Home > Read Reviews > Payless Power > 1514584822671030078


expensive
(3.2 / 5)

  ok I've always loved payless power until now all of a sudden yall just started charging me alot.

misty from 75126
December 29th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions


Payless Power Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Payless Power are the order experience, rated at 1.94 out of 5, and their billing & account management system, rated at 1.7 of 5.

This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of Payless Power


Payless Power Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 3.6 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.






79 Reviews for Payless Power


Really great, affordable option.
(5 / 5)

  I really have no issues. Great service, and convenient ways to pay. Love being able to see what I use on a daily basis.

100 % recommended from Odessa
June 27th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great service
(5 / 5)

  Payless Power is great.

Awesome service from Fort Worth
August 18th, 2016

Thank you for the kind words.

Payless Power Responds August 23rd, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worth it
(5 / 5)

  The overall prepay part is super efficient for the two of us living in our home. We have had our usage up to about $7.00 at hour highest on a Hot day in August... And now that it is fall $2.00 in a day at our lowest.

Also, if you exceed the amount and go negative with them there is a $25 fee to turn it back on, but the $25 goes on as a deposited amount on your account. So if you were -$1 then you would have +$24 + whatever else you add with it. So it's a good company and a good way to do electric.

T.K. from Sherman
October 27th, 2015

Thank you T.K- Just to clarify about the $25 fee. We do allow our customers to waive the $25 reconnection fee once every 180 days. In these cases the $25 would go towards your account s you described. If the waiver has been used and an account is disconnected again the the $25 fee would be deducted.

Payless Power Responds December 29th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Payless Power Is Awesome
(5 / 5)

  Payless Power is awesome! They have great rates and no deposits. I get a daily text message every morning that gives me my account number, balance, and days remaining. It also tells me exactly how many KWH i used the day before. Awesome!

Byron Young from Fort Worth
September 23rd, 2015

Thank you Byron.

Payless Power Responds December 29th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Wonderful experience
(5 / 5)

  I was so worried about obtaining affordable electric service when we had to move. My credit is horrible and I could not afford a huge deposit. After checking with several companies, all whom wanted a huge deposit and as I had terrible credit the rates would have been high. Someone told me about pay as you go electric. I looked it up online and found PAYLESS POWER, heaven sent. No deposit. They even gave me 25 dollars of service free. The rates are reasonable. They send me a text everyday so I know when I am needing to add funds to my account. No hassle, no headache. They had me hooked up when promised, it has been wonderful. The bills stayed resonable even during the 100 degreee days with the ac going. I am very happy. I LOVE PAYLESS POWER!!!!!!!

Teresa Gross from Nolanville
November 15th, 2013

Ms Gross- Thank you for being a loyal customer since 8/16/12. I am glad that you have been able use the tools we make available to maintain your service and save money. Ray Honeycutt- Regulatory Compliance Manager- Payless Power

Payless Power Responds February 19th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very pleased
(5 / 5)

  I have been nothing but pleased with my service. Setting up at Ace was a breeze & my service was turned on the next morning which was a Saturday. I get daily texts of the previous days usage &my balance. I've been careful to use electricity only when necessary & have my daily usage down to $4.50 with doing 1 load of laundry plus I live in a 3000sf home. Why didn't I get Payless sooner??

TC from Rowlett
September 27th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Greener pastures
(4.8 / 5)

  Upon my last review of this company, I switched over to TXU electric. I admit, I was blown away by their $300 new customer service visa card and no deposit. A few months in and I was satisfied. No hidden fees and mama was happy. Then a month came where I paid a day late and then the following month as well. I was shocked to see a bill the next month for $758! It was a deposit for $400 due to my habitual late payments. I tried to work with them to no avail. I reflected that if I had been with Payless, it wouldn't have mattered I was needing a day extra to pay my bill because I could have gotten an extension. I mean, it was ONE FREAKING DAY. So I came back to Payless Power. I must say, I missed the daily text messages and extensions. I missed being in control of my daily usages. Why did I ever leave?!! Well I am back and happy and will never leave again. I do have one question though. When you have a protection date through..example: Account protected through 5/14/2014, does that mean you're due on the 14th or morning of the 15h? I am a little fuzzy on this one. Thanks Payless for your awesome company!

January is satisfied from Plano
May 11th, 2014

January- We are glad to have you back and thanks for the kind words. Let me clarify the protection policy. If you are granted a protection through the 14th this means that you are protected all the way until 10:00 AM on the 15th. On the 14th you can rest easy :) Ray Honeycutt- Regulatory Compliance Officer- Payless Power. ray.honeycutt@paylesspower.com

Payless Power Responds May 16th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

great for those who know....
(4.8 / 5)

  I have been a cust of Plp for over a year now and I love the pay as u go plan I pay for exactly what I use I think u need to know what Ur getting into before u agree to the service yes there is a hold that gets placed on your account but that's only if the company gives u a loan and when the loan is paid back it gets lifted common sense people I have always been treated good I especially love one of the reps name rosa the nicest person I've meet I would really recommend the service

happy cut from Dallas
July 27th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pretty good so far!
(4.6 / 5)

  We've had service for about a month. No deposit, and all of the charges are explained to you both online and on the phone when you sign up. They explain to you what the initial set-up fee is, minimum daily charges, price per KWH, etc. You can pay for a few days, you can pay for a month, it's up to you. We had to move on short notice and didn't have money for a huge deposit. We pay a few bucks extra every month for that courtesy, but I LOVE the daily updates on my balance and usage. It helps us to adjust our usage BEFORE the end of the month and getting slammed with a huge bill! It's easy, it's convenient, and they can turn on service same-day.

Cala from Sinton
August 11th, 2014

Cala- Thank you for the kind words. Pre-paid service is an excellent option for those who need service for a short time or for those who can't afford a deposit. Ray Honeycutt- Payless Power

Payless Power Responds November 11th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

confused
(4.6 / 5)

  This gets crazy. My electric balance goes up and down and the days for termination are confusing Yesterday It was good until 1 -9-2014. Today the 6th. It has done that before . I called and was told that it changes and was not an accurate record. What the ... do they even do it for then? I was snakebit when I changed . I had Smart and that was not smart. They are dilatory in all and they owe me 177.00 . I want my money and They came with some kind of... . That is why I complained to the Public Utilities Communion and the Attorney Generals office on fraud. I just want to understand what is going on with MY money.And I do not. How can it be the 9th and then the 6th when I did not have anything on?

Johnny Staten from Waco
October 26th, 2013

Mr. Staten- I'm sorry that there were elements of the service that were confusing or unclear. We do send out text message notifications with estimated paid through dates to give you a rough idea of the amount of days that you have left on your service but this is an estimate. This potentially could change daily. For instance lets is there is a customer with $100 on his account. The customer has been using an average of $5 in power so our system sends a text notification stating that there are 20 days of service. The let's say that a weather event like a severe cold front came through and due to the heater running constantly the usage jumped up to $10 per day over the next 3 days. Our system will recognize this and based on the increased usage , will adjust the paid through date. This is for your protection but it is also important to remember that the paid through date is not guaranteed. It is our best guess on a particular day. The pre-paid electricity process is very much like putting gas in your car. If you are like me and drive 50 miles to work everyday its pretty easy to guess how long that tank of gas will last but if extra trips are added the gas will not last the same length of time. I see that you are currently still our customer so feel free to contact me directly if you have any questions regarding your usage or billing- Ray Honeycutt- Regulatory Compliance Officer- ray.honeycutt@paylesspower.com

Payless Power Responds January 23rd, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cheap but wish the customer service was nicer
(4.4 / 5)

  I just got them and I am paying $1.00 to $1.25 a day! I have never paid so little for electricity in my life! I did call in to customer service to make sure I was being charged right and they said I was but they were kind of like robots. Not really nice but not really mean just kind of like they were just their doing a job. Normally I don't like this but I don't mind so much since I am paying so little.

Steve from Arlington
November 4th, 2015

Hello Steve- I am glad you are enjoying the service but regret hearing about your customer care experiences. If you would like to email me your account information to ray.honeycutt@pylesspower.com I can check on who you've spoken to and review those calls for coaching opportunities. Ray Honeycutt- MGR Customer Care and Regulatory Complaince

Payless Power Responds December 29th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

2.0 upgrade sucks!
(4 / 5)

  I been with payless for about 4 years now and until now I'm not happy with the service at all. With the new 2.0 upgrade where if you have over $35 in the account they give you a "discount " and if you don't keep the account above $35 you get charged double . I don't see this fair some of us are very thight in money and cannot afford to keep putting money to keep it over $35. I used to love payless but i think its time to change companies. Cannot afford to keep paying $5-6 a day!

D Martinez from Irving
July 8th, 2016

Hello- Thank you for your business over the past 4 years. There was a small increase of 1.2 cents across the board at the beginning of summer... as you may remember this was our first increase in 2 years. However we did implement the Flexpay discount at the same time to give the our customers a chance to lower the charges substantially. As you pointed out this will drop your rate by 3.5 cents on days where your balance is $35 or higher. Give a call though so we can do a plan review for you. There may be cheaper alternative or more current plan available to you.

Payless Power Responds August 23rd, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied
(4 / 5)

  I came to payless power last winter when my bill from another provider went from being around $100/mo to $721 for one month. They were helpfull and got my electric same day. Went out of their way to help me out and gave me a promotinal credit. I can have somewhat of an idea what is costing me in electricity. My only problem is when I use large amounts during winter months I need almost a 5day extension because I live week to week. And those large amounts are difficult to ome up with, but I do try when I can to unplug those energy drawing heaters. Company has been great though. Impatiently waiting on postpaid services??

Monica W. from Alvarado
January 8th, 2015

Thank you Monica.

Payless Power Responds January 25th, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Terms of Services, rates can change
(3.8 / 5)

  When a rate has changed you will only be notified via a txt message only. Pay as you go is currently 12.2 per kWh, if u keep a balance above 35$ it's 8.7, so there advertised 10.9 does not exist anymore(summertime excuse raise in rates). Also if you do not use above 17 kWh they can charge you a extra .50 per day. On there web page you cannot review your monthly kWh usage for comparison's, you can only pay your bill. One good thing I found out late was you can pay from your bank account without being charged 3$ that ace rips you off with, probably could have saved $100 bucks if I'd known that sooner a year ago.

Mr Anderson from Houston
June 21st, 2016

Hello- Thank you taking the time to review Payless Power. Just to clarify we do have a terms of service which is actually required by law. These documents for our various plans can be found here: https://paylesspower.com/residential-electricity/important-documents/ . We are working on a customer portal upgrade that will allow you to view your usage. You can always do this free of charge regardless of the provider you use by registering your meter at www.smartmetertexas.com . Contact our customer care department and we can provide your ESI-ID and meter # so you can register. Yes we are a variable rate company as stated to each customer during enrollment h ow we do not change our rates often. Prior to June 1 we had not raised our rates in 2 years but did lower them in 2015.

Payless Power Responds August 23rd, 2016
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Before you get Payless read this
(3.6 / 5)

  Let me start by saying that when I first switched to Payless Power, I was very impressed. The rates were reasonable with no hidden fees. I loved how I got a text message every morning and honestly this company has truly educated me on how to save on my electricity usage. Then things went weird. I figured out near beginning of summer that I could extend my account payment out by a week. This was awesome. It truly helped me. I paid a week behind every week, like clockwork. How awesome is that! However any incentives I started out with for paying a larger payment were gone. It use to be if you paid $150, $100 or $75 you'd get lower tiered rates per KWH. Gone. ok..well, they got to make money too. That was strike one, incentives gone. Then there was the small fee charged if paying less than $40 on your account. Sure, let's charge the people who obviously are scrimping pennies to pay for electricity, but it didn't effect me so much...strike two, unnecessary fees. At least with this fee I was SLIGHTLY warned ahead of time...would have been nicer for a heads up sooner. Now they have taken away my precious extension. Instead of 7 days, I now only have 4, which is counting the day of payment due. If I want to extend it 7 days I have to pay a fee. This one wasn't given to me as a warning, in fact the first time I saw it I didn't even know what it was. The second time the customer service agent did tell me prior to awarding me the extension, but not the first time, That's a hidden fee. I still can't understand why they don't text customers about changes to fees etc. Why do we have to find out last minute or in some cases after the fact? Strike 3, extension gone...strike 4, hidden fees....All in all I must say I actually did like this company. But I'm thinking its not the same company I signed up with. Maybe it is time for me to switch. If you never need an extension and want to prepay...this company is for you. If you pinch pennies and its hard to make ends meet...I'd shop around and get full details first.

January from Plano
December 21st, 2013

January, Thank you for your comments. I think they are fair. Let me address some of your concerns. 1.) Yes we did eliminate the Flex Pay discount in June of 2013. This was not a tactic to save money on our part but because only about 10-15% of our customers ever took advantage of it. Instead we eliminated the FlexPay discount and dropped the KWH rate across the board. 2.) At the end of summer 2013 we removed the minimum payment fees through all payment methods except with a live agent. Now, if you make a payment less than $25 at a cash center, through the self help line or at www.paylesspower.com there is no payment fee. If you are talking to an agent and need to make a payment smaller than $40 they will transfer you to the self help system so you can do it for free. If you want to make a payment over $40 with a live agent it is also free. 3) Yes we used to offer 7 day protections but that was cut down to 2 days for free or 5 days for $4.95 if the account is older than 2.5 months. I know this is frustrating but 7 day protections started allowing customers to always be a week behind. That's just not good business when we don't require a deposit or credit check. I will say this though... you can call and we will give you an estimated amount that it should take to get you to a certain date (First of the month, your next pay day, etc) If you make that payment then and immediately call back to the automated line and request an account protection the system will lock in your service to that date even if you run out of funds early. That's like having post paid service with no deposit 4.) if a Customer Care rep added a fee without informing you, all you or any other customer would have to do is call. A manager will review the call and if they confirm your version of the incident we will credit it back. We are a fair company and when we make an error will do what is necessary to make it right. Ray Honeycutt- Regulatory Compliance Officer- Payless Power ray.honeycutt@paylesspower.com

Payless Power Responds April 9th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So Far It's Been Good
(3.4 / 5)

  So far I like it. I started up on Monday 10-20-14. I really like bc I have bad credit and needed to have services at emergency and last minute. I have looked at Reviews from several different electricity companies. Most have the same type of complaints. Mostly all reviews in several are bad. What I liked about this is the!Supervisor canback up what went wrong and why things escalated to the point they did and how they do try to!resolve the issue if possible. I had a good experience getting the info I needed when I first called. It took me a week to make up my mind wether I wanted to switch or not I did. My first teo!days have came out to $2.91so I loved that. Of course there is a $10 charge to connect with AEP. I did call several times to get more info to be sure I had everything straighten out and questions answered. They were kind and patient with me on all this and answered my questions that I had. So it was great. The only one thing I will say is that when I went online to check my daily usage and balance. I discovered that I could've put $75 or more on my acct so they can give me $100 worth of service over a period of time. I put $50 to start off with just!to see if I was going to like it. I wish they would've told me that and I would've started my account with more $ in it. I also love that they extend you by bmp possibly 2 days if needed. Which is nice bc not others will do that for you. All in all. I so!far am happy with it. But fairly new into it. I think its goosd as long as you keep your balance off of negative and don't get a disconnection bc that's where I think a lot of the problems are started and misunderstanding are. Thank all the reps that were patient with me. And I hope I will stay with you all and it continues to be a good experience like it so far has been. I hope I continue to keep my rates low and made agood choice by!switching. Thanks.

Vanessa V from Uvalde
October 23rd, 2014

Vanessa, Thank you for the positive feedback. I apologize that you were not informed of the $75 promotion. I attempted to contact you by phone to discuss this and the cold weather usage in your home but feel free to email me at ray.honeycutt@paylesspower.com to discuss usage saving options. Ray Honeycutt- Regulatory Manager- Payless Power

Payless Power Responds January 6th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

expensive
(3.2 / 5)

  ok I've always loved payless power until now all of a sudden yall just started charging me alot.

misty from Forney
December 29th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Family Owned and Customer Oriented
(3.2 / 5)

  Recording conversations or not, I tend to
question the accuracy of an online review with
several spelling errors and grammatical issues-
as it was probably written in haste by a hot
tempered individual. This company is local and
family owned, caring about nothing more than
their customers. I found them and their great
rates through their blog, and found it more
than helpful and informational! They are a
company that gets it.

Andrea from Dallas Fort-Worth
October 21st, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DEPOSIT REFUND
(3 / 5)

  PAYLESS POWER HAS TO BE THE MOST UNORGANIZED COMPANY IN THE TEXAS AREA. I USED THEIR SERVICE SINCE AUG 2011 UNTIL SEPT 2014. I HAVE BEEN CALLING, AS THEY TELL ME TO DO SO, EVERY FEW DAYS TO CHECK ON MY DEPOSIT REFUND. THERE IS NOT ONE SINGLE PERSON IN THE ENTIRE CUSTOMER CARE CENTER THAT CAN GIVE ME AN ANSWER AS TO WHEN I WILL RECEIVE NOR HOW MUCH MY DEPOSIT WILL BE. TODAY IS 9/29/14. THERE SHOULD BE SOME KIND OF 7 - 10 DAY POLICY, AS THEY REQUIRE OF THEIR "VALUED" CUSTOMERS TO GET THEIR STUFF TOGETHER AND GIVE THE SO CALLED "VALUED" CUSTOMERS AN ANSWER. THE ANSWER WAS CALL BACK ON FRIDAY, 10/3/14. I AM EXTREMELY DISSATISFIED AND WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO ANYONE.

ANNABELL PIKE from GALVESTON TEXAS 77554
September 29th, 2014

Ms Pike- As you know I was able to resolve this issue for you back in November. Thanks for your patience and cooperation during that process. Ray Honeycutt- Regulatory Manager Payless Power ray.honeycutt@paylesspower.com

Payless Power Responds January 6th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terms & Rates not as quoted. Website portal only for payments NO INFO
(2.6 / 5)

  At first, thought Payless would be great. Was receiving daily texts of $$ charged and KWH charged.
New website rollout, since daily texts no longer include $$ spent, just total kwh and your balance remaining.
Trying to camouflage what you are actually being charged that day, without customer's calculation.
Continually told, great new stuff on website.... available soon.
Told today "it was decided" by Payless Power to not provide customers with daily $$ charged, as this will soon be available on website. The only thing available on new site other than ways to pay/fund your account, is monthly billing statement. You cannot lookup any billing/usage history in real time, need to review your texts or wait til monthly statement in mail, or online. Hell, you cannot even look up what your rate or average is. Being charged daily and getting hit with 558kw charge, with no idea what your rate is means you cannot calculate what came out of our account without seeking out prior day's "balance remaining" and deducting manually. Great way to hide rates & $$$ under guise of customer improvement. It has been decided by me to shop elsewhere
for power. Quoted rate 8.6 continually charged 11.6 /kwh Hard to detect until your monthly bill, or if you gather your texts & calculator

Magickly from Corpus Christi
January 19th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions



Updated: 02-17-2018
Example Bill
loading...
Simplify Solar