Home > Read Reviews > Startex Power > 1512363361407552208

A word from StarTex Power

StarTex Power, a Constellation company, is a competitive retail electric supplier serving Texas customers since 2004. More than 140,000 residents, companies and organizations in Texas have chosen StarTex Power as their retail electric supplier.

StarTex Power’s parent company, Constellation, is a leading competitive energy company providing power, natural gas, renewable energy, and energy management products and services to more than 2.5 million homes and businesses across the US.


Service Review
(4.8 / 5)

  I have been very happy with StarTex Power and will continue to use as long as rates are similar to others.

LTC from 77450
December 3rd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions


StarTex Power Customer Reviews

The best review categories for StarTex Power are the order experience, rated at 3.01 out of 5, and their billing & account management system, rated at 2.81 of 5.

This graph ranks Price, Plans, Promotion, Order Experience, Customer Service, Billing, Account Management, Likelihood to recommend and Overall score of StarTex Power


StarTex Power Rating

Texas Electricity Ratings Score:


( 4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

Rating Summary:

Plans & Products -
Complaint Resolution -
Community Outreach -
Innovation -
Rewards -
Market Perception -

Legend:

- Among the Best
- Better than Most
- About Average
- The Rest
- Data Unavailable

Plans & Products

We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.

Complaint Resolution

Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.

Community Outreach

Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.

Innovation

Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)

Rewards

Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.

Market Perception

Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.






347 Reviews for StarTex Power


Renew what to do
(5 / 5)

  We have had excellence service with star yes, no complaints but we just got a letter saying its time to renew. The new plan jumps up 3/kwh.... wondering what to do

Jesse from Eagle Lake
August 10th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pretty much like every other company we've used...
(5 / 5)

  In my experience, 99% of these companies are the same. All have their share of negative/positive/neutral reviews. Startex has been absolutely fine for us. No complaints. No billing surprises. No surprises in general. My opinion - go with whoever offers you the best rate and is reputable.

steep from Allen
August 13th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Mr
(5 / 5)

  Startex Power

FEEDBACK FOR DISTRIBUTION


Seldom nowadays I have the well justified opportunity to announce a service companys exceptional ethical, HONEST, transparent , responsive AND responsible no hidden nothing, business operations practices.

Startex is the premiere utility company and should be the standard to which all other not only peer but TV, TE, banks, credit cards and all service companies should shoot for.

EXCELLENCE AND AT A GOOD PRICE TOO! LIKE IT SHOULD BE.

I highly recommend them, because their quality service will not only serve you well but your quality of life will be that much better not having to deal with all the lousy service companies out there nowadays.

http://www.houstonelectricrates.com/608/startex-power-customer-review-ranked-1-by-jd-power-and-associates/

AJR
Sugar Land , TX

ALEXANDER ROSENTAL from Sugar Land
October 15th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great rates for NEW customers
(5 / 5)

  If you are looking for a new company and are thinking about StarTex Power, go for it. However, like with any other company, be ready to make your next move before your contract is about to expire. I have used StarTex for a long time. Unfortunately, their rates went up, so I went away and singed a contract with another company. I contacted customer service a couple of times, and all went great. They speak good English and good Spanish and are professionals.

Luis Ramirez from Carrollton
July 7th, 2013

Thank you Mr. Ramirez for your kind words as we take Customer Service seriously and as our customers are our #1 Priority.

StarTex Power Responds August 8th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Renewing with Star Tex
(5 / 5)

  My contract with Star Tex was about to expire, so I spent much time researching various plans and rates offered by providers in our area. I wanted to see if I could secure a better rate with a company that also scored well on customer satisfaction. After an exhausting search, I called Star Tex to clarify information on their website; all my questions were answered thoroughly in a patient and easy-to-understand manner by customer service agent Ashley. Based on past personal experience, as well as current information, I have chosen to renew with Star Tex.

Satisfied Customer from Coppell
June 25th, 2013

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as our customers are our #1 Priority. We are pleased to know we were able to provide you with the answers you requested and that you allowed StarTex Power to continue as your Retail Electric Provider.

StarTex Power Responds July 25th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent Customer Service
(5 / 5)

  The day after I posted a review on this web site, a StarTex representative contacted me about my review. She lowered the minimum usage fee to $4.99 and the minimum kWh threshold to 500. She renegotiated my contract to my full satisfaction, and now I'm a very happy customer. I wish I had been able to amend my earlier review, but instead, I just posted a new one here.

I'm very grateful to have had this web site to research companies. With it, I was able to negotiate a new contract with my preferred energy provider. Thank you!

Virginia Vigmostad from Fort Worth
June 18th, 2013

StarTex Power appreciates the opportunity to respond to this posting, as we take Customer Service and any claims of customer concerns very seriously. We have reached out to Mrs. Vigmostad to thanked her for our comments.

StarTex Power Responds July 25th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Switch over to Startex Power - they are GREAT
(5 / 5)

  If you are considering switching over power companies, I HIGHLY recommend Startex Power!!
Switched over 2 years ago to a fantastic rate for 1 year. When my contract came up for renewal they did in fact mail me a letter a month before the contact was up to renew. I never got around to renewing until today, after going month to month for about a year (and even then my bills weren't that much higher than when I was on the contract). When I called today, I talked to a woman here in HOUSTON, who spoke fluent English and she asked what kind of term I was looking for. I told her if I could get the rate listed on the PowertoChoose website that would be great. I was waiting for the standard reply of "that is for new customers only." but SHE SAID "Yes we can do that. That plan is for new and renewing customers." I also asked her to look up what my average useage was per month and she pulled it right up without giving me attitude. LOVE IT!!!!!!
We set up automatic draft payments through the Startex website (not through our bank's pay bills feature) and have had our payments posted every month on the due date with NO ISSUES.
Now I know why they keep winning the BBB Customer Service Awards.

Lainie from Houston
May 23rd, 2013

Thank you for your remarks Mrs Lainie - StarTex Power appreciates your business.

StarTex Power Responds June 18th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cwade1986
(5 / 5)

  This company has excellent customer service. They have the best rates and are willing to work with you when you need help they are awesome.

Mr., Wade from Dallas
March 19th, 2013

Thank you for your remarks Mr. Wade. StarTex Power appreciates your continued patronage.

StarTex Power Responds April 17th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Grateful and Oh, So, pleased!
(5 / 5)

  Being a widow and on S.S. I am so grateful to this company. I want everyone to know about StarTex and their low rates and great service. I have saved so much money since changing from the old provider I had used for 50 years. I am here to say, "Don't stay with a company you have been with a long time, keep you from changing to a different provider." I waited way to long to go with StarTex just because I had been with TXU for many years. Check it out. You will be so glad you did!

Karen Lindsey from Crowley
January 11th, 2013

Thank you for your remarks Mrs. Lindsey - StarTex Power appreciates your business.

StarTex Power Responds February 27th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Electric Company
(5 / 5)

  I've NEVER had a problem with StarTex. I've had several others and their rates and fees always increase. Startex doesn't have the lowest rate, but they are about in the middle. I always use the "AMI" promotional code when I renew and it gives me the cheapest possible price...typically about .2 cents off per kWh. I pay via my banks bill pay system and have never had an issue. They send me monthly bills, they send me renewal notices, and their customer service has always been prompt and courteous. I would highly recommend StarTex for a reliable, cost efficient, and good power company.

Paul Fisher from Fort Worth (Oncor)
January 7th, 2013

Thank you for your remarks Mr. Foster. StarTex Power appreciates your business!

StarTex Power Responds January 16th, 2013
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent Customer Service
(5 / 5)

  I am writing to inform you that you have an EXCELLENT employee by the name of Farena Davis. She went to great lengths to make sure that I was taken care of. It is employees like her that make a company so great. I will definitely be recommending Star Tex Power to anyone I know that may need an electrical provider. It isn't often that I find myself pleased with the customer service that utility companies provide, simply because it seems no one cares. It was very obvious that Ms. Davis cared about my needs and made sure to help me in any way that she could. She followed up with me and even sent me information I needed in a text because I couldn't write it down at the time. I am really impressed by the lengths she went to make sure my needs were met. Her service was outstanding. I wish my other utility companies had employees like her. I work in customer service myself and try my best to treat my customers like I would like to be treated. Farena definitely sets a standard and an example that I will follow in my own job. Needless to say. I hope that she is recognized for the excellence she provides!!

Kristin Davis from Alvin
October 12th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A very professional company
(5 / 5)

  This retail electric provider, in my opinion, has one of the best assets a company can have: excellent customer service. Here is where customers are retained or lost and I certainly intend to keep renewing my contract over the coming years.

Jim Blaine from Payne Springs
September 13th, 2012

Thank you for your feedback Mr. Blaine. StarTex Power appreciates your patronage!

StarTex Power Responds October 9th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No complaints
(5 / 5)

  I had StarTex for a couple of years and never had an issue. Their rates were fair and the costs were straight forward and easy to understand. I even like how their bills are organized. I also like their online system for reviewing and paying your bill. I had to leave them since I moved to a place where I was not responsible for electricity. I have recently signed up with them again since I purchased a home a couple of months ago. Even though StarTex was not the cheapest option, I did not hesitate in signing up with them. I am happy with them and expect to be a long term customer!

Rob Tuthill from Houston
July 7th, 2012

Mr. Tuthill, welcome back to the StarTex Power family! I have located your account; therefore please be on the look-out for something special from me in the mail, as a token of our appreciation of your positive feedback towards StarTex Power. If you need any assistance at all, please contact me directly at jennifer.lewis@startexpower.com, as it would be my pleasure to assist you!

StarTex Power Responds July 27th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Made the Switch
(5 / 5)

  We have used/tried with StarTex Power at our rental properties on and off in between tenants for the past two years. Had great experiences each time using their month-to-month plan, easy to sign on and off, with excellent customer services. Now that the contract at our own residence is up for renewal, we decided to look around. Not surprisingly, through this website, we saw that StarTex power has a very attractive competitive rate for the 100% renewable energy plan. So we just signed on. The whole application process only took about 2 minutes online. With the past experiences we had with StarTex Power, we know that it is going to be good. We are in!

Green Mom from Plano
June 1st, 2012

We are thrilled to hear you signed on with us at your residence! If you need any assistance at all, please contact me directly at jennifer.lewis@startexpower.com, as it would be my pleasure to assist you!

StarTex Power Responds June 29th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great and no surprises!!!
(5 / 5)

  I switched to Startex 6 months ago, after being with another provider for almost 15 years. Should have changed YEARS ago. I did alot of research and decided to go with Startex due to price plans, reviews, ratings etc. I am very glad I did. I wanted to wait to review them until I had been with them several months. Things have gone great. Billing is spot on, NO surprises! Yay! Email reminders to pay bills etc. When I have contacted contact customer service, they are extremely helpful by phone but also they respond to emails VERY fast! Great company and I hope to be with them a long time! Just be sure to lock into a price and remember to renew when it expires. They take credit cards too if you pay your bills that way, I just wish they took American Express. That's my only complaint! Great company

D Ericson from Dallas
April 29th, 2012

Ms. Ericson, we are thrilled to hear you have been pleased with your services thus far! I have located your account; therefore please be on the look-out for something special from me in the mail, as a token of our appreciation of your kind words!

StarTex Power Responds May 21st, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Extremely satisfied
(5 / 5)

  I have been a StarTex customer for nearly 4 years, first at my apartment and
now my home. Their rates have always been some of the lowest on the market
with no hidden fees for credit card payments, auto debit, telephone payments,
etc. I have had several businesses I know and friends switch at my urging and
they have all been equally satisfied. My contract is up for renewal in June and I
fully expect to be renewing my contract for another 2 year term!

Eric Israel from Houston
April 15th, 2012

Eric, thank you for your continued patronage and support of StarTex Power. I was able to locate yo ur account and have sent you an email in regards to renewing your contract with StarTex Power. I look forward to assisting you! Jennifer Lewis, Office of the President

StarTex Power Responds May 8th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I have recommended them!
(5 / 5)

  I not only found their customer service above average but I have been
extremely satisfied with my electric bill. There are never any big surprises
just great service!

Sara Bramble from Houston
April 4th, 2012

Sara, thank you for your continued patronage and support of StarTex Power. I was able to locate your account; therefore please be on the look-out for something special from me in the mail, as a token of our appreciation of your kind words. Jennifer Lewis, Office of the President

StarTex Power Responds May 8th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never Had a Problem
(5 / 5)

  I have been with Startex Power for about 12 months now and never had a problem with them. Called once to update something on my account and the customer service was great and was handled quickly. I would definitely recommend this company. They have good rates and seem to focus on customer service. Looked around at other companies but will be renewing with them.

Josh Wingard from Houston
April 4th, 2012

Josh, thank you for your continued patronage and support of StarTex Power. I was able to locate your account; therefore please be on the look-out for something special from me in the mail, as a token of our appreciation of your kind words. Jennifer Lewis, Office of the President

StarTex Power Responds May 8th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Company!
(5 / 5)

  I have been with Startex since 2006.I have been pleasently surprised with their prompt,friendly service.Unlike prior experiences with my local cable and phone company.When you call with a question.They have never let me languish on hold.Or subject you to some horrid robot goonie.Although,I have noticed a little cheaper rate elsewhere.I will stick with Startex.I guess that I am "old school".And In these times of poor service and rude people.That means alot to me.

James D Morrison from Fort Worth
April 3rd, 2012

James, thank you for your continued patronage and support of StarTex Power. I was able to locate your account; therefore please be on the look-out for something special from me in the mail, as a token of our appreciation of your kind words. Jennifer Lewis, Office of the President

StarTex Power Responds May 8th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Service and Pricing
(5 / 5)

  I moved down to S. Texas almost a year ago. Well closing on my home, the realtor had suggested Ambit as the provider of choice here. It took all of 2 months to realize just how bad Ambit's customer service and pricing was. I called them one afternoon, well sitting on hold for 45 minutes, I started doing research of other providers and found StarTex. I called StarTex directly after hanging up on Ambit (never did get a rep, even after 45 mins). I was talking to a StarTex rep in less then 5 mins. She took my new order and I was on my way in just a few minutes. I just got my renewal notice from StarTex and I'm happy to say I'll be staying with them. Great service and definitely the lowest pricing. Keep up the good work StarTex. Thanks.

Rob Pickrell from Alton
March 27th, 2012

Robert, thank you for your continued patronage and support of StarTex Power. I was able to locate your account; therefore please be on the look-out for something special from me in the mail, as a token of our appreciation of your kind words. Jennifer Lewis, Office of the President

StarTex Power Responds May 8th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions



Updated: 02-19-2018
Example Bill
loading...
Simplify Solar