Electric Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Plan Name
Company
Length
Price
Rate Stability
15 Month Fixed Rate
15 month
Fixed Rate
14.0¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    11.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Low Average Bill
  • Donates to Charity
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% Solar Energy
  • Reduce your Carbon footprint
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Earn Big Bill Credits
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    10.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Big Time Bill Credit
  • No Monthly Base Charge
  • 12 months of bill stability
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    12.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 24 month fixed rate plan
  • No base charge, no minimum usage fees
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $29 min balance
  • Prepaid - No Deposit EVER
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Popular Brand
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Low rate!
  • Well known brand.
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Best Overall Value
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    10.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    10.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great Plan for Medium Homes
  • $95 Bill Credit at 1k usage
  • 1 year of bill security
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    10.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    10.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% renewable
  • Includes FREE Energy Savings Kit!
  • Super low green rate
  • 3 Year Plan
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    10.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Rhythm's most popular plan
  • Go Green without Sacrifice
  • 3 Years of Bill Security
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    15.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 3 Year Price Protection
  • Stable, predictable rate
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Two Year Price Protection
  • All Around Great Value
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • No minimum usage charges
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% Renewable Energy
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Bill Credits cut your bill in summer months
  • Enjoy smaller bills in summer
  • 12 Month Price Protection
  • 36 Month Flat Rate
    36 month
    Flat Rate
    24.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Pricing Gimmicks
  • Great for any size home
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Energy Charge on weekends!
  • No Delivery Charges on weekends!
  • Weekends start Friday @ 8:00 PM!
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    15.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Minimum Usage Charge!
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • Bill Credits at 1k and 2k usage!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    16.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    24 Month Flat Rate
    24 month
    Flat Rate
    24.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    17.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    21.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • Low Average Bill
  • No Surprises
  • 6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Beat the summer heat!
  • Steady, predictable rate
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    17.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    17.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Popular Plan!
  • 12 months bill security
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    18.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    23.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Fixed Pre-paid
    12 month
    Fixed Pre-paid
    15.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    Fixed Pre-paid
    12 month
    Fixed Pre-paid
    16.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance

    The best review categories for Southwest Power & Light are the order experience, with an average of 2.8 stars, and their plans and pricing, with an average of 2.7 stars.

    Recent Good Review from David T

    Great Customer Service
    Sierra in Customer service was great. Answered all my questions and was cheerful and professional. Thanks!!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    David T from Houston, TX on July 27th, 2021
    Thank you for sharing this awesome feedback. Southwest Power and Light strives to always provide top notch customer care and we rank among the best on the State of Texas Scorecard among Retail Electric Providers (5 Circle Score). We are glad to be meeting your expectations.
    — Southwest Power & Light


    Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

    11 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 5 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Great Customer Service
    Sierra in Customer service was great. Answered all my questions and was cheerful and professional. Thanks!!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    David T from Houston, TX on July 27th, 2021
    Thank you for sharing this awesome feedback. Southwest Power and Light strives to always provide top notch customer care and we rank among the best on the State of Texas Scorecard among Retail Electric Providers (5 Circle Score). We are glad to be meeting your expectations.
    — Southwest Power & Light
    No problems, great rate.
    I signed up with them almost 3 years ago after Breeze went under. I used a spreadsheet and simulated my usage over a year with many different plans, including the ones some providers use to try to appear way low on power to choose, but only if you use exactly the 1000 or 2000 KwH amounts.

    I appreciate that they will bill a credit card without adding fees, which with rewards comes out to an additional 2-3% savings, and allows me another 20 days or so of flexibility as to when I am paying it.

    My Energy charge has always been exactly what the said and the distribution charges from Oncor have always passed through correctly. I do wish the invoice would itemize the Oncor charges, but using current EFL data from various providers to spot check, the distribution charges are always correct
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Charlie from Pflugerville, TX on February 19th, 2021
    Thank you for choosing Southwest Power & Light for your energy needs. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our service.
    — Southwest Power & Light
    No problems.
    Good price. Never had an issue with billing. Had to call once to get help with my online account. Good service. I really don't care what day they take my payment and I appreciate the discount for auto-pay.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    FW from Clifton, TX on November 10th, 2020
    Thank you for choosing Southwest Power & Light for your energy needs. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our service.
    — Southwest Power & Light
    4 years
    Been a customer about 5 years. First year had a trial plan. Had no issues. Have a 3600 sqf house, 2 units. Pool, Landscape lights; 3 car garage. Avg about $350 mo. Signed 2 back to back 24 mo plans. Find deregulation confusing, and shopping for a commodity.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Walnut Hill NA, Dallas from Dallas, TX on October 12th, 2020
    Thank you for review of our service and plans. Southwest Power and Light strives to provide outstanding customer care and competitive pricing to win your business year after year. We look forward to continuing to meet all of your expectations in the future.
    — Southwest Power & Light
    GREAT SUPPLIER
    I have been with SWP&L for years and they offer the best rates. I have never had a problem with them and I recommend them all the time.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    ReamesC from Frisco, TX on March 31st, 2017
    Pasadena, Texas
    I've been using Southwest Power & Light for several years and they are very good. I'm an electrical substation designers and their electricity is as good as anyone else.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Very Good Company from Pasadena, TX on March 30th, 2017
    They were just fine!
    I don't usually have the time to write reviews. Signed up with SW P & L 2 years ago online because of a very attractive rate. I was on autopay. Every month a got a statement showing how much my account was charged. I never had a problem or needed to call for anything. I enjoyed the low rates. As far as I'm concerned it was a no brainer. No problems at all!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    FG from Plano on March 6th, 2015
    8 YEARS of GREAT rates and service!!!
    Reading all the bad reviews is surprising! I signed up with SWPL 8 years ago and the highest my bill has EVER been for my 2 bedroom home is $180! And that is only during the summer months in HOUSTON TEXAS! Average bill is well under $100 otherwise. I am pleased with the service and any time anyone shows up trying to get me to switch, I'm told they have never heard of SWPL and then I send them on their way. The only downfall I can list is the high deposit ($390) but once you pay your bill on time for 12 consecutive months w/out a late/disconnect notice generated, they refund half of the deposit back to you! I recommend SWPL to everyone who asks me about power company options. (=
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Denise Valentine from Houston on August 16th, 2014
    Great
    Unsure why people are having problems. Sign up for a term (you know there's a cancelation charge) and pay on time. I have used SWPL for almost 3 years and never had an issue. Saved $ hundreds (if not thousands) in that time v's TXU. Always check each year to compare there rates prior to renewing and they're great.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Todd from Dallas on August 22nd, 2012
    Economical and friendly
    I have had Southwest Power & Light for one year and they were great. Paying my bill online was quick and efficient. If I had to call it in, they were friendly and you were able to speak to a live person fairly quickly. I would recommend. My bill was quite a bit lower than it had been in a while.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Kim from Wylie on July 29th, 2012


    Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

    8 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Always room for improvement but SWPL is a keeper
    Only 2 "complaints" I might offer:

    1. Their auto-billing drafts my checking account 10 days before payment is due. Only reason a company would do this is to play the float game they have our money for 10 days to invest elsewhere. It adds up to quite a lot. Really no call for this from a utility company. But I can live with it, and do, and it's not really a complaint.

    2. My contract is coming to an end in 5 months. I like SWPL so much I'd like to extend that contract, or, start a new one with them effective 5 months from now. Just trying to get the best price at the moment. But they, like most providers, won't talk contracts until 30 days before expiration. What a shame a decent provider with a good price risks losing a satisfied customer because of what rates may be 4 months from now. Again, not a complaint, but it sure seems like a less than intelligent way to conduct business.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    TxFeller from Denton, TX on July 19th, 2021
    Thank you for choosing Southwest Power and Light. Regarding number 2 in your review, Southwest Power and Light does allow renewing contracts up to 90 days before expiration through a Customer Care agent or at 60 days through your My Account Portal on our website. Our agents are available by calling 866.941.7975, hours of operation are Monday- Friday 8:30am to 5:30pm CST to assist with your account.
    — Southwest Power & Light
    Great Company
    I had this company for 2 years without any problems, however i get these new promotions and decided to change, BIG MISTAKE, southwest is fair and does not give you extra charges, it is what it is all the time, I am going back to this company
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Steve from Houston on June 30th, 2015
    No problems with service
    I have had SWP for 3 years and have had no problems. No hidden fees and rate is the same as quoted. Payment comes out automatically from checking account each month for a 5% discount and a color chart shows your usage to compare to year prior. Not sure why others are having problems. Have not needed customer service. I am looking for the best rate now as it is time to renew or switch.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jane from Houston on August 16th, 2013
    No problems so far.
    I've had Southwest P&L for about 18 months now. I pay them on-time and they give me electricity at a decent price. It's really not that difficult.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    A Customer from Mesquite on June 25th, 2012
    Mickey in NRH
    The switch over was seamless and we have yet to encounter a problem. We just renewed at a slightly better rate and probably will next year as well.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mickey Oxford from Fort Worth on October 5th, 2011
    Better than TXU
    I have been a customer since 09-10 and I've had a 4.5 rating out of 5 experience with this company. The only negative I can say is they call you to remind you your payment is due as if you didn't know this already.

    I have spoken with customer service on five ocassions and have had a great experience each time. So, YES I will recommend them to others unless their pricing structure were to get out of hand. After all, most people do kick the cat...
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Andy Davis from on May 2nd, 2011
    Very nice
    I signed up for their 100% renewable 1 year contract about a year ago and have been very pleased so far. I have been able to do everything online so far and have not needed to contact customer service for anything. I know that this has more to do with Oncor than SW P&L, but during the rolling blackouts caused by the major snowstorm this year, my house did not lose power once. The only thing that they could do better in my opinion is to provide an option to not receive paper statements.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Troy from Richardson on February 28th, 2011
    Great customer service.
    I have been with them for six months and hey have some of the best rates in my area. Customer service is very easy to work with. I have always been able to reach a live person in less than 1 minute and it's NOT someone from some far off land. They are always very friendly and helpful. One note though, they can only be reached during normal business hours. But if it's a power outage or emergency you will be directed to the electric distributor.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Charles from Mexia on July 29th, 2010



    Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

    5 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Excessive and Dumb Fees
    Not wasting anymore time on this company and that includes this write up so it's short and sweet. I'm in the energy industry and these guys aren't doing some very customer friendly things.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Rocky from Cypress, TX on July 13th, 2021
    Thank you for choosing Southwest Power and Light. We apologize that we have not met your expectations regarding our service. We encourage you to contact our Customer Care department at 866.941.7975 and allow us an opportunity to address any concerns you may have.<br /><br />
    — Southwest Power & Light
    Up and Down
    First I get a bill (after 1 week and 4 days of service) which has the rate without my discount and plus a service fee. When I call to ask why the bill was so high, the only response got was that I didn't use enough electricity. So I end up having to call every month to find out why my bill was so high, they just gave me the run around. My rate is supposed to be 8.4 yet my bill consistently shows I'm being billed anywhere from 9-11.2. Still no one has an answer!! I was with them a year before this and had no problems. As soon as I renewed it was all downhill. I work part time and in school full time. I'm barely ever home, yet my bill looks like I live in a big house with at least 3 other people. I won't be renewing when this contract it up. I regret every resigning!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Fed Up from Arligton on April 23rd, 2013
    Good interfaces for billing but must read the Fact Sheet, High Pricing
    I live alone and use less than 1000 kWh per billing cycle. I get ripped on monthly charges and the highest rates. This would be cost effective, like all other plans, to use 1000 or 2000+ kWh... then you get the advertised rate. However, their online system for billing / payment management is easy and I was able to get a hold of someone whenever I need customer service. My contract ends tomorrow and I'm switcing to a company with better rates. When your contract is up, be prepared that they call endlessly to renew.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Connie from Houston on April 15th, 2013
    Watch your rate on your bill CLOSELY
    I was promised 8.6 cents if I signed up for autopay (the discount for autopay was .5 cents). The first month they 'forgot' to put me on autopay and I had to pay 11.9 cents because it was a partial month and I didn't use enough electricity to get the lower rate (I was only with SWPL for a week). I didn't appreciate that they wouldn't prorate it. The second month, I was on autopay and got charged 9.3 cents. They said their system runs a month behind on the autopay credit, so the autopay discount wouldn't take for another month. Another ripoff as far as I'm concerned. They also said that all electric companies require you to use 2,000 kwhs to get the advertised rate, which is why I got charged 9.3 cents instead of 9.1 cents. I didn't print out the original electricity facts label and it has changed several times in the last two months, but I sure don't remember it that way. I've used a half dozen companies in the last fifteen years, this one seems especially devious to me. Also, their website is terrible. Four of the last five times I tried to access my bill, every link I clicked on timed out instead of taking me to the webpages.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mel from San Angelo on April 1st, 2013
    No hidden fees, just confusing statement
    I've read several reviews here about how this company charges hidden fees. This is not the case. The company breaks down its fees into two categories. One is the category it charges you for your electricity and the other is the "Utility fee" which is the amount it has to pay the company that generates the power. All other companies combine these together for one charge. So at first look, it seems you've been hit with a high fee. But when you examine closer, you see the two fees are simply categorized.

    The average poorly educated Texan is incapable of making this distinction and feels they have been ripped off. The company offers very good rates and I was able to lock in a 3-year deal which I am quite happy about.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    RA from Abilene on October 19th, 2012



    Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

    4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Billing and auto pay
    By law we have 16 days to pay utility bills. If you have auto pay, for best rates, the due date on your bill complies with the law. However, Southwest takes the money from account a week earlier. My bill indicates for power outage call Center Point. What does Southwest do.....just take your money,
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Marvin from Fulshear, TX on July 30th, 2020
    Marvin - Thank you for choosing Southwest Power and Light.
    Information regarding the draft date of payments are disclosed on each invoice and included in our Terms of Service (TOS).
    Regarding outages, no matter your choice in Retail Electric Provider (REP), the lines, meters and distribution of the electricity is preformed by the TDSP (CenterPoint Energy) and in most cases REPs ask customers' to contact them directly for any outages in order to resolve them as quickly as possible.
    If you have any other concerns or would like to speak to an agent bout our service, we are available M-F 830am to 530pm cst at 866.941.7975.
    — Southwest Power & Light
    Hidden fees, they try to get as much as possible out of you
    I would NOT recommend this company!!! They have lots of hidden fees and even just making a payment, there is a charge for that too......talk about a disgusting company to do that to their clients!!! I will NOT do business with a company that charges you a fee to take your payment! Look out for hidden fees and watch your pocket book as they will take as much $$ for anything.....Money hungry and dishonest!!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Josef from Houston, TX on January 3rd, 2019
    Hiddens fees
    They charge a Utility Charge every month and it
    fluctuates. The charges are not broken down so I
    don't know what I am charged for.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dtl from Houston on December 16th, 2010
    Delivery charge is way too high
    Look out for the delivery charge it was almost as much as my electricity charge! Cancelled after 1 month despite $175 charge. Ripoff!!!!!!!!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Paul Anthony from on March 1st, 2010



    Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

    44 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 1 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Worst power Company i ever had
    My bill has doubled ever since i renewed my contract. they keep trying to blame the summer heat, but my bill is doubled from last summer.they also took money out my account that was not due and i had to wait until it was reversed.dont use autopay!!! they will steal your money. the non autopay fee is an extra $10 tho.its really a lose lose situation
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Houston Citizen from Houston, TX on August 24th, 2021
    Never again
    This has been the worst experience ive ever had with a electric provider. they automatically place you on mnth to mnth lease when your contract expires.and your rates will be raised.also i enrolled in autopay and was charged extra money weeks before my bill was even due..with no type of reason for it.they offered me $25 for the inconvenience but my bill is sooo much higher than normally i dont even want the $25.im just thinking about paying the cancelation fee.which is already too high, as if we aren't already facing enough problems with the pandemic. why am i 1 person in small 1 bedroom paying 200 mnth
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Citizen from Houston, TX on August 9th, 2021
    Thank you for choosing Southwest Power and Light (SWPL).

    Our records indicate that the Customer Care Manager that you spoke with has extended the lower fixed rate on your invoice billed at month to month and provided you with a credit of $42.32, and additionally offered you a $25 bill credit. The Terms of Service (TOS) provided to you at enrollment address your concern regarding continuation of your service after the fixed price term, as well as handling of payments for customers that elect to pay via Autopay.

    Southwest Power and Light strives to always provide top notch customer care and we rank among the best on the State of Texas Scorecard among Retail Electric Providers (5 Circle Score).

    We encourage you to contact our Customer Care department at 866.941.7975 and allow us another opportunity to further address your concerns.
    — Southwest Power & Light
    Never again
    Not only are their fees excessive, they also will automatically put you on a mnth to mnth lease when your contract expires.also your rates will go up(almost double). horrible customer service and they dont care.it is the hardest company to get in touch with anybody.you will be on hold all day if you want to speak to an actual person
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Marcus R from Houston, TX on August 6th, 2021
    Thank you for choosing Southwest Power and Light (SWPL). <br /><br /><br /><br />We apologize that we have not met your expectations regarding our service. In the Terms of Service (TOS), we disclosure that SWPL is going to continue your service after your fixed price term at the month to month rates at the time of billing. This will ensure you still have service at your location after your term expires, but since Southwest Power and Light does not a fixed price term in place with you we must buy power at a higher month to month rate. <br /><br />Southwest Power and Light strives to always provide top notch customer care and we rank among the best on the State of Texas Scorecard among Retail Electric Providers (5 Circle Score). <br /><br />We encourage you to contact our Customer Care department at 866.941.7975 and allow us another opportunity to further address your concerns.
    — Southwest Power & Light
    Terrible - nothing else needed to say
    Overcharge and takes forever to get anyone to respond with an accurate answer. Not worth it all - Go Elsewhere!!!!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Gary from Rockwall, TX on September 14th, 2020
    Gary- Thank you for choosing Southwest Power and Light. We apologize that we have not met your expectations regarding our service. We encourage you to contact our Customer Care department at 866.941.7975 and allow us another opportunity to provide accurate and timely information regarding your account.

    — Southwest Power & Light
    Do NOT use this company! HIDDEN FEES, Take $$ out 1-2 weeks prior to due date!
    You are required to sign up for AutoPay, but then they take out your bill 1 to 2 weeks early! When I asked to change the Auto Draft date, they said they could NOT do this because of when the meter is read. Wth?! Every other company I've worked with for Electricity power, ESPECIALLY if they require you to be on AutoDraft, can move the draft date. Ours was not due until the 2nd thru 5th, which would've been Perfect, but they were drawing it at the end of the month, on the 25th or 26th which was NOT cool! We did not have money in our acct so got charged fees for them drawing it EVEN though I specifically told them it needed to be the beginning of the month. **Another thing, they do Not have an itemized bill so you can not see what is happening. We were shocked with the 2nd bill being twice as much as the 1st & almost 3 times as much as our previous electric companies. They wrote & voicemessaged me back (they said), & said that they would allow me to switch providers withOUT charging me the early termination fee. I asked them to verify how I would be sure that they would keep their word. (well I had it in writing in an email). I switched am so Thankful. But am keeping an eye on my final bill. BEWARE this is TEXPO, Not Just Southwest Power & Light.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Believe In Power To Choose from Round Rock, TX on September 4th, 2020
    Thank you for the review, we are sorry to hear that our service did not met your expectations. At this time we do not offer customer selected due dates, but we will sure make a note for future customer enhancements regarding your feedback. If you have an opportunity to look at a prior invoice we do provide detailed information regarding your billing on page 2 (the back of page 1). This will include all the meter reading information and break down of your charges.

    If there is anything we can assist you with further please contact our Customer Care agents at 866.941.7975.
    — Southwest Power & Light
    HORRIBLE BILLING AND CUSTOMER SERVICE
    First they set up two different accounts and tried to charge me for not being on autopay when I was on autopay for the account they sent me via email to set up! Then they billed me twice for the same month of service on both accounts, only one bill came almost 6 weeks later. A manager told me that it was a "delayed bill due to Oncor." When I checked my bills, they had double billed me under both accounts for the same service period, even though I had paid the bill under the wrong account number. Interestingly the billing amounts for the same period were different. I have spent hours on the phone with this group trying to get their billing errors fixed and every time they tell me they finally have it straight, they manage to mess it up again. I regret ever signing up with them.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Horrible Billing Practices from Dallas, TX on October 18th, 2019
    Horrible company
    I went with them about a year ago. Set up for auto pay. My bills due date is the 20th and they pulled out of my acct on the 4th the first 3 months.. turned the auto pay off and I was charged a monthly fee on top of them upping my kilowatt price because I was no longer on auto pay. Wanted to pay the bill through the automated system and you have to use a checking account. Can't use a debit card. And they charge you $10 to pay the bill.. this company is horrible. I will pay the additional charge to switch to a new company... will be doing this first thing Monday morning.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Upset Customer from Wylie, TX on February 1st, 2019
    Terrible Customer Service
    I have had many unfortunate and disappointing dealings with their customer service. They have very limited hours. To speak to a supervisor they only offer a call back. Each time I call I get a different answer, usually they are all incorrect. The last straw was the change to the new website. The associate I spoke to as I tried to get access told me that as part of the recent change to their site, every client was forced to get a new Username. Either 1) that's true, then this creates a terrible customer experience or 2) it's not true, in that case it just goes to show the bad information you get with this company.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Steve In Texas from Grand Prairie, TX on January 2nd, 2019
    Bait And Switch
    SPL has dishonest marketing tactics - Please beware of monthly fees, which they won't disclose to you when signing up. My experience with this service provider is horrible - All they care about is getting your money rather than being upfront with their charges. Need to do a better job to inform subscribers of all fees involved.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Plan Name from Round Rock, TX on April 24th, 2017
    Do Not Use SW Power & Light
    My house was up for sale when my 2 year contract was soon to expire with SW Power & Light. I called weeks in advance of the contract expiration. I was mistakenly given the impression that it was a good idea to go to a month to month contract since I was moving soon. The customer service rep told me that my rate would go up a fraction of a cent. Instead my rate was doubled. During the period of time I repeatedly got calls from SW Power & Light Sales people who tried to get me to resign a new long term contract and NONE of them warned me that my rate would go up if I did not resign a long term contract (remember it doubled). I ended up switching to another company because they would not credit my bill for the amount they ripped me off.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Robert Mackey from Tomball on January 19th, 2017


    Electric Plans & Rates


    Recommended Plans
    All Plans
    Plan Name
    Company
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    15 Month Fixed Rate
    15 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    11.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Low Average Bill
  • Donates to Charity
  • Good for Medium Homes