We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, TriEagle Energy, Champion Energy Services and Payless Power

No complaints, great company.

(4.8 / 5)

  This was my company last year with a 12 months plan, they let me sign in without a deposit (taking in consideration I had no credit history as a new resident to this country.) The website is very good you can easily manage your account and do everything online.

Great Customer Service.

Hector Almaguer from Houston
August 15th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lo-ong time user

(4.8 / 5)

  I have used Reliant since before the breakup of the monopoly when it was HLP. Had a few problems before computer technology, but they were quickly fixed. Usually had to do with mis-reading the meter.

I'm on Reliant Secure 12 plan, with Bill averaged over 12 mo. 1 person - 1,000 sf. - Aug 1291 kWh, Sep 1131 kWh, Oct 826 kWh. Bill each month is from $100 to $111.

Time to renew and was looking for a lower rate. I guess there are some, but the monthly delivery charges get you. And company reviews. Ugh!

Remember, most people only write reviews when they are angry or frustrated (I'm no exception). Since most of the reviews for ALL companies were negative, I'll just stick to the tried and true. At least I know bill will be every month.

Janet from Houston
October 16th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent customer service

(4.8 / 5)

  I had an door to door agent come to my house.. I think he said his name was Javier .At first I was going to close the door in his face but I listen to what he had to say and he gave me this new plan called Truly free weekend 36 I was on contract so he gave me $300 dollars bill credit to make up or it every since I did that my bill has been way less then the usual.. He gave me this quote of a price and it came out to be cheaper than what he said... He left me with his number and everything in case I had any questions... If you all see him/them come to your door u better answer because u don't know how much u could be saving... :)

Sherry from Dallas
May 25th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great service

(4.8 / 5)

  Have been with Reliant for about 3 years. I watch the offers on Power to choose website, and take the best offers that are available, staying with Reliant, because we have had such a good experience with them. We have some rental property, and sometimes had to have power turned on,temporarily, at a house after it has been vacated for us to do some work there. They have always been very efficient at taking care of our needs. Currently, our plan is about to expire, and Reliant is not anywhere near the best rate. I am not opposed to changing companies, to save money, However, I hate to leave Reliant. So I have been reading reviews, and every company has horrible reviews, including Reliant. I am thinking that most don't post a review until they have a bad experience, and it sounds as if that can happen with any company. I don't care for TXU. They tell you on the phone what their special rate is, and not until you pin them down will they tell you what it will really cost you, after the fees. I want to know the bottom line. I have always felt like Reliant has been honest with me, and felt that TXU was trying to trick me. After all that has been said, I don't know who I will go with, but will never allow any company to have direct access to my bank account, regardless of what I have to pay.

Jan from Fort Worth
April 17th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

CHEAPEST & BEST PROVIDER

(4.7 / 5)

  Reliant Energy gave me a FREE Energy Monitor. I average 45% Cheaper than my neighbors. I have few outages. I pay 5 Cents / KWH. My average TOTAL ELECTRIC BILL is $122 / Mo. I got a FREE Energy Analysis with a A+ Rating! Netpique LLC - is a BAD Place to work. Reliant needs to change contractors. Execellant Reps in Reliant Customer Service.

Jack M. Wolfson from Grand Prairie Tx. U.S.A.
March 7th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy move out

(4.6 / 5)

  Had some question in moving electricity from current address to new address. customer service person Justin helped with patience. he is great and solved my questions/problem quickly.

Dav from Dallas
July 25th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Customer Service

(4.6 / 5)

  When I call any customer service department I am sometimes surprised to find myself speaking to someone from India or China. Not with Reliant! You will be able to understand them and they will take ownership of your problems. You may find yourself talking about common concerns before you say goodbye or even promising to say a prayer. They have great people on the other end of the phones! And they may live just a few towns over.

Nonni23 from Corsicana
July 1st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great rates when you sign up, high rates once it's time to renew.

(4.6 / 5)

  I'd recommend this company, however get a long term contract. Visit powertochoose.org to scan through many companies and their rates. Because once your a customer of reliant they sky rocket those rates.

Ike from Dallas
March 6th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nary a problem

(4.6 / 5)

  I really love their customer service any time of day or night. The rate with their Power Tracker plan is really low, and the automatic debit card payment method at no extra charge is simple. I like to view my account online, and they let me go paperless to do that.

Skippy from Katy
October 30th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

reliant energy

(4.5 / 5)

  Switched to them from Gexa and TXU before that. Prices were reasonable on 6 month fixed plan. Online bill pay was simple and easy. No complaints

Manny from Dallas
January 12th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pretty Good Company

(4.4 / 5)

  We have had Reliant for 9 months and it has been pretty good so far. The rates are not too bad, service has been good. There was a little bit of a struggle when I went to renew our plan but they eventually gave us a lower rate.

Scott from Grapevine
March 11th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant Is Good Provider

(4.4 / 5)

  I have had good experience with Reliant. It appears that for long term customers, they offer special plans that are otherwise not available. I believe a lot of people's complaints result from their not understanding the pricing structure upfront and they may not analyze their actual costs and compare provider rates properly. Also, many people do not realize how much their actual usage can vary from month to month. To get the best understanding of company offers, the monthly power consumption in kWh from the previous year should be used to the calculate each month's cost under the new plan offered by each considered provider using the base cost of the power provider, plus the base cost of the transmission line provider and his other additional costs, the power cost of the power provider, the power related cost of the transmission provider and any other costs on the Electricity Fact Sheet. Using this method to calculate the total annual cost for each provider considered, provides a fair comparison. It is important to carefully read all parts of the Electricity Fact Sheet because of additional fees not mentioned in the pricing section.

Raymond Bartels from League City
June 1st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant

(4.3 / 5)

  Reliant is a good company with decent customer service.

Greg from Harker Heights
June 28th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A Little Higher, But Worth It

(4.3 / 5)

  I have been with them going on a decade.
(Prior to moving back to Houston, I had them
and in 2000 I again signed up).

While, in theory "it's all the same when you
flip the switch" the issue is more about WHOM
you select and HOW long they have been around.
I would thus prefer to be with the people who
have been in my area since day 1 as opposed to
some fly by night company. Yes, I pay about 6%
more than a fly-by-night ma-and-pa electrical
company started in someone's basement in
Waxahachie, TX - but I prefer the safety net of
the people who know the grid the best. Their
customer service has been always above measure,
and my history with them lends me the afforded
measure of getting prompter responses.

Just because it's cheaper somewhere else, ask
yourself why.

G Velasquez from Houston
May 27th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Would Recommend!

(4.2 / 5)

  I have been with Reliant for a little over 9 months. I had no issues with the install process and have had great service since. Yes, their rates are higher than most other companies...but I have never had a billing issue or problem with their service. I really like the free iphone app that you can track your usage down to the hour and see you estimated bill. There are never surprises on my bill. I would recommend Reliant to a friend.

If you use the referral code 10677164-5 when signing up, you will recieve a $50 Thank You card Toward your Reliant bill!

B.G. from DFW Metroplex
February 4th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Higher rates for honest

(4.1 / 5)

  I've been with Reliant in Houston since the beginning before dereg. I've
always thought of changing companies, but every time I do and begin
to research the others, I always find serious complaints about others'
customer service and especially overbilling or cramming new plans onto
existing customers. Reliant has never done any of this to me, and while
I pay a penny or even 2 above some "cheaper" advertised rates by the
newbies, I trust Reliant to give me the bill I deserve. I have a new digital
meter, so it's pretty hard for anyone to overbill me now that I can see
the numbers. Reliant Energy has a good enough Web site that shows
billing and usage history. I am on average billing, so get the same $ bill
each month. I'm happy enough to stay with Reliant. I give them a 4/5
stars. I don't give a 5 to any one because I am mad at general rates for
energy, but this is not really Reliants fault.

Brad Pearl from Houston
August 4th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Customer Service

(4 / 5)

  I just chatted with Reliant rep Cassidy. She answered all of my questions, got me logged into the Reliant website and helped my lower my kWh rate by 5 cents per kWh. Very good service.

JB from 11111
July 26th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Yearly Review

(4 / 5)

  Reliant has been tremendous in keeping the monthly cost down. They have lived up to everything they said to me.

Connie Moreland from Hurst
May 29th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Hassle free energy option

(4 / 5)

  I have been with Reliant for several years and have been very satisfied with all aspects of the power company. I would recommend Reliant as your power company option.

Tom from Arlington
March 7th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No problems

(4 / 5)

  Ive had Reliant for almost a year now. Never had any problems with them. Im about to switch only because Ive found lower rates elsewhere. The only thing I don't like about Reliant is that at the time of contract expiration they offer higher rates. If you research their rates and find a better deal then they will honor it, but they should offer all of their rates not just higher ones. Its all about business to make money, I understand. Ive never had problems with their payment system, and the customer service reps were friendly and informative when I had questions. The online chat is a little slow. I found answers to my questions before the online reps responded back to me, but at least the option is there I guess. Overall, good company, no problems. I love the weekly summaries of usage, and alerts to notify you when you are close to your budget. I like them, just wish they were a little more competitive with their current rates.

Crystal from Fort Worth
June 23rd, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Free weekends are not really free.

(4 / 5)

  I just had the free weekend plan for a month. Friday 8pm to Sunday midnight is the "free" time.
The label is here:
Average price 11.5 per kWh, based on 2000 kWh, includes the following:
Energy charge per kWh: 12.2
Base charge per month: $0.00
ONCOR Delivery charges passed through without mark-up : $6.48 per month and 2.8876 per kwh

Well, it looks great at first and low usage people like me with five months of below 500kwh would not have much choice.
I still have to pay oncor charge (2.88c per kWh) on free weekends.
Hope this will help anyone thinking about the "free" weekend plan.

May from Fort Worth
June 17th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Really like the service

(4 / 5)

  I've had a good experience. Initially had my account info wrong, but was easy to correct.

Johnny from Corpus Christi
February 1st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very good company

(4 / 5)

  Never have a problem with this company always there for me.thank you

guadalupe valdes from Pilot Point
January 25th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant is fairly reliable and true to their words

(4 / 5)

  They don't have the best deals in town but are
easy to work with. I have used them for several
years now and have had no issues billing wise.

Hari S from Dallas
July 13th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fire man

(3.9 / 5)

  Have been using Reliant Power Tracker plan, and have noticed a a big
difference. But. I also had rig vents installed and had more insulation blown in
my attic. Cut my bill in half.

Charles from Houston
March 27th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant energy review

(3.9 / 5)

  I got an excellent intro 6 month rate for 100%
wind energy. After that period expired, the rates
were decent, but I couldn't even find a plan with
100% green energy. I switched to Bounce Energy.

Tony from Plano
August 13th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions