Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Reliant are the order experience, rated at 1.9 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 1.9 of 5.
5 Stars
8%
 
4 Stars
6%
 
3 Stars
5%
 
2 Stars
11%
 
1 Stars
70%
 

Recent Good Review from Average billing plans explanation

Asdisted with a verage billing plan ..excellent service from rep carlos 3-17-21
Professional and knowledgeable help from reliant energy electric co .would highly recommend service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Average Billing Plans Explanation from Weatherford, TX on March 17th, 2021


Our Analysis of Reliant

Community Outreach
4.8 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Innovation
4.7 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Rewards
4.6 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.
Complaint Resolution
4.1 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Plans & Products
3.4 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Market Perception
2.4 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

37 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Asdisted with a verage billing plan ..excellent service from rep carlos 3-17-21
Professional and knowledgeable help from reliant energy electric co .would highly recommend service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Average Billing Plans Explanation from Weatherford, TX on March 17th, 2021
Good service great price
Easy to deal with, fixed price eco friendly.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

J from Tyler, TX on February 20th, 2021
Very happy to call back and ask only Ms. Swami from Reliant customer serv Rep.
I am the Loyal customer. I called second time today after first call (the guy very dissapointed me). Second time I called and Ms. Swami answered to my call and she was very professional, nice, she answered to all my questions regarding my rate plan and my rewards. I am happy the Reliant company has such amazing people who has right professional etiquette to talk with customers. Thank you Ms. Swami- I would be happy if next time I will call the cust.serv.again to update my plan, so I will in the right place with right person like you to talk about new plan for continue with Reliant.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Zhanarina from Houston, TX on January 15th, 2021
Thank you for the great feedback, Zhanarina. We'll continue to do our best to provide reliable and affordable service. We're always here if you need us.
— Reliant
The best
I'm still indebted to the customer service representative Nathally who walked to my door courageously and convinced me to opt into reliant Energy. I don't regret signing up for this service. The best ever i have used
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pascal N. from Balch Springs, TX on September 17th, 2020
Educated sales service!
So I've begun shopping for electric providers now due to covid and at the need for at-home savings, I had the privilege of working with Mr Anthony Trevino out of Grand Prairie Texas. I've always considered myself a smart shopper but never in the area of electric costs. And I've never worked with Reliant Energy ever. My experience today was enlightening to say the least. I spoke to someone that was passionate to not only sell the product but to genuinely help me learn and break down what every cost means. And although I did not make a switch today (due to some transition), when I am ready and I will be, Anthony Trevino at Reliant Energy will have my business that's for sure! Thank you Mr Trevino for making an educated Electric Energy Shopper out of me and making me feel better about this life decision.
Claudia Martinez Pena
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anthony Trevino - Reliant Energy Rep from Burleson, TX on July 6th, 2020
Mrs Drama Queen
Hi as you may guess yes I am Mrs Drama Queen. I just became a customer today and power was scheduled for turn on today. I thought when i was approved with 0 deposit it was a good day that it was my lucky day. NOT! First off it was not from Reliant all that had happened , had happened. I had been living with my In-Laws for the past 7 months , 5 days , 4 hours , 57 mins. , and 15 seconds. Yeah that bad. Anyway a house my Mother In-Law owned all of a sudden became ours. My husband and I's. I had to go through drama to get the people living there out. Finally I had to get them evected. So out they went. I am not sure exactly when but they were gone by the time I went by yesterday checking to see if it was cleared so I could starting moving. Well people when you move into a new place dont forget to check everything including the utilities if they were on or off. As far as I knew they were on that pay as you go electric. I had told them a few days before to shut everything down that I wouldn't carry them , so yesterday I assumed all was off. Today I called around for Power and up tell Reliant none of the others made any sense. Seriously! When I was approved and told my Power would be on today. I was excited. My husband he has serious seizures. Especially in hot mugging weather , which was what it was like today. My husband has what they call Grandma Seizures which is the worse of it's kind. And almost all of the time when he has one he ends up in the hospital , at times as long as a month. Anyway after a hour went by I got on my tablet , found Reliant signed up waited about a hour then got on my tablet again , going to Reliant's web page and the lady who helped me ( think her name was Sandra ) was calm , polite , and very helpful. She assured me that the power would be turned on. So after logging off I waited for almost 3/4 hours. You ever have the feeling of pure panic run through-out your body? I did! I was scared out of my mind. My husband usually is the only one who can calm me down. Well he was Pail as a ghost. That's when I started calling again. What they on the other line didn't know , ( the Reliant Customer Service Person ) was I couldnt drive my husband to the hospital , and my tablet refuses to let 911 calls go through. I didn't tell them this , honestly I didn't think it would matter to them. Then my phone decided to have a mind of its own it kept shutting down , and always just when I was about done. It did this about 4/5 times , each time I had ( at least I thought I did) to start over. They , in total I believe was three no four operators , all started out with getting me calm and I would tell them what was going on , never failing right on cue that's when my tablet decided to venture on it's own. It shut off. Well this went on until the 5 time and then I think Juan C. Is his name. He stopped me before I got first sentence out , he said no problem that he'd would read the notes or what not and he'd be right back. Minutes later he was confirming the questions and concerns i had expressed to the other Operators. He said no problem got it. Guess what , yeap my Tablet went blank
I wanted to scream , but instead I cried. That's when it happen !Bam! Power! The Power came on. Well my husband is good. He took a cold shower and rested. As the night winds down I remembered what JuanC had said right before being disconnected, he said no problem I got it. And I'll be dam he did just that. Now I on the other hand , Yes I am doing fine but after spending 4 hours on and off the phone , not knowing what I'd do if my husband had one of those moments , I am now off to the liquor store I think it's a good night for me and Mr. Patron to get to know each other. Thanks Reliant for being what all the other electric companies swear up and down to be , but aren't. That's honest , caring , helpful in times of need , a friend.
Well all at Reliant
( Especially the ones that had come to my rescue )
Stay safe , and Healthy
And Please..........
" Be Safe "
" Be Happy "
" Have Fun "
" Peace Out "
Sign: A Very Happy Customer
Lisa C.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lisa Coppage from Robert Lee, TX on May 26th, 2020
We are thrilled to hear that our customer service team was so helpful to you. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a review, Lisa. We are happy to provide great customer service and appreciate your business. We're always here if you need us.
— Reliant
Excellent service
The service is excellent, helpful staff and great experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Vo from Houston, TX on May 7th, 2020
Better than my last 2 companies!
We moved to our first home about 4 months ago (we were in an apartment before) and took the opportunity to try a new service. The agent I spoke to got us an amazing deal for first time homebuyers. He also got us in contact with their security side of the company who beat any quote that Vivant, ADT, and a lesser known company could offer. Anytime that I have had to call in regarding my account the agents have always been friendly and helpful. I used the chat service for the first time today, and it was also a great experience. I would definitely recommend Reliant.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

KatoKat from Spring, TX on December 12th, 2019
CUSTOMER SERVICE
Thanks to Billy Emp ID 09103506 our shop was able to get their electricty turned on a day in advance from the original schedule. Very professional and helpful. Went above and beyond " just " customer service. Thank you Billy !!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Angela Harris from Gainesville, TX on October 16th, 2019
Energy Company Change
I signed up with a young man named Devin in Killeen,TX. Great presentation. Sounded too good to be true. Switched from Just Energy and am completely satisfied. Godsend for my financial well-being.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Frank Marichalar from Killeen, TX on August 5th, 2019
We're pleased to hear that you're enjoying our service. Thanks so much for leaving us a review and sharing your experience.
— Reliant


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

27 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Better than people say
I have averaged about 10 cents per Kwh and never had an issue with billing or hidden fees. Maybe other users didn't read their plan.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Another User from Spring, TX on January 16th, 2021
We're pleased to hear that you're enjoying our service. Thanks so much for leaving us a review and sharing your experience.
— Reliant
Reliable product and fantastic customer service
While I used them for my needs, Reliant had reasonable rates and I never experienced an outage like I had from other providers. The place they really shined was helping me cancel their services, oddly enough! I spoke with a friendly support person who assisted me in terminating my account due to DV related issues. I would happily work with this company again just because they proved they cared more about my safety and wellbeing than my money.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shawna from Denton, TX on April 18th, 2020
Good Customer Service
I just chatted with Reliant rep Cassidy. She answered all of my questions, got me logged into the Reliant website and helped my lower my kWh rate by 5 cents per kWh. Very good service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JB from 11111 on July 26th, 2017
Easy move out
Had some question in moving electricity from current address to new address. customer service person Justin helped with patience. he is great and solved my questions/problem quickly.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dav from Dallas, TX on July 25th, 2017
Great Customer Service
When I call any customer service department I am sometimes surprised to find myself speaking to someone from India or China. Not with Reliant! You will be able to understand them and they will take ownership of your problems. You may find yourself talking about common concerns before you say goodbye or even promising to say a prayer. They have great people on the other end of the phones! And they may live just a few towns over.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nonni23 from Corsicana, TX on July 1st, 2017
No complaints, great company.
This was my company last year with a 12 months plan, they let me sign in without a deposit (taking in consideration I had no credit history as a new resident to this country.) The website is very good you can easily manage your account and do everything online.

Great Customer Service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hector Almaguer from Houston on August 15th, 2016
Lo-ong time user
I have used Reliant since before the breakup of the monopoly when it was HLP. Had a few problems before computer technology, but they were quickly fixed. Usually had to do with mis-reading the meter.

I'm on Reliant Secure 12 plan, with Bill averaged over 12 mo. 1 person - 1,000 sf. - Aug 1291 kWh, Sep 1131 kWh, Oct 826 kWh. Bill each month is from $100 to $111.

Time to renew and was looking for a lower rate. I guess there are some, but the monthly delivery charges get you. And company reviews. Ugh!

Remember, most people only write reviews when they are angry or frustrated (I'm no exception). Since most of the reviews for ALL companies were negative, I'll just stick to the tried and true. At least I know bill will be every month.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Janet from Houston on October 16th, 2015
Excellent customer service
I had an door to door agent come to my house.. I think he said his name was Javier .At first I was going to close the door in his face but I listen to what he had to say and he gave me this new plan called Truly free weekend 36 I was on contract so he gave me $300 dollars bill credit to make up or it every since I did that my bill has been way less then the usual.. He gave me this quote of a price and it came out to be cheaper than what he said... He left me with his number and everything in case I had any questions... If you all see him/them come to your door u better answer because u don't know how much u could be saving... :)
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sherry from Dallas on May 25th, 2015
Pretty Good Company
We have had Reliant for 9 months and it has been pretty good so far. The rates are not too bad, service has been good. There was a little bit of a struggle when I went to renew our plan but they eventually gave us a lower rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scott from Grapevine on March 11th, 2015
Great rates when you sign up, high rates once it's time to renew.
I'd recommend this company, however get a long term contract. Visit powertochoose.org to scan through many companies and their rates. Because once your a customer of reliant they sky rocket those rates.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ike from Dallas on March 6th, 2015


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

26 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Plans are misleading
I signed up for average billing and I thought I was getting a deal but they carry over the extra usage and you owe a whole bill on the back end.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Micka from Lancaster, TX on October 27th, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Telephone chat
I chatted online with my phone to Brittany. I called asking for extension, I was able to get more time than originally requested. I want to thank Brittany for being so helpful and prompt in assisting me. She was very professional and I can tell she is very nice. Thanks again Brittany good job
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cindy from Houston, TX on February 17th, 2020
Pricey
I have not been home (2 bedroom apartment ) in 1 month , and my bill is $150 . How !!! And I havent been home ..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JustWoW26 from Killeen, TX on January 5th, 2020
Too Expensive
Expensive- They have their own rate per kWh rate, then Center point passed on rate. Feels like i am ripped off. all together i am paying 13 kWh.
Their online portal wont allow to schedule payment of your own chosen date.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Too Expensive from Katy, TX on December 1st, 2019
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to go over fees, usage, and charges with you. We also have tools to help manage your account like weekly summary emails and home energy snapshots. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 for assistance with your account.
— Reliant
On line chat
I was using the on line chat for assistance about my current plan. Heidy was pleasant and very helpful, as well as responding quickly to my needs.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brenda from Carrollton on May 14th, 2016
Used to be better, as a 5-year loyal customer, impossible to enroll a plan at new customers' rate
As a customer with reliant for over 5 years, i think it's time to leave.
it used to be pretty easy to fix the rate whatever the plans i could find online, but not the case any more since about a year ago. rep keeps telling me, you're not eligible for this, not eligible for that, and trying to trap me to sign a much higher rate pricing plan instead.
in past 5 years, the overall experience was pretty smooth, no disconnections and just few glitches here and there.
but business is just business, customers are looking for lowest rate indeed, and there're companies with quality service too.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Houston on February 8th, 2016
Satisfaction
Very satisfied.13 years already...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Assaad Rechdan from Houston on December 29th, 2015
Once the promotion ends
They had a good promotional price when you sign up with them, but the pricing after contract and what they have to offer is less desired. Even when an account manager contacted me with a better promotion which I calculated to what my usage last year was everything would be $30+ dollars more a month. Its a hassle shopping around and switching, but you need to do with you need to do. Customer service is great and no hidden charges, but the pricing will not be comparable to what you sign up for. If you are able to understand the charges that you can calculate the price differences from other companies. Don't focus on average pricing. To estimate costs take your energy charge and add it with delivery charge which would give you your base cost per kWh. Then there is the recurring fee of $8.72 for delivery charges from every provider so that is standard. Also be weary of base charge. Reliant doesn't charge this but some companies do. Also note even with the added base charge a company could probably still be cheaper because of the lower kWh charge. Some plans have variable energy charge for instance if you use 1000 kWh you get a charge at 5.2 cents but if you go above that say 1001-2000+ kWh then its 8.9 cents. Definitely pay attention to that if you consume 1001+ kWh. Either way they will get your money just depends on your usage as they say. You might pay more for less but if 3 months out of the year you use less then 1000, then the savings for your usage will be noticeable if you are a high energy consumer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

D from Houston on February 13th, 2015
Straightforward and honest
After 2 years with another electricity company in Houston, I switched to Reliant.

The switch was very easy.

Reliant has slightly lower rates than other companies in Houston area.

Most importantly Reliant runs a fair and honest business. Their contract is more customer-friendly than other electricity companies I tried. There are no secret fees stipulated in small print, unlike in Green Mountain Energy. I pay a reasonable bill every month.

I have had no problems with Reliant so far. I would definitely recommend Reliant over Green Mountain Energy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous from Houston on August 11th, 2014
Excessive Transmission Charges
Been with Reliant for forty years but feel it is now time to move on at the end of the current plan. This month my electricity usage was $90.00 and the transmission and other charges dinged me for another $50.00. I haven't seen such high charges for transmission since I have been on this current horrible plan. I am a senior so I am concerned.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Margaret Talbot from Houston on October 10th, 2013


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

56 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Was lied to about renewal rate
I've been with Reliant, formerly HL&P since the 70s. I'd never felt cheated until my current plan renewal. I was told I was getting a better/lower rate than my expired plan. WHAT A LIE!!!! I've NEVER had to pay as much for my light bill as I do now! Then to find that I'm locked into this plan for 2 years, unless I pay $200 for changing my plan. I tried talking to customer service, but it was like talking to a robot; no feelings, no empathy, no caring about your extremely high bills, even though you're a senior with a fixed income. NOTHING!!!
As soon as I find another provider I am done with Reliant. They could care less about me being a loyal customer all my grown life.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Velma McAfee from Missouri City, TX on September 19th, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
EXTREMELY HIGH PRICES
Reliants prices are very sketchy to me. Every single month my bill increases, even if I used less energy than the previous year in that same month. During this terrible COVID pandemic, which has created very hard economic times, especially for a young widow trying to raise two children alone, I feel like your company is just hitting me at every possible turn. I do not have the energy or time to even care to look into another provider because I am barely capable of navigating the death of my husband right now, but I thought you should know your bill, which I can barely pay each month, is the bill I dread receiving the most.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sommer from Arlington, TX on September 5th, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Experience with Reliant Energy
Ive been with Reliant for approximately 45 years,of course at different residences in the city of Houston. Ive been pretty happy with Reliant until I moved to 3903 Portman Glen Lane in 2004. Ive gotten up in age, and since time each time theres rain or a thunderstorm the electricity and the gas are turned off. Each time it happens there are problems with the fuse box,with the air conditioning unit. the water heater, and the light bulbs.At this time in my life I cant afford repairs that cause certain items to have shorter lives. My range is affected, and my washer and dryer. As well as my television sets, my refrigerator, and my garbage disposal. Id like to know why these interruptions in services occur and what is your company doing, if anything, to resolve your issues. Thank you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mildred L. Jones from Houston, TX on July 8th, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Very good for the first year
The plan is amazing for the first year. It is down hill from there on.

My rates doubled and they claim that the rates have gone up for the new year. When i check with my friends that sign up, i find out they have the same rates i had my first contract.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

M from Addison, TX on June 30th, 2020
We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with our company. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm if you would like to discuss this issue further.
— Reliant
Reliant- Not the best rates
While Reliant has been a good company to be with, I think resigning up with them has been unpleasant. They have good rates, but not the best. My bill price is the most important feature of my electric provider. They are not 5 star if they don't have the best rates. That is bottom line.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rates Are Too High from Granbury, TX on March 20th, 2020
Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
When contract expires, you're rates will always go up!
Everything was okay until my contract expired. The rate went from 11.0 to 13.0. Too many other companies to choose from with much better rates.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dave from Pollok, TX on January 28th, 2020
Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Inconsistent
I have used Reliant for several years and wish I could find a better alternative. Recently when I switched from a regular plan to a solar buy back plan Reliant skipped one of my payments which I did not catch and now Reliant doubled up my payment in November. The result is it leaving me in a cash quandary. Reliant must be forgetting customers have other bills to pay so thanks Reliant for now adding extra stress so can cover my bills.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JMA from Harker Heights, TX on October 20th, 2019
We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Power Outage
On 10/10/19, Dallas had a storm of lightning, thunder, and heavy rain. My power was interrupted at 9:00 p.m. On 10/11/19, I called Reliant about the issue and the delayed responses from Oncor to fix the issue at 2:30 a.m., then 4:00 a.m., and progression to 11:00 a.m. Reliant wanted to say the responsibility lye on Oncor, but I beg the difference. I hired Reliant to supply my electrical service, and I have been a top A-One customer of paying my bill on time. Reliant need to intervene with Oncor as to the reason why it has been 13 hrs. and counting for the re-connection of my service. I hold Reliant accountable to intervene since they hired Oncor as a utility supply company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Teresa J Taylor from Dallas, TX on October 11th, 2019
Thank you for your feedback. We know how inconvenient power outages can be. In Texas, your local Transmission and Distribution Service Provider (TDSP) is responsible for maintaining electrical poles and wires and restoring power during outages. Please visit us online at https://www.reliant.com/outage to find contact information for your TDSP.
— Reliant
Creepy Sales Rep asking too much personal info
I recently moved and started a new Reliant account. The sales rep asked me a lot of very invasive and personal questions, such as "when do you get home from work" and are you at home on weekends and if not, how long are you gone from your home" and on and on it went because "he was trying to figure out which plan would suit me best". I finally had to put a stop to it and tell him that he was making me uncomfortable. If Reliant is asking reps to get this personal with customers, it really needs to stop. It's just plain creepy, especially for a woman that lives alone. If I had another choice of provider, I would've hung up on him after the first question. Unfortunately, Reliant was my only option so I just have to cross my fingers the rep was not a stalker with all of my personal information at his disposal.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MC from Dallas, TX on September 10th, 2019
We regret that you had a negative experience. We would like to have the opportunity to resolve your issue. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
New Servie Set -Customer Service
Customer Service set up 3 different accounts, all I want a transfer service, paying on three different accounts, they delete 3 times , shut power off in the process, in span of 24 hrs, one 8 Representative did not know what was done on account. Plus requesting a $600 deposit. WTF... They blew out 2 of my UPS and computer monitors with shut downs.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

BigHex from Grand Prairie, TX on May 7th, 2019
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will need more information to investigate this matter to ensure this doesn't happen again. Please contact us here, 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

342 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Bad experience
Okay, well, you JUST LOST A CUSTOMER. Thanks for showing your TRUE colors in this time when you could have been much more supportive. I have been with you for years!!!! have been with Reliant Energy and the bill has been inconsistent, I'm hardly ever home...I unplug things and rarely run my ac/heat. I transferred their services from one apartment to another apartment complex not far from each other , one bedroom apartment and my bill is always over 130.00!!! I have no kids, one bedroom apartment and hardly home and my bill is Sky high. I never get a good explanation why its soo high. Supervisor told me she couldnt help me and to call center point and hung up on me. WORSE EXPERIENCE EVER
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Yvonne LOERA from Houston, TX on April 27th, 2021
Reliant really
Please stay away from average billing. I have been with reliant for almost 4 years but no benefit of being a loyal customer my electricity bills keep going up even when I try to manage my electricity.Terrible customer service and they will do nothing to help you with the high electricity bills.Please stay away as they are a dishonest company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ay from Euless, TX on April 5th, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Worst Customer Service
My bill for a small apartment was 3times higher than my house!! When I called in I was told it had it had to be that my unit wasnt operating properly. I told him I actually had no power for 3 1/2 days so theres no way it could be three times as much as the previous month. The supervisor told me just pay my bill and hung up!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sm from Coppell, TX on March 9th, 2021
We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Do not service with this company
Don't service with this company Im stuck in a year contract and still waiting for the light to be connected it's been over a week. These people are quick to charge but don't move their asses they work when they want.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mali from Mission, TX on March 9th, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Ms
How can one place have such great reviews of Reliant and another such serious complaints? On one consumer review board every review I read was one Star. Its time to renew my electric contract and I want to check out different companies.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

E from Fort Worth, TX on March 9th, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Very Dishonest Company
First of all, it was my bad because i was so busy at this Monday morning 03-08-2021, so i had my wife to call in Reliant to check on the rate and move the plan to our new house if she could. (I should do it on my own.) however, this should not be the reason Reliant jack up the rate 50% tricked her verbally active contract. Now i feel that the rep pushed her to confirm the contract over the phone because the rep tricked her to confirm the rate which is 50% over regular rate in the area. However, she received EFL and contract for final signature which it is typical how I active contract, she forward to me to take look. I noticed the price the of the contract is 50% higher, then I told her not to active contract which she said she did not sign anything yet. she thought the rep is going to send her the contact, she said OK, somehow the rep took that is OK to active contract. about few hours later same day, I reached out to the customer service and even the manager, now they are asking for early cancellation fee to change plan. Well, the matter is the rep offered 50% higher rate than regular rate in the area, if this is few % increased I may just suck it up and stayed with them. Not on this 50% higher. This is the way how Reliant treat the existing customer! I canceled plan because pay the cancellation fee is way much better deal compare this outrage high rate. What a dishonest and Sneaky company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

EZ from Plano, TX on March 8th, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
They don't renew solar buyback plans and they steal your electricity
Why would my solar plan revert to a non-buyback plan when the original contract ends? Why wouldn't you notify me or try to sign up for another plan? I was told it would revert to a plan that would be a different rate, but that it would stay a buyback plan. Coldest month in a decade and I'm paying a higher rate as well as giving them free solar from my panels.

They also said that when I switched from regular power to a solar buyback plan that there wouldn't be a cancelation fee because it's Reliant to Reliant. Then they charged me the cancelation fee anyways. I called them and they said they'd refund it, but it would take a few months. A few months later, and it's still there. I call in again and they argue with me saying they won't refund it. It takes a few calls and going around in circles before they finally agree to refund me what they already should have refunded me, and shouldn't have even charged in the first place. Another 2 months later and they refunded me the buyback credit on the solar account! After calling and arguing with them again, they finally sent me the cancelation fee. Incompetent at best, and probably actually dishonest and shady.

Definitely canceling and switching to someone else.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eric from Killeen, TX on March 5th, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
My bill
Wish I never would have got reliant they bull shifted me my bill has never been so high.NEVER!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charles Bisset from Fort Worth, TX on March 2nd, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Price Gouging Ba$t@rd$
STAY AWAY!! Reliant is the most expensive electric company Ive ever partnered with. Ive paid over $1,000 from December thru February. Ive taken all the necessary steps to secure my home for energy waste. The truly free weekend plan is not feee at all! TRUST ME! They get theyre money one way or the other. I keep my thermostat no more than 70 F, regardless of cold it gets, Ive installed all new windows (2 years ago), I use the nest thermostat, I turn off my unit when Im at work, and I have tu free weekends plan. Youre better off paying a flat rate. Forget the so-called money saving plans Reliant has no compassion and no interest in anything except price gouging.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dont Trust Reliant from Lewisville, TX on February 26th, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Higher bill
Everyone needs to check the billing on reliant since I had no power for four days and my bill was higher than last month. Don't recommend reliant energy since customer service is about 1 star, drops calls & higher bills when u have no power!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jose from Dallas, TX on February 25th, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant


All Reliant Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
11.9¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
24 Month Fixed Rate
24 month
Fixed Rate
11.1¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
10.7¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill