We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, First Choice Power, TriEagle Energy, Acacia Energy and Gexa Energy

Changes made recently, charging daily when I use no electric!!

(1.8 / 5)

  I use to love Payless, but totally reconsidering. I get daily texts giving me my usages, thing is it's costing me over $1.50 to $2.98 or day when I haven't been using electric. My building is a storage building. I go there maybe 2 times a month, I turn on one light bulb. For 30 minutes max. But get nearly $3 charge every day. Says I use 1.08 to 2.53 kwh , how electric is not used. I'm getting ripped off. Think I'm going to change.

Disappointed from Hubbard
June 4th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback you are very important to us and we strive to bill our customers accurately. Please note that Payless Power offers a bundled rate, this includes the energy charge, delivery and meters charges. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363 for any questions or concerns.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not a happy customer!

(1.8 / 5)

  I've been a customer now for almost a year. We've had issues several times. I paid it a couple of months ago before they shut it off and they disconnected it and charged the $25 reconnect fee. I called and complained and was told there was nothing they could do. This month they granted an extension until 5 pm. At 5:10 a $25 reconnect was charged even though it was not disconnected. I will be switching and would not recommend them to anyone. I have never had so many issues from an electric company in my life!

Catrina from Odessa
March 31st, 2017

Catrina-We do apologize for the experience you had. We strongly encourage customers on making payments before the deadline as account protections are placed as a courtesy and orders are sent automatically once they are sent out minimum balance will change to negative balance + $35. Please keep in mind that time frame for service orders are delegated by your Transmission Distribution Service Provider (TDSP).

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not worth it

(1.8 / 5)

  The daily kwh rates they give through text are insane. It goes from 4-7 dollars daily the first 3 weeks of November to 17-19 dollars daily in the last week alone. I've used less energy this past week and get charged more than double. I'm certainly going to switch at this rate. And the customer service provides no help. Just horrible. My smart meter outside reads way less than what i'm told i spend. I'm pretty sure they're absolutely guessing my house's energy consumption as they've stated they will do even though i have a smart meter. Seeing as they actually respond to complaints online unlike while i'm on the phone with them, I want to see them respond to me right here. Again, horrible and completely frustrating.

Martin Santacruz from Dallas
November 30th, 2013

Thank you Martin for your feedback it's greatly appreciated. Please note that Payless Power only bills based off your daily meter reads as provided by Oncor. There is a small daily customer charge added + taxes. Thats it. We dont estimate charges and the rates do not change daily. Your charges are determined by your usage and we do not determine this. Oncor owns the meter and records and reports the usage to us for your billing. You can always double check your meter at www.smartmetertexas.com to ensure that we have billed your usage correctly. Call us at 888-963-9363 and we can provide the meter information you will need to register free of charge.

Payless Power Responds September 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible!

(1.8 / 5)

  I had to pay 600 dollars in December of 2011 and over 600 again in January of 2012 again! We thought it was a pay as you go and when i called and said i didnt use that much they said they will return the money after three months when they check the meters again! Thats all nice but that didnt help when i had to pay 600 and my rent is only 559! If you like spending lots of money than this is the company for you!

Trish from Fort Worth
January 24th, 2012

Trish- The situation that you described revolved around a plan called financial pre-paid that was associated with old analog style meters. As of 10/1/11 Payless Power stopped offering these plans to new customers. We now only offer pay as you go style plans that deduct funds daily based on your actual daily meter reads. No monthly estimates are used.

Payless Power Responds July 5th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Callz

(1.6 / 5)

  Omg if you dont want to get 10 calls a day dont be a customer i made the mistake
I am getting calls everyday for ads how great payless power is .

Sayed from Katy
May 25th, 2018

We do apologize for the inconvenience. We have a win back program that gives out promotions for returning customers, but we will be adding you to the "do not call list" if you wish.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

just horrible on day 1!

(1.6 / 5)

  I signed up for payless power today was told that if I made my payment by 3:45 I would get my services cut on for the same day. They told me submitted my order at 3:24, by 5 still no power so I called oncor they stated they had to record of a turn on at my address and stated the maximum amount of time it takes to get an order is 2 hours after submitted. I spoke to 3 representatives and a supervisor all guaranteeing my electricity would be on and it was submitted. I spoke to oncor up until they closed and they never got my turn on request. I have just purchaed groceries now they are all wasted because of them.

Moniquea Atkinson from Dallas
January 16th, 2014

Thank you for your inquiry. We apologize for the inconvenience. Please keep in mind that time frame for service orders are delegated by you Transmission Distribution Service Provider (TDSP)

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceptive Practices

(1.4 / 5)

  Garbage. I signed up for a plan that states "$50 credit after 30 days of usage." However, the fine print states "180 must be maintained, or PaylessPower can reverse the credit." Why is this garbage? Because the TOS that displays during the online sign up differs from the TOS that I was sent, and the TOS that displays when I login to my account and look under "plan documents." This 180 day requirement is nowhere to be found. Is the company technically correct? Sure. But this is extremely deceptive. Why should I not assume that the TOS shown at sign up is not the same as the TOS that is provided with the plan? Didn't think I would have to read through two different TOS sheets to know what I was signing up for. Shady and deceitful.

Jonathan from Dallas
July 24th, 2018

Jonathan- We do apologize for the misunderstanding, We will be happy to go over this issue with you to independently confirm it with you. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

VERY EXPENSIVE!!! The "Rate" is NOT the Rate!!!

(1.4 / 5)

  These people promise you a certain rate but overcharge you. The scam is to charge you far more than they advertise then "possibly" rebate you some money if you scream loud enough and meet a bunch of conditions. If you contact the company about this they act like you are just an idiot that can't do simple math to figure what they are REALLY charging you. Very deceptive marketing. Any company that has to market like this to get customers should tell you something about their dishonesty. I have had to file a complaint with the Utilities Commission. The service was so bad, I was only with the company for a few days before I switched. On a positive note, if you really like being lied to and getting ripped off, then this is the company for you!

PO'd Customer from Sealy
June 17th, 2018

We do apologize for the experience you had while using our service. We will be happy to go over this issue with you to independently confirm it with you. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do NOT use if needing elec. Same day

(1.4 / 5)

  I made an initial payment Sat afternoon for my service to start.. told it would take 4-6 hrs. Waited 6 hrs.. Nothing. Next day.. Nothing. Now here it js Monday morning & I am still without electricity. It is currently 88 in my apartment & the sun hasn't even risen yet. Not to mention i have a 6 month old whose bottles I've been taking to my office & Valero to microwave. Definitely would not recommend. Went with thia provider bc of "same day activation" but that is a lie. I would have at least appreciated honesty but to lie is so very unprofessional. Will be calling once they open back up to make complaint.

V. from Arlington
May 28th, 2018

We do apologize for the experience you had with our service. We will be happy to explain what issues took place that prevented you from getting same day service as we do guarantee same day service. Please reach out to customer care dept at 888-963-9363.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

VERY UNSATISFIED CUSTOMER

(1.4 / 5)

  I was satisfied when I called and needed my electricity turned on immeadiately and when they said they could do it today I was beyond happy, the only problem is I feel like I was scammed by this company because I paid for electricity at 2:29pm the guy said an HR and it would be on two hours later I call and the lady says it may take up to one to Six hours depending on oncore electric well it's now 6:15 and I called to get an update and everyone is closed including oncor so someone keeps to tell me if my electricity is going to be on or not I have a 7 yr old daughter and my house was supposed to be ready TODAY now thanks to the electric company I'm sleeping in my car. I pray by God's grace the lights come on tonight because if not when I call Monday I'm cancelling and telling everyone what scam artists you are!!

Michelle roberson from Newark
April 2nd, 2016

Thank you for your inquiry, We apologize for the inconvenience. Please keep in mind that time frame for service orders are delegated by your Transmission Distribution Service Provider (TDSP).

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

False Advertisement

(1 / 5)

  This company is deceiving and manipulative. They advertise are rate of 12.1 cent with no additional fees but youll never receive the rate of 12.1 cent. Ive spoken to a number of customer service agents who like to talk to you like youre stupid until you pull out a calculator and show them the numbers dont add up. Theyll place you on a long hold because they dont understand why. During this time theyre trying to come up with an excuse for the false advertisement. They try to say theres an additional TDU delivery charge but their sales agents will tell you all of the charges and fees are bundled into that 12.1 cent. Ive even called and pretend like I was a new customer, asked if there was an additional TDU charge and they will tell you no. My balance has always been over $35 yet I never receive the rate they advertise. If that isnt bad enough if your balance goes under $35 they will really start taking advantage of you. Charge as much as .20 per kWH. If you try to keep you electricity consumption down because of their high rates, they will charge you an additional $1 on top of that rate. This is completely deceiving and false advertisement. If youre ready this youve most likely been scammed by them already and youre not alone. Their sales agents and customer service representatives are trained liars.

Another Ripped Off Customer from Austin
June 6th, 2019

Hi Edward, Payless Power received this review earlier in the form of a Public Utilities Commission complaint from Alexander Blair. As with the previous complaints from Mr. Blair, Payless Power is completely willing to speak to him in order to explain his billing. If he chooses, we can also simply provide our data to the Public Utilities Commission so that they can analyze it on Mr. Blair's behalf. Although Mr. Blair has had suspicions regarding his billing throughout his time as a Payless Power Customer, the PUCT has been able to verify in the previous instances that Payless Power's billing is accurate and in alignment with his plan. Feel free to contact us at 888 963 9363 for assistance. We would love to have the opportunity to answer all your questions.

Payless Power Responds June 25th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip off

(1 / 5)

  Since the system change my usage has sky rocketed and when I called to inquire I was met with an I don't care attitude I've been with Payless power for years and have never had my usage so high im looking for another provider now

Darlene from Corpus Christi
January 20th, 2018

We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our service. We will be more than happy to go over this independently with you to verify the billing.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not What They Advertise, AT ALL!

(1 / 5)

  To make a long story short, they charged me double the amount I expected to pay. I only used about 800kw for the first month and since I never kept my balance at $35 or higher they feel its okay to charge for that. Isnt that absolutely ridiculous?! Anyway, it might be okay with other customers but to me it was unnecessary to keep putting money into my account to keep it at $35 or more in order to supposedly pay 20% less than their competitors. I highly doubt it.

Ex-Customer from McAllen
January 12th, 2018

Thank you, your feedback is very important to us. Please note that Payless Power offers a bundled rate, this includes the energy charge, delivery and meters charges. By maintaining a balance above $35 you can save 20% off our standard rate. We will be happy to go over this issue with you to independently confirm it with you.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NEW UPGRADE IS HORRIBLE

(1 / 5)

  As I am trying to pay my bill, your crappy new system cant not "find" my account with the account number I provide that you text me with everyday. Also can not find my account with my phone number, that I used to set up the account. I need to pay to avoid disconnect but NO OFFICE IS OPEN until tomorrow? What kind of company has such limited customer service hours? SWITCHING RIGHT AWAY.

FGOMEZ from McAllen
November 19th, 2017

We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We do have other payment methods in case if one isn't working out for you. We are closed on Sundays but you're more than welcome to shoot an email as we do have people who respond to them to help assist you.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

RUN RUN RUN RUN away from PAYLESS POWER

(1 / 5)

  Avoid this company is possible! Their customer service is HORRIBLE. I've never had a representative make me feel so low about not being about to pay a $25 reconnection fee for my services. VANESSA was rude and very disrespectful, after speaking with her I will be moving my services to another company that doesn't treat that customers like trash.

Stephanie Walker from Austin
June 3rd, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the experience. Here at Payless Power we strive to treat every customer with professionalism and respect.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip Off

(1 / 5)

  Renter moved and didn't pay. They put a Switch Hold on my property and so far have refused to remove it even after they have been notified the property owner is now in control of the property. They have called me and sent me emails wanting me to sign up for electric power with them and I have refused. A complaint to the BBB will be made next week.

Harold Moore
January 21st, 2017

We apologize Harold for this inconvenience, please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363 to review your account.

Payless Power Responds September 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

MONEY HUNGRY

(1 / 5)

  I have been on and off with this company for about 3 years now. The only reason i keep going back to them is it it so cheap to start up i think like 25.00 dollars. But it seems like i put money on the light every week. I have a 2 bedroom apt, not very big at all, but yet i spend anywhere from $6.00-$8.00 A DAY. That is ridiculous, i added up what i spend a month and it is around 300.00 350.00 a month, that is so crazy. I hate this company and cant wait until i can find a electric company that does not rip me off everyday.

randi c from Houston
July 26th, 2015

Randi- Thank you for commenting. We are disappointed that you have not had a positive experience. We understand that it is easy for customers to become frustrated if their usage doesnt make sense to them but we bill you daily using the very same meter reads as any other electric company in your area would use. You can also audit these reading daily by viewing your usage on www.smartmetertexas.com. This a free site operated by the State that shows you how much energy you home uses in increments from 15 minutes to a month. You can use this information to validate what your electric company bills you for and also determine what is consuming the power at your home.

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Time to switch providers......

(1 / 5)

  I have used this prepaid electric provider for more than a year and up until today they were okay, but now I saw how they really do business and I disagree. Time to change providers!!! I received a text this morning, like I do every morning, only this time it said my account was -1.53 and I should make a payment to avoid disconnection. Okay, I was at work and had to wait til I was able to take a lunch before I could make a payment. I was able to take my lunch at 230 pm which is when I made my payment, but apparently they had already shut my service off. So now half of my payment has to go to an unnecessary reconnect fee. I completely disagree with not giving people (especially those of us stuck at work) at least until close of business to bring their account current. That to me is a complete rip off.

Ashlee from Rockwall
July 24th, 2015

Ashlee- We do apologize for the inconvenience. We do understand people are busy so we offered an account protection till 5 pm to allow customers to have time on making a payment to avoid disconnections from occurring, But will need to call in to request this before a certain time as disconnection go out in waves & could occur every 30 minutes.

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ripoffs

(1 / 5)

  Was okay to start. Got daily reports on how manu KWH's we used, that was good. Then they started 'Guess-timating" and no more daily reports to our cell phone. Next thing we know, no matter how much stuff we turn off, no matter how warm we run the A/C, turn off lights, turn off comps and t.v.'s, same thing everyday. Next thing we know, up to 600 dollars a month in electricity, but getting calls weekly that we are about to be shut off.
Ask what happened to our daily KWH reports, they put a switch hold on us, even though we were paid well in advance (They do not want to ever lety you off the hook...they put a switch hold on you for pre-paid electricity? This HAS to be illegal!)
A nightmare to get rid of them and get with another company.
NEVER sign up with these absolute, unscrupulous criminals. They make the criminals at ComCast look like a reputable company!!!

J.J. Walker from Houston
June 15th, 2015

Thank you for your feedback it's greatly appreciated. We understand that it is easy for customers to become frustrated if their usage doesnt make sense to them but we bill you daily using the very same meter reads as any other electric company in your area would use. You can also audit these reading daily by viewing your usage on www.smartmetertexas.com. This a free site operated by the State that shows you how much energy you home uses in increments from 15 minutes to a month. You can use this information to validate what your electric company bills you for and also determine what is consuming the power at your home. We can assure you per Public utilities commission of Texas (PUCT) a switch-hold as an outstanding balance is owed to the company. Please feel free to reach us at 888-963-9363 for any questions or concerns.

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible customer service screwed me out of my money

(1 / 5)

  This company is horrible!!!!!!!!!!!! I've been charged daily for my electricity, but all of a sudden 31$ was taken from my account saying my meter wasn't working, and those were estimates. First of all I was told there are no estimates with this company. Second nobody is at the house and lights stay off and ac at 78 how could my bill be more than 4-8$ a day. Third the girl I spoke with was rude spoke over me would not let me get a word in, and kept talking about crap I wasn't inquiring about. I'm highly upset and am considering switching companies. This is not worth the trouble and hassle to deal with. I just want my account fixed and my money back on my account. I'm getting overcharged and screwed by these bastards.

crystal from Houston
October 24th, 2014

We understand that customers do not like estimates. We actually will never estimate your bill unless there is a delay in receiving the daily meter read. If this happens we will perform a true up the following day to make sure that your usage and payments are accurate. We will then resume using actual meter reads just like we do on a daily basis.

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Biggest ripoff ever!!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  Seems like a good idea at first and that u will save money but in reality u will be facing power shutoffs weekly with massive disconnect & reconnect fees. We ended up paying weekly what we used to pay monthly. Trying to dump them for another company is a nightmare as well. Do yourself a favor and stay far, far away from this money pit that preys on the poor.

LS Gonzalez from Corpus Christi
August 18th, 2014

We do apologize for the poor experience you had with our service. We understand that it is easy for customers to become frustrated if their usage doesnt make sense to them but we bill you daily using the very same meter reads as any other electric company in your area would use. You can also audit these reading daily by viewing your usage on www.smartmetertexas.com. This a free site operated by the State that shows you how much energy you home uses in increments from 15 minutes to a month. You can use this information to validate what your electric company bills you for and also determine what is consuming the power at your home.

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thieves & Fraudulent

(1 / 5)

  DO NOT- DO NOT- DO NOT GET THEIR SERVICE. THIS IS FRAUD AND I AM REALLY SURPRISED HOW THIS COMPANY IS STILL EVEN IN THE MARKET!!! I AM WRITING IN CAPITAL LETTERS TO SHOW JUST HOW RED MAD I AM RIGHT NOW. I'VE BEEN W THEM FOR TWO MONTHS ONLY BUT I HAVE PAID OVER $300. I JST BOUGHT A TV AND TURNED IT ON TO INSTALL IT, I GOT CHARGED $7 THE NXT DAY FOR LEAVING MY TV ON FOR 30min. I FINALLY TOLD THEM THAT I WAS SWITCHING SERVICES AND SUDDENLY A $60 HIDDEN FEE APPEARED. THIS IS MY FIRST TIME EVER WRITING A NEGATIVE REVIEW, THEY REALLY KNOW HOW TO WORK YOUR LAST NERVE! THEY'RE A FRAUD AND I'M SURPRISED THAT BBB IS ALLOWING THEM IN THEIR CIRCLE. $@%* YOU!!!!

Kavundji from Houston
August 6th, 2014

thank you for commenting. We are disappointed that you have not had a positive experience. We understand that it is easy for customers to become frustrated if their usage doesnt make sense to them but we bill you daily using the very same meter reads as any other electric company in your area would use. You can also audit these reading daily by viewing your usage on www.smartmetertexas.com. This a free site operated by the State that shows you how much energy you home uses in increments from 15 minutes to a month. You can use this information to validate what your electric company bills you for and also determine what is consuming the power at your home.

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sucks don't get it

(1 / 5)

  I thought this would be good for me since I live alone, I'm BARELY at home, they talk to you like you are making the right decision by switching to them & blah blah, well ive been with them for maybe 3 weeks now & have spent $150 on PREPAID lights wth when I had regular lights I was just paying 100 I'm turning off service TODAY, I'm fed up, I pay 40 dollars on lights they send a txt saying your balance is 25 critically low that was YESTERDAY, today I'm at $4.00. I'm tired they suck Do NOT COME TO THIS COMPANY

Mad customer from Waco
June 10th, 2014

thank you for commenting. We are disappointed that you have not had a positive experience. We understand that it is easy for customers to become frustrated if their usage doesnt make sense to them but we bill you daily using the very same meter reads as any other electric company in your area would use. You can also audit these reading daily by viewing your usage on www.smartmetertexas.com. This a free site operated by the State that shows you how much energy you home uses in increments from 15 minutes to a month. You can use this information to validate what your electric company bills you for and also determine what is consuming the power at your home.

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

most exploitative electric experience ever

(1 / 5)

  Do not use this company!! The are simply robbing people!!! I can't wait for the class action lawsuit!! I'll be first in line. Shame on them!!!!!

donna from Arlington
April 26th, 2014

I do apologize you feel that way about Payless Power. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363 to go over your plan.

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Huge rip off!

(1 / 5)

  I don't even know where to begin. Being a young person that I am, not having enough money to put down a hefty deposit with other electric company's I stupidly fell for pay less power. Me and my girlfriend are not home most of the time on weekdays because we both work. After we get off work we grab something to eat (NOT COOK) watch tv for maybe 3 house on a ENERGY STAR LCD tv and go to bed. And on the weekends we are usually out of the house enjoying our days off together. We have been doing laundry at my moms house and we cook maybe 3 times our of the week. Yes there was a cold front in our area and yes I did turn on the heater to 70.On our first few bills they charged us $5.95-7.00. I though huh that's weird I should slow down my energy consumption. And that when things got weird, I understand there was a cold front in the area, I was being charged $10-12 regularly in one day! I was paying over $50 a week in a one bedroom apartment, not doing laundry, barley cooking and barley even home. I had enough with the outrageous charges, for 3 days I decided to unplug everything and not turn on the heater at all. And i was being charged even more! I was angry and confused I called and told them the situation. all the rep told me was that yes my meter readings are odd, he told me to try not turning my heater on. I told him that's what I've been doing for three days I've unplugged everything. All he told me is that I should have my meter checked. One time my daily usage was 99khk in one day. Do you even know how ridiculous that sounds? Not even a two story 4 bedroom house uses that in one day. I had enough, I switched to Direct energy I've been with them for 2 weeks and only used $25 worth of credit IN TWO WEEKS vs $50 a week with payless. On a average work day (me and my gf at work, watching t'v for 3 hours, bed) I spend about $0.90-$2.00 a day. One day a really bad cold front came it was 30F outside our heaters were set on 74, we were home all day watching tv, baked chicken wings and even a cake did SIX loads of laundry and our daily usage for that was was only $4.50. Payless power will rip you off, they provide false meter readings, they will charge you whatever they feel like. If you're thinking of a not deposit, no credit check, prepaid electric plan go with direct energy instead.

Sonny S. from North Richland Hills
February 19th, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. Good or bad, this is an important part of customer reviews. Please note that Payless Power only bills based off your daily meter reads as provided by Oncor. There is a small daily customer charge added + taxes. Thats it. We dont estimate charges and the rates do not change daily. Your charges are determined by your usage and we do not determine this. Oncor owns the meter and records and reports the usage to us for your billing. You can always double check your meter at www.smartmetertexas.com to ensure that we have billed your usage correctly. Call us at 888-963-9363 and we can provide the meter information you will need to register free of charge.

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Complete scam

(1 / 5)

  My complete experience w/ Payless. Day one I turned the service on. 25 dollars w/ 25 dollar gift. 50 dollars how nice. Dat 2 revived txt 4.18 used. I was later told this was the amount paid a year before on that date b/c I was charged an extra 5 dollars on a later date since they couldn't get a reading for that day. Day 3 got a txt I used 17.23. I told my friend get bro tha bill was 20 dollars yesterday wtf. He said ok I will make sure to turn EVERYTHING off. Day 4 got a txt saying balance critically low 3.17 remaining 25.42 used. This is the day after we tired everything off. Do I immediately call asking why my bill is so hi never has it been over 5 a day much less 2 or 3. I was told it is "winter" that is "probably" why. I stated are you payin 20 a day for you energy the response was no of course. I submitted a meeter check. I was told this will come at the end of the month. I added another 50 so I wouldn't go negative and only 50 b/c there is a fee if you add less then 40. I then revived a txt sayin my account was "granted protection" thru 12/20/13. It is currently the the 12th of dec. 8 days prior to the 20th. Day 5 I revive a charge of 12.80. Day 6. Today. Critically low 24.90 left in account. Usage was 15.47. Now tell me why it has been less then a week and 100 dollars will b gone by the end of today. Who else can afford a 400 dollar energy bill? Y'all are OUT OF LINE. I've spoken with reps I've asked for the corporate number I was givin an adress to mail too. I asked for a supervisor I was told one will call me back. I'm still waiting. I told the rep since I've already called and nothing had been done. I'm not going to wait till the end of the month payin these prices just to see if the meeter is correct. I was told if I switch I will b charged 25. Well y'all can have y'all 25 back!! I told the rep go ahead and refund ALL the money in my account BACK onto my card y'all can HAVE that 25 back because I will SAVE MORE then 25 within 3 DAYS if I switch my service!!! I'm still waiting on the call back y'all need to be reported to some kind of agency and I am going to find out wich agency to contact. I WANT MY M***ER F***ING MONEY BACK!

Bryce from Houston
December 12th, 2013

Bryce- , we are sorry to hear you are dissatisfied with our service. We hope that you know we take comments and issues such as these very seriously, and consider every case. Please reach out to our customer care dept. at 888-963-9363 to go over your plan.

Payless Power Responds September 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't Do It--They Inflate Their Numbers!

(1 / 5)

  I signed up with Payless Power just to get my electric on quickly in rent house. They were quick with that, but the billing is SO INFLATED. I called customer service after three days because my bill was running quadruple what it should be (I wasn't even moved in yet.) The customer service agent (Marissa) had no skills and gave me canned responses. I explained the situation again and she told me that Oncor showed last year it was running 24 kwh, but they were charging me 84+ kwh! She said it would start evening out as they got true readings from Oncor. (So right there she admitted it was overestimated!) I asked about a credit for the over-inflation. She said I would get that. Well that hasn't happened either. Rather, my daily readings are all over the place and I am remaining pretty steady in electric usage (appliances still not moved to house yet.) Today, I get a text that I used 139 kwh yesterday!!!! Really????? PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE....sign up with a REAL electric company. That's what I'm going to do. Oh, and look at the following...they are charging more than their proposed 11.9 cents per kwh and their .50cents...do the math!

DateKWHAmountPer KWHNotes
27-Nov8310.80.124No appliances - thermostat 55 degrees
28-Nov8611.150.124No appliances - thermostat 55 degrees
29-Nov638.320.124Called Cust Svc - said Oncor had history of 24 KWH for last year on this date
No appliances - thermostat 55 degrees
30-Nov408.490.1991st night in house - thermostat 62 degrees
1-Dec294.130.125No appliances - thermostat 68 degrees
2-Dec537.090.124No appliances - xmas tree at night - thermostat 69 degrees
3-Dec506.720.124No appliances - xmas tree at night - thermostat 69 degrees
Used oven for 5 minutes
4-Dec537.090.12470 degrees outside and no appliances used
5-Dec364.990.12430's and sleet/small heater used -no appliances - themostat 68 degrees
6-Dec13917.70.12420's/small heater - no appliances- thermostat 68 degrees
7-Dec
86.48






Marissa - said these readings were estimates it should start stabling out over next two weeks. I asked about
credit for being billed quadruple what I should be and she said I would receive
credit on my account. She was quickly wanting to get off of the phone.


Rate should be 11.9 per kwh plus .50/day

Cheryl from Cleburne
December 7th, 2013

Cheryl- Thank you for commenting. We are disappointed that you have not had a positive experience. We understand that it is easy for customers to become frustrated if their usage doesnt make sense to them but we bill you daily using the very same meter reads as any other electric company in your area would use. You can also audit these reading daily by viewing your usage on www.smartmetertexas.com. This a free site operated by the State that shows you how much energy you home uses in increments from 15 minutes to a month. You can use this information to validate what your electric company bills you for and also determine what is consuming the power at your home.

Payless Power Responds September 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

horible

(1 / 5)

  dont use this company

robert from Killeen
December 5th, 2013

We do apologize you feel that way. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363 to go over your plan.

Payless Power Responds September 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE ZZZZZZZzz

(1 / 5)

  scam-Messing w/ my son-always try t o disconnect for additional $25 dollar reconnect. A ll messed up-not reputable & rude as well as an unprofessional nightmare. NO.SUX!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lynn Hollis from Abilene
August 3rd, 2013

Lynn- We regret to hear, you're not pleased with our service. We strongly encourage customers to maintain a positive balance or make the payment before disconnections generate as the $25 reconnection fee will apply. Please contact us at 888-963-9363 to go over your plan.

Payless Power Responds September 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This company is B.S.

(1 / 5)

  They do not have good customer service at all. They charge you to make a payment over the phone and online. Never Ever Again.

gavin from Houston
June 26th, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the experience. Here at Payless Power we strive to treat every customer with professionalism and respect.

Payless Power Responds September 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

WORST ELECTRIC COMPANY EVER!!!!

(1 / 5)

  I tried to make a few payments over ?the phone only to be told I had insufficient funds....so I hung up with them and called my bank and on three different occasions money was taken out of my account and it said payless power plain as day but they swear ?the never received a payment from me even when I faxed them my bank statement! Bottom line...this company steals money out of peoples account and they will give you ?the run around until you just leave ?the company. ?the managers name is ray honeycutt but even that name sounds fake AVOID THIS SCAM COMPANY AT ALL COST!!!

angry customer from Humble
March 3rd, 2013

We do apologize for the inconvenience. When cards are declined the payment will show processing or pending, but since the payment was declined it will be reversed as the payment was not accepted. We can confirm with our accounting dept if you like, please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363.

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horriable Company

(1 / 5)

  Everytime I try to make a payment, their automated system, or online services reject my card. Plenty of my money in my account, seems if they reject my card untill my services are cut off, so i have to pay a rediculous reconnection fee, THEY ARE THEIFS!!!! LOVE STEALING YOUR MONEY!

NO NAME WILL BE PROVIDED from FORT WORTH
June 27th, 2012

Thank you for your comment. Our automated system is designed to match billing information the card is listed to same account information we have, if none of the information match the cards info to the account then the card will declined. We do offer other payment methods in case if one isn't working.

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions