Reviews Overview
The best review categories for Stream Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 2.4 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.4 of 5.
5 Stars
13%
 
4 Stars
11%
 
3 Stars
5%
 
2 Stars
7%
 
1 Stars
65%
 


Jump To

Recent Good Review from Chelsea

Significantly lowered my rate
I had a personal account rep who took care of everything. Very knowledgeable. I was able to signup seamlessly and literally cut my bill in half.. Previous provider was Just energy. Was great till they jacked my rate up to .22 cents/kwh.
Now I have a great plan and with a fixed rate. No service issues to speak of.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chelsea from Pearland, TX on February 11th, 2020


Our Analysis of Stream Energy

Community Outreach
0.0 / 5
Community Outreach looks at a provider's involvement in its community and giving back. This score includes carbon footprint involvements, charity programs for customers, charity involvement, employee engagement programs and volunteering.
Complaint Resolution
0.0 / 5
Complaint Resolution looks at how a provider responds to customers' concerns and find solutions to their problems. This score is tied to customer service complaint surveys, responsiveness, handle times, linguistic options, and cost to serve.
Innovation
0.0 / 5
Innovation looks at new products, environmental and industry advancement, and market leadership. This score includes involvement in improving the environment, providing tools for customers to be more efficient and reduce overall cost of energy and consumption (ie: smart thermostats and other home products, usage emails and summaries, solar partnerships, etc)
Market Perception
0.0 / 5
Market Perception is an average score from other market scores and resources such as the Better Business Bureau, Public Utility Commission of Texas, and other 3rd party surveys.
Plans & Products
0.0 / 5
We looked at providers' product mix, types of plans, accessibility and incentives. This score is based on a review of non-traditional products, tiered pricing, green plans, and prepay options. It is also based on accessibility by measuring deposit options, payment amounts, credit requirements, base charges and monthly recurring charges, and finally incentives; gift cards, bill credits and customer rewards.
Rewards
0.0 / 5
Rewards looks at the type of incentives the provider offers its customers to keep them satisfied and engaged with their energy company. This score includes rewards offered, such as gift cards, bill-credits, free power, renewal products and refer-a-friends programs.


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

50 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Significantly lowered my rate
I had a personal account rep who took care of everything. Very knowledgeable. I was able to signup seamlessly and literally cut my bill in half.. Previous provider was Just energy. Was great till they jacked my rate up to .22 cents/kwh.
Now I have a great plan and with a fixed rate. No service issues to speak of.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Chelsea from Pearland, TX on February 11th, 2020
Switched & Saved - for years
Since my husband switched to Stream in 2005, we have been overwhelmingly pleased with the service and rates that we have. There are no hidden fees and the bills are really low in cost compared to the previous company! Thank you, Stream!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terri from Pilot Point, TX on February 10th, 2020
Carolynn J.
I have been w/Stream for a few years and happy! Low rates, good customer service, etc.!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Carolynn Johnson from La Porte, TX on November 11th, 2019
Stream Energy #1 in my books
I have been with stream energy for over 10 years stream energy still have good low plans , good prices and good customer service .etc.,,
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Merlinder A. from Mesquite, TX on June 7th, 2019
Review on stream energy
We have been with Stream Energy for 3 years now we love the price that we get they have great customer service they have been a pleasure to be with and we will continue to be with Stream Energy thank you for all y'all do
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Courtni from Tyler, TX on April 30th, 2019
Stream saved my business tons of money
I switched to using their electricity, plus we switched all of our employees' phone services and have saved thousands of dollars over the last 2 years.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy Customer from Sealy, TX on November 3rd, 2018
Great Company & Service
Streams website is easy to understand, customer representatives are friendly and efficient in resolving issues and their rates are low. Im a satisfied Stream Customer!
Thank you Stream!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

H. Dean from Watauga, TX on June 18th, 2018
Love Stream
Been a customer for over ten years and can't commend this company enough. Keep up the great work Stream! Texas based and Texas proud!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

S. Palacios from Weslaco, TX on December 10th, 2017
Great company!
Great company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Paige from Dallas, TX on August 29th, 2017
Awesome service
I even get free energy just as the associate said.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

D Helps from Fort Worth, TX on June 25th, 2017


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

44 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
They are professional
I have approximately 10 years with Stream Energy and in all these years everything has gone very well it has never really gone extremely high and now I have to renew my contract in a couple of months and I will do it again
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mayela Nielsen from Farmers Branch, TX on November 13th, 2019
Service
Been with stream for a year now never had any problems with my bill or customer servixe
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sharon from Houston, TX on May 29th, 2018
Jude avant`
Stream energy has always given us the best rates for electrical consuption.
the only fault that i find with them is difficulty in paying bills , communication in general
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jude Avant from Grand Prairie on October 11th, 2015
Would recommend
Been with Stream for nine years and have not had a single issue. I have called Customer Service a couple of times with questions, and the only real trouble I've had with CS is a brief wait time to reach a live person. (This is no different from my previous provider.) I receive notices with my bill at least two months before my contract expires, plenty of time to choose a new plan.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

C Leo from Plano on November 19th, 2014
Much lower rates with Stream
My monthly electricity bills are consistently about 1/3 lower with Stream over my previous supplier. That's a huge amount of money that now stays in my pocket.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Susan from Dallas on October 16th, 2014
Great Rates Great Company
Stream has excellent rates and allows you to lock the rates in. Energy rates like every other commodity fluctuate in price. If you are not on a contract you will be subject to prices that fluctuate based on market conditions. If you are paying your bill on time there should not be a need to call customer service. Most issues can be handled online which helps reduce cost got the company and the customer. If you have a low rate locked in and your bill is high it's because of usage or usage that was reported. That has nothing to do with the Eletricity company no matter who you have. Educate yourself on how your bill is comprised and what entities are responsible for each area of your billing.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shelton from Killeen on April 24th, 2014
Awesome!
Switched to Stream in 2005. Previously with 2 different companies. Have had excellent service, rates and experience. When I compare my bills with friends and neighbors who are not with Stream, mine are the best. Thank you Stream for continuing to provide great rates and customer service!!

Regarding other's negative remarks.... I haven't seen or heard of a perfect company out there. That said, I do believe and have seen Stream care and go above and beyond in customer service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nancy Morrish from Mesquite on February 28th, 2014
Better price for electricity
I love this power company! I was forced to use a Co-op when I lived in the rural area, and when I move to the city I discovered how cheap electricity can be...comparatively speaking. I have a personal representative who lets me know when my contract is going to expire so I can re-up at the best going rate. Stream and my Ignite rep are the best way I have found to get my retail electricity service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

S B Bird from Waco on November 4th, 2013
Excellent service, excellent prices!
I switched because a friend explained that Stream doesn't advertise, and passes the savings along in their rates. I checked the rates, did some research, and was disgusted to learn I'd been paying way more with Reliant than I would be with Stream.

Switched to Stream, set up my online billing, and started getting lower electric bills right off the bat.

I have not needed customer service, so can't rate that accurately. I do recommend Stream.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike M from Houston on September 2nd, 2013
I Love this Company.
Ever Since I switched energy companies I have saved so much money on my light bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Priscilla from Houston on April 12th, 2012


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

18 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Current customer
Ive had Stream Energy since 2016 and I dont have any complaints with the price or having outages itself. Its mainly the customer service that drives me insane. The wait times are long no matter what time you call, and when you finally do get a rep 9 times out of 10 theyre rude and dont know what theyre talking about. Every time I call I usually get transferred 2-3 times because lack of knowledge unless Im only strictly calling about my bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Selena Vee from Odessa, TX on July 1st, 2019
My payment was posted to the wrong account
Never had a problem until now...I understand my bill was past due but I made my payment on 12/8 and it was due to be disconnected 12/11 if no payment was received...On 12/14 my lights were turned off because they claimed they didn't get my payment...I sent proof of bank statement and still it wasn't located...I called 12/20 about 3pm to check the status and the CSR said that there weren't any notes on my account about my non payment situation...So i went to my bank and had all bank statements printed up until May of this year to show proof of previous payments and emailed that to them...Then I called back about 5pm on 12/20 to make sure they received the email the rep told me that at 2pm my payment was found on the wrong account and transfered to my account...Even though I was grateful that my payment was found the rep couldn't explain how it is that I called through the payment system and still my payment went to the wrong account...My lights were turned off while I had a sick son at home but it was their fault of were my payment went and all I get is I'm sorry Ma'am...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kat Gilstrap from Watauga, TX on December 21st, 2018
Best rate in Abilene TX
Best rate you can find in Abilene TX , as long as you pay your bill on time each month
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lisa Williams from Abilene on June 24th, 2014
Ok while under contract then POW!
Was billed through my regular electric company so no changes there. Under contract for 2 yrs., when that was over my bills for the next 3 months, until I switched back were outrageous. I paid almost $400 month, was told that my bills would have been more than $100 less with previous company. When I called to switch back & complained, I was told that it was because my contract was up, and they could offer me another contract. No thank-you!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Donna Webb from Villas on March 26th, 2014
No problems in two years of service
I have had Stream for two years. Contract is up in April. They have contacted me via e-mail, phone and snail mail notifying me contract was due to end. The rate I have now is lower than what the renewal rate is and I can't find another company that is lower. I have auto payment through my credit card. I'll sign up with Stream again. Setting up initial service is quite cumbersome, but renewing is easy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jodi L. from Houston on February 8th, 2014
Killeen
They are by far the cheapest company here in killeen. Haven't seem
to run into any issues other than their very rude customer service.
Have never been late or missed a payment except for one time
when I was in the field I called a day late and they were completely
rude Like it was her money. I felt as if I forgot to pay her directly.
The customer serivce needs to change
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Danielle from Killeen on May 1st, 2012
Gunnerbb
I had no problems with Stream for the two years I was with them, but, when I tried to sign up again they did not want to talk to me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

A.J. McCann from Santa Fe on June 24th, 2011
Evolving Company
I have been with Stream for a few years now. They have now incorporated better services and payment options that makes me hesitant to join a competing company. They have always given notices and reminders when I forget to pay, and never quickly to jump on cutting the power. They have even removed some fee's for me a few times. The prices aren't the absolute lowest, but peace of mind is worth more than $2-$3 a month.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Robert from Kemah on March 17th, 2011
Going Elsewhere for a better rate.
Going Elsewhere for a better rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Avalon Pyramid Dojo from Princeton on March 7th, 2011
Pleased!!
I am another customer who is actually writing to say something good. I switched from Txu charging me 13 cent a kwh, and I locked in with stream at 8cent numbers don't lie. So I have been very pleased with the price difference. I pay by bill on time so have no reason to deal with customer service or have my electric cut off. But like everything else everyones experiences are different.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous from Grand Prairie on January 3rd, 2011


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

27 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Collection department.
After I cancel my service I call them twice to make sure my balance is paid off. The gentleman that answer my phone call said my balance is $0.00 Now I get a collection letter with balance of $51.00, I call them and all what I get is
" I sorry there is nothing I can do" even when was theirs fault.
Now they hurt my credit for life thanks to theirs " profesional " workers.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Isael J from Spring, TX on August 4th, 2020
Inconsistent with bogus charges
My bill is due different days every month. Not a big deal but sucks trying to remember to pay your bill when it could be due either at the beginning, middle, or end of each month. Have had to pay late bills simply because I was confused when it was due. I don't get anything in the mail and have to check my email constantly if I want to avoid late payments. And at first, I was paying around $62 a month. That was in the winter with the heaters running all the time and me being home consistently. Now, without even being at my house for 2 and a half weeks out of the month with the AC off and almost nothing plugged in (absolutely nothing powered on), I'm paying $117. Sometimes the delivery charge is $14 and sometimes its up to $28. With that and the mandatory $10 "minimum usage fee" (which doesn't make sense or seem necessary unless you didn't meet the minimum energy requirements) a quarter of your bill isn't even from your actual energy usage. I see why they force you into year long contracts now and why more people are living off-grid.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anon from Del Rio, TX on July 20th, 2020
Billing and account
Their system sucks! I can not even pay my bill online.
It is a disaster since they decided to issue new account numbers without properly updated the system.
I am ready to go back with Reliant or any other co.better than this.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dc from Sugarland, TX on May 23rd, 2020
Customer Service is Nonexistent
I just want to warn everybody I know to stay away from Stream Energy! My parents have been loyal customers for years now. But since my Dad (88 yrs) got cancer and had to move in with my sister, they have been trying to charge them a $250 early termination fee. Each time we have contacted them to get the fee dropped, they have given us a different hoop to jump through saying the previous one wasn't good enough. Nobody we talked to in Customer Support speaks English as their first language and some of them you can't understand half of what they're saying and they can't understand you. I have spent several days worth of time working on this and that doesn't count the time my mother spent before me. We were both left on hold multiple times for over an hour and finally hung up. I regret recommending Stream to her. As soon as my contract expires, I WILL be switching to another provider.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ruth from Kingwood, TX on September 24th, 2019
Be careful! Make sure to pick a plan that fits for you not for them!
I signed up with stream because I trusted my leasing agent(which happens to be friends with the stream sales agent). They both told me that I would stay under 500 kWh in a 1 bedroom apartment. I signed up with 5 days left in the month. They put me in a $55 monthly plan. SO guess what? I paid $55 for my first month for only 100kwh usage. By then i already knew i would not be staying under 500 kWh! and i brought this to her attention. So she calls "stream customer service" and the stream cust service gets me a $15 credit on my first bill. Second month comes around and guess what? Im over 500 kWh by almost 200 kWh. So im paying .11 a kWh and i bring this to her attention again. She basically tells me that its still a better rate than most places anyway, but she would send me a gift card to my favorite place. Its been two months. No gift card. no credit. I've complained to her every single month and every single month I use more and more energy. Ive asked her if there is any way she can move me to a different plan. This plan does not work for me! i'm at 970+ kWh every month. Have yet to pay a $55 bill. I should have done my research. These people are trained to sell you without educating you. They just want you to shut up and pay your bill and continue being ignorant. I wish I would have taken more time to do my research because so many other companies offer better promotions.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eprz69 from Houston, TX on June 19th, 2018
Final bill issues
Cancelled service a few months ago but never received final bill. Today I noticed I had been sent to collections and reported on my credit report ....but never received a final bill. I was told the bill should have arrived in December. Wouldn't u think they would have tried to contact me again before sending to collections. No email or final notice. And the manager never apologized and says he doesn't feel they did anything wrong. Thank u Justin C.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE from Houston, TX on April 5th, 2018
Don't leave them you will pay
I left Stream Energy after my bill kept going up. Now after the 2nd month they send me to a collection agency about a so called March Bill I didn't pay. After I showed proof it was all paid they said ohhh no that's a fee for leaving before my contract was up.....after I showed proof I didn't all of a sudden ohhhhh its a fee for not letting them know I was leaving a month before I left......Its like they are trying to get more money out of me.....Better Business Bureau will here from me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

UPSET from Brady, TX on August 8th, 2017
Rip Off!!!
Stream Energy had the wrong apartment number on my account. I didn't receive a bill thinking I had automatic bank draft. Once I called and got everything corrected, I called them to dispute the disconnect, reconnect, and late payment fee. Manager John said he couldn't give me a credit even though he could see my bill was going to the wrong address. Had to file a complaint. Let's see how THAT works out.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ella from Houston, TX on August 3rd, 2017
Used to be good,, horrible now
I have had stream since 2008 and have been very satisfied but within the last 3-4 years the customer service has become so frustratingly awfully. I feel dirty when I get off the phone with them. like they're going to do what they want and there's nothing u can do about it. I am going to leave this company. I have never had an issue paying my bill. Sometimes their system would be glich-y when they were new, I was patient. Now if their system goofs and they call me and ask me to submit payment again, a non refundable non payment fee is added to the next bill and no one wants to look into it.!!! they are saying I have a better rate than last year so even with the extra fee my bill is still reasonable so I have no reason to complain????!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alystee from Euless on October 14th, 2016
Billing
I have been with Stream Energy for 6 years, never having any problems with my bills being payed by computer banking. Well, a hell broke loose when I payed a bill for a months service and was as usual billed for the next months service. I never anticipated any issues with the next bill until I noticed that the previous months charges were put onto the new months bill. When I called customer service, I first was confronted with individuals that lack proper communication skills. It was very difficult to understand the representatives but after repeating my story to the person, all I could get was that I did not pay the previous months bill and it was added onto the next months billing cycle. I tried repeatedly to explain, without success that I payed the bill twice but I could not get through to this person because he relied on what was in front of him on their computer. My attempts to settle this issue started on July 24, 2015 and continued on till this day, Sept.29, 2015. I made 6 attempts to settle this problem but each time it was having to explain to each and everyone the entire story of what happened about the bill. Each time it was difficult communicating with their representatives. I finally turned this issue over the our Public Service Commission only to have one of the representative from their corporate office call and pretty much put the entire problem onto me. While attempting to explain the issue, I was accused of being hostile, uncooperative and all of this incident was going to be reported back to the Public Service Commission. I was so angered by the disrespect exhibit towards me that I had to report the incident to the PSC. Along with their representatives lacking proper communication skills, their corporate personal lack customer service skills. I would warn people that in the event there is an issue with anything about your service, be prepared to get frustrated having to repeat yourself to people on the other end of the phone who don't understand you. Being disabled and on a fixed income, the small amount in question is important to me. The monies could go to my medications. I know thats not a concern with these people but after faxing my proof of my payment, one can see why I am so angry and frustrated with these people. With proof in their hands, they are not doing a thing to resolve this issue. I am so disappointed by the way I have been treated. Six years of service but now I see its time to seek other services. Take heed, pay your bills with a check so one has a paper trail. Stream Energy will not accept proof of payment from your computer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Alexander Ramos from Augusta on September 29th, 2015


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

254 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Pathetic
Like others, all of a sudden our bill doubled. They said it was accurate. We have never had a bill almost 500.00 in the middle of summer. They said it was because we average bill. We have done that with every company in the 30 years we have lived here. NEVER had a bill this high. Be careful, they dont warn you when its time to renew and you get whatever rate hike they see fit.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pissed from Midland, TX on March 8th, 2021
New Service Order
I was informed that because I am a disabled Senior Citizen on SSDI I could qualify for a waived deposit. I provided the information they requested, and it has been almost a month, and they are saying my account is not active because the information I provided is not what they need even though I sent what they requested of me. Stream is trying to impose a 1/2 deposit fee on me in Texas during the Texas Storm Power Outage clean-up. I do not feel Stream is operating in integrity. I was disconnected from the call, and not able to fill out my survey at the end of my call.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

C Kaye from Houston, TX on February 22nd, 2021
WORST COMPANY EVER!!! AVOID AT ALL COST!!!
I just got off the phone with this HORRIBLE company and its the BIGGEST SCAM EVER!!! I just moved back from OK after being gone from the state for 7 yrs and never had bills as high as I have them now. My bill for Jan was $272.00...HOWWWW???!!!! No one lives in my home except me and I work 60 HOURS/ WEEK. I signed up for weekly stats of my electricity and noticed that my daily price NEVER CHANGED....EVEN WHEN I WASNT HOME!!! I turn everything off when I leave and go to work. My tv stays off. I dont have a washer/dryer, and I turn the heating system OFF WHEN I LEAVE!!! The only thing running is what I cant turn off which is the fridge and the stove. After my bill from last month, I decided to take pictures and realized that my meter is SOMEHOW still being able to calculate 30/40 kwh for the day even when NOTHING IS ON!!! HOW IS THAT!!! The new bill came out today and it was $250.00. Now if Im turning everything off when I leave, how is it that the bill only went down $20.00? When I called in today, I was told that Im being charged a competitive rate for my area. Why is that when Im on FLAT RATE BILLING?!!!! Everytime, I asked the representative for their names and ID numbers, I got the run around. One dude transferred me because Im asked him that. Why would transfer someone and your job is to provide your name ANYWAY??!!! RED FLAGS ALL THROUGHOUT THE CONVERSATION. The lady told me that in order to get an extension for service, I had to pay $80.00 today to get an extension until Tuesday when I got paid after 5 pm. When I asked to be transferred to a supervisor, he said $8.52 to get an extension until Tuesday. RED FLAG!!!! When they turn your service off, its an automatic $50.00 to your bill. They are also turning my lights off in the cold weather. Its going to be in the negative here in Texas Monday night...I will be in the dark by noon on Tuesday if I cant pay my bill and I dont get paid until after 5pm. This is the worst company ever. You know people scamming when you cant get simple information such as their names and IDs to verify their information. If I want my meter read, its my RESPONSIBILTY to call ONCOR MYSELF, yet STREAM EBNERGY SAID THAT IT WOULD BE A $60 TO $100 CHARGE IF THEY COME OUT!!! How in the hell you gone charge me for something that I HAVE TO DO MYSELF???!!! I hope that this company goes out of business, but hey wont. All these electric companies and energy sources are in it together. This is ridiculous and for a single person like me thats having to pay a competitve rate when I dont have a FULL FAMILY IN MY HOME LIKE OTHERS is baffling to me. Why did I sign up for a flat rate then. I hope that Ill be able to sue for turnign my lights off in inclement weather...Screw this Company!!! I hope my review STOPS PEOPLE FROM GETTING THEM!!! Single people with no children DONT GET ANY BREAKS. Im paying for other peoples household with that competitive rate bs...NOT COOL AT ALL...I signed up for a FLAT RATE!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

NICOLE COX from White Settlement, TX on February 13th, 2021
HORRIBLE ELECTRCITY COMPANY
I'm new to Texas and cut the electricity on in 22 September and I did the option to where I pay the $200 deposit in 3 payments along with the bill ( the provided that option due to being in the military). A week later I received an email stating I asked for my service to be cut off, and they sent me a bill of $200 and over. I called and spoke to several manager and they assured me it will be corrected. I asked how much would my bill be and they could never tell me. They never called me and updated me on anything and I had a $400 bill to pay in December. Now in 22 January my bill is $230 with late fees and everything, in which I paid the other balance in full already. The company is a rip off and I will be disconnecting my service with them.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

STREAM ELECTRICITY from Killeen, TX on January 22nd, 2021
Collections??
We cancelled our service and paid our final bill on the phone with customer service. Several months later, our account went to collections claiming we owe them money. Our account has said we owe $0 since we cancelled. Where did this charge come from? NEVER USE STREAM. THEY'LL DESTROY YOUR CREDIT WITHOUT ANY WARNING.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Angry Customer from Corpus Christi, TX on January 4th, 2021
California to Texas mover
I had no idea how to choose an energy company this one was reccomended. Paying like 15 cents plus additional TPU charges. My bill has been 2X higher. They offer me a renewal at 10.2 cents but still higher than what the current low is for what I'm using which is like 8.8 with no hidden fees. Not the lowest out there. Using the advertised energy finders are all money makers. Finally I clicked on a link from my local city that sent me called power to choose. Free at last.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CAtoTXMover from Grand Prairi, TX on December 17th, 2020
PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE DONT
Omg..Where do I begin..I'm a previous customer of Stream Energy and I must say, what a terrifying experience Its been with these fools...first off when I first signed up they tied me into a 3YEAR contract ( that should have been a red flag) and was told that the cancellation fee was gonna be $300 (another red flag)...I live in a 800 square feet...1 bedroom apt..my Bill's were consistently over $200/month..
I called and called trying to find out why my bill was so high. But everytime I called, the customer service rep would beat around the bush trying to offer me $10 off etc...I finally switched to another provider cuz I was being suffocated to death with the BRUTALITY of the bills...I recently got a nasty notice from these damn fools threatening me that they are gonna send me to collections and ruin my credit..I switched services barely a month ago and the final bill just came in the mail today..not only could i not believe the final bill ($669), but the letter was so nasty and threatening my credit..I'm getting ready to bring them to the attention of the media so everyone will know how nasty they are...Please DO NOT GO WITH Stream Energy...They will RUIN YOU..also spread the word to everyone one you know..I want these devils to get HIT where it hurts..IN THE POCKETS.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dj from Houston, TX on November 21st, 2020
Scam if I ever knew one!
This has been the worst experience ever with any electrical company. They lock you into a contract and then the prices begin to fluctuate. We also dont get the regular bill but always get the disconnect notice that adds on an extra $20 to the bill every month. I wish we wouldve never signed up for this company now were stuck paying $300 to get out of a contract which will honestly just save us mor money in the long run because thats how much service is costing us every two months. Do your research and choose another company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Taylor from Webster, TX on November 12th, 2020
Cheaters
After 7/8 years of being without this company, they decide to call me and say I have a outstanding balance and that they would go to court if I didnt pay it. This is absolutely ridiculous because i paid all of the bills.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nic from Richmond, TX on October 22nd, 2020
Requesting new service
On hold at time of this writing for over 3 hours, still holding, spoke with DeAnthony, Jose, Sewena, Carlos, Amanda, John, Kevin. Still no service, holding to get account established. I don't know what has happened to this company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Willie Ruiz from Wall, TX on October 15th, 2020


Recommended Electricity Plans