Home > Read Reviews > Reliant Energy

Reliant Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Reliant are their billing & account management system, rated at 1.9 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 1.8 of 5.

Reliant Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 5 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

360 Reviews for Reliant


Couldn't Be Happier!

(5 / 5)

  We've been Reliant customers for 8 years, and have never had a problem of any kind. The best things about Reliant are the Customer Service and the Webpage. We get emails and texts daily to let us know how much energy we are using, at what time, and on what, hour to hour! We know every day what our anticipated bill will be, and have plenty of time to make changes in our usage that have an immediate and direct impact on the bill. They have online chat, 24/7, and we don't ever have to wait to get a hold of a customer service agent, who are always "T-Mobile-Nice". Currently, my favorite thing about Reliant is my new plan; I think it's called Free Weekends 24, and I LOVE IT. we get charged nothing for our energy use from 8pm Friday through 12midnight Sunday, and we just wait to do laundry and really enjoy our air conditioner on those days. it's reduced our monthly bill this month by over $100! I really just can't say enough about Reliant, and frequently refer friends and family to them. Everyone says they sound too good to be true, but 8 years later, the other shoe still hasn't dropped. I think they are the real deal!

Henry & Christine from Corpus Christi
August 16th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very good to me

(5 / 5)

  would recommend them. I like their service, their pricing and their website. The weekly emails with my energy usage help me be mindful of my energy usage and cost of it.

Dana Boatman from Dallas
August 11th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great service at Reliant

(5 / 5)

  i have been with Reliant for years and have had great service. I have usually been on term plans of 12 months and when I discuss options with customer service, they provide good options - usually lower priced plans with different term or different monthly charge. I find the bills easy to read with the summary on the front page and all of the details on the next page. I would highly recommend anyone to try them out. One other thing - the web site is easy to use and easy to read.

JCN from Houston
July 15th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Wonderful Company for me, but the renewal is something to think about

(5 / 5)

  I been having Reliant energy for over a year now. I like some of the customer service Reps since some show attitude over the phone. I don't any problems with their plans since i always research my info before signing up. (to the ppl complaining about the rates being 8c etc and after taxes is 12. pay attention to the EFL because that is where you get your break down. the rates do not reflect taxes ONLY surcharges from the utility company in the area like for me in houston is center point, dallas/forth worth oncor and this is the ppl that have the right to raise those surcharges and that is why your rates are high) i have been satisfied until now that i have to renew the options are not that great but surely will research more

Eliseo Angel from Houston
August 28th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent provider

(5 / 5)

  I have been with Reliant for many years and have been very pleased with their
customer service. I have never had a billing problem and appreciate that they
offer 100% renewable plans.

J. Rowlands from Fort Worth
October 4th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

30+ Years of Good Service

(5 / 5)

  I've been a Reliant customer since 1980. I've considered changed providers over the past few years but, when I read reviews about the other providers, I realize that Reliant is just as good as any of the others. Sometimes I've gotten locked into a price that was higher than I'd have liked but that was my own fault.

I also had occasion to contact Customer Service last year when an obvious error was made in reading my meter (before the smart meter installation). The representative was very helpful and scheduled a re-read of the meter immediately. She did advise me that I'd have to pay a service fee if it was found that the meter reading had not been in error, but the reading WAS in error and my bill was amended right away.

I really like Reliant's Home Energy Audit program and I also really like being able to track my energy usage online by the hour/day/week. Those two programs have helped me focus on how to reduce my energy usage.

Maria Purdy from Houston
August 3rd, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

very happy

(4.9 / 5)

  i just signed up for Reliant again. Our house is large and we use 3 to 5 thousand kilowatts a month. My last plan I was paying 6 cents a kilowatt hr. So I couldn't call them without a charge. Big deal. I was saving 300 hundred dollars a month compared to a couple of years ago. Heck that is worth the hassel of emailing if I have too. I am about to start paying 7.5 cents and its 100 percent renewable energy. Now I am green and still getting a pretty good deal. The service representive was very nice and I barely had to wait more than 2 minutes to talk to her and no service charge on that call. This time the calls are free. YEA! I am so happy.

rosanne from Fort Worth
April 27th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No complaints, great company.

(4.8 / 5)

  This was my company last year with a 12 months plan, they let me sign in without a deposit (taking in consideration I had no credit history as a new resident to this country.) The website is very good you can easily manage your account and do everything online.

Great Customer Service.

Hector Almaguer from Houston
August 15th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lo-ong time user

(4.8 / 5)

  I have used Reliant since before the breakup of the monopoly when it was HLP. Had a few problems before computer technology, but they were quickly fixed. Usually had to do with mis-reading the meter.

I'm on Reliant Secure 12 plan, with Bill averaged over 12 mo. 1 person - 1,000 sf. - Aug 1291 kWh, Sep 1131 kWh, Oct 826 kWh. Bill each month is from $100 to $111.

Time to renew and was looking for a lower rate. I guess there are some, but the monthly delivery charges get you. And company reviews. Ugh!

Remember, most people only write reviews when they are angry or frustrated (I'm no exception). Since most of the reviews for ALL companies were negative, I'll just stick to the tried and true. At least I know bill will be every month.

Janet from Houston
October 16th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent customer service

(4.8 / 5)

  I had an door to door agent come to my house.. I think he said his name was Javier .At first I was going to close the door in his face but I listen to what he had to say and he gave me this new plan called Truly free weekend 36 I was on contract so he gave me $300 dollars bill credit to make up or it every since I did that my bill has been way less then the usual.. He gave me this quote of a price and it came out to be cheaper than what he said... He left me with his number and everything in case I had any questions... If you all see him/them come to your door u better answer because u don't know how much u could be saving... :)

Sherry from Dallas
May 25th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great service

(4.8 / 5)

  Have been with Reliant for about 3 years. I watch the offers on Power to choose website, and take the best offers that are available, staying with Reliant, because we have had such a good experience with them. We have some rental property, and sometimes had to have power turned on,temporarily, at a house after it has been vacated for us to do some work there. They have always been very efficient at taking care of our needs. Currently, our plan is about to expire, and Reliant is not anywhere near the best rate. I am not opposed to changing companies, to save money, However, I hate to leave Reliant. So I have been reading reviews, and every company has horrible reviews, including Reliant. I am thinking that most don't post a review until they have a bad experience, and it sounds as if that can happen with any company. I don't care for TXU. They tell you on the phone what their special rate is, and not until you pin them down will they tell you what it will really cost you, after the fees. I want to know the bottom line. I have always felt like Reliant has been honest with me, and felt that TXU was trying to trick me. After all that has been said, I don't know who I will go with, but will never allow any company to have direct access to my bank account, regardless of what I have to pay.

Jan from Fort Worth
April 17th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

CHEAPEST & BEST PROVIDER

(4.7 / 5)

  Reliant Energy gave me a FREE Energy Monitor. I average 45% Cheaper than my neighbors. I have few outages. I pay 5 Cents / KWH. My average TOTAL ELECTRIC BILL is $122 / Mo. I got a FREE Energy Analysis with a A+ Rating! Netpique LLC - is a BAD Place to work. Reliant needs to change contractors. Execellant Reps in Reliant Customer Service.

Jack M. Wolfson from Grand Prairie Tx. U.S.A.
March 7th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy move out

(4.6 / 5)

  Had some question in moving electricity from current address to new address. customer service person Justin helped with patience. he is great and solved my questions/problem quickly.

Dav from Dallas
July 25th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Customer Service

(4.6 / 5)

  When I call any customer service department I am sometimes surprised to find myself speaking to someone from India or China. Not with Reliant! You will be able to understand them and they will take ownership of your problems. You may find yourself talking about common concerns before you say goodbye or even promising to say a prayer. They have great people on the other end of the phones! And they may live just a few towns over.

Nonni23 from Corsicana
July 1st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great rates when you sign up, high rates once it's time to renew.

(4.6 / 5)

  I'd recommend this company, however get a long term contract. Visit powertochoose.org to scan through many companies and their rates. Because once your a customer of reliant they sky rocket those rates.

Ike from Dallas
March 6th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nary a problem

(4.6 / 5)

  I really love their customer service any time of day or night. The rate with their Power Tracker plan is really low, and the automatic debit card payment method at no extra charge is simple. I like to view my account online, and they let me go paperless to do that.

Skippy from Katy
October 30th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

reliant energy

(4.5 / 5)

  Switched to them from Gexa and TXU before that. Prices were reasonable on 6 month fixed plan. Online bill pay was simple and easy. No complaints

Manny from Dallas
January 12th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pretty Good Company

(4.4 / 5)

  We have had Reliant for 9 months and it has been pretty good so far. The rates are not too bad, service has been good. There was a little bit of a struggle when I went to renew our plan but they eventually gave us a lower rate.

Scott from Grapevine
March 11th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant Is Good Provider

(4.4 / 5)

  I have had good experience with Reliant. It appears that for long term customers, they offer special plans that are otherwise not available. I believe a lot of people's complaints result from their not understanding the pricing structure upfront and they may not analyze their actual costs and compare provider rates properly. Also, many people do not realize how much their actual usage can vary from month to month. To get the best understanding of company offers, the monthly power consumption in kWh from the previous year should be used to the calculate each month's cost under the new plan offered by each considered provider using the base cost of the power provider, plus the base cost of the transmission line provider and his other additional costs, the power cost of the power provider, the power related cost of the transmission provider and any other costs on the Electricity Fact Sheet. Using this method to calculate the total annual cost for each provider considered, provides a fair comparison. It is important to carefully read all parts of the Electricity Fact Sheet because of additional fees not mentioned in the pricing section.

Raymond Bartels from League City
June 1st, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliant

(4.3 / 5)

  Reliant is a good company with decent customer service.

Greg from Harker Heights
June 28th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Example Bill
loading...