Electric Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Tiered Rate
Fixed Rate
12 Months
24 Months
Plan Name
Company
Length
Price
Rate Stability
12 Month Tiered Rate
12 month
Tiered Rate
15.5¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
Plan Name
Company
Length
Price
Rate Stability
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
13.9¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
15.3¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
16.3¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Energy Charge on weekends!
  • No Delivery Charges on weekends!
  • Weekends start Friday @ 8:00 PM!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Plan Name
    Company
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    15.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Energy Charge on weekends!
  • No Delivery Charges on weekends!
  • Weekends start Friday @ 8:00 PM!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Plan Name
    Company
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Plan Name
    Company
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    15.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Energy Charge on weekends!
  • No Delivery Charges on weekends!
  • Weekends start Friday @ 8:00 PM!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill

    The best review categories for Reliant are the order experience, with an average of 1.8 stars, and their customer service, with an average of 1.8 stars.

    Reliant logo

    Texas Electricity Ratings's Gold Tier Providers are the best of the best in Texas Electricity. These are the best providers over the past year at providing customers and communities great service, stellar customer service, and top of the line resources, just to name a few things. When you select one of these providers, know you're choosing from among the best options in the Texas Electric market.

    Recent Good Review from Monicab

    Love them
    I was shopping at Walmart and was approached by a rep. who was very friendly, funny and explained that I was paying too much for electricity. I switched and found he was NOT lying. Thank God I took the time to listen. I am nee to Texas so I didnt know about companys for service.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Monicab from Houston, TX on September 17th, 2021


    Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

    38 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 5 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Love them
    I was shopping at Walmart and was approached by a rep. who was very friendly, funny and explained that I was paying too much for electricity. I switched and found he was NOT lying. Thank God I took the time to listen. I am nee to Texas so I didnt know about companys for service.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Monicab from Houston, TX on September 17th, 2021
    Asdisted with a verage billing plan ..excellent service from rep carlos 3-17-21
    Professional and knowledgeable help from reliant energy electric co .would highly recommend service
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Average Billing Plans Explanation from Weatherford, TX on March 17th, 2021
    Hi! We're so glad that you're happy with our services. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. Please reach out if you ever have any questions or concerns about your account.
    — Reliant
    Good service great price
    Easy to deal with, fixed price eco friendly.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    J from Tyler, TX on February 20th, 2021
    Hi! We're so glad that you're happy with our services. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. Please reach out if you ever have any questions or concerns about your account.
    — Reliant
    Very happy to call back and ask only Ms. Swami from Reliant customer serv Rep.
    I am the Loyal customer. I called second time today after first call (the guy very dissapointed me). Second time I called and Ms. Swami answered to my call and she was very professional, nice, she answered to all my questions regarding my rate plan and my rewards. I am happy the Reliant company has such amazing people who has right professional etiquette to talk with customers. Thank you Ms. Swami- I would be happy if next time I will call the cust.serv.again to update my plan, so I will in the right place with right person like you to talk about new plan for continue with Reliant.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Zhanarina from Houston, TX on January 15th, 2021
    Thank you for the great feedback, Zhanarina. We'll continue to do our best to provide reliable and affordable service. We're always here if you need us.
    — Reliant
    The best
    I'm still indebted to the customer service representative Nathally who walked to my door courageously and convinced me to opt into reliant Energy. I don't regret signing up for this service. The best ever i have used
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Pascal N. from Balch Springs, TX on September 17th, 2020
    Educated sales service!
    So I've begun shopping for electric providers now due to covid and at the need for at-home savings, I had the privilege of working with Mr Anthony Trevino out of Grand Prairie Texas. I've always considered myself a smart shopper but never in the area of electric costs. And I've never worked with Reliant Energy ever. My experience today was enlightening to say the least. I spoke to someone that was passionate to not only sell the product but to genuinely help me learn and break down what every cost means. And although I did not make a switch today (due to some transition), when I am ready and I will be, Anthony Trevino at Reliant Energy will have my business that's for sure! Thank you Mr Trevino for making an educated Electric Energy Shopper out of me and making me feel better about this life decision.
    Claudia Martinez Pena
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Anthony Trevino - Reliant Energy Rep from Burleson, TX on July 6th, 2020
    Mrs Drama Queen
    Hi as you may guess yes I am Mrs Drama Queen. I just became a customer today and power was scheduled for turn on today. I thought when i was approved with 0 deposit it was a good day that it was my lucky day. NOT! First off it was not from Reliant all that had happened , had happened. I had been living with my In-Laws for the past 7 months , 5 days , 4 hours , 57 mins. , and 15 seconds. Yeah that bad. Anyway a house my Mother In-Law owned all of a sudden became ours. My husband and I's. I had to go through drama to get the people living there out. Finally I had to get them evected. So out they went. I am not sure exactly when but they were gone by the time I went by yesterday checking to see if it was cleared so I could starting moving. Well people when you move into a new place dont forget to check everything including the utilities if they were on or off. As far as I knew they were on that pay as you go electric. I had told them a few days before to shut everything down that I wouldn't carry them , so yesterday I assumed all was off. Today I called around for Power and up tell Reliant none of the others made any sense. Seriously! When I was approved and told my Power would be on today. I was excited. My husband he has serious seizures. Especially in hot mugging weather , which was what it was like today. My husband has what they call Grandma Seizures which is the worse of it's kind. And almost all of the time when he has one he ends up in the hospital , at times as long as a month. Anyway after a hour went by I got on my tablet , found Reliant signed up waited about a hour then got on my tablet again , going to Reliant's web page and the lady who helped me ( think her name was Sandra ) was calm , polite , and very helpful. She assured me that the power would be turned on. So after logging off I waited for almost 3/4 hours. You ever have the feeling of pure panic run through-out your body? I did! I was scared out of my mind. My husband usually is the only one who can calm me down. Well he was Pail as a ghost. That's when I started calling again. What they on the other line didn't know , ( the Reliant Customer Service Person ) was I couldnt drive my husband to the hospital , and my tablet refuses to let 911 calls go through. I didn't tell them this , honestly I didn't think it would matter to them. Then my phone decided to have a mind of its own it kept shutting down , and always just when I was about done. It did this about 4/5 times , each time I had ( at least I thought I did) to start over. They , in total I believe was three no four operators , all started out with getting me calm and I would tell them what was going on , never failing right on cue that's when my tablet decided to venture on it's own. It shut off. Well this went on until the 5 time and then I think Juan C. Is his name. He stopped me before I got first sentence out , he said no problem that he'd would read the notes or what not and he'd be right back. Minutes later he was confirming the questions and concerns i had expressed to the other Operators. He said no problem got it. Guess what , yeap my Tablet went blank
    I wanted to scream , but instead I cried. That's when it happen !Bam! Power! The Power came on. Well my husband is good. He took a cold shower and rested. As the night winds down I remembered what JuanC had said right before being disconnected, he said no problem I got it. And I'll be dam he did just that. Now I on the other hand , Yes I am doing fine but after spending 4 hours on and off the phone , not knowing what I'd do if my husband had one of those moments , I am now off to the liquor store I think it's a good night for me and Mr. Patron to get to know each other. Thanks Reliant for being what all the other electric companies swear up and down to be , but aren't. That's honest , caring , helpful in times of need , a friend.
    Well all at Reliant
    ( Especially the ones that had come to my rescue )
    Stay safe , and Healthy
    And Please..........
    " Be Safe "
    " Be Happy "
    " Have Fun "
    " Peace Out "
    Sign: A Very Happy Customer
    Lisa C.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Lisa Coppage from Robert Lee, TX on May 26th, 2020
    We are thrilled to hear that our customer service team was so helpful to you. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a review, Lisa. We are happy to provide great customer service and appreciate your business. We're always here if you need us.
    — Reliant
    Excellent service
    The service is excellent, helpful staff and great experience
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Vo from Houston, TX on May 7th, 2020
    Better than my last 2 companies!
    We moved to our first home about 4 months ago (we were in an apartment before) and took the opportunity to try a new service. The agent I spoke to got us an amazing deal for first time homebuyers. He also got us in contact with their security side of the company who beat any quote that Vivant, ADT, and a lesser known company could offer. Anytime that I have had to call in regarding my account the agents have always been friendly and helpful. I used the chat service for the first time today, and it was also a great experience. I would definitely recommend Reliant.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    KatoKat from Spring, TX on December 12th, 2019
    CUSTOMER SERVICE
    Thanks to Billy Emp ID 09103506 our shop was able to get their electricty turned on a day in advance from the original schedule. Very professional and helpful. Went above and beyond " just " customer service. Thank you Billy !!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Angela Harris from Gainesville, TX on October 16th, 2019


    Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

    28 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 4 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Overcharge their long-term customers and will charge you at end of your contract
    Have been with Reliant for 6 years. Every year, they would increase my rate for the same plan. I realized that they charge about 1.5x the rate of their competitors for comparable services so I decided to switch providers when my latest contract expired on 9/10. Two days after my contract expired, I received an email confirmation stating that my contract had ended and that I would no longer receive power from Reliant because I had switched providers on the day my contract expired. I paid my final bill and thought that was it. I just received another bill today for an additional $117. I contacted Reliant and they stated that the bill was due to an excess usage charge of 1300 kwh that I had supposedly used on 9/9 - 9/10 (1 day of service). I argued with them saying that there was no way I could use 1300 kwh in a single day when that was my usual MONTHLY usage. They said the usage was reported by TDSP so I went on the Smart Meter Texas website and found that I had only used 40-45 kwh everyday for the past month, including the dates in question. I ended up paying the bill because I was tired of arguing with Reliant and they were not offering any resolutions. All I know is that this entire experience provided reassurance that I made the correct decision in changing providers. I will be communicating to whoever I can to not use Reliant because not only do their upcharge their customers, they are dishonest in their billing practices.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Amin from Houston, TX on September 13th, 2021
    We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    Better than people say
    I have averaged about 10 cents per Kwh and never had an issue with billing or hidden fees. Maybe other users didn't read their plan.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Another User from Spring, TX on January 16th, 2021
    We're pleased to hear that you're enjoying our service. Thanks so much for leaving us a review and sharing your experience.
    — Reliant
    Reliable product and fantastic customer service
    While I used them for my needs, Reliant had reasonable rates and I never experienced an outage like I had from other providers. The place they really shined was helping me cancel their services, oddly enough! I spoke with a friendly support person who assisted me in terminating my account due to DV related issues. I would happily work with this company again just because they proved they cared more about my safety and wellbeing than my money.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Shawna from Denton, TX on April 18th, 2020
    Good Customer Service
    I just chatted with Reliant rep Cassidy. She answered all of my questions, got me logged into the Reliant website and helped my lower my kWh rate by 5 cents per kWh. Very good service.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    JB from 11111 on July 26th, 2017
    Easy move out
    Had some question in moving electricity from current address to new address. customer service person Justin helped with patience. he is great and solved my questions/problem quickly.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dav from Dallas, TX on July 25th, 2017
    Great Customer Service
    When I call any customer service department I am sometimes surprised to find myself speaking to someone from India or China. Not with Reliant! You will be able to understand them and they will take ownership of your problems. You may find yourself talking about common concerns before you say goodbye or even promising to say a prayer. They have great people on the other end of the phones! And they may live just a few towns over.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Nonni23 from Corsicana, TX on July 1st, 2017
    No complaints, great company.
    This was my company last year with a 12 months plan, they let me sign in without a deposit (taking in consideration I had no credit history as a new resident to this country.) The website is very good you can easily manage your account and do everything online.

    Great Customer Service.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Hector Almaguer from Houston on August 15th, 2016
    Lo-ong time user
    I have used Reliant since before the breakup of the monopoly when it was HLP. Had a few problems before computer technology, but they were quickly fixed. Usually had to do with mis-reading the meter.

    I'm on Reliant Secure 12 plan, with Bill averaged over 12 mo. 1 person - 1,000 sf. - Aug 1291 kWh, Sep 1131 kWh, Oct 826 kWh. Bill each month is from $100 to $111.

    Time to renew and was looking for a lower rate. I guess there are some, but the monthly delivery charges get you. And company reviews. Ugh!

    Remember, most people only write reviews when they are angry or frustrated (I'm no exception). Since most of the reviews for ALL companies were negative, I'll just stick to the tried and true. At least I know bill will be every month.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Janet from Houston on October 16th, 2015
    Excellent customer service
    I had an door to door agent come to my house.. I think he said his name was Javier .At first I was going to close the door in his face but I listen to what he had to say and he gave me this new plan called Truly free weekend 36 I was on contract so he gave me $300 dollars bill credit to make up or it every since I did that my bill has been way less then the usual.. He gave me this quote of a price and it came out to be cheaper than what he said... He left me with his number and everything in case I had any questions... If you all see him/them come to your door u better answer because u don't know how much u could be saving... :)
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Sherry from Dallas on May 25th, 2015
    Pretty Good Company
    We have had Reliant for 9 months and it has been pretty good so far. The rates are not too bad, service has been good. There was a little bit of a struggle when I went to renew our plan but they eventually gave us a lower rate.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Scott from Grapevine on March 11th, 2015


    Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

    26 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 3 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Plans are misleading
    I signed up for average billing and I thought I was getting a deal but they carry over the extra usage and you owe a whole bill on the back end.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Micka from Lancaster, TX on October 27th, 2020
    Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    Telephone chat
    I chatted online with my phone to Brittany. I called asking for extension, I was able to get more time than originally requested. I want to thank Brittany for being so helpful and prompt in assisting me. She was very professional and I can tell she is very nice. Thanks again Brittany good job
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Cindy from Houston, TX on February 17th, 2020
    Pricey
    I have not been home (2 bedroom apartment ) in 1 month , and my bill is $150 . How !!! And I havent been home ..
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    JustWoW26 from Killeen, TX on January 5th, 2020
    Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    Too Expensive
    Expensive- They have their own rate per kWh rate, then Center point passed on rate. Feels like i am ripped off. all together i am paying 13 kWh.
    Their online portal wont allow to schedule payment of your own chosen date.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Too Expensive from Katy, TX on December 1st, 2019
    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to go over fees, usage, and charges with you. We also have tools to help manage your account like weekly summary emails and home energy snapshots. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 for assistance with your account.
    — Reliant
    On line chat
    I was using the on line chat for assistance about my current plan. Heidy was pleasant and very helpful, as well as responding quickly to my needs.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Brenda from Carrollton on May 14th, 2016
    Used to be better, as a 5-year loyal customer, impossible to enroll a plan at new customers' rate
    As a customer with reliant for over 5 years, i think it's time to leave.
    it used to be pretty easy to fix the rate whatever the plans i could find online, but not the case any more since about a year ago. rep keeps telling me, you're not eligible for this, not eligible for that, and trying to trap me to sign a much higher rate pricing plan instead.
    in past 5 years, the overall experience was pretty smooth, no disconnections and just few glitches here and there.
    but business is just business, customers are looking for lowest rate indeed, and there're companies with quality service too.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mike from Houston on February 8th, 2016
    Satisfaction
    Very satisfied.13 years already...
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Assaad Rechdan from Houston on December 29th, 2015
    Once the promotion ends
    They had a good promotional price when you sign up with them, but the pricing after contract and what they have to offer is less desired. Even when an account manager contacted me with a better promotion which I calculated to what my usage last year was everything would be $30+ dollars more a month. Its a hassle shopping around and switching, but you need to do with you need to do. Customer service is great and no hidden charges, but the pricing will not be comparable to what you sign up for. If you are able to understand the charges that you can calculate the price differences from other companies. Don't focus on average pricing. To estimate costs take your energy charge and add it with delivery charge which would give you your base cost per kWh. Then there is the recurring fee of $8.72 for delivery charges from every provider so that is standard. Also be weary of base charge. Reliant doesn't charge this but some companies do. Also note even with the added base charge a company could probably still be cheaper because of the lower kWh charge. Some plans have variable energy charge for instance if you use 1000 kWh you get a charge at 5.2 cents but if you go above that say 1001-2000+ kWh then its 8.9 cents. Definitely pay attention to that if you consume 1001+ kWh. Either way they will get your money just depends on your usage as they say. You might pay more for less but if 3 months out of the year you use less then 1000, then the savings for your usage will be noticeable if you are a high energy consumer.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    D from Houston on February 13th, 2015
    Straightforward and honest
    After 2 years with another electricity company in Houston, I switched to Reliant.

    The switch was very easy.

    Reliant has slightly lower rates than other companies in Houston area.

    Most importantly Reliant runs a fair and honest business. Their contract is more customer-friendly than other electricity companies I tried. There are no secret fees stipulated in small print, unlike in Green Mountain Energy. I pay a reasonable bill every month.

    I have had no problems with Reliant so far. I would definitely recommend Reliant over Green Mountain Energy.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Anonymous from Houston on August 11th, 2014
    Excessive Transmission Charges
    Been with Reliant for forty years but feel it is now time to move on at the end of the current plan. This month my electricity usage was $90.00 and the transmission and other charges dinged me for another $50.00. I haven't seen such high charges for transmission since I have been on this current horrible plan. I am a senior so I am concerned.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Margaret Talbot from Houston on October 10th, 2013


    Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

    57 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 2 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Fine but crazy expensive
    So far the customer service side of things has been fine and we haven't experienced outages unless it's a block-wide one. However, I was jumping between plans every 3-6 months to save money on power before this. Our usual power bill (slight variation during seasons) averages around $50/month. After signing up for reliant for a long term plan my bill instantly jumped into the hundreds. I'm not saying there are sketchy charges, but when signing up I definitely did not foresee some small extra fees becoming big enough to almost double my bill. As soon as my term is over I'm dumping this. I'd recommend hopping plans to get better prices than going with a long term one like I did. Definitely a mistake I won't make again.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dylan F. from Fort Worth, TX on August 12th, 2021
    Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    Was lied to about renewal rate
    I've been with Reliant, formerly HL&P since the 70s. I'd never felt cheated until my current plan renewal. I was told I was getting a better/lower rate than my expired plan. WHAT A LIE!!!! I've NEVER had to pay as much for my light bill as I do now! Then to find that I'm locked into this plan for 2 years, unless I pay $200 for changing my plan. I tried talking to customer service, but it was like talking to a robot; no feelings, no empathy, no caring about your extremely high bills, even though you're a senior with a fixed income. NOTHING!!!
    As soon as I find another provider I am done with Reliant. They could care less about me being a loyal customer all my grown life.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Velma McAfee from Missouri City, TX on September 19th, 2020
    Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    EXTREMELY HIGH PRICES
    Reliants prices are very sketchy to me. Every single month my bill increases, even if I used less energy than the previous year in that same month. During this terrible COVID pandemic, which has created very hard economic times, especially for a young widow trying to raise two children alone, I feel like your company is just hitting me at every possible turn. I do not have the energy or time to even care to look into another provider because I am barely capable of navigating the death of my husband right now, but I thought you should know your bill, which I can barely pay each month, is the bill I dread receiving the most.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Sommer from Arlington, TX on September 5th, 2020
    Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    Experience with Reliant Energy
    Ive been with Reliant for approximately 45 years,of course at different residences in the city of Houston. Ive been pretty happy with Reliant until I moved to 3903 Portman Glen Lane in 2004. Ive gotten up in age, and since time each time theres rain or a thunderstorm the electricity and the gas are turned off. Each time it happens there are problems with the fuse box,with the air conditioning unit. the water heater, and the light bulbs.At this time in my life I cant afford repairs that cause certain items to have shorter lives. My range is affected, and my washer and dryer. As well as my television sets, my refrigerator, and my garbage disposal. Id like to know why these interruptions in services occur and what is your company doing, if anything, to resolve your issues. Thank you.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mildred L. Jones from Houston, TX on July 8th, 2020
    Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    Very good for the first year
    The plan is amazing for the first year. It is down hill from there on.

    My rates doubled and they claim that the rates have gone up for the new year. When i check with my friends that sign up, i find out they have the same rates i had my first contract.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    M from Addison, TX on June 30th, 2020
    We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with our company. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm if you would like to discuss this issue further.
    — Reliant
    Reliant- Not the best rates
    While Reliant has been a good company to be with, I think resigning up with them has been unpleasant. They have good rates, but not the best. My bill price is the most important feature of my electric provider. They are not 5 star if they don't have the best rates. That is bottom line.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Rates Are Too High from Granbury, TX on March 20th, 2020
    Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    When contract expires, you're rates will always go up!
    Everything was okay until my contract expired. The rate went from 11.0 to 13.0. Too many other companies to choose from with much better rates.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dave from Pollok, TX on January 28th, 2020
    Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    Inconsistent
    I have used Reliant for several years and wish I could find a better alternative. Recently when I switched from a regular plan to a solar buy back plan Reliant skipped one of my payments which I did not catch and now Reliant doubled up my payment in November. The result is it leaving me in a cash quandary. Reliant must be forgetting customers have other bills to pay so thanks Reliant for now adding extra stress so can cover my bills.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    JMA from Harker Heights, TX on October 20th, 2019
    We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    Power Outage
    On 10/10/19, Dallas had a storm of lightning, thunder, and heavy rain. My power was interrupted at 9:00 p.m. On 10/11/19, I called Reliant about the issue and the delayed responses from Oncor to fix the issue at 2:30 a.m., then 4:00 a.m., and progression to 11:00 a.m. Reliant wanted to say the responsibility lye on Oncor, but I beg the difference. I hired Reliant to supply my electrical service, and I have been a top A-One customer of paying my bill on time. Reliant need to intervene with Oncor as to the reason why it has been 13 hrs. and counting for the re-connection of my service. I hold Reliant accountable to intervene since they hired Oncor as a utility supply company.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Teresa J Taylor from Dallas, TX on October 11th, 2019
    Thank you for your feedback. We know how inconvenient power outages can be. In Texas, your local Transmission and Distribution Service Provider (TDSP) is responsible for maintaining electrical poles and wires and restoring power during outages. Please visit us online at https://www.reliant.com/outage to find contact information for your TDSP.
    — Reliant
    Creepy Sales Rep asking too much personal info
    I recently moved and started a new Reliant account. The sales rep asked me a lot of very invasive and personal questions, such as "when do you get home from work" and are you at home on weekends and if not, how long are you gone from your home" and on and on it went because "he was trying to figure out which plan would suit me best". I finally had to put a stop to it and tell him that he was making me uncomfortable. If Reliant is asking reps to get this personal with customers, it really needs to stop. It's just plain creepy, especially for a woman that lives alone. If I had another choice of provider, I would've hung up on him after the first question. Unfortunately, Reliant was my only option so I just have to cross my fingers the rep was not a stalker with all of my personal information at his disposal.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    MC from Dallas, TX on September 10th, 2019
    We regret that you had a negative experience. We would like to have the opportunity to resolve your issue. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant


    Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

    358 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 1 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Complete gangsters
    I pay my bill every month on the 15th. Never missed a payment. Never been a day late. My power has been shut off twice on the 14th!! besides the fact this should be illegal it seems a little suspect its always the day before I pay. I would understand If it was 30 days late but they deliberately schedule there billing cycle to take advantage of reconnection fees.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Matt W from Mckinney, TX on September 14th, 2021
    Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    Worst energy provider!
    Ive been with Reliant since June and at first the payment was okay like $80 but in July the overcharged me with $390 like how!? Its just two people living in this household and we are barely home?! I tried asking why it was that much but they never give you an answer they just want to consider more plans to stay with them. But seriously if anyone wants a better energy provider go with TXU, screw reliant!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Nicole from Houston, TX on September 2nd, 2021
    Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    THE worst!
    I have been trying to get my "free" nest for MONTHS now and have been yanked around during every single phone call and still not received!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Leslie from Galveston, TX on August 25th, 2021
    Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    AVOID RELIANT
    These jerks won't add my wife to our account. She would have to add a seperate account and they would charge me a huge penalty for closing my account.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    James from Corpus Christi, TX on August 5th, 2021
    Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    Terrible Accounting
    Reliable has take over $1500 out of my checking account over the last 3 months without my consent. I have yet to be refunded and received another $600 bill. (My average monthly bills is $111).
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Sarah Matthews from Houston, TX on August 5th, 2021
    We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    Reliant fined me for being their customer
    The representative was saying while offering the plan that if you move to different location, you should not pay cancellation fee. Now they are charging. It's bad luck to be a customer of this company. Don't recommend anyone!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Reliant Fines You For Being Their Customer from Dallas, TX on July 30th, 2021
    Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    WOW!
    JUST got on month to month yesterday, so needed to see about a new contract. The CHEAPEST that I could/can get now is still 30% HIGHER than I was just paying! Right now, 7/19/21, GEXA is the cheapest, even though still higher that what I was paying. What a rip off, or go SOLAR!!
    Please don't bother writing me an automated response. It SHOULD be beneath you.....
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    R\flzc`@Pi1hCJ1S from on July 19th, 2021
    Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    Lies & Inconsiderate
    Today my wife and I both lost a full days work and all food in our refrigerator. This is the story, we already live at the address we need electricity. A family member had the current account and everything was to be transferred over to my name tomorrow on July 1, 2021. We did everything Reliant required of us in a timely manner. Yet the power was still turned off at 8:30 this morning. Even after calling and complaining all we got we broken promises and the passing of the buck.

    I'll tell you guys at Reliant and Center Point this much, my job is to sell solar systems and yes I do sell them to your customers. I know that from now on, everytime I am on the phone with one of your customers I am going to rebuttal every chance I get and put as many of your customers on solar that I can. Have a pleasant day.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    John from Katy, TX on June 30th, 2021
    Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    Vent
    Dont use theses thieves. This is a vent because nothing will happen as you can see by their horrid reviews.

    Wife called to tell them we would be moving out at the at the end of the month, but she didnt use the words cancel my account, so we received a bill for the following month. I recommend you use ANYONE ELSE, other than reliant, because they arent.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Barry from Plano, TX on June 29th, 2021
    We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant
    Shop For Another Company - Not Reliant
    I regret signing up with Reliant again. Huge mistake. Their rates were terrible. At one point, I had to sign up for a deferred payment plan. I didn't want to, but customer service pushed me to do it, not willing to offer any other option. I knew that would make a mess of things. Bottom line, their rates are too high. Shop elsewhere.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Holly from Houston, TX on June 6th, 2021
    Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
    — Reliant


    Electric Plans & Rates


    Recommended Plans
    All Plans
    Tiered Rate
    Fixed Rate
    12 Months
    24 Months
    Plan Name
    Company
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    15.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Plan Name
    Company
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Energy Charge on weekends!
  • No Delivery Charges on weekends!
  • Weekends start Friday @ 8:00 PM!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Plan Name
    Company
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    15.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Energy Charge on weekends!
  • No Delivery Charges on weekends!
  • Weekends start Friday @ 8:00 PM!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Plan Name
    Company
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Plan Name
    Company
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    15.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Energy Charge on weekends!
  • No Delivery Charges on weekends!
  • Weekends start Friday @ 8:00 PM!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill