We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, First Choice Power, TriEagle Energy and Gexa Energy

review

(3.8 / 5)

  good

cstacie17 from Grand Prairie
September 30th, 2018

Thanks for rating Payless Power(:

Payless Power Responds October 11th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Alright service but promotional add didn't mention daily .87 charge.

(3.8 / 5)

  Alright service but promotional add didn't mention daily .87 charge for lower usage accounts like mine was so my power bill was way more than what I had previously been paying.

Didn't see high daily charge from McKinney
July 19th, 2018

Thank you for your feedback it's greatly appreciated. Please note that Payless Power offers a bundled rate, this includes the energy charge, delivery and meters charges. By maintaining a balance above $35 you can save 20% off our standard rate.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Terms of Services, rates can change

(3.8 / 5)

  When a rate has changed you will only be notified via a txt message only. Pay as you go is currently 12.2 per kWh, if u keep a balance above 35$ it's 8.7, so there advertised 10.9 does not exist anymore(summertime excuse raise in rates). Also if you do not use above 17 kWh they can charge you a extra .50 per day. On there web page you cannot review your monthly kWh usage for comparison's, you can only pay your bill. One good thing I found out late was you can pay from your bank account without being charged 3$ that ace rips you off with, probably could have saved $100 bucks if I'd known that sooner a year ago.

Mr Anderson from Houston
June 21st, 2016

Mr Anderson- Thank you for your feedback it's very important to us. Please note that Payless Power offers a bundled rate, this includes the energy charge, delivery and meters charges. By maintaining a balance above $35 you can save 20% off our standard rate. Our web page was very limited on what you could see in regards to your account information but we are able to send you a monthly statement VIA email or mailed or per your request can send every month. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363 for anymore questions or concerns.

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Before you get Payless read this

(3.6 / 5)

  Let me start by saying that when I first switched to Payless Power, I was very impressed. The rates were reasonable with no hidden fees. I loved how I got a text message every morning and honestly this company has truly educated me on how to save on my electricity usage. Then things went weird. I figured out near beginning of summer that I could extend my account payment out by a week. This was awesome. It truly helped me. I paid a week behind every week, like clockwork. How awesome is that! However any incentives I started out with for paying a larger payment were gone. It use to be if you paid $150, $100 or $75 you'd get lower tiered rates per KWH. Gone. ok..well, they got to make money too. That was strike one, incentives gone. Then there was the small fee charged if paying less than $40 on your account. Sure, let's charge the people who obviously are scrimping pennies to pay for electricity, but it didn't effect me so much...strike two, unnecessary fees. At least with this fee I was SLIGHTLY warned ahead of time...would have been nicer for a heads up sooner. Now they have taken away my precious extension. Instead of 7 days, I now only have 4, which is counting the day of payment due. If I want to extend it 7 days I have to pay a fee. This one wasn't given to me as a warning, in fact the first time I saw it I didn't even know what it was. The second time the customer service agent did tell me prior to awarding me the extension, but not the first time, That's a hidden fee. I still can't understand why they don't text customers about changes to fees etc. Why do we have to find out last minute or in some cases after the fact? Strike 3, extension gone...strike 4, hidden fees....All in all I must say I actually did like this company. But I'm thinking its not the same company I signed up with. Maybe it is time for me to switch. If you never need an extension and want to prepay...this company is for you. If you pinch pennies and its hard to make ends meet...I'd shop around and get full details first.

January from Plano
December 21st, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, it's greatly appreciated. . Good or bad, this is an important part of customer reviews.

Payless Power Responds September 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So Far It's Been Good

(3.4 / 5)

  So far I like it. I started up on Monday 10-20-14. I really like bc I have bad credit and needed to have services at emergency and last minute. I have looked at Reviews from several different electricity companies. Most have the same type of complaints. Mostly all reviews in several are bad. What I liked about this is the!Supervisor canback up what went wrong and why things escalated to the point they did and how they do try to!resolve the issue if possible. I had a good experience getting the info I needed when I first called. It took me a week to make up my mind wether I wanted to switch or not I did. My first teo!days have came out to $2.91so I loved that. Of course there is a $10 charge to connect with AEP. I did call several times to get more info to be sure I had everything straighten out and questions answered. They were kind and patient with me on all this and answered my questions that I had. So it was great. The only one thing I will say is that when I went online to check my daily usage and balance. I discovered that I could've put $75 or more on my acct so they can give me $100 worth of service over a period of time. I put $50 to start off with just!to see if I was going to like it. I wish they would've told me that and I would've started my account with more $ in it. I also love that they extend you by bmp possibly 2 days if needed. Which is nice bc not others will do that for you. All in all. I so!far am happy with it. But fairly new into it. I think its goosd as long as you keep your balance off of negative and don't get a disconnection bc that's where I think a lot of the problems are started and misunderstanding are. Thank all the reps that were patient with me. And I hope I will stay with you all and it continues to be a good experience like it so far has been. I hope I continue to keep my rates low and made agood choice by!switching. Thanks.

Vanessa V from Uvalde
October 23rd, 2014

Thank you Vanessa for that awesome review,!

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

first time customer

(3.2 / 5)

  First time using the company. Spoke to customer service rep and helped me understand the process. Very helpful.

Stacie from Grand Prairie
September 11th, 2018

Stacie-Thank you for your feedback happy our customer care representatives were able to help you. Please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363 if you have anymore questions or concerns about your account.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Service is ok

(3.2 / 5)

  I needed a credit reference for an important application. Payless Power customer service would only give me reference from the time you have had this online site. I was a customer for a year prior but he wouldn't give that info for my application. Longevity was my whole point of requesting credit reference. It hurt me in long run to not get that information.

ok from Savoy
August 28th, 2018

We do apologize for the inconvenience. We did launch a new system therefore we could only pull up account history from the time the system transition till current day. We will be happy to assist you on a proof of service if that will help because unfortunately we don't offer letter of credits.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

expensive

(3.2 / 5)

  ok I've always loved payless power until now all of a sudden yall just started charging me alot.

misty from Forney
December 29th, 2017

Thank you Misty for your review it's greatly appreciated. With the weather we experienced your usage will come in out of the normal, but you can always verify the usage that is being reported using www.smartmetertexas.com.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Family Owned and Customer Oriented

(3.2 / 5)

  Recording conversations or not, I tend to
question the accuracy of an online review with
several spelling errors and grammatical issues-
as it was probably written in haste by a hot
tempered individual. This company is local and
family owned, caring about nothing more than
their customers. I found them and their great
rates through their blog, and found it more
than helpful and informational! They are a
company that gets it.

Andrea from Dallas Fort-Worth
October 21st, 2011

Thank you Andrea for your feedback it's greatly appreciated.

Payless Power Responds September 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Experience

(3 / 5)

  The experience is good but I think it is too pricey

Experience from McAllen
July 11th, 2018

Thank you for rating Payless Power. We do offer ways on receiving discounts please reach out to our customer care dept at 888-963-9363 for more information.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DEPOSIT REFUND

(3 / 5)

  PAYLESS POWER HAS TO BE THE MOST UNORGANIZED COMPANY IN THE TEXAS AREA. I USED THEIR SERVICE SINCE AUG 2011 UNTIL SEPT 2014. I HAVE BEEN CALLING, AS THEY TELL ME TO DO SO, EVERY FEW DAYS TO CHECK ON MY DEPOSIT REFUND. THERE IS NOT ONE SINGLE PERSON IN THE ENTIRE CUSTOMER CARE CENTER THAT CAN GIVE ME AN ANSWER AS TO WHEN I WILL RECEIVE NOR HOW MUCH MY DEPOSIT WILL BE. TODAY IS 9/29/14. THERE SHOULD BE SOME KIND OF 7 - 10 DAY POLICY, AS THEY REQUIRE OF THEIR "VALUED" CUSTOMERS TO GET THEIR STUFF TOGETHER AND GIVE THE SO CALLED "VALUED" CUSTOMERS AN ANSWER. THE ANSWER WAS CALL BACK ON FRIDAY, 10/3/14. I AM EXTREMELY DISSATISFIED AND WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO ANYONE.

ANNABELL PIKE from GALVESTON TEXAS 77554
September 29th, 2014

Thank you for the feedback, we do apologize for the inconvenience that it has caused you.

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions