Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Southwest Power & Light are their plans and pricing, rated at 2.4 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.2 of 5.
5 Stars
15%
 
4 Stars
10%
 
3 Stars
7%
 
2 Stars
6%
 
1 Stars
61%
 

Recent Good Review from Rocky

Excessive and Dumb Fees
Not wasting anymore time on this company and that includes this write up so it's short and sweet. I'm in the energy industry and these guys aren't doing some very customer friendly things.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rocky from Cypress, TX on July 13th, 2021
Thank you for choosing Southwest Power and Light. We apologize that we have not met your expectations regarding our service. We encourage you to contact our Customer Care department at 866.941.7975 and allow us an opportunity to address any concerns you may have.<br /><br />
— Southwest Power & Light


Our Analysis of Southwest Power & Light

Community Outreach
0.0 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Complaint Resolution
0.0 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Innovation
0.0 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Market Perception
0.0 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Plans & Products
0.0 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Rewards
0.0 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

10 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
No problems, great rate.
I signed up with them almost 3 years ago after Breeze went under. I used a spreadsheet and simulated my usage over a year with many different plans, including the ones some providers use to try to appear way low on power to choose, but only if you use exactly the 1000 or 2000 KwH amounts.

I appreciate that they will bill a credit card without adding fees, which with rewards comes out to an additional 2-3% savings, and allows me another 20 days or so of flexibility as to when I am paying it.

My Energy charge has always been exactly what the said and the distribution charges from Oncor have always passed through correctly. I do wish the invoice would itemize the Oncor charges, but using current EFL data from various providers to spot check, the distribution charges are always correct
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charlie from Pflugerville, TX on February 19th, 2021
Thank you for choosing Southwest Power & Light for your energy needs. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our service.
— Southwest Power & Light
No problems.
Good price. Never had an issue with billing. Had to call once to get help with my online account. Good service. I really don't care what day they take my payment and I appreciate the discount for auto-pay.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

FW from Clifton, TX on November 10th, 2020
Thank you for choosing Southwest Power & Light for your energy needs. We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding our service.
— Southwest Power & Light
4 years
Been a customer about 5 years. First year had a trial plan. Had no issues. Have a 3600 sqf house, 2 units. Pool, Landscape lights; 3 car garage. Avg about $350 mo. Signed 2 back to back 24 mo plans. Find deregulation confusing, and shopping for a commodity.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Walnut Hill NA, Dallas from Dallas, TX on October 12th, 2020
Thank you for review of our service and plans. Southwest Power and Light strives to provide outstanding customer care and competitive pricing to win your business year after year. We look forward to continuing to meet all of your expectations in the future.
— Southwest Power & Light
GREAT SUPPLIER
I have been with SWP&L for years and they offer the best rates. I have never had a problem with them and I recommend them all the time.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

ReamesC from Frisco, TX on March 31st, 2017
Pasadena, Texas
I've been using Southwest Power & Light for several years and they are very good. I'm an electrical substation designers and their electricity is as good as anyone else.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very Good Company from Pasadena, TX on March 30th, 2017
They were just fine!
I don't usually have the time to write reviews. Signed up with SW P & L 2 years ago online because of a very attractive rate. I was on autopay. Every month a got a statement showing how much my account was charged. I never had a problem or needed to call for anything. I enjoyed the low rates. As far as I'm concerned it was a no brainer. No problems at all!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

FG from Plano on March 6th, 2015
8 YEARS of GREAT rates and service!!!
Reading all the bad reviews is surprising! I signed up with SWPL 8 years ago and the highest my bill has EVER been for my 2 bedroom home is $180! And that is only during the summer months in HOUSTON TEXAS! Average bill is well under $100 otherwise. I am pleased with the service and any time anyone shows up trying to get me to switch, I'm told they have never heard of SWPL and then I send them on their way. The only downfall I can list is the high deposit ($390) but once you pay your bill on time for 12 consecutive months w/out a late/disconnect notice generated, they refund half of the deposit back to you! I recommend SWPL to everyone who asks me about power company options. (=
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Denise Valentine from Houston on August 16th, 2014
Great
Unsure why people are having problems. Sign up for a term (you know there's a cancelation charge) and pay on time. I have used SWPL for almost 3 years and never had an issue. Saved $ hundreds (if not thousands) in that time v's TXU. Always check each year to compare there rates prior to renewing and they're great.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Todd from Dallas on August 22nd, 2012
Economical and friendly
I have had Southwest Power & Light for one year and they were great. Paying my bill online was quick and efficient. If I had to call it in, they were friendly and you were able to speak to a live person fairly quickly. I would recommend. My bill was quite a bit lower than it had been in a while.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kim from Wylie on July 29th, 2012
Electricity fact sheet
Had a question about the rate on my first bill. I had a fantastic CSR, named Samantha, that explained my rate and even adjusted my bill favorably.
She had a great "can do" attitude.
So far, so good with SouthernPL. Hopefully my next 11 months with them will exceed expectations.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Michael from Fort Worth on July 27th, 2012



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

7 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great Company
I had this company for 2 years without any problems, however i get these new promotions and decided to change, BIG MISTAKE, southwest is fair and does not give you extra charges, it is what it is all the time, I am going back to this company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steve from Houston on June 30th, 2015
No problems with service
I have had SWP for 3 years and have had no problems. No hidden fees and rate is the same as quoted. Payment comes out automatically from checking account each month for a 5% discount and a color chart shows your usage to compare to year prior. Not sure why others are having problems. Have not needed customer service. I am looking for the best rate now as it is time to renew or switch.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jane from Houston on August 16th, 2013
No problems so far.
I've had Southwest P&L for about 18 months now. I pay them on-time and they give me electricity at a decent price. It's really not that difficult.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

A Customer from Mesquite on June 25th, 2012
Mickey in NRH
The switch over was seamless and we have yet to encounter a problem. We just renewed at a slightly better rate and probably will next year as well.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mickey Oxford from Fort Worth on October 5th, 2011
Better than TXU
I have been a customer since 09-10 and I've had a 4.5 rating out of 5 experience with this company. The only negative I can say is they call you to remind you your payment is due as if you didn't know this already.

I have spoken with customer service on five ocassions and have had a great experience each time. So, YES I will recommend them to others unless their pricing structure were to get out of hand. After all, most people do kick the cat...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Andy Davis from on May 2nd, 2011
Very nice
I signed up for their 100% renewable 1 year contract about a year ago and have been very pleased so far. I have been able to do everything online so far and have not needed to contact customer service for anything. I know that this has more to do with Oncor than SW P&L, but during the rolling blackouts caused by the major snowstorm this year, my house did not lose power once. The only thing that they could do better in my opinion is to provide an option to not receive paper statements.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Troy from Richardson on February 28th, 2011
Great customer service.
I have been with them for six months and hey have some of the best rates in my area. Customer service is very easy to work with. I have always been able to reach a live person in less than 1 minute and it's NOT someone from some far off land. They are always very friendly and helpful. One note though, they can only be reached during normal business hours. But if it's a power outage or emergency you will be directed to the electric distributor.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charles from Mexia on July 29th, 2010



Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

5 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Excessive and Dumb Fees
Not wasting anymore time on this company and that includes this write up so it's short and sweet. I'm in the energy industry and these guys aren't doing some very customer friendly things.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rocky from Cypress, TX on July 13th, 2021
Thank you for choosing Southwest Power and Light. We apologize that we have not met your expectations regarding our service. We encourage you to contact our Customer Care department at 866.941.7975 and allow us an opportunity to address any concerns you may have.<br /><br />
— Southwest Power & Light
Up and Down
First I get a bill (after 1 week and 4 days of service) which has the rate without my discount and plus a service fee. When I call to ask why the bill was so high, the only response got was that I didn't use enough electricity. So I end up having to call every month to find out why my bill was so high, they just gave me the run around. My rate is supposed to be 8.4 yet my bill consistently shows I'm being billed anywhere from 9-11.2. Still no one has an answer!! I was with them a year before this and had no problems. As soon as I renewed it was all downhill. I work part time and in school full time. I'm barely ever home, yet my bill looks like I live in a big house with at least 3 other people. I won't be renewing when this contract it up. I regret every resigning!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fed Up from Arligton on April 23rd, 2013
Good interfaces for billing but must read the Fact Sheet, High Pricing
I live alone and use less than 1000 kWh per billing cycle. I get ripped on monthly charges and the highest rates. This would be cost effective, like all other plans, to use 1000 or 2000+ kWh... then you get the advertised rate. However, their online system for billing / payment management is easy and I was able to get a hold of someone whenever I need customer service. My contract ends tomorrow and I'm switcing to a company with better rates. When your contract is up, be prepared that they call endlessly to renew.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Connie from Houston on April 15th, 2013
Watch your rate on your bill CLOSELY
I was promised 8.6 cents if I signed up for autopay (the discount for autopay was .5 cents). The first month they 'forgot' to put me on autopay and I had to pay 11.9 cents because it was a partial month and I didn't use enough electricity to get the lower rate (I was only with SWPL for a week). I didn't appreciate that they wouldn't prorate it. The second month, I was on autopay and got charged 9.3 cents. They said their system runs a month behind on the autopay credit, so the autopay discount wouldn't take for another month. Another ripoff as far as I'm concerned. They also said that all electric companies require you to use 2,000 kwhs to get the advertised rate, which is why I got charged 9.3 cents instead of 9.1 cents. I didn't print out the original electricity facts label and it has changed several times in the last two months, but I sure don't remember it that way. I've used a half dozen companies in the last fifteen years, this one seems especially devious to me. Also, their website is terrible. Four of the last five times I tried to access my bill, every link I clicked on timed out instead of taking me to the webpages.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mel from San Angelo on April 1st, 2013
No hidden fees, just confusing statement
I've read several reviews here about how this company charges hidden fees. This is not the case. The company breaks down its fees into two categories. One is the category it charges you for your electricity and the other is the "Utility fee" which is the amount it has to pay the company that generates the power. All other companies combine these together for one charge. So at first look, it seems you've been hit with a high fee. But when you examine closer, you see the two fees are simply categorized.

The average poorly educated Texan is incapable of making this distinction and feels they have been ripped off. The company offers very good rates and I was able to lock in a 3-year deal which I am quite happy about.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RA from Abilene on October 19th, 2012



Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

4 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Billing and auto pay
By law we have 16 days to pay utility bills. If you have auto pay, for best rates, the due date on your bill complies with the law. However, Southwest takes the money from account a week earlier. My bill indicates for power outage call Center Point. What does Southwest do.....just take your money,
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marvin from Fulshear, TX on July 30th, 2020
Marvin - Thank you for choosing Southwest Power and Light.
Information regarding the draft date of payments are disclosed on each invoice and included in our Terms of Service (TOS).
Regarding outages, no matter your choice in Retail Electric Provider (REP), the lines, meters and distribution of the electricity is preformed by the TDSP (CenterPoint Energy) and in most cases REPs ask customers' to contact them directly for any outages in order to resolve them as quickly as possible.
If you have any other concerns or would like to speak to an agent bout our service, we are available M-F 830am to 530pm cst at 866.941.7975.
— Southwest Power & Light
Hidden fees, they try to get as much as possible out of you
I would NOT recommend this company!!! They have lots of hidden fees and even just making a payment, there is a charge for that too......talk about a disgusting company to do that to their clients!!! I will NOT do business with a company that charges you a fee to take your payment! Look out for hidden fees and watch your pocket book as they will take as much $$ for anything.....Money hungry and dishonest!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Josef from Houston, TX on January 3rd, 2019
Hiddens fees
They charge a Utility Charge every month and it
fluctuates. The charges are not broken down so I
don't know what I am charged for.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dtl from Houston on December 16th, 2010
Delivery charge is way too high
Look out for the delivery charge it was almost as much as my electricity charge! Cancelled after 1 month despite $175 charge. Ripoff!!!!!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Paul Anthony from on March 1st, 2010



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

41 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Terrible - nothing else needed to say
Overcharge and takes forever to get anyone to respond with an accurate answer. Not worth it all - Go Elsewhere!!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gary from Rockwall, TX on September 14th, 2020
Gary- Thank you for choosing Southwest Power and Light. We apologize that we have not met your expectations regarding our service. We encourage you to contact our Customer Care department at 866.941.7975 and allow us another opportunity to provide accurate and timely information regarding your account.

— Southwest Power & Light
Do NOT use this company! HIDDEN FEES, Take $$ out 1-2 weeks prior to due date!
You are required to sign up for AutoPay, but then they take out your bill 1 to 2 weeks early! When I asked to change the Auto Draft date, they said they could NOT do this because of when the meter is read. Wth?! Every other company I've worked with for Electricity power, ESPECIALLY if they require you to be on AutoDraft, can move the draft date. Ours was not due until the 2nd thru 5th, which would've been Perfect, but they were drawing it at the end of the month, on the 25th or 26th which was NOT cool! We did not have money in our acct so got charged fees for them drawing it EVEN though I specifically told them it needed to be the beginning of the month. **Another thing, they do Not have an itemized bill so you can not see what is happening. We were shocked with the 2nd bill being twice as much as the 1st & almost 3 times as much as our previous electric companies. They wrote & voicemessaged me back (they said), & said that they would allow me to switch providers withOUT charging me the early termination fee. I asked them to verify how I would be sure that they would keep their word. (well I had it in writing in an email). I switched am so Thankful. But am keeping an eye on my final bill. BEWARE this is TEXPO, Not Just Southwest Power & Light.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Believe In Power To Choose from Round Rock, TX on September 4th, 2020
Thank you for the review, we are sorry to hear that our service did not met your expectations. At this time we do not offer customer selected due dates, but we will sure make a note for future customer enhancements regarding your feedback. If you have an opportunity to look at a prior invoice we do provide detailed information regarding your billing on page 2 (the back of page 1). This will include all the meter reading information and break down of your charges.

If there is anything we can assist you with further please contact our Customer Care agents at 866.941.7975.
— Southwest Power & Light
HORRIBLE BILLING AND CUSTOMER SERVICE
First they set up two different accounts and tried to charge me for not being on autopay when I was on autopay for the account they sent me via email to set up! Then they billed me twice for the same month of service on both accounts, only one bill came almost 6 weeks later. A manager told me that it was a "delayed bill due to Oncor." When I checked my bills, they had double billed me under both accounts for the same service period, even though I had paid the bill under the wrong account number. Interestingly the billing amounts for the same period were different. I have spent hours on the phone with this group trying to get their billing errors fixed and every time they tell me they finally have it straight, they manage to mess it up again. I regret ever signing up with them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Horrible Billing Practices from Dallas, TX on October 18th, 2019
Horrible company
I went with them about a year ago. Set up for auto pay. My bills due date is the 20th and they pulled out of my acct on the 4th the first 3 months.. turned the auto pay off and I was charged a monthly fee on top of them upping my kilowatt price because I was no longer on auto pay. Wanted to pay the bill through the automated system and you have to use a checking account. Can't use a debit card. And they charge you $10 to pay the bill.. this company is horrible. I will pay the additional charge to switch to a new company... will be doing this first thing Monday morning.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Upset Customer from Wylie, TX on February 1st, 2019
Terrible Customer Service
I have had many unfortunate and disappointing dealings with their customer service. They have very limited hours. To speak to a supervisor they only offer a call back. Each time I call I get a different answer, usually they are all incorrect. The last straw was the change to the new website. The associate I spoke to as I tried to get access told me that as part of the recent change to their site, every client was forced to get a new Username. Either 1) that's true, then this creates a terrible customer experience or 2) it's not true, in that case it just goes to show the bad information you get with this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steve In Texas from Grand Prairie, TX on January 2nd, 2019
Bait And Switch
SPL has dishonest marketing tactics - Please beware of monthly fees, which they won't disclose to you when signing up. My experience with this service provider is horrible - All they care about is getting your money rather than being upfront with their charges. Need to do a better job to inform subscribers of all fees involved.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Plan Name from Round Rock, TX on April 24th, 2017
Do Not Use SW Power & Light
My house was up for sale when my 2 year contract was soon to expire with SW Power & Light. I called weeks in advance of the contract expiration. I was mistakenly given the impression that it was a good idea to go to a month to month contract since I was moving soon. The customer service rep told me that my rate would go up a fraction of a cent. Instead my rate was doubled. During the period of time I repeatedly got calls from SW Power & Light Sales people who tried to get me to resign a new long term contract and NONE of them warned me that my rate would go up if I did not resign a long term contract (remember it doubled). I ended up switching to another company because they would not credit my bill for the amount they ripped me off.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Robert Mackey from Tomball on January 19th, 2017
Website
The only thing they distinguishes one vendor from another is price and the website. I have found the website to be EXTREMELY slow and unresponsive.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terry Pettijohn from La Marque on April 22nd, 2016
Joke and a half...
My usage for Nov was down substatially from previous month yet bill was the same amount. Noticed a Smart Meter recovery charge of $40 dollars for the month. Thought that was kinda pricey so called CS to ask about it. She said " oh that charge is only $18.33".....i said how come mine is $40?? Puts me on hold to go ask about it. Waited 30 plus minutes on hold.......I got better things to do. Unpluggin these dolts tomorrow
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Steve from Bellmead on December 10th, 2015
Disorganized and Inconsistent
I signed up online from the 'power to choose' website. Enrolled in a paperless billing, auto pay 6 month contract for 11.4 cents/kwh, and got an email confirming my turn on date. Well, we get to the house with trailers of furniture, etc and are moving in and we have no electricity. I call and they cannot help. They scheduled my turn on for 7/3, and no one is in the office, "holiday", they said. I have no electricity and loads of things and people needing some refuge. Terrible experience and lack of communicaiton.

I get my first bill for 4 days of service and have to pay a minimum usage fee. I understand. You just can't use that much electricity in 4 days. My second bill comes and I am WAAAY overcharged. I finally get a hold of someone and they told me I was not on a contract, I was paying month-to-month at the going rate. All the confirmation emails I got apparently meant nothing. They said they can apply a bill credit to my first bill, the one that used 220 kwh, not the 2nd one that used 2260 kwh.

I am done with them. Switched yesterday.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Daniel from Lenorah on August 13th, 2015


Recommended Electricity Plans