Find another company
If you sign up for promotion, just be sure to keep track of the dates. When our promotion was over, our bills doubled, sometimes tripled. Pennywise has exorbitant fees as well. If you are at all late paying your bill, even by a day, they charge you a $20 fee for sending you a disconnect notice in addition to the a late penalty fee. Representatives are by the book and couldn't care less about helping. Lastly, they were originally Discount Power, then went to Pennywise, then went back to Discount Power. Good luck keeping track of all of their changes.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amanda from Spring, TX on March 27th, 2019
Scammed After Discount Power Acquisition
Same as the other reviews here, I was a Discount Power customer. Once Pennywise took over, my rates "doubled", my usage "tripled", and my bills QUADRUPLED. I went from a $100 avg monthly bill year after year, to a sudden $432 bill. This should be illegal. Cancelling immediately.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Houston, TX from La Porte, TX on March 15th, 2019
AVOID PENNYWISE POWER AT ALL COSTS
I should have read the complaints online before being lured to switch. Do not be fooled by the low rates advertised - my bill increased by hidden flat fees to TEN TIMES the amount of previous bills. Their customer service is THE WORST. Youll be on the phone for half an hour before you speak to anyone and they never respond to emails or inquiries online. Go with any other provider!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Crystal M. from University Place, TX on March 14th, 2019
Worst Power Company I Dealt With
I called in to set up a new account in January 2019 when my then provider, Discount Power, changed to Pennywise Power. The representative informed me of a Pennywise 7 plan and asked if I wanted to lock in the rate for the new plan when my current plan expires. She said I could still shop for better rates when the time comes. Within a month they switched my old plan (which expires in May) to the new plan. I was confused and called them to check to see what happened. They said they would investigate and get back to me within 48-72 hours. Right after the call, I checked the current rates and realized the Pennywise 7 plan was in fact cheaper and called them back within minutes to cancel the investigation. A day later I got a call saying they reversed my plan to the old one (my payment due was increased), they had no details on the Pennywise 7 plan and they had no record of my second call to cancel the investigation. If the new rate was not in my favor, they would not have done the reversal this fast and deleted all the records from their system. Bad company to do business with. Buyer be aware!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Myfirstreview from Houston, TX on March 7th, 2019
PENNYWISE, POUND FOOLISH - SIGN PETITION TO END MUST REMAIN A CUSTOMER THROUGH ACQUISITION OR PAY AN EARLY TERMINATION FEE
I have had nothing but wonderful service from all other electric companies (except I switched from Reliant when they didn't notify me after 36 months contract was ending and rates skyrocketed so I left them after 11 years).

Recently Pennywise acquired Discount Power and its being disappointing to say the least. I was set up on automatic payment for the past 4 years and was told nothing was changing with the acquisition but the name. NOT SO! All I would receive from Pennywise is an email of an amount owed, no itemization on why I owed that amount. My rates have increased significantly with Pennywise versus all other electric companies.

Will you join me in a PETITION to make it against the law for companies to arbitrarily assign your account to another company and you don't have any say so. We are sheep just to follow nor slaves with no choices. We are the CONSUMER paying for services and shouldn't be stuck with a company you don't want to do business with. I LIKEN IT TO BEING FORCED TO BE MARRIED TO A PERSON AND THE LAW SAYS YOU CAN'T DIVORCE THEM. When businesses force you to be their customer and you don't want to be their customer that should be against the LAW. I do not want to be a Pennywise customer at all and should not be forced to pay a early termination penalty to decline being assigned to their company and NEITHER should any consumer be forced to do business with any company they don't want to pay their hard earn dollars to! Write to you legislators and consumer groups to protect our rights that if a company is sold and after the assignment the consumer has the right to decline participation within 90 days of the acquisition without cause. If you don't agree with the moral, integrity, and/or service, consumers should not have to reward them with our dollars! Think about it and voice your concerns. Consumers matter and we should have the right to whom we want to do business with.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unhappy Acquired Customer from 77271 on February 26th, 2019
No Bill Received and then Disconnect
Pennywise took over my electricity from Discount Power. I was not aware of this initially and received no bill for January. Pennywise never sent a bill and I did not know what company even had my account. I am never late paying my bills. I received a disconnect notice on Thursday and Friday my power was shut off. Pennywise claimed they sent bills to my e-mail address, but they did not. I did not have an account set up. I tried to set up an account and they require a ESI ID #! There is no ESI ID # on my disconnect notice and there is no ESI ID # on my meter. What kind of customer service is this! Lousy....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alan Wander from Katy, TX on February 23rd, 2019
I don't like them
I was switched from Discount Power without any say. I got no bills until I got a notice of pending disconnect. They had placed me on a month to month plan at 1 1/2 the previous price, without contract nor notice. After checking around, I switched to WIndrose. Would recommend that you avoid Pennywise.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Funnerr from Houston, TX on February 16th, 2019
Switch from direct
Never got any notification about change in mail or email about change until bill past due
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pennywise Sux from Houston, TX on February 15th, 2019
Lack of notice lead to late chargers and threats to shut off my service -
Evidently as a Discount Power customer, my account was automatically transferred to pennywise power, however I was never notified about the change by mail or email. Now that I am on Pennywise Power, I have no idea what my cost per kWh is nor do I have any idea what my terms and conditions are. The most frustrating part is that because they transferred me over without notification, automatic payments were stopped on Discount Power account and were never initiated with Pennywise. Therefore I had over $60 worth of late charges applied to my account. The only reason I was made aware of being a Pennywise customer was due to receiving a pink notice in the mail saying my power was going to be shut off in a matter of days. Of course it was sent on a Friday, and their customer service hours are Mon-Friday 8am-5pm only, so I guess this will have to wait until Monday. Terrible customer service especially in a customer acquisition situation. Pennywise lost my trust from the beginning.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nicole from Humble, TX on February 8th, 2019
Very disappointed they acquired Discount Power!
We were Discount Power customers for years and enjoyed great service, rates and customer service. Recently, Pennywise acquired Discount, and all aspects are deplorable. They did not receive the terms of our 24 month price plan, and our first two bills are double what they should be. Called numerous times during the transition to ensure this wouldnt happen, and now it has. Very dissatisfied!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Galveston Customer Unhappy! from Houston, TX on January 4th, 2019







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Pennywise Power are their plans and pricing, rated at 1.8 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 1.5 of 5.
5 Stars
9%
 
4 Stars
7%
 
3 Stars
10%
 
2 Stars
11%
 
1 Stars
63%
 
1.5 / 5
Overall
1.8 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
1.4 / 5
Order Experience
1.5 / 5
Customer Service
1.5 / 5
Billing and Account Management
1.3 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About Pennywise Power



Recommended Electricity Plans