We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, Champion Energy Services and TriEagle Energy

Horrible billing processing

(2.4 / 5)

  Our Energy is very bad at processing payments if you use anything other than their own system. Personally, I use bill pay through my bank. I always schedule payments within a week of due date but on multiple occasions it has taken Our Energy 5-10 days after the scheduled bill pay delivery date to actually process it which ends up after the due date and then they immediately send out their pink non-payment disconnection notice letters. Not only is it a waste but it's totally erroneous since as a customer I did what I'm supposed to. They are the ones slow to process payments. When my contract is up I will look for another provider.

Steve from Pearland
June 11th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware of switching early

(2.2 / 5)

  Beware when asked to switch over early. I should have asked questions at the time and avoided incurring a $25 minimum usage fee. When I asked for the $25 to be credited back to my account as it was the company's mistake not mine, customer service replied my contract would have expired on a Sunday, thus needed to switch over on a weekday. Following this logic, had I just started the contract naturally the next day on a Monday, I wouldn't have incurred this nonsense as it is the beginning of their in the billing cycle. Shame on this company!

Teresa from Missouri City
March 4th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bill Pay

(2.2 / 5)

  Been a customer since summer 2018. Have paid my bills through bill pay with my bank for many years without any problems. Three months in a row i have been charged late fees. Called on TWO PHONE LINES at the same time (cell and land) to the company and was ON HOLD FOR OVER A HOUR on both before recording said to leave message and will be contacted within 24-48 hrs.Called again next day and got through, asked if they were closed on the day I called and representative told me no. I explained to the representative about the charges and was told they did not receive the payment on due date, but received them one day late. I set all payments on due date with my bank and on one payment, was set up one day earlier than due date and they they still said they got it one day late. This is the only company that has somehow not gotten their payment on the due date. The representative said the bank was at fault for not sending the checks on time. She also told me she was authorized to wave one month, but would have to send an e-mail to someone else for review of the others, i asked for a copy of e-mail and all i got was a confirmation number. I called bill pay at my bank and was told the payments are sent early enough to all, and some are cashed before the due date. I do not recommend this company. The only way this is happening is, (1) on purpose or (2) they do not check their PO Box daily. At this review (48 hrs later) still have not heard from them.

John from Rockwall
December 28th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Complete SCAM in regards to rates and billing

(2.2 / 5)

  Started with this company back in August 2015, at that time there were no problems what so ever, rate was 0.03500 per kw hour and a $4.95 monthly surcharge.... today my bill is 0.08100 per kw and a $14.95 service charge! This is a COMPLETE rip off of the public! This company cannot PROVE that I EVER agreed to a plan that was more than DOUBLE my previous bill! AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS UNLESS YOU HAVE LOTS OF EXTRA $$$$ to send them each and every month!!

Greg from Fort Worth
September 28th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Prices Horrible Billing Issues

(2.2 / 5)

  I changed energy suppliers not long ago, and in order for me to get with OurEnergy and be in good standing, they needed a letter from my previous supplier. My letter stated that I had not had a late payment in 24 months with them. I'll be damned, this is the 9th month I have been with OurEnergy and the 4th pink slip that's been issued. Every one of these was resolved with a phone call, but I don't have time to call them every month because they don't post my payment when it's received. It's never until after I call that they say, "Oh it was received on the 24th(due date) but yet, according to the accounting, it wasn't posted for 3 days. You asked for payment on a particular date and you got it. Because you chose not to post it on that date, how can you penalize me? Just terribly upset that I still have 15 more months :-(

I would only recommend this company if you live next door to the office and can walk your payment over to them and wait on them to post it. Unless however, you have time for monthly phone calls because you're payment was posted late and they charged you a late fee.

PAYMENTS NOT POSTED ON TIME from Katy
November 15th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be Aware of Late Billing Charges

(2 / 5)

  As has been reported by others, they seem to like charging late fees for payments not posted on time.
My bank sends my payment several days in advance, but constantly Our Energy does not get it posted on time. Therefore I get a late charge to my account.
I have had good success with Patricia Vela in Customer Service. I usually e-mail her with a question and/or concern and she will respond within a couple of hours. Usually sooner.

Nancy Zacharias from Houston
April 27th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rates good, service bad

(2.2 / 5)

  I've been with Our Energy about 3 1/2 years. The rates have been great but their response to customer service requests is horrible. The Reps have been very nice on the phone but nothing gets done that I've requested without multiple calls. Currently, I've been waiting 2 months to get an average monthly billing. I keep calling, they say they handed it off to get the amount and will call back. I never get a call back. Absolutely no follow through. So, I call again and again and again or email again and again. They're always nice, just nothing gets done. If it wasn't for the good rate, I'd be gone.

Betty C. from Waxahachie
February 7th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Contract Expired

(2.2 / 5)

  When I got my bill I noticed a $76.73 TDSP Charge and my rate had gone up from .0819 to .0879. I called customer services and was told that contract had expired (12 months). I told her that I had not received any notification to which I got no response. It was like "so, pay up and shut up". I am in the process of filing a complaint with BBB and the Utilithy Commisison of Texas. Stay away from this company.

LeRoy Bishaw from Crowley
January 20th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrid billing experience

(2.8 / 5)

  I had Our Energy electric service for 1 year. Throughout the entire time I had my payments automatically drafted from my credit card each month. We cancelled our energy service with Our Energy because my husband in the Army and we're moving to Germany next week. I spoke with the company 3 weeks ago making sure that everything was good with the service cancellation prior to leaving the country. I was informed that my bill would be an automatic draft like in previous billing cycles and assured that all was well. On Monday, June 3rd I received an email that 139.70 would be drafted from my credit card. That was normal procedure. This morning Thursday, June 6th I received a call from a collection agency that my bill had been turned over to collections and that I owed $221.78. I was mortified. My credit is spotless. I called Our Energy and was told that the bill was for this last payment which was due on June 19th. I asked how on earth did I turned over to a collection agency for a bill that wasn't even due yet when I received confirmation that an automatic debit would be done. Long story short. The collection agency was threatening me and I had to have the supervisor at Our Energy call to fix this problem before this mistake hit my credit report. I do not recommend Our Energy at all.

Tamara Brethouwer from Killeen
June 6th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions