StarTex Power is now Constellation


StarTex Power Logo
PUCT# : 10014

We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, Entrust Energy and Texans Energy

Order Expeerience

(2.2 / 5)

  I use an energy consultant and asked for a specific plan. The first operator terminated my call since there was more than one person on the line after I would not agree to the upsell. The second operator continued the upsell efforts and the sign up was very unpleasant.

JLH from Houston
January 2nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Late Payment for Nov. 2017

(2 / 5)

  Hello,
I am the current customer but very disappointed with how your company handle the paymentS, especially for Nov. 2017. I received a Disconnect Notice due to late payment for Nov.2017. Well, my bank account indicated that payment of $70.09 was withdrawn by Startex Power on 12Dec2017. I called Starxtex Customer service to explain today 12/22 and was told that still the amount has not been received. Startex requested me to send in the proof of payment and I did. I am very upset and definitely dont want to waist my time to help resolve your internal issues. Please do something to improve your service next time.

Tony Phan
Account no: 892512404
Service address: 14223 Prospect Point Dr.
Cypress, TX 77429

TONY PHAN from Cypress
December 22nd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Service Review

(4.8 / 5)

  I have been very happy with StarTex Power and will continue to use as long as rates are similar to others.

LTC from Katy
December 3rd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing System needs fixing

(3.6 / 5)

  Their system said I was signed up for Auto Pay but I received a past due notice. I then was told to set it again since their system had some old information on my account from a previous time with them. I reset it again and the same thing happened again the next month. I decided to do it over the phone with an associate.

PS from Missouri City
December 2nd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Almost as crappy as cirro

(1.8 / 5)

  But still bad enough to move companies, oursourced work- its hard to understand the people talking and them you and thats if the comm is working... poor setup, quick to cancel and bill you, but not as bad a cirro at least.

Sean from Cypress
December 1st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Can't handle the aggravation

(3 / 5)

  Good price, good service. BUT - can't seem to make the website work consistently. Every couple of months, it suddenly doesn't recognize me as a registered account holder. Wait on hold, cust svc can't figure out why. Gotta do registration procedure all over again. Works a couple of times, then ditto. NOW had to go out of town over holiday, can't log in, getting recorded msgs bill is due, no one in office because of holiday.

Can't handle the aggravation for the few dollars saves us.

Sharon T from Corpus Christi
November 23rd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deposit Refund

(1.6 / 5)

  After 1 month from final meter read, I had not received my deposit refund. I called, and was informed that is because I had not requested the deposit to be refunded. After my request, the refunded deposit was received 2 months after the final meter reading date. Unacceptable.

sb from Houston
November 14th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Two bills in one month

(3.4 / 5)

  Paid my August bill and then 10 days later got another August bill. I called Texas direct and was told that I didn't have account with them anymore and they wonder if I had even electricity anymore. CRAZY!! I been with Startex for more than two and a half years. Even got a new one year plan now. Had to call 3 times to get straightened up with a specialist . Was told my service was stopped by computer mistakes and it would take more than 2 weeks to correct. CRAZY!! Still waiting on my September bill. Hope I don't get some crazy amount. I've always paid my bills before they are due when they arrived in the mail.

Bobby Blackman from Stafford
September 6th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Crappy Information from Customer Service

(2.4 / 5)

  I was charged almost an additional 11 days of service, without my knowledge, for power I never used. In fact it was power the next tenant was using on a higher premium rate! The information I received from the company when setting up my power was false, leading to overcharging and a complete lack of carrying from the customer service personnel. The customer service representative argued that I had never even called in, essentially calling me a liar. I am extremely displeased with the service I received from StarTex.

Mercedes from Dallas
September 5th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fine if you don't leave

(2 / 5)

  Would not use again. Price to leave is $78 even when your contact is over. Got a great electricity rate so I chose this company over bigger names but when it was time to renew the offer they made was no longer competitive so I switched.

Turns out an "Oncor Electric Company Surcharges Approved" showed up on my last invoice, even though I was out of contract. The price to switch electric companies varies and in my opinion, anything over $20 is way too much, especially for something automated. Exact actual price to end service is not disclosed in terms of service, only a mention that a fee may be changed.

Also had some billing problems - signed up for auto-pay but didn't charge my card for some reason one month (even though they had the 4 months prior) then called to say my bill was overdue, and I had to go online and pay again. Later appologized via automated email.

Amanda from McKinney
August 18th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Renew what to do

(5 / 5)

  We have had excellence service with star yes, no complaints but we just got a letter saying its time to renew. The new plan jumps up 3/kwh.... wondering what to do

Jesse from Eagle Lake
August 10th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Little to Recommend

(1.2 / 5)

  StarTex was once independent and they were great. Then they were bought by Constellation Energy and it's been a nightmare ever since. They screwed up almost everyone's bills at one point and were impossible to reach during the fiasco. Further, they sent out delinquent notices due to their screw up. I asked for and received a letter stating so, just to cover my rear. Their plans are difficult to understand, which is saying something given how hard all of them are. Additionally, when my contract was up, I called them to see what they had available. I asked for the best price based on my service. They quoted me a plan based on at least 2000 kWh per month. Well, my average is only 1037 and I only hit 2000 or more four times in the last 28 months. But, wait, there's more. This first plan included (at no extra charge, just a higher rate!) Air Conditioning "insurance." Be very careful of such insurance plans. At best, they're simply prepaid inspections and at a very high price. So, I asked for a cheaper rate and after about 15 more minutes, I finally got to what their cheapest plan is. Why should one have to go through such nonsense to find the best rate?
So, given lousy customer service, rates that are on the high side, and statements that are a pain to retrieve, who needs StarTex/Constellation Power?

Texas Consumer from Houston
August 1st, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NEW CUSTOMER ONLY SCAM - PUC has been informed!

(1 / 5)

  I've used multiple provider for power in Texas over the last 5 years since deregulation kicked in. I've always gone to powertochoose to get the best deal when my previous contract expires. I did this recently and have learned that StarTex is now considering anyone who has used their service within the last 36 months to not be eligible for their best NEW CUSTOMER plans. In the past, the process was that if u were not an existing customer you were considered a NEW CUSTOMER.

Now StarTex has changed the rules to scam us. StarTex will publish a loss leader on powertochoose, but say you are not allowed to have that. They'll gladly sell you a plan that is more expensive so it's not that they think you are a risk. They just want to bait and switch users.

I've contacted my local congressman and he has had the PUC file a complaint about this bait and switch practice. Hopefully, this will be resolved to help the little guy.

AngryInRoundRock from Round Rock
July 13th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Beware of Deceptive Practice

(2.2 / 5)

  Three complaints/observations: 1) Despite having signed up for autopay, I received a disconnection notice and a late charge. Had to contact their billing office to resolve. 2) All communications from StarTex had been via email - except the contract expiration/renewal notice - which StarTex claim they sent me more than 30 days before my contract expired. I never received it, and StarTex refuses - or can't - prove that they mailed it. Why didn't they send me the expiration notice by email? In my opinion it's StarTex' standard practice to entrap customers into paying more. After the contract expired, StarTex more than doubled my rate, so I promptly cancelled. Conversations with customer service or Rosa in the compliance department went nowhere, only in circles. 3) The promotion rate was attractive, but the renewal offer not competitive. To me, StarTex is good only for one contract term, if even that.

bglhntr from Houston
July 9th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT sign with StarTex

(1.4 / 5)

  I have never been so mistreated by a company in my life. They ran my payment through 7-10 days before it was authorized. They did reverse it however it took several days to correct on my end. During that time i acquired $280 in over drafts fees. They were credited to my account. They did the same thing a month later only they didn't correct it and only gave me 50% reimbursement of the fees. I had letters from my bank, bank statements and even allowed them to contact my local branch to get it resolved once and for all.

I want to say that StarTex WAS a wonderful company and we never had a single issue. Until CONSTELLATION bought them.

Not Happy from Weatherford
June 29th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A bit misleading.

(1 / 5)

  A StarTex representative came knocking on my door with a story about a rate adjustment from Oncor to which I was entitled - I think that is what he meant. He spoke quickly and what he did say was not clear. As I asked him who and what StarTex was he replied "I'm not selling you anything." Clearly untrue. At that point I closed the door.

George from Keller
June 16th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Left in the dark

(1.2 / 5)

  I was moving into a new home, scheduled my power to start, and a week into my new home, power off. Friday, 4:58PM. I call immediately, they tell me they have no record of my account or name, and there is nothing they can do until tomorrow, I'm given fake numbers to call back, fake operator names, and no power for 4 days.

The kicker is, the only reason my power came on, is because I gave up on Startex and switched to stream, who had my power on in less than 5 minutes after account creation.

Oregon Doner from Katy
May 28th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reasonable rates, they keep the power on

(4.6 / 5)

  Have been a customer 7yrs. They gave us a great rate to start with and then it went up a little bit, but nothing shocking. Even during exceptionally hot Texas summers the bill never "broke the bank." Only gripe is going round and round on the phone with customer service with their long winded questions when trying to pay my bill. Just let me give you money already, bye. They did transfer power quickly when we moved. Our experience with Star Tex has been very fair. Would recommend.

Dan from Katy
April 10th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Electric was fine customer service is useless

(2.6 / 5)

  I tried to pay a bill and it kept declining payment because the zip code on the account was wrong. I contacted them three times with no correction. I used the chat system and it took 10 ten minutes just to get through account verification. TEN FULL MINUTES to ask me my name, my social, the address and my email to change the damn zip code and pay a bill.

They can take a hike
January 11th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't do autopay!

(2.6 / 5)

  I made the mistake of putting the bill on autopay. The month before my credit card expired, I received my new credit card and changed it online for the autopay. I kept getting all these notices stating that my credit card on autopay was expiring. I knew I'd changed it, so I go look. Yep, right expiration. Still get notices. Now I'm thinking, notices are wack! Some sort of error? Still, I'm worried, cause I don't want to be late so I keep an eye on it. I log in the day it's due and look. Doesn't show a payment, but I figure, it will the next day cause it probably process at night. The following day, still shows no payment. Again double check autopay credit card on file. Shows the correct information. Send an email to company asking about what the issue is. Three days later get an email stating the old credit card date on file, but if I've changed it, not to worry. So I don't. Keep getting emails and text messages. Even though I see the correct date, I change it again. Three days after I've changed it the second time, I get a notice they are going to disconnect. I contact them and they say they see I just changed the date three days earlier and therefore, it was out of date when it processed. They want me to pay right then and there. No thanks. I don't trust these people. When I finally get a second supervisor I'm told that the credit card information has to be changed on both the auto pay area and the regular payment area?????? Sure. Right. If that were the case, then why does it have a notice, to change credit card date for auto pay, as a link that takes me to the one place to change it. Also, why would I need to have it in two places. Sounds like excuses for a poorly designed system and scapegoating customers for their issues.

Pissed Off At the Ineptness of this company
November 22nd, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions