We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, TriEagle Energy, Champion Energy Services and Gexa Energy

Find another company

(1 / 5)

  If you sign up for promotion, just be sure to keep track of the dates. When our promotion was over, our bills doubled, sometimes tripled. Pennywise has exorbitant fees as well. If you are at all late paying your bill, even by a day, they charge you a $20 fee for sending you a disconnect notice in addition to the a late penalty fee. Representatives are by the book and couldn't care less about helping. Lastly, they were originally Discount Power, then went to Pennywise, then went back to Discount Power. Good luck keeping track of all of their changes.

Amanda from Spring
March 27th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scammed After Discount Power Acquisition

(1 / 5)

  Same as the other reviews here, I was a Discount Power customer. Once Pennywise took over, my rates "doubled", my usage "tripled", and my bills QUADRUPLED. I went from a $100 avg monthly bill year after year, to a sudden $432 bill. This should be illegal. Cancelling immediately.

Houston, TX from Houston
March 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AVOID PENNYWISE POWER AT ALL COSTS

(1.2 / 5)

  i should have read the complaints online before being lured to switch. Do not be fooled by the low rates advertised - my bill increased by hidden flat fees to TEN TIMES the amount of previous bills. Their customer service is THE WORST. Youll be on the phone for half an hour before you speak to anyone and they never respond to emails or inquiries online. Go with any other provider!

Crystal M. from Dallas
March 14th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Power Company I Dealt With

(1 / 5)

  I called in to set up a new account in January 2019 when my then provider, Discount Power, changed to Pennywise Power. The representative informed me of a Pennywise 7 plan and asked if I wanted to lock in the rate for the new plan when my current plan expires. She said I could still shop for better rates when the time comes. Within a month they switched my old plan (which expires in May) to the new plan. I was confused and called them to check to see what happened. They said they would investigate and get back to me within 48-72 hours. Right after the call, I checked the current rates and realized the Pennywise 7 plan was in fact cheaper and called them back within minutes to cancel the investigation. A day later I got a call saying they reversed my plan to the old one (my payment due was increased), they had no details on the Pennywise 7 plan and they had no record of my second call to cancel the investigation. If the new rate was not in my favor, they would not have done the reversal this fast and deleted all the records from their system. Bad company to do business with. Buyer be aware!

myfirstreview from Houston
March 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

PENNYWISE, POUND FOOLISH - SIGN PETITION TO END MUST REMAIN A CUSTOMER THROUGH ACQUISITION OR PAY AN EARLY TERMINATION FEE

(1.4 / 5)

  I have had nothing but wonderful service from all other electric companies (except I switched from Reliant when they didn't notify me after 36 months contract was ending and rates skyrocketed so I left them after 11 years).

Recently Pennywise acquired Discount Power and its being disappointing to say the least. I was set up on automatic payment for the past 4 years and was told nothing was changing with the acquisition but the name. NOT SO! All I would receive from Pennywise is an email of an amount owed, no itemization on why I owed that amount. My rates have increased significantly with Pennywise versus all other electric companies.

Will you join me in a PETITION to make it against the law for companies to arbitrarily assign your account to another company and you don't have any say so. We are sheep just to follow nor slaves with no choices. We are the CONSUMER paying for services and shouldn't be stuck with a company you don't want to do business with. I LIKEN IT TO BEING FORCED TO BE MARRIED TO A PERSON AND THE LAW SAYS YOU CAN'T DIVORCE THEM. When businesses force you to be their customer and you don't want to be their customer that should be against the LAW. I do not want to be a Pennywise customer at all and should not be forced to pay a early termination penalty to decline being assigned to their company and NEITHER should any consumer be forced to do business with any company they don't want to pay their hard earn dollars to! Write to you legislators and consumer groups to protect our rights that if a company is sold and after the assignment the consumer has the right to decline participation within 90 days of the acquisition without cause. If you don't agree with the moral, integrity, and/or service, consumers should not have to reward them with our dollars! Think about it and voice your concerns. Consumers matter and we should have the right to whom we want to do business with.

Unhappy Acquired Customer from Houston
February 26th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Bill Received and then Disconnect

(1 / 5)

  Pennywise took over my electricity from Discount Power. I was not aware of this initially and received no bill for January. Pennywise never sent a bill and I did not know what company even had my account. I am never late paying my bills. I received a disconnect notice on Thursday and Friday my power was shut off. Pennywise claimed they sent bills to my e-mail address, but they did not. I did not have an account set up. I tried to set up an account and they require a ESI ID #! There is no ESI ID # on my disconnect notice and there is no ESI ID # on my meter. What kind of customer service is this! Lousy....

Alan Wander from Katy
February 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I don't like them

(1.4 / 5)

  I was switched from Discount Power without any say. I got no bills until I got a notice of pending disconnect. They had placed me on a month to month plan at 1 1/2 the previous price, without contract nor notice. After checking around, I switched to WIndrose. Would recommend that you avoid Pennywise.

Funnerr from Houston
February 16th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

switch from direct

(1 / 5)

  never got any notification about change in mail or email about change until bill past due

pennywise sux from Houston
February 15th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lack of notice lead to late chargers and threats to shut off my service -

(1 / 5)

  Evidently as a Discount Power customer, my account was automatically transferred to pennywise power, however I was never notified about the change by mail or email. Now that I am on Pennywise Power, I have no idea what my cost per kWh is nor do I have any idea what my terms and conditions are. The most frustrating part is that because they transferred me over without notification, automatic payments were stopped on Discount Power account and were never initiated with Pennywise. Therefore I had over $60 worth of late charges applied to my account. The only reason I was made aware of being a Pennywise customer was due to receiving a pink notice in the mail saying my power was going to be shut off in a matter of days. Of course it was sent on a Friday, and their customer service hours are Mon-Friday 8am-5pm only, so I guess this will have to wait until Monday. Terrible customer service especially in a customer acquisition situation. Pennywise lost my trust from the beginning.

Nicole from Houston
February 8th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very disappointed they acquired Discount Power!

(1 / 5)

  We were Discount Power customers for years and enjoyed great service, rates and customer service. Recently, Pennywise acquired Discount, and all aspects are deplorable. They did not receive the terms of our 24 month price plan, and our first two bills are double what they should be. Called numerous times during the transition to ensure this wouldnt happen, and now it has. Very dissatisfied!

Galveston customer unhappy! from Galveston
January 4th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Incompetent Service - Incapable of problem solving

(1.4 / 5)

  I called to transfer my plan from my roommate's name to mine and they ended cancelling my contract, making a new one, and never sending me an email or mail to setup my new account online. I was not aware of this new account. I set automatic payments on the old account but I was never charged and I didn't noticed because I was traveling abroad for work with limited internet access. They disconnected the power in my house without previous or timely notice. On the phone, they did not have the ability to tell me how much I owed, how to pay, when they would re-connect the power, or any other information-solution whatsoever. During phone conversations they made false statements such as "the house leasing office took over this bill", or "the power will be reconnected between 24-48 hours". After another call, another operator was able to find the account and the amount I owed, which I payed. 4 days later, the house has no power, and still counting. Story is longer than that, but to wrap this up, their email management is pathetic too.

Patricia Varela from Houston
December 15th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dishonest company

(1 / 5)

  When they took over Discount Power I told them I would stay with them if they offered me a comparable plan. Taking advantage of my lack of knowledge on the matter, I'm now stuck in a plan that is extremely expensive (my bills went from $30-50 to $164) and if I want to cancel it I'd have to pay $150. It will be cheaper for me to cancel it and pay that fee than to continue with them.

Jem from Houston
December 12th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Transition

(1.8 / 5)

  Pennywise just acquired Discount Power. The information Pennywise provided for transitioning from Discount Power accounts was wrong (including account numbers) and customer support was non existent.....quit on hold after 20 minutes. Wouldn't you think during a migration extra customer service reps would be available. If this little attention to detail is exhibited during this honeymoon period I'm anxious about what comes next. Also bothered me that you can't find the names of Pennywise company officers on any websites which can only make one wonder why.

Laissez faire from Pinehurst
November 19th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do Not Do Business with these Lying Crooks

(1 / 5)

  I called and set a date to turn on my service. They did not turn the service on. I called them on said date and they said it wouldn't be on until yesterday. I cancelled service and said I would not be paying the startup fee since they did not honor the contract date. They kept my service on without my knowledge and then blocked service from another provider. I've had to spend HOURS over the phone with these lying crooks. I have gone to the BBB and finally got a call from someone named Clancy Brown who said that all would be refunded and I wouldn't be charged. Then the BBB tells me that they require I call them and cancel service, even though I have done so on multiple occasions. Then they send me a bill for $310.

Do not believe a word that they say over the phone, it doesn't matter if it's coming from someone higher up the food chain.

Jeff from Houston
September 14th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Couldnt be more disappointed

(1 / 5)

  Signed up with Pennywise power. Sent two forms of ID, and paid $168 deposit. That was all on May 31 and June 1. My power was supposed to switch on 14 June. On June 13 I get a letter saying that they had canceled my account. So I call theCustomer care and they said sorry that plans no longer available all we can do is offer you a more expensive policy. Worst customer service there wasnt even a manager to speak with.

Craig from Fort Worth
June 13th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay away from Pennywise Power!!!

(1 / 5)

  Worst. Company. Ever! Stay away from this HORRIBLE business. I never signed up for service when I made them aware of the problem and that I did not even reside at the residence anymore, they STILL continued to bill me and eventually sent me to collections and affected my credit score. Its pathetic that this Texas company takes advantage of Texans. Sad. Clearly crooks.

Andrew P from Dallas
May 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont honor contract

(1 / 5)

  On my contract I am supposed to pay less than what my bill has been. Ive called Pennywise one month ago. And then two weeks ago they still have not gotten back with me and said my case is still pending. After my contract is up I will not re-sign with them. I even offered to forward them the email that was sent to me with my contract and the amount I am supposed to pay. They told me they dont need that. But I am still paying the higher price. I also sent a email a week ago and I have not got a response back. This is why I rate the customer service with 1 Star.

Alisia from Hutto
May 14th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Garbage company

(1.8 / 5)

  Unbelievable. They cancel your power the day after informing you that you have been unenrolled from autopay. I have been a customer for a long time, and the day after my first bill that notifies me i am not enrolled any longer (absolutely no email informing me that happened prior to the bill arriving) and they shut off power. Absolutely garbage customer service, no means of contact after 5pm. Avoid avoid avoid, no matter how cheap it is.

Thomas Atkins from Houston
April 10th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service

(1.2 / 5)

  Was billed twice in a month, cycle closed one day and the next day they created another billing cycle.
Tired to explain but they just stuck to their policy. Not interested in resolving issue.

Ramon from Edinburg
April 4th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Avoid Pennywise

(1.4 / 5)

  My bills were previously about $90. Forced to shop around after my contract ran out, I selected Pennywise since the deal appeared most comparable to what I was used to paying... wrong. Average over 5 months with Pennywise is $250 per month. I'm still trying to figure it out.

ElectricalEngineer from Houston
December 13th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Customer Service

(1.4 / 5)

  I have been a Pennywise Power customer for about 2 years. On Saturday our services were disconnected. Apparently another provider requested services for our address and Pennywise ceased from being our provider on 11/12/17. We did not request this change. I haven't spoken to anyone about changing providers nor did anyone in my household. I did call Pennywise in November regarding a credit that was on my account. I was told what had happened and I explained that I did not request this change. She told me she would take care of it and I was under the impression everything had been corrected. I tried calling Pennywise on Saturday evening when the services were disconnected however I was unable to speak to anyone because the offices are only open Mon - Fri: 8 - 5. I called AEP and was told if an Emergency Work Order was placed they would connect service right away. Unfortunately I couldn't get that done because I couldn't reach a Pennywise Representative. I am 7 months pregnant, I have a 5 year old son, my mother lives with me and my husband is a disabled veteran. We had to endure 2 days without electricity. We had to rent a hotel room for two nights due to the dropping temperatures. These are expenses we didn't plan on and really didn't have the funds to pay for. When I called Pennywise this morning I was told I needed to speak to an Account Specialist. The call was disconnected. I know it was not a dropped call on my side because my call went directly to the customer satisfaction survey for me to complete. When I called back I spoke to another rep who told me there were notes on my account made by the Account Specialist stating it would be easier for me to complete a new enrollment since my account had already been closed. The account specialist decided to leave notes on my account but not speak to me. This is disrespectful. I asked to be transferred to a manager. I spoke to someone named Oscar who then told me there wasn't more he could do but to start a new enrollment. I don't understand exactly what happened, I am frustrated that I couldn't seem to get help although everyone was ready to start a new enrollment. No one could give me answers. I have been a loyal customer for 2 years and this is how I was treated.

... from San Angelo
December 11th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They use switch and bait tactic

(1 / 5)

  The company signed me up under a good plan. At renewal time, I was I serving my country overseas. They changed the plan to monthly and raised the prices significantly rather than renew under the same terms. Very nasty tactic.

Randall Smith from McKinney
October 19th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AVOID!!! Pathetic Customer Service and Misinformation

(1.4 / 5)

  I was Impacted with Hurricane Harvey, called up Pennywise power 2-3 days after the storm (end of August) stating that I had 2 foot of water in my home and mentioned that I will have extensive usage of electricity for the next 1-2 months, as i need to use the professional drying equipment to dry down my home.

Customer Service agent mentioned that all the customers who are impacted with Harvey will not be billed for their usage until September 30th. We thought that would be helpful and moved on. Later I noticed an electricity bill for hefty amount (7-8 times my regular monthly bill) and called the customer service back; and they mentioned that the agent might not have clear information and that they cannot waive any bill or give discount. If they would have informed me about this; I could have switched to a different plan immediately by paying the early termination fee; that could have at least saved me on the hefty electricity bills.

Pathetic that they screwed up on the information that their agents provided and at the same time, they were not even able to help in any other way. I requested the agents to let me talk to their Upper Level management, they mentioned they will call back and never got a response; tried this second time too, same - no response. Thanks to them and I will move out once my contract is ended and will never return back to them.

If they cannot help the victims; at least tell that upfront so that we can look for alternatives; rather than playing with people's emotions who were already suffering with flood.

Kesava Chunduri from Sugar Land
October 13th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SCAM you the 13th Bill!

(1 / 5)

  Worst Electric company i have dealt with ever! They set up their billing 1st through 30th. So if you join on the 16th they do nothing to prorate the bill. They charge you that full block charge for using partial of the month. Then when you go to close out your account a year later and your cancellation date is the 16th you will be charged again. I called their customer service to explain I wanted prorate charges so I am getting billed 12 months not this (11 months full + 2 half months were they charge full price.) Their customer service is horrible after talking to CSR and their manager. They admitted it looks deceiving but that is their "policy" and wouldnt do a dang thing to knock off partial the bill or anything. Just said that is the way it is. Told them next step is the Better Business Bureau. STAY AWAY FROM THESE CROOKS!

John from Hurst
October 12th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Crooks

(1 / 5)

  Had a 6mo contract, it expired, we moved in a month, so they said the cost goes up a little for month to month, I get my bill and it tripled. What a joke, I don't mind paying a little more but triple any other bill I had is ridiculous.

Ryan from Houston
September 13th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pennywise Power is dishonest and extremely bad in customer service!

(1 / 5)

  They should get ZERO star. This company cut my first month billy cycle into 8 days and still change me a full monthly package fee. No disclosure of this short billy cycle practice when contract. When I called customer service to fix it, they put me 30 min on hold and not any remedy solution. A monthly charge is not that much, but this kind stealing practice is nasty. Pennywise Power = CON!

angry new customer from Round Rock
July 27th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Difficult to do Business With

(1.6 / 5)

  When I attempted to sign up, the website had technical difficulties and did not allow the process to complete (attempted 5:30pm 6/26/17). Customer service was not available after 5pm. Even though I was a previous customer of Pennywise at the same address for over a year back in 2012 and left Pennywise in good standings, I was told I needed to provide an additional form of ID. When dealing with customer service the next day, they are located in Mexico, it seemed painfully and extraordinarily difficult to get anything done. The customer service rep could not view the actual application resulting in one of the authorized account holders on the account able to be recognized because they could not view the actual service application.

John Thompson from League City
June 27th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pennywise Power is terrible!!!

(1 / 5)

  I ordered Pennywise when I moved to Texas from out of state. They never get their billing right, WILL NOT mail you a bill, has to be sent by email ? And are charging me $200 for early cancellation, even though I am moving. I wish I mever used them and DO NOT recommend them to anyone.

Kim S from Taylor
May 31st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Service

(1.2 / 5)

  Long wait times if you have to call for any reason. Auto pay doesn't work reliability. Customer Service confirms you are enrolled in auto pay then auto pay doesn't work. Pennywise will blame you for there system not working and lock you out so you can't pay the bill online and refuse to take payment over the phone. Who does that? What company doesn't want to get paid? Instead they tell you to go to a physical pay location, why would any customer want to do that over paying online or over the phone? Only compnay i've ever had problems with like this. Terrible experience would not recommend to my worst enemy.

Curtis from Houston
April 28th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst electric company out there

(1 / 5)

  BUYER BEWARE! This company is, without a doubt, the worst company I have ever done business with, in any field. I would highly suggest anyone and everyone steer clear of them. Don't be fooled by their "low rates"; this company has the absolute worst customer service out there. For more than two years, this company charged me more than three times the initial rates I had signed up for. After several calls to customer service, they eventually stonewalled me and refused to make amends unless I agreed to sign on for more years- despite the fact that one of their agents ADMITTED FAULT, and another told me that my story would provide a great coaching opportunity for their staff.

Ricky from McKinney
March 10th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Switched away

(1.8 / 5)

  Rate increased so high after contract ended. Switch away for much lower price.

Anhtu from Plano
February 23rd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Irregular billing cycles causes billing credit not to be applied

(1.4 / 5)

  I am on the extra saver 12 plan that gives 80$ credit when usage is between 1000 and 1500 units, and 40$ credit when usage is between 1500 and 2000 units. The problem is the billing cycle is never the same from month to month. Last month it was 29 days, and missed my credit by 20 units. previous month it was 32 days, and went over the 2000 units by 50 units..

Called Pennywise and they blamed it on Centerpoint, despite talking to a "supervisor". Fixing to file a complaint wih PUC - the supervisor didn;t care a damn about who I complained to.

Advice : pick a different company that is transparent about the billing cycles. pick a plan that a more standard per unit rate instead of giving credits based on usage.

p0n2000 from Fulshear
December 15th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Go with another company

(1 / 5)

  I wasn't happy with their customer service, rates, or the fact that if you go on vacation and are a second late (after being a good customer for months) they shut you off. I went with another company and are much happier with them.

Go with another company from Rowlett
August 15th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SLOPPY! Errors everywhere: terms of service, payment timing, so-called payment details

(1 / 5)

  If you appreciate accuracy when entering into binding contracts, then I encourage you to continue your search.
- Payments: My recent auto payment processed a full business day before the due date. I logged in to update my payment method and noticed it already said "paid". I spoke to a supervisor who, after insisting there is nothing they can do, promised me that my update payment method will take effect with no problems. Well, that was false. Now I'm having to claim unauthorized charges with my bank.
- Terms of Service: The supervisor I spoke with assured me that auto pay is never a requirement. I reviewed with her my current terms of service that clearly states (TWICE) auto pay being a requirement, and she rambled off with several excuses that didn't make sense.
- Online Payment Details: I asked the supervisor I spoke with to explain why every single one of my payments list the source as "Phone Payment". What? I've never made a payment by phone to this company. There was no explanation. I asked to speak with someone who had more expertise and she said she is not allowed to escalate calls.
- Customer "Service": After a full hour-long conversation including all of the above, the supervisor told me that my account will be reviewed by her supervisor and I will receive a call back in no more than 5 business days. Today is the 6th business day and I haven't heard a thing. I called back today and apparently the lady never even notated my account. HOW DISAPPOINTING!

I'm literally happy to pay the lame $150 cancellation fee to cut ties with this incompetent, dishonest, error-riddled company.

S T A Y A W A Y.

Brenna from Dallas
July 25th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Insufficient info and incompetent staff

(1.8 / 5)

  When I first called for service transfer, the customer rep did not warn me about the service outage that I got because of not ordering the service a day before. Called in for second time for service outage and a guy named Jose told me that he submitted the new order to get my service start date changed. Called Center Point after 3.5 hours and they told that they did not receive another order. Called Pennywise again after several hours of waiting to find out that the order was not submitted with correct date. It has been a nightmare to work with just to get electricity in the house - all because of incompetent staff.

Khalid Gozal from Katy
March 30th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good enough until you cancel

(1 / 5)

  They kept charging me after I moved. After a couple hours of work, I was able to get them to stop charging my closed account. A few months later I received a collection notice for a bill that occurred two months after I had left Texas. This company is a nightmare.

Robert Nordberg from Fort Worth
February 29th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Misleading Advertising in Energy Facts Label

(1 / 5)

  I signed up with Pennywise Power in July 2015. I carefully read the Energy Facts Label and understood that I would receive 5.5 cents per kwh for usage at or above 2000 kwh/month. However, as I started receiveding my bills, I noticed charges in excess of 6.5 cents per kwh. After speaking with customer service, I learned that Pennywise Power has purposefully structured its pricing so that it, if you use EXACTLY 2000 kwh/month, you will get 5.5 cents per kwh--allowing Pennywise to advertise this rate on the energy label. However, if you use 2001+ kwh, they will remove a $25 credit from your account (which causes your rate to jump considerably. I don't believe for a second that regulators intended this kind of abuse with regard to the Energy Facts Label. I have filed a complaint and intend to let others know about Pennywise's misleading tactics.

Rebecca from Fort Worth
October 12th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Buyer Beware

(1 / 5)

  BUYER BEWARE - Stay away from Pennywise Energy, we had planned to switch to them when our contract with Bounce Energy expired next month. We specifically set up change date as October 13 so there would be no loss of power or cancellation fees. Pennywise decided on their own to make the switch a month early and we were charged a cancellation fee with Bounce. This set off a series of events that left us without power for most of the day and finally was able to get Bounce to turn power back on but we will still need to deal with ramifications of what Pennywise did to us. I also found out the rates they quote are not a full rate, so you think you will be paying one thing but you will be paying a lot more.

Violet from Pearland
September 21st, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No deposit back!

(1 / 5)

  I had automatic payment, and I always paid my bill on time. Now, they will not give me my deposit back. It has been over a month since I switch to another provider, and I still have not received my deposit. Everytime I call to ask about it, they transfer me to someone else, or put me back in the queue. I don't know how I can get my money back. I'm going to have to go to small claims I guess.

Nathan from Houston
September 10th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Buyer Beware

(1 / 5)

  Electric Companies are required to give you notice regarding your plan expiring within 30 days. If you do not switch your plans, it will automatically be switched to a month-to-month plan which could be trip your rate. I was not given notice of the switch although they said they emailed and sent a mailer. I save my mail for recycling and was able to get their bills via emails, so I find it hard to believe that they ever sent the notification. So, if you do decide to go with this company, I suggest you keep track of when you plan expires, because they are not following the regulations and notifying their customers of the switch date.

J Rasmussen from Cypress
August 6th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

horrible customer service

(1 / 5)

  These people are scammers. I called to sign up for a plan I saw on power to choose and they set new up with it. I called back maybe 30 minutes later because I choose to stay with my previous company. They first told me they couldn't get it cancelled and that is have to wait until tomorrow but would be charged 10 dollars for canceling when I was told there was no charges for the first 3 days I'd I choose to change my mind. Then I wanted to speak to a supervisor and he connected me to a supervisor that sounded exactly like him then that supervisor told me I'd have to be transferred to their cancellation department. So I waited some more just for a lady to pick up the phone from cirro energy not pw. So I had to call back and spoke to another guy who was telling me that I'd be charged 10 dollars because he couldn't get oncore to cancel. Then I told then I wasn't informed of all that when I was signing up and he had to transfer me to his supervisor. The supervisor told me I shouldn't have a charge and that they were able to cancel it. I'd I get an invoice to call them back. We'll see because all of therm sounded shady not to mention their accent was so thick you could hardly understand them. And the first two people I spoke with sounded exactly the same. I definitely do not recommend dealing with these people and to just stay away all together.

Rachel from Dallas
July 8th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT BUY!!!

(1 / 5)

  Seriously the most ignorant people ever. They are so incompetent I canceled my service with an address I had listed because I found out I was going to be staying in another apt number so trying to get it all fixed before I actually moved in they said they changed the service address. and charge me for the transfer of service and everything to find out three weeks later it was not changed and that they did not even complete the transfer. so finally a supervisor changed it yet they could not update the addresses online on my account so I called again and finally after speaking with another incompetent employee I decided to just end the service on the account and it took them two more phone calls for that to even happen. I knew I should never go with anyone other than TXU ever again. seriously just buy service with TXU!!! they always have their accounts online updated and have fantastic customer service and know how to understand english properly.

Angel from Round Rock
June 30th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Won't let me cancel

(1 / 5)

  I was moving out of my apartment the date that my contract was ending, so I called Pennywise Power to cancel. I was told that my contract would end automatically.

A few weeks later, I found that they had renewed a contract without my knowing and put me on a different plan. When I emailed asking why it had been renewed, they demanded proof that I had called in attempting to cancel it!!

It has been so much work to cancel this account, and this seems so dishonest. I would not recommend choosing Pennywise Power.

Michelle from Richardson
June 9th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

never ever give 50$/25$ bill credit

(1 / 5)

  If you sign up for 12 month plan to get bill credit then it is your dream. They will never ever give you bill credit.

Muhammad Shuaib from Houston
April 20th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

!!! BEWARE BEWARE BEWARE !!!

(1 / 5)

  I Even Am Not At Home But Never Got A Bill Less Than $100
You Can't Even Cancel It Because They Wanna Charge You Almost $200 For Cancelation
I Had A Carlot And With Other Provider Energy And Always Been Fair Price
BE CAREFUL WITH THIS COMPANY

ZOD from Dallas
April 7th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

ELECTRICITY "FALSE" LABEL

(1.2 / 5)

  I signed up for pennywise cause the EFLS Looked amazing and I know cause I used to work for reliant energy. 500kwh @ 3.4. 1000kwh @ 5.8. 2000kwh @ 9.1. I get my bill and get charged 9.6 @ 1199kwh. Apparently if you use 1001kwh you get charged 10.3. On the way that efls work they're is USUALLY Either an increase in usage or a decrese. Not a slight increase then double increase then a slight decrease. So pissed off and will never use them again

nick from Bd
February 16th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Penny Stupid

(1 / 5)

  My husband decided to switch to this company to save a penny! Let me just say, it is costing us a small fortune! Their billing emails are going straight to our Junk folder because they system thinks it is spam. We asked to have our account enrolled in Auto Draft to curtail this issue, but apparently it had been rejected by the bank because of security. No USPS mail was sent that our account was in default. Instead our power was turned off and now we are being subject to reconnection fees from the TDSP because of Pennywise! The only good new is our power is finally on and we are switching providers!

Gabrielle J from Sugar Land
December 17th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

CLASSIC BAIT AND SWITCH! RUN FROM PW AND DON'T LOOK BACK!

(1 / 5)

  These guys have screwed me for the last time! I am one ticked off homeowner. From 6/5/14 to 7/7/14 I used 3656 kwh at an average rate of $.077/kwh for a total of $280.92. On July 5th, I replaced both of my 16 year old 10+SEER AC units (one for downstairs and one for upstairs) with brand new 16+ SEER systems. I couldn't wait to see how much money I would save over the next billing period during the hottest time of the year. Boy was I in for a surprise. My statement was emailed to me today and what a shocker! My bill increased to $337.47! I checked the usage and I only used 2464 kwh, so almost a third less. The rate, however, jumped from $.077/kwh to $.137/kwh, effectively doubling! I was on the variable rate plan so expected minor fluctuations in the rate, but I sure as heck did not expect the rate to double, and in the middle of the summer! I am cancelling my service first thing Monday as we are now rolling into the weekend. WARNING! DO NOT FALL FOR THE PENNYWISE LOW INTRODUCTORY RATE. IT IS A TRICK! THEY WILL SUCK YOU IN, DOUBLE YOUR RATE, AND THEN TELL YOU THEY CAN'T DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. This is actually the 2nd time this happened to me as my fixed rate plan expired and converted to a rate that was twice as high. When I signed up for this plan, it was only $.077/kwh. That lasted for 2 billing cycles, then wham! We just doubled your rate again, sucker! Okay, that's the last straw for me. PENNYWISE YOU WILL NEVER, EVER GET MY BUSINESS AGAIN, YOU SORRY DOGS! SHAME ON YOU AND EVERY SINGLE SCUM BAG WHO WORKS THERE!

Steve B from Katy
August 8th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Online Payment Issues

(1.8 / 5)

  The billing and account management by this company is terrible. Their online payment system has not been functional the entire time I have had my account with them. If you submit a payment through your own bank or by mail it is very doubtful that the money will be applied to your statement. They are terrible at customer service as well - it is very difficult to contact an actual representative to discuss discrepancies in the billing/account department. Based on this, I would not recommend working with this company unless you have tons of time at your disposal to deal with these matters.

Lara from Houston
May 7th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Company EVER

(1 / 5)

  You can never get a supervisor on the line when you call them. They don't follow up and follow through. Their so called customer service is HORRIBLE. The absolute worst I've ever encountered. I finally left after my 7 month contract was up, and even then, I received a stupid letter from them telling me my credit card didn't pay the final bill. Bull. They have two cards on file, my final bill said do not pay, but their records then showed me not enrolled in auto pay. All of my bills are auto pay. Their system was what caused the no payment. These people are idiots or just don't care about customer retention. I hate them now, and I will NEVER use them again. I would advise anyone to use caution, and go with another retail electric provider in Texas. That's all. You've been warned. Stay away from Pennywise Power!!!

Robert Erskine from Mesquite
March 24th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Buyer be aware of it's fake fixed rate plan

(1.8 / 5)

  After I switched over to Pennywise for a 12-mo fixed rate, I noticed that its rate has NEVER been fixed (actually higher than what's been published). I had discovered that Pennywise called fixed rate had 50% portion that is NOT fixed, meaning the rate I have to pay is much higher than a "fixed" rate.

I had signed similar fixed plans with TXU and Reliant Energy, they DO honor a true fixed rate, meaning you only pay the rate when you signed, period. Unfortunately Pennywise manipulated a fixed rate practice. I was amazed that both BBB and TUC do NOT want to do anything about this type of malicious act. So sad.

Buyerbeaware from Plano
November 2nd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Hidden fees and fine print

(1.2 / 5)

  Could not believe how much our bill went up when we switched to Pennywise. It nearly doubled from our previous provider. Beware the hidden fees. Glad we only signed up for three months and weren't stuck with them long term.

Concerned customer from Houston
October 17th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Horrible Horrible

(1 / 5)

  Bill went from $60 for a month to $249 a month. I moved out, and the last bill wasn't even for a full month, it was $196!! I used 800 kWh in one month, cost $69. I used 720 kWh the next month, it cost $100!! How is that even possible??

Bryan Feuling from Lewisville
September 24th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pennywise and Pound Foolish

(1.4 / 5)

  Rates doubled from month one to month two on variable rate plan. DON"T SIGN UP WITH THESE CROOKS - THEY WILL SCAM YOU OUT OF YOUR HARD-EARNED MONEY!

Mark from Dallas
September 10th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceiving pricing practice and rate

(1.8 / 5)

  You could never trust their EFL as there are indeed hidden fees undisclosed, and it will result in far higher per khw price you have to pay than what's been published in its EFL.

Texan from Plano
August 20th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Customerservice

(1.2 / 5)

  They promised me a discount of $20.- for renewing the contract. Even they acknowledged they agreement and after multiples e-mails never got the discount! The Customer Service simply does not respond to inquiries. As soon as I can, I change to another company. If they compromise and accomplish a simple issue like this what can I expect if there would be a bigger problem than this?

MaryAnn from Dallas
August 6th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

horrible

(1.2 / 5)

  First of all, they offered good promotional offer. after expiring the promotional period, they switched me to the month to month. I checked the rate and It was ok. after two months my bill increased by almost twice compared to previous month. They told me: we can change the rate without announcing. I am switching to another company right away. don't get into their trap on low promotional rate.

Muhammad from Dallas
July 23rd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't waste your time and your money

(1.2 / 5)

  The first thing you need to start a contract with them is your credit card, they got you now, there is nothing you can do about it, even talking with a manager is worthless. They send me my last invoice for 525 dls. For a single family home. Good luck to their new customers.

Claudia from Katy
July 17th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Can I give ZERO stars?

(1 / 5)

  Horrible Co. Changed my service before I requested, which caused me to get fined for breaking my contract with previous provider. Sent me a letter denying my request for service after that, but paperwork still showed them being my provider, Never called back, never answered emails. If you want to waste hours of your time on the phone, this is your place to sign up with............

A. nonimous from Houston
March 4th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

!!!! STAY AWAY!!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  I had variable plan for 1 year and after the rate skyrocketed 60%!!!
They do not notify you for better rates or send you any thing in mail or email.
Only thing they will send to you is an email telling you that if you don't pay the bill in time
they will cut off the power. How sad this is:(

X customer from Fort Worth
March 4th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AVOID!!!

(1 / 5)

  AVOID AT ALL COST. DISHONEST

Donald Cline from McKinney
March 1st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

avoid!

(1 / 5)

  I wish I had read these reviews prior to signing up with Pennywise. Yes, they will lure you in with a very low rate. I signed up for an initial contract of three months. Once my contract expired (they say they sent an email, I never received it) my rate tripled! Upon calling, they did not care that I was an upset customer, nor did they really care that I plan to switch electric providers. I also did not appreciate the condescending tone from the supervisor. Other electric companies I have used in the past will auto renew your contract price, but not Pennywise. They are just waiting until someone forgets that their on a contract or that their contract is about to expire to pounce and up the rates. Avoid this company at all costs. There are plenty of other providers to use, I suggest beginning by going to www.powertochoose.org to research different options.

Kate J. from Dallas
February 7th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SCAM - Theives!!!

(1 / 5)

  I CANCELLED MY ACCOUNT IN JULY IT IS NOW DEC. AND THEY ARE STILL BILLING ME SO I CANCELLED MY CARD AS IT WAS AUTOMATIC WITHDRAWAL YET THEY SAY I STILL OWE MONEY!! I HAVE CALLED AND CALLED TO GET THIS FIXED BUT THEY JUST DON'T CARE, COUNTLESS HOURS HAVE BEEN WASTED ON THE PHONE WITH THESE TERRIBLE PEOPLE, THERE IS ONLY ONE SUPERVISOR IN THE WHOLE COPANY, GOOD LUCK TRYING TO GET A HOLD OF HIM, NO ONE ELSE CAN HELP OR HAS AUTHORITY TO HELP. I AM INT HE PROCESS OF MAKING A COMPLAINT TO THE BETTER BUSINESS BEAURU AND AM GETTING A LAWYER, THIS IS GROUNDS FOR SUING!, I EVEN WENT THROUGH THE TROUBLE TO SEND THEM PROOF OF ALL PAYMENTS MADE UP UNTIL THE CANCELLATION DATE BY PRINTING OUT THE LAST YEAR OF BANK STATEMENTS. IT WAS AUTOMATIC BILLED, THEY HAD MY CARD NUMBER AND EVEYRTHING AND THEY STILL SAY I OWE MONEY, HOW CAN THAT BE WHEN THEY HAVE MY CARD NUMBER AND CONTINURED TO BILL ME EVEN AFTER I HAD CANCELLED THEM?! DO NOT DEAL WITH THESE PEOPLE, THEY MAY BE CHEAP BUT I RATHER HAVE SPENT THE MONEY TO GO TO A REPTUABLE POWER COMPANY WHO CAN PROVIDE CUSTOMER SERVICE, AS THIS COMPANY HAS NONE WHATSOEVER! I DON'T KNOW HOW THEY ARE STILL IN BUSINESS, DO NOT MAKE THE MISTAKE I MADE, YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR! THEY WILL STEAL LIE AND CHEAT, HOSSIBLE COMPANY. IF I DON'T PAY UP THEY THREATEN ME BY SAYING THEY ARE GOING TO RUIN MY CREDIT SCORE, HOWEVER, THEY CANNO0T PROVIDE ME WITH ANY PROOF OF MY CHARGES, THE BILLS THEY SEND ARE JUST ALETTER WITH THE AMOUNT I OWE, NO USAGE INFO IS ON IT, WHAT PERSON IN THEIR RIGHT MIND WOULD PAY IF THEY CAN'T EVEN SHOW MY USAGE?! I HAVE NEVER DEALT WITH SUCH AN UNPROFESSIONAL COMPANY IN MY ENTIRE LIFE. PLEASE TAKE MY ADVISE DO NOT USE THIS DREADFUL COMPANY!

UNSATISFIED CUSTOMER from HOUSTON
December 12th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DON'T CHOOSE THIS PROVIDER

(1.6 / 5)

  Boosted my rate (month to month plan) from 7.2 cents per KWH to 13.6 cents per KWH with no warning. Their own terms of service state, under the section governing variable rate (month to month) plans, that no material change can be made to your contract (which in this case lasts 31 days or less) without written notification at least 14 days before the changes will take effect. When I pointed this out, they simply said "Doesn't apply to month to month plans". I told them it was in black and white in their terms of service. Was just ignored. Avoid this provider at all costs

Robert Wiggers from Lufkin
November 29th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad Choice

(1.2 / 5)

  Switched 3 months back - first two months the bill was ok, third month there is a 200% jump in the per KWH rate, Oncor delivery charges on the bill was too high. Surprisingly I did not receive the third month bill - this is the month the bill was too high. I had to check my credit card and then logon to their site to check the bill. Called customer service and the explanation for the charges were not convincing.

ss from Irving
September 28th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gawd I wish I had known about this review site sooner.

(1.8 / 5)

  Yes, as nearly everybody else in this space has noted, PennyWise Power will lowball you for a while and then make all the money back in one month!! Don't believe it? I won't feel sorry for you if you ignore all the warnings for this provider. As the light bulbs indicate, not all aspects of the experience were bad ... just the near doubling in rate in a very short time period (about two months for me).

Dave from Fort Worth
September 26th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sorry excuse for a business.

(1.4 / 5)

  Okay, so here goes. I went with pennywise because they had the best long term rates available for my area. Wow, do you ever get what you pay for.

First things first. Part of my contract agreement was to set up automatic payments. No problem, I think. In this day and age of technology, that shouldn't be an issue. Well, the first month, they take out my deposit as well as the first bill. Then I get a disconnection notice days later. What is this, I say? Surely a mistake. I call the company, and it turns out, this is no mistake. I still owe the entire deposit plus the first months bill. Apparently, the automatic payment was sent back, but it actually wasn't sent back. After many phone calls to the bank and Pennywise, I get this resolved, but it takes going up a few levels.

So fast forward to today. During the time that has elapsed, I have attempted to set up automatic payments no less than 6 times. Each time, I get a confirmation email. Each time, I receive a disconnection notice due to failure to pay. We have tried using two different bank cards, cards that have no issues with any other automatic payment plan. So what gives? Now the thing that really ticks me off about this, is that they can send me an email informing me that my statement is due, but they can't send me an email telling me my automatic payment didn't go through, or that I face disconnection. But okay, that I can tolerate so long as my service isn't interrupted, right? Silly me....

Today, as my fiance is getting ready for work, our power goes out. Okay, I guess another automatic payment failure. I grab the phone and give them a call. And on to the biggest complaint I have with this company: Customer service.

The first customer service representative I dealt with started off by mumbling some incoherent statement into the phone. In fact, this continued throughout the entirety of the conversation. I constantly had to ask her to repeat herself, and even then just sometimes had to accept the fact that I wouldn't understand her. I tell her my issue, and that I need my electricity reconnected. No problem, she mumbles.. Let's get this payment squared away first, she mumbles. Alright, no problem. Pay my bill, now on to the reconnection. Then she tells me that it will take until the 30th (tomorrow) by 11:59PM for my electricity to be reconnected. Now this is where I lost it. I tell them that this is unacceptable, we live in 100 degree weather, I have a job and school that I need to be presentable for and capable of handling. They tell me they don't handle the electricity, they just handle the accounts. After going back and forth with the CS Mumbler, and her not even pausing to let me speak as she reads the same script over and over again (This is 100% true, by the way. No exaggeration. She literally repeated the same script, and when I tried to talk, just continued in a louder voice.), I ask to speak to a supervisor. She basically tells me no, and hangs up on me.

Alright. NOW I'm pissed. I call back, and immediately ask to speak to a supervisor. This proves to be successful, as a clearly near-panicked customer service rep immediately transfers me. After being on hold for about 15 minutes, I get the supervisor. I go over the entire situation with this supervisor, and am read the same script I was previously read before. The thing is, she reads this like she's getting some information out of it, herself, then changes her tune and starts explaining it to me. Apparently, since Oncor handles the electricity, it could take up to 2 days for them to get to me. And there is literally nothing they can do. I bring up the automatic payments, and how they always fail. The exact words I receive back are, "Well that isn't our fault." Basically, the entire time I speak to this lady, I am told that they are accountable for nothing. Not for my service being turned on, not for their system not taking my payments, and they are not responsible for making any of this right. I wish I had it recorded, because as outlandish as it sounds, this is precisely what I was told. Infuriated, I hang up.

So then my fiance decides to give it a try. As I am already livid and ready to tear this company to pieces with my bare hands, it takes every bit of willpower I have not to yell into the phone while she holds it. However, she calmly explains the situation (from what I can hear, she gets a real person, not another mumbling script reader), and mentions maybe she needs to call Oncor to have this addressed, as our disconnection notice specifically mentions same day reconnection. It's funny how this immediately changes the ladys tune from "We can't do anything" to "Let me see what I can do". After being on hold for a few minutes, my fiance is told that since our electricity is handled through a remote box, it should be able to be turned back on the same day. As soon as they hang up, our power goes on. Amazing how a mumbler and a supervisor can't do a damn thing, yet this third person, when faced with the threat of calling their provider, can fix it immediately.

All in all, if you expect anything short of a company disregarding all of the issues they cause you as "not their problem", inconsistent results, botched payments that threaten to render you without electricity, and passing off ownership of fault to whoever they can point the finger at, I'd recommend this company. If you want to be treated like a human being, and pay your hard earned cash to a business that will take ownership of their mistakes and treat you like a valued customer, go elsewhere. Because Pennywise is in the taking your money business, not the electricity provider business.

Sean B. from Austin
August 29th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pathetic Company...They increase their rate very high without notice on month to month plan

(1.4 / 5)

  This company is a scam!! ....They give you all the good information before signing up and then they increase their rate crazily once you are on their month to month plan. My rate doubled from 7 cents to 15 cents in one month and unfortunately my usage was highest for that month,so I had a bill of >350$ .....called their customer service and spoke to supervisor but they didn't do anything. Feel really bad that they do such a rip off. I immediately cancelled my service and recommend everyone to stay away from them. Will never ever recommend them to anyone

A angry customer from Richardson
August 28th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Avoid at all costs!

(1 / 5)

  Switched for their low "teaser" rate, and expected rates to increase somewhat afterwards. However, from 5.5 cents to 13.5 is robbery. Of course, they read from their canned notes and say "demand in Texas from the heat" is why it increased. I also asked to be put on a fixed plan, retroactive to the last bill date, and they refused. They said it could be completed in 2-3 billing cycles. Must think we are crazy, as switching is free and can be done in 2 days to another provider.
The second big problem was that when I switched online, they did not ask for the ESInumber. I put my address in with "B" afterwards, which differentiates me from our rent house in back. They sent me my confirmation e-mail with the correct address. They then switched the wrong house, without the "B". I called them and they then reswitched me and assured I wouldn't be billed for the few days my rent house was switched. I got billed anyways for the $17, but blew it off, no big deal. When the huge increase came in, I called wanting my $17 refunded. They said no dice, because I signed up online, so it was my mistake. I told them I have the confirmation e-mail and can forward it with the correct address. They was told to speak to a supervisor, put on hold, no one available, will call back, no one did. Called the next day and the supervisor gave me the same canned speach about me signing up online so I made the mistake. I repeated to him that I had the e-mail confirmation with correct address that I put in and would e-mail it back to them. He finally said ok, mail it back and they would look at it.
They really must think we are all stupid to say with them.
Just don't switch. It is not worth you time or lost $$ when they jack up your rates.

B Johnson from Fort Worth
August 15th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Please DO NOT use Pennywise! They will rip you off

(1 / 5)

  Please DO NOT use Pennywise! They will rip you off. I'm still trying to get my deposit back because they couldn't start my service. Stupid wrapped service.

Kevin from Allen
August 7th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SURPRISE!!!!!! Your electric rate has DOUBLED as of last month.

(1 / 5)

  From 7.5 cents to 15 cents a KWH and they don't tell you until AFTER you use it. Would you pay $15 for a hamburger that was on the menu for $7.50 just because they told you it doubled in price while you were eating it? Welcome to Pennywise Power! So I switched immediately but still was with Pennywise for 2 weeks while waiting for the switch and got a bill that was 50% even higher than the whole month before. Can't access my bill either to see what rate they're charging me now because they have apparently blocked my access but it looks like it must be about 50 cents a KWH. So now that $7.50 burger is up to $50 and I didn't even get fries. I think these people deserve prison for this kind of criminal activity. Stay away from Pennywise or you'll end up a few dollars short. Scam company.

Tim Drennan from Quinlan
August 3rd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unspeakable

(1 / 5)

  I wish I found these reviews a few months ago when I signed up with Pennywise Power flexible plan.
All was good for a few months with rates drifting higher of course but at a reasonable rate.
And than when in the middle hottest month they jumped the rate 2X! Unbelievable.
It looks like this is their business plan to rip off customers. They should be sued for this scam.
Avoid Pennywise scam by all means.
I switched the same day the bill arrived.

Andre Leaf from McKinney
July 31st, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Time to call the Governor.

(1 / 5)

  This month, Pennywise Power has nearly doubled what they charge me for electricity. My bill indicates that Centerpoint Energy did not increase their portion of charges nor did the incidentals show increases, only Pennywise Powers portion showed a large increase.

I do not know much about the current Texas Public Utility Commission. I hope they have true interest in protecting the citizens. I realize that I am just one person and that business puts more money into the state's coffers, but I can hope as I call them this week.

I also plan to call the Office of the Governor and the office of the Texas Attorney General. Actions which I personally consider deceptive. It is my opinion that doubling a charge without prior notice and without demonstrating a correlation to a sudden dramatic increase in company expense is unconscionable.

Like any good citizen, I respect your right to agree or disagree with my opinion, but if you do agree, I would encourage you to also make these phone calls. My single voice is small, but as more call, the sound of the phone ringing may suddenly reach the ears of those that need to hear and understand that consumer protection is a service you provide to citizens, not business.

Here are public phone numbers:

Governor's Office
Information and Referral Hotline [for Texas callers] :
(800) 843-5789

Attorney General's Office
Consumer Protection Hotline:
(800) 621-0508

David - A concerned citizen from Sugar Land
July 28th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Mr.

(1.2 / 5)

  Last month's bill more than doubled, no explanation of cause except to say the energy charge was 12.6 vs 5.3 for the previous month. No help on why energy charge increased, nor any attempt to check it out.

jack ripped off from Tyler
July 21st, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Avoid this scamming company at all costs

(1 / 5)

  My rate jumped from a little over 9 cents to over 16 cents/KwH. My bill more then doubled in a month from this sudden increase. When speaking with the company I was told this was for increased demand this summer. When I asked how my rates were never this high last summer which had a record breaking heat wave, I was not provided an answer. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was told none were available but I would receive a call back by the end of the day. First I was told they were at lunch then I was told they were receiving too high a volume of calls. Then, like you, I was offered a new contract. They list their average month to month historical rates on their website. VERY misleading, as they do not list rates over about 10 cents. I would encourage everyone to avoid this company at all costs as they are nothing but scam artists.

Angela from Dallas
July 20th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

200% increase in one month!

(1.6 / 5)

  Stay away from these guys! They will increase your kWh by over 100% from one month to the next if you are not on a contract.

Ben from Dallas / Lakewood
July 5th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Flaky

(1.4 / 5)

  Inticing introductory fixed four month rate.
Website refused to complete the order after all required information was entered
save establishing the website login ID and password. The site stated one can do
that later, but it offered no way to otherwise complete the order.
Called customer service a few days later who were prompt and polite.
The offer had expired and they could not find the incomplete application or
commit to complete the order on the expired offer.
On to the next guy... Too bad... It was a terrific rate.

Marty from Houston
April 6th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Company

(1.6 / 5)

  Pennywise Power is the worst company and has the worst customer service. They took money out of my account without any notification. They never sent a bill, just took the money. They did not apologize for their mistake. The prices are good, but its not worth headache. They are very unprofessional.

Jocelyn
September 12th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

penny wise rip off

(0.9 / 5)

  peeny wise's variable rate plan is a bait and switch. for the 2nd invoice expect to pay 12cents / kWh. best bet is to use them for a month then ditch them fast

Anonymous from Humbel
August 21st, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Feeling scammed

(0.9 / 5)

  After signing up with Pennywise, and getting 2 bills that were great, my price started soaring. Interesting thing was, I recommended the plan to a friend a month ago (before I got my 3rd bill). He got his 1st bill yesterday @ $0.046 per KWH, I got my bill today @ $0.114. How can two people on the same "plan" have rates that different? Looks like your plan with pennywise, is get the great rate for 2 months then jump ship. Feels like a scam to me.

Pennywise user
August 9th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They Claim Auto Pay only & double debited my account

(1.4 / 5)

  When you sign up, you are required to give them your bank account/CC information for billing. Autopay was fine with me, less paper and not having to deal with bills...UNTIL they double debited my account. The rep told me I could not decline or change the autopay service on my account. He also said they would credit my account, but they didn't know how long it would take. Being in the legal field, I know for a fact they can credit it just as fast as they debit it. Waiting to hear back from supervisor regarding autopay. Filing BBB and AG file as we speak. THis is not right. DO NOT USE PENNYWISE POWER.

Anonymous from Dallas
July 7th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BAD BAD BAD

(0.9 / 5)

  Terrible customer service stay away

Tim from Houston
February 12th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions