Electric Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Plan Name
Company
Length
Price
Rate Stability
15 Month Fixed Rate
15 month
Fixed Rate
12.8¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    10.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Low Average Bill
  • Donates to Charity
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% Solar Energy
  • Reduce your Carbon footprint
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Earn Big Bill Credits
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Big Time Bill Credit
  • No Monthly Base Charge
  • 12 months of bill stability
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 24 month fixed rate plan
  • No base charge, no minimum usage fees
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    9.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $29 min balance
  • Prepaid - No Deposit EVER
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Popular Brand
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Low rate!
  • Well known brand.
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Best Overall Value
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    8.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great Plan for Medium Homes
  • $95 Bill Credit at 1k usage
  • 1 year of bill security
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    8.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    8.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% renewable
  • Includes FREE Energy Savings Kit!
  • Super low green rate
  • 3 Year Plan
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    8.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Rhythm's most popular plan
  • Go Green without Sacrifice
  • 3 Years of Bill Security
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 3 Year Price Protection
  • Stable, predictable rate
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Two Year Price Protection
  • All Around Great Value
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • No minimum usage charges
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    11.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% Renewable Energy
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Bill Credits cut your bill in summer months
  • Enjoy smaller bills in summer
  • 12 Month Price Protection
  • 36 Month Flat Rate
    36 month
    Flat Rate
    23.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 24 Month Locked-in price
  • Steady Rate regardless of usage
  • Great overall plan
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Super Low Summer Rate!
  • 100% Renewable Energy!
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Pricing Gimmicks
  • Great for any size home
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Energy Charge on weekends!
  • No Delivery Charges on weekends!
  • Weekends start Friday @ 8:00 PM!
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Minimum Usage Charge!
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • Bill Credits at 1k and 2k usage!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    15.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    24 Month Flat Rate
    24 month
    Flat Rate
    23.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    16.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    20.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Beat the summer heat!
  • Steady, predictable rate
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • Low Average Bill
  • No Surprises
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    15.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Popular Plan!
  • 12 months bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    15.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    16.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    22.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Fixed Pre-paid
    12 month
    Fixed Pre-paid
    14.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    Fixed Pre-paid
    12 month
    Fixed Pre-paid
    15.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance

    The best review categories for Stream Energy are their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.9 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 1.7 stars.

    Recent Good Review from Chelsea

    Significantly lowered my rate
    I had a personal account rep who took care of everything. Very knowledgeable. I was able to signup seamlessly and literally cut my bill in half.. Previous provider was Just energy. Was great till they jacked my rate up to .22 cents/kwh.
    Now I have a great plan and with a fixed rate. No service issues to speak of.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Chelsea from Pearland, TX on February 11th, 2020


    Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

    50 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 5 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Significantly lowered my rate
    I had a personal account rep who took care of everything. Very knowledgeable. I was able to signup seamlessly and literally cut my bill in half.. Previous provider was Just energy. Was great till they jacked my rate up to .22 cents/kwh.
    Now I have a great plan and with a fixed rate. No service issues to speak of.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Chelsea from Pearland, TX on February 11th, 2020
    Switched & Saved - for years
    Since my husband switched to Stream in 2005, we have been overwhelmingly pleased with the service and rates that we have. There are no hidden fees and the bills are really low in cost compared to the previous company! Thank you, Stream!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Terri from Pilot Point, TX on February 10th, 2020
    Carolynn J.
    I have been w/Stream for a few years and happy! Low rates, good customer service, etc.!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Carolynn Johnson from Deer Park, TX on November 11th, 2019
    Stream Energy #1 in my books
    I have been with stream energy for over 10 years stream energy still have good low plans , good prices and good customer service .etc.,,
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Merlinder A. from Balch Springs, TX on June 7th, 2019
    Review on stream energy
    We have been with Stream Energy for 3 years now we love the price that we get they have great customer service they have been a pleasure to be with and we will continue to be with Stream Energy thank you for all y'all do
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Courtni from Tyler, TX on April 30th, 2019
    Stream saved my business tons of money
    I switched to using their electricity, plus we switched all of our employees' phone services and have saved thousands of dollars over the last 2 years.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Happy Customer from Houston, TX on November 3rd, 2018
    Great Company & Service
    Streams website is easy to understand, customer representatives are friendly and efficient in resolving issues and their rates are low. Im a satisfied Stream Customer!
    Thank you Stream!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    H. Dean from North Richland Hills, TX on June 18th, 2018
    Love Stream
    Been a customer for over ten years and can't commend this company enough. Keep up the great work Stream! Texas based and Texas proud!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    S. Palacios from Weslaco, TX on December 10th, 2017
    Great company!
    Great company!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Paige from Dallas, TX on August 29th, 2017
    Awesome service
    I even get free energy just as the associate said.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    D Helps from Fort Worth, TX on June 25th, 2017


    Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

    44 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 4 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    They are professional
    I have approximately 10 years with Stream Energy and in all these years everything has gone very well it has never really gone extremely high and now I have to renew my contract in a couple of months and I will do it again
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mayela Nielsen from Dallas, TX on November 13th, 2019
    Service
    Been with stream for a year now never had any problems with my bill or customer servixe
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Sharon from Houston, TX on May 29th, 2018
    Jude avant`
    Stream energy has always given us the best rates for electrical consuption.
    the only fault that i find with them is difficulty in paying bills , communication in general
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jude Avant from Grand Prairie on October 11th, 2015
    Would recommend
    Been with Stream for nine years and have not had a single issue. I have called Customer Service a couple of times with questions, and the only real trouble I've had with CS is a brief wait time to reach a live person. (This is no different from my previous provider.) I receive notices with my bill at least two months before my contract expires, plenty of time to choose a new plan.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    C Leo from Plano on November 19th, 2014
    Much lower rates with Stream
    My monthly electricity bills are consistently about 1/3 lower with Stream over my previous supplier. That's a huge amount of money that now stays in my pocket.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Susan from Dallas on October 16th, 2014
    Great Rates Great Company
    Stream has excellent rates and allows you to lock the rates in. Energy rates like every other commodity fluctuate in price. If you are not on a contract you will be subject to prices that fluctuate based on market conditions. If you are paying your bill on time there should not be a need to call customer service. Most issues can be handled online which helps reduce cost got the company and the customer. If you have a low rate locked in and your bill is high it's because of usage or usage that was reported. That has nothing to do with the Eletricity company no matter who you have. Educate yourself on how your bill is comprised and what entities are responsible for each area of your billing.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Shelton from Killeen on April 24th, 2014
    Awesome!
    Switched to Stream in 2005. Previously with 2 different companies. Have had excellent service, rates and experience. When I compare my bills with friends and neighbors who are not with Stream, mine are the best. Thank you Stream for continuing to provide great rates and customer service!!

    Regarding other's negative remarks.... I haven't seen or heard of a perfect company out there. That said, I do believe and have seen Stream care and go above and beyond in customer service.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Nancy Morrish from Mesquite on February 28th, 2014
    Better price for electricity
    I love this power company! I was forced to use a Co-op when I lived in the rural area, and when I move to the city I discovered how cheap electricity can be...comparatively speaking. I have a personal representative who lets me know when my contract is going to expire so I can re-up at the best going rate. Stream and my Ignite rep are the best way I have found to get my retail electricity service.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    S B Bird from Waco on November 4th, 2013
    Excellent service, excellent prices!
    I switched because a friend explained that Stream doesn't advertise, and passes the savings along in their rates. I checked the rates, did some research, and was disgusted to learn I'd been paying way more with Reliant than I would be with Stream.

    Switched to Stream, set up my online billing, and started getting lower electric bills right off the bat.

    I have not needed customer service, so can't rate that accurately. I do recommend Stream.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mike M from Houston on September 2nd, 2013
    I Love this Company.
    Ever Since I switched energy companies I have saved so much money on my light bill.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Priscilla from Houston on April 12th, 2012


    Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

    18 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 3 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Current customer
    Ive had Stream Energy since 2016 and I dont have any complaints with the price or having outages itself. Its mainly the customer service that drives me insane. The wait times are long no matter what time you call, and when you finally do get a rep 9 times out of 10 theyre rude and dont know what theyre talking about. Every time I call I usually get transferred 2-3 times because lack of knowledge unless Im only strictly calling about my bill.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Selena Vee from Odessa, TX on July 1st, 2019
    My payment was posted to the wrong account
    Never had a problem until now...I understand my bill was past due but I made my payment on 12/8 and it was due to be disconnected 12/11 if no payment was received...On 12/14 my lights were turned off because they claimed they didn't get my payment...I sent proof of bank statement and still it wasn't located...I called 12/20 about 3pm to check the status and the CSR said that there weren't any notes on my account about my non payment situation...So i went to my bank and had all bank statements printed up until May of this year to show proof of previous payments and emailed that to them...Then I called back about 5pm on 12/20 to make sure they received the email the rep told me that at 2pm my payment was found on the wrong account and transfered to my account...Even though I was grateful that my payment was found the rep couldn't explain how it is that I called through the payment system and still my payment went to the wrong account...My lights were turned off while I had a sick son at home but it was their fault of were my payment went and all I get is I'm sorry Ma'am...
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Kat Gilstrap from Fort Worth, TX on December 21st, 2018
    Best rate in Abilene TX
    Best rate you can find in Abilene TX , as long as you pay your bill on time each month
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Lisa Williams from Abilene on June 24th, 2014
    Ok while under contract then POW!
    Was billed through my regular electric company so no changes there. Under contract for 2 yrs., when that was over my bills for the next 3 months, until I switched back were outrageous. I paid almost $400 month, was told that my bills would have been more than $100 less with previous company. When I called to switch back & complained, I was told that it was because my contract was up, and they could offer me another contract. No thank-you!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Donna Webb from Villas on March 26th, 2014
    No problems in two years of service
    I have had Stream for two years. Contract is up in April. They have contacted me via e-mail, phone and snail mail notifying me contract was due to end. The rate I have now is lower than what the renewal rate is and I can't find another company that is lower. I have auto payment through my credit card. I'll sign up with Stream again. Setting up initial service is quite cumbersome, but renewing is easy.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jodi L. from Houston on February 8th, 2014
    Killeen
    They are by far the cheapest company here in killeen. Haven't seem
    to run into any issues other than their very rude customer service.
    Have never been late or missed a payment except for one time
    when I was in the field I called a day late and they were completely
    rude Like it was her money. I felt as if I forgot to pay her directly.
    The customer serivce needs to change
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Danielle from Killeen on May 1st, 2012
    Gunnerbb
    I had no problems with Stream for the two years I was with them, but, when I tried to sign up again they did not want to talk to me.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    A.J. McCann from Santa Fe on June 24th, 2011
    Evolving Company
    I have been with Stream for a few years now. They have now incorporated better services and payment options that makes me hesitant to join a competing company. They have always given notices and reminders when I forget to pay, and never quickly to jump on cutting the power. They have even removed some fee's for me a few times. The prices aren't the absolute lowest, but peace of mind is worth more than $2-$3 a month.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Robert from Kemah on March 17th, 2011
    Going Elsewhere for a better rate.
    Going Elsewhere for a better rate.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Avalon Pyramid Dojo from Princeton on March 7th, 2011
    Pleased!!
    I am another customer who is actually writing to say something good. I switched from Txu charging me 13 cent a kwh, and I locked in with stream at 8cent numbers don't lie. So I have been very pleased with the price difference. I pay by bill on time so have no reason to deal with customer service or have my electric cut off. But like everything else everyones experiences are different.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Anonymous from Grand Prairie on January 3rd, 2011


    Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

    29 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 2 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    No loyalty
    I am in the same boat as everyone else. 14 years with this company, rates always went up. I was lazy and didn't shop them , but this was the last straw. my rate was more than double than the market . I switched with 2 months left on the contract. they charged me the full cancellation fee, I called and asked for consideration or even competitive rates and got nothing There are better company
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dt From Katy from Katy, TX on May 18th, 2021
    Billing totally screwed up
    The internet site has not worked for months in taking my payment. It says the balance due is zero which of course is not true. I have to pay by phone and that takes substantially more time. I have asked them to fix the internet site repeatedly.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    David from Gregory, TX on May 11th, 2021
    Collection department.
    After I cancel my service I call them twice to make sure my balance is paid off. The gentleman that answer my phone call said my balance is $0.00 Now I get a collection letter with balance of $51.00, I call them and all what I get is
    " I sorry there is nothing I can do" even when was theirs fault.
    Now they hurt my credit for life thanks to theirs " profesional " workers.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Isael J from Spring, TX on August 4th, 2020
    Inconsistent with bogus charges
    My bill is due different days every month. Not a big deal but sucks trying to remember to pay your bill when it could be due either at the beginning, middle, or end of each month. Have had to pay late bills simply because I was confused when it was due. I don't get anything in the mail and have to check my email constantly if I want to avoid late payments. And at first, I was paying around $62 a month. That was in the winter with the heaters running all the time and me being home consistently. Now, without even being at my house for 2 and a half weeks out of the month with the AC off and almost nothing plugged in (absolutely nothing powered on), I'm paying $117. Sometimes the delivery charge is $14 and sometimes its up to $28. With that and the mandatory $10 "minimum usage fee" (which doesn't make sense or seem necessary unless you didn't meet the minimum energy requirements) a quarter of your bill isn't even from your actual energy usage. I see why they force you into year long contracts now and why more people are living off-grid.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Anon from Del Rio, TX on July 20th, 2020
    Billing and account
    Their system sucks! I can not even pay my bill online.
    It is a disaster since they decided to issue new account numbers without properly updated the system.
    I am ready to go back with Reliant or any other co.better than this.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dc from Houston, TX on May 23rd, 2020
    Customer Service is Nonexistent
    I just want to warn everybody I know to stay away from Stream Energy! My parents have been loyal customers for years now. But since my Dad (88 yrs) got cancer and had to move in with my sister, they have been trying to charge them a $250 early termination fee. Each time we have contacted them to get the fee dropped, they have given us a different hoop to jump through saying the previous one wasn't good enough. Nobody we talked to in Customer Support speaks English as their first language and some of them you can't understand half of what they're saying and they can't understand you. I have spent several days worth of time working on this and that doesn't count the time my mother spent before me. We were both left on hold multiple times for over an hour and finally hung up. I regret recommending Stream to her. As soon as my contract expires, I WILL be switching to another provider.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Ruth from Humble, TX on September 24th, 2019
    Be careful! Make sure to pick a plan that fits for you not for them!
    I signed up with stream because I trusted my leasing agent(which happens to be friends with the stream sales agent). They both told me that I would stay under 500 kWh in a 1 bedroom apartment. I signed up with 5 days left in the month. They put me in a $55 monthly plan. SO guess what? I paid $55 for my first month for only 100kwh usage. By then i already knew i would not be staying under 500 kWh! and i brought this to her attention. So she calls "stream customer service" and the stream cust service gets me a $15 credit on my first bill. Second month comes around and guess what? Im over 500 kWh by almost 200 kWh. So im paying .11 a kWh and i bring this to her attention again. She basically tells me that its still a better rate than most places anyway, but she would send me a gift card to my favorite place. Its been two months. No gift card. no credit. I've complained to her every single month and every single month I use more and more energy. Ive asked her if there is any way she can move me to a different plan. This plan does not work for me! i'm at 970+ kWh every month. Have yet to pay a $55 bill. I should have done my research. These people are trained to sell you without educating you. They just want you to shut up and pay your bill and continue being ignorant. I wish I would have taken more time to do my research because so many other companies offer better promotions.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Eprz69 from Houston, TX on June 19th, 2018
    Final bill issues
    Cancelled service a few months ago but never received final bill. Today I noticed I had been sent to collections and reported on my credit report ....but never received a final bill. I was told the bill should have arrived in December. Wouldn't u think they would have tried to contact me again before sending to collections. No email or final notice. And the manager never apologized and says he doesn't feel they did anything wrong. Thank u Justin C.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE from Houston, TX on April 5th, 2018
    Don't leave them you will pay
    I left Stream Energy after my bill kept going up. Now after the 2nd month they send me to a collection agency about a so called March Bill I didn't pay. After I showed proof it was all paid they said ohhh no that's a fee for leaving before my contract was up.....after I showed proof I didn't all of a sudden ohhhhh its a fee for not letting them know I was leaving a month before I left......Its like they are trying to get more money out of me.....Better Business Bureau will here from me.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    UPSET from Brady, TX on August 8th, 2017
    Rip Off!!!
    Stream Energy had the wrong apartment number on my account. I didn't receive a bill thinking I had automatic bank draft. Once I called and got everything corrected, I called them to dispute the disconnect, reconnect, and late payment fee. Manager John said he couldn't give me a credit even though he could see my bill was going to the wrong address. Had to file a complaint. Let's see how THAT works out.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Ella from Houston, TX on August 3rd, 2017


    Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

    260 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 1 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Terrible customer service, price gouging . Im being charged for disconnection and reconnection when my service was not disconnected or reconnected.
    The worst electric company , your price goes up even with the same usage.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Nyoka Mcgregor from Houston, TX on September 9th, 2021
    Not worth it
    I noticed my bill increased even though I was supposed to be on a fixed rate plan. I called and tried to move my service and was on hold two hours before I decided to hang up and try again later. NO ONE should have to wait 2 hours and still not able to receive help. I'm truly disappointed.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Unhappy Customer from Houston, TX on July 29th, 2021
    Poor customer service
    Called and tried to have the service transferred to my new address but was told that service was not available. I then requested to have power disconnected at the old location. unknowingly this was only a sales consultant . I was never told otherwise and considered it taken care of. Until i get a shock on my credit report for 146.00 dollars. after several attempts to get a certified customer rep I was told I never called to disconnect. I then told the rep that if I had not called how would I know they didn't offer service at my current location The only answer as I'm sorry Please be aware this company makes it hard to get the power turned off Its almost like the dish network equipment scam . were they disconnect and 3 months later bill you 500 dollars for equipment.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    James Marling from on June 10th, 2021
    NOT WORTH IT!!
    You can buy all the games you want but what they dont tell you is that you need a certain server to play some games!! THERE ARE NO REFUNDS!! and you wont find out what severs you need TILL AFTER you make a purchase!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    DJ143D from 89052 on June 9th, 2021
    Shady Business
    I previously had service with Stream that ended in 2017, it is now May of 2021. A random bill from Stream shows up on my credit report. 4 YEARS LATER!! I call to investigate. They say that I didn't cancel my service. Oh, really? Just so happens that I have the cancellation email. Does that matter?? No, they say my account was closed for lack of payment. BS! And it's for almost double my average bill during that time. Big Businesses are nothing more than crooks. So, my email is the same as it was then, but you don't email me to say that I have an outstanding bill, instead you go to the trouble to hire the worst rated collection agency I could find online, split what you say I owe with them, instead of contacting me directly?? Then their comeback is.. we sent you a final bill to the address of service. Geniuses aren't they?? The address where "I" cancelled service. After working very hard to improve my credit score, they managed to drop my score 60 points!! 4 years later!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Damon from Houston, TX on May 17th, 2021
    BAD COMPANY
    How are they charging me for a week of no power during the winter storm that we had in February. I have gone back and forth with them to no help. Then he tells me that they this smart meter and if I wanted to I could go read it to see for myself. HOWWWWW! My meter box has a lock on it due to neighbors had before and so I never removed it. Ugh, I am so done with this company. I am changing them and please if anyone is reading this please choose someone else.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Lynn from Round Rock, TX on May 3rd, 2021
    Pathetic
    Like others, all of a sudden our bill doubled. They said it was accurate. We have never had a bill almost 500.00 in the middle of summer. They said it was because we average bill. We have done that with every company in the 30 years we have lived here. NEVER had a bill this high. Be careful, they dont warn you when its time to renew and you get whatever rate hike they see fit.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Pissed from Midland, TX on March 8th, 2021
    New Service Order
    I was informed that because I am a disabled Senior Citizen on SSDI I could qualify for a waived deposit. I provided the information they requested, and it has been almost a month, and they are saying my account is not active because the information I provided is not what they need even though I sent what they requested of me. Stream is trying to impose a 1/2 deposit fee on me in Texas during the Texas Storm Power Outage clean-up. I do not feel Stream is operating in integrity. I was disconnected from the call, and not able to fill out my survey at the end of my call.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    C Kaye from Houston, TX on February 22nd, 2021
    WORST COMPANY EVER!!! AVOID AT ALL COST!!!
    I just got off the phone with this HORRIBLE company and its the BIGGEST SCAM EVER!!! I just moved back from OK after being gone from the state for 7 yrs and never had bills as high as I have them now. My bill for Jan was $272.00...HOWWWW???!!!! No one lives in my home except me and I work 60 HOURS/ WEEK. I signed up for weekly stats of my electricity and noticed that my daily price NEVER CHANGED....EVEN WHEN I WASNT HOME!!! I turn everything off when I leave and go to work. My tv stays off. I dont have a washer/dryer, and I turn the heating system OFF WHEN I LEAVE!!! The only thing running is what I cant turn off which is the fridge and the stove. After my bill from last month, I decided to take pictures and realized that my meter is SOMEHOW still being able to calculate 30/40 kwh for the day even when NOTHING IS ON!!! HOW IS THAT!!! The new bill came out today and it was $250.00. Now if Im turning everything off when I leave, how is it that the bill only went down $20.00? When I called in today, I was told that Im being charged a competitive rate for my area. Why is that when Im on FLAT RATE BILLING?!!!! Everytime, I asked the representative for their names and ID numbers, I got the run around. One dude transferred me because Im asked him that. Why would transfer someone and your job is to provide your name ANYWAY??!!! RED FLAGS ALL THROUGHOUT THE CONVERSATION. The lady told me that in order to get an extension for service, I had to pay $80.00 today to get an extension until Tuesday when I got paid after 5 pm. When I asked to be transferred to a supervisor, he said $8.52 to get an extension until Tuesday. RED FLAG!!!! When they turn your service off, its an automatic $50.00 to your bill. They are also turning my lights off in the cold weather. Its going to be in the negative here in Texas Monday night...I will be in the dark by noon on Tuesday if I cant pay my bill and I dont get paid until after 5pm. This is the worst company ever. You know people scamming when you cant get simple information such as their names and IDs to verify their information. If I want my meter read, its my RESPONSIBILTY to call ONCOR MYSELF, yet STREAM EBNERGY SAID THAT IT WOULD BE A $60 TO $100 CHARGE IF THEY COME OUT!!! How in the hell you gone charge me for something that I HAVE TO DO MYSELF???!!! I hope that this company goes out of business, but hey wont. All these electric companies and energy sources are in it together. This is ridiculous and for a single person like me thats having to pay a competitve rate when I dont have a FULL FAMILY IN MY HOME LIKE OTHERS is baffling to me. Why did I sign up for a flat rate then. I hope that Ill be able to sue for turnign my lights off in inclement weather...Screw this Company!!! I hope my review STOPS PEOPLE FROM GETTING THEM!!! Single people with no children DONT GET ANY BREAKS. Im paying for other peoples household with that competitive rate bs...NOT COOL AT ALL...I signed up for a FLAT RATE!!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    NICOLE COX from Fort Worth, TX on February 13th, 2021
    HORRIBLE ELECTRCITY COMPANY
    I'm new to Texas and cut the electricity on in 22 September and I did the option to where I pay the $200 deposit in 3 payments along with the bill ( the provided that option due to being in the military). A week later I received an email stating I asked for my service to be cut off, and they sent me a bill of $200 and over. I called and spoke to several manager and they assured me it will be corrected. I asked how much would my bill be and they could never tell me. They never called me and updated me on anything and I had a $400 bill to pay in December. Now in 22 January my bill is $230 with late fees and everything, in which I paid the other balance in full already. The company is a rip off and I will be disconnecting my service with them.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    STREAM ELECTRICITY from Killeen, TX on January 22nd, 2021


    Electric Plans & Rates


    Recommended Plans
    All Plans
    Plan Name
    Company
    Length
    Price
    Rate Stability
    15 Month Fixed Rate
    15 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • 24 Month Bill Credit