We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, Champion Energy Services and TriEagle Energy

Do not go here

(2 / 5)

  I signed up for a 2 year contract and had what is expected of an energy supplier at a good rate. However, when my contract was about to expire, I received a renewal offer that said my contract was due to expire at xx/xx/xxxx date and there would not be any early termination fees if I cancel within 14 days of this date. I chose not to renew with Power Express and canceled within the 14 days stated in the email. It turns out my contract went 15 days past the date in the email and I was charged $150.00 for early termination. I contacted them and received no response, and they sold my $150.00 past due to a collection agency before I even received a past due invoice. They will just screw you in the end!

Brian from Houston
November 7th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very poor follow up to initial order.

(2.2 / 5)

  Following my initial ordering experience, which was terrific and that's why why I gave it 5 stars, everything went downhill from there. I signed up for automatic payment so that I wouldn't have to worry ever about being late. Following my initial order, the next thing I received was a notice that my service would be terminated due to non-payment. Obviously, I was furiated. I called and they said I hadn't paid, and that's why my service is going to be turned off. I explained that I arranged for automatic payment, she looked into it and said oh I see it here, never mind we won't turn off your power. Just the frustration of having to go through that was horrible as I always guard my credit rating. Therefore, I doubt I will sign up again or suggest anybody using this company.

Furiated from Houston
October 8th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware of your price after going off the contract

(2.4 / 5)

  Signed up for a contract that had ok pricing, but the month after I went off my contract my electricity price more than doubled. What would have been a $48 dollar bill before was $107.
Why do you need to charge me more than double the price for the same amount of electricity I used the month before? Their current pricing for low usage customers is absolutely terrible. I switched to a company that lowered my bill by 66% percent.

Aaron from Rowlett
June 22nd, 2018

Hello Aaron,

We are sorry you had issues with renewing your services with us. When your contract expires, we can not automatically renew your contract as we need to have a verbal agreement on file per the Public Utility Commission of Texas. Once your contract does expire, if no action is taken, the REP will serve the customer on a month-to-month product, which is based on the current variable market rates. We apologize for your experience and hopefully we can work with you again in the future.

Power Express Responds September 6th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Total scam!!!

(2.2 / 5)

  I signed up a few months ago and everything was fine at first. The month the bill was okay and the next month it was a little higher but the next month it was almost $1000!!! I've never had a bill that high even at the peak of the summer with everything on!! I called customer service and they said that my usage went up. I guess that I must have had the windows and doors open with the air conditioning turned to it's lowest setting!!! No I didn't!!! Please steer clear of these people!!! I'll be getting service elsewhere soon!!!

Where's the savings??? from Missouri City
June 18th, 2018

Hello,

We're sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with our plans. Unfortunately, the plans we have advertised on TexasElectricityRatings.com are designed for residential customers not for small business/commercial use of 7007 kWh per billing cycle. Our commercial department can offer you very competitive rates. Please give us a call if you would like speak to a commercial sales team member. 877.400.0232. Thank you for your feedback and hope to speak to you soon.

Power Express Responds September 6th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A POOR JOB

(2.2 / 5)

  I have requested several things but never get them I get charges on my bill that I was never told about when signing up

James Askew from Plano
December 4th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Can't post payments correctly

(2.2 / 5)

  Power Express is routinely making accounting errors in posting payments to the account, then tries to charge late fees for their error.

After getting a manager on the the pone for 20 minutes the fix it, but it gets old fast.

Scott from Houston
December 1st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Undecided

(2.8 / 5)

  I choose my plan by the usage of kilowatts thinking I would save money over the Reliant bill. The first bill came two weeks after I signed up and was very high for two weeks usage so at this point I am not satisfied. I will probably eat the $150.00 early termination fee to get a better plan.

Dennis from Waco
September 18th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overpricing

(2.8 / 5)

  I have only been with Power Express for 2 billing cycles but so far I have not received / seen the cost savings that I was promised when signing up with Power Express from my previous supplier Direct Energy

Kevin Redfern from Humble
September 5th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Have not received bill yet

(2.2 / 5)

  I have signed up for auto bill pay but have not received bill via email or mail yet. Have not received email yet to confirm payment made. Just concerned.

John Deacon from Spring
July 28th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware of FEES and SYSTEM lock outs. SYSTEM not user friendly.

(2 / 5)

  If you in error enter a wrong digit from debit card while paying online, but still get a confirmation number of a successful payment, it comes back three days later as nsf and you get your electric shut off. Takes 5 hours to turn back on in July. The next month you go to login to pay and you are locked out. Call number in bold print on bill to pay and get a recording that number is disconnected. Call the 877 number, that one is good. They tell me they can allow me access to my acct this this time but if I make a mistake again on the number entering, they can't help me and the "System" will lock me out of my acct for 12 MONTHS. NOT USER FRIENDLY.
I have 10 more months to go and I am out of POWER EXPRESS!

Doug from Alvin
July 17th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions