Electric Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
15 Month Fixed Rate
15 month
Fixed Rate
13.3¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$133 est. avg. bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    10.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $160 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $137 est. avg. bill
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $149 est. avg. bill
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $132 est. avg. bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
  • Low Average Bill
  • Donates to Charity
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
  • 100% Solar Energy
  • Reduce your Carbon footprint
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    9.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $147 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $120 est. avg. bill
    Popular Plan
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $144 est. avg. bill
  • Big Time Bill Credit
  • No Monthly Base Charge
  • 12 months of bill stability
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $145 est. avg. bill
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $139 est. avg. bill
  • 24 month fixed rate plan
  • No base charge, no minimum usage fees
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    12.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $29 min balance
  • Prepaid - No Deposit EVER
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $125 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $134 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $142 est. avg. bill
  • Low rate!
  • Well known brand.
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $122 est. avg. bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $142 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $144 est. avg. bill
  • Great Plan for Medium Homes
  • $95 Bill Credit at 1k usage
  • 1 year of bill security
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $145 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
  • Tiered Rate Plan
  • 12 Month Contract
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $145 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $138 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    9.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $147 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    9.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $147 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $130 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
  • 100% renewable
  • Includes FREE Energy Savings Kit!
  • Super low green rate
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
  • 3 Year Price Protection
  • Stable, predictable rate
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
    Popular Long Term Plan
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $132 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
  • Two Year Price Protection
  • All Around Great Value
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $142 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    12.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $147 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • No minimum usage charges
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $121 est. avg. bill
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • 36 Month Flat Rate
    36 month
    Flat Rate
    24.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $243 est. avg. bill
    Best 24 Month Plan
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $132 est. avg. bill
  • 24 Month Locked-in price
  • Steady Rate regardless of usage
  • Great overall plan
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $138 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $133 est. avg. bill
  • 100% Renewable Energy
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $138 est. avg. bill
    Best Green Plan
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $134 est. avg. bill
  • Super Low Summer Rate!
  • 100% Renewable Energy!
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $132 est. avg. bill
    Best No Contract Plan
    1 month
    Variable Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $153 est. avg. bill
  • No Contract
  • Variable Rate
  • Low Credit
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $149 est. avg. bill
  • Bill Credits cut your bill in summer months
  • Enjoy smaller bills in summer
  • 12 Month Price Protection
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $143 est. avg. bill
  • No Minimum Usage Charge!
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • Bill Credits at 1k and 2k usage!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Flat Rate
    24 month
    Flat Rate
    24.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $241 est. avg. bill
    Prepaid - No Deposit
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    21.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $158 est. avg. bill
  • No Energy Charge on weekends!
  • No Delivery Charges on weekends!
  • Weekends start Friday @ 8:00 PM!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $138 est. avg. bill
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • Low Average Bill
  • No Surprises
  • No Pricing Gimmicks
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $129 est. avg. bill
  • No Pricing Gimmicks
  • Great for any size home
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $162 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $134 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $153 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $140 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $137 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $144 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    17.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $154 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    17.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $170 est. avg. bill
  • Solar Days: 5:00 a.m. through 7:59 p.m. each day
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $168 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    16.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $161 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $142 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $135 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    23.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $239 est. avg. bill
    6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $143 est. avg. bill
  • Beat the summer heat!
  • Steady, predictable rate
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $145 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $147 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    15.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $157 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $153 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $141 est. avg. bill
  • Popular Plan!
  • 12 months bill security
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    17.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $175 est. avg. bill

    The best review categories for Payless Power are the order experience, with an average of 4.2 stars, and their customer service, with an average of 4.1 stars.

    Payless Power logo

    Texas Electricity Ratings's Gold Tier Providers are the best of the best in Texas Electricity. These are the best providers over the past year at providing customers and communities great service, stellar customer service, and top of the line resources, just to name a few things. When you select one of these providers, know you're choosing from among the best options in the Texas Electric market.

    Recent Good Review from KSA

    Very good service Easy to use!
    The service has been incredibly easy to use. A two year old could do it.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    KSA from Dickinson, TX on September 19th, 2021


    Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

    58 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 5 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Wish I was with Paylesspower ... switching soon
    I called for what I should do in my situation. Rudy, helped me and he gave me some great advice to keep me from coming across another dilemma! The fact that someone actually saved me time and saved me a headache, instead of just processing payment and leaving me in the dark( no pun intended) he told me the best way to go about my situation and Im just Thankful! I will be switching to Payless once my situation is over! Thank you Rudy!!!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Crystal Vell from Lewisville, TX on August 20th, 2021
    Good
    I love this company and recommend them. The electric bill is so much lower. The convenience of auto pay and their customer service is excellent. When I have a question, I call them, and they answer right away.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Good Service from Electra, TX on April 17th, 2021
    Excellent customer service
    The friendliest customer reps that truly wanting to help you. They go above and beyond
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Julie from Lufkin, TX on December 19th, 2020
    Thank you so much for the kind words! Glad we can help!
    — Payless Power
    New Order
    All good.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    James from Katy, TX on October 19th, 2020
    Thank you for rating Payless Power!
    — Payless Power
    Account
    No comment
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Aaron Powell from Baytown, TX on October 1st, 2020
    Thank you for rating Payless Power!
    — Payless Power
    Great company!
    They are always fast, friendly and very professional.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    B.J. B from Fort Worth, TX on August 31st, 2020
    Thank you for your 5 star review! We are proud to know that Payless Power meets your expectations and that you are satisfied with our service.
    — Payless Power
    Love the daily notifications
    I've enjoyed the ease with the service and plan. I am moving and will for a time have two locations so forced to look at alternatives due to policy restrictions that I can't be two places at once. I can't be caught not having AC in Texas during Summer while setting up the new and moving out of the old. Who came up with that policy. Also noticed the rates have changed ... Guess I will be risking another change but I did love how I always knew my balance and if something was wrong due to the charges (roommate) ... Great way to keep track and know when to pull back and shut things off! Not to mention FACEBOOK and the things I learned along the way!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Faith Leapove from Belton, TX on August 12th, 2020
    Thank you for your 5 star review! We are proud to know that Payless Power meets your expectations and that you are satisfied with our service.
    — Payless Power
    Amazing
    Amazing
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Terri from Midland, TX on August 6th, 2020
    Thank you so much for the 5 star review!
    — Payless Power
    I love it!!!!
    I love this electric company.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    5 Stars from Corpus Christi, TX on June 25th, 2020
    Thank you for your 5 star review! We are proud to know that Payless Power meets your expectations and that you are satisfied with our service.
    — Payless Power
    Residential customer
    Just overall customer satisfactory
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Nico Perez from San Angelo, TX on May 19th, 2020
    Thank you for your 5 star review! We are proud to know that Payless Power meets your expectations and that you are satisfied with our service.
    — Payless Power


    Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

    37 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 4 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Very good service Easy to use!
    The service has been incredibly easy to use. A two year old could do it.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    KSA from Dickinson, TX on September 19th, 2021
    So far, so good
    Thank you.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Elaine Bennett from Angleton, TX on August 3rd, 2021
    Great
    Easy
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Idk from Houston, TX on June 30th, 2021
    Good times
    Good experience very friendly.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    David from on June 12th, 2021
    Happy Customer
    O complaints
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Curtis from Dallas, TX on March 17th, 2021
    Na
    Na
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Na from Irving, TX on November 15th, 2020
    Thank you for rating Payless Power!
    — Payless Power
    Yess
    N a
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Kayla from Abilene, TX on August 15th, 2020
    Thank you for rating Payless Power!
    — Payless Power
    Good
    Nice I like how I can see how much I use because I started unplugging stuff I didnt need and my amount went as according
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Angel from Odessa, TX on August 7th, 2020
    We are so pleased that you enjoy the daily messages via text, email or both-text & email. We truly feel this is the most powerful tool in maintaining control of the energy usage in ones home. Thank you for your business.
    — Payless Power
    Easy
    Very easy to turn on and get started. I like that the electricity you are using is right in front of you on the web site. And paying your bill can not be any easier.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    K Athearn from Dickinson, TX on June 5th, 2020
    Thank you for your 5 star review! We are proud to know that Payless Power meets your expectations and that you are satisfied with our service.
    — Payless Power
    Great customer service. Same day service hookup
    Very prompt customer service and great rates. Was able to get signed up for service the same day.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Nathan from Houston, TX on April 24th, 2020
    Thank you for your 5 star review! We are proud to know that Payless Power meets your expectations and that you are satisfied with our service.
    — Payless Power


    Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

    14 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 3 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Awesome
    No hassle .
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Bellard from Austin, TX on May 3rd, 2021
    No further comment
    No comment
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    N/A from Humble, TX on April 1st, 2021
    My opinion
    Easy to use...great & cheap rates
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Cassandra from Balch Springs, TX on August 14th, 2019
    Thank you for your feedback its greatly appreciated! Payless Power is a company that has competitive prices. We pride ourselves to know that our product has no hidden fees, no gimmicks. We also offer a 20% discount when the balance is maintained above $35 on your standard rate. To learn more please contact us at 888-963-9363.
    — Payless Power
    Review
    Good
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Cstacie17 from Grand Prairie, TX on September 30th, 2018
    Thanks for rating Payless Power(:
    — Payless Power
    First time customer
    First time using the company. Spoke to customer service rep and helped me understand the process. Very helpful.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Stacie from Grand Prairie, TX on September 11th, 2018
    Stacie-Thank you for your feedback happy our customer care representatives were able to help you. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363 if you have anymore questions or concerns about your account.
    — Payless Power
    Service is ok
    I needed a credit reference for an important application. Payless Power customer service would only give me reference from the time you have had this online site. I was a customer for a year prior but he wouldn't give that info for my application. Longevity was my whole point of requesting credit reference. It hurt me in long run to not get that information.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Ok from Savoy, TX on August 28th, 2018
    We do apologize for the inconvenience. We did launch a new system therefore we could only pull up account history from the time the system transition till current day. We will be happy to assist you on a proof of service if that will help because unfortunately we don't offer letter of credits.
    — Payless Power
    Alright service but promotional add didn't mention daily .87 charge.
    Alright service but promotional add didn't mention daily .87 charge for lower usage accounts like mine was so my power bill was way more than what I had previously been paying.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Didn't See High Daily Charge from Mckinney, TX on July 19th, 2018
    Thank you for your feedback it's greatly appreciated. Please note that Payless Power offers a bundled rate, this includes the energy charge, delivery and meters charges. By maintaining a balance above $35 you can save 20% off our standard rate.
    — Payless Power
    Experience
    The experience is good but I think it is too pricey
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Experience from Mcallen, TX on July 11th, 2018
    Thank you for rating Payless Power. We do offer ways on receiving discounts please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363 for more information.
    — Payless Power
    Expensive
    Ok I've always loved payless power until now all of a sudden yall just started charging me alot.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Misty from Forney, TX on December 29th, 2017
    Thank you Misty for your review it's greatly appreciated. With the weather we experienced your usage will come in out of the normal, but you can always verify the usage that is being reported using www.smartmetertexas.com.
    — Payless Power
    No Terms of Services, rates can change
    When a rate has changed you will only be notified via a txt message only. Pay as you go is currently 12.2 per kWh, if u keep a balance above 35$ it's 8.7, so there advertised 10.9 does not exist anymore(summertime excuse raise in rates). Also if you do not use above 17 kWh they can charge you a extra .50 per day. On there web page you cannot review your monthly kWh usage for comparison's, you can only pay your bill. One good thing I found out late was you can pay from your bank account without being charged 3$ that ace rips you off with, probably could have saved $100 bucks if I'd known that sooner a year ago.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mr Anderson from Houston on June 21st, 2016
    Mr Anderson- Thank you for your feedback it's very important to us. Please note that Payless Power offers a bundled rate, this includes the energy charge, delivery and meters charges. By maintaining a balance above $35 you can save 20% off our standard rate. Our web page was very limited on what you could see in regards to your account information but we are able to send you a monthly statement VIA email or mailed or per your request can send every month. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363 for anymore questions or concerns.
    — Payless Power


    Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

    13 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 2 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Double of what other power companies charge- avoid this one at all costs!
    I am a very cheap person when it comes to electricity- and it's all Payless Power's fault.

    Unplugging appliances as soon as they're not in use- turning lights off as soon as I leave the room, leaving them off when I'm in my bedroom, covering up windows and doors- you name it I've done it all in order to keep my electric bill low. And by "low" with Payless Power, I mean shelling out $40 every other week or even weekly.

    It gave me anxiety, checking my balance and knowing I'm getting low. I switched, and I expected the new power company to be worse since I left lights on, had the a/c on for a handful of days...but it was only $50 for the whole month! I am in absolute shock, Payless Power is an absolute scam. Under no circumstances should you EVER switch to Payless Power.

    You've been warned.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jack E. from Midland, TX on April 19th, 2021
    While it may be good for some, this company sucks!!
    I've had this company for about 5 months now. They charge more than what a normal plan would. I had Tara Energy before this and I was paying $100 or less a month.
    With Payless Power I'm paying damn near over $150 a month. And they have a switch hold on my meter?! This company is crooked. I hate it.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Reanna Simerly from Houston, TX on July 7th, 2020
    Ms Simerly- I understand that you are concerned with your recent monthly costs and that this is not a good thing. A quick review of your historical usage shows that the address where you live consumes a lower than average amount of power in the spring and fall but a much higher amount in the summer. You are experiencing this now. Please note that Payless Power has not raised your rates however your consumption from April through July has drastically spiked from 2019 to 2020. Please call us at 888 963 9363 and we will be happy to go over this with you.
    — Payless Power
    Worse power company ever
    I thought they had reasonable rates when I started service with them.After the first months the rates started going up till I was paying 20 dollars a day for two people.They will cut you off quickly to get an additional 25 dollars.I think we were better off before deregulation.This company is bait and switch.If you need electricity dont get with this company.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mitch from Bedford, TX on June 29th, 2019
    We are terribly sorry you have had a poor experience with our company and want to know more, so that we may improve. We also understand the frustration that the cost of electricity rises in the summer or sometimes the winter here in Texas because energy consumption increases substantially with the temperature changes outside. The key driver of higher energy cost is because the air conditioning and heating systems work much harder when it is hot or cold outside. Just like a refrigerator, the HVAC system in a home turns on based on the desired temperature set on the thermostat and these systems do so whether someone is home or not. Our blog contains many articles on energy savings tips, which can be viewed at https://paylesspower.com/blog/. We also offer a discount program to save 20% off of our standard rate by simply by maintaining a balance over $35. A supervisor would truly love to speak to you to see if we can do something to meet your expectations. If you would contact us at https://paylesspower.com/contact-us/, then then we can have someone review your account immediately to see if there is anything further we can do to help. Thank you for your business and your candid review.
    — Payless Power
    A company of thieves
    Tried their service on a temporary sublet. Immediately noticed the smart methods of stealing your available credit. Rates per kilowatt are as high as $2.85 cents. That's per 1 kilowatt. Just another immoral American thief.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Payless Power Is A THIEF ! from Houston, TX on November 30th, 2018
    Please note that Payless Power only bills based off your daily meter reads as provided by Centerpoint. There is a small daily customer charge added + taxes.We dont estimate charges and the rates do not change daily. Your charges are determined by your usage and we do not determine this. Centerpoint owns the meter and records and reports the usage to us for your billing. You can always double check your meter at www.smartmetertexas.com to ensure that we have billed your usage correctly. Call us at 888-963-9363 and we can provide the meter information you will need to register free of charge.
    — Payless Power
    Ok if temporary
    Needed service temporarily so figured prepaid was the way to go. I paid $40 a week although I was rarely home. Great idea but too expensive.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    KMC from Richmond, TX on September 30th, 2018
    Thank you for your feedback, it's greatly appreciated. Payless Power does offer discounts off your usage, please contact us at 888-963-9363 to learn more.
    — Payless Power
    Paying too much
    Paying too much for electric
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    from Temple, TX on July 11th, 2018
    We will be more than happy to go over ways on saving. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363
    — Payless Power
    Terms & Rates not as quoted. Website portal only for payments NO INFO
    At first, thought Payless would be great. Was receiving daily texts of $$ charged and KWH charged.
    New website rollout, since daily texts no longer include $$ spent, just total kwh and your balance remaining.
    Trying to camouflage what you are actually being charged that day, without customer's calculation.
    Continually told, great new stuff on website.... available soon.
    Told today "it was decided" by Payless Power to not provide customers with daily $$ charged, as this will soon be available on website. The only thing available on new site other than ways to pay/fund your account, is monthly billing statement. You cannot lookup any billing/usage history in real time, need to review your texts or wait til monthly statement in mail, or online. Hell, you cannot even look up what your rate or average is. Being charged daily and getting hit with 558kw charge, with no idea what your rate is means you cannot calculate what came out of our account without seeking out prior day's "balance remaining" and deducting manually. Great way to hide rates & $$$ under guise of customer improvement. It has been decided by me to shop elsewhere
    for power. Quoted rate 8.6 continually charged 11.6 /kwh Hard to detect until your monthly bill, or if you gather your texts & calculator
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Magickly from Corpus Christi, TX on January 19th, 2018
    We do apologize for your experience with our service. Yes we did launch a new & improved online portal that would give you the opportunity to view your account in a more detailed format. But when that did occur still had some bugs that needed fixing so again we do apologize for the inconvenience that it caused you. The Portal is up & running excellent now.
    — Payless Power
    Just Got This And Already Over it.
    I just signed up for this bc I needed service ASAP. I was just charged over $7 on my first day. That is crazy I live in a 600 Sq Ft apartment alone. I'm adamant on not using lights when the sun is out and keep my AC at 68 degrees. They also advertised $100 credit to new customers, which I did not receive. I wish I had done more research before signing up. I will be switching asap.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Teresa Cortez from Dallas, TX on January 14th, 2018
    Teresa- Thank you for your feedback it's greatly appreciated. After reviewing your account all usage that has been reported are showing to be actual, also you could verify these reads using www.smartmetertexas.com. The $100 credit is a specific plan that offers a $10 credit every month for 10 months, unfortunately you selected a different plan that did not offer that promotion. Please feel free to reach us at 888-963-9363 for any questions or concerns.
    — Payless Power
    Was Great! Until they were acquired by another company...
    We decided to go with prepaid power because we (me & my roomate) don't have enough money to pay the big bills we used to get with TXU energy. All year long 2017- the rates were great. Electricity was cheap, until recently after Hurricane Harvey.... they updated their payment system & now their service is ridiculous. They "OFFER A DEFERRED PAYMENT PLAN" - they want you to owe them money, doesnt make sense. It does make sense though for the company to put you in their pocket like that, they are raising rates and diminsh your account balance so fast that you go negative and then they allow you to run up negative $100+ and start texting you to get on their "DEFERRED PAYMENT PLAN".

    What they've done may not be unethical but it is most definitely irritating, a business does have the right to change its service prices however it is no longer beneficial to use them as a electricity provider. Without getting angry and really speaking my mind, I am writing this review to let everyone know they are not worth trying and will eat your money so fast that it doesnt even make sense. I have three bedroom house and every week, were having to put money on the account.

    I conserve energy and still lose it all. This review was written by me, allen. I ask all of you to feel free to shoot me a email at hello@designsbyallen.com before signing up with them so I can tell you how bad they are. I dont want to make a fool of myself by getting angry so I'll just let you all know not go with payless power aka paypwr.com

    BIGGEST RIP OFF, SCAM, & HORRIBLE SERVICE

    DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THEM, YOU WILL REGRET IT
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Allen from Katy, TX on January 3rd, 2018
    Allen- We do apologize for your experience while using our service. During the Hurricane Harvey event we were working with the customer on suspending disconnects for the whole month while we understood customers needed to get situated after this natural disaster occurred. We were also providing a list of organizations to help assist customer who were negative after usage continue to accumulate increasing negative balances making it harder for some customer to get caught up. Our Deferred Payment Plan is a courtesy that we offer to help assist if the full payment cannot be met, we do apologize again for your experience you had while using our service.
    — Payless Power
    Paymore Power
    This was the most expensive electric company I found in Texas. Rates are too high. I was paying about 100 a month. I had to find another provider asap. I switched and I am very happy now.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    BB from Abilene, TX on November 30th, 2017
    Thank you for your feedback, we do regret to hear that you were not satisfied with our service.
    — Payless Power


    Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

    68 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 1 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Terrible Company
    I have been with this company for a few years and loved them until about a month ago. I don't know what happened but service is awful now. They don't do what the say, block me from changing companies, and customer service is so rude.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    ? from Abilene, TX on August 27th, 2021
    Ypu lost a long time customer
    You lost a long time customer because your unwilling to work with me wile I'm put of work due to covid. It's OK TXU welcomed me back.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jennifer from Corpus Christi, TX on August 19th, 2021
    Use to be great now its nothing but problems
    I use to love this company years ago. Unfortunately I feel the price has dramatically increased and customer is not well trained. I have had nothing but problems this last year.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jennifer from Corpus Christi, TX on July 31st, 2021
    Sudden turn for the worse
    Having a pre-paid plan, we used to enjoy a discount by maintaining a minimum balance. However, starting January 2021, the discount disappeared, and the value proposition for a pre-paid plan vanished. Additionally, a minimum daily charge of $2.67 is added (I am aware of no other major electric company that implements this immoral practice). This minimum daily charge means that you will be paying a minimum of $80 per month even if you unplug everything and go away on vacation!

    You'll probably see a tone-deaf response saying something to the effect of that the changes are consistent with the TOS, which is available on their website.

    Indeed, Payless Power suddenly forgot how to treat their customers right.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    David from Houston, TX on February 10th, 2021
    .41 cents
    My account was over. 41 cent and they turned off my power
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    EEM from Humble, TX on December 15th, 2020
    Hello- With our services being prepaid anytime balance is negative the account is risking disconnection. We do send daily alerts notifying low balance and also advise how to request an extension if needed. Please contact us for any questions or concerns.
    — Payless Power
    Horrible
    It was just horrible
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Unhappy from Houston, TX on July 13th, 2020
    Ms Anderson- Based on contacts that you have made to our Customer Care department over the last couple of weeks it seems like you are struggling with the increased costs of electricity during our current Texas heatwave. I understand that these increased costs put a huge financial strain on folks and this is not a good thing. Please understand that Payless Power has not increased your rates. We do see that your usage has increased substantially however this is quite common wth recent temperatures. Payless Power offers more assistance options than any other pre-paid provider in the State, to my knowldege ... including waiving all disconnection or reconnection fees. Payless Power also participates fully in the State's Covid-19 Electricity Relief Program. This is an assistance program set up for Texas Residents who have lost work due to the Pandemic. There are alot other types of assistance programs in your area. Please call us at 888 963 9363 for details.
    — Payless Power
    Emotional Distress
    The manager and employees are liars and is witholden my hand written check that the bank stateed it doesn't accept. Its been over 12 days of them holding my check and I still await for a refund for being dissatisfied with ignorant communicated agents and had to switch power service because I was unhappy with thier miserable communication as a paying customer. I was told that my registered email check was not acceptable but I could mail it in but then when I did send it certified mail, it was denied after recieving an email I could mail it. I was given an off the record cell phone number of a manger to speak with about the matter because the call wasn't being recorded. I totally feel discriminated against and this company has caused me emotional distress which I send out invoices for!!! With prejudice
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    DBA SHAWANA LATRICE POWELL (c) RRM from on April 15th, 2020
    We apologize for the experience. We have tried locating your account with the email provided unfortunately not able to locate it. We have sent an email if you could please reply with your account information so we can research on exactly whats going on with the account or what's causing the delay. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience and would like to speak to you about the issue if we have not resolved it to your satisfaction.
    — Payless Power
    RIP OFF COMPANY
    They really do NOT deserve 1 star. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!! Be expected to pay at least $30 for 6 days of 4-5 kilowatt usage or so they supposed that amount based on estimates...I'll say it again...ESTIMATES and actual. They claim Centerpoint sends them the actual metered amount (whenever) and that they might sometimes "undercharge" customers based on their "estimated" daily calculations. Hear me out new customers, as you maintain this company you'll see that over time they'll start ripping you off. I'm hardly ever home and when I am I only use a desk lamp to study for a few hours. Even unplug most appliances (except for fridge) to conserve energy. BUT they increase the price amount and inflate (lie) the usage. I'm switching in a few days.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Rip Off Company!!! from Houston, TX on March 26th, 2020
    Thank you for sharing your experience. Good or bad, this is an important part of customer reviews. Please note that Payless Power only bills based off your daily meter reads as provided by Centerpoint. There is a small daily customer charge added + taxes. Thats it. We dont estimate charges and the rates do not change daily. Your charges are determined by your usage and we do not determine this. Centerpoint owns the meter and records and reports the usage to us for your billing. You can always double check your meter at http://www.smartmetertexas.com to ensure that we have billed your usage correctly. Call us at 888-963-9363 and we can provide the meter information you will need to register free of charge.

    — Payless Power
    Rip Off
    I put 20$ just to see and less the 24 hours it was gone!! Looking for another prepaid service now!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Tammy from Baytown, TX on November 4th, 2019
    Tammy, We apologize for your experience. We would be more than happy to go over your billing independently. You can also audit these reading daily by viewing your usage on http://www.smartmetertexas.com. This a free site operated by the State that shows you how much energy you home uses in increments from 15 minutes to a month. You can use this information to validate what your electric company bills you for and also determine what is consuming the power at your home.
    — Payless Power
    False Advertisement
    This company is deceiving and manipulative. They advertise are rate of 12.1 cent with no additional fees but youll never receive the rate of 12.1 cent. Ive spoken to a number of customer service agents who like to talk to you like youre stupid until you pull out a calculator and show them the numbers dont add up. Theyll place you on a long hold because they dont understand why. During this time theyre trying to come up with an excuse for the false advertisement. They try to say theres an additional TDU delivery charge but their sales agents will tell you all of the charges and fees are bundled into that 12.1 cent. Ive even called and pretend like I was a new customer, asked if there was an additional TDU charge and they will tell you no. My balance has always been over $35 yet I never receive the rate they advertise. If that isnt bad enough if your balance goes under $35 they will really start taking advantage of you. Charge as much as .20 per kWH. If you try to keep you electricity consumption down because of their high rates, they will charge you an additional $1 on top of that rate. This is completely deceiving and false advertisement. If youre ready this youve most likely been scammed by them already and youre not alone. Their sales agents and customer service representatives are trained liars.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Another Ripped Off Customer from Austin, TX on June 6th, 2019
    Hi Edward, Payless Power received this review earlier in the form of a Public Utilities Commission complaint from Alexander Blair. As with the previous complaints from Mr. Blair, Payless Power is completely willing to speak to him in order to explain his billing. If he chooses, we can also simply provide our data to the Public Utilities Commission so that they can analyze it on Mr. Blair's behalf. Although Mr. Blair has had suspicions regarding his billing throughout his time as a Payless Power Customer, the PUCT has been able to verify in the previous instances that Payless Power's billing is accurate and in alignment with his plan. Feel free to contact us at 888 963 9363 for assistance. We would love to have the opportunity to answer all your questions.
    — Payless Power


    Electric Plans & Rates


    Recommended Plans
    All Plans
    Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Est Avg Bill
    15 Month Fixed Rate
    15 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $133 est. avg. bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    10.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $160 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $137 est. avg. bill
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $149 est. avg. bill
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $132 est. avg. bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
  • Low Average Bill
  • Donates to Charity
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
  • 100% Solar Energy
  • Reduce your Carbon footprint
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    9.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $147 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $120 est. avg. bill
    Popular Plan
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $144 est. avg. bill
  • Big Time Bill Credit
  • No Monthly Base Charge
  • 12 months of bill stability
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $145 est. avg. bill
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $139 est. avg. bill
  • 24 month fixed rate plan
  • No base charge, no minimum usage fees
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    12.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $29 min balance
  • Prepaid - No Deposit EVER
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $125 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $134 est. avg. bill