We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, Champion Energy Services, TriEagle Energy and Gexa Energy

Only caters to new customers

(2.8 / 5)

  My 1st contract with them was great with very competitive rates. But after it expired my next 2 contracts the rates kept going up and up. Finally I had enough and just switched to TXU Energy and now have lower rates then my 1st reliant contract. They also told me my plan ran out on the 27th of the month so that's when I had TXU take over but in reality my plan ran out on the 25th so this way they sent me a 2 day bill which the usage was only $4.88 but they got to hit me with 1 more monthly base charge. Ridiculous!!!

Shawn Ziemann from Troy
May 3rd, 2018

Thanks for your candid feedback, Shawn. Prices will change according to market costs at the time, and we understand that no one likes to see an increase. We do all that we can to keep pricing competitive and we would love to have a chance to earn your business when you next renew. Give us a call or chat 24/7 to discuss plan options anytime: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm.

Reliant Responds May 8th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Hefty Oncor Electric Delivery Charges

(2.8 / 5)

  Beware of the Oncor Electric Delivery Charge which is a fixed charge plus A PER KWH CHARGE! Yikes!!

Griffith from Arlington
January 22nd, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant does poorly at retaining existing customer!

(2.8 / 5)

  I moved to Houston two years ago from out of state. Choosing an electricity supplier was a new experience for me. I started out with Reliant so have been a customer for two years. I called customer service yesterday to find out when I can switch without paying the early termination fee. I never did find out. I intended to switch because the rates being offered to me were at least 2 cents per kwh higher than what is available from other providers. Eduardo kept me on the line way too long presenting offers. I asked to have the EFL sent to me for an offer than finally appeared to be reasonble. He claimed not to know what an EFL was! I told him I would not agree to anything over the phone an hung up. I will switch to someone else now just because that call was so irritating and why should I have to call to get a better rate. They should try to keep my business without making it a hassle.

Mark from Cypress
September 26th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lower rates for new customers.

(2.7 / 5)

  Every time my plan expires they want to enroll me
in a higher plan and usually a month to month
plan. The plans they use to get new customers is
always cheaper that the plans they use to keep
customers. After 3 years of this I am leaving
Reliant.

Tom Scheible from Houston
February 5th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good company

(2.7 / 5)

  Never had an issues. That is all you can ask for.

Mike from Dallas
July 13th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Okay..

(2.7 / 5)

  To be fair, I don't really have a basis for comparision. My contract is up soon so I've looking at other providers and 90% of them are cheaper than Reliant, but I worry if it's one of those "you get what you pay for" deals. I think I may switch just to try something new.

YJ from Houston
May 10th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Price game every year

(2.6 / 5)

  Every year I call to get prices. They give me the same speech. It doesn't matter how long you have been with them and that you pay your bill on time. Time for a change

C Kin from Terrell
March 12th, 2019

We're sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We are reviewing our policies with our agents to ensure customers are provided with all options to meet their needs and to ensure this does not happen again. If we can still be of assistance, please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds March 18th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best to Worst in 2 years

(2.6 / 5)

  I have been with Reliant Energy for past 2 years and loved then. When my first year was up they offered me a similar plan to what I had been on so there was no reason to even shop around I accepted on the spot. This year when my Plan was up the best plan they offered me was to RAISE MY RATE 75%!! You read that right 75%. I called customer service and even though they were nice as always they had no power to offer me a better rate at all. I went to power to Choose and found a company with a good rating that offered me a rate 17% less then I was paying! So I will end up paying less next year rather then almost double that Reliant tried to offer me. Actually this same thing happened to me 4 years ago with Startex so it pays to shop around every time you renew. Shame on you Reliant You lost me for life!

Reliant loses it's mind. from Austin
June 2nd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Regret Changing To Reliant

(2.6 / 5)

  Sales rep who came to my door took my elec bill from the previous month, calculated some numbers and showed how Reliant's per kwh was higher but because weekends were free I would save money. WRONG For less kwh usage total (including weekend hours), using my old company Pennywise would have saved me $40 to 55 for bills in the last 3 months. I cannot believe it and I did the math with the rep and believed every word he said. RELIANT IS A RIP-OFF

Dee from Houston
June 12th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Planning to switch

(2.6 / 5)

  I am with Reliant for almost 3 years. But this time when my contract ended, I went to my account. The only plans they show are most expensive and long term, It seems like they wants to lock me in at higher price. When you go to their website without logging to your account, they show bunch of other long term cheaper plans. This is deceiving. I have decided to make switch.

R from Irving
October 6th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Customer Service

(2.6 / 5)

  I have been a Reliant customer for over 8 years, and have been generally happy with their online account system and their various plans. However, when it was time to renew early in 2013, I had very few plans (no wind plans at all) available to me in my online account. When I called, the rep described a few more plans that were "only available through a customer service rep." When I asked for an online or mailed copy of the terms and conditions for my review before I signed up, he said that wasn't possible. He was able to answer my questions, but unable to provide the terms in writing before I signed up. After I gave the poor guy an earful (he was just reading from a script) and told him I was very unlikely to renew with Reliant after this experience, I asked to speak to a manager. I was put on hold, but after about 10 minutes I decided it wasn't worth it and hung up.

Reliant appears to have gone downhill in my opinion. In my opinion their customer service is poor, and their available plans are not that competitive. I am currently searching for a new electric company.

Unsatisfied Customer from Temple
May 18th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Old Plan Customers don't get perks

(2.6 / 5)

  After 30 yrs. of being a loyal and responsible paying customer....I assumed Reliant was giving
me the best rates possible in order to keep my business. WRONG! They try to offer you another plan which appears to be a lower rate but the surcharges are doubled or tripled. Read the fine print before signing up on a plan. Do the math ,,,,,there's other providers offering cheaper rates, no base pay, cheaper energy rates, and cheaper delivery charges. If the plan is vague and doesn't spell out an example of what your monthly charge will be with an itemized list of ALL the charges which are added on.....they are hiding something.

Pam from Baytown
December 10th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

loyal customer, but not loyal company

(2.6 / 5)

  I see the offers for signing up with Reliant. With smart meters (which were not even an option when I signed on to my plan), discounts from 8 to 8, $300 incentive, lower prices for kilowatt hours, but for a customer that has been with them for about 12 years, nothing! I would have to pay $150 to upgrade my plan. If I do decide to do that I will be looking elsewhere.

Pat from Plano
August 18th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Awful Customer Service, Noncompetitive Rates

(2.6 / 5)

  Recently my 12 month "Cap and Save" term contract expired. Reliant made 2 renewal offers. One floating rate plan (power tracker @ roughly 10 cents per kWh at $3/MMBtu Natural Gas), and continuation of a Cap and Save (approximately 11-12 cents per kWh). These rates are uncompetitive, with current offers sub 9 cents per kWh. I chose Power Tracker so I was floating month to month to explore my options. I never received an EFL for the plan, nor was I able to view it online. My account said that I would be able to view the documentation 3 business days after the transition took place, meaning that I wouldn't receive the EFL until the 3 day Federal "grace period" for cancellation was over, leaving me liable to pay a $150 cancellation fee (per Reliant Customer Service) even though the plan is advertised without a fee. In response they offered the same Cap and Save plan at 11 cents per kWh, when they are offering 9.1 cents and 9.5 cents for 6 and 12 month fixed terms on PowertoChoose.org. They refuse to offer me a lower rate, so I cancelled service and moved to Amigo energy for 8.6 cents per kWh (12 month fixed).

The only thing I was satisfied with was order experience and billing. Orders were completed on time, and billing a non-event.

I would not use Reliant, but if you do, be prepared to switch services after your initial contract expires.

Matt from Houston
June 3rd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just OK

(2.6 / 5)

  I think their service is good, the lights come on but the pricing is not very competative and I don't have an incentive to stay with them and they don't seem to care.

Anonymous
May 14th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

How I Feel About Reliant Energy

(2.5 / 5)

  Eh. If you have to have electricity, this guy will do.

Kristin from Houston
May 13th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch out for rate increases

(2.4 / 5)

  I've been a reliant customer for a few years, moved between two houses with them, but you have to keep an eye on their rates. They more than doubled my rate within 90 days after the promotion period. My bill went from $150-175 a month and the last one before I switched three months later was $375.

Hunter from Tyler
August 28th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very high cost per KW

(2.4 / 5)

  I left Reliant after doing the math on my bill by hand as opposed to reading what was printed on there. The price per KW was a lot higher than what was printed on the bill. Most companies include the transmission fees in their cost per KW. Reliant does not include these fees and it seems like they are cheaper. One thing I did like was the ability to track the amount of energy you used from your smartphone. Unfortunately even though I was consuming a lot less energy than all my neighbors, I was probably paying the same amount since my price per KW was alot higher.

Pete from Round Rock
August 14th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

disappointed

(2.4 / 5)

  A representative came to my house and show me lower rates and would help us, I couldn't turn it down and for about a few months rates were good but then my bill doubled. I even checked to see the difference in usage and nothing different except I use a space heater in evenings but it wouldn't double from $119 up to $300. It got to I couldn't keep up and reliant will not help other than offer deferral plan but we know how that is. Sad when youre on time with payments and all they give you is a deferral plan with a switch hold. I refuse to deal with them again, Im going back to Firstchoice!

shreyll from Paris
March 24th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant increases delivery charges randomly

(2.4 / 5)

  Be careful when you enroll with Reliant. The delivery charges vary haphazardly and usually goes up. I am now paying as much for delivery charges (CenterPoint Delivery) to Reliant as my Electric use. I know that CenterPoint charges $10 to Reliant. Reliant loves to mark this up using various reasons.

Hal from Houston
January 21st, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Time consumption!!!

(2.4 / 5)

  I am so disappointed in the customer service and their payment systems. I have consistently paid my account online with my debit cards and twice they have sent back my payment with a $25.00 charge on my account. I have only been with them since January! They claim that my bank has sent back an insufficient funds each time, this caused me to call my bank since I knew i had the funds in my account. My bank stated they showed no record of Reliant energy trying to pull my funds. They would be able to see when they attempted it. I even had the bank on 3 way call customer service still was unhelpful and claimed no accountability for the denied transaction. I am leaving them before my subscription is up..... $50.00 later in fees and $150.00 cancelation fee is a lot but I do not like having to worry about my electric being turned off, unaware they returned my payment.....beside the fact that I have probably spent a full day on the phone with them when you add my calls up. Their customer service is inept and useless in helping with any billing issues...... if you choose to pay online with your debit card plan on paying more and spending more time on phone.

Brooke from Dallas
June 10th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant Home essentials

(2.4 / 5)

  Reliant put on an Allied Warranty plan to protect A/C units and wiring , etc . Although I agreed on the phone to try it . Supposed to send information to us to decide . Did not happen . They crammed the plan on the back of the bill , where people never looked. Cost was $ 16.99 a month , We did not notice the charge for six months because they sneaked it on the bill. I complaiine to 4 different people, and one said we should read our bill better . Complained to PUC - no help. Finally I asked Jeremy Rogalski from KHOU to get on the casae. They refunded our money within a day , just at the mention of the I Team. I think they wanted to shut us up, and they will be happy if we leave Reliant . There are probably a lot more people than us who were deceived in a sneaky way . I hope KHOU actually continues with the investigation. We have been with the same people for 40 years , but they hav completely lost our trust. You have to be up front with people , and they do not do that.

James Bauser from Houston
May 11th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Power Hungry

(2.4 / 5)

  Has had Reliant for service for over 6 yrs. Went from .15/klh to only .12/klh. Not much savings for loyalty. The usage monitoring weekly are somewhat useful, but expect more from a company that just collects money.

Den from Grand Prairie
May 20th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overpriced

(2.4 / 5)

  Very overpriced. I never had an issue with Reliant but they would not work with me to lower their outrageous rates. As soon as my contract expired they jumped me up to $.15/KW. Good company but not worth paying double the price.

Jeff Taylor from Midland
October 3rd, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

not for good customer.

(2.3 / 5)

  I call them for meter broken. I was billed for three time of daily usage for no reasonable excuse. try to contact customer services. no result. pay it or lose it;>

lei from Missouri City
October 18th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good service, Bad price

(2.3 / 5)

  What else really needs to be said. I am paying too much!!! I think they are a good company but I am about to switch becasue the prices just dont compete.

mike from Houston
July 21st, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bill has doubled

(2.2 / 5)

  I am going to switch due to the sharp increase in my bill over the summer. My apt is 750 sq. feet, and I kept my thermostat set at 82 during the day, 78 at night. My bill went from about $50 in July to $90 in August. This month (September), I have turned my air off between 7:30 am and 7:00 pm, and kept it at 82 at night. My expected bill will still be $81. A co-worker lives in a house with twice the square footage and keeps her thermostat set below 70 at night. Her bill is only $140.

I have not tried talking with customer service. The account management is easy, I think, the high prices are just not worth it.

Jennifer from Addison
September 18th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Leaving.....Again

(2.2 / 5)

  I have had good experience with Reliant but It appears that for long term customers they don't offer special plans that are otherwise available. My contract is expiring after a year and all the plan they offer me are much higher than the plans they have listed on their website. This happened the last time I had a year contract with them, so I'm leaving.....again!

DC from Arlington
June 26th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

reliant = non reliable

(2.2 / 5)

  go with someone else. they are too high and too cocky.not worth the hassle.

owen carol from Houston
June 3rd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing nightmare

(2.2 / 5)

  I switched to Reliant while I lived at house #1 and received great service. I loved the easy to read bills. When I inherited #2 house I decided to switch the service there to Reliant from TXU- THAT'S WHEN THE NIGHTMARE BEGAN!
2/15/2013 Was my last bill from Reliant for the #1 house only
3/18/2013 My first combined bill from Reliant was due 4/3/2013, , it listed only the #2 house address and was for $342.01
I went online and it said my charges were $190.81
I called customer service and was told they would be sending a single bill with a single total for both houses. I asked if it was possible to have that split in some way and was told only if they shut down the bill averaging program, I paid full rates for a month and then went back to the program. I asked why the two different amounts- that's a big difference between $190.81 and $342.01. She said she could not tell me what had happened.
3/21/2013 I received CORRECTED INVOICE for $190.81
4/17/2013 I received Invoice for $140.00 (no address on face of bill) AND an Invoice for $224.00 showing #2 house THEN on
4/19/2013 I received an Invoice for $156.33 showing #1 house AND and Invoice for $188.33 showing #2 house AND an Invoice for $259.33 showing #2 house
4/22/2013
I went online, and paid the amount shown there of $259.33 by credit card as I was about to leave town for two weeks.
I called TXU and switched Milam Street to TXU thinking if they were only billing for one property the madness would stop.
4/25/2013 I received Invoice for $58.41 no address shown
Invoice for $-245.93 showing #2 house
Invoice for $-302.14 showing #1 house
At this point I gave up and called TXU again and moved #1 back to them
4/30/2013 I received Invoice for $133.48 showing #2 house
5/3/2013 I received Invoice for $191.79 showing #1 house

I went online to make sure of what I owed and I am mailing my final payment to Reliant , which is for $191.79

I emailed all of this info to Reliant (with addresses and invoice numbers) and got a canned response asking me to call them as they would be glad to discuss my account with me!!! At this point, I was tired of hearing "I don't know why you are receiveing so many invoices"






Holley from Fort Worth
May 23rd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good service, Terrible pricing

(2.2 / 5)

  I've been with Reliant for 3 years. I first
signed up on a 24 month plan to keep my rate
fixed. The rate at the time was less than TXU.
1 year into the contract I moved. I was forced
to keep Reliant or pay a huge fee to break the
contract. After the move, I got a huge bill.
Apparently they didn't keep me on the contract
and rate I was on before the move. They then
put me on another 2 yr contract with a rate of
almost 15. My electric bill was higher after
the move. I went from a $150 bill in a 3
bedroom house to a $200 bill in a 1 bedroom
apartment. My contract is now up and I am
switching ASAP.

Tina from Dallas
May 3rd, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They Take You Granted Because They Can

(2.2 / 5)

  I grew up in Houston & was an HL&P/Reliant customer for almost 10 years. When the market deregulated, I stayed with Reliant to see how things would work out.

I remained a happy Reliant customer for a while. It wasn't until a few years ago that I realized that it was time to switch. Reliant's prices were so much higher than almost everyone else's in the market that I realized that I was probably losing over $200/year by sticking with them. I think they charge more & are able to maintain a high customer base because of their brand & individual customer laziness.

I still check & compare prices regularly between providers & I am still amazed when I look at Reliant's prices. They remain much higher than almost anyone else.

The other thing that irritates me about Reliant is that they charge customers more that live in apartments. If you go to their site, you'll see that if you enter an address with an apartment number, the prices are different than if you enter one without a number.

D.F. Lancaster from The Heights
May 19th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant is Overpriced

(2.1 / 5)

  Reliant plans were a bit overpriced, and the only way to get a competitive rate is to sign a long term contract with a cancellation fee. For someone with good credit, I found this to be a bit cumbersome. Their ordering wasn't difficult, and they have a decent ability to manage my account online, however.

Matt from Houston
May 2nd, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be aware of this compamy

(2 / 5)

  Everything with Reliant takes months to process. On the top of that, their customer care representatives push the costliest plan they have to the customers to reach their sales quotas. They make it difficult to leave a contract, and try to squeeze every penny from customers in every possible way.

They didn't approve my application the first time I applied for electricity in July, though I had submitted all the required documents. Rejected my application almost after a month, during which I was fined heftily by my society. Later when I applied for the second time, one of their customer (dont) care representatives gave me the costliest electricity plan available with Reliant and now my electricity bill is increasing every week. I have submitted a request to change my plan and the timeline given to me is 2 months. THIS IS RIDICULOUS!

Kanad from Houston
November 20th, 2018

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We apologize for the issue you experienced with your account. We're always working to improve our billing processes. If we can still be of assistance, please give us a call 866-222-7100 or chat with us via secure chat: http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm

Reliant Responds January 25th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good rate, easy to monitor energy usage online. BUT THEY WILL NOT GIVE YOU REFERRAL CREDIT LIKE PROMISED

(2 / 5)

  Started my plan on 04/2016 and still did not receive the referral credit for mine and my friend's account. I chatted with agents many times online for explanations to why I did not receive the $50 referral. They were professional and seem to be willing to solve the problem. They apologized and assured I would get the referral credit in the next billing cycle. One disappointment after another, still did not receive the credit. I am not sure if it is a system problem or If the company is trying to save $50. I contacted them 4 times, and I am starting to feel voiceless. I don't know how to go about the situation, therefore I am here to voice it so you guys would not be surprised when the referral credit doesn't come in.

D. Nguyen from Houston
December 10th, 2017

We are sorry to hear of your experience around the referral credit process. We truly love when our customers refer us to others and we don't hesitate to submit the promised credits. We were able to locate your account by the email address you provided (thank you) and have escalated this issue to the proper team. We expect that any outstanding credits will be applied within the next few days. We are really sorry about this inexcusable delay and appreciate you alerting us to the issue.
*Update 12/19/17* Credits have been added to both accounts and will be reflected on your next statement.

Reliant Responds December 19th, 2017
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant Bill is always un expectedly high

(2 / 5)

  For one bedroom Apartment, I have been receiving more than $250 month sometimes..I had to pay a high amount to get it cancelled even though I wasnt on their contract...Hopefully company will charge a reasonable amount to its new customers..

expectedly high bill from Midland
August 15th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

bad online chat customer service

(2 / 5)

  it's about time for my current plan expires, and I followed the previous representative's advice to wait for one month and then check back to see what plans are available. So, today I login back and connect through online chat customer service and asking for help with the available plans detail. This online chat customer representative does NOT show patience with me, and just keep pushing me to stick with current plan with rude attitude as how I feel , and just keep saying the plan they offered me is the lowest rate plan I can find any where else, and say they offer lower rates of renewal than new customers plans; which turned out not true while I provided him what I found on line, but he simply replied that's not available for renewal. then I asked for what other plans available, so i can consider, he just impatiently reply average rates of two plans and then then end the conversation, not even asking if I have any further question. very rude attitude.
I have to say that, I never got so disappointed with Reliant as being a customer with Reliant for 4 years.

disappointed customer with Reliant from Coppell
July 17th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Will not own up to mistakes!

(2 / 5)

  I've just had probably one of the WORST customer service situations with Reliant! BEWARE. I rarely complain about a company but I will here. I had our utilities transferred to our new address over a year ago and then a few months ago we start getting bills in the mail for a different account that was started under my name at the same address that I was at before. The account had been opened for a few months before we contacted Reliant asking them what was going on. After talking to at least 5 different people we were told to send in paperwork proving we lived at our apartment that we had been paying utilities on for over a year already. We did that and then apparently that was not enough to "resolve the balance" and they were going to still make us pay it after more than likely they made the mistake and opened the account up on their own. So, we were required to fill out an Identity Theft Affidavit of which the police would not fill out their required section because they did not see it as identity theft but as Reliant's error. This issue has been going on for a few months now but they have finally taken the balance off my current account and have since closed the other account. I had to jump through so many hoops to prove a very obvious point: I did not setup a new account at my old apartment after I transferred our utilities to the new one. Why would I do that?! And still no apology or credit given after I had taken so much of my time to fill out paperwork, email, talk on the phone, and go to the police station twice to figure this thing out. I've been a loyal customer for 4 years now and I've paid all of my bills on time. This is how they treat people. Awful. We are finished with Reliant.

Steven from Addison
December 31st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Customer Service Policies

(2 / 5)

  I had major issues with their customer service POLICIES, at least they are telling me their "policies" don't allow them to help. They charged me twice because I have an automatic bill pay, but when online and paid in advance and apparently their computers unlike every other company in the world can't figure out how to override, so they charged me two days in a row the same thing. Then their "policy" doesn't allow them to refund the money for 10 business days, again like EVERY OTHER COMPANY they can't just credit the money back into your account they MAIL A CHECK. I feel bad for their customer service because their policies are setting them up to fail...what an ironic name for a company too...

Scott from Dallas
June 5th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Expensive, would not recommend

(2 / 5)

  I've been a customer for six years, only now do I realize how expensive my plan had been. Reliant gas not offered me any deals despite the fact I've been a loyal customer. They also keep moving my billing due date around, which is irritating.

Best to avoid.

Alex Whitaker from Houston
March 10th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing / Website Issues

(2 / 5)

  I had issues with my payments thru Reliant's portal not going thru. Reliant said the request for funds were denied from my bank (Chase). I sat with Chase on the phone with Reliant for an hour verifying that NO request and/or denial of funds had ever been processes to and/or from the bank. That there was enough money in my account at all times. After an hour of my bank representative talking to Reliant we were disconnected. I also had conversations re; the issues where Reliant said they would take the 'payment returned' off my record and had me fax the information to their IT department re; their website/bank problems.....they now have no record of my fax submission nor that they said they would take it off my record. Very frustrating.

J Blackburn from Waxahachie
May 17th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Customer Service

(2 / 5)

  I recently shopped around for a cheaper plan, and the representative at Reliant was horribly rude.

Jonathan from Fort Worth
April 1st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Why Abuse Me?

(2 / 5)

  I have just found out that by staying with Reliant month to month but unsigned that I have been gouged! A customer rep now tells me that by remaining unsigned they were allowed to charge me $0.165/kwh (in a $0.113 market by their own monthly price Flex Plan) even though I am one of their lowest cost type customers since they have no forward price risk in serving me. He kindly offered to move me to a plan that would get me true market cost based service but it is too late...I will be going to the competitiion over the abuse of their abuse discretionary pricing.

V Jones from Houston
July 31st, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unfair Cancellation Fee and Lies

(2 / 5)

  I called Reliant to check my contract status, and was informed that I was free to switch at any time. When I did switch providers, I got a final bill with a $100 cancellation fee! When I called, they said they had no record of my call, and they can look back for years. When I showed them my cell phone records, they said that I had called, but I didn't speak about rates or my contract. They flat out lied to me. I'm still being charged. I would not reccomend dealing with these chumps.

Russ from Ft. Worth
May 27th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions