but little happened as a result. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!

Robert from Rockwall
October 19th, 2012

Hi, Robert, I know this is an old review, but I wanted to check in with you. Not all of our plans may have the same structure as Green Mountain's, so I'm not sure what happened here, but if there are still any outstanding questions, send us a message, and we'll gladly take a look.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shady Practices

(1.6 / 5)

  I was a customer for 5 minutes. No mention of a $250 deposit was made until after I enrolled in one of their plans. They refused to waive the deposit, despite my 750+ credit score with a $70k/yr income. This was for a $48/month electric plan for a small single-person 1,300 sq. home with no mortgage. Absolutely ridiculous. Their customer service reps had no desire to work with me at all, having a "take it or leave it" attitude when I called to either waive the deposit or pay the plan in advance. Thankfully, there is competition out there for utility service, and I did "leave it."

Rob from Crowley
August 16th, 2018

Hi, Rob, sorry to hear your experience with us wasn't better. We do have options for deposit waivers, and in the event the credit check wasn't done properly, we'd want to know that too--if you don't mind, can you give us your information so we can be sure this doesn't happen again? Sorry we weren't able to keep you as a customer, and we hope you'll give us a shot again in the future to earn your business.

Infinite Energy Responds August 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This people are form of jokers- Poor Billing everymonth

(1.6 / 5)

  I still haven't fully review my bill. I keep having issues with them each time they have the balance forward. If they make changes to the account, they always still bring the deducted amount forward to the new bill. It is either their customer service unit and their billing department does not communicate with each other. I have a deposit of $250. After i cancel credit due back to me was $201 now it shows $112. I will wait and let them send my final check. But my experience with them on bills has been one call over another every month. Their billing department needs thorough review.

Smith from Dallas
September 29th, 2015

Hey Smith, thanks for taking time to leave us your review. We're sorry about the inconvenience and confusion with the billing. We take all customer feedback very seriously and are in the process of reviewing our bills to make them even easier to understand. Thanks for choosing Infinite Energy.

Infinite Energy Responds December 14th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never go with Infinite energy if you need peace of mind

(1.6 / 5)

  I went with Infinite energy since they had the best pricing and i am paying for it now. Their autopay does not work. Inspite of making the payments the bills do not reflect the payments. They keep adding fine and disconnection fee. Never receive any response from the customer support via email. You will receive diconnection notices inspite of letting them know that payments are made manually(autopay does not work).

Kumar from Houston
December 9th, 2012

Hello, Kumar, I know this is an older review, but I wanted to check in with you. We haven't previously heard that about the automatic payments, and that doesn't sound like our process. If there's anything still unresolved here, let us know so we can take a look. Thanks!

Infinite Energy Responds May 2nd, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They LURE you in with a DECEPTIVELY LOW RATE!

(1.6 / 5)

  I used to have Green Mountain Energy which I liked because they used 100% renewable energy and I try to be eco-friendly when I can while having a reasonable rate . Well, after my lease was up at my old apt. I had to cut down on expenses, sell my TV and moved to a smaller place and was looking for any electric provider that would save me more $$ than Green Mnt. I was lured in by their deceptively great rate of 4.9cents/kWh w/ a monthly service fee of $9.95 if I didn't go over 1000/kWh a month, which I never do b/c I am very conservative w/ energy usage. When I was talking to the advisor over the phone, he didn't explain very well that there was ALSO a separate DELIVERY CHARGE ($6.24) PLUS another 2.62 cents/kWh from Oncor as well. So with these rediculous extra fees, my infinite electric bill is now HIGHER than when I was with GM EVEN though GM's rate was 9.13/cent/kWh and they only had a monthly base charge of $5.95/month AND I was consuming MORE engergy! Oncor delivers through GM too, but they don't have an extra DELIVERY charge. Not only that, Infinite has 0% renewable engergy!
I am so frustrated b/c I am also locked into a 12MONTH contract w/ Infinite!! BIG MISTAKE GOING W/ THEM!

megan from Dallas
June 20th, 2012

Hi, Megan, sorry we're just now seeing this. Your delivery charges should be the same no matter which provider you use, so I'm not sure what the cost difference was here. This is an older review, so I will mention we're always working on ways to improve our processes and communication, and I'm happy to say we do now have renewable energy options. Let us know if there's anything here you'd like us to look into.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Electricity Facts Label is Misleading

(1.4 / 5)

  I signed up for a plan that had the following prices listed: "500kwh - 12.4ckwh (c=cents), 1000kwh - 2.4ckwh, 2000kwh - 7.4ckwh. A Usage Credit of $100.00 shall be applied to your account if you use more than 999 and less than 2,001 kWh during a billing cycle. To be eligible for the Bill Credit, your billing cycle must include 20 or more days of usage." These prices are listed as the average prices based on usage including the "Infinite Energy Energy Charge and Usage Credit, and your TDU Delivery Charges." Every time in the past that I have read an EFL the prices listed were for usage between the two kwh prices. For example, if I used between 500kwh and 1,000kwh I would be charged at the first rate. If I used between 1,000kwh and 2,000kwh I would be charged at the second price and so on. Last month, my family used 1,796 and I was charged an "average" of 6.7ckwh (this average includes the $100 credit on my bill). This month we used 2,364kwh and were charged an "average" of 12.4ckwh (no credit was given). When I called customer service to ask why I wasn't being charged the 7.4ckwh rate, they stated it is because I didn't use EXACTLY 2,000kwh. They stated they take the "average" of the price in electricity at 12.4ckwh minus the $100 credit and that's how they arrive at their "kwh" price. Because I used more than 2,001kwh I didn't qualify for the credit and therfore wasn't charged at the "average" rate. I have never, ever seen a facts label that worked this way. Every time I've signed up for electricity, and I have used several companies and read dozens of facts labels, the price I was charged per kwh hour was always based on usage and matched the price on the EFL. This label was made to make it seem that they charge those low rates but they don't. They always charge 12.4ckwh and try to make it seem that if you use between a certain number of kwh you will get a better rate. This label was made with the intention of misleading the customer. It is nearly impossible for someone to use EXACTLY a certain number of kwh to get a certain price. And, more importantly, it doesn't specify anywhere on the EFL that those prices only apply to that exact number of kwh. DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THIS PROVIDER. THEY WILL MISLEAD YOU. I am going to cancel my service and be filing with the BBB. I am going to try and get them to reimburse my cancellation fee.

E. Alvarez from Corpus Christi
May 5th, 2016

Hello, we apologize for the confusion, and we realize this may be a plan structure not everyone is already familiar with. We do use averages rather than tiers for this one, and it is best for people who fall within that middle usage range. Sorry to hear this wasn't the best fit for you, and we'd be glad to go over your account in detail if you have any lingering questions.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

duplicitous - really poor admin for rate contracts

(1.2 / 5)

  I was their customer for more than a year and at their solicitation I re-upped for a better rate contract which they never recordsd. They continued to charge me at the maximum rate - since I pay my bills months in advance due to travel - I didnt realize I was paying 30% premium. I called them and they still didnt fix it. So I changed providers. Suddenly they decided I owed a final bill of 260+ dollars. So I paid it just to be done. Now I have another email - saying I owe another final amount claiming I only made a partial payment. However I paid exactly what they said I owed. And now they want more. They will take advantage of any customer in any way they can.

Judith Blanchard from Houston
January 28th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The worse energy company in texas, this is the rip-off company

(1 / 5)

  The company rips off consumers by tripling their charges without any notice about their charges. I highly recommend NOT to deal with this company or get any services from them.

Haitham from Cypress
September 12th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Multi year customer who got tricked into poor renewal

(1 / 5)

  Plan expired in July 2018. Selected new proffered plan with "9.2 kWh" for a 12 month term...Lo and behold when we got first bill turns out the rate was for "1000 kWh"...After that costs skyrocketed doubling bill (from $360/month to almost $800 for same number of kWh). Not acceptable. We are heading for a showdown somewhere, PUC maybe? We shall see

Mr. Terry Combs Ms. Linda Allen from Tyler
August 16th, 2018

Hi, thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience. While market prices change from year to year and your rate might be more expensive than your last plan, this doesn't sound typical for any of our fixed rate plans. Do you mind contacting us so we can look into it further?

Infinite Energy Responds August 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip-off

(1 / 5)

  I signed up with the company attracted by its low rates, for only 3 months. My contract begun on the 16th of the month and I didn't realize they charged me a full month, as they also charged me the full month, when instead of renewing it at a rate 3 times more expensive; I moved my business with a different energy company. My last bill is also charging me the full month service when I only used the service for half month only. Doing the math, I'm paying one extra month of NOTHING = 4 months payment for 3 months of service. What a bargain!
I would NOT recommend Infinite Energy to anyone ever!!!

Mi from Houston
June 10th, 2018

Hi, Mi, it looks like the plan you selected is tied to a billing cycle. Usually we would pro-rate usage for shorter cycles. Please contact us if that wasn't the case. Thanks for taking the time to let us know about this.

Infinite Energy Responds August 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceptive Marketing and sales

(1 / 5)

  This company charges a base rate - a monthly set fee. However, they expressly represent that it will be charge monthly - when in reality - after one signs up - they attempt to charge a full monthly fee for an abbreviated period and then - at the end of the contract term - charge another full monthly fee. In other they tell a falsehood about their program.

MIchael from Missouri City
April 23rd, 2018

Hi, Michael, I'm not sure what your rate plan was or what happened here--do you mind sending us your account information so we can take a look?

Infinite Energy Responds April 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Infinite Energy Poor Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  Unclear contract led to dispute about a monthly charge that equated to a full month of power cost. Spoke to customer service for 30 minutes about addressing the issue but to no avail. Seems silly to alienate a customer who is renewing his or her contract in two months but that's how they handled the situation.

Vince from Colleyville
February 7th, 2018

Hello, Vince, we do have a few plans that are designed for pretty consistent usage and carry a flat cost for a certain range of usage rather than being calculated off of your exact usage. Our apologies if that wasn't clear, and it sounds like that structure might not have been the best fit for you. I'm sorry to hear that wasn't resolved to your liking as that's not the experience we want you to have with us. We do hate to lose your business and would like to check into this further.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay Away From Infinite Energy

(1 / 5)

  First of all I had told them not to disconnect me from the company I was using at the time and gave them a date when to disconnect me and move to them. Well they went ahead and did the disconnect the next day. Then I was quoted one price and it turned out to be different. I also asked about delivery charges and I was told that was figured in with the KWP charge----big lie. My electric bills have been the larges they have ever been. Stay away from this company.

Tom Newby from Belton
January 9th, 2018

Hi, Tom, sorry we're getting to this so late. We apologize for the inconvenience with your disconnect date and would like to look into that and see what happened there. I'm not sure why your rate wound up being different, but delivery charges in our averages, so that's something we can look at further as well. Do you mind sending us your account details so we can take a look?

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Was lied to

(1 / 5)

  I was told that my average will be 4.8c per kwh based on 1000 kwh usage,... it was 12c... blatant lied to, ill be asking my energy management company to swap us out of this dreadful, terrible, lying elec provider.

Sarah M from Dallas
July 25th, 2017

Hello, Sarah, we offer a lot of different plans to try to offer options for everyone's usage patterns, so some of our plans are designed for certain usage ranges, and the cost is higher outside of that range. The total average changes based on the usage, but your average shouldn't be anywhere close to 12 cents if your usage was close to that 1,000 kWh range. If you'd like to send us a message, we can take a look at this in further detail.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and switch

(1 / 5)

  Have been using thepowertochoose.org for about six years and this is the first bad experience with a provider that I have had. Infinite energy advertised 11.5 for under 999kw, 1.5 for 1000kw-1999kw,
and 6.5 2000kw. Turns out they use a sliding scale of kw per hour and the end result is 11.5 all the time. If you hit 2000kw its 6.5, 2001 is 11.5, 1000-1999 is a sliding scale that only a lawyer can figure
out. Did not know that they were able to do this by law and never ready reviews before I change. I will always read reviews now before changing and hope someone reads this review before using these con artist.

Sliding scale scam from Euless
August 18th, 2016

Hi, I realize we're seeing this late, but we wanted to check in with you on this one. We work to offer different rate plans to suit different usage types, and we do use the usage reported by your utility in a billing period, so it looks like this might not have fit your usage. If you believe you were in the right usage range, though, we'd like to take a look at the account. Do you mind sending us a message with your account details?

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Infinite own B ad company

(1 / 5)

  I have had service from Gexa and Reliant great service but i change providers to get best rates. Recently changed to veterans. They are realy bad and will do you wrong with billing. Infinite energy owns veteran and has same folks doing customer service. Customer service manager Cameron may call you and she comes across really concerned and apologetic and says she will fix and do right by you. Yeah good luck. She never called back as she promised

Richard from Richard
July 30th, 2016

Hi, Richard, I realize this is an older review, but I'm not sure what went wrong here. If there's anything still outstanding on the account, do you mind letting us know?

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and Switch Contracts!!!

(1 / 5)

  I signed up for 7 cents kWh and they are now charging me almost double that at 13.6 cents. In addition, they say that if I go below 1000 kWh in a billing cycle, they will charge an additional $100 on top of my bill! I did not agree to this nonsense but they say I'm stuck with their completely fraudulent billing terms!

Todd from League City
July 21st, 2016

Hi, Todd, we have a lot of different plans to suit different usage types, but that rate structure doesn't sound familiar. If you'd like to send us a message, we can take a look to see what happened here.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DECEPTIVE MARKETING

(1 / 5)

  They do not follow the Average Price per kwh they quote on the Electricity Fact Labels. I entered a 3 tier price energy plan for 12 months. From month one even with $100 credit the cost per kwh did not average to .024/kwh and when I did go over 2001kwh the average cost quoted was .074kwh. Instead I got billed at their prime rate of .12406/kwh . My bills were the highest ever. DO NOT CONTRACT WITH THIS DECEPTIVE ADVERTISING COMPANY.

This is the first company I deal with that does NOT follow the Fact Sheet that all companies provide to let you know what your average price per kwh will be.
I had to early terminate this company before they robbed me this summer. Im super happy with my new company that does follow the power fact sheet.

ron caceres from Mcallen
July 20th, 2016

Hello, Ron, sorry if this wasn't explained to you clearly, but it looks like the plan you had might not have been a tiered plan but based on averages instead. Sorry to hear that didn't work out for you, and if we have the chance to earn your business again, we'd love to go over some plans that might be a better fit.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Misleading Advertisement on Power To Choose Website

(1 / 5)

  For many years I have always relied on the Power to Choose website to shop for electric providers. I have never had any problems until I signed up with Infinity. This is the only company who misleads customers to believe they are paying 6 cents for usage when really its over 12 cents per kWh (stated in the fine print). Other electric providers are straightforward in their pricing on the website. Basically, the price they advertise is what CenterPoint Energy charges them for distribution, not what you the consumer pays. When I received my first bill, this is when I realized how I was being charged. My bill was not high because I qualified for the $100 credit, but I knew that if I didnt switch soon my bills would be astronomical. I chose to take the $150 cancellation penalty. This company should revaluate how they advertise because they are losing good customers. I my opinion, they are trying to be deceiving on purpose to lure customers in and then overcharge them excessively.

Jody from Baytown
April 15th, 2016

Hi, Jody, I'm not sure what plan you were on, but the rates we show aren't the CenterPoint charges--they should include the total average price. if you still have questions, we'd like to take a look.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Company

(1 / 5)

  I signed up for a low rate. That's just to get you hooked. My first bill was $108. My second bill was $400 dollars. Never had a $400 bill until I signed with infinite energy. They have a lot of hidden fees. I recommend that you have an attorney look over the contract because you will get screwed. I paid the $50 early termination fee to stop the bleeding. This company will fleece you. I paid more in three months with this company than I did in six months with my previous electric provider. Please stay away from this company. I signed on for a rate of $0.6 and ended up being charged $0.122015 called customer service and they replied if you read your contract, it states this and it states rate will change for this. READ the fine print or have an attorney look over it. You will not pay the low rate you signed on for. Your rate will double once you sign the contract.

Samuel from Fort Worth
February 10th, 2016

Hey Samuel, it sounds like you may have signed up for a rate plan that has credits based on usage volumes. We do our best to make sure this is clear during enrollment either online or over the phone but do understand that sometimes things can go missed. If you'd like to email us at social@infiniteenergy.com with your account information, we would like to see if there's anything else we can do for you.

Infinite Energy Responds March 14th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't even consider this company

(1 / 5)

  My 73 year old mother signed up with this company and it has been a nightmare. First they charged a $54.00 connection fee when the service was switched. I change my electric company frequently when the contracts are up based on current rates and this is the first time I've ever seen a company charge a connection fee which they "say" was a passed on fee from the power line provider which I find dubious at best. Next they switched unit #13 instead of unit #15 in error and said that it was my mom's fault for entering #13. I went in the their site in Internet Explorer and entering her address the Auto-complete comes back as #15 with NO entry for #13 so #13 has NEVER been entered into that field on their website. Along with that they billed my mother for her electrical usage and also for unit #13 electrical usage. REALLY? Even if the incorrect unit number was entered I can't fathom in this universe or any other alternate reality that they might be living in where she would be responsible for some other persons electrical usage EVER. Don't even consider this company as they are living in some kind of fantasy world where they can do anything they want and charge you as they please no matter the reality of the situation.

Keith McDonald from Lewisville
November 3rd, 2015

Hey Keith, thanks for taking time to leave a review. We're sorry that your mother has had this experience. It sounds like when services were switched, the request may have been put in for a move in that got tagged with a priority move-in fee. We're also reviewing the online enrollment process as a whole to see how we can improve experience for customers enrolling online to help prevent wrong addresses from getting entered into the system. If your issues are still unresolved, could you please send us a Facebook message with account details or reach out to us directly at Care@InfiniteEnergy.com and mention Mat H. and this website in your email and we can take a further look into the connection charge issue. Sorry again for the hassle you've had with switching to Infinite Energy but we would like the opportunity to make this right for you and your mother.

Infinite Energy Responds December 14th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Consumer Beware!

(1 / 5)

  The HIGHEST bills I've had in 18 years have been from Infinite Energy! When you quit them, they will file an adverse report on your credit. Stay away from them would be my recommendation.

Boyd Stewart from Carrollton
April 10th, 2015

Hey Boyd, thanks for taking time to leave your experience on here as well. I know this reply is coming late and I know we've addressed this prior. The credit report is only adverse if an account is well past due and over a certain threshold. Typical reporting are just open balances like a credit card. If you have any other questions, please let us know. Thanks for choosing Infinite Energy.

Infinite Energy Responds December 14th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions