Home > Read Reviews > Payless Power

Payless Power Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Payless Power are the order experience, rated at 4.4 out of 5, and their customers willingness to recommend, rated at 4.4 of 5.

Payless Power Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 4.6 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

140 Reviews for Payless Power


Payless Power is the best!!

(4.8 / 5)

  I only average about 80 bucks a month on electricity costs. Cheapest bill I ever paid!

Best power ever from Lufkin
September 26th, 2018

Thank you for being an awesome customer!

Payless Power Responds October 11th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy

(4.8 / 5)

  Easy to sign up and use.

Kent from Dickinson
August 8th, 2018

Thank you for the 5 star review!

Payless Power Responds September 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

One

(4.8 / 5)

  Ok

Daniel from Corpus Christi
July 19th, 2018

Thank you for the 5 star review!

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Greener pastures

(4.8 / 5)

  Upon my last review of this company, I switched over to TXU electric. I admit, I was blown away by their $300 new customer service visa card and no deposit. A few months in and I was satisfied. No hidden fees and mama was happy. Then a month came where I paid a day late and then the following month as well. I was shocked to see a bill the next month for $758! It was a deposit for $400 due to my habitual late payments. I tried to work with them to no avail. I reflected that if I had been with Payless, it wouldn't have mattered I was needing a day extra to pay my bill because I could have gotten an extension. I mean, it was ONE FREAKING DAY. So I came back to Payless Power. I must say, I missed the daily text messages and extensions. I missed being in control of my daily usages. Why did I ever leave?!! Well I am back and happy and will never leave again. I do have one question though. When you have a protection date through..example: Account protected through 5/14/2014, does that mean you're due on the 14th or morning of the 15h? I am a little fuzzy on this one. Thanks Payless for your awesome company!

January is satisfied from Plano
May 11th, 2014

Thank you for that awesome feedback. You did the right thing and came back to Payless Power!

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

great for those who know....

(4.8 / 5)

  I have been a cust of Plp for over a year now and I love the pay as u go plan I pay for exactly what I use I think u need to know what Ur getting into before u agree to the service yes there is a hold that gets placed on your account but that's only if the company gives u a loan and when the loan is paid back it gets lifted common sense people I have always been treated good I especially love one of the reps name rosa the nicest person I've meet I would really recommend the service

happy cut from Dallas
July 27th, 2012

Thank you for the 5 star review. Thank you for understanding how our service works & also for the recommendations( :

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

survey

(4.6 / 5)

  Everything goes fairlT well, prices are just a little on the high side.

ashley stine from Sweeny
December 26th, 2018

Thank you Ashley for your feedback it's greatly appreciated. Payless Power does offer ways on receiving a discount on your usage. Please contact us at 888-963-9363 so we can provide you this information.

Payless Power Responds January 21st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great

(4.6 / 5)

  The service was awesome

Norberto from San Angelo
November 6th, 2018

Thank you for being an awesome customer!

Payless Power Responds January 21st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

customer services

(4.6 / 5)

  It was good and easy

Matthew from Houston
October 6th, 2018

Thank you Matthew for taking the time on providing your feedback, it's greatly appreciated.

Payless Power Responds October 29th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Omar

(4.6 / 5)

  It was good

OC from Harlingen
September 8th, 2018

Thank you Omar for the 5 star rating!!

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pretty good so far!

(4.6 / 5)

  We've had service for about a month. No deposit, and all of the charges are explained to you both online and on the phone when you sign up. They explain to you what the initial set-up fee is, minimum daily charges, price per KWH, etc. You can pay for a few days, you can pay for a month, it's up to you. We had to move on short notice and didn't have money for a huge deposit. We pay a few bucks extra every month for that courtesy, but I LOVE the daily updates on my balance and usage. It helps us to adjust our usage BEFORE the end of the month and getting slammed with a huge bill! It's easy, it's convenient, and they can turn on service same-day.

Cala from Sinton
August 11th, 2014

Thank you Cala for the 5 star review!!

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

confused

(4.6 / 5)

  This gets crazy. My electric balance goes up and down and the days for termination are confusing Yesterday It was good until 1 -9-2014. Today the 6th. It has done that before . I called and was told that it changes and was not an accurate record. What the ... do they even do it for then? I was snakebit when I changed . I had Smart and that was not smart. They are dilatory in all and they owe me 177.00 . I want my money and They came with some kind of... . That is why I complained to the Public Utilities Communion and the Attorney Generals office on fraud. I just want to understand what is going on with MY money.And I do not. How can it be the 9th and then the 6th when I did not have anything on?

Johnny Staten from Waco
October 26th, 2013

Please note that Payless Power only bills based off your daily meter reads as provided by the TDSP. There is a small daily customer charge added + taxes. Thats it. We dont estimate charges and the rates do not change daily. Your charges are determined by your usage and we do not determine this. Oncor owns the meter and records and reports the usage to us for your billing. You can always double check your meter at smartmetertexas.com to ensure that we have billed your usage correctly. Call us at 888-963-9363 and we can provide the meter information you will need to register free of charge.

Payless Power Responds September 27th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good service

(4.4 / 5)

  We like the service. But are not to keen about being billed more for less usage and less for more usage. But it's still a lot better than what we we are used to.

Tx res. from Waco
May 20th, 2019

Thank you for your feedback it's greatly appreciated! We will be more than happy to go over your billing independently. Also provide tips on saving off your usage! Please contact us at 888-963-9363.

Payless Power Responds June 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

quick payment

(4.4 / 5)

  It was fast and easy to pay

tianna from Tyler
July 6th, 2018

Happy we could make your experience using our service easy & convenient as possible!

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cheap but wish the customer service was nicer

(4.4 / 5)

  I just got them and I am paying $1.00 to $1.25 a day! I have never paid so little for electricity in my life! I did call in to customer service to make sure I was being charged right and they said I was but they were kind of like robots. Not really nice but not really mean just kind of like they were just their doing a job. Normally I don't like this but I don't mind so much since I am paying so little.

Steve from Arlington
November 4th, 2015

Hello Steve- I am glad you are enjoying the service but regret hearing about your customer care experiences. If you would like to email me your account information to ray.honeycutt@pylesspower.com I can check on who you've spoken to and review those calls for coaching opportunities. Ray Honeycutt- MGR Customer Care and Regulatory Complaince

Payless Power Responds July 5th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

paymebt method

(4.2 / 5)

  customer service ,payment method

Daniel Chapa from Abilene
September 5th, 2018

Daniel- Thank you for the feedback it's greatly appreciated.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied

(4.2 / 5)

  Satisfied

Cc from Dallas
July 14th, 2018

Thank you for rating Payless Power.

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Happy customer

(4.2 / 5)

  I've been a happy customer for several years now. Was kind of disappointed to find out price went up. Has went up twice since I've been with them. And have been a few times they had problems with meters and completely overcharged due to weather circumstances. Customer service was not able to explain, help or correct the situation. But I can't really see myself leaving this company over these issues. Nothing in life is perfect! Lol. Would definitely and have recommended to several friends who are satisfied as well. My only remaining concern is that as of June 18th 2018 I was told payments less than twenty dollars will not be accepted. I really hope this is not the beginning of the end of their easy, convenient service. Time will tell.

Cortney from Fort Worth
June 9th, 2018

Courtney- Thank you for taking the time on providing your feedback it's greatly appreciated. The weather is going to be the main factor on your usage as it will cause it to fluctuate from time to time, If ever in doubt you could always verify these reads using www.smartmetertexas.com to verify all usage being report is actual & will update every 15 minutes to show you what you're consuming in the home. Yes our minimum payment did increase to $20 but if you would like to pay less than the minimum required you could go to any money gram location and pay there. Thank you for being such a loyal & understanding customer!

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My review

(4 / 5)

  Way cheaper than month to month service. My whole month only runs $50.00.

Angie from Lufkin
July 10th, 2018

Thank you Angie for the review ( :

Payless Power Responds September 25th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

2.0 upgrade sucks!

(4 / 5)

  I been with payless for about 4 years now and until now I'm not happy with the service at all. With the new 2.0 upgrade where if you have over $35 in the account they give you a "discount " and if you don't keep the account above $35 you get charged double . I don't see this fair some of us are very thight in money and cannot afford to keep putting money to keep it over $35. I used to love payless but i think its time to change companies. Cannot afford to keep paying $5-6 a day!

D Martinez from Irving
July 8th, 2016

We do apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. Please note that Payless Power offers a bundled rate, this includes the energy charge, delivery and meters charges. By maintaining a balance above $35 you can save 20% off our standard rate. Also This encourages customer from never allowing balance to fall negative risking disconnection.

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Satisfied

(4 / 5)

  I came to payless power last winter when my bill from another provider went from being around $100/mo to $721 for one month. They were helpfull and got my electric same day. Went out of their way to help me out and gave me a promotinal credit. I can have somewhat of an idea what is costing me in electricity. My only problem is when I use large amounts during winter months I need almost a 5day extension because I live week to week. And those large amounts are difficult to ome up with, but I do try when I can to unplug those energy drawing heaters. Company has been great though. Impatiently waiting on postpaid services??

Monica W. from Alvarado
January 8th, 2015

Monica, thank you for that great feedback happy we could help you on lowering your bill. Yes hopefully postpaid service will be available soon, stick around to see!(:

Payless Power Responds September 26th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Example Bill
loading...