Thorough and Helpful!

(4.2 / 5)

  I just spoke with BB in customer service and she was so helpful. My mother in law passed away recently and I was making sure her account continued to stay paid until the property was sold. BB walked me through all of the areas making sure that everything was updated including e-mail, phone notifications, etc. I probably would not have remembered to update all of the information. It was so helpful for her to prompt me on each of the areas. Thank you BB and thank you Spark Energy!

Sheri from 77070
February 25th, 2019

Please accept our condolences on the passing of your mother. We are glad to hear that BB assisted you with ensuring everything is in order as we can understand it is a difficult situation.

Spark Energy Responds March 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Spark Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.4 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.4 of 5.

Spark Energy Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 2.9 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.

125 Reviews for Spark Energy


Great Company

(4.2 / 5)

  I've been with Spark Energy for 8 years and have been very satisfied. Not big on the auto pay, but I never missed a payment. Price is mid-range and I've had good experiences with customer service.

Dave from DeSoto
September 13th, 2014

We are so happy to hear that you are not only satisfied with the Spark Energy service but that you are also a valued customer with tenure. Thank you for entrusting us with your supplier needs. We look forward to many years of continued business with you.

Spark Energy Responds November 24th, 2014
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good service - check prices

(4.2 / 5)

  I've had two separate contracts with Spark and find they deliver what they contract to. Never a bad billing, but you must deal online and by credit card, unless you have an occasional question via phone. Don't believe the price hype on how low they are without comparing. I quit them once and am about to do so again.

Larry Lineberger
June 8th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

never had a problem

(4.1 / 5)

  i have been with spark for the past year or more im very pleased with my service, ever since the 1 day i was able to compare to my 1st bill and was able to see the discuont so iv'e had them ever since

gerg from Chicago
March 15th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

never had a problem

(4.1 / 5)

  i have been with spark for the past year or more im very pleased with my service, ever since the 1 day i was able to compare to my 1st bill and was able to see the discuont so iv'e had them ever since

gerg from Chicago
March 15th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Convinent but not the best price

(4.1 / 5)

  No issues for 2 years. They charged my credit card once a month and sent me email statements about my bill. The web site was also well done and provided me all of the information that I needed. I would continue using them but they no longer have the best price.

blb from Houston
September 12th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

not sure if I should keep them

(4 / 5)

  I have had spark for 2 years. I noticed if I renew that I have to pay $8.99 a month when I use less than 1000 kw. This would be 9 months out of the year. Why should I be penalized when I don't hog electricity and keep my house freezing, etc. Not sure who to switch to since I had no problem with their billing or service.

Anonymous
August 5th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shopping for Energy

(4 / 5)

  I came on here to look at reviews from real people about different energy companies. I have been with Spark for over a year. I've never had a problem with them, their service, or billing and they sent me a notice to renew my contract with them recently at an even better rate. I am moving into a new home and wanted to weigh all my options before going with Spark again. I would stay with them, but they have recently added a $8.99 monthly service charge if you don't use 1000kwh that month. I looked at last year's bill and I only go over that amount in the 2 hottest summer months. They said the other companies are charging this too, but I have yet to find it true. A few charge a $5 or $6 fee if you don't go over 500kwh, but not $9 for staying under 1000. I'm still on the fence because Spark does have good customer service and I've never had a problem until this little extra fee popped up. I don't think we should be punished for using LESS energy.

Energy Shopper from Houston
April 11th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy Was Never a Problem

(4 / 5)

  Although we have not had Spark Energy for the past 2 years because we switched provider with a lower rate. We were with them for 2 yrs. prior and never had a problem with receiving billing statements via mail at the time and the bill was paid via auto-pay. Switching to Spark Energy was not a problem either. We were very pleased with them when we parted. I would recommend Spark Energy, my son is still with them, and I referred him 4 years ago! Everyone, including businesses are prone to hardships in this economy. *A note to Spark Energy, there are way too many thumbs down for your company regarding customer service and billing departments. 1st impressions are everything. The "reception" I first receive when I call any office with a problem or question will define whether or not to continue doing business. Make the changes that are needed to give the customers the courtesy and professionalism that is expected and win back past customers and help to retain the one's you already have!

bamm from Katy
February 1st, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good experience for a first time customer

(4 / 5)

  We are nearing the end of our first 12 months with Spark. The rates were good and we have had no issues with billing. The website is easy to navigate.

Paul from Sugar Land
January 1st, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Jim Simon

(4 / 5)

  Have had no problems. Easy access to my account.
Prices are very comparable.

Jim simon from Tyler
September 11th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good two years

(3.8 / 5)

  I signed a contract with Spark and was satisfied. They elected not to offer power in my area so we parted ways. I signed up with them because they were one of the last companies not to charge a monthly fee but they've joined in the collusion now. They even refunded a charge for the short time I was with them after the contract expired and the switch to someone else occurred.

RA from Abilene
May 16th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No problem so far

(3.8 / 5)

  I lived in a house and have used Sparks
for 1 year. The account set up was a bit
messed up at first, but I was able to
cancel the duplicated account eventually.
There has not been a problem as far as
billing is concerned. I have set up
automatic pay and so far my electricity
bill has been around $60 for winter, and
no more than $130 during summer.

Sophia from Houston
November 23rd, 2010

Thank you for your comments. We apologize for any issues while enrolling. If there are any other issues, please contact us - https://www.sparkenergy.com/Customer-Service Otherwise, we appreciate the feedback!

Spark Energy Responds February 28th, 2011
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What happened to the low rate?

(3.7 / 5)

  Spark is fine, has a fully functioning website (ie account details, history etc.), accepts AX, had the lowest rate for a company I thought would remain in business, but when second contract with them came for renewal they where significantly higher than competition, so had to bail.

Anonymous
January 10th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pleased customer

(3.6 / 5)

  I never ran into problems with this company. Cancellation went smoothly (I moved to a location where they did not service). I don't have any complaints.

Jisel from Fort Worth
September 26th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Used to have best price, but not any more

(3.4 / 5)

  I've had Spark Energy for the past few years, and have no complaints. I have no idea what their customer service is like because I never had a problem that required contacting them. IMHO, the best customer service is doing the job right the first time, so the customer doesn't need service.

Having said all that, I've decided to switch this year. When I first signed up for Spark, their prices were at the low end of the spectrum, but now they're in the middle of the pack. To add insult to injury, they offered to renew my contract at a "special reduced rate" higher than what they're offering new customers.

I put together a spreadsheet and ran the numbers, and I should save about $200 over the course of the year by switching to another provider

John from Houston
June 25th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great but for billing

(3.3 / 5)

  About to complete my second 12 mo. term with Spark. I'm on the avg.
billing and email statements/charges have been like clockwork.
However, online access to statements mysteriously stopped 6/10. I
have however kept the download copy of the statement for my records.
No bill for 12/10 has been sent by email either (charge to CC occurs
the 8th of the following month). Phone contact was of no help and I've
now sent an email inquiring as to my billing status. I'm tempted to
change next month however ratings are better for this company than
those other companies which I would consider. FYI, online information
before signing up showed avg. billing availability. When I requested
same I was told that it wasn't possible though contract terms said
otherwise after three months. After pointing this out I was magically
able to avg. bill. If this is a good company I don't know that I want to
see a bad one. Never had issues with TXU, except for cost.

Teasip from Plano
January 9th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The "Spark" is Gone

(3.2 / 5)

  Concur with earlier poster about the changes Spark has made. Have been a totally satisfied customer since 2007 using the totally paperless internet plan . They had reasonable rates and no additional fee if you didn't use "enough" electricity.

That has all changed - now rates are higher than other companies and they change a whopping $8.95 if you use less than 1000kw/month.

Can't see any reason to stay with just another greedy provider.

krancmm from Lake Jackson
November 29th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

good service, good price

(3.1 / 5)

  I have been with them for 2 years with no problems

Robert from Corpus Christi
August 7th, 2010

Thank you for your positive feedback it is much appreciated.

Spark Energy Responds August 24th, 2010
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Time to move on...

(3 / 5)

  I have been with Spark since 2007. Flat rate, no minimum monthly fee. Then they started with the monthly $5.00 fee and I shopped around. Golly gee, everyone jumped on that bandwagon. Then they went to $8.99. That combined with the meter reading charge is around $13.00 of my current bill.

You have to watch your email VERY carefully to find a notification that your contract is set to expire.If you get one at all. Yes, I should put it on my calendar but I don't. Miss it and you automatically go to a variable month to month plan - and not one that is advertised on line - but to one that is like "You forgot to re-sign so we're charging you a 150% rate, Sucker" - and you don't realize it until you get that next bill that's already like 20 days into the NEXT cycle. Ouch.

I have found it very annoying that Spark will quote a better rate if you go into them blank. Better rates than what they offer you directly to continue service with them. This time around the rates are about 13% higher and they do NOT meet competitors prices or even try to offer an incentive to keep you. So guess what? I'm tired of shopping with my same company after 4+ years and am shopping others. I'm tired of doing this every few months. But it looks like I must because loyalty is no longer a factor in these greedy tards minds.

I have always been on their autopay plans and generally have no complaints about their service reps. Its all about the MONEY. Sound familiar, Spark? It works both ways.

I will change providers every 3 months if need be. There's plenty of 'em to go around.

Uncle Joey from Corpus Christi
May 30th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Think twice before you buy

(3 / 5)

  I had service from this company for about a
year and everything was good up until 2 months
ago. Since then, I have cancelled their service
and gone with another company. It started out
great with my bill being about $40 for my first
month (I'm in an apartment). I was paying about
9.8 cents per kwh, which is good. Well 2 months
ago they knocked the rate up to 14 cents per
kwh with no explanation when asked for one. The
following month they knocked it up further to
17.8 cents per kwh. After talking to someone on
the phone, it appears that I was on a variable
rate plan and if you are on that plan, your
rate can go up at any time for any reason at
all and they dont have to let you know it
either. I immediately cancelled them. Buyer
beware.

Jenna from Houston
October 18th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...