We currently recommend electricity plans from Pulse Power, Constellation, Spark Energy, TriEagle Energy and Texans Energy

Overall Satisfied

(4 / 5)

  I am overall satisfied with Pennywise Power. I have been with them through 2 - one year plans, simply because they had a lower rate and a decent customer satisfaction rating. You can't always trust these sites because it's usually just the negative reviews that get posted - NO COMPANY IS PERFECT. I am probably going to leave them this month, but it is just due to someone else offering me a lower rate that Pennywise refuses to match.

Aaron Hebert from Houston
March 15th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good for Houston

(4.8 / 5)

  Have read some really bad reviews. I have been with this company for 16 months including moving my service from one location to another. I have never had any problems with this company and have saved on my electric bills. They did go up on rates after my contract ended this month but their new rates are competitive. There are lower plans with other companies but that was not enough to risk changing. Pennywise notifies you that your plan is about to change. The previous company did not and they gouged me with a month-to-month plan for not contacting them.

Dee from Houston
October 14th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

good experience but leaving to get promotional rate elsewhere

(4.4 / 5)

  I don't have time to do a review but I know good reviews are rare since warning people of bad experiences is much more compelling! I'm using voice recognition so ignore any weird errors. I'm too lazy to fix them, But this site has been useful to me so I wanted to reciprocate. This company worked out well for me. I did use customer service and they were helpful. The transition to them from the other company was seamless and invisible. My bills were accurate (or, actually, so low I didn't check them) and arrived on time online And were automatically charged my credit card correctly. My bills were much lower than my previous company but that's a function of the rate I got.

I'm only changing because promotional rates are always better than the rate they can offer existing customers even with the little five dollar credit per month for renewing. The customer service rep did point out that I could change to a variable plan for even one month and become a new customer of Penneywise again but I don't know if I'll bother.

Deborah Luik from Bellaire
April 30th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Short and Painless

(4.6 / 5)

  Signed for a 12 month fixed all online, automatic bill pay, never messed up on anything. After the year was up, I was automatically switched to month to month, bill still isn't high. Highest bill I've paid has been about $48, one bedroom apartment 685 sq ft.

Kam H. from Houston
April 13th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent Service!!! No Billing Problems!!!

(4.8 / 5)

  I have been a customer of Pennywise Power for 1 year (Feb. 2012 - Feb. 2013) I have had NO Problems. With service or Billing! paying 7.9 cents per KwH. FYI - They are a sister company to Reliant so they have a large operation to help keep things running properly.

Gail Parnell from Southlake
February 28th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Savings, Great Prices, Self Service :)

(4.6 / 5)

  I don't know why anyone would give this company a bad review.We've been
with them 9 months and the only problem I have is deciding what iam going to do
with all the money I save.Pennywise has cut my bill down 35%.I live in a
modern 2-story,4bedroom,2400 sq ft house & run my ac/heat day & night
(even when iam not home)my bill has never been more than $100.I do also pay
a gas bill to atmos that's between $20-$50 but even with that combined amount
it's a heck of a deal considering my last house had $180-300 electric bills for a
new but smaller 1400sqft duplex.I found them on powertochoose.org after doing
lots of research on the other companies to get the best low contract rate. Iam so
happy we switched.Be warned that pennywise drafts directly out of your account
(no option to do it otherwise) but you can pay early if you wish.Also refundable
deposit required, & lastly the hold time for customer service is long but they allow
you full account management online so no need to call.

M. Barnes from Fort Worth
April 8th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overall very well pleased

(4.5 / 5)

  The prices offered are excellent, service has been seamless, and the only difference I have found between Pennywise and TXU is the amount of money I pay Pennywise for electricity which is significantly less.

Anonymous from Dallas
January 9th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very good for me

(4.4 / 5)

  I see a lot of bad reviews on Pennywise, but my experience has been just fine -- just cheaper than the others. I am sure that different companies have the lowest rate at any given time, but for a 12 month deal it was the lowest when I signed up. I could see that they were new to our area, but I appear to have gambled and won (so far)!

Robert Thornton from Fort Worth
September 28th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

FABULOUS RATES

(4.6 / 5)

  I have been in absolute shock that my electric bill in the middle of the highest heat and greatest drought I can ever remember, has been a modest $200 top for over 2000 sq feet. I'm all about saving money. I have had no need for customer service of any kind. I took out a 3 mo fixed and did receive a notice that that was coming to an end.

GW from Belton
August 19th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions