Reviews Overview
The best review categories for MXenergy are their plans and pricing, rated at 1.8 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 1.8 of 5.
5 Stars
8%
 
4 Stars
15%
 
3 Stars
8%
 
2 Stars
0%
 
1 Stars
69%
 

Recent Good Review from John Halsell

John from N Texas
No issues with this company. I got on their
variable plan when .12 was cheap and it's gone
down every month so far.

Very satisfied.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John Halsell from Mineral Wells on April 6th, 2011


Our Analysis of MXenergy

Community Outreach
0.0 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Complaint Resolution
0.0 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Innovation
0.0 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Market Perception
0.0 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Plans & Products
0.0 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Rewards
0.0 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Couldn't be happier.
I signed up for MXEnergy a couple of years after my former electric company jacked my rates up without notice. I have had no problems and am looking to see if I will go with them again. After reading reviews, it looks like there may be some companies that may be a little cheaper, but they have hidden costs. I have not had any hidden costs with MXEnergy. I would recommend them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous from on August 7th, 2010



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

2 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Rating
MX Energy is a great company. We love the service. The price is great, and customer service is awesome.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Melissa Plummer from on June 5th, 2010
Saved Me Hundreds last winter
I am so thankful for MX Energy they gave me a great low rate on my natural gas and saved me around three hundred dollars last year...Also they are very friendly on the telephone and the bills are always correct.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ryan from Michigan Usa on December 28th, 2009



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
John from N Texas
No issues with this company. I got on their
variable plan when .12 was cheap and it's gone
down every month so far.

Very satisfied.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John Halsell from Mineral Wells on April 6th, 2011



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

9 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Nurse1
Under the mistaken impression that I had to choose a supplier.MX /energy was selected I have a 2 story cape cod unit Only one fLoor is heated/cool when necessary. The upstairs is not used . A pedastal fan and a small portable heater is used only when needed. My electric bill came on Christmas Eve totalling $636.36 I will never recommend MX Energy or any company. Now back with PSE&G I'll never switch
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Not Given from Trenton on May 6th, 2012
Fraudulent
I thought that I had the best company ever until when the send me a bill of $285 a month for one bedroom apartment. When I talked to them no one cared about it instead they add more...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nill from Midland on December 13th, 2011
Fine, until there's a problem...
Last month they sent me three bills, all together, for three months in a row. They said it was a billing issue. The thing is, one of those bills is for over $2,000 - for a residence! Apparently the automatic meter reader was not reading properly throughout the winter months, so they charged me everything in one month - AT A HIGHER RATE!! I asked them about the higher rate and they argued that it wasn't a higher rate, that the rate changes from month to month (I was on a variable plan). I was looking at the rates on my bill while on the phone and told them the rates. They lied and said that I was lucky because some reason they didn't charge me the higher rate that they should have been charging for that month! MX is as good as any company as long as nothing went wrong, but they will do nothing to help you when it does. They spoke to me like the whole issue was my fault they had a billing error and my fault they didn't get gas readings. Very rude!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kelly from Atlanta on July 13th, 2011
Year contract up in three months
Like Star, they offered a low rate for a year. Then congratulations after a three months, your contract is up and so goes your rate. Shabby business practice. Hoping you fall asleep and raise your rates after a short time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kurt Zaske from Houston on May 3rd, 2011
AVOID THIS COMPANY PLEASE
This company has poor customer service when you
call them. Neither the supervisor nor the
customer representative care about your query.
Their contract is hidden on high cancellation
fees. They Charge a higher rate than BGE my local
utility company Please avoid them
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

George Kariuki from Us on February 28th, 2011
Horriable Company
I would strongly discourage anyone from purchasing Energy from this company. I had nothing but a negative experiance dealing with the customer service and addressing issues I have had. Their buisness practices are shady and unfair to the consumer. I repeat do not deal with this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dan from Killeen on November 15th, 2010
We can not help you.
I only get paid once a month. My due date for the bill is before I get paid. I have been late for the first two monthes. I asked them to change my due date. They said they can not change the due date. I talked with three different people and all of them were quite rude. I paid my bill by mail and they said it takes 7 - 10 business days to get into the system and that my electricity will be cut off tommorrow. I can not wait to my contract is up. Please do not make the same mistake I made. Do not sign up with this electric company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joseph Craig Sharp from Houston on November 11th, 2010
Scandalous Energy Provider
Poor customer service and they refuse to listen to any excuses in regards to the "contract" not once have i heard of any so called "early termination fee" they imposed on me for switching back to con edison's basic service due to the fact that MXergery has been overcharging me on electricity and gas as well, what about that fixed rate huh? we went up 4cents on electricity towards the end of the contract and THEN THEY RENEWED IT FOR US? i specifically requested that the contract self-terminate at the end of its terms but obviously they didnt get that message. good riddance, stealing my $150 for a "EARLY TERMINATION FEE".
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Danny from Ny Usa on January 4th, 2010
Horrendous
MX Energy admittedly by there employees have supplied me with
misinformation and horrible service. I have experienced several
problems with their online bill pay, and complained time after time
again. Their response it that is should be now fixed. It hasn't been
month after month. They called about my bill, I told them the issues,
and again, they said there have been issues but they are now fixed-
THEY ARE NOT! This resulted in them off my service, after they told
me it was fine to pay it now onlineâwhich another person told me it
wasn't in collections, and then another in customer service told me it
should have been. They moved payment processors from CheckFree
to Bill Matrix to solve this problem, but it looks like there are still
issues. They offered no help and communicated it was impossible to
research these complaints because they are in a different department.
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. They did nothing to help my issue and
left me without gas for 5 days. Unacceptable!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Atlanta on December 18th, 2009



Recommended Electricity Plans