We currently recommend electricity plans from Pulse Power

Customer Service is Nonexistent

(2.4 / 5)

  I just want to warn everybody I know to stay away from Stream Energy! My parents have been loyal customers for years now. But since my Dad (88 yrs) got cancer and had to move in with my sister, they have been trying to charge them a $250 early termination fee. Each time we have contacted them to get the fee dropped, they have given us a different hoop to jump through saying the previous one wasn't good enough. Nobody we talked to in Customer Support speaks English as their first language and some of them you can't understand half of what they're saying and they can't understand you. I have spent several days worth of time working on this and that doesn't count the time my mother spent before me. We were both left on hold multiple times for over an hour and finally hung up. I regret recommending Stream to her. As soon as my contract expires, I WILL be switching to another provider.

Ruth from Humble
September 24th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Be careful! Make sure to pick a plan that fits for you not for them!

(2.8 / 5)

  I signed up with stream because I trusted my leasing agent(which happens to be friends with the stream sales agent). They both told me that I would stay under 500 kWh in a 1 bedroom apartment. I signed up with 5 days left in the month. They put me in a $55 monthly plan. SO guess what? I paid $55 for my first month for only 100kwh usage. By then i already knew i would not be staying under 500 kWh! and i brought this to her attention. So she calls "stream customer service" and the stream cust service gets me a $15 credit on my first bill. Second month comes around and guess what? Im over 500 kWh by almost 200 kWh. So im paying .11 a kWh and i bring this to her attention again. She basically tells me that its still a better rate than most places anyway, but she would send me a gift card to my favorite place. Its been two months. No gift card. no credit. I've complained to her every single month and every single month I use more and more energy. Ive asked her if there is any way she can move me to a different plan. This plan does not work for me! i'm at 970+ kWh every month. Have yet to pay a $55 bill. I should have done my research. These people are trained to sell you without educating you. They just want you to shut up and pay your bill and continue being ignorant. I wish I would have taken more time to do my research because so many other companies offer better promotions.

eprz69 from Houston
June 19th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Final bill issues

(2 / 5)

  Cancelled service a few months ago but never received final bill. Today I noticed I had been sent to collections and reported on my credit report ....but never received a final bill. I was told the bill should have arrived in December. Wouldn't u think they would have tried to contact me again before sending to collections. No email or final notice. And the manager never apologized and says he doesn't feel they did anything wrong. Thank u Justin C.

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE from Houston
April 5th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't leave them you will pay

(2 / 5)

  I left Stream Energy after my bill kept going up. Now after the 2nd month they send me to a collection agency about a so called March Bill I didn't pay. After I showed proof it was all paid they said ohhh no that's a fee for leaving before my contract was up.....after I showed proof I didn't all of a sudden ohhhhh its a fee for not letting them know I was leaving a month before I left......Its like they are trying to get more money out of me.....Better Business Bureau will here from me.

UPSET from Brady
August 8th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip Off!!!

(2 / 5)

  Stream Energy had the wrong apartment number on my account. I didn't receive a bill thinking I had automatic bank draft. Once I called and got everything corrected, I called them to dispute the disconnect, reconnect, and late payment fee. Manager John said he couldn't give me a credit even though he could see my bill was going to the wrong address. Had to file a complaint. Let's see how THAT works out.

Ella from Houston
August 3rd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

used to be good,, horrible now

(2.2 / 5)

  I have had stream since 2008 and have been very satisfied but within the last 3-4 years the customer service has become so frustratingly awfully. I feel dirty when I get off the phone with them. like they're going to do what they want and there's nothing u can do about it. I am going to leave this company. I have never had an issue paying my bill. Sometimes their system would be glich-y when they were new, I was patient. Now if their system goofs and they call me and ask me to submit payment again, a non refundable non payment fee is added to the next bill and no one wants to look into it.!!! they are saying I have a better rate than last year so even with the extra fee my bill is still reasonable so I have no reason to complain????!!!!

alystee from Euless
October 14th, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing

(2.2 / 5)

  I have been with Stream Energy for 6 years, never having any problems with my bills being payed by computer banking. Well, a hell broke loose when I payed a bill for a months service and was as usual billed for the next months service. I never anticipated any issues with the next bill until I noticed that the previous months charges were put onto the new months bill. When I called customer service, I first was confronted with individuals that lack proper communication skills. It was very difficult to understand the representatives but after repeating my story to the person, all I could get was that I did not pay the previous months bill and it was added onto the next months billing cycle. I tried repeatedly to explain, without success that I payed the bill twice but I could not get through to this person because he relied on what was in front of him on their computer. My attempts to settle this issue started on July 24, 2015 and continued on till this day, Sept.29, 2015. I made 6 attempts to settle this problem but each time it was having to explain to each and everyone the entire story of what happened about the bill. Each time it was difficult communicating with their representatives. I finally turned this issue over the our Public Service Commission only to have one of the representative from their corporate office call and pretty much put the entire problem onto me. While attempting to explain the issue, I was accused of being hostile, uncooperative and all of this incident was going to be reported back to the Public Service Commission. I was so angered by the disrespect exhibit towards me that I had to report the incident to the PSC. Along with their representatives lacking proper communication skills, their corporate personal lack customer service skills. I would warn people that in the event there is an issue with anything about your service, be prepared to get frustrated having to repeat yourself to people on the other end of the phone who don't understand you. Being disabled and on a fixed income, the small amount in question is important to me. The monies could go to my medications. I know thats not a concern with these people but after faxing my proof of my payment, one can see why I am so angry and frustrated with these people. With proof in their hands, they are not doing a thing to resolve this issue. I am so disappointed by the way I have been treated. Six years of service but now I see its time to seek other services. Take heed, pay your bills with a check so one has a paper trail. Stream Energy will not accept proof of payment from your computer.

Alexander Ramos from AUGUSTA
September 29th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

dont switch to stream energy . its not worth it

(2.2 / 5)

  I was convinced by a friend to switch , " it will help me out and you will save Money !"
So I switched .... First bill came at $ 35 . i paid it 5 days early and it took them untill after the due date to prcess it ! then they had the you know whats to charge me 2.95 to pay it over the phone. i made a 1 year contract mistake . I hope you dont make the same ! P.S. In 25 years Ive never been late with TXU now the first payment is late with these idiots ...and they would'nt even note the account for me , please dont switch to them

john cambora from Fort Worth
April 30th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

you get ripped if you quit

(2 / 5)

  DO NOT USE STREAM ENERGY.
I changed providers because Stream was billing over 14 cents per KWH. We had sent in our previous bill but it had not shown up at Stream yet. We quit in between billing cycles but Stream immediately mailed out the final bill, which looked like it included the previous bill which had not arrived. We go another bill in the mail which was evidently not including the previous bill and was way over what we would normally pay. Our normal payment from them was about $200 a month. The final billing was about $350 for just 15 days of service. These people suck when it comes to keeping up with billing. They said it would go to a collection agency if we didn't pay this remainder even though we did make a payment during that last cycle. This company sucks.

Bill from Pasadena
October 25th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Customer Service

(2.2 / 5)

  Cheap service but horrible customer service. They don't have any direct lines so you speak to someone different every time. They do not send confirmation emails to ensure your problem is getting fixed which makes you have to call and follow up with several different people. They explain that they will notate your account so other representatives will understand your issue and they do not. I had my electricity out for two days because they processed my transfer of services way too early. For about a week I was told the situation would be handled, I had to call them four times. Changing to a different provider.

Amy from Houston
March 27th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT USE THEM EVER!!!!

(2.6 / 5)

  STREAM SCREWS the CONSUMER! With BOGUS billings that prey on the fact that people don't keep detailed records after a few years. Then they claim PAID COLLECTIONS never GOT PAID. I got you this time mofo's! No money orders this time - I have bank statements!!!!!!

CH from Dallas
December 12th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nice of them to take my money and not provide service!!!

(2.6 / 5)

  I pay all my bills at the same time. I had thought I paid the electric bill. I didn't get a second notice or anything but I got my power turned off. I have a smart meter so it's done quickly. I electronically sent payment. I was on the phone with them to keep asking when they could give the okay to the energy provider to turn service back on. Kept saying it would take a couple hours. Next day, I still did not have power. I got a proof of payment from my bank to see when they received the funds. They received my money the same day it was disconnected. I called customer service and then they said it would take 5 to 7 days to proccess the payment. I couldn't understand since it was in their hands electronically. Since they had my payment, why could they not turn my power on in this modern age of information technology?

Well they said they understood 5 to 7 days is a long time to go without power and said next time pay by phone instead of electronically. I said there will not be a next time and I jumped ship. I called TXU and got power less than two hours. Month later and just now they are hitting me up with an early cancellation charge of 250. I talked to a manager and he said I broke the contract for not paying for consumed service. I told him I was paid up in full and had proof and they broke the contract by not providing service. I'm going to see if I can fight them on the charge once I get the contract reviewed by the lawer.

Richard from Houston
November 2nd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Company won't survive with this customer service

(2.2 / 5)

  I currently have 3 stream electric accounts and
have done
business with for years. I am in the
investment business of
buying and selling homes, constantly needing
service turned on and
off. Getting new service with these guys is
the most painful
call I make. It always starts with a rep who
can't speak or communicate the English language
or read number back to you? After 30 minutes
of torture they tell me I have to pay a $250.00
deposit. I then ask to talk to a supervisor
and he says it's a new policy everyone pays a
$250 deposit for new service. What a shame....

Mr Sanders from Dallas
March 29th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

unwilling to help

(2.7 / 5)

  they have been an overall good place, but when it comes down to needing help they will help but only 4 times a year. then after that u must pay in full, they do not take into consideration, if u even pay 95 % of the bill (not pasted due)they will still cut u off. Great price but not so helpful when comes down the helping u keep your lights on! :/

Jessica
September 1st, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad Customer and Billing Experience

(2.4 / 5)

  this company has the worst customer service i have ever delt with. The agents are rude and there are no supervisors to help someone out. The only answer from the staff, that does not speak english very well is "am sorry I could not make you happy today." Very frustrating. Good luck if you use them , all they care about is the extra charges.

Damon Burlison from Dallas
December 3rd, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What happened to customer service?

(1.9 / 5)

  I was a loyal customer for over 6 years and referred many people to Stream without any compensation as they advertise and when I terminated my service 39 days before the 30 day grace period the charge was $250. They would not discount it in anyway. When I decided to try the new company it was with the knowledge that I would be able to come back to Stream but that will not happen. In the shape everyone is in today this is not the way to do business. Please check before you sign, the company I signed with is lower and I have it in writing that I will get compensation for referrals.

JoAnn West from Forney
July 13th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

dissapointment

(2.4 / 5)

  I've been with stream energy for almost 4 years and I have not been happy. The only reason I haven't changed company s is because I am so busy that I haven't had the chance to change. There are many other company s that are far better than stream energy. Their customer service is horrible.

Anonymous
May 23rd, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rates and Online OK, small call center

(2.8 / 5)

  I've been with Stream Electric for about a year. Both the rates that I got in an apartment and at a home are competitive, and at the lower end of the spectrum.
The online experience is good, and payments get posted to my account in a timely manner. The online site for them has comprehensive information about past history.
The worst issue that I had with them was when I moved. This required me to call, and I had over 30 minute wait time more than once. (I could not hold that long several times.) I did get through once, and they errored in moving my account, and did not get it done. I finally had to write them, which finally generated a phone call, just about the time that I was moving. (I was uncertain if I was going to get service!)
They need to beef up the call center, but the online experience is good.

Greg Rogers from Fort Worth
October 31st, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Online Interface, Average Pricing

(2.8 / 5)

  I've been with Stream almost a year, and will change the end of this month when my contract is up. Took a six month contract when my previous provider - National Pwr - dumped us all and moved out of state. They proactively let me renew - at a lower rate - after only 4 months of the contract. The online account information contains archived bills which I believe go back to the first bill. I would love to stay with them but for two things: 1) I can get my electricity cheaper from at least a dozen other REPs, and 2) They won't let you pay by credit card (so I can't put the perks on the MasterCard).

Mark from Pasadena
October 5th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Professional, courteous, and efficient!

(2.8 / 5)

  Helped my elderly neighbor upon request and was pleasantly suprised by the
thorough manner in which the customer support team proceeded. I later spoke
to her about her bill and she was elated with her $150-$200 monthly savings.
This was her third company to try.

She was so excited that she convinced her church to switch and reported to me
that they saved $1000.00 their first month alone! Thank you Stream Energy for
offering a refreshing choice! I have been burned repeatedly in the past by
what used to be the State's leading electrical provider. I am currently residing in
a regulated area but have suggested Stream Energy's outstandind services to
several of my friends! Needless to say, they are happy as well!

You should consider this as a viable option.

Charmaine from Austin
September 30th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not happy

(1.9 / 5)

  Prices started out alright, but went up steadily, with no warning, and difficult to get ahold of anyone in customer service. They promote themselves through private individuals.(MLM).

Bill from Mansfield
September 18th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad Online Services

(2.6 / 5)

  Service is ok but trying to get on line to make a payment is a joke. I don't want to belong to another company, I just wanted to make a payment as their statment says.

Pat Sheffield from DALLAS
August 15th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad Customer Service

(2 / 5)

  just got off phone with your customer service. have new contract which starts july 7, 2009 and new rate 4cents cheaper, however because old contract ended the 7th new one starts 8th i do not get new rate until next billing and there is nothing anyone can do [even the esclation dept]
so here i am expecting the new rate oh no no mrs. harrington you missed it by one day and no one on this planet can do any adjusting it is against policy. so i will probably pay, and cancel in 6 months when contract expires and i cannot wait this will be a belated CHRISTMAS
gift for me, i wish i could say i feel better i do not so i will end this with a rating stream energy a 3

Ms. Joan Harrington
August 12th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stream

(2.6 / 5)

  This company isnt the best in theo world but it has a good plan. I was unfortunatly pushed into the plan from my new landord. Its ok but I would rather have kept my old company.

Rachel M Rifon from Houston Texas USA
August 10th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

(2.2 / 5)

  I have been getting the run around from stream for 6months! They bill whatever they want and they refuse to take it off even when you prove they are wrong!!!RUN!!!!!

GSim
July 7th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions