satisfaction

(3.8 / 5)

  very satisfied.13 years already...

assaad rechdan from Houston
December 29th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Once the promotion ends

(3.8 / 5)

  They had a good promotional price when you sign up with them, but the pricing after contract and what they have to offer is less desired. Even when an account manager contacted me with a better promotion which I calculated to what my usage last year was everything would be $30+ dollars more a month. Its a hassle shopping around and switching, but you need to do with you need to do. Customer service is great and no hidden charges, but the pricing will not be comparable to what you sign up for. If you are able to understand the charges that you can calculate the price differences from other companies. Don't focus on average pricing. To estimate costs take your energy charge and add it with delivery charge which would give you your base cost per kWh. Then there is the recurring fee of $8.72 for delivery charges from every provider so that is standard. Also be weary of base charge. Reliant doesn't charge this but some companies do. Also note even with the added base charge a company could probably still be cheaper because of the lower kWh charge. Some plans have variable energy charge for instance if you use 1000 kWh you get a charge at 5.2 cents but if you go above that say 1001-2000+ kWh then its 8.9 cents. Definitely pay attention to that if you consume 1001+ kWh. Either way they will get your money just depends on your usage as they say. You might pay more for less but if 3 months out of the year you use less then 1000, then the savings for your usage will be noticeable if you are a high energy consumer.

D from Houston
February 13th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Straightforward and honest

(3.8 / 5)

  After 2 years with another electricity company in Houston, I switched to Reliant.

The switch was very easy.

Reliant has slightly lower rates than other companies in Houston area.

Most importantly Reliant runs a fair and honest business. Their contract is more customer-friendly than other electricity companies I tried. There are no secret fees stipulated in small print, unlike in Green Mountain Energy. I pay a reasonable bill every month.

I have had no problems with Reliant so far. I would definitely recommend Reliant over Green Mountain Energy.

Anonymous from Houston
August 11th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy to read billing. Good price in beginning. Renewal rates not good.

(3.8 / 5)

  We switched from TXU a yr ago. Their bills are simplified. They quote flat rates i.e. oncor delivery charge, etc. However, now that our one yr fixed plan is up the "only" options they have "at this time" (per cust service rep) is an energy charge of 11.0/kwh or 10.5/kwh. I am not paying 5.9/kwh. There are some other charges but those don't change. When searching on powertochoose I found not only does reliant offer plans (same 12 month fixed) at 8.9/kwh. AND other companies are offering 7.7, 7.9, etc. They told me to go online to my acct & see what else is offered. IF I don't find a better rate (than what she quoted) call back bc they don't want to lose my acct. WTH - why not save us all some time & just be competetive now. Why do I have to go online, call back, blah, blah, blah? And btw - online only offerd 11.0/kwh.

R Johnson from Hudson Oaks
May 31st, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant Energy - Great Service

(3.8 / 5)

  Good service - good rate

Todd Jones from Houston
March 2nd, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant

(3.6 / 5)

  Reliant provides acceptable service

Bill from Houston
February 15th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

they all get your money one way or another

(3.4 / 5)

  the reviews here for reliant energy are mostly unfavorable...yes, there are some cheaper plans out there, but doing the comparisons takes a great deal of time, and in the end,there are added fees or a difference in a disconnect or change fees that make up for a few cents per kw hour rate..i have been a customer of reliant energy since the start,as i had houston lighting and power before that who changed to reliant energy,who is now reliant energy an nrg company..sum total it comes to well over 30 years at different residences..their telephone customer service is ok,not great,but at least they answer the phone..if you have a problem, you are referred to centerpoint energy who actually handles the transmission of the electricity and any outages, and their telephone reps can be rude..reliant is basically just the billing name or so i was told,,in fact,centerpoint handles most of the electric companies you can choose from and they read the "smart meters"...if you rplan was changed to something "similar" to what you had (this has happened to me a few times)it is because of changes in regulations and lately , because of the new smart meters that can be read from the street..i am disappointed they no longer have the "wind driven" power,but if you want that, it is about 14.5 cents per kw with the other companies...overall reliant is as good as the others...i will have the newest "nights and weekends" plan when my contract expires, so i may change my mind!!

msw from Spring
May 7th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too good to be true

(3.4 / 5)

  Switched to Reliant when they had a come-on 5.2 cent rate a few months ago (Basic Power Flex). Sadly, they just jacked it up to 8.1. They don't tell you, so you have to monitor their website. Still a pretty good rate so we'll stick with them for a while but we may have to shop around again shortly if they stealth increase on us again. Anyway, we had a good run of 3 months of low bills in the heat!

Anonymous
August 23rd, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Trying to renegoiate with Reliant Energy

(3.4 / 5)

  We have been with Reliant Energy since Jan 2011 under a 6 month contract. We were notified by mail that our contract was nearing the end and we would need to re-sign. Our rate was 8.1 cents per kWh. Now they are offering us 10.6 cents. A big increase and at a time that has proven to be Texas' highest electric usage months. Have had no problems with service since switching from TXU but can't justify the jump to 10.6 when there are so many other companies out there offering better rates. So I'm shopping. Would consider staying with Reliant but they seem more interested in getting new customers than keeping current ones. If they would match a rate that another company offers I'll stay. But if not, I have to think of my pocketbook and what's best for our family. Wish me luck.

A. Coppedge from Ft. Worth
June 29th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Basic Provider

(3.3 / 5)

  Went with them 2 yrs ago-no problems with billing or plan. Few plans, no incentive to stay since they lowest rate only goes to new customers not loyal customers-had a high cancellation fee.

D.J. Hardy from Fort Worth
May 6th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant getting too high in price

(3.3 / 5)

  had reliant here in Dallas, TX when they first started up to get away from TXU and they have been going , up an up an up in price ever since to where I,m changing again. They are way to high now along with montly fees to top it off.

Steve V from Dallas
June 21st, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Used to be better, as a 5-year loyal customer, impossible to enroll a plan at new customers' rate

(3.2 / 5)

  as a customer with reliant for over 5 years, i think it's time to leave.
it used to be pretty easy to fix the rate whatever the plans i could find online, but not the case any more since about a year ago. rep keeps telling me, you're not eligible for this, not eligible for that, and trying to trap me to sign a much higher rate pricing plan instead.
in past 5 years, the overall experience was pretty smooth, no disconnections and just few glitches here and there.
but business is just business, customers are looking for lowest rate indeed, and there're companies with quality service too.

Mike from Houston
February 8th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excessive Transmission Charges

(3.2 / 5)

  Been with Reliant for forty years but feel it is now time to move on at the end of the current plan. This month my electricity usage was $90.00 and the transmission and other charges dinged me for another $50.00. I haven't seen such high charges for transmission since I have been on this current horrible plan. I am a senior so I am concerned.

Margaret Talbot from Houston
October 10th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant Energy - one of the better Centerpoint Energy providers

(3.2 / 5)

  Here are a few things to expect from most energy companies:
1. After your contract ends, the energy company will send you a notification of your rate increasing to a variable rate (which usually translates to 2-3 cents higher/kWh by a certain date). They are supposed to notify you of this change. I've noticed as a customer, we get short-changed of one month from the contract rate (if you signed for 7 cents for 6 months, you'll only get that for 5 months). Then your rate goes up significantly if you don't call to change to a cheaper contract
2. Most companies have this basic $9.95/mo charge if you don't meet a certain kWh, usually 1000 kWh. That will pose a problem in those more temperate months like in the spring and fall because although you're paying lower kWh,you're paying that extra $9.95/mo for no reason. ASK YOUR ENERGY PROVIDER WHAT THE LIMIT IS. I got a minimum of 800kWh/mo with Reliant; if I go under 800kWh, I will have to pay $9.95. Good thing about Reliant is that they do a weekly energy usage report, and you can keep up with how much you may owe. That's pretty useful to me, considering I live in a smaller space, thus less usage.
3. Make sure to ask about any extra fees you should be aware of. That's how a few cheap energy companies can get you. For instance, ask if there are new connection fees, activation fees, month-to-month fees - pretty much ask them how does their offer compare to other companies.

Although Reliant is not the cheapest company, they are relatively helpful when it comes to electronic notifications and online billing. Their customer service seems to be confused most of the time, but bilingual (spanish and english, useful in Texas). They aren't hard to get a hold of like other companies people have complained about. I've had them for a year now, and although my electricity isn't that cheap, it's comparable to other companies I could have went with. Every 6 months, though, I have to call and change my plan to another 6 month contract to keep costs "low."

People are more likely to post negative reviews than positive reviews - for every one positive review, there is probably 5 more negative reviews for energy companies. Just keep that in mind because everyone's negative personal experience has actually gotten me to ask these companies the right questions on what to expect.

Grace from Houston
October 25th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rate goes up

(3.2 / 5)

  Signed up for Basic Power Variable rate Plan.
Rate started low - 4.6 - but after 4 months is up
to 10c -- so switching away from

Charles Carson from Dallas
October 13th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No real issues

(3.2 / 5)

  I have not had many real issues with reliant. However, I have only been with them the two years I have reisded in TX, so I don't know any other company. The rates have been RATHER steady, with only about a $30 change across the months. I know each month I will have about $100 worth light bill. But the highest I have paid...when the plan kicked in, was about $120. I hope to find a better rate and lower prices now that I am trying a new company... who knows?? I will surely let you know when I know something and my feelings toward reliant may be a little more negative! :)

Niki
November 8th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Decent

(3.1 / 5)

  signed up for Reliant and set up my online account, which was then lost, but I couldn't sign up again because I was already signed up. Finally got that ironed out, but never did receive an e-bill although I did get their weekly newsletters - hmmm. Finally they began to send paper bills, and I mailed in payment as I couldn't get their website to work. I don't like that there is a fee for calling customer service. However, the online chat is free, and the customer service through that was very good - they did solve the problems.Overall they are okay, .

Nikki
December 29th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

On line chat

(3 / 5)

  I was using the on line chat for assistance about my current plan. Heidy was pleasant and very helpful, as well as responding quickly to my needs.

Brenda from Carrollton
May 14th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great at first; Bad renewal rates

(3 / 5)

  I was really happy with Reliant when I signed up. The rate was one of the lowest offered and their service was reliable. After my 9 month contract though, the rates offered to me were ridiculous. I rarely go over 1,000 KWH and they must count on that because the cheapest rate offered was 13.1 cents per KWH. Only when you go over 1,000 KWH did it start to come down but marginally. After looking at what the other companies have to offer, I'm canceling with Reliant. I would think that if they were truly concerned about their clients, they would make loyal customers who pay their bills on time want to stay. Judging by the rates they're offering, that does not seem to be the case at all. Goodbye Reliant. With a market for energy, who needs you? I can get the same service somewhere else for a lot less.

Rachel from Mansfield
June 20th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Company makes it difficult to optimally renew.

(3 / 5)

  Was with Reliant for 3 years and received letter explaining contract to expire in less than a month so called Customer Service. Verified all information with Mario only to discover he couldn't discuss matching competitive rates. Transfered and verified with a lady who, after hearing my request for a 12 month contract at a lower rate, put me on hold - twice. Didn't like the rap music so I hung up the second time and although a recall number had been requested, never heard from Reliant in the next 2 hours.

Apologies if I sound like a curmudgeon but I just wanted to renew at a rate being offered by multiple other firms. Much like the TV providers, Reliant seems to be more proficient at attracting new clients rather than renewing present users. Oh well, contrary to what their business model indicates it's too easy, cost free and seamless to switch so, 'Hello Brilliant Energy'.

Ronald Ternosky from Plano
June 5th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions