No problems.
Good price. Never had an issue with billing. Had to call once to get help with my online account. Good service. I really don't care what day they take my payment and I appreciate the discount for auto-pay.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

FW from Clifton, TX on November 10th, 2020
Thank you for choosing Southwest Power & Light for your energy needs. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our service.
— Southwest Power & Light
4 years
Been a customer about 5 years. First year had a trial plan. Had no issues. Have a 3600 sqf house, 2 units. Pool, Landscape lights; 3 car garage. Avg about $350 mo. Signed 2 back to back 24 mo plans. Find deregulation confusing, and shopping for a commodity.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Walnut Hill NA, Dallas from Farmers Branch, TX on October 12th, 2020
Thank you for review of our service and plans. Southwest Power and Light strives to provide outstanding customer care and competitive pricing to win your business year after year. We look forward to continuing to meet all of your expectations in the future.
— Southwest Power & Light
Terrible - nothing else needed to say
Overcharge and takes forever to get anyone to respond with an accurate answer. Not worth it all - Go Elsewhere!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gary from Rowlett, TX on September 14th, 2020
Gary- Thank you for choosing Southwest Power and Light. We apologize that we have not met your expectations regarding our service. We encourage you to contact our Customer Care department at 866.941.7975 and allow us another opportunity to provide accurate and timely information regarding your account.

— Southwest Power & Light
Do NOT use this company! HIDDEN FEES, Take $$ out 1-2 weeks prior to due date!
You are required to sign up for AutoPay, but then they take out your bill 1 to 2 weeks early! When I asked to change the Auto Draft date, they said they could NOT do this because of when the meter is read. Wth?! Every other company I've worked with for Electricity power, ESPECIALLY if they require you to be on AutoDraft, can move the draft date. Ours was not due until the 2nd thru 5th, which would've been Perfect, but they were drawing it at the end of the month, on the 25th or 26th which was NOT cool! We did not have money in our acct so got charged fees for them drawing it EVEN though I specifically told them it needed to be the beginning of the month. **Another thing, they do Not have an itemized bill so you can not see what is happening. We were shocked with the 2nd bill being twice as much as the 1st & almost 3 times as much as our previous electric companies. They wrote & voicemessaged me back (they said), & said that they would allow me to switch providers withOUT charging me the early termination fee. I asked them to verify how I would be sure that they would keep their word. (well I had it in writing in an email). I switched am so Thankful. But am keeping an eye on my final bill. BEWARE this is TEXPO, Not Just Southwest Power & Light.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Believe In Power To Choose from Round Rock, TX on September 4th, 2020
Thank you for the review, we are sorry to hear that our service did not met your expectations. At this time we do not offer customer selected due dates, but we will sure make a note for future customer enhancements regarding your feedback. If you have an opportunity to look at a prior invoice we do provide detailed information regarding your billing on page 2 (the back of page 1). This will include all the meter reading information and break down of your charges.

If there is anything we can assist you with further please contact our Customer Care agents at 866.941.7975.
— Southwest Power & Light
Billing and auto pay
By law we have 16 days to pay utility bills. If you have auto pay, for best rates, the due date on your bill complies with the law. However, Southwest takes the money from account a week earlier. My bill indicates for power outage call Center Point. What does Southwest do.....just take your money,
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marvin from Fulshear, TX on July 30th, 2020
Marvin - Thank you for choosing Southwest Power and Light.
Information regarding the draft date of payments are disclosed on each invoice and included in our Terms of Service (TOS).
Regarding outages, no matter your choice in Retail Electric Provider (REP), the lines, meters and distribution of the electricity is preformed by the TDSP (CenterPoint Energy) and in most cases REPs ask customers' to contact them directly for any outages in order to resolve them as quickly as possible.
If you have any other concerns or would like to speak to an agent bout our service, we are available M-F 830am to 530pm cst at 866.941.7975.
— Southwest Power & Light
HORRIBLE BILLING AND CUSTOMER SERVICE
First they set up two different accounts and tried to charge me for not being on autopay when I was on autopay for the account they sent me via email to set up! Then they billed me twice for the same month of service on both accounts, only one bill came almost 6 weeks later. A manager told me that it was a "delayed bill due to Oncor." When I checked my bills, they had double billed me under both accounts for the same service period, even though I had paid the bill under the wrong account number. Interestingly the billing amounts for the same period were different. I have spent hours on the phone with this group trying to get their billing errors fixed and every time they tell me they finally have it straight, they manage to mess it up again. I regret ever signing up with them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Horrible Billing Practices from Dallas, TX on October 18th, 2019
Horrible company
I went with them about a year ago. Set up for auto pay. My bills due date is the 20th and they pulled out of my acct on the 4th the first 3 months.. turned the auto pay off and I was charged a monthly fee on top of them upping my kilowatt price because I was no longer on auto pay. Wanted to pay the bill through the automated system and you have to use a checking account. Can't use a debit card. And they charge you $10 to pay the bill.. this company is horrible. I will pay the additional charge to switch to a new company... will be doing this first thing Monday morning.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Upset Customer from Wylie, TX on February 1st, 2019
Hidden fees, they try to get as much as possible out of you
I would NOT recommend this company!!! They have lots of hidden fees and even just making a payment, there is a charge for that too......talk about a disgusting company to do that to their clients!!! I will NOT do business with a company that charges you a fee to take your payment! Look out for hidden fees and watch your pocket book as they will take as much $$ for anything.....Money hungry and dishonest!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Josef from Houston, TX on January 3rd, 2019
Terrible Customer Service
I have had many unfortunate and disappointing dealings with their customer service. They have very limited hours. To speak to a supervisor they only offer a call back. Each time I call I get a different answer, usually they are all incorrect. The last straw was the change to the new website. The associate I spoke to as I tried to get access told me that as part of the recent change to their site, every client was forced to get a new Username. Either 1) that's true, then this creates a terrible customer experience or 2) it's not true, in that case it just goes to show the bad information you get with this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steve In Texas from Grand Prairie, TX on January 2nd, 2019
Bait And Switch
SPL has dishonest marketing tactics - Please beware of monthly fees, which they won't disclose to you when signing up. My experience with this service provider is horrible - All they care about is getting your money rather than being upfront with their charges. Need to do a better job to inform subscribers of all fees involved.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Plan Name from Round Rock, TX on April 24th, 2017







Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Southwest Power & Light are the order experience, rated at 2.6 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.3 of 5.
5 Stars
17%
 
4 Stars
13%
 
3 Stars
8%
 
2 Stars
8%
 
1 Stars
54%
 
2.2 / 5
Overall
2.3 / 5
Price, Plans and Promotions
2.6 / 5
Order Experience
2.3 / 5
Customer Service
2.1 / 5
Billing and Account Management
1.9 / 5
Likely to Recommend
About Southwest Power & Light

Southwest Power & Light is one of the two additional brands that Texpo Energy uses to sell retail electricity in the state of Texas, along with YEP. Texpo Energy filed to also sell electricity as Southwest Power & Light in 2008. Southwest Power & Light sells electricity in the deregulated areas of Texas to both residential and commercial customers.


Recommended Electricity Plans