Home > Read Reviews > Pennywise Power


Pennywise Power Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Pennywise Power are the order experience, rated at 2.2 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.0 of 5.


Pennywise Power Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 3.4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.






151 Reviews for Pennywise Power


Excellent company
(5 / 5)

  I have been with Pennywise for 1 year. I've had excellent service, excellent prices (very low electric bills for 800-1750 kw used). I have no complaints with them at all. My 1 year contract is expiring, though, and I will get a better plan with a different company. Sorry to leave Pennywise.

Susan from Rowlett
June 29th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Free Power
(5 / 5)

  I took advantage of their 6 month plan that offered a $40 @ month credit. I paid $10 for power for April to September. More than satisfied, actually danced all summer long.

Michael from Houston
September 24th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

no problems here so far.
(5 / 5)

  Been with pennywise for three years, never had a problem with them. Got my 50 off bill as advertised.

John from Baytown
July 16th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Energy broker
(5 / 5)

  I've used Pennywise for my personal residence many times and have been very happy. The short term offers have yielded the best savings for me. While I work in this industry I do not represent Pennywise but would highly recommend them.

Kimberly Morgan from Mckinney
June 30th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great company, great prices
(5 / 5)

  Great prices, awesome customer service. So glad I left the scam artists known as Just Energy for a legit company. A++++ all the way!

ryan c from Houston
October 1st, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great!!
(5 / 5)

  I bought my first house in March 2013. Compared prices and went with pennywise power. I have had no problems whatsoever. Prices have been fair, right now I am doing month to month because my 1 year has gone out. They didn't notify me, but the prices really haven't changed drastically it is still about the same. I have paperless bill and automatic withdrawal and have had no problems with this company. Customer service is great as well.

Zach from Waxahachie
June 19th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great!
(5 / 5)

  Everything was great with Pennywise. Simple straight forward billing. Even after the contract expired, the month to month rate was not a huge increase. We would stay, but the lowest rates are only for new customers.

Victoria from Tarrant County
May 6th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Rates
(5 / 5)

  Good Rates

Jon from Houston
May 1st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

It's all about the rate!
(5 / 5)

  I was with Texas Power for two years. I had no issues with TP however when my contract came up, I researched and found they were not the lowest priced player so I switched to Pennywise. So far so good. My rate is dirt cheap and it is charged automatically to my credit card so I get miles to boot. I have come to the realization that power in texas is all the same because Oncor (in Dallas) owns the lines and these players are just resellers. Go with the low rate and keep switching. It's like when you would switch long distance providers back in the day. It's a commodity.

K. Smith from Plano
July 17th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pennywise Power Review
(5 / 5)

  I am so pleased with Pennywise Power. I switched to Wise Buy Monthly and simply check the energy cost on a monthly basis to see if I want to sign a contract or switch but there has been no significant increase. My electricty bill is now half of my previous supplier's bill. The rates are a great value, it was easy to sign up on-line, the switch was seamless - there was absolutely no problem with my power during the switch, I receive my bill via email notification, the bills and auto-draft have been accurate. I have called Customer Service and received very professional and informative information.

Diane T from Richmond
September 24th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

bargain-bargain-bargain
(5 / 5)

  I tried Pennywise because I wanted a short term acct. (selling house); the 6 mo. deal at 7.9 cents/kwh saved me a bundle! No issue with customer service; monthly bill is paid automatically. Starting service was a snap. The current 6 mo. deal is higher; may try mo.-to-mo.- it is dirt cheap!

S. Szymanski from Tomball
June 7th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good for Houston
(4.8 / 5)

  Have read some really bad reviews. I have been with this company for 16 months including moving my service from one location to another. I have never had any problems with this company and have saved on my electric bills. They did go up on rates after my contract ended this month but their new rates are competitive. There are lower plans with other companies but that was not enough to risk changing. Pennywise notifies you that your plan is about to change. The previous company did not and they gouged me with a month-to-month plan for not contacting them.

Dee from Houston
October 14th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent Service!!! No Billing Problems!!!
(4.8 / 5)

  I have been a customer of Pennywise Power for 1 year (Feb. 2012 - Feb. 2013) I have had NO Problems. With service or Billing! paying 7.9 cents per KwH. FYI - They are a sister company to Reliant so they have a large operation to help keep things running properly.

Gail Parnell from Southlake
February 28th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Short and Painless
(4.6 / 5)

  Signed for a 12 month fixed all online, automatic bill pay, never messed up on anything. After the year was up, I was automatically switched to month to month, bill still isn't high. Highest bill I've paid has been about $48, one bedroom apartment 685 sq ft.

Kam H. from Houston
April 13th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Savings, Great Prices, Self Service :)
(4.6 / 5)

  I don't know why anyone would give this company a bad review.We've been
with them 9 months and the only problem I have is deciding what iam going to do
with all the money I save.Pennywise has cut my bill down 35%.I live in a
modern 2-story,4bedroom,2400 sq ft house & run my ac/heat day & night
(even when iam not home)my bill has never been more than $100.I do also pay
a gas bill to atmos that's between $20-$50 but even with that combined amount
it's a heck of a deal considering my last house had $180-300 electric bills for a
new but smaller 1400sqft duplex.I found them on powertochoose.org after doing
lots of research on the other companies to get the best low contract rate. Iam so
happy we switched.Be warned that pennywise drafts directly out of your account
(no option to do it otherwise) but you can pay early if you wish.Also refundable
deposit required, & lastly the hold time for customer service is long but they allow
you full account management online so no need to call.

M. Barnes from Fort Worth
April 8th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

FABULOUS RATES
(4.6 / 5)

  I have been in absolute shock that my electric bill in the middle of the highest heat and greatest drought I can ever remember, has been a modest $200 top for over 2000 sq feet. I'm all about saving money. I have had no need for customer service of any kind. I took out a 3 mo fixed and did receive a notice that that was coming to an end.

GW from Belton
August 19th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overall very well pleased
(4.5 / 5)

  The prices offered are excellent, service has been seamless, and the only difference I have found between Pennywise and TXU is the amount of money I pay Pennywise for electricity which is significantly less.

Anonymous from Dallas
January 9th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

good experience but leaving to get promotional rate elsewhere
(4.4 / 5)

  I don't have time to do a review but I know good reviews are rare since warning people of bad experiences is much more compelling! I'm using voice recognition so ignore any weird errors. I'm too lazy to fix them, But this site has been useful to me so I wanted to reciprocate. This company worked out well for me. I did use customer service and they were helpful. The transition to them from the other company was seamless and invisible. My bills were accurate (or, actually, so low I didn't check them) and arrived on time online And were automatically charged my credit card correctly. My bills were much lower than my previous company but that's a function of the rate I got.

I'm only changing because promotional rates are always better than the rate they can offer existing customers even with the little five dollar credit per month for renewing. The customer service rep did point out that I could change to a variable plan for even one month and become a new customer of Penneywise again but I don't know if I'll bother.

Deborah Luik from Bellaire
April 30th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very good for me
(4.4 / 5)

  I see a lot of bad reviews on Pennywise, but my experience has been just fine -- just cheaper than the others. I am sure that different companies have the lowest rate at any given time, but for a 12 month deal it was the lowest when I signed up. I could see that they were new to our area, but I appear to have gambled and won (so far)!

Robert Thornton from Fort Worth
September 28th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overall Satisfied
(4 / 5)

  I am overall satisfied with Pennywise Power. I have been with them through 2 - one year plans, simply because they had a lower rate and a decent customer satisfaction rating. You can't always trust these sites because it's usually just the negative reviews that get posted - NO COMPANY IS PERFECT. I am probably going to leave them this month, but it is just due to someone else offering me a lower rate that Pennywise refuses to match.

Aaron Hebert from Houston
March 15th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions



Updated: 11-16-2018
Example Bill
loading...