Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Power Express are the order experience, rated at 4.4 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 4.3 of 5.
5 Stars
54%
 
4 Stars
22%
 
3 Stars
9%
 
2 Stars
9%
 
1 Stars
6%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from jcmars43

Excellent
Cheap
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jcmars43 from Palestine, TX on July 28th, 2020


Our Analysis of Power Express

Market Perception
4.2 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Plans & Products
3.8 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Complaint Resolution
3.4 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Community Outreach
2.5 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Innovation
2.5 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Rewards
1.3 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

62 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Excellent
Cheap
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jcmars43 from Palestine, TX on July 28th, 2020
New Customer
We recently transitioned from another provider after getting lied to when setting up a contract and then refusing to cancel that contract. Power Express took over and has been a pleasure to deal with.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jeff Martin from Weslaco, TX on December 7th, 2018
Great value and easy transition
So far, its been a pleasure to have Power Express as my providers
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ken B from Arlington, TX on December 3rd, 2018
Incredible rate
Just got our first bill from Power Express and couldn't believe the price. We live in our house for 30 years and never received bill so low. We are very happy with our electric company choice for the next 12 months.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lydia from Richardson, TX on December 1st, 2018
So far so good
No complaints so far.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Vela from West Columbia, TX on November 18th, 2018
Power
1 month. So far so good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Red M from Spring, TX on November 16th, 2018
It is so easy
Their website is so easy. Payment is easy. Live person on the phone! Change of address is easy. Easy easy easy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Walker from Houston, TX on November 11th, 2018
Switched from txu
I just received my first months bill after being with txu for 10 years, and no joke my bill went from 260 a month to 98!!! We couldn't be more happy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rachel H from Pantego, TX on November 6th, 2018
Great pricing and customer service
Signing up was easy, pricing saved us money and customer service was very friendly when I had a question.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ecb from Houston, TX on November 5th, 2018
Excelente
Excelente servicio
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

ENID SANTOS from Wylie, TX on November 2nd, 2018


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

25 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Shame about renewal plans
Electricity delivery and plan was great, the options for renewal or extension suck :(
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tony Moore from Rosenburg, TX on January 21st, 2020
Good
Told friends, and they are interested in the rates. will check with me after I get a couple of bills.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

THOMAS PIEKARSKI from Mansfield, TX on November 20th, 2018
Cheap cheap cheap
Great price. Easy to sign up. I wish they would send me weekly emails on power usage.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MsPeach from Houston, TX on November 12th, 2018
Thumbs up
It has been pretty awesome thus far!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mr. Miles from Woodway, TX on November 11th, 2018
Good Choice
I moved to Power express and comparing with my last year cost I saved 25%. Apart of that the service has been very good and just to change providers was almost very transparent for me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Katy from Katy, TX on October 23rd, 2018
Excellent
The services was fast and friendly
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ha L from Houston, TX on August 15th, 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words, Ha L ,We work hard to ensure we leave our customers happy!
— Power Express
Too high
Misunderstood pricing due to no real clarity. Will not renew contract.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dennis from Waco, TX on June 28th, 2018
We're very sorry to hear about the misunderstanding with the pricing. We'll reach out directly to directly and expeditiously solve the issue.
— Power Express
No issues for the year that I have been with them
They had a decent deal when I signed with them. If I cannot find a better deal out there this month, then I will gladly stick with PE.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Juan from Irving, TX on June 5th, 2018
That's great to hear let Us know if we can assist with the search we'd be more than happy to help.
— Power Express
Good
Excellent
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Denis from Lacy Lakeview, TX on May 29th, 2018
Thanks for the awesome review, Denis!!
— Power Express
Nicest and patient customer representative ever.
Dug was absolutely the nicest and most helpful person that I have spoken to with any power company. I was setting up two accounts today, and he was wonderful. I have an account in 75109 and 75061Thank you for having such a representative.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

N Bauer from Irving, TX on April 24th, 2018
Great to hear! We work hard to ensure we leave our customers happy!
— Power Express


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

10 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Short billing cycle not fair
My first billing cycle was less than 30 days so I was below the 999 kWh threshold by a very small amount. I would have used over 999 kWh in 30 days but because I signed up 4 days into the billing cycle I did not get my $80 discount. It feels like some kind of penalty.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Burger from Houston, TX on December 6th, 2018
Second time is the charm
Called on 10/7 to switch service on 10/10. Two weeks later, no confirmation. Called back on 10/21 to check, no record of transaction from 10/7. Started the process over again and received immediate confirmation, customer service was very helpful.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Larry from Tomball, TX on September 21st, 2018
Hello Larry,

Glad to hear your over all experience was a good one and we were able to set you up! Thank you for your response!
— Power Express
Rates have gone way up in the past 2 years
While my overall experience has been good and smooth, I'm not really happy with how significantly my rates have shot up over the past 2 years and 2 contract renewals. In my latest renewal, I was told that it was the best plan for my usage, and yet I'm paying 13.4 c/kwh... a far cry from the ~10 cents (or maybe even 9!) that I was paying when I first signed up to get away from NRG's rates. But now my rates are comparable to what I as paying with NRG. Every year, they tell me that it's "the best deal" and to just stick with it, but it's now at the point where I'm considering switching to a different company that promises a better rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MZ from Houston, TX on August 14th, 2018
Hello,

Thank you for your review! At Power Express we try to make sure that everyone is on the best fit plans to suit their needs. We'll make sure one of our sales representatives reaches out to you to discuss our current rates.
— Power Express
Hard to reach, but well worth the trouble.
I have had trouble getting in contact with Power Express, but so far my experience has been ok. I do not receive usage details or advice on lowering bill. These are pro-active measures that other companies take. Power Express has provided economical electricity and that is enough for now.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nabih H. from Spring, TX on July 30th, 2018
Hi
We apologize if our hold times can be long. We are working on getting more staff to accommodate to our call volume. If you would like to monitor your usage you can register your meter to smartmetertexas.com you can monitor your usage every 15min or every day. We would love to help you setup your account on smartmetertexas.com. We can reach out to you directly if need be to discuss our different rates. We apologize again and hope we can better your experience. Have a wonderful day!
— Power Express
My experience with PE
I had great year with them, the rates were great, but when it came time for my contract to expire, I didn't as much as receive an email or a phone call offering extend my contract with a new plan or anything. I too decided not to bother them and got myself a new provider.
Customer service is inept.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Native Texan from 75602 on July 28th, 2018
Hi,
We would like to apologize for your recent experience and sorry to hear you were less than satisfied with our service We apologize if you did not receive any renewal offers. We reach out to all customer via email. We can defiantly check into it further if you would like. We hate to lose you as a customer but hope you can can try us again in the future.
— Power Express
Customer Service
They never answer phone calls
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mario Hernandez from Spring, TX on July 16th, 2018
We do apologize Mr Hernandez for the long hold time, we have had higher call volume than usual. You can give me a personal call at 877-400-0232.
— Power Express
Moving to a pre-owned house, we will see if we have electricity
For our particular situation, Power Express came out on top when using texaspowerguide.com. Signed up via Power To Choose. Online sign-up relatively easy, but had to call customer service to get a couple of questions answered.... customer rep polite but terse. Got confirmation email quickly after signup saying "You're all set". But a bit later (while we were out signing up other utilities) received another email from customer service that they could not confirm my identity and needed a picture ID. and a while later (still away from email) received 2 other emails one saying problem solved and the other saying that since I had not responded they were "closing the ticket". Sent a picture of drivers license and tried to call customer service to ascertain what was what, but they are closed after 6PM and on weekends.
With all the confusion, we will have to wait and see if we really did get signed up with Power Express at our new address.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RC H. from Manvel, TX on March 17th, 2018
O' No! We're very sorry to hear that. Looks like we were able to fix the issue. If your issue has not been resolved please email us at customerservice@power-express.com and we will be happy to help. We hope you have a wonderful day!
— Power Express
New service
The lights are still on!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

New Service from Tyler, TX on December 31st, 2017
That's what we Love to hear, Thank you for Choosing Power-Express to services your home.
— Power Express
Prefer billing to arrive in paper form and to pay by regular mail/postal service
I do not understand how billing is to occur. Email? Please help.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Greta L'Heureux from Sunnyvale, TX on December 8th, 2017
We do apologize for the confusion on your bill. Looks like we have updated your account, please let us know if there's anything else we can do to help.
— Power Express
Account Improvement
I was currently with PE, but my plan was expiring. I went thru True Cost. I decided I would continue using PE for the next two years, using True Cost figures. After I was notified that everything was set, I was notified by Centerpoint that PE had rejected me. After spending my valuable time on the phone trying to understand why I was rejected, the account agent says that I was in the plan for which I had signed up.Center point somehow got a false notification from PE.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Earlre from Shoreacres, TX on July 12th, 2017



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

10 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Do not go here
I signed up for a 2 year contract and had what is expected of an energy supplier at a good rate. However, when my contract was about to expire, I received a renewal offer that said my contract was due to expire at xx/xx/xxxx date and there would not be any early termination fees if I cancel within 14 days of this date. I chose not to renew with Power Express and canceled within the 14 days stated in the email. It turns out my contract went 15 days past the date in the email and I was charged $150.00 for early termination. I contacted them and received no response, and they sold my $150.00 past due to a collection agency before I even received a past due invoice. They will just screw you in the end!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brian from Spring, TX on November 7th, 2018
Very poor follow up to initial order.
Following my initial ordering experience, which was terrific and that's why why I gave it 5 stars, everything went downhill from there. I signed up for automatic payment so that I wouldn't have to worry ever about being late. Following my initial order, the next thing I received was a notice that my service would be terminated due to non-payment. Obviously, I was furiated. I called and they said I hadn't paid, and that's why my service is going to be turned off. I explained that I arranged for automatic payment, she looked into it and said oh I see it here, never mind we won't turn off your power. Just the frustration of having to go through that was horrible as I always guard my credit rating. Therefore, I doubt I will sign up again or suggest anybody using this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Furiated from Houston, TX on October 8th, 2018
Beware of your price after going off the contract
Signed up for a contract that had ok pricing, but the month after I went off my contract my electricity price more than doubled. What would have been a $48 dollar bill before was $107.
Why do you need to charge me more than double the price for the same amount of electricity I used the month before? Their current pricing for low usage customers is absolutely terrible. I switched to a company that lowered my bill by 66% percent.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Aaron from Rowlett, TX on June 22nd, 2018
Hello Aaron,

We are sorry you had issues with renewing your services with us. When your contract expires, we can not automatically renew your contract as we need to have a verbal agreement on file per the Public Utility Commission of Texas. Once your contract does expire, if no action is taken, the REP will serve the customer on a month-to-month product, which is based on the current variable market rates. We apologize for your experience and hopefully we can work with you again in the future.
— Power Express
Total scam!!!
I signed up a few months ago and everything was fine at first. The month the bill was okay and the next month it was a little higher but the next month it was almost $1000!!! I've never had a bill that high even at the peak of the summer with everything on!! I called customer service and they said that my usage went up. I guess that I must have had the windows and doors open with the air conditioning turned to it's lowest setting!!! No I didn't!!! Please steer clear of these people!!! I'll be getting service elsewhere soon!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Where's The Savings??? from Missouri City, TX on June 18th, 2018
Hello,

We're sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with our plans. Unfortunately, the plans we have advertised on TexasElectricityRatings.com are designed for residential customers not for small business/commercial use of 7007 kWh per billing cycle. Our commercial department can offer you very competitive rates. Please give us a call if you would like speak to a commercial sales team member. 877.400.0232. Thank you for your feedback and hope to speak to you soon.
— Power Express
A POOR JOB
I have requested several things but never get them I get charges on my bill that I was never told about when signing up
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

James Askew from Plano, TX on December 4th, 2017
Can't post payments correctly
Power Express is routinely making accounting errors in posting payments to the account, then tries to charge late fees for their error.

After getting a manager on the the pone for 20 minutes the fix it, but it gets old fast.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scott from Houston, TX on December 1st, 2017
Undecided
I choose my plan by the usage of kilowatts thinking I would save money over the Reliant bill. The first bill came two weeks after I signed up and was very high for two weeks usage so at this point I am not satisfied. I will probably eat the $150.00 early termination fee to get a better plan.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dennis from Waco, TX on September 18th, 2017
Overpricing
I have only been with Power Express for 2 billing cycles but so far I have not received / seen the cost savings that I was promised when signing up with Power Express from my previous supplier Direct Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kevin Redfern from Kingwood, TX on September 5th, 2017
Have not received bill yet
I have signed up for auto bill pay but have not received bill via email or mail yet. Have not received email yet to confirm payment made. Just concerned.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John Deacon from Tomball, TX on July 28th, 2017
Beware of FEES and SYSTEM lock outs. SYSTEM not user friendly.
If you in error enter a wrong digit from debit card while paying online, but still get a confirmation number of a successful payment, it comes back three days later as nsf and you get your electric shut off. Takes 5 hours to turn back on in July. The next month you go to login to pay and you are locked out. Call number in bold print on bill to pay and get a recording that number is disconnected. Call the 877 number, that one is good. They tell me they can allow me access to my acct this this time but if I make a mistake again on the number entering, they can't help me and the "System" will lock me out of my acct for 12 MONTHS. NOT USER FRIENDLY.
I have 10 more months to go and I am out of POWER EXPRESS!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Doug from Santa Fe, TX on July 17th, 2017



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

7 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Help
I didnt give this review when it was sent because I had just started & had no experience with it yet. Now, after months with it, I am so disappointed in Power Express. It is the most expensive company weve been with! The $85 per month off each month has not happened as promised. I wouldnt recommend this company to anyone.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Elta Rice from Spring, TX on November 5th, 2018
Poor customer service
Im still waiting to be able to access my account despite signing up almost 3 months ago.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

BetsyRoss from Houston, TX on July 11th, 2018
We're sorry to hear you're having a hard time with accessing your account we'd love to assist you please give me call at 877-400-0232 ask for Asia.
— Power Express
Awful
We opened an account and ordered service three days before we moved into our new condo. They never hooked up service and our power was cut off on a Saturday morning. Called customer service and received a recording that the office was closed until Monday. We immediately called TXU and had service within a half hour. They are more expensive but we learned the valuable lesson that you get what you pay for.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steve from Lake Dallas, TX on April 28th, 2018
We would like to apologize for your recent experience and sorry to hear you were less than satisfied with our service.
— Power Express
BILLING
Why do I have to pay a $5 surcharge because I do not allow you access to my Bank Account???
The day I received my email bill I immediately to go to my bank account the same day and did an electronic transfer. Why am I paying a surcharge when I transfer your money within 24 hours of receiving your bill?.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

BILLING from Sugar Land, TX on February 12th, 2018
Bad experience
I found it very difficult to sign up for new service. After filling out their forms and getting an e-mail saying I was all set up I later got a phone call saying they needed me to also send them a picture ID to confirm I was who I said I was. I told them that would take some effort on my part since I would need to go somewhere to get that done & they said 'too bad'. I cancelled my order!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lee Schnell from Hitchcock, TX on December 7th, 2017
We would like to apologize for your recent experience and sorry to hear you were less than satisfied with our service.
— Power Express
Unhappy with customer service
I was told to email and fax documents over and over only to be informed they would not be sufficient. The last customer service representative I spoke to was very rude. She said to me, "I was just unhappy because I did not get approved for a deposit waiver". My husband does receive Medicare and is 66 years old. I would have been able to make the deposit in two payments. But the rudeness was unacceptable! I signed up with another company whose representatives knew how to treat their customers and I did not have to make any deposit because they offer complete waivers. I would not recommend ANYONE to your company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sherry from Mansfield, TX on July 31st, 2017
Reaching Someone Live
Hello,

We tried to confirm our online order request by calling this morning. Specifically we wanted to know how quickly we could get service activated. After 19 minutes of listening to your on-hold music I hung up. Poor customer service if you don't have enough people to answer phone calls from new prospective customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Matt McDonald from Gainesville, TX on July 24th, 2017



Recommended Electricity Plans