Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Pulse Power are the order experience, rated at 2.3 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.2 of 5.
5 Stars
13%
 
4 Stars
4%
 
3 Stars
6%
 
2 Stars
11%
 
1 Stars
66%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from Steven

Best Choice
I chose Pulse Power due to the plan. But there was an added bonus in the plan I did not see until the first billing. The bill credit product adjustment lowered my bills each month making the summer heat not so bad.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steven from Colleyville, TX on January 22nd, 2021


Our Analysis of Pulse Power

Plans & Products
2.9 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Innovation
2.7 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Community Outreach
1.9 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Market Perception
1.3 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Complaint Resolution
0.6 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Rewards
0.0 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

12 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Best Choice
I chose Pulse Power due to the plan. But there was an added bonus in the plan I did not see until the first billing. The bill credit product adjustment lowered my bills each month making the summer heat not so bad.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steven from Colleyville, TX on January 22nd, 2021
Excellent power company
Good rate
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Power from Humble, TX on January 10th, 2021
Best Electric Company I have had in six years
I've had several electric companies in the past 6 years, they all cheated me out of money. Of the 3 or 4 that I have had, this one is the best, their rates are low and have cut my electric bill in half. They are legit. I went from paying any where from $225.00-$250.00 per month on average to $143.00 per month and my usage has not changed. This month I had a credit. Now I know that the other ones were lying on the bill, the wattages were elevated and the rates were exagggeerated. Wish I had chosen Pulse power six years ago.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jeanne Fugate from Spring, TX on December 2nd, 2020
Awesome price for a small apartment
Ive enjoyed Pulse Power and the incredibly low bill. I even got free nights!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Riri from Grand Prairie, TX on October 20th, 2020
Satisfied customer
Overall im enjoying the way you put customers first when calling about a problem customer service is great.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Y Hollins from Cooper, TX on May 14th, 2020
Awsomeness
Love my lower bill
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Laura Garza from Wilmer, TX on May 2nd, 2020
Reliable and Affordable
I have been pleased with the service from beginning. The rates have been reasonable and the process for payment is simple.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

SmudgySage from Mansfield, TX on April 18th, 2020
Very well satisfied
If it stays good during summer months I'm hooked
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dinsh Khan from Glidden, TX on April 3rd, 2020
A blessing
The best experience I've had yet with a utility company.. topped my expectations. it's appreciated. all glory to EloHim.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Be The Light from Runge, TX on February 9th, 2020
Resident
Excellent
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Raymond from Houston, TX on January 18th, 2020


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Pulse Power
The company I would say is a good choice online billing & account information is a plus also they send a weekly consumption email if u sign up which is helpful. Now if u prefer customer service via phone it becomes a little bit of an issue due to the wait time to get an agent"if" u get one (sometime. Also given the circumstances with the virus and all if u need assistants payin the bill u can't get it through the normal places not sure u can get it other places either, not sure as to why but your on your own. In my experience other than those things generally it's a good company that needs to expand & find more ways of providing help.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pulse Power Customer from Corpus Christi, TX on November 26th, 2020
Good
Good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JP from Sugar Land, TX on May 11th, 2020
Pulse Power
Response was quick and easy. Once u are accepted the process doesn't take long to connect, just set a date and your all set. I would also like to point out that the rates are fairly low & easily maintained to keep your monthly payments affordable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Roshan Smith from Corpus Christi, TX on March 25th, 2020
So far, so great!
I've been a customer for a little more than a month. I got a great fixed rate, and I LOVE the weekly usage report with the bill predictor! So far, I'm a very happy customer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Erin from Kingwood, TX on August 7th, 2019



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

5 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Lights
So far plan is just right!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shannon from Houston, TX on September 8th, 2020
DECEPTIVE ADs - bait & switch
I signed up for this on 6/29 and on 7/27 I got a bill for a whopping $132 at 15.4 kwh and not the 5.9cent KWH. Which is .10 cents per KWH higher than my previous provider TXU. I thought they charged the highest rate in Austin TX.

Pulse Power just did a classic switch and bait, but it is also deceptive, because they bait you with 5.9 cent and a teeny-tiny clause "average price per kwh for 1000 kwh usage". I totally overlooked that, because I never in 65 years, based price on usage. I am 65 and the clause is deliberatlly too small and easily overlooked. It is like "Hey, 5.9cent!" and then whispering under your breath "if kwh is over 1000 usage,".

What Luis the rep (great customer service) on the phone explained to me on 7/28/20, is that if I don't hit >= 1,000 kwh, then I am billed the highest rate 15.4. I only get the 5.9 cent rate if I GO OVER/EQUAL to 1000 kwh. Now I am contracted to them for a year.

BUYER BEWARE. They grab you as the lowest rate, and in teeny-tiny print it reads 5.9 cent "average price per kwh for 1000 kwh usage".

I am totally screwed.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kendall-johns from Round Rock, TX on July 28th, 2020
Rating
Good, just signed up for this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tammy Smith from Kingwood, TX on May 7th, 2020
Cant get it right!
Everything great customer service top notch! Good rates! The problem Im having issues with is paying my bill!!! 2 months Ive tried automatic payments! And 2 months Ive gotten disconnection notices dont know what the problem is!!! So I always have to call and pay the payment!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lanita Polk from Lake Jackson, TX on April 4th, 2020
Quick & Easy
It was very easy to compare and shop through 'Texas Electricity Ratings'. However, as most of the electricity providers offer 'Contract buying'. I was not offered and had to pay out of my pocket for the previous contract.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Israr Hussain from Wylie, TX on January 21st, 2020



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

10 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Poor service and management
Due to 2 computer glitches I was charged 2 late charges and while they were in dispute they turned off my service over a $9 late charge that was there fault.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

McNeil from Hungerford, TX on November 18th, 2020
Bait and switch watch details
In 10 years of average electric bills from other providers I have never ever had bills consistently from $150 to $200 over $300 us. Pulse consistently went over these. till the final bill hit almost $800. from the other complaints I see maybe it was in the fine print I did not understand. each month our usage remained the same as in previous years, yet each month the bills each went higher.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jerry M from Brownsville, TX on September 2nd, 2020
Poor customer service
The title says it all
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Poor from Spring, TX on July 29th, 2020
Pulse Power Review
My only complaints choosing Pulse Power are the following (2):

One, Auto Pay is not always reliable on Pulse Power Website, so you have to double check your billing accounts to make sure your payment was deducted and sent to Pulse Power.

Two, I went with the Pulse Power $0.063 Plan, thinking I would benefit from it. However, my bill cost me way more then I expected due to the Delivery Charges of approximately $64.00 a Month. When I selected Pulse Power, I was expecting to pay an electric bill of approximately $120.00, to $150.00, max at 1800 KWHs per month, with all taxes and delivery charges included. I am paying $175.00, to $200.00 per month at 1700 KWHs, with all taxes and delivery charges included.

My fault, I should have done more homework.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

J. Rios from Burleson, TX on July 14th, 2020
Hard to remove early termination fee
When I signed up I told him I only needed electricity for a month as I was visiting friends house. They told me to simply tell them I moved out and there would be no early termination fee. I was charged $220 termination fee for three weeks of usage. With other electric companies I was able to tell them my forwarding address and that was enough. Pulse power requires Difficult to provide Documentation for move out before they will return the early termination fee. And even after providing that it took me nine hours and threats to Report them to the AEP before they finally removed the ETF
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nancy from Sullivan City, TX on May 23rd, 2020
2 month Review
My rate was lower than my last company...but my monthly bill is extremely higher.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

P from on February 24th, 2020
Stay Away from the Provider!
I have has continual billing problems. I have 2 houses with them and they applied payments to the wrong address. Never again!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RBK from Houston, TX on February 12th, 2020
I hope I don't have to call customer service again
New customer. Went to registration page on line and correct information rejected multiple times. Customer service rep talked so slow and was so dense she sounded high. Could barely hear for chatter in background. She didn't want to address whether their information they had was correct because any error was because I "made an entry error", although I had cut and pasted their information(!) from the bill. After several minutes of her talking about 6 words per minute we found, yes, they had put the wrong zip code in so I couldn't register with the correct information. No apology; no interest in fixing. Customer service that can only be described as "stupid".
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jan I from Highland Park, TX on September 9th, 2019
Duppef
I was misled about the price. I am paying $.12/kWh . vs $.08/kWh. Very upsetting. I feel I was dupe
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark Ingebretson from Jersey Village, TX on August 22nd, 2019
Nice customer service but not very well trained
I guess it is because they are new but they do not understand how fraud protection works.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

T from Sunnyvale, TX on August 13th, 2019



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

59 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Misleading
Signed a 3 year contract with Pulse Power. Called the company three times to verify the rate they were quoting. Totally mislead. I wish I recorded the phone call. The quoted rate is true if you use exactly 1000 kw per month. I do not like false advertisement. Will not renew or recommend a company that is deceitful to consumers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Holly from Wichita Falls, TX on February 23rd, 2021
Poor customer service
The customer service never solved a single problem
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Norma from Arlington, TX on February 1st, 2021
Bad customer service and high rates
The worst
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Christian Aguilar from Houston, TX on January 25th, 2021
HORRIBLE COMPANY
From November at 1900kWh to December (Mild month windows opened almost every day) and they top off at 3167 kWh....RIP OFF THEM AND TEXAS NEW MEXICO POWER, BEWARE OF TNP! THEY SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN AND ONCOR IN ALL OF TEXAS!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

K CONNOR from Lewisville, TX on January 16th, 2021
Lied about the contract
Read this one...
I was with my old company 4 years at 6.3 per kWh, but the hidden fees were too much. I switched to Pulse Power at the end of October for the Texas Saver 12 plan (12 months 6.3 per kWh no hidden charges). They put me on the wrong plan. I asked to be on the correct plan that I agreed too, they stated I should be better on the one I was on and try it for another cycle, if I did not like it I could change it back, per them I was under a 90 day period of time. After the second billing cycle I knew I wanted the other plan. Per our verbal agreement of contract for the Texas Saver plan; I was told no, you already switched plans. The only plan I switch as coming to Pulse Power. I canceled my service as per the Texas Saver plan it would $125.00 to cancel they charged me $340.00. In fact, they charged me $461.61 for two days of service and to cancel my plan... They mislead, out right lied, then took me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

01/09/2021 from Sullivan City, TX on January 9th, 2021
Bad Experience
So I switched to Pulse Power and my first bill was great. 2nd bill went up and after that they kept getting higher. So my power was cut off and I tried to call them and couldn't get into my account because I misplaced my info. I felt I had no choice but to switch providers. After I switched providers I found my information and was able to log into my account to review. I could not see my final bill and so I decided to wait for my final bill from Pulse so that I could go in and make arrangements since I knew there would be a cancellation fee attached to it. They went in and pulled money out of my account without my authorization. I called them today 1/6/21 and they said that I requested AUTO PAY to be put in place through the portal which I know I did not request that because I have never ever done AUTO PAY. It makes me wonder if there is a default when you go in to review your account that will set it up automatically when you review or look at your account. I will never recommend Pulse to anyone as they are too expensive and this last reason. I have not logged into my account since Mid December .. They say I authorized this auto pay payment on 1/6/21
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Irene from Round Rock, TX on January 7th, 2021
Run
Worst experience I have ever had with an electricity provider. My bill was double the highest amount I have ever paid, and they rudely explained that this was due to an increase in charges from TDU -- twice. I can only determine that the TDU charge was an additional charge that other electricity providers include in their monthly usage rate. Their "transparent" charges were not transparent.
I went ahead and paid the $125 to get out of the contract early because with their rates that was a bargain, but they never processed my final bill via ACH, and I never received a late notice. I contacted customer service again, and they told me my account was paid in full, and I should check with my bank to find out why I wasn't debited.
My bank showed no activity. Turns out they billed a non-existent account, which they didn't figure out until I contacted them AGAIN to get it cleared up. "We recommend you pay by credit card." In the meantime, they removed the auto-draft discount. I still haven't received a final bill, just the ACH notice... but I went ahead and proactively made payment with late fees and no auto-pay discount.

All told, I paid over $1000 for 6 weeks of electricity service. Brilliant.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Not Happy from Katy, TX on December 24th, 2020
Lairs
I wanted to make a change to my plan before it started. I was told I cant make a change till my service has started. Then the day my services were active I was told I cant make any changes to my plan. I was told fat lie. I do not recommend this company to anyone.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lying Customer Service from Lewisville, TX on December 20th, 2020
Duped by Shady Practices
I signed up through a 3rd party website, with an advertised rate of 6.7/kWh. When I got my first bill, I was being charged more than 16/kWh. I called customer service and found out that there was hidden stipulations that if I didn't use at least 1,000 kW, I would be charged an extra $95 per billing period, resulting in a much higher rate than the one I was quoted. They get around this but calling it a "discount". It's fraudulent, plain and simple. I immediately canceled and was charge another $125 cancellation fee, totaling over $300 for one month of service at less than 900 kWh of usage.
By the way, I filed a complaint with the BBB and Pulse Power does not deny any of these facts. They proudly restated everything I stated as if it made complete sense to practice business this way.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Laura Borel from Fort Worth, TX on December 10th, 2020
Consumer Beware
DO NOT EVER USE THIS COMPANY!!! Lies and deceptions is the m.o. of this company! Gladly switching to a better company!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Reid from Tomball, TX on December 2nd, 2020


Recommended Electricity Plans