Paying too much

(2.6 / 5)

  Paying too much for electric

from Temple
July 11th, 2018

We will be more than happy to go over ways on saving. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terms & Rates not as quoted. Website portal only for payments NO INFO

(2.6 / 5)

  At first, thought Payless would be great. Was receiving daily texts of $$ charged and KWH charged.
New website rollout, since daily texts no longer include $$ spent, just total kwh and your balance remaining.
Trying to camouflage what you are actually being charged that day, without customer's calculation.
Continually told, great new stuff on website.... available soon.
Told today "it was decided" by Payless Power to not provide customers with daily $$ charged, as this will soon be available on website. The only thing available on new site other than ways to pay/fund your account, is monthly billing statement. You cannot lookup any billing/usage history in real time, need to review your texts or wait til monthly statement in mail, or online. Hell, you cannot even look up what your rate or average is. Being charged daily and getting hit with 558kw charge, with no idea what your rate is means you cannot calculate what came out of our account without seeking out prior day's "balance remaining" and deducting manually. Great way to hide rates & $$$ under guise of customer improvement. It has been decided by me to shop elsewhere
for power. Quoted rate 8.6 continually charged 11.6 /kwh Hard to detect until your monthly bill, or if you gather your texts & calculator

Magickly from Corpus Christi
January 19th, 2018

We do apologize for your experience with our service. Yes we did launch a new & improved online portal that would give you the opportunity to view your account in a more detailed format. But when that did occur still had some bugs that needed fixing so again we do apologize for the inconvenience that it caused you. The Portal is up & running excellent now.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just Got This And Already Over it.

(2.6 / 5)

  I just signed up for this bc I needed service ASAP. I was just charged over $7 on my first day. That is crazy I live in a 600 Sq Ft apartment alone. I'm adamant on not using lights when the sun is out and keep my AC at 68 degrees. They also advertised $100 credit to new customers, which I did not receive. I wish I had done more research before signing up. I will be switching asap.

Teresa Cortez from Dallas
January 14th, 2018

Teresa- Thank you for your feedback it's greatly appreciated. After reviewing your account all usage that has been reported are showing to be actual, also you could verify these reads using www.smartmetertexas.com. The $100 credit is a specific plan that offers a $10 credit every month for 10 months, unfortunately you selected a different plan that did not offer that promotion. Please feel free to reach us at 888-963-9363 for any questions or concerns.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

stephanie mason

(2.6 / 5)

  i have been paying about $30 a week for the past 2 months which i understand because we do use about 40-50kw a day my husbands check got shorted $300 last week so my account went negative $0.37 i went and put $3 on it just to make sure it didn't get disconnected since my dad was calling to put some money on it in 30 minuets he called and someone told him my account was negative $45!!! and the lowest amount they could except was $30 my electric DID NOT GET CUT OFF YET..... and my account was NOT negative $45 i checked online it said negative $0.37 and the texts i get said the same thing!! i also called myself after he told me and the lady i talked to said it wasn't negative $45 it was negative $0.37 and then a payment of $3.00 posted bringing my balance to $2.63 and then a payment(that my dad made) of $30 posted she said she reviewed my account and the notes from the call didn't show they informed him to pay $30 so shes doing a call review my dad is VERY upset with me he was only going to put $10 seeing how my husband gets paid Friday and its Wednesday...

stephanie mason from Hewitt
August 12th, 2015

Thank you Stephanie for your feedback, We do apologize you were misinformed.Please keep in mind that time frame for service orders are delegated by you Transmission Distribution Service Provider (TDSP). Please reach out for any questions or concerns at 888-963-9363.

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Meter Reads

(2.6 / 5)

  I have called a couple of times with regards to what I know are inaccurate meter charges. I had questions before the calls. However they charged me for usage of five dollars or more on days when I was either not there at all...or there with lights off and the were thermostat on 77...Then when you finally do call you get placed on hold for an eternity. Then you are told "oh the system is running slow and we can't download your info,and/or a supervisor will call you back which has yet to happen. I will call again and if I get no response take my business elsewhere. It's clearly not valued here

Rosalyn from Tomball
April 12th, 2015

Thank you for reaching out. We are disappointed that you had an unpleasant experience. We would like to hear what we could do to improve explain our processes more effectively so feel free to call us at 888-963-9363 and let us know.

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A company of thieves

(2.4 / 5)

  Tried their service on a temporary sublet. Immediately noticed the smart methods of stealing your available credit. Rates per kilowatt are as high as $2.85 cents. That's per 1 kilowatt. Just another immoral American thief.

Payless power is a THIEF ! from Houston
November 30th, 2018

Please note that Payless Power only bills based off your daily meter reads as provided by Centerpoint. There is a small daily customer charge added + taxes.We dont estimate charges and the rates do not change daily. Your charges are determined by your usage and we do not determine this. Centerpoint owns the meter and records and reports the usage to us for your billing. You can always double check your meter at www.smartmetertexas.com to ensure that we have billed your usage correctly. Call us at 888-963-9363 and we can provide the meter information you will need to register free of charge.

Payless Power Responds December 12th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ok if temporary

(2.4 / 5)

  Needed service temporarily so figured prepaid was the way to go. I paid $40 a week although I was rarely home. Great idea but too expensive.

KMC from Richmond
September 30th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, it's greatly appreciated. Payless Power does offer discounts off your usage, please contact us at 888-963-9363 to learn more.

Payless Power Responds October 11th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too Pricy

(2.4 / 5)

  Went with payless power when i moved be cause i was needing lights on asap first couple days were $2.02, and max $4 than all of a sudden got hit with a $9 charge for one day of power. me and my boyfriend are hardly home and haven't used the washer dryer dishwasher etc i red the reviews before i got payless power and i should have listened. $9 a day for a couple is crazy i used to live in a 2 story house with 4 people and we averaged about $5 to $6 a day and that was in the summer. Will be switching companies asap

margaret wallace from Humble
February 8th, 2016

Margret- We do apologize for the inconvenience. With the weather we experience from time to time we might experience a dramatic temperature decrees causing our normal usage to change from out of the ordinary versus what we use during mild temperatures , we understand if nothing in the home is being used but depending on the weather outside this can cause changes. You can verify usage that's reported directly from your meter using www.smartmetertexas.com. Please reach out to our customer care dept. at 888-963-9363 for any questions or concerns.

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Paymore Power

(2.2 / 5)

  This was the most expensive electric company I found in Texas. Rates are too high. I was paying about 100 a month. I had to find another provider asap. I switched and I am very happy now.

BB from Abilene
November 30th, 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we do regret to hear that you were not satisfied with our service.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Was Great! Until they were acquired by another company...

(2 / 5)

  We decided to go with prepaid power because we (me & my roomate) don't have enough money to pay the big bills we used to get with TXU energy. All year long 2017- the rates were great. Electricity was cheap, until recently after Hurricane Harvey.... they updated their payment system & now their service is ridiculous. They "OFFER A DEFERRED PAYMENT PLAN" - they want you to owe them money, doesnt make sense. It does make sense though for the company to put you in their pocket like that, they are raising rates and diminsh your account balance so fast that you go negative and then they allow you to run up negative $100+ and start texting you to get on their "DEFERRED PAYMENT PLAN".

What they've done may not be unethical but it is most definitely irritating, a business does have the right to change its service prices however it is no longer beneficial to use them as a electricity provider. Without getting angry and really speaking my mind, I am writing this review to let everyone know they are not worth trying and will eat your money so fast that it doesnt even make sense. I have three bedroom house and every week, were having to put money on the account.

I conserve energy and still lose it all. This review was written by me, allen. I ask all of you to feel free to shoot me a email at hello@designsbyallen.com before signing up with them so I can tell you how bad they are. I dont want to make a fool of myself by getting angry so I'll just let you all know not go with payless power aka paypwr.com

BIGGEST RIP OFF, SCAM, & HORRIBLE SERVICE

DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THEM, YOU WILL REGRET IT

Allen from Katy
January 3rd, 2018

Allen- We do apologize for your experience while using our service. During the Hurricane Harvey event we were working with the customer on suspending disconnects for the whole month while we understood customers needed to get situated after this natural disaster occurred. We were also providing a list of organizations to help assist customer who were negative after usage continue to accumulate increasing negative balances making it harder for some customer to get caught up. Our Deferred Payment Plan is a courtesy that we offer to help assist if the full payment cannot be met, we do apologize again for your experience you had while using our service.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions