Home > Read Reviews > Infinite Energy > 1531582805618659970

Great rate until your contract ends-beware!

(4.2 / 5)

  All the reviews are right until your contract is up. Then the fees and rates cause your normal bill to go to 3-4 times the amount. They dont offer decent or low rates for existing customers. The power to chose website is useful and there are other viable options out there.

Janet Kingsley from 77081
July 14th, 2018

Hi, Janet, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Unfortunately electricity markets vary a lot, and prices are different from year to year, so sometimes we have to offer plans higher than what you last had, though sometimes we get to offer lower as well. All of our prices are the same for both new and existing customers, though.

From your message, it sounds as though your account may have rolled onto a variable rate when your contract ended. We often have more competitive options available for you to choose, however. Thanks for your review, and give us a call if you'd like to learn about more pricing options.

Infinite Energy Responds August 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions


Infinite Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Infinite Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 2.9 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.6 of 5.

Infinite Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 3.8 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

Infinite Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price House Size
(usage)
36-month Partner Saver
36 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info
36 mo Nest Hello
36 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info
36 mo Nest Rate
36 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info
36-Month Partner Simple
36 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info
24-Month Partner Simple
24 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info
24 mo Nest Hello
24 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info
24-month Partner Saver
24 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info
24 mo Nest Rate
24 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info
3-month Partner Saver
3 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info
18-month Partner Saver
18 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info
60 mo Saver
60 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info
48 mo Saver
48 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info
9-month Partner Saver
9 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info
12-month Partner Saver
12 months

/ kWh
@ 1,000 kWh / month
analyze rate
EFL - more info


62 Reviews for Infinite Energy


Great company

(5 / 5)

  We only needed a very short contract at a good rate. Infinite Energy had just what we needed!

Mangomom from Arlington
October 15th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fantastic

(5 / 5)

  Great customer service and communication, good pricing, never had a payment/billing problem in 2 years as a customer.

Mark S from Houston
May 24th, 2016

Hey Mark, glad to hear your experience with us has been great, if you ever have any questions we're available via social media or through our traditional methods. Thanks for choosing Infinite Energy and lettings us Do More for You.

Infinite Energy Responds September 12th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service

(5 / 5)

  Best and most pleasant customer service reps I've dealt with in many, many years. Infinite has certainly CHOSEN the right people for the job....this is a company that apparently KNOWS great customer service CANNOT be "trained"-you either have it or you don't! Their reps are patient, courteous and FRIENDLY every time I've contacted them. Gold stars to the phone reps AND to the hiring manager! I refer this company to everyone I know. P. S.-great rates too!

Deborah Harlan from Sherman
March 7th, 2016

Hey Deborah, we're very happy to hear that you've had great experiences when you call into us. We'll make sure to pass along the kudos to the proper folks. Thanks for choosing Infinite Energy!

Infinite Energy Responds March 14th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Infinite Energy

(5 / 5)

  This is the best company I have ever used. I have had them for over a year and have never had a problem. Their price is by far better that any other company that I have ever had. I do not understand the negative comments.

Terrye Mitchell from Chireno
January 6th, 2016

Hey Terrye! Thanks for the kind words regarding your experience with us. We're happy to hear you've enjoyed our low rates.

Infinite Energy Responds March 14th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

FANTASTIC!!!

(5 / 5)

  I just wanted to check in again. I wrote a review way back in August 2014 when I first switched and received my first bill. It is now April 2015, I am nearing the end of my 12 month contract with Infinite Energy. I received an email today (3 months prior to my expiration) offering to renew. I also just received the LOWEST electric bill I have ever had, $99 for this month. Actually, I had a lower bill once, in 1999 when I lived in a 1 bedroom apartment. The difference is now I live in a 4/3 house. My electric bill was actually lower than my water bill (first time that has ever happened).

As for the rates, there are truly no hidden costs. My bill is exactly what my rate is supposed to be. Plus Infinite emails a weekly electricity report. So each week I open my email, it tells me (for example, "you used 450 kwh this week". I simply plug in that number, times my rate and have a very good idea what my electricity cost for the prior week, and of course have a good idea what it will be for the month.

The android app is very simple to use. I pay all of my bills using it and so far (now 9 months in) have never had a single problem.

Their customer service is pretty good, especially if you go to their facebook page. (At least that was my preferred medium). After a few months of being a customer, they even sent me a thank you card and a t-shirt.

I have literally nearly cut my electricity bills in half switching from TXU to Infinite. Actually the true percentage is about 44%, but it makes a huge difference, as an electric bill is one of the most fluid monthly bills for any household. I estimate that I have saved about $1300 in the 9 months that I switched from TXU to Infinite Energy.

The Texas heat is coming, if you have TXU or Reliant, or are paying more than the Infinite Energy prices on powertochoose.com, you need to switch.

And one more thing, beware of some of those companies on powertochoose.com that just popup. Infinite Energy has an excellent rating (5 smiling outlets) and very few complaints (you can check rating and complaint history on power to choose).

In the context of utilities and household bills, cell phones, auto insurance, etc--switching to Infinite Energy was the best decision I've ever made. It pays off every time I get another dirt cheap bill. $99 for electric this month. Unbelievable. :)

Jason from Decatur
April 13th, 2015

Hey Jason, thanks for taking time to leave a detailed review of our services. We're glad that you feel switching to us was your best decision you've ever made. The weekly energy reports are certainly a customer favorite and we have plans on implementing that in more places in the future so you have even more access to that information. Thanks again for choosing Infinite Energy!

Infinite Energy Responds December 14th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very pleased

(5 / 5)

  I found Infinite Energy at powertochoose.org and switched 6 mos. ago. I chose them because 1) they weren't the lowest price, but they were close, 2) they offered an all-inclusive pricing, that is, NO GIMMICKS, and 3) when I called customer service to confirm the pricing with no gimmicks, the service rep answered the phone immediately and did not lie to me. Furthermore, their billing is easy to read and their website is easy to navigate.
Since Texas decided to deregulate retail electricity, it is a shop of horrors out there. I have had 7 different providers since deregulation. 5 outright lied and deceived me. 2 were good but went under and were bought out by liars. My advice to anyone looking for an electric company is to do your homework, pay attention to your bills, and watch out for the deception. So far, Infinite Energy is one of the good ones.

ed senter from Dallas
March 2nd, 2015

Hey Ed! Glad that we were able to earn your business and it's nice to hear that we don't have to be the lowest, just fair priced to gain your business. I'm glad you found our systems easy to use and that our customer care was able to assist quickly with your questions. We hope that we are able to keep your business for many years. Thanks for choosing Infinite Energy!

Infinite Energy Responds December 14th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great company but odd that they appear on my credit report

(5 / 5)

  I have had no problems with Infinite Energy and the rates are great! I am a little confused as to why they are showing up as a revolving account on my credit report. I thought maybe it was a mistake the first month, but 5 months later and it is still showing...

Blake Homan from Fort Worth
February 9th, 2015

Hey Blake! Glad to hear you're pleased with the service and rates. We currently report all balances owed like an open credit card account. Don't worry though, these do not mean past due balances and shouldn't be negatively impacting your credit. Thanks for choosing Infinite Energy!

Infinite Energy Responds December 14th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pleased

(5 / 5)

  After being with Champion Electric for 5 years I was a bit hesitant to change providers.
However, after being with Infinite Energy for the past 6 months I couldn't be more pleased.
The ordering / change over was flawless and the rep's that I spoke with were very knowledgeable
and helpful. I would recommend Infinite Energy to anyone that wants to do business with a reliable
and price competitive energy provider.

James Davis from Hideaway
November 4th, 2014

James - Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologize in the long delay in responding. I'm very pleased to hear that your experience when signing up was very simple and easy and I hope that the past year has been as good as the first 6 months with us. If there's ever anything we can do, you can always reach us by phone, email or social media. Thanks for choosing Infinite Energy!

Infinite Energy Responds December 14th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

***Excellent*** Don't be afraid to switch

(5 / 5)

  I had Reliant Energy for over 5 years. They used to be the price to beat.. Not anymore... Asked Reliant if they had a plan that was less expensive than the 12.5 cents they bumped me up to ? The response was "NO". The low rates Reliant offers is for new customers, not the existing ones. So I switched to Infinite Energy. They have great prices and I have had ZERO problems switching. The only difference is the money I'm saving.

Rodney from Midlothian
September 17th, 2014

Rodney - We're glad to hear your experience has been as expected and that you're able to save money as well! If there's anything else we can do for you, let us know.

Infinite Energy Responds September 29th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So Far, So Good

(5 / 5)

  I've had TXU for years and while I knew of a few other providers I was leery of switching. Not because I was loyal to TXU (no, in fact I had no contract with them so I was being charged over .15/kwh) but because I was concerned about these smaller companies and was concerned I'd have a horrific experience. I also didn't realize all the domino effect from deregulation because for years TXU had a monopoly in my area. I was turned on to powertochoose.com and researched several companies. Read reviews and more reviews. Of course any utility company is going to have complaints, but what I liked about Infinite Energy was not only their very good rates (they were the 2nd cheapest) but also that some people said they were an honest company, and that someone from Infinite Energy not only responded to comments here, but they respond to their facebook page. I looked up the BBB complaints against Infinite and how they were resolved. I was still nervous but figured if I was going to switch I would give Infinite Energy a try.

I switched on Aug 1st and I've got to say so far so good. My service was only interrupted momentarily (for about 10 seconds) when I lost power apparently as I switched from TXU to Infinite (I'm assuming this was for meter reading purposes) and since then everything has been great. I received my first bill this week (I assume I got a bill so soon since I was in the middle of my billing period with TXU). And despite the fact that I signed up for a 2000kwh rate plan (typically if you use around 500 the rates are higher if you look at the plans) since I only had a partial bill I only used 572kwh. I expected to be charged a higher rate, but no, I was charged 8.2 cents.

So I went online to pay my bill (a lot of complaints online about bill pay), and it was very easy to sign up and pay the first bill, which I did tonight.

So far so good. If this keeps up for a month or two I am going to be promoting Infinite Energy big time. At this point I would definitely recommend this company.

Jason B. from Decatur
August 15th, 2014

Hey Jason! Glad to hear your experience has been as expected. Let us know what we can do to make it even better!

Infinite Energy Responds September 3rd, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent Company

(5 / 5)

  We have always done a 6 or 12-month fixed rate with Infinite. They have always been competitive, no hidden fees, and extremely easy to contact. We found their Facebook Site (https://www.facebook.com/InfiniteEnergy) and have used this to message them a couple of time with rapid response to us.
We have ALWAYS gotten a renewal notice two months in advance, and have found it really easy to contact them by phone or internet and to use their website for information and account management.
Our bills have been low low low and we are thinking about doing a 36 month fixed rate with them now.
We are really glad we found these folks!

John Gooden from Colleyville
June 5th, 2014

John: Thanks so much for the kind words and glad we've been able to provide the type of service you expect from an electricity provider. If you have any questions regarding our longer term rate plans, we're available via phone (877) 674-3489 Monday - Friday, 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. CST or as you stated through our Facebook page.

Infinite Energy Responds July 7th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

great rate

(5 / 5)

  have had no issues with them

kbehar from Killeen
November 19th, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share a review!

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

excellent provider

(4.8 / 5)

  I have had infinite for over a year and never had a problem with higher bills. They charge what they say that is in the contract, so the person from carrolton, tx who had a problem with high bills, you probably did not renew your contract. Month to month is going to be higher.

Keven Gigout from Highlands
April 23rd, 2015

Hey Keven, thanks for taking time to leave a review. Sorry in the delay in responding! We do our best to send notices through mail and email regarding expiring rates to help prevent those rollover variable rates from ever taking effect. Thanks for choosing Infinite Energy!

Infinite Energy Responds December 14th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great customer service

(4.8 / 5)

  Customer service was very nice to deal with. I had to delay my start date at the last minute and they took care of it nicely with a return phone call when it was all taken care of. I like them. I hope they keep their rates low so I can keep them. If you get a paper bill and pay by check, or if you get ebilling and pay online there is no service charge. It'll cost you 4.95 if you get a paper bill and pay electronically.

Brent Goodwin from Watauga
July 15th, 2012

Hi, Brent, I know it's been a few years since you left this review, but we wanted to come back and let you know that we've made some updates, and there is now never a fee for credit card payments for residential customers! Thanks for the feedback!

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

so far so good

(4.6 / 5)

  This company seems, at least, to be honest, unlike most

Donald Cline from Mckinney
March 1st, 2013

Hi, Donald, thanks for taking the time to share your review--glad to have you with us!

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So far, So good. But will it last.

(4.6 / 5)

  Signed up with Infinite on a whim due to the increadibly low teaser rate. My contract expires at the end of this month so it is time to start the hunt for a new contract. I have found other providers out there with a lower rate than Infinite is now offering. Unless they are willing to match one of the other rates, I'll be changing providers. Not for the service I've recieived but just simply a decision made from my pocket book. Less money in the paycheck these days means I've got cut expenses somewhere. So here we go. I'll gladly stay with them if they give me a good rate. Keep your fingers crossed.

Anette Coppedge from Euless
January 15th, 2013

Hi, Anette, I know this is older, but thanks for sharing and letting us know what's most important to you in a rate plan. I wanted to let you know that since you wrote this, we've expanded our plan offerings to try to represent as many usage patterns as possible, and that often leads to even better pricing. We know how important budgeting can be, and we're always working on new products that help you save.

Infinite Energy Responds May 2nd, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Service Good price need better billing online

(4.6 / 5)

  Have had them since April, started with a 90 day bait and switch. I liked them so much I took a year contract plan. I wish they would post my bill online in my account. You have to wait for the printed bill to see what your kwh useage is for the month.

James L. from Abilene
September 17th, 2012

Hi, James, I know this is an old review, so I just wanted to come back and say that not only do we now have an online customer app where you can see your account and usage, BUT we also have that feature through a mobile app AND we now send weekly emailed usage reports. Hope you can still get your service through us and see the difference!

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Problems

(4.6 / 5)

  Had them for a year with no complaints whatsoever!

Elaine from Arlington
January 7th, 2012

Thanks for the feedback, Elaine! Great to have you with us.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

12 Month Plan 7.8 cents, not bad

(4.4 / 5)

  No problems, auto pay with credit card. They sent me a letter one month before cotract expiration explaining what to do next.

Tod Six from Farmers Branch
January 21st, 2013

Hi, Tod, thanks for the kind words and for taking the time to share your thoughts!

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great rate until your contract ends-beware!

(4.2 / 5)

  All the reviews are right until your contract is up. Then the fees and rates cause your normal bill to go to 3-4 times the amount. They dont offer decent or low rates for existing customers. The power to chose website is useful and there are other viable options out there.

Janet Kingsley from Houston
July 14th, 2018

Hi, Janet, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Unfortunately electricity markets vary a lot, and prices are different from year to year, so sometimes we have to offer plans higher than what you last had, though sometimes we get to offer lower as well. All of our prices are the same for both new and existing customers, though.

From your message, it sounds as though your account may have rolled onto a variable rate when your contract ended. We often have more competitive options available for you to choose, however. Thanks for your review, and give us a call if you'd like to learn about more pricing options.

Infinite Energy Responds August 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Updated: 12-05-2018
Example Bill
loading...