Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Spark Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.4 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.3 of 5.
5 Stars
7%
 
4 Stars
20%
 
3 Stars
9%
 
2 Stars
9%
 
1 Stars
56%
 

Recent Good Review from Fred

Marked down for the first short bill
Ordering was easy, hand off to Spark was seamless. First bill was only 20 days, which was small enough to miss the rebate. So if you're switching you may want to time it to be closer to the beginning or end of the cycle.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fred from Colleyville, TX on July 20th, 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your business and your feedback.
— Spark Energy


Our Analysis of Spark Energy

Complaint Resolution
3.9 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Community Outreach
3.6 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Plans & Products
3.5 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Rewards
3.0 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.
Innovation
2.4 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Market Perception
1.5 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

9 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Spark Energy customer for life
Exceeded my expectations.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy Customer from Dallas, TX on April 27th, 2021
We appreciate your review. Thank you for your business.
— Spark Energy
Spark Energy Review
Best Electric company I have ever had any
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Merylan Ranson from Fort Worth, TX on February 12th, 2020
We appreciate your feedback and your business. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review.
— Spark Energy
Good company
Easy to work with
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Esan from Del Rio, TX on August 30th, 2019
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your business.
— Spark Energy
Spark
Easy set up, good service, good prices
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lissa from Lavon, TX on August 16th, 2019
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback.
— Spark Energy
Spark energy
I have spark energy 6 month ago but now Im ready to contract another 6 month, they have lot of good prices for electricity and good customer service?
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mr Singh from Houston, TX on July 9th, 2018
Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate your business and hope that you renew your contract with us so we can continue providing you great customer service and low fixed rates.
— Spark Energy
Excellent Service and Rates
I am starting on my 3rd year of service with Spark Energy. The service and rates I have received has been outstanding. I have dealt with their customer service department and it too, has been excellent. Their rates are extremely competitive and I appreciate the fact that when my contract expired they didn't raise my rates like other companies do. Thank You Spark Energy!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

T. Barber from Houston on July 10th, 2013
Spark Energy appreciates your continued business and loyalty. Thank you for your positive feedback. We are always happy to hear from our customers.
— Spark Energy
Best buy and excellant service
I have been with Spark for over 5 years. Am guessing I have saved about $2000 comparing to other South texas providers. My mother saves over a hundred dollars a month on her electrical bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RS Lasiter from Very South Texas. on August 26th, 2011
Best Energy Company Anywhere!
Spark Energy is the best electricity company
I've ever worked with. I've been with the large
companies (Reliant & TXU), and the smaller
companies (Yep), and Spark Energy beats them
all. The big ones charge too much, and the
smaller ones don't have enough customer service
experience to help you when you need it, and
can still be more expensive too.

I'm probably saving $25 a month on my
electricity bill with Spark, which definitely
adds up! The customer service is local, and
they actually work for the company too, so
you're not talking to some outsourced company
that can't actually make decisions.

Their sign up process is a breeze, and you
can't beat their auto-pay so you don't miss a
payment (they even give you a discount for
using it too, instead of charging you).

They also have a referral program so that you
can get $25, and they can get $25 too. All in
all, you can't beat Spark Energy - I won't ever
go anywhere else!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Enrique from Houston on June 29th, 2011
Satisfied with Spark
Very satisfied with my Spark experience. Transition from Reliant was
simple (they took care of everything...only spent 2 minutes of my time on
the transition) Very good rates with no "bait and switch"
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jim from Houston on March 16th, 2010



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

27 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Marked down for the first short bill
Ordering was easy, hand off to Spark was seamless. First bill was only 20 days, which was small enough to miss the rebate. So if you're switching you may want to time it to be closer to the beginning or end of the cycle.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Fred from Colleyville, TX on July 20th, 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your business and your feedback.
— Spark Energy
Good
So far it has been good. Just waiting for first bill
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sharon Yarbrough from Stephenville, TX on August 27th, 2019
We are glad to hear that your set-up was good. We hope that you are happy with your first bill - don't hesitate contact us if you have any questions or concerns.
— Spark Energy
Thorough and Helpful!
I just spoke with BB in customer service and she was so helpful. My mother in law passed away recently and I was making sure her account continued to stay paid until the property was sold. BB walked me through all of the areas making sure that everything was updated including e-mail, phone notifications, etc. I probably would not have remembered to update all of the information. It was so helpful for her to prompt me on each of the areas. Thank you BB and thank you Spark Energy!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sheri from Houston, TX on February 25th, 2019
Please accept our condolences on the passing of your mother. We are glad to hear that BB assisted you with ensuring everything is in order as we can understand it is a difficult situation.
— Spark Energy
Great Company
I've been with Spark Energy for 8 years and have been very satisfied. Not big on the auto pay, but I never missed a payment. Price is mid-range and I've had good experiences with customer service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dave from Desoto on September 13th, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you are not only satisfied with the Spark Energy service but that you are also a valued customer with tenure. Thank you for entrusting us with your supplier needs. We look forward to many years of continued business with you.
— Spark Energy
Rate Change/Billing Issue Resolved
I've been with SPARK for 8 years. After our latest 1 year contract expired, our rate went from 8.9 cents per kilowatt to 12.69 cents per kilowatt in March. I experienced a $300 bill instead of a $205 bill which is a big difference. We were not aware of this rate change for three months because we were not notified. I called customer service in June and renewed it for another year at 9.1 cents per kilowatt. New customers get a $75 gift card and I asked for it. I was countered with a $25 credit. Also, they did send us an email on February 27 and we must have missed it or thought it was spam. When all is said and done, I am almost completely satisfied. The customer service rep did an excellent job on her end when I called. However, I suggest the following to SPARK ENERGY: 1) Post a customer's contract ending date and rate change on our online account because it is easy to do and can be automated. 2) Offer the same specials to your core customers (existing) for renewing as you would for a new customer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jack Gamble from Spring on June 28th, 2013
We want you to know that we appreciate your comment and always welcome feedback. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how were doing and what you feel we should work on.
— Spark Energy
Pleased with the experience
Have good website, billing, and email communication... and saved a lot of money compared to my previous provider. Never had any issues. Don't know what it's like to call them, because I've never had a need to do so. I'm going to try another provider for a lower rate now that my contract is up, but I'll return if my experience doesn't match up to Spark.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Daniel from Sugar Land on March 25th, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We encourage you to contact us to review the renewal plans available for your area. We are always happy to hear from all of our customers.
— Spark Energy
Never had a problem
I have been with spark for the past year or more im very pleased with my service, ever since the 1 day i was able to compare to my 1st bill and was able to see the discuont so iv'e had them ever since
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gerg from Chicago on March 15th, 2012
Never had a problem
I have been with spark for the past year or more im very pleased with my service, ever since the 1 day i was able to compare to my 1st bill and was able to see the discuont so iv'e had them ever since
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gerg from Chicago on March 15th, 2012
Been Good to me
Been with Spark since about 2007. No horror
stories, no weird billing/meter issues. This
seems like it should be a given, but it's not
these days.

Competitive rates, also enjoy the credit card
auto pay - not everybody has that, you know.
If you simply read and understand the
difference between fixed and variable rate,
are a person of average intelligence, etc., you
should have no issues with Spark sign up and
service.

The one time i needed an email response for a
question, I got a satisfactory answer in a day
or 2. It seems they really cared.

Been a happy camper. My only concern is that I
think Spark's Residential service may be coming
to a close for my Zip code (website only
returns Commercial service hits now on my Zip).
Hence I may need to find another provider that
can give me *everything* Spark has given for
the past years. Hard to do...

One Co. might have good rates but no credit
card auto pay. Another has cc auto pay but
consumer horror stories... and so it goes.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Greg from on October 28th, 2011
Simple, Cheap, No Problems
I've had Spark a couple years over the past
several and I like them very well. Their plans
were easy to understand, competitively priced, and
they had competent customer service, not that I
needed much. Their website has improved since the
last time I used them and they got auto-billing
set up right away.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MYOB from Houston on September 17th, 2011


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

12 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Price was in the top 2, but the website/monitoring is lacking
I really liked my two previous companies, but switched from both once the promotion of the first year ended. This company had one of the cheaper plans for the energy that my home uses during a year period. I figured that all companies at this point are the same. Who ever needs to call into an electric company? You go online, pay your bill, and view your usage. BUT.... you can't view your usage real time it seems. So my plan that I need to use so much energy before I hit that bill credit, I can't monitor. There are some months that I am below the threshhold, but could easily (as terrible as this does seem to me) turn on some extra stuff, to bring myself up to the 1000kw I need. But I can't even tell this info. Which I have never seen with a company before this. ??? If you are going with a threshold plan, I would maybe avoid spark at this point until they fix this.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jill Jere from Baytown, TX on April 22nd, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. Real time usage tracking is not a feature we offer but you can always track your usage by visiting www.smartmetertexas.com.
— Spark Energy
Good two years
I signed a contract with Spark and was satisfied. They elected not to offer power in my area so we parted ways. I signed up with them because they were one of the last companies not to charge a monthly fee but they've joined in the collusion now. They even refunded a charge for the short time I was with them after the contract expired and the switch to someone else occurred.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RA from Abilene on May 16th, 2013
The "Spark" is Gone
Concur with earlier poster about the changes Spark has made. Have been a totally satisfied customer since 2007 using the totally paperless internet plan . They had reasonable rates and no additional fee if you didn't use "enough" electricity.

That has all changed - now rates are higher than other companies and they change a whopping $8.95 if you use less than 1000kw/month.

Can't see any reason to stay with just another greedy provider.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Krancmm from Lake Jackson on November 29th, 2012
Pleased customer
I never ran into problems with this company. Cancellation went smoothly (I moved to a location where they did not service). I don't have any complaints.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jisel from Fort Worth on September 26th, 2012
Time to move on...
I have been with Spark since 2007. Flat rate, no minimum monthly fee. Then they started with the monthly $5.00 fee and I shopped around. Golly gee, everyone jumped on that bandwagon. Then they went to $8.99. That combined with the meter reading charge is around $13.00 of my current bill.

You have to watch your email VERY carefully to find a notification that your contract is set to expire.If you get one at all. Yes, I should put it on my calendar but I don't. Miss it and you automatically go to a variable month to month plan - and not one that is advertised on line - but to one that is like "You forgot to re-sign so we're charging you a 150% rate, Sucker" - and you don't realize it until you get that next bill that's already like 20 days into the NEXT cycle. Ouch.

I have found it very annoying that Spark will quote a better rate if you go into them blank. Better rates than what they offer you directly to continue service with them. This time around the rates are about 13% higher and they do NOT meet competitors prices or even try to offer an incentive to keep you. So guess what? I'm tired of shopping with my same company after 4+ years and am shopping others. I'm tired of doing this every few months. But it looks like I must because loyalty is no longer a factor in these greedy tards minds.

I have always been on their autopay plans and generally have no complaints about their service reps. Its all about the MONEY. Sound familiar, Spark? It works both ways.

I will change providers every 3 months if need be. There's plenty of 'em to go around.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Uncle Joey from Corpus Christi on May 30th, 2012
Think twice before you buy
I had service from this company for about a
year and everything was good up until 2 months
ago. Since then, I have cancelled their service
and gone with another company. It started out
great with my bill being about $40 for my first
month (I'm in an apartment). I was paying about
9.8 cents per kwh, which is good. Well 2 months
ago they knocked the rate up to 14 cents per
kwh with no explanation when asked for one. The
following month they knocked it up further to
17.8 cents per kwh. After talking to someone on
the phone, it appears that I was on a variable
rate plan and if you are on that plan, your
rate can go up at any time for any reason at
all and they dont have to let you know it
either. I immediately cancelled them. Buyer
beware.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jenna from Houston on October 18th, 2011
Used to have best price, but not any more
I've had Spark Energy for the past few years, and have no complaints. I have no idea what their customer service is like because I never had a problem that required contacting them. IMHO, the best customer service is doing the job right the first time, so the customer doesn't need service.

Having said all that, I've decided to switch this year. When I first signed up for Spark, their prices were at the low end of the spectrum, but now they're in the middle of the pack. To add insult to injury, they offered to renew my contract at a "special reduced rate" higher than what they're offering new customers.

I put together a spreadsheet and ran the numbers, and I should save about $200 over the course of the year by switching to another provider
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John from Houston on June 25th, 2011
Sad to have to leave
I have had a very good experience with Spark for several years, but noted that when my 12 month period was up (and they did notify me by email) that there was a new monthly service fee of $10 plus they had instituted the graded system. I have a pretty efficient house and rarely go over 1,000Kwh/mo. so will be penalized by higher rates/Kwh for trying to conserve energy. Too bad. Will have to look elsewhere. MR
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mart Rich from Pearland on May 4th, 2011
Great but for billing
About to complete my second 12 mo. term with Spark. I'm on the avg.
billing and email statements/charges have been like clockwork.
However, online access to statements mysteriously stopped 6/10. I
have however kept the download copy of the statement for my records.
No bill for 12/10 has been sent by email either (charge to CC occurs
the 8th of the following month). Phone contact was of no help and I've
now sent an email inquiring as to my billing status. I'm tempted to
change next month however ratings are better for this company than
those other companies which I would consider. FYI, online information
before signing up showed avg. billing availability. When I requested
same I was told that it wasn't possible though contract terms said
otherwise after three months. After pointing this out I was magically
able to avg. bill. If this is a good company I don't know that I want to
see a bad one. Never had issues with TXU, except for cost.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Teasip from Plano on January 9th, 2011
No problem so far
I lived in a house and have used Sparks
for 1 year. The account set up was a bit
messed up at first, but I was able to
cancel the duplicated account eventually.
There has not been a problem as far as
billing is concerned. I have set up
automatic pay and so far my electricity
bill has been around $60 for winter, and
no more than $130 during summer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sophia from Houston on November 23rd, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We apologize for any issues while enrolling. If there are any other issues, please contact us - https://www.sparkenergy.com/Customer-Service Otherwise, we appreciate the feedback!
— Spark Energy


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

12 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Problems Galore from the Beginning
We've been with Spark from the beginning and we have had numerous problems. For the first few years it was always administrative related...wrong address, wrong billing amount, etc. Now our problem is our contract expired the end of December and we did not renew on time. So they took our rate from 6.5cents to 16.9cents. When I called to renew for 24 months and complain about the bill, they refused to make a reasonable adjustment. They offered a $75 credit on a $565 bill. We cancelled our service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Martha Walker from Plano, TX on January 24th, 2019
Hello Ms. Walker. We hate that you had a negative experience with Spark Energy. Please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so we can take a look into your account and see how we can assist you.
— Spark Energy
Lost my deposit
These guys lost my deposit. I was told there would be a $300 deposit when I signed up so I paid it...A year later I moved and had service disconnected and according yo them I never paif a deposit but electricity was turned on anyway...please. The deposit was payed out of a direct deposit card that doesn't generate statements but I can access activities online. Luckily I still have the account and it shows sparks debit for the deposit but according to spark I must fax a statement.....I guess small claims court iy is.
.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ronnie Tucker from 77664 on September 21st, 2018
Hello Mr. Tucker. We apologize for your experience and would like to assist you with your account issues. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com with your account details so we can review? Thank you.
— Spark Energy
Save your time and money
I'm all about supporting new smaller businesses but i don't think data information is managed well here. i don't think i've had so many issues with a provider since i've been on my own.
issues since jul 2015, we are in dec 2015 as i type this out:
1. since i joined in july i was promised a 25 credit after 90 days and each time i call after this time frame, they say, i promise, the next invoice you will see it. this is with every rep i talk to. my neighbor who referred me can't get her 25 either. we still have not rec'd the credit.
2. 1st billing i got, there was a charge for underusage when clearly i was just switched over and had a shorter statement cycle - why would i be penalized? they waived it but for it to appear automatically tells me the customer setup/billing system sucks if they blanket apply to all statements regardless of when a new customer was switched over.
3. i've received messages from their IT system about how their system was down and/or there were billing errors
4. after point 2 above, i've received 2 additional statements with billing errors: one in conjunction with the above point 3 IT system issue (per rep) where they charged me a late fee when i'm on autopay? and another where they gave me a credit (not the 25) and then took it back.

save your time and money folks. they are too much of a hassle to deal with considering all the phone calls you have to make. i don't know where the issue is? the reps are nice enough and they put in the notes and all but it appears to be a system issue? i don't know. i'm tired of making notes about who i speak to and when and what they say. ridiculous.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jason H. from Richmond on December 21st, 2015
I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. We would like the opportunity to review your account and assist in the best way possible. Please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details. Thank you.
— Spark Energy
Customer Service vs Customers Serve Us
Requesting that all my billing and communications be on line through e-mail, Spark alerted me to the expiration of my term fixed contract through snail mail and it went unnoticed until months later of them overcharging me by $50 per month.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

G Wilhelm from Houston on November 11th, 2013
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the renewal notification. We are always happy to review our customers concerns and rectify them to the best of our ability. Please feel free to email me at mlopez@sparkenergy.com with your account details for further review.
— Spark Energy
"Buyer Be Ware"
Spark Energy jacked-up my rate 53% after
original 9 month term expired. Rate went from
9.5/kwh to 14.5/kwh plus Sparks added
additional fees and charges. At time of
expiration average 1 month terms were 10.3/kwh.

I would have understood a slight increase to
current month-to-month or variable rates, but
Sparks didn't do that. I was billed at the
14.5/kwh plus extra fees for over 4 months
until I recently changed to another supplier at
8.99/kwh + PUC tax, 12 month term, with NO
ADDITIONAL Fees or Charges. I had no billing
surprises with the new supplier.

Shame on me for not seeing the end of term
notice Spark Energy sent me. I feel Spark
Energy took advantage of my mistake.

Bottom line, Buyer Be Ware when dealing
with Spark Energy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Don from Houston on June 21st, 2011
THEY ARE PRETTY DECENT BUT CUSTOMER SERVICE SUXS !!! I WAS TRYNA GET IN TOUCH WITH SOMEONE AND NEVER GOT AN ANSWER JUST DANG MACHINES AND THAT MADE ME MAD !
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MAD from on May 18th, 2011
My wallet and my feelings were hurt.
My complaint with Spark is that when my contract
expired, they didn't notify before or after so i
could renew at a favorable rate and therefore my
rate skyrocketed for several months before i
noticed. They should have notified me. Because of
this I will be leaving them after my next contract
expires. My wallet and my feelings were hurt.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gordon Greenleaf from Houston Tx Usa on March 27th, 2011
Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We do send 2 emails and have a link listed on your online account within the last 60 days of your contract. We do apologize that our notifications may not have reached you. Please let us know what else we can do at customercare(at)sparkenergy.com with your account details.
— Spark Energy
Jacked Up Price
My contract expired and they made no reasonable effort to inform me that my rate would go through the roof if I didn't renew. Despite receiving emailed statements from them every month, they never put it on their bills. The only way to find out was to log into THEIR website and download a pdf file where it was written in very small print. I was paying 11 cents per kilowatt hour, the day it expired they jacked it up to over 16 cents per kilowatt hour, almost doubling my electric bill. After calling customer service, they were unwilling to make any adjustment even if I renewed my contract... so good bye. Very unethical business practices and no loyalty to their customers. Will also be filing a BBB complaint.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Gerald Skiles from Texas Usa on March 4th, 2010
Bills have never been higher
I changed from reliant so I could lock in a lower rate. I have changed to all energy saving appliances, have solar screens, tinted windows, new shutters and blinds and my bills have never been higher. I complained once. They re-read my meter and my bill dropped over $500 the next month and then went right back up. I am not sure they even check the meters. It is the middle of winter and I don't use my air and my bill has not gone down at all! Can't wait to change.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Katy Content from Spring on February 25th, 2010
My experience with Spark
I was a loyal customer with Spark for 5 plus years and my contract expired. Instead of charging my the month to month rate or any reason rate they charged me 5 cent above the going market rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous from Houston on September 10th, 2009


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

76 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Worst company ever
The title says it all. customer for 13 years and paid average 30 cent per
when I called customer service they said yes you are not on a competitive plan and said they had no idea how to help me. average summer bill was 500 for a 2000 sq ft home with new ac unit on 78. total rip off and audacious. companies like this are the reason deregulation should not be choice. 13 years of overpaying by 90% for electric
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Be Informed from Houston, TX on June 10th, 2021
We're sorry to hear that you have had this experience and we'd definitely like to review as our agents are trained to assist all customers. Please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com and include your detailed concerns along with your account information. Thank you.
— Spark Energy
Fraud
Spake energy have been taking money from my account without my knowledge. Requested to cancel the service and still sending bills for close to $500 every Month. Will see them in court.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Keshari from on February 24th, 2021
We're sorry to hear of your experience. Our Office of the President has reviewed your account and already addressed your concerns with you.
— Spark Energy
Total mess
Chaos.
Seriously advise against.
12/14 & 17 mins waiting to speak to somebody.
A case of L hand never knowing what the R hand is doing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pandulph from on May 29th, 2020
We are sorry to hear that you experienced a higher than normal wait time. We hope that your issue was resolved. If not, please don't hesitate to reach out to officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com. Thank you.
— Spark Energy
Problems with Spark
Despite signing up online and receiving an email confirmation of the rate chosen, Spark billed me at a much higher rate the first month. When I inquired, I was told the rate I selected was for new customers, not renewing customers. Why was there a difference? No answer. When it was clear I had the documentation, they refused to rebill the month, but rather credited my account a flat dollar amount for the difference. Absent a breakdown or recalculated invoice, how do I know they got it right? Two years ago, when I originally signed up for Spark, they tried a similar swithch. They tried to stick me with a higher rate that the one I signed up for online. I had to make several phone calls and emails to Spark customer service and eventually go all the way to the TX PUC to get the rate I signed up for. Bottom line, both times, Spark did honor the rate, but it shouldn't be this difficult when I had the proof in confirmation emails.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Problems With Spark from Sugar Land, TX on November 22nd, 2019
We truly apologize for your experience. Should you want to review the cost analysis of the bill credit, we'd be happy to provide. Unfortunately, we cannot re-bill an invoice that has already been generated. Also, please be aware that renewals for active Spark Energy customers must be completed by calling in or by logging into your online account on www.sparkenergy.com. Any enrollments through a third party site cannot be completed as our system would detect that you are a current customer. Nonetheless, we'd like to thank you for your feedback as it helps us make improvements to the overall customer experience.
— Spark Energy
Disappointed
Tried to pay a friends late bills because he has been in out of the hospital for the last several months. He was late on multiple bills. I was willing to pay all late fees and the reconnect fee. But they had done a "move out" on him and would not allow me to pay the back bills to get his electricity turned back on. He is currently in the hospital and they will not release him without having electricity due to his condition. The collection rep was professional and apologetic but refused to escalate to a manager to see if we could get it resolved.

Their motto "Empower What Matters" must be talking about their rules, not their corporate or community values.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Concerned Friend from Houston, TX on March 27th, 2019
We are sorry to hear of your friend's situation. Typically, when an account is closed due to a past due balance, the balance needs to be satisfied and a new enrollment will need to be submitted. If your friend is able to complete this, he can call us or submit the enrollment online. Once the service is back on and if his condition qualifies, we can also assist with ensuring he is put on a priority list in case of outages. If you have any questions or need assistance, please feel free to reach out to us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com. Thank you.
— Spark Energy
Disappointed
We've been with Spark for over 11 years.
Definitely a company to be avoided.
We have always renewed our contract on time... until last month. We were 4 days past our contract date when we first made contact with customer service. Our bill was 3X our normal bill.

First off, this was our fault. We recieved an email regarding the upcomming end of contract, and we failed to renew in time. So life happened, and our contract lapsed for 4 days in the 11 years that we've been with Spark. This 4 day lapse cost us over $300!

We called customer sevice multiple times to see if they would be willing to help us out. We were told each time that there was nothing that they would do to retain us as a customer. We have never missed or been late on a bill. We switched providers after 11 years, and they don't care.

Don't waiste your time with this company.
This appears to be a very common story on how Spark treats their customers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Tiffany from Spring, TX on September 10th, 2018
We are sorry to hear that we have lost your business. We have received your other reviews and as mentioned in our responses to the other reviews, we'd like our Office of the President to review your account to see how we can assist; can you please email them at oopcx@sparkenergy.com with your account details and concerns? Thank you.
— Spark Energy
Should have stayed with Reliant
Had spark about 2 months. I'm about a week late on one payment and they disconnected my electricity! This ridiculous s*** never happened with Reliant and I'm definitely switching back. Run far from Spark Energy cause they don't care about you or your family.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charlette from Alice, TX on March 14th, 2018
We are sorry to hear that you are considering switching away from Spark Energy. We'd like to assure you that we do care about our customers and we do provide a disconnection notice with 10 additional days to make a payment after the initial due date. If you were disconnected prior to the disconnection date on the notice, we would definitely like to investigate. Can you please email us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com? Thank you.
— Spark Energy
Over charged
I made the wrong decision to use Spark Energy as my energy provider. This company had charged me in the term of two months the total of two one year or more. They did not send me a renewal agreement and just triple the rate in the plan. Then I tried to call them and find out why of the charge and they gave me a non-sense answer. In one month my bill went from $45.00 to $885.97, so please be careful with what energy provider you pick. This company its obviously not honest and just after stealing from its clients.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Over Price-stealing To It's Customer Be Aware Of This Company When Looking For Supplier. from Houston, TX on October 10th, 2017
Good Afternoon,First, we would like to sincerely apologize for the delay in response to your review. Second, we would like the opportunity to review your account to investigate what transpired and follow up with you accordingly. Would you be able to email us directly at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so that we can review your account? We sincerely hope to hear from you soon.
— Spark Energy
HUGE SCAM RUN DON'T WALK AWAY FROM SPARK
I made the foolish mistake of answering a phone call from this company, they promised me a lower rate so I said ok and gave all my info. Fast forward one month and I don't get my normal bill of $150, I get a bill of $450. Immediately called my former provider here in pennsylvania PP&L. They looked into my bill and said I was given the low rate fir one day then SPARK tripled my rate. I immediately went back with PP&L and everything is getting back to normal.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dee from Stroudsburg, PA on October 6th, 2017
Good Afternoon Dee,Thank you for your review. We are so sorry it has taken us so long to reply. What you have described regarding your billing concerns is definitely alarming and we would like the opportunity to further investigate. Would you please email us directly at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so that we can review your account? Thank you so much.
— Spark Energy
Spark energy rips off customers
I've been a customer of Spark Energy for 4 years. This kind of bad experience happened to me twice. Spark Energy automatically switched my plan to the most expensive one at the end of my long-term contract and charged me more than $800 in the last three months.

Recommend everyone to avoid this greedy company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Xiaomin from Katy, TX on August 27th, 2017
Good Afternoon Xiaomin,Thank you for your review as well as your long-standing loyalty with Spark Energy. I would like to apologize for the delay in response to your review. Would you be able to email us directly at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com with your account details so that we can investigate what took place in your account? We would like to follow up with you. Thank you so much.
— Spark Energy


All Spark Energy Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
Choice 15
Info
Best Overall Value
15 month
Fixed Rate
11.7¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$117 est. avg. bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • Best 24 Month Value
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $119 est. avg. bill
  • 24 Month Locked-in price
  • Steady Rate regardless of usage
  • Great overall plan
  • Best Green Plan
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $121 est. avg. bill
  • Super Low Summer Rate!
  • 100% Renewable Energy!
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $123 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $125 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $115 est. avg. bill
  • Best for Small Homes
  • $60 Bill Credit for Usage over 999
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $121 est. avg. bill
  • Super Low Summer Rate!
  • 12 Months of Bill Security
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    12.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    23.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $235 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    32.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $320 est. avg. bill