We currently recommend electricity plans from Pulse Power and Spark Energy

Current customer

(3.2 / 5)

  Ive had Stream Energy since 2016 and I dont have any complaints with the price or having outages itself. Its mainly the customer service that drives me insane. The wait times are long no matter what time you call, and when you finally do get a rep 9 times out of 10 theyre rude and dont know what theyre talking about. Every time I call I usually get transferred 2-3 times because lack of knowledge unless Im only strictly calling about my bill.

Selena Vee from Odessa
July 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My payment was posted to the wrong account

(3.2 / 5)

  Never had a problem until now...I understand my bill was past due but I made my payment on 12/8 and it was due to be disconnected 12/11 if no payment was received...On 12/14 my lights were turned off because they claimed they didn't get my payment...I sent proof of bank statement and still it wasn't located...I called 12/20 about 3pm to check the status and the CSR said that there weren't any notes on my account about my non payment situation...So i went to my bank and had all bank statements printed up until May of this year to show proof of previous payments and emailed that to them...Then I called back about 5pm on 12/20 to make sure they received the email the rep told me that at 2pm my payment was found on the wrong account and transfered to my account...Even though I was grateful that my payment was found the rep couldn't explain how it is that I called through the payment system and still my payment went to the wrong account...My lights were turned off while I had a sick son at home but it was their fault of were my payment went and all I get is I'm sorry Ma'am...

Kat Gilstrap from Fort Worth
December 21st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Best rate in Abilene TX

(3.8 / 5)

  Best rate you can find in Abilene TX , as long as you pay your bill on time each month

Lisa Williams from Abilene
June 24th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ok while under contract then POW!

(3.4 / 5)

  Was billed through my regular electric company so no changes there. Under contract for 2 yrs., when that was over my bills for the next 3 months, until I switched back were outrageous. I paid almost $400 month, was told that my bills would have been more than $100 less with previous company. When I called to switch back & complained, I was told that it was because my contract was up, and they could offer me another contract. No thank-you!

Donna Webb from Villas
March 26th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No problems in two years of service

(3.4 / 5)

  I have had Stream for two years. Contract is up in April. They have contacted me via e-mail, phone and snail mail notifying me contract was due to end. The rate I have now is lower than what the renewal rate is and I can't find another company that is lower. I have auto payment through my credit card. I'll sign up with Stream again. Setting up initial service is quite cumbersome, but renewing is easy.

Jodi L. from Houston
February 8th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

killeen

(3.2 / 5)

  They are by far the cheapest company here in killeen. Haven't seem
to run into any issues other than their very rude customer service.
Have never been late or missed a payment except for one time
when I was in the field I called a day late and they were completely
rude Like it was her money. I felt as if I forgot to pay her directly.
The customer serivce needs to change

danielle from Killeen
May 1st, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gunnerbb

(3.7 / 5)

  I had no problems with Stream for the two years I was with them, but, when I tried to sign up again they did not want to talk to me.

A.J. McCann from Santa Fe
June 24th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Evolving Company

(3.5 / 5)

  I have been with Stream for a few years now. They have now incorporated better services and payment options that makes me hesitant to join a competing company. They have always given notices and reminders when I forget to pay, and never quickly to jump on cutting the power. They have even removed some fee's for me a few times. The prices aren't the absolute lowest, but peace of mind is worth more than $2-$3 a month.

Robert from Kemah
March 17th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Going Elsewhere for a better rate.

(3.2 / 5)

  Going Elsewhere for a better rate.

Avalon Pyramid Dojo from Princeton
March 7th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pleased!!

(3.8 / 5)

  I am another customer who is actually writing to say something good. I switched from Txu charging me 13 cent a kwh, and I locked in with stream at 8cent numbers don't lie. So I have been very pleased with the price difference. I pay by bill on time so have no reason to deal with customer service or have my electric cut off. But like everything else everyones experiences are different.

Anonymous from Grand Prairie
January 3rd, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good, But Raised Prices - Time to Move On

(3.8 / 5)

  We had Stream Energy "Clean 'n Green" for the past
18 months. We signed up originally because of the
price. Everything went very well! No complaints
about any aspect. Once, we renewed our contract,
as the price at that renewal was still
competitive.

Now, they don't have competitive prices any more.
We're going to a lower-cost provider.

C.E. Harbert from Austin
June 1st, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

EXCELLENT OPPORTUNITY

(3 / 5)

  I was fortunate enough to sign up to Stream 3 years ago when they were advertising 11.6 cents and I haven't had a complaint at all. Based upon their new pricing structure, I will sign up again.

robert decuir from Katy
March 7th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

brotha al

(3 / 5)

  THE COMPANY SEEMS TO BE PRETTY GOOD, I HAVE NOT HAD ANY COMPLAINTS AS OF NOW. I THINK MY ORIGINAL CONTRACT IS EXPIRING AND I DO NOT WHAT IS OR WILL HAPPEN FROM THAT POINT

AL GREEN from HUMBLE
March 1st, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

MIXED FEELINGS

(2.9 / 5)

  Getting electricity on was simple, and it was even on ahead of schedule, but after I had the power turned off and moved out I received a bill for a month I was not even living there.

WENDI from VICTORIA
February 6th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

satisfied customer

(3.1 / 5)

  5 to 7 days to process a bill is to long.

herman gordon from Houston
January 9th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just like any other electric company so far

(3.1 / 5)

  To me Stream seems like any other electric company. They all scare me ha ha. I've been with Stream for almost 2 years now. I haven't had any bad experiences yet except that they had to estimate my bill for the month that we had a hurricane which was pretty high...But, it worked out because then i didn't have to pay them for 2 months. Also, if you pay them late they charge you a fee...like any other But TXU would call threatening to cut the lights after 3 days! I've never had that with Stream. I'm a single mom so that's important.(and no, I don't do that very often, maybe once a year.) I see a lot of people are having issues when calling but I haven't had to call thank goodness. Most elect companies don't care about their customers once you are locked in so probably true. I rated Stream in the middle because i think they are average...not bad...just average. If anyone finds someone great please let me know :) So far I haven't had any reasons to switch.

Rach from Houston Area
November 23rd, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Reliable service overall

(3 / 5)

  Overall, stream energy provides reliable service. They were great through out Hurrican Ike. We have signed up and locked our rate it was the best. Our 3 year contract is up and we are looking for the best rate, but even more importantly clean energy.

Thelma from Houston
October 4th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stream is OK

(3.8 / 5)

  The power side is alright..easy to work with, even after disconnect, which was our oversight.

ZM from Fort Worth
July 7th, 2009

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions