Pennywise Power is now Discount Power



We currently recommend electricity plans from Pulse Power, Constellation, TriEagle Energy and Texans Energy

Garbage company

(1.8 / 5)

  Unbelievable. They cancel your power the day after informing you that you have been unenrolled from autopay. I have been a customer for a long time, and the day after my first bill that notifies me i am not enrolled any longer (absolutely no email informing me that happened prior to the bill arriving) and they shut off power. Absolutely garbage customer service, no means of contact after 5pm. Avoid avoid avoid, no matter how cheap it is.

Thomas Atkins from Houston
April 10th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worse than the Mafia

(2 / 5)

  Bait and Switch company. They had me on a low rate plan and when it expired they put me on a month to month plan at 16 cents per kwh and I received no notice. To make matters worse, they said I was on average billing which I never signed up for and never had as my billing was continuously up and down based on usage. When I went to another company they said I owed almost another $1000 on top of my bill drawn against my "average balance" in April which I never used. After multiple calls and no resolution, I had to resign myself to the fact they are a fraudulent and shady company. Please don't use this company if you are thinking of doing so. There are better options out there.

Professional White Collar Thieves - That's what they Are from Dallas
April 5th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service

(1.2 / 5)

  Was billed twice in a month, cycle closed one day and the next day they created another billing cycle.
Tired to explain but they just stuck to their policy. Not interested in resolving issue.

Ramon from Edinburg
April 4th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Avoid Pennywise

(1.4 / 5)

  My bills were previously about $90. Forced to shop around after my contract ran out, I selected Pennywise since the deal appeared most comparable to what I was used to paying... wrong. Average over 5 months with Pennywise is $250 per month. I'm still trying to figure it out.

ElectricalEngineer from Houston
December 13th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Customer Service

(1.4 / 5)

  I have been a Pennywise Power customer for about 2 years. On Saturday our services were disconnected. Apparently another provider requested services for our address and Pennywise ceased from being our provider on 11/12/17. We did not request this change. I haven't spoken to anyone about changing providers nor did anyone in my household. I did call Pennywise in November regarding a credit that was on my account. I was told what had happened and I explained that I did not request this change. She told me she would take care of it and I was under the impression everything had been corrected. I tried calling Pennywise on Saturday evening when the services were disconnected however I was unable to speak to anyone because the offices are only open Mon - Fri: 8 - 5. I called AEP and was told if an Emergency Work Order was placed they would connect service right away. Unfortunately I couldn't get that done because I couldn't reach a Pennywise Representative. I am 7 months pregnant, I have a 5 year old son, my mother lives with me and my husband is a disabled veteran. We had to endure 2 days without electricity. We had to rent a hotel room for two nights due to the dropping temperatures. These are expenses we didn't plan on and really didn't have the funds to pay for. When I called Pennywise this morning I was told I needed to speak to an Account Specialist. The call was disconnected. I know it was not a dropped call on my side because my call went directly to the customer satisfaction survey for me to complete. When I called back I spoke to another rep who told me there were notes on my account made by the Account Specialist stating it would be easier for me to complete a new enrollment since my account had already been closed. The account specialist decided to leave notes on my account but not speak to me. This is disrespectful. I asked to be transferred to a manager. I spoke to someone named Oscar who then told me there wasn't more he could do but to start a new enrollment. I don't understand exactly what happened, I am frustrated that I couldn't seem to get help although everyone was ready to start a new enrollment. No one could give me answers. I have been a loyal customer for 2 years and this is how I was treated.

... from San Angelo
December 11th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They use switch and bait tactic

(1 / 5)

  The company signed me up under a good plan. At renewal time, I was I serving my country overseas. They changed the plan to monthly and raised the prices significantly rather than renew under the same terms. Very nasty tactic.

Randall Smith from McKinney
October 19th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AVOID!!! Pathetic Customer Service and Misinformation

(1.4 / 5)

  I was Impacted with Hurricane Harvey, called up Pennywise power 2-3 days after the storm (end of August) stating that I had 2 foot of water in my home and mentioned that I will have extensive usage of electricity for the next 1-2 months, as i need to use the professional drying equipment to dry down my home.

Customer Service agent mentioned that all the customers who are impacted with Harvey will not be billed for their usage until September 30th. We thought that would be helpful and moved on. Later I noticed an electricity bill for hefty amount (7-8 times my regular monthly bill) and called the customer service back; and they mentioned that the agent might not have clear information and that they cannot waive any bill or give discount. If they would have informed me about this; I could have switched to a different plan immediately by paying the early termination fee; that could have at least saved me on the hefty electricity bills.

Pathetic that they screwed up on the information that their agents provided and at the same time, they were not even able to help in any other way. I requested the agents to let me talk to their Upper Level management, they mentioned they will call back and never got a response; tried this second time too, same - no response. Thanks to them and I will move out once my contract is ended and will never return back to them.

If they cannot help the victims; at least tell that upfront so that we can look for alternatives; rather than playing with people's emotions who were already suffering with flood.

Kesava Chunduri from Sugar Land
October 13th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SCAM you the 13th Bill!

(1 / 5)

  Worst Electric company i have dealt with ever! They set up their billing 1st through 30th. So if you join on the 16th they do nothing to prorate the bill. They charge you that full block charge for using partial of the month. Then when you go to close out your account a year later and your cancellation date is the 16th you will be charged again. I called their customer service to explain I wanted prorate charges so I am getting billed 12 months not this (11 months full + 2 half months were they charge full price.) Their customer service is horrible after talking to CSR and their manager. They admitted it looks deceiving but that is their "policy" and wouldnt do a dang thing to knock off partial the bill or anything. Just said that is the way it is. Told them next step is the Better Business Bureau. STAY AWAY FROM THESE CROOKS!

John from Hurst
October 12th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Crooks

(1 / 5)

  Had a 6mo contract, it expired, we moved in a month, so they said the cost goes up a little for month to month, I get my bill and it tripled. What a joke, I don't mind paying a little more but triple any other bill I had is ridiculous.

Ryan from Houston
September 13th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pennywise Power is dishonest and extremely bad in customer service!

(1 / 5)

  They should get ZERO star. This company cut my first month billy cycle into 8 days and still change me a full monthly package fee. No disclosure of this short billy cycle practice when contract. When I called customer service to fix it, they put me 30 min on hold and not any remedy solution. A monthly charge is not that much, but this kind stealing practice is nasty. Pennywise Power = CON!

angry new customer from Round Rock
July 27th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cant wait till contract is over

(2.6 / 5)

  While I like to make sure my payments are done on time and not being late I have REALLY struggled in getting that completed in calling Pennywise Power today. I set up an auto bill pay (which I struggled getting done) at the beginning of the year in January or so. Now that I have been making the payments on the 7th of every month (which is pay day so I always have money that day which is why I set it like that) I always have a balance forward on my account causing my bill to constantly show a bill of over $200 when in reality only $100 are due.

That aside I got charged by Pennywise power for 2 charges of $120 and change in one month which was due to a "System Mistake" so this caused the auto bill pay to charge me over $200 one month for 2 months of service which by the way left me with hardly any food and gas to get to work. I walked most of that month due to this. (What a work out though)

After speaking to a rep and a supervisor I learned that with this auto bill pay I am in is causing my bill to show a balance forward due to a bill that was supposed to be due a month and a half ago. which is why im always showing a high bill. This to me is unsatisfactory as I like to make monthly payments and this company is not withdrawing my payments on time.

I really cant wait until my contract is over but thank GOD it is only 2 months from now. I would not recommend this company to any of my friends or family members. Good prices Bad BAd BAD billing methods and customer service satisfaction.

CJ from Edinburg
July 25th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Difficult to do Business With

(1.6 / 5)

  When I attempted to sign up, the website had technical difficulties and did not allow the process to complete (attempted 5:30pm 6/26/17). Customer service was not available after 5pm. Even though I was a previous customer of Pennywise at the same address for over a year back in 2012 and left Pennywise in good standings, I was told I needed to provide an additional form of ID. When dealing with customer service the next day, they are located in Mexico, it seemed painfully and extraordinarily difficult to get anything done. The customer service rep could not view the actual application resulting in one of the authorized account holders on the account able to be recognized because they could not view the actual service application.

John Thompson from League City
June 27th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pennywise Power is terrible!!!

(1 / 5)

  I ordered Pennywise when I moved to Texas from out of state. They never get their billing right, WILL NOT mail you a bill, has to be sent by email ? And are charging me $200 for early cancellation, even though I am moving. I wish I mever used them and DO NOT recommend them to anyone.

Kim S from Taylor
May 31st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Service

(1.2 / 5)

  Long wait times if you have to call for any reason. Auto pay doesn't work reliability. Customer Service confirms you are enrolled in auto pay then auto pay doesn't work. Pennywise will blame you for there system not working and lock you out so you can't pay the bill online and refuse to take payment over the phone. Who does that? What company doesn't want to get paid? Instead they tell you to go to a physical pay location, why would any customer want to do that over paying online or over the phone? Only compnay i've ever had problems with like this. Terrible experience would not recommend to my worst enemy.

Curtis from Houston
April 28th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst electric company out there

(1 / 5)

  BUYER BEWARE! This company is, without a doubt, the worst company I have ever done business with, in any field. I would highly suggest anyone and everyone steer clear of them. Don't be fooled by their "low rates"; this company has the absolute worst customer service out there. For more than two years, this company charged me more than three times the initial rates I had signed up for. After several calls to customer service, they eventually stonewalled me and refused to make amends unless I agreed to sign on for more years- despite the fact that one of their agents ADMITTED FAULT, and another told me that my story would provide a great coaching opportunity for their staff.

Ricky from McKinney
March 10th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Switched away

(1.8 / 5)

  Rate increased so high after contract ended. Switch away for much lower price.

Anhtu from Plano
February 23rd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Irregular billing cycles causes billing credit not to be applied

(1.4 / 5)

  I am on the extra saver 12 plan that gives 80$ credit when usage is between 1000 and 1500 units, and 40$ credit when usage is between 1500 and 2000 units. The problem is the billing cycle is never the same from month to month. Last month it was 29 days, and missed my credit by 20 units. previous month it was 32 days, and went over the 2000 units by 50 units..

Called Pennywise and they blamed it on Centerpoint, despite talking to a "supervisor". Fixing to file a complaint wih PUC - the supervisor didn;t care a damn about who I complained to.

Advice : pick a different company that is transparent about the billing cycles. pick a plan that a more standard per unit rate instead of giving credits based on usage.

p0n2000 from Fulshear
December 15th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible do not commit with contract

(0.2 / 5)

  I asked to speak to a manager and they refuse. I am a long time customer and when I really needed their help to extend my disconnection notice for the 1st time ever they refused. I will no longer refer them to anyone. Pennywise Power should understand that emergencies do happen. At tgis point I hate powerwise power and their rude employees.

Upset and nothing will make it better from Houston
October 31st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Go with another company

(1 / 5)

  I wasn't happy with their customer service, rates, or the fact that if you go on vacation and are a second late (after being a good customer for months) they shut you off. I went with another company and are much happier with them.

Go with another company from Rowlett
August 15th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SLOPPY! Errors everywhere: terms of service, payment timing, so-called payment details

(1 / 5)

  If you appreciate accuracy when entering into binding contracts, then I encourage you to continue your search.
- Payments: My recent auto payment processed a full business day before the due date. I logged in to update my payment method and noticed it already said "paid". I spoke to a supervisor who, after insisting there is nothing they can do, promised me that my update payment method will take effect with no problems. Well, that was false. Now I'm having to claim unauthorized charges with my bank.
- Terms of Service: The supervisor I spoke with assured me that auto pay is never a requirement. I reviewed with her my current terms of service that clearly states (TWICE) auto pay being a requirement, and she rambled off with several excuses that didn't make sense.
- Online Payment Details: I asked the supervisor I spoke with to explain why every single one of my payments list the source as "Phone Payment". What? I've never made a payment by phone to this company. There was no explanation. I asked to speak with someone who had more expertise and she said she is not allowed to escalate calls.
- Customer "Service": After a full hour-long conversation including all of the above, the supervisor told me that my account will be reviewed by her supervisor and I will receive a call back in no more than 5 business days. Today is the 6th business day and I haven't heard a thing. I called back today and apparently the lady never even notated my account. HOW DISAPPOINTING!

I'm literally happy to pay the lame $150 cancellation fee to cut ties with this incompetent, dishonest, error-riddled company.

S T A Y A W A Y.

Brenna from Dallas
July 25th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions