Great customer service, no gimmicks!

(5 / 5)

  Read the info sheets carefully but the reps on the phone usually guide me to the plan I preselected or have insights to improve my bill. I've had 3 different plans with them and it's been great!

Alex J from 77008
September 18th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Infinite Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Infinite Energy are their customer service, rated at 3.3 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 3.1 of 5.

Infinite Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 4.2 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

68 Reviews for Infinite Energy


So far, So good. But will it last.

(4.6 / 5)

  Signed up with Infinite on a whim due to the increadibly low teaser rate. My contract expires at the end of this month so it is time to start the hunt for a new contract. I have found other providers out there with a lower rate than Infinite is now offering. Unless they are willing to match one of the other rates, I'll be changing providers. Not for the service I've recieived but just simply a decision made from my pocket book. Less money in the paycheck these days means I've got cut expenses somewhere. So here we go. I'll gladly stay with them if they give me a good rate. Keep your fingers crossed.

Anette Coppedge from Euless
January 15th, 2013

Hi, Anette, I know this is older, but thanks for sharing and letting us know what's most important to you in a rate plan. I wanted to let you know that since you wrote this, we've expanded our plan offerings to try to represent as many usage patterns as possible, and that often leads to even better pricing. We know how important budgeting can be, and we're always working on new products that help you save.

Infinite Energy Responds May 2nd, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Service Good price need better billing online

(4.6 / 5)

  Have had them since April, started with a 90 day bait and switch. I liked them so much I took a year contract plan. I wish they would post my bill online in my account. You have to wait for the printed bill to see what your kwh useage is for the month.

James L. from Abilene
September 17th, 2012

Hi, James, I know this is an old review, so I just wanted to come back and say that not only do we now have an online customer app where you can see your account and usage, BUT we also have that feature through a mobile app AND we now send weekly emailed usage reports. Hope you can still get your service through us and see the difference!

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Problems

(4.6 / 5)

  Had them for a year with no complaints whatsoever!

Elaine from Arlington
January 7th, 2012

Thanks for the feedback, Elaine! Great to have you with us.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

12 Month Plan 7.8 cents, not bad

(4.4 / 5)

  No problems, auto pay with credit card. They sent me a letter one month before cotract expiration explaining what to do next.

Tod Six from Farmers Branch
January 21st, 2013

Hi, Tod, thanks for the kind words and for taking the time to share your thoughts!

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great rate until your contract ends-beware!

(4.2 / 5)

  All the reviews are right until your contract is up. Then the fees and rates cause your normal bill to go to 3-4 times the amount. They dont offer decent or low rates for existing customers. The power to chose website is useful and there are other viable options out there.

Janet Kingsley from Houston
July 14th, 2018

Hi, Janet, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Unfortunately electricity markets vary a lot, and prices are different from year to year, so sometimes we have to offer plans higher than what you last had, though sometimes we get to offer lower as well. All of our prices are the same for both new and existing customers, though.

From your message, it sounds as though your account may have rolled onto a variable rate when your contract ended. We often have more competitive options available for you to choose, however. Thanks for your review, and give us a call if you'd like to learn about more pricing options.

Infinite Energy Responds August 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bill pay problem

(3.6 / 5)

  I am in Texas. I mailed my payment to them on the 6th along with 2 other bills from the same mailbox. The other 2 bills posted to my account on the 12th. I got a disconnect notice from infinite energy on the 18th. Customer service explained to me that billing was done in Texas and reported to them. He was not allowed to tell me if it was a contract service but he did tell me that they have had many other complaints. I set up auto pay so we will see how that goes.

Dianne from Princeton
September 19th, 2013

Hi, Dianne, I know this is an old review, and I'm not quite sure what's meant about the reporting, but we'll definitely work with customers when there's a mail issue. We do (now) have an online account and mobile app where you can see your invoice, and there are no credit card fees for residential customers, and we offer options for paperless billing and autopay to make this all a little easier.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ordering from Infinite Energy

(3.2 / 5)

  As I was approaching the end of the contract I had with Star-Tex Power (Constellation), I approached IE because they offered a fixed low price for a lengthy period of time. On or about August 9, 2018, I called to enroll with them and asked for a start date of August 24 so as not to incur any charges from exiting too soon from STP. I was assured that would be done. At 4:00 p.m. that afternoon I received an email from IE thanking me for choosing them and informing me that I was already enrolled. When I contacted IE again, they informed me that their system automatically selects "first available." When I informed them that I was explicitly told that my service with them would not begin until August 24 (which they confirmed from their own record of the conversation), they had to begin a rather convoluted process of switching me back to STP for approximately two weeks and then reestablishing my service with them. In my opinion, this was completely unnecessary and should have been handled in a more conscientious way.

Randall Robinson from Lake Jackson
October 9th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good rates but billing info is lacking

(2.9 / 5)

  I switched from TXU to Infinite on their 6 month plan. Rate was lower than anyone else at the time. Sign up was easy and friendly. Have had no customer service issues. My only complaint is with their billing which is very vague. They do not show kwh usage each month so you can't track your usage. Also, I was told that I would receive a notice 45 days prior to contract expiration. I never received that notice so I am facing going from a 7.0 rate to a default rate of 11.78 rate.

Mike Doyle from North
August 18th, 2011

Hi, Mike I know this is really old, but we hope we were able to get this all squared away. Let us know if that's not the case.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Infinite Energy is "Not Customer Centric"

(2.8 / 5)

  When you first set up account, you are charged a $250 deposit. When they send you a bill, you have only 2 weeks to pay it. Sometimes, based on Reliant's billing to Infinite, you can get billed twice in one month. This can make things hard on a family's monthly budget. However, if you are even 1 day late on payment you get a bad mark on your record that is forwarded to the next company you want to move your service to. So, then you are required to pay another deposit with the new company. The kicker is, they are allowed to keep your remaining deposit for "4 to 6 weeks after your final bill is processed"! So the customer only gets 2 weeks but they can keep your money for 6 weeks, "after they process your final bill". NOT CUSTOMER CENTRIC!

Pam from Houston
April 19th, 2018

Hi, Pam, we see you also posted on Yelp as well, and we wanted to make sure you saw our response: While our payment period of 16-20 days may seem tight, keep in mind we as the supplier have to pay in advance for the electricity you use, and we only bill you after you've already used it, so that time period is pretty standard for Texas electricity suppliers. We do try to offer ways to make this process a little easier, such as paperless billing, a mobile app and online customer account to help you keep track of your invoice outside of waiting on the paper copy. On the payment side, there's never a fee for credit cards for residential customers, so we've worked to make that convenient as well.

For the deposit, we do wait to make sure an account is completely closed and billed before we issue a final refund, and that can take four to six weeks. That way, you can be sure there won't be any new charges that apply--the deposit is usually just applied to any final charges, so it could get confusing if we sent you a refund and then a bill.

As far as the late payment reporting, that doesn't sound like our process. If there's a particular instance you're concerned about, do you mind sending us your account information and the details so we can look into what happened there?

Infinite Energy Responds April 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do Not Trust

(2.4 / 5)

  Be warned. They have very aggressive bill collection policies. I got a collection notice 30 days after I terminated service. They didn't mail me a final bill or a warning, just a collection notice. There were several other incidents but I don't have time to explain in detail. Just be careful, for an extra $0.005 I will go with someone that doesn't harass me with threatening letters before my payments are even due.

David from Richardson
September 17th, 2012

Hi, David, that doesn't sound like our usual practice. I know this is an older review, but thanks for the feedback, and we'd be glad to look into this if you have your account details.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Mistake Made

(2.2 / 5)

  My boyfriend and I moved in with each other previously having had Reliant and Veteran Energy. I loved Reliant but was hoping to get a cheaper rate having had more information this time around. Last time I clicked on the first link that popped up. This time, I did research on power to choose. Infinite had cheaper prices than our previous companies and had fairly good reviews with no hidden fees. There were no problems until the bill came. Our bill was twice as high as our previous bills with other companies and we're keeping the blinds closed, the air above 80 consistently, unplugging misc items. After the first bill we decided to cut back our energy (specifically air) and the second bill WAS EVEN HIGHER?! How does that even happen? Our energy usage has consistently gone down per our weekly energy reports but our overall bill was higher, which makes absolutely no sense to me. Have no clue where the Delivery Charge comes from and why it's half the bill. Feel like they just pick a random number and charge it with no explanation. I feel like we're getting ripped off...it would probably be cheaper to pay the dumb early termination fee and switch to another company. We would probably even recoup our fee and save money over time because our bill is way too high. Feeling frustrated and cheated. Definitely won't be going with infinite again.

The only good thing is the weekly reports sent.....but that seems fake now.

Hillary from Austin
August 22nd, 2017

Hi, Hillary, I know this is an old review, but we wanted to check in with you and see if we can't get this resolved. While there are some plans designed for higher-usage homes v. lower-usage homes, we'd want to take a look at your account to see just what's going on here. The delivery charges are the same no matter which supplier you have, so if you do have any feedback on how those are presented, we'd be glad to hear it--we don't set those ourselves but just pass them through without markup.

Glad to hear you have been enjoying the weekly usage reports, and we hope to hear from you to see if we can make the service and plan more beneficial for you as well. If you want to send us a message or give us a call, we'd like to take a look with you.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Mistake Made

(2.2 / 5)

  My boyfriend and I moved in with each other previously having had Reliant and Veteran Energy. I loved Reliant but was hoping to get a cheaper rate having had more information this time around. Last time I clicked on the first link that popped up. This time, I did research on power to choose. Infinite had cheaper prices than our previous companies and had fairly good reviews with no hidden fees. There were no problems until the bill came. Our bill was twice as high as our previous bills with other companies and we're keeping the blinds closed, the air above 80 consistently, unplugging misc items. After the first bill we decided to cut back our energy (specifically air) and the second bill WAS EVEN HIGHER?! How does that even happen? Our energy usage has consistently gone down per our weekly energy reports but our overall bill was higher, which makes absolutely no sense to me. Have no clue where the Delivery Charge comes from and why it's half the bill. Feel like they just pick a random number and charge it with no explanation. I feel like we're getting ripped off...it would probably be cheaper to pay the dumb early termination fee and switch to another company. We would probably even recoup our fee and save money over time because our bill is way too high. Feeling frustrated and cheated. Definitely won't be going with infinite again.

The only good thing is the weekly reports sent.....but that seems fake now.

Hillary from Austin
August 22nd, 2017

Hey, Hillary, it looks like you submitted this twice, so just wanted to be sure you saw our response:

Hi, Hillary, I know this is an old review, but we wanted to check in with you and see if we can't get this resolved. While there are some plans designed for higher-usage homes v. lower-usage homes, we'd want to take a look at your account to see just what's going on here. The delivery charges are the same no matter which supplier you have, so if you do have any feedback on how those are presented, we'd be glad to hear it--we don't set those ourselves but just pass them through without markup.

Glad to hear you have been enjoying the weekly usage reports, and we hope to hear from you to see if we can make the service and plan more beneficial for you as well. If you want to send us a message or give us a call, we'd like to take a look with you.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware of differing monthly billing cycles and unpredictable bills

(2.2 / 5)

  My position is that Infinite manipulates the billing cycle (# of days) to maximize their profits since they wont provide me a listing of the billing cycle in advance. Infinite Energy claims they rely on Centerpoint Energy to determine the billing cycle and the corresponding start and end reading on the power meter. BUT, that is ridiculous since they have access to the information on my smart power meter. There is a website called "smart meter Texas" that will provide smart meter readings every 15 minutes and this information is available to Infinite Energy.

I selected a tiered plan with Infinite Energy that provides a $100 credit when consumption exceeds 1000kWh. So, my game plan was to monitor my power meter during the month and "adjust" my energy consumption to ensure I exceeded the 1000kWh threshold to get the $100 monthly credit. At least that was my expectation, but it appears that the monthly billing cycle will vary and the customer service supervisor claims they don't know the billing cycle as that is determined by the "energy provider" which in my case is Centerpoint Energy. Infinite energy claims that Centerpoint "reads" the meter monthly and transmits that info to Infinite and that Centerpoint determines the billing cycle. Well, I confirmed with Centerpoint that I have a smart meter and no one physically comes to my home to "read" a meter.
Well my bill stated that I used 992 kWh but the "Smart meter Texas" website stated in the same time period I exceeded 1000kWh. Those 8 kWh are the difference in my monthly bill being $121 instead of $21 hence you can see there is significant incentive for this company to try and manipulate customers billing cycles and/or withhold basic information such as the exact dates of the billing cycle.

So, I paid my last bill as I received the $100 credit and will plan to submit a complaint to PUCT and also change to another provider if Infinite wont correct my bill to reflect useable > 1000kWh for my last bill.
I will also seek clarification from PUCT regarding energy providers responsibility to provide customers a firm billing cycle schedule.


Eric Fierson from Houston
April 6th, 2016

HI, Eric, I know this is an older review, but I can confirm the utility does set the billing cycle--they may not physically read the meter, but they bill us for distribution for a set number of days, and our supply charges match that. Meters can be re-read if there's an error, but we do just go off of what CenterPoint says. I'm not sure about the discrepancy in your bill, but the billing cycle may not be the same every time, and unfortunately that's not something we can control. if there's anything here you'd like to look at further, let us know.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good until you renew

(2.2 / 5)

  I was a customer for 6 months, then wanted to renew for another 6 months. Sales rep told me it was impossible, that he could only do 3 month contracts, however he would contact me before end of 3 months to discuss a renew. That never happened and my price has nearly doubled. Upon calling them, the billing clerk said something would have been mailed and there was nothing she could do.

Some associate will probably reply saying "I'm sorry you had this experience, blah blah blah", but frankly I'm out $150 extra dollars for showing any customer loyalty to them.

Is that really the type of company you would want to do business with? I know I'll be avoiding them like the plague.

Steven from Lewisville
August 26th, 2014

Steven: I apologize about this and I think there was some confusion on our end. We offer all sorts of terms but perhaps the rep was trying to keep you paying the same rate and the only way to do that at the time may have been on a 3 month rate. In addition to the mailed letter, we're starting email notifications moving forward as an added notification. Another thing we've started doing is each month if you login to pay your bill on the mobile app or online, if you're eligible for renewal, a big button displays to call your attention to it. We know not everyone checks their mail or opens every piece of correspondence and hope that these added features help you control your contracts better. Thanks, Mat

Infinite Energy Responds September 29th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Infinite Energy: My Experience

(2.2 / 5)

  I had infinite energy for 6 months. I attempted to use their autopay system and was continually behind the payment schedule (at first it was blamed on a delay between when you set it up and when it goes through, later it was blamed on my card itself, which was fine.) They did remove late charges when asked, but when they cut my power off 2 weeks before a payment was due I decided I had had enough. I called them and told them to reconnect the power and then 5 minutes later decided to switch companies. When I called back, they said that the power had already been reconnected and to disconnect now would cost a total of $60. $20 for initial disconnect, $20 for reconnect, and $20 for final disconnect. I could not dispute this and will now be paying them $60 dollars. This company does not provide customer service after 5pm, has an awful autopay system, and will disconnect your power without notifying you (they said there was a notice sent via mail. I have not received it.) Major inconvenience. Great pricing though!

Scuba from Houston
February 13th, 2013

Hi, Scuba, I know this is an old review, but I wanted to check in with you. With autopay, the system does only apply it for future bills that generate, not any charges already on the account--we've worked to make this clearer now when you enroll. We also extended our service hours to 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Central. We do attempt to call customers when a bill is past due, and we do send a letter as well, so I'm sorry to hear that was unexpected. Sorry for any confusion, and please check in with us if you still have any questions.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not satisfied

(2 / 5)

  We didn't renew the contract as their prices were becoming higher and higher and we decided to move to another provider. After a month we received the bill-they charged us for the whole month when we used only 10 days. Called the customer service they say it is because of your plan usage from 0-1000 is charged fully. So let me understand this even if we used 0.005 we would be charged the whole amount. Havent seen this with any other company. It is not about the money but about the fact that big businesses become big by stealing from the nation. Not satisfied at all.

Anna from Dallas
June 14th, 2018

Hi, Anna, thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience. That specific plan is per billing cycle, but usually that time frame would be pro-rated. We do have other plans that are structured differently, so we may have a better fit for you. Sorry that didn't work out this time, and we hope to earn your business again in the future.

Infinite Energy Responds August 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I feel cheated sometimes.

(2 / 5)

  I had just moved to Irving & was new to setting up energy service. I had opted for the Infinite Energy "3-month Smart Charge" Plan & it tuned out really bad. I had to move out of an apartment but was still to continue with infinite energy. I found out i was charged a "smart base charge" of $65 for just 2 days of service. And even when i changed/ renewed my plan, I was still charged "smart base charge" instead of being pro-rated.

I was with the company for more than 2 years but it was worst at the end. I had to switch, i couldn't take it
The customer service was good when contacted. but plans were not.

Katie from Irving
March 18th, 2018

Hello, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. Were sorry to hear your experience with Infinite Energy wasnt what it should have been, and wed like to look into this further.

We do offer a wide range of rate plans for different usage patterns, so its possible your plan might not have been the best match for your usage, and there may be better options for you. However, with the plan you mention, we would usually pro-rate charges as you said-- Im not sure what happened there, so wed like to go back and review that for you.

Do you mind sending us your account details so we can look into this further?

Infinite Energy Responds April 24th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Rates: They just want your money

(2 / 5)

  I have been a customer of Infinite Energy for almost two years. I live with roommates and we split the bills. For the first year or so we didn't have a problem, but then the rates started shooting up to where we are paying an average of $.14/kwh which is ridiculous, so I called about a fixed rate. (Which is an ordeal in itself if you work 8 to 5 because they don't answer phones on nights or weekends.) We locked in a rate at .7/kwh which was wonderful. I was told over the phone that they would give me notice at the end of the contract. I was given no such notice. I found out that the fixed rate had ended by the $350 bill I received. I am moving in a month, and needless to say, Infinite Energy will NOT be coming with me.

Cheryl from Commerce
May 11th, 2014

Cheryl: I'm sorry that this was your experience with us. We have been working to expand our notifications and go above and beyond the normal mailed notice required and offer additional notifications such as email. If you have a web or online account with us you are able to renew online at any time of day or night that is convenient for you. If you're account is eligible to renew you will see a renew button right after you login. I'd love to hear more ideas and feedback from you as to what would make your experience with us better. If you would like to reach out to us at www.InfiniteEnergy.com/feedback with your contact information we can communicate directly about what we can do to make your experience with us the best it can be. Thanks, Mat

Infinite Energy Responds May 28th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

infinite energy and paying by mail

(1.8 / 5)

  we paid our bill by mail the day we received it and got late payment notice twice, renewed with infinite one time when they sent us paper work showing a much higher rate by "mistake"

never again
December 17th, 2016

Hi, sorry we're seeing this late but we still wanted to reply in case there's anything still outstanding here. I'm sorry to hear about the late fees--sometimes there are mailing issues, so we do work with customers in situations like that. I'm not sure what rate would have been sent by mistake, but if there's something here we can look into, we'd like to do so.

Infinite Energy Responds April 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceptive Company

(1.8 / 5)

  This electric company is highly deceptive with their published rates on PowerToChoose.org. They have published rates (500 kWh, 1,000 kWh, 2,000 kWh) just like every other electric company, but Infinite Energy has hidden "Tiers" that cost more money as your energy consumption increases throughout the month. Do not use Infinite Energy, regardless of their introductory rates.

Scott Mollett from Mesquite
October 13th, 2015

Hey Scott, we're sorry that our tiered rate plans were not what you were looking for. We offer both types of rates so customers can choose a plan that makes sense for them. We have a lot of customers that love the tiered plans because it gives them incentive to conserve and save on their electricity bill. Our rate specialists are always available to go over rate options and explain the differences in the rate plans so we can get you on a plan that suits your individual needs.

Infinite Energy Responds December 14th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...