Stream Energy Logo
PUCT# :

We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation, First Choice Power, TriEagle Energy, Acacia Energy and Gexa Energy

Collections 7.5 years after disconnect

(1 / 5)

  I used Stream in an apartment and disconnected services in 2012. I found a new collections account on my credit report, called stream and was told "it is from 3-20-2012, 7.5 years ago, I do see where you called to disconnect and ask for final bill. We didn't update your forwarding address and the bill was mailed to your apartment that was disconnected from services." One single bill was mailed, to an invalid address, and no other communication until today, 8-7-2019.

Bailey from Wylie
August 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Expensive

(1 / 5)

  Very expensive and they basically screw you. I was away for a whole month from my home. Turned off all the circuit breakers (except for the kitchen) and disconnected all my outlets and somehow my bill was 131!!!!! PLEASE DO NOT GET STREAM ENERGY THERE ARE OTHER COMPANIES THAT WONT SCREW YOU LIKE THIS COMPANY.

Joe from Killeen
July 12th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Current customer

(3.2 / 5)

  Ive had Stream Energy since 2016 and I dont have any complaints with the price or having outages itself. Its mainly the customer service that drives me insane. The wait times are long no matter what time you call, and when you finally do get a rep 9 times out of 10 theyre rude and dont know what theyre talking about. Every time I call I usually get transferred 2-3 times because lack of knowledge unless Im only strictly calling about my bill.

Selena Vee from Odessa
July 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Customer Service Ever!!

(1.2 / 5)

  Every month when I go to pay my bill there is always an issue. It becomes a 30-40 minute ordeal with lots of frustrations. Either their website isn't working properly, it gets hung up on loading after the confirmation page or I can't log in. After their recent "changes" to the customer support line, I have yet to find a way to speak to an agent. You get stuck in a loop of the automated system. Do not use this company. I am waiting for my contract to end, then I am moving on.

Michael from Missouri City
July 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE CHANGES

(1.2 / 5)

  I have been loyal stream customer since 2012, but recent changes to stream customer service & phone changes caused me to leave. Stream recently moved call center overseas and cannot communicate with service center reps, phone program is even worse. Cannot push zero to reach operator, on hold for full hour & reps still could not assist me or resolve issues. Unacceptable!!!!

JOEL from Odessa
June 27th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

OUTRAGIOUS RATES!!

(1.8 / 5)

  I have been with Stream Energy for two years. When I moved, I renewed by service with them (not realizing my various options). When my first bill cam in and I had sticker shock - I began to question the plan I was sold. Upon further investigation, I was appalled at the rate with Stream Energy. When I called to try to renegotiate I was told there was nothing they could do - I was LOCKED in! I am the most upset because they had a record of my annual usage and sold me on a package that was far more than I ever used or needed. Yes this is my responsibility - but my recommendation is to RUN RUN RUN FROM STREAM ENERGY!!!!! There are a lot cheaper, more affordable options out there.

Lauren from La Porte
June 26th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BUYER BEWARE

(1 / 5)

  DO NOT use Stream Energy. They will not fulfill their agreement. They just want customers to sign up & the customer service is HORRIBLE!!! You'll be on hold for almost an hour each time you contact them but your questions/issues never get answered or resolved. They will promise you the moon to sign you up but in the end they'll not follow through with what they promised. As for their rates...Get prepared, it will cost you more than the others.

BUYER BEWARE from Fort Worth
June 17th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overcharging elderly people

(1 / 5)

  I have been a stream customer for several years. We own a business as well as use stream at our residence. I recommended
stream to my elderly mother. I have been late on making a payment in the past and was never charged a reconnection or a disconnection fee. This is what Stream has charged my elderly mother even though she was in the hospital and that caused her to pay late. She has been a stream customer for 4 years and has never missed a payment before. Let me stress that she was late on a 42.80 statement but got it paid up before the next Month was due. We will be canceling our account with Stream as soon as possible. Stream will lose 2 residential accounts as well as our business Steel & Alloy Specialties. One customer service rep said he could credit 50.00 then when i asked to speak to a supervisor he said that offer would be taken off the table.

Mary Erskine from Wichita Falls
June 10th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stream Energy #1 in my books

(5 / 5)

  I have been with stream energy for over 10 years stream energy still have good low plans , good prices and good customer service .etc.,,

Merlinder A. from Balch Springs
June 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Elusive live agent

(1.6 / 5)

  I can't get a live agent or pay my bill. They changed their voice options format. Push a number no longer exists. Push 1 for billing and then everything is voice. I lose my voice twice a month due to my disability. I'm not computer literate and Done trust internet payments. I now need to find another energy provider because of this discrimination against the disabled. That's a good LEGAL reason why to break contract without fees.

G. T from Corpus Christi
June 3rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Review on stream energy

(5 / 5)

  We have been with Stream Energy for 3 years now we love the price that we get they have great customer service they have been a pleasure to be with and we will continue to be with Stream Energy thank you for all y'all do

Courtni from Tyler
April 30th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STREAM IS THE WORST

(1 / 5)

  I've been with stream for almost 4 years now. At first the prices were great around $100-120. Since 2018 my bill has been getting higher. Sometimes the bill can reach up to almost $400!!!!! I called and asked them why my Bills are so high and they just tell me I must be using something that causes it to go up. That is bullcrap!!! I always turn everything off before I go to bed and there is no damn reason my bill should be up that high. They have disconnected my electricity now without notice. I paid some of it as it's so high and I dont have enough money to pay the whole thing every time payment is due. I called customer service and they said they disconnected it because we havent paid since November of last year. How does that even make any sense? And at the last second she said oh never mind it just came up on the screen. Your power should be on within 24 hours to 2 days!!!!! What? It's hot and I have animals I am not gonna be with them much longer because they are terrible and disgusting. The customer service is a joke. I am not pleased and I dont care if I have to pay a disconnection fee I want out of this! Sick and tired of their crap!!!!!!!!!!

Ragan from Odessa
April 22nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  Spent an hour on hold for a resolution they were to give me in 48 hours. They need 3 more days. Really... to listen to my phone call with rep when he put in move out date wrong. They are charging me for another apartments usage due to their error. Not only am I paying for other apartment. I have to pay usage for the apartment they turned off to the apt management at a higher rate due to this error. I have been a loyal customer for 5 years. It is time for my renewal. Time to leave. As for resolving my case they cannot do it in the specified time they gave me. They provided no update to this not ready to be resolved, to keep me from being on hold for no news!

TamTam from Houston
March 21st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not use them!!

(1 / 5)

  If I could give them 0 stars I absolutely would!!! These people are scammers! Do not use them!!!!!!! They made a miskey with my apartment number and when the bill never got paid they rolled it over to my actual bill for my for the balance for an apartment that I did not live in!!! When I called to find out why my bill for an APARTMENT was $367 (I work 40 hours a week and its one person in this apartment) they informed me of this!I was signed up for the power budget plan, which in itself is a scam, on my previous plans with other providers I never used over 700 kWh and with them (on the 1000 kWh plan) I was consistently over with absolutely NO change in my daily habits! Its a scam to get more money from you in the end!! Moving forward, They refused to take off the bill for the other apartment without me having to file fraud when it was clearly a miskey on their part. DO NOT, I REPEAT, DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! Customer service wasnt at all helpful and had no interest in helping rectify this situation.

Guys save yourself some money and frustration and just NO!

Do not use them! from Irving
February 28th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unfair practices

(1.6 / 5)

  We made the mistake of renting one of our rental properties to a relative. At first she paid her rent faithfully. But, as time passed she quit paying her rent. We had to evict her from the house. We had to get a 'Writ of Possession' and have the Constable move the tenant out.
Needless to say we have lost a great deal of money on this.
I called to have the electric turned on on the house so we could make repairs. (The house is so bad we have to gut it). Stream energy told me there is a switch hold on the property. I told them I would send them my court papers showing us as landlord evicting her as tenant. Which I did. And I gave them my account number with them, showing I have good payment history. I further told them to pull my credit report which shows I pay my bills. My credit score is 8.3.
They said unless I pay the $300.+ bill they will not turn it on. I have spent a week working on this and getting nowhere. So today they told me that in the past I had paid two of her bills so that made me legally responsible for her bills. I did not ever really pay her bill. She did give me cash and asked me to pay her bill over the phone once or twice so it would not be turned off. How does this make me legally responsible for her bill?
I really need to get the electric turned on at this rental property. But I feel like it is a slap in the face to expect me to pay her bill after she has cost us thousands of dollars. I also do not see how I could be held legally responsible for another persons bill.

Unfair Practices from Fort Worth
February 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible customer service

(1.2 / 5)

  I paid my bill then 5 days later (the due date) they took my payment again. They said I signed up for auto pay....which I didnt. Im confused how you take payment in a zero balance. I spoke with 3 people in customer service and they stumble over their words trying to cover up everyones lies. They wanted nothing to do with helping me. I still dont have the money refunded. They didnt process my refund until 6 days after I called and then I was told it will take another 3-5 days to show in my account. They dont care about their customers. I should have never left my last electric company.

Unhappy customer from Dallas
January 31st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service

(1 / 5)

  Their customer service is terrible. They do not care about the customers and they would not waive any fees or try to fix the issue even if its the first time happening and specially if its something that went wrong with their billing portal. If something goes wrong when paying your bill, they wont fix it, so think twice before getting their services. That is why will be cancelling my account with them.

Valeria G from Katy
January 19th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst company ever!

(1 / 5)

  I turned stream on in my 1300 bedroom house. I decided to do the free nights. First months bill 372.00
Minus free nights. The next month was 582.00 and 3850 kw used. This is not possible seeing As I leave everything off during the day and my daughter and I are at work and school. Oh the 582.00 was minus the free nights and wknds. So I called telling them there has to be something wrong. I dont know why customer service cant help you in any way but here is no point in calling them either. They dont know what is going on. Worst company!

Horrible Company from Strawn
January 6th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My payment was posted to the wrong account

(3.2 / 5)

  Never had a problem until now...I understand my bill was past due but I made my payment on 12/8 and it was due to be disconnected 12/11 if no payment was received...On 12/14 my lights were turned off because they claimed they didn't get my payment...I sent proof of bank statement and still it wasn't located...I called 12/20 about 3pm to check the status and the CSR said that there weren't any notes on my account about my non payment situation...So i went to my bank and had all bank statements printed up until May of this year to show proof of previous payments and emailed that to them...Then I called back about 5pm on 12/20 to make sure they received the email the rep told me that at 2pm my payment was found on the wrong account and transfered to my account...Even though I was grateful that my payment was found the rep couldn't explain how it is that I called through the payment system and still my payment went to the wrong account...My lights were turned off while I had a sick son at home but it was their fault of were my payment went and all I get is I'm sorry Ma'am...

Kat Gilstrap from Fort Worth
December 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stream saved my business tons of money

(5 / 5)

  I switched to using their electricity, plus we switched all of our employees' phone services and have saved thousands of dollars over the last 2 years.

happy customer from Houston
November 3rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions