Best Energy service o have ever had, compared to TXU, Reliant, and Green Mountain.

(5 / 5)

  No billing issues, I like getting weekly usage information, and no surprises on my bill

Sandra S. from 77042
March 3rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Just Energy are their billing & account management system, rated at 2.1 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.0 of 5.

Just Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 3.5 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

217 Reviews for Just Energy


Change of Heart About JustEnergy

(4.5 / 5)

  I had originally given a poor review and wished the death of this company. I change my mind. I had a contract for 16.3/kwh when the rates were in the 20's 3 years ago. I finally decided I would pay the fee for ending the contract early and called them about 3 times and sent several emails asking how much the fee would be and then letting them know that I was going to another company for a better rate if they would not reduce my rate without penalty. They did! My rate went from 16.3 to 10.5 immediately, as I said after about a month of calling and emailing. Also, it wasn't as low as I requested. I wanted 9.0 which was what I saw as the average for the competitors. I am satisfied with JustEnergy at this point.

Anonymous
December 1st, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Electric Provider

(4.5 / 5)

  I have recently just switched to JustEnergy and I am completely satisfied with their rates and plans. I hope others with take to Go Green Challenge as well to help our environment. Thanks

Big Country from Tx--- Spring
November 25th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Peace of mind with a straight forward company

(4.5 / 5)

  We been with Just Energy for over 5 months we already seen the difference as far as the amount that we pay versus our former provider TXU, excellent customer service, We love our 5 yr. price protection.

Ludmilla Bonilla from Houston
July 18th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

none

(4.4 / 5)

  The longer the protection in this economy the better.

Rafael Rodriguez
August 9th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Honest, straight forward policies

(4.4 / 5)

  I have been with U.S. Energy for only a few months. I found the experience to be very straight forward, no games, with honest people and logical policies. Their information and sales plan centers on long term contracts that provide a security hedge against rising electricity prices - a given?

Robert Kunkle from Dallas
May 18th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Tookie

(4 / 5)

  A okay just had problems with redemptionreward points

Tookie from Arlington
January 13th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company

(4 / 5)

  I've had a great experience in signing with Just energy. They are the largest green energy provider in north America. They can't please everybody but needless to say they have A- with the better business bearau. I completely reccomend Just Energy because I don't have to keep renewing my contract every one or two years. They also have all inclusive rates no charge on supply and delivery on my contract. Get Just Energy.

Don from Dallas
August 5th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

happy

(3.8 / 5)

  I am a customer of Just Energy and and employee as well. The only time my bills are high is around Christmas time with all the lights we have on. My contract is almost up and I will resign with them; not just becasue I work there but because they do save me money. If you are being over charged...look at your usage and multiple...do the math. It is not that complex. If you are not getting an actual meter read...then call centerpoint. complain to them since all Just Energy does is bill you for what is used. We don't service you or read your meters. Get Educated!

Anonymous
February 25th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Your Ripping Us Off

(3.4 / 5)

  Just Energy , i would say for 12 months luved up to its obligation.

Now as we enter our 13 month

Just energy wants to Bill Us almonth 300 for 1000k or so .

We will either work this out tomorrow or i will report them to the Texas Public Utility Board for fraud & not pay a red cent as they try to hijack my pocket book..

Un professional, fraud,
Broken Trust with Just

Darlene from Corpus Christi
August 2nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Won't renew but had great service at a good rate

(3.4 / 5)

  I have enjoyed 8 cents a killowatt for 12 months. My contract is up in a few days and now their cheapest killowatt per hour is 11 cents. So I'm shopping around.

Amy Sidlo from Pearland
March 21st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The worst energy company avaliable

(2.6 / 5)

  If you want to speek to coustmer service you better set aside at least 12 hours.

Chris Bryan from Granbury
February 2nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thoroughly Misinformed

(2.6 / 5)

  I was actually trying to reach Reliant energy when I was searching for an energy company to use when I moved into my apartment but somehow the number I called routed me to Just Energy. The gentleman I talked was very polite and positive as we discussed how Just Energy was actually better on price because they do not use a pass through charge like everyone else does and that there was no contract cancellation fees like everyone etc.. etc...
So I complied with signing up with Just Energy, moved into my apartment and have never had a problem with my energy, until my bill came. I have a 644 sqft apartment that I am at barley 4 hours a day minus 8 hours of sleep (but everything is as it is as if I'm gone when I am asleep). Long story short, the only thing running during the day is my AC set at 80 and my refrigerator. Now here comes the downfall, with just my fridge and ac running, and 3 hours of tv a day apparently I'm using 758kwh at .095 cents, no way, so I check my bill, well on my bill I have a PASS THROUGH charge which I was told they do not do, first lie, secondly I'm thinking to my self theres no way and I'm just gonna change companies since there is no cancellation fee, wrong, second lie, $75 dollars to cancel.
In conclusion, I think Just Energy may be a large company but there core basis of business is designed like a car dealership where as it uses flashy shiny phrases to lure you in and then lie and steal your money like a bunch of crooks. Would not recommend.

Dissapointed customer from Waco
June 24th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Honest, straight forward policies

(2.6 / 5)

  I have been with U.S. Energy for only a few months. I found the experience to be very straight forward, no games, with honest people and logical policies. Their information and sales plan centers on long term contracts that provide a security hedge against rising electricity prices - a given?

Robert Kunkle from Dallas
May 18th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Exit Fee

(2.4 / 5)

  Just energy disappointed me at the beginning when I signed on for a new account. I signed on for one year, but when I received my first bill it listed my contract for three years. I called and disputed this contract but they advised that their records reflected a 3 year account, Since the rate was reasonable, I did not pursue a prolonged complaint process. On November 18, 2017, I received a notice that my plan will expire on 1/2/2018. "NO TERMINATION FEE SHALL APPLY IF YOU TERMINATE YOUR CONTRACT 14 DAYS PRIOR TO 1/2/2018. AND IF YOU CALL US AT 1.877.240.3931 YOU CAN CANCEL AT ANY TIME WITHOUT A TERMINATION FEE.
I contacted a Just energy rep to advise that I was changing to another provider and wanted to notify Just that I was changing and inquired about the termination fee. The rep said no problem, there's never a termination fee. But When I received my final bill, there is a $175 exit fee - which to me is the same as a termination fee. This is really deceptive and misleading to the customer. I plan to pursue this deceptive practice with the Public Utility /commission and Texas Attorney General Office. Even though I will pay this disputed exit fee, I am now very distrustful of just Energy and will not recommend Just Energy to my friends or family.

Charles D Langran from Flower Mound
November 26th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not renewing contract.

(2.4 / 5)

  I've been with Just Energy a little over a year. Not once have I had a good customer service experience. Workers speak as if they are in a rush to get off the phone with you and don't take time to explain answers. One example is when I was renewing my contract. I spoke with an individual who was extremely hurried to get me off the phone and failed to answer most of my questions about billing/rates. Their rates are not terrible, but I won't continue to give my money to a company where workers don't feel the need to be polite when answering calls.

Current user from Dallas
November 23rd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pay online? Not likely

(2.2 / 5)

  For some months I havent been able to use the online pay service. It use to work fine. What's up?

Schlangk from Fort Worth
November 4th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't Go With Just Energy

(2.2 / 5)

  Month 1 your bill be $70... Month 5 your bill will be $250... they increase in increments every month. I tested them by leaving out of town or 21 days... with all lights and ac off... and my bill was even higher than when i was there the full month... They will play games with your meter read and hustle you out your money .

Ex- Customer from Houston
June 24th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible

(2.2 / 5)

  Just try calling 1-866-5878674. It's a joke. Long delays I between selections. You'll get disconnected for no reason. No call back when you leave your call back number Ect. Plus i am reporting them to the PUC for charging way more than stated on the facts sheet. Just switched to stream energy. Forget about the 2 $75.00 gift cards for the 2 accounts I had.

Tracy
August 6th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nonexistant customer service

(2.2 / 5)

  Tried to call cust service....No one answers the phone. Left a message for a call back and got a salesman. Just an endless loop of machine generated prompts...

Timothy Geron from Galveston
July 24th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They only post good reviews

(2 / 5)

  I've been a customer for 5 years pay my bills on time and never had any problems until the last couple of months. Customer service fail to follow through on the contract that I needed to place after mine expired. They said they call me they never did and they never left a message and called me a liar as to a new contract in new rates. I've called several times they have gouged me on my last bill because I didn't have a contract and they charge me $0.16 per kilowatt which I find very disgusting. All my other bills were at 12 and 13 cents per kilowatt I will never do business with anybody that treats me like you have treated me again. I called and requested a rewrite change on my last bill because I do live on Social Security and I can't pay the whole bill if that gouging rate. I have never been so insulted in my life do not ever do business with these people they told me no unless I sign a new contract at an outrageous and they have no good plans available I've already been offered a better plan with $100 signing bonus. Never been so disgusted my life with an electrical provider don't ever use these people and don't believe all the good comments

Nancy from Friendswood
June 22nd, 2018

Hi Nancy,

Thank you for being our customer for 5 years. We apologize for the service you recently received; it's not the experience we want to provide. Your feedback is valuable, and we will share it with the appropriate teams.

Many customers who receive a high bill are actually just off contract. When your fixed agreement ends, you are switched over to a month-to-month plan which can vary depending on Market conditions. We'd love to have you back as a customer, and if you'd like to discuss fixed plan options, please call us at 1-877-240-3931. As an added bonus, you'll receive $100 in Perks Points.

Just Energy Responds June 29th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...