Electric Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
15 Month Fixed Rate
15 month
Fixed Rate
12.7¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$127 est. avg. bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    10.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $154 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $123 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $133 est. avg. bill
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $143 est. avg. bill
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $109 est. avg. bill
  • Low Average Bill
  • Donates to Charity
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $130 est. avg. bill
  • 100% Solar Energy
  • Reduce your Carbon footprint
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $140 est. avg. bill
  • Great for high-usage months
  • Save money this summer
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $132 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $120 est. avg. bill
    Popular Plan
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $135 est. avg. bill
  • Big Time Bill Credit
  • No Monthly Base Charge
  • 12 months of bill stability
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $144 est. avg. bill
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $129 est. avg. bill
  • 24 month fixed rate plan
  • No base charge, no minimum usage fees
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    9.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $114 est. avg. bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    11.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $29 min balance
  • Prepaid - No Deposit EVER
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $117 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $129 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    10.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $134 est. avg. bill
  • Low rate!
  • Well known brand.
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $122 est. avg. bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $135 est. avg. bill
  • Great Plan for Medium Homes
  • $95 Bill Credit at 1k usage
  • 1 year of bill security
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    8.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $120 est. avg. bill
  • Tiered Rate Plan
  • 12 Month Contract
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    8.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $133 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    8.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $138 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    8.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $138 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $129 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
  • 100% renewable
  • Includes FREE Energy Savings Kit!
  • Super low green rate
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $142 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $119 est. avg. bill
  • 3 Year Price Protection
  • Stable, predictable rate
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $121 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $121 est. avg. bill
    Popular Long Term Plan
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $127 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $127 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $127 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $122 est. avg. bill
  • Two Year Price Protection
  • All Around Great Value
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $142 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $142 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $130 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • No minimum usage charges
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $113 est. avg. bill
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • 36 Month Flat Rate
    36 month
    Flat Rate
    22.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $220 est. avg. bill
    Best 24 Month Plan
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
  • 24 Month Locked-in price
  • Steady Rate regardless of usage
  • Great overall plan
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $133 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $133 est. avg. bill
  • 100% Renewable Energy
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $125 est. avg. bill
    Best Green Plan
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
  • Super Low Summer Rate!
  • 100% Renewable Energy!
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $132 est. avg. bill
    Best No Contract Plan
    1 month
    Variable Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $142 est. avg. bill
  • No Contract
  • Variable Rate
  • Low Credit
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $142 est. avg. bill
  • Bill Credits cut your bill in summer months
  • Enjoy smaller bills in summer
  • 12 Month Price Protection
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $152 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $138 est. avg. bill
  • No Minimum Usage Charge!
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • Bill Credits at 1k and 2k usage!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $135 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Flat Rate
    24 month
    Flat Rate
    21.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $218 est. avg. bill
    Prepaid - No Deposit
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    20.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $151 est. avg. bill
  • No Energy Charge on weekends!
  • No Delivery Charges on weekends!
  • Weekends start Friday @ 8:00 PM!
  • No Pricing Gimmicks
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $127 est. avg. bill
  • No Pricing Gimmicks
  • Great for any size home
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $157 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $142 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $132 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $152 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $137 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $141 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    15.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $132 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $155 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $157 est. avg. bill
  • Solar Days: 5:00 a.m. through 7:59 p.m. each day
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    15.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $150 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $139 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $129 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    21.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $216 est. avg. bill
    6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
  • Beat the summer heat!
  • Steady, predictable rate
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $139 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $141 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    15.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $151 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $147 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $135 est. avg. bill
  • Popular Plan!
  • 12 months bill security
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    16.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $163 est. avg. bill

    The best review categories for StarTex Power are their plans and pricing, with an average of 3.0 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 3.0 stars.

    Recent Good Review from Olga Ferrer y Salvador Coscarart

    Residencial customer
    So so far everything has gone very well
    My only complaint is that you change the name of billing payment and you changed the payment due date without notice and pay interest for it.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Olga Ferrer Y Salvador Coscarart from Katy, TX on December 3rd, 2018


    Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

    56 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 5 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Residencial customer
    So so far everything has gone very well
    My only complaint is that you change the name of billing payment and you changed the payment due date without notice and pay interest for it.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Olga Ferrer Y Salvador Coscarart from Katy, TX on December 3rd, 2018
    Greatness
    Great company
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dgpaco from Fort Worth, TX on October 11th, 2018
    Pleased with service
    Very pleased with service provider.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mas from Houston, TX on May 29th, 2018
    We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!
    — StarTex Power
    Electric provider
    Lowest rates ever!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Joe from Houston, TX on May 22nd, 2018
    Great Company
    I switch to Startex from my previous elect supplier and have had no problems! Everything went very smooth. No regrets.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Lefty45 from Cleburne, TX on April 25th, 2018
    Best electric company
    This company is awesome. Great rates amazing customer service reps! Hassle free! I love this company
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Angel from Copperas Cove, TX on March 28th, 2018
    Star Tex Power - The Best Electricity Provider
    Startex power has been the best electricity provider I ever had so far. The order experience was so quick and fuss free thus, I was stress free. The plan I chose was so energy/cost efficient that I have no complaints with the billing. For the first time, I feel that I am being billed accurately and honestly. I am more than satisfied with Star Tex Power. Two thumbs up! Excellent!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Gina from Stafford, TX on March 16th, 2018
    Excellent
    Startex energy is one of the best company
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Martin from Missouri City, TX on March 14th, 2018
    Renew what to do
    We have had excellence service with star yes, no complaints but we just got a letter saying its time to renew. The new plan jumps up 3/kwh.... wondering what to do
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jesse from Eagle Lake, TX on August 10th, 2017
    Pretty much like every other company we've used...
    In my experience, 99% of these companies are the same. All have their share of negative/positive/neutral reviews. Startex has been absolutely fine for us. No complaints. No billing surprises. No surprises in general. My opinion - go with whoever offers you the best rate and is reputable.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Steep from Allen on August 13th, 2016


    Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

    90 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 4 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Star power review
    Not much to say
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Rebecca from Lindale, TX on July 12th, 2018
    We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!
    — StarTex Power
    StarTex Power
    We needed a short-term plan and the 6 month service was perfect.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    BamaGirlOnTheMove from Fort Worth, TX on April 15th, 2018
    Unable to change plan
    Historically happy StarTex Power customer, but received current bill. Last month we went over in usuage: 5297 kWh. Last year we only went above 2000 twice. Bill was very high. Called hoping something could be worked out, I even asked for any suggestions. Only suggestion was watch a tape on how to use electricity, ouch! Looks like I will have to change companies to save money. I wish they could have offered something.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Michael C from Fort Worth, TX on January 15th, 2018
    Service Review
    I have been very happy with StarTex Power and will continue to use as long as rates are similar to others.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    LTC from Katy, TX on December 3rd, 2017
    Reasonable rates, they keep the power on
    Have been a customer 7yrs. They gave us a great rate to start with and then it went up a little bit, but nothing shocking. Even during exceptionally hot Texas summers the bill never "broke the bank." Only gripe is going round and round on the phone with customer service with their long winded questions when trying to pay my bill. Just let me give you money already, bye. They did transfer power quickly when we moved. Our experience with Star Tex has been very fair. Would recommend.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dan from Katy, TX on April 10th, 2017
    Irritated by renewal by phone just to be "sold" things
    When I bought my home in 2006, I was one of their first customers ever. I've stayed with them since then and always automatically renewed via online. I have automated pay and so never have I had to call anyone to renew my service each year (or 24 months). Suddenly out of nowhere I am told that I have to call to get the lowest rate. I called, which was irritating on its own since this has never happened in 10 years. I was given a lower rate, which was good and felt like the company was just trying to find out who were their most loyal customers. Then the renewal call turned into a sales push to get me to change my A/C guy! WHAT? I finally had to tell the rep to just stop it. I was not changing my A/C guy! Then, I had to answer all these approval questions. So they tried to sell me before they registered me. Not good. Then I had to be told about a referral code and all these benefits to getting people to switch to them. THEN, the rep wanted me have the referrals call him directly. At that time, my dog began barking because an AT&T guy came to my door so I was able to get off the phone. Entire time 15 minutes! I don't appreciate all that. I felt I was being baited, pressured, switched and victim of a sales call.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    LMB from Houston on July 28th, 2016
    Happy Customer
    Startex power was great. I used them last few years and ended 12/2015. I rated them 4 lamps because I was billed an early termination fee that was supposed to be waived since I moved. I spoke to 3 different Customer service reps about it and I was told all was good every time until the next rep would call to get a $49.50 payment. I just received a call from a collections agency, claiming I owed the $49.50 again and told her the story. She told me to email her the Info. I called Startex Power, spoke to another kind service rep,( they have all been kind and helpful), told him what was going on, like so many times before and he said he sees all the notes but that the cancel refill had not ever been filed. He was doing it now and they actually owe me 50 cents since I over paid my last bill. So they were a good company I used for years until I moved in with my fianc. I would still use them but he has a contract With another provider.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Teri from League City on July 12th, 2016
    No issues, Good Service
    All customers should pay attention to their contract. Like others, we forgot when ours ran out and our rate sky rocketed. This was our fault, though, but they fixed it and applied the new rate while also reimbursing the high rate. All you have to do is talk to someone like a person, not your enemy. I cannot give them a bad review.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    JDK from Kempner on November 18th, 2015
    Very helpful
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jo Bryant from Arlington on October 12th, 2015
    Quick and Easy
    Was able to setup service with Star Tex very easily. No issues signing up, and service getting turned on. Using paperless and automated billing. The lowest rates I was able to find.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    M Bahar from Houston on June 17th, 2015


    Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

    29 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 3 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Good
    Good energy rating price
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Lee from Killeen, TX on May 26th, 2018
    We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Constellation, its been our pleasure!
    — StarTex Power
    So-so
    I am not impressed yet.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Bob from Bedford, TX on March 6th, 2018
    Billing System needs fixing
    Their system said I was signed up for Auto Pay but I received a past due notice. I then was told to set it again since their system had some old information on my account from a previous time with them. I reset it again and the same thing happened again the next month. I decided to do it over the phone with an associate.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    PS from Missouri City, TX on December 2nd, 2017
    Can't handle the aggravation
    Good price, good service. BUT - can't seem to make the website work consistently. Every couple of months, it suddenly doesn't recognize me as a registered account holder. Wait on hold, cust svc can't figure out why. Gotta do registration procedure all over again. Works a couple of times, then ditto. NOW had to go out of town over holiday, can't log in, getting recorded msgs bill is due, no one in office because of holiday.

    Can't handle the aggravation for the few dollars saves us.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Sharon T from Corpus Christi, TX on November 23rd, 2017
    Two bills in one month
    Paid my August bill and then 10 days later got another August bill. I called Texas direct and was told that I didn't have account with them anymore and they wonder if I had even electricity anymore. CRAZY!! I been with Startex for more than two and a half years. Even got a new one year plan now. Had to call 3 times to get straightened up with a specialist . Was told my service was stopped by computer mistakes and it would take more than 2 weeks to correct. CRAZY!! Still waiting on my September bill. Hope I don't get some crazy amount. I've always paid my bills before they are due when they arrived in the mail.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Bobby Blackman from Stafford, TX on September 6th, 2017
    One the fence
    I've been a Startex customer for several years now, Last year I willing signed up for another 12 months. I knew it wasn't the lowest rate on the market but all my hassle free experience with them I felt a couple of cents for less hassle was worth it. At least much better than a former company known by me as Second to last Choice (First Choice) but... Since being bought out by Constellation it seems this luxury will cost me more. or will it? Startex give me a reason why I should stay? Last year your company allowed a digit drop. This year I waited to see this offer and....nothing, well except much higher prices. I will be calling to see if you can offer something to keep a customer. If not I guess you will leave me no choice but to jump the fence and swim with the sharks again. Wish me luck.I got my lube and a speedo just in case.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    DH from Lewisville on February 17th, 2014
    Changing for the worse!
    First let me say the responses from Startex seem like corporate doubletalk. After some people contacted CS 3 times with an issue Startex says to write them, Really? I have been a customer over seven years but if the Min usage charge changes to 9.99 for <1000 then you will lose me also.
    It is very sad to see this former great company push away loyal customers and not give personal helpful replies here. -1
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Robert Smith from Austin on December 20th, 2013
    Minimum Usage Fee increase
    I was a customer before they were bought by Constellation Energy. I called them shortly afterwards and told them I would give them a chance. One of the deciding factors in choosing them in the first place was the minimum usage fee. I use below 500 kWh one month a year (maybe) and in the past 12 months I have used below 1000 kWh 9 months. With the new minimum usage fee increase and not offering anything below a 12 month plan. I will be paying an extra $90 a year. I have decided to fire StarTex and switched providers. They were charging $4.99 as a minimum usage fee below 500 kWh. Now they are charging $9.95 for a minimum usage fee below 999 kWh. I did call customer service to see if there was anything they could do, since I had been a customer for over 3 years. I was told they have had meetings and was nothing they could do about waiving this fee or modifying it.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    R. L. Allen from Sachse on July 1st, 2013
    StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as we take Customer Service and any claims of customer concerns very seriously. We investigated this situation, and are attempting to contact Mrs. R. L. Sachse to discuss this issue.
    — StarTex Power
    Pricing seems less competitive after Constellation acquired StarTex
    Pricing seems less competitive after Constellation acquired StarTex. After several years with StarTex we have switched to another provider for a lower rate on this renewal. StarTex changing the minimum usage fee from $4.99 for less than 500 kwh to $9.99 for less than 1000 kwh was yet another reason to switch. During the months between A/C and heat we use less than 1000 and more than 500 kwh and it's an insult to be gouged. The folks from Maryland can go back from whence they came. And shame on the Texans (if there actually were any to begin with) for selling out! I guess the founders made their money and ran.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Roscoe from Richardson on June 25th, 2013
    Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate your concerns described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.
    — StarTex Power
    REnewed many times but.......conflicted
    I am a long time Customer of Startex and I am so very conflicted because I had this service at two residences. Before the merger they were so superb. I referred friends to this company. Since Oct 2010, I have not been totally happy but tolerant of the services. . It is time to review and renew my services again and. I am leaning to shopping around. My rates end on 060213 and I have spoke to the customer service but. I wasn't happy with the response. Two years ago I was over charged with the smart meter installed on the new home I bought. HOHUM HOHUM, It was only me in the home at the time. I don't think I would recommend I only had one lost check, My mother was mad about it. Still conflicted.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Chris from Cedar Hill on May 26th, 2013
    Thank you for your feedback; StarTex Power is more than happy to investigate your concerns described in your review, as our customers are our #1 Priority. Please email us at Service@StarTexPower.com, with your account details, StarTex Power would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns.
    — StarTex Power


    Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

    49 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 2 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Order Expeerience
    I use an energy consultant and asked for a specific plan. The first operator terminated my call since there was more than one person on the line after I would not agree to the upsell. The second operator continued the upsell efforts and the sign up was very unpleasant.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    JLH from Houston, TX on January 2nd, 2018
    Late Payment for Nov. 2017
    Hello,
    I am the current customer but very disappointed with how your company handle the paymentS, especially for Nov. 2017. I received a Disconnect Notice due to late payment for Nov.2017. Well, my bank account indicated that payment of $70.09 was withdrawn by Startex Power on 12Dec2017. I called Starxtex Customer service to explain today 12/22 and was told that still the amount has not been received. Startex requested me to send in the proof of payment and I did. I am very upset and definitely dont want to waist my time to help resolve your internal issues. Please do something to improve your service next time.

    Tony Phan
    Account no: 892512404
    Service address: 14223 Prospect Point Dr.
    Cypress, TX 77429
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    TONY PHAN from Cypress, TX on December 22nd, 2017
    Crappy Information from Customer Service
    I was charged almost an additional 11 days of service, without my knowledge, for power I never used. In fact it was power the next tenant was using on a higher premium rate! The information I received from the company when setting up my power was false, leading to overcharging and a complete lack of carrying from the customer service personnel. The customer service representative argued that I had never even called in, essentially calling me a liar. I am extremely displeased with the service I received from StarTex.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mercedes from Dallas, TX on September 5th, 2017
    Fine if you don't leave
    Would not use again. Price to leave is $78 even when your contact is over. Got a great electricity rate so I chose this company over bigger names but when it was time to renew the offer they made was no longer competitive so I switched.

    Turns out an "Oncor Electric Company Surcharges Approved" showed up on my last invoice, even though I was out of contract. The price to switch electric companies varies and in my opinion, anything over $20 is way too much, especially for something automated. Exact actual price to end service is not disclosed in terms of service, only a mention that a fee may be changed.

    Also had some billing problems - signed up for auto-pay but didn't charge my card for some reason one month (even though they had the 4 months prior) then called to say my bill was overdue, and I had to go online and pay again. Later appologized via automated email.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Amanda from Mckinney, TX on August 18th, 2017
    Beware of Deceptive Practice
    Three complaints/observations: 1) Despite having signed up for autopay, I received a disconnection notice and a late charge. Had to contact their billing office to resolve. 2) All communications from StarTex had been via email - except the contract expiration/renewal notice - which StarTex claim they sent me more than 30 days before my contract expired. I never received it, and StarTex refuses - or can't - prove that they mailed it. Why didn't they send me the expiration notice by email? In my opinion it's StarTex' standard practice to entrap customers into paying more. After the contract expired, StarTex more than doubled my rate, so I promptly cancelled. Conversations with customer service or Rosa in the compliance department went nowhere, only in circles. 3) The promotion rate was attractive, but the renewal offer not competitive. To me, StarTex is good only for one contract term, if even that.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Bglhntr from Houston, TX on July 9th, 2017
    Electric was fine customer service is useless
    I tried to pay a bill and it kept declining payment because the zip code on the account was wrong. I contacted them three times with no correction. I used the chat system and it took 10 ten minutes just to get through account verification. TEN FULL MINUTES to ask me my name, my social, the address and my email to change the damn zip code and pay a bill.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    They Can Take A Hike from on January 11th, 2017
    Don't do autopay!
    I made the mistake of putting the bill on autopay. The month before my credit card expired, I received my new credit card and changed it online for the autopay. I kept getting all these notices stating that my credit card on autopay was expiring. I knew I'd changed it, so I go look. Yep, right expiration. Still get notices. Now I'm thinking, notices are wack! Some sort of error? Still, I'm worried, cause I don't want to be late so I keep an eye on it. I log in the day it's due and look. Doesn't show a payment, but I figure, it will the next day cause it probably process at night. The following day, still shows no payment. Again double check autopay credit card on file. Shows the correct information. Send an email to company asking about what the issue is. Three days later get an email stating the old credit card date on file, but if I've changed it, not to worry. So I don't. Keep getting emails and text messages. Even though I see the correct date, I change it again. Three days after I've changed it the second time, I get a notice they are going to disconnect. I contact them and they say they see I just changed the date three days earlier and therefore, it was out of date when it processed. They want me to pay right then and there. No thanks. I don't trust these people. When I finally get a second supervisor I'm told that the credit card information has to be changed on both the auto pay area and the regular payment area?????? Sure. Right. If that were the case, then why does it have a notice, to change credit card date for auto pay, as a link that takes me to the one place to change it. Also, why would I need to have it in two places. Sounds like excuses for a poorly designed system and scapegoating customers for their issues.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Pissed Off At The Ineptness Of This Company from on November 22nd, 2016
    Great Rates, HORRIBLE service
    Tried to get on their plan, as I have been using electric carriers in my name for 30 years with various companies and PERFECT credit. Never needed a deposit. Startex is trying to get me to deposit $350 (even pushing it on me). I put a security on my credit report to be notified if anyone looks at it. This requires them to get the name of a person at the credit bureau who calls me to get my permission, then I call the creditor to proceed with a credit check, or the credit bureau can call them; either way. This is what all companies have been doing. StarTex CS has no idea what to do, clearly stated that in our conversation, while I explained and said get your supervisor. He announced that his super was on the phone listening. Then the CS wants me to call the credit bureau because he doesn't know what to do but use another phone to call Credit Bureau, then tell them it's ok. I say, that's not how it works for me since I don't have another phone and no clue who to call back on a random call center. The dude says, "I am the best source for knowledge here". At which point I proceeded to say with authority, "You ARE NOT the best source of knowledge or you would KNOW what to do here and clearly you don't". I hung up when he kept insisting he was the best source. Delusional. And his super never stepped up to stop him. I guess he agrees and supports his stupid CS.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Laurie from Laurie on August 2nd, 2016
    Not Happy
    This company is terrible once you go out of your contract, more than doubled my rate unless I signed for a 12 month contract at not such a good rate. I had automatic billing and I still received a late payment notice and notice that my electricity would be turned off followed by another bill a couple of days later telling me not to pay this account, very confusing and caused extra clutter in my life. You would think they would reward you for faithful service after your first contract, but no, they will stick it to their faithful customers. Will not be back again, too many other choices out there. Customer service cordial, but cold and unsympathetic.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Peter from Arlington on November 17th, 2015
    Auto Pay Problem
    I went with Startex because they had a great rate. This was my second to use them. I received my first bill and in Large Bold Red Letters it said "Do not pay, payment will be made electronically." I checked their website which confirmed that I was set up on auto pay. I get the second bill, it shows a past due balance and a late penalty fee. Again, it had the bold red statement saying "do not pay". I called the company for an explanation, after long hold time, it turned out I wasn't set up on auto pay. They said that possibly because I was a previous customer and was previously on auto pay, generated that notation. I said fine, please remove the fee and lets get me set up on auto pay. Gave my credit card info, etc. Was put on hold again. Then the very same customer service rep that I had been speaking with for over 45 minutes came back informed me that I had a past due balance and asked if I would like to go ahead and take care of that now before a disconnect notice was sent out! I was so shocked! I said, "Seriously? This is John, correct? The same guy I've been talking to for the last 45 minutes trying to get a billing error taken care of!". He said yes mam, then repeated that I had a past due balance and that I would soon be receiving a disconnect notice if I didn't take care of it! I told him that I was done with him and asked to speak to a supervisor. After another long hold time, the supervisor came on and defended John's statement saying that he was just trying to help me out! I had to give my credit card info to her to pay my "past due" balance. I'm so thankful that it was only a 3 month contract! I don't have time for this nonsense!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Janette from North Richland Hills on June 11th, 2015


    Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

    137 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 1 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    If I could give zero stars, I would...
    This company CONSTANTLY shuts off my familys power with no explaination. My bills are PAYED. They are ALWAYS payed and this has happened 3 times this year, only this time the customer service rep told us our power would be on my 8 pm and if not, to call back... Well it is 11 pm and our power is still not on, and we have gotten the run around by every single person we have come into contact with. The power has been off since noon. So DONE with this company! Its 40 degrees out and my 5 year old is freezing and will more than likely wake up sick. We probably all will. I have hundreds of dollars worth of groceries that I bought last night. All will definitely be spoiled by the time the power comes back on. No telling when that will be. This company needs to get its act together. Im paying for a service and need to be provided with that service.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Angry from Grapevine, TX on October 16th, 2018
    Disconnected without notice
    Came home to find my power turned off for $74.00. Ironically it was a March bill and all my other bills processed on auto pay. No notice of disconnect. No late payment notice, absolutely nothing. Worst service ever!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Tammy from Round Rock, TX on May 23rd, 2018
    We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused. We would love to hear more about your experience and solve the issue. Give us a call at 1-866-917-8271
    — StarTex Power
    $350 Security Deposit is a scam on the 3 month fixed plan April 2018
    Star Tex wanted a $350 Security Deposit on the 3 month fixed plan even though I have an above 800 credit score. I called and spoke with Constance. She told me that if I signed a 12 month contract, that I would get my $350 security deposit refunded at the end of 12 months if all payments were made on time. I asked her about the 3 month fixed rate plan that I was signing up for, and she told me that they would NOT return my security deposit at the end of the 3 month plan. THEY WOULD KEEP MY $350 SECURITY DEPOSIT EVEN IF I MADE MY PAYMENTS ON TIME.
    BAIT AND SWITCH ALL DAY LONG.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Lindsey from Dallas, TX on April 18th, 2018
    Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the confusion. All deposits are returned if payments are made. We will coach our Customer Care Team to ensure consistent understanding and communication of the deposit process. If you are still interested in our offers, please give us a call at 1-866-917-8271, and we can discuss your options.
    — StarTex Power
    No not keep deal/promos
    Found cheaper plan, they would not offer same plan after contact up,so on last bill i did not get my usage credit, then they want to why i am leaving to another provider!!! i pay my bill on time and this is the way they treat you!!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Sorry Co.. from Edinburg, TX on March 26th, 2018
    Still billing me at my old address after I moved
    After I moved, they continued to bill me at my old address. I transferred service to my new residence and disconnected at the house I sold. Somehow a new account number was created in my name that I could no see when I logged into my account. They billed me for 3 months of power usage for the house I sold. Called them and they will not come off wanting to be paid. Goodbye Startex - was a customer for 9 years. Thieves they are
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Sven from Houston, TX on January 30th, 2018
    Third party administrator claiming to be Oncor
    I've had several people with StarTex come to my door. Last month a young man came and stated he was with Oncor and after talking to him a bit he turns his clipboard over and it states StarTex. When I called him on it he denied everything and I had to tell him twice to leave. Today I had another gentleman show up and I told him I had already spoken to someone and he pushed the matter and when I told him about the incident last month he was not surprised.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Will Lie To Sell A Plan from Arlington, TX on January 15th, 2018
    StarTex Power Idiocy
    I am not at this time a customer of StarTex Power but someone else's account has my phone number attached to it. StarTex will not remove my number because I am not the electricity account owner. That's just stupid and possibly a violation of the Fair Debt Collection Act. I've given up trying to get them to fix it. Their attitude is it's my problem and not theirs.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    PattiB from Fort Worth, TX on January 12th, 2018
    Almost as crappy as cirro
    But still bad enough to move companies, oursourced work- its hard to understand the people talking and them you and thats if the comm is working... poor setup, quick to cancel and bill you, but not as bad a cirro at least.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Sean from Cypress, TX on December 1st, 2017
    Deposit Refund
    After 1 month from final meter read, I had not received my deposit refund. I called, and was informed that is because I had not requested the deposit to be refunded. After my request, the refunded deposit was received 2 months after the final meter reading date. Unacceptable.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Sb from Houston, TX on November 14th, 2017
    Little to Recommend
    StarTex was once independent and they were great. Then they were bought by Constellation Energy and it's been a nightmare ever since. They screwed up almost everyone's bills at one point and were impossible to reach during the fiasco. Further, they sent out delinquent notices due to their screw up. I asked for and received a letter stating so, just to cover my rear. Their plans are difficult to understand, which is saying something given how hard all of them are. Additionally, when my contract was up, I called them to see what they had available. I asked for the best price based on my service. They quoted me a plan based on at least 2000 kWh per month. Well, my average is only 1037 and I only hit 2000 or more four times in the last 28 months. But, wait, there's more. This first plan included (at no extra charge, just a higher rate!) Air Conditioning "insurance." Be very careful of such insurance plans. At best, they're simply prepaid inspections and at a very high price. So, I asked for a cheaper rate and after about 15 more minutes, I finally got to what their cheapest plan is. Why should one have to go through such nonsense to find the best rate?
    So, given lousy customer service, rates that are on the high side, and statements that are a pain to retrieve, who needs StarTex/Constellation Power?
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Texas Consumer from Houston, TX on August 1st, 2017


    Electric Plans & Rates


    Recommended Plans
    All Plans
    Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Est Avg Bill
    15 Month Fixed Rate
    15 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $127 est. avg. bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    10.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $154 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $123 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $133 est. avg. bill
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $143 est. avg. bill
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $109 est. avg. bill
  • Low Average Bill
  • Donates to Charity
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $130 est. avg. bill
  • 100% Solar Energy
  • Reduce your Carbon footprint
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $140 est. avg. bill
  • Great for high-usage months
  • Save money this summer
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $132 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $120 est. avg. bill
    Popular Plan
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $135 est. avg. bill
  • Big Time Bill Credit
  • No Monthly Base Charge
  • 12 months of bill stability
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $144 est. avg. bill
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $129 est. avg. bill
  • 24 month fixed rate plan
  • No base charge, no minimum usage fees