Electric Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
Est Avg Bill
15 Month Fixed Rate
15 month
Fixed Rate
13.3¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
$133 est. avg. bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    10.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $160 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $137 est. avg. bill
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $149 est. avg. bill
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $132 est. avg. bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
  • Low Average Bill
  • Donates to Charity
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
  • 100% Solar Energy
  • Reduce your Carbon footprint
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    9.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $147 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $120 est. avg. bill
    Popular Plan
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $144 est. avg. bill
  • Big Time Bill Credit
  • No Monthly Base Charge
  • 12 months of bill stability
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $145 est. avg. bill
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $139 est. avg. bill
  • 24 month fixed rate plan
  • No base charge, no minimum usage fees
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    12.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $29 min balance
  • Prepaid - No Deposit EVER
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $125 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $134 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $142 est. avg. bill
  • Low rate!
  • Well known brand.
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $122 est. avg. bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $142 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $144 est. avg. bill
  • Great Plan for Medium Homes
  • $95 Bill Credit at 1k usage
  • 1 year of bill security
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $145 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
  • Tiered Rate Plan
  • 12 Month Contract
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $145 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $138 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    9.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $147 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    9.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $147 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $130 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
  • 100% renewable
  • Includes FREE Energy Savings Kit!
  • Super low green rate
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
  • 3 Year Price Protection
  • Stable, predictable rate
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
    Popular Long Term Plan
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $132 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $131 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
  • Two Year Price Protection
  • All Around Great Value
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $142 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    12.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $147 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $128 est. avg. bill
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • No minimum usage charges
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $121 est. avg. bill
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • 36 Month Flat Rate
    36 month
    Flat Rate
    24.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $243 est. avg. bill
    Best 24 Month Plan
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $132 est. avg. bill
  • 24 Month Locked-in price
  • Steady Rate regardless of usage
  • Great overall plan
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $138 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $133 est. avg. bill
  • 100% Renewable Energy
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $138 est. avg. bill
    Best Green Plan
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $134 est. avg. bill
  • Super Low Summer Rate!
  • 100% Renewable Energy!
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $132 est. avg. bill
    Best No Contract Plan
    1 month
    Variable Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $153 est. avg. bill
  • No Contract
  • Variable Rate
  • Low Credit
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $149 est. avg. bill
  • Bill Credits cut your bill in summer months
  • Enjoy smaller bills in summer
  • 12 Month Price Protection
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $143 est. avg. bill
  • No Minimum Usage Charge!
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • Bill Credits at 1k and 2k usage!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Flat Rate
    24 month
    Flat Rate
    24.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $241 est. avg. bill
    Prepaid - No Deposit
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    21.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $158 est. avg. bill
  • No Energy Charge on weekends!
  • No Delivery Charges on weekends!
  • Weekends start Friday @ 8:00 PM!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $138 est. avg. bill
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • Low Average Bill
  • No Surprises
  • No Pricing Gimmicks
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $129 est. avg. bill
  • No Pricing Gimmicks
  • Great for any size home
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $162 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $134 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $153 est. avg. bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $140 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $137 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $144 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    17.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $154 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $168 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    17.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $170 est. avg. bill
  • Solar Days: 5:00 a.m. through 7:59 p.m. each day
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    16.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $161 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $142 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $135 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    23.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $239 est. avg. bill
    6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $143 est. avg. bill
  • Beat the summer heat!
  • Steady, predictable rate
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $145 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $147 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    15.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $157 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $153 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $141 est. avg. bill
  • Popular Plan!
  • 12 months bill security
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    17.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $175 est. avg. bill

    The best review categories for Summer Energy are their plans and pricing, with an average of 1.9 stars, and their customer service, with an average of 1.6 stars.

    Recent Good Review from Medium Sized home owner

    Decent, but nothing extraordinary
    Good rates to start almost 3 years ago, but in the last 12-14 months I have seen my rate increase by more than 40% with no explanation. Even with their newest renewal options being lower than their rates 3 months ago, it is still a 35% increase in the last 12 months with is ridiculous. I'm going to call and see if they will offer me a rate closer to a year ago before I switch companies as I have already found several in my market that will beat them by almost 25% on average charges on both a 12 and 24 month lock in rate.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Medium Sized Home Owner from Copperas Cove, TX on November 20th, 2018


    Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

    16 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 5 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    PERFECT COMPANY TO USE!!
    Great rates! Nice people! Terms are clearly stated!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Ila from Spring, TX on October 16th, 2017
    Excellent company with great customer service
    These people have been wonderful to us and their rates could not be beat. Since we conserve on our utilities, we rarely go over the 500 kWh per month and they have never charged us that extra fee for not using enough electricity.

    We have been with them 3 years and I am about to renew for another year.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Marilyn Z from Frisco on June 6th, 2016
    The best light company
    I have had several other companies and Summer beats them in everything. Great pricing, great and super friendly customer service. Its a company that wants to have their customers happy. I will never switch any where else. I have recommended several friends and family to them and they have all been happy as well.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Vanessa A. from Houston on August 18th, 2015
    Great company to be with!!!
    I signed up with this company about a year ago, after several of months with company and no issues or surprises with my bill, referred it to my mother in law whom she is extremely satisfied with service. I would definitely encourage everyone to try it. One of the few electricity companies that is fair with prices, and excellent customer service.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Diego from Houston on September 21st, 2014
    Great Service, Great prices!!!
    I have been using Summer Energy for my electricity at both my home and business for almost two years now and I could not be more satisfied. When calling in to set up my account I was actually able to speak to a human, unlike most companies who make you go through several recordings first. They also were able to get me 2 cents cheaper on my business energy rate! I would recommend them to anyone!!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Josh Erickson from Houston on September 21st, 2014
    Summer Energy is a good company.
    I've used over 7 electric companies since moving to Texas. I've been with Summer for over a year now and would recommend them to all shoppers. They have excellent rates when you compare them to other offers. Their rates are all-in rates....while I was with Reliant I got a TDSP charges line item that was routinely 50% or more of my bill. Summer's prices are more in line with what you actually see when you get your bill.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jacob Lewis from Pearland on September 21st, 2014
    Great decision to switch
    I recently switched over to summer energy from a comptetitor and I am truely please with that decision. The service is excelent and the rates are more then fair. When I need to speak to a customer service rep it was easy and thy were very helpful. I would recommend sure energy to any one oft friends or relatives
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Bill Mitchell from Houston on September 19th, 2014
    Complete Company
    Low Prices....ANY questions answered in 1st call....multiple terms.....knowledgeable staff.....LOCAL TEXAS COMPANY! I have been with them 2 years and pay online every month with ease. If I ever have a question they answer quickly and correctly. All from a TEXAS based company not like the one from New Jersey or the one in bankruptcy.....
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Ila Warling from Houston on September 18th, 2014
    Great promotional rates!
    I've had Summery Energy for almost 15 months now. I signed up with them summer 2013 because they had a great 12 month promotional rate. I've had no problems, there have been no hidden fees, I read the Electricity Facts Label and they have billed accordingly. I'm surprised at the reviews on here, not getting bills, not getting notified about rate change, etc. I do auto pay, get a bill every month, was notified in plenty of time when my contract would expire and what the variable rate it would increase to if I did not choose a new plan. I renewed summer 2014 for an additional 3 months because they again had the best rate for a short period and I'v received my renewal notice with plenty of time to renew with them or switch to a new provider.

    Read your contract, print your documents, you shouldn't encounter any problems with these guys if you do your job.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    EC from Flower Mound on August 2nd, 2014
    Fair and Recommend
    I used Summer Energy when I bought my first home. I signed up for a fixed contract and got exactly what I signed up for, a fixed 8 cent contract for year. I paid my bills on time and had no problems. I'm leaving them only because another company is offering a 24 month deal, otherwise I would stay with them.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Juan Viera from Dallas on June 26th, 2014


    Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

    5 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Great Customer Service, Great Prices
    Have been extremely pleased with the customer service at Summer Energy. All my questions answered in a timely and polite manner. Never seemed to be an inconvenience to the reps, which is how I've felt when dealing to other companies. Great prices. Not paying an arm and a leg for electricity. Would definitely recommend.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Donald K. from Houston on September 19th, 2014
    Best Customer Service I've Ever Received
    Any time I call this company, I am always blown away by how incredibly helpful their customer service staff is. My rates are also not terribly high, though they do have a small one-time minimum usage fee. However, this fee does not apply if you are already an existing customer. If I had any complaint, it would be that you can only set your payment to one credit card, so I have to pay it in full and have my roommate reimburse me in cash.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Joshua from Houston on August 6th, 2014
    Pretty much like every other provider I have used
    My 12 month contract with Summer Energy is about to expire.
    During this year, they have given me an excellent electricity rate. The renewal rates are much higher, so I will be switching. That has pretty much been my experience with every electricity provider I have used, so I just get in the habit of changing. It's too bad it has to be that way; they are all pretty much guaranteeing NO customer loyalty.
    Be that as it may, during this year I have been quite satisfied with Summer. The only time I needed customer service, they were helpful and responsive. Otherwise, they sent bills that reflected the promised rate and I paid them. Easy.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Denise from Houston on June 25th, 2014
    Summer energy
    Great promotional deal. Wish that it lasted longer.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    John Doe from Houston on April 5th, 2014
    Great Customer Service
    I personally have had only good experience. Customer service is always so helpful and very patient. I am a single mom who has struggled from time to time to pay my bills and both Jeremy and Damaris work with me and even have waived my fees. I'm happy with Summer Energy and would not switch away.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Vanessa Portillo from Houston on October 9th, 2013



    Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

    5 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Decent, but nothing extraordinary
    Good rates to start almost 3 years ago, but in the last 12-14 months I have seen my rate increase by more than 40% with no explanation. Even with their newest renewal options being lower than their rates 3 months ago, it is still a 35% increase in the last 12 months with is ridiculous. I'm going to call and see if they will offer me a rate closer to a year ago before I switch companies as I have already found several in my market that will beat them by almost 25% on average charges on both a 12 and 24 month lock in rate.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Medium Sized Home Owner from Copperas Cove, TX on November 20th, 2018
    Time to eat my words
    Yesterday I gave a not so complimentary review of Summer Energy. I was upset because I felt like I had been taken advantage of because of being off contract. I wrote the review here and wrote an email to customer service all within an hour yesterday. Today I recieved a call from customer service wanting to "make it right". Apparently, the system never generated a notice for me that my contract was expiring. Since I wasn't notified Summer Energy's customer service gave me a credit for the overages I was charged and extended my contract at the low rate I was paying until my move date. (We are moving so I had to cancel my service and talk to them about my rate increase in one phone call.) The phone call yesterday got me nowhere, but today a representative called me and we had a pleasant conversation about what the problem was and what they would do to fix it. I was surprised and very thankful for Summer Energy taking the time to read my email, research my situation, then make it right all within one single day. Summer Energy just redeemed themselves in my book, and I take back my review from yesterday. I WOULD recommend Summer Energy but I do suggest you are very aware of your contract end date so you don't have to deal with any change in rates being off contract. Thank you for going above and beyond, Summer Energy.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Leslie from Mesquite on September 5th, 2014
    JV
    Haven't had any problems. Had a 12 month contract. No monthly fees as long as you used 500Kwh which wasn't a problem. Time to renew. I understand rates go up but went from 8.9 to 13.3 and now charging a 4.85 base fee on top of 9.95 for anything under 1000Kwh. Even in the summer we don't genereally go over 800, so i would be getting a 10.00 penalty charge for not using enough energy, when everyone preaches save energy? We are switching.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    JV from Hockley on July 17th, 2013
    My experience has been pretty goood
    No problems. Good rates. But its time to renew and they are offering higher rates to existing customers to renew with them than the rates they are offering to new customers.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Peter from Houston on April 17th, 2013
    No huge complaints...
    I've had Summer for the past 6 months, and it has went fairly well--no complaints. The rate I got was great, with no minimum usage charge which is huge to me. However, I will not be renewing because they now do charge the fee for under 1000 kw, so they are no longer the cheapest.

    They also need a more sophisticated web page--they teased at offering automatic billpay, but I saw one email and no option to sign up. Website was really garbage, but the service was just fine. If the price is right, I would go with them again for sure.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Keith from Houston on January 3rd, 2013



    Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

    6 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Shoulda kept looking
    1. Large up front deposit. Found out too late that there was a $100 fee to cancel service. Nothing in promo lit about that.
    2. When I called to turn off service, was told it took 10 days to process the cancellation paperwork and an add'l 10 days to process the return. 30 days later I called to find out where my refund was. It hadn't been submitted. Apparently, I shoulda placed a separate phone call to start that process. Now I have to wait an add'l 1 - 2 weeks to get my refund. Horrible way to do business. Now I'll call every couple of days to find out where my refund is until I have it in my hot little hand.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Shar-nMy-Pinion from 78765 on August 25th, 2021
    Utterly incompetent Billing that only exists to generate fees.
    I used online bill pay, like I have with every other company I deal with, and Summer Energy "says" that they didn't receive my money. Every other company will waive fees if there is a mistake, but of course they loaded me up with fees instantly, and generated disconnect notices. I would look for a more reputable company.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dan from Stafford, TX on March 5th, 2018
    The truth about the company
    So, I have been a customer for over a year now. I can't really say anything good nor bad. They do pretty much what they say they will do, but they don't always tell you what they are going to do. From observation, their strategy is to get you in the door with a low rate for 3 months. At the end of the 3 months you can expect the "Promotional Contract" to end. At that point the rates will increase somewhere around 40-60% if i recall correctly. Then the kicker is each month your rate will continually increase by a few % or so. EACH MONTH. After 1 year of service my rate is over double where is started. As for the customer service complaints I have read. Meh, half true, half not. I have submitted my payment via their site right on the dead line because i never got the bill but had that thought in the back of my mind its due any day now. I have also let it go past the due date by 1 day once and I have never been hit with a late fee. The customer service lady I have spoken to a few times has been congenial. All in all this is a run of the mill company turning a profit just like any other. As long as you stay on top of them, it is ok I suppose. I'm still switching to a different company though.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    James from Nrh on April 21st, 2014
    Believe the bad reviews
    This company will do anything to charge high late and other 'penalty' fees. So what if their price per kilowatt is low-they more than can make up for it with all their miscellaneous high charges. Ditto the negative reviews of other former subscribers.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Chm from Plano on July 28th, 2013
    Extremely Deceptive Business Practices
    This company has an extremely poor business model. Be very careful if you use an online bill pay service with this company since they do not accept electronic funds transfers. Your bank has to physically mail them a check and they will not post it until after your due date. They will then proceed to charge you a late fee for not paying on time. I had one bill that I paid on the 12th of the month and they didn't process my check until the 18th. The due date was the 15th of the month. They sent me a disconnect notice on the 18th and charged me a $20 notice fee on top of a late fee. I will not use this company ever again and am switching since I have fulfilled my contract. I will not recommend this company to anyone and in fact I will spread the word to never use such companies that have such deceptive business practices. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! THEY WILL FIND A WAY TO MAKE YOU PAY LATE EVEN PAYING SEVERAL WEEKS EARLY!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Chuck from Dickinson on July 18th, 2013
    Huge Deposit Charged to My Credit Card
    I signed up with Summer Energy online after searching rates through Power to Choose. I disclosed the appropriate info so they could check my credit. I have excellent credit by the way. Without notifying me, they charged my credit card $450 as a deposit.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dawn from Houston on June 7th, 2013



    Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

    43 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 1 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Summer Energy - Ridiculous fees
    I had Summer Energy as my electric provider- Be careful with their fees, if you are one day late on your monthly bill, they will send you a disconnection notice the next day and will charge you a $20.00 late fee and an additional $20.00 for the disconnection notice. I can understand if the bill was not paid within one or two weeks of the due date, but ONE DAY late & you'll GET A DISCONNECTION NOTICE - This only happened to me once, for I made sure I paid the bill before the due date - I was eager for the 3 month contract to end so I could switch electric providers, also made my self a note, never to sign up with this electricity provider again.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Summer Energy - EXTRA FEES from Houston, TX on March 4th, 2021
    Dishonest
    Very misleading business practices. Unlike other providers they are not up front about all fees. We were quoted a kwh rate and it was very competitive. Once we started to get billed there were many line items added resulting in a 57% higher rate in total then what we were quoted. They can change these extra line item rates at any time so the base quoted kwh contract is meaningless. They quoted me thousands to end the contract. Stay away
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Ryan G from Addison, TX on October 14th, 2020
    This is not a power company, this is a paperwork company
    I spent 2 weeks going in circles with this company trying to get power turned on. They kept asking me for documents about my home and then telling me the documents weren't sufficient so I would send more documents. I eventually gave up and went with a different company with a much higher rate, but at least they are a power company.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jake from Tyler, TX on September 14th, 2020
    Double charging disabled veteran for two plan rates during plan renewal months and higher fees than contract states.
    My contract was about to expire. I requested the lowest rate for a disabled, unemployed vet. Summer Energy quoted me a plan that was close to my current rate but still higher, and I agreed. They failed to explain that my rate would now be flexible due to TDU pass-through fees that fluctuate vs. the flat-rate plan I had always had.

    When I noticed the increase of $150 on this month's bill, I started crunching numbers.

    I immediately emailed Summer and was responded to informing me of the fee and how it was valid, per contract.

    I called Summer's fabulous fraudsters and spoke with customer service rep 1, who smugly told me I should understand energy terminology prior to agreeing to verbal contracts. Furthermore, the charges are valid. He said he could pull the audio recording to review. I asked to hear it for myself, and he said that's not possible. Only Summer can listen to it. However, be assured it's correct. REALLY?!?

    Next, I called back after viewing my contract in detail and learning all the terminology. I explained to the customer service rep 2 that the charges do not reflect the contract. The rate I was charged was 12.9 cents per kilowatt, not 9.1 cents that we agreed to. She told me I was wrong and refused to use her calculator to check the calculations. I questioned her ability to do simple math, and she said I dont have to check it because we have accounting people that will do it. "It's not my job." When I asked to speak with the accounting/billing department, I was told no. She assured me the charges were correct. I questioned the bill stating I wanted an itemized bill since I was being charged for two contract rates and want a statement that shows the break down for both set of days and usage. She told me they do not have to itemize the bill and could use an average. When I questioned how the average is calculated, she couldn't explain any reasoning that matched my current $530 bill with in reason. She just went on and on with the bill is higher because you used more electricity from last month, which has nothing to do with charging me TDU pass-through charges and the fixed-rate and fees. Nothing but excuses due to being ignorant and using traditional reflecting tactics to allude questioning customers. Deceptive practices are highly unlawful and should be reported to the state.

    Next, I called to speak with the supervisor. This took about 25 minutes of holding. Finally, I found someone who could do simple math calculations and listened. He looked at the bill and understood the problem immediately. The oversight was a known issue that was already addressed with staff that same day via email. He was very apologetic and assured me he would have accounting resolve the issue and credit the account.

    Check your bills, people! If I hadn't called, I would be out over $150. It makes me wonder how many people are overlooking this each time they re-sign an annual contract.

    Once my contract is up, we will be parting ways! Nothing worse than being taken advantage of in the middle of a pandemic. Shame on you!

    Your loyal customer,

    Karen

    PS- I hope Summer Energy gives the supervisor a raise. He was on point with his ability to calm the Karen!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Karen Guerrero from Richmond, TX on July 18th, 2020
    Customer Service is a Joke - Read other reviews
    Just check out their reviews, 46% 1 star ratings should tell you everything you need to know. Pricing is decent up front, then they fee you to death.

    I had an issue almost immediately with them denying my Letter of Credit to waive deposit even though I had been with my previous provider for 2+ years with no incident. I have never missed a bill payment but for them to charge a $450 deposit, that will "only be returned as a statement credit" is ridiculous. I basically had to pay for 4-6 months of service up front.

    Worst company ever, stay away! Check out TriEagle Energy, TXU, or someone else, anyone else!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    John from Georgetown, TX on May 29th, 2020
    Unethical business practices
    Prices were fair; customer service was polite; overall policies are unethical. We canceled due to moving out of our suite; the form was completed incorrectly by me and Summer Energy; even though we both made a mistake I was required to pay in full for 2 months of power that shouldn't have been in my name. It's par for big companies; it's hard to find good ethics anymore, consumers we have no rights.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Windrose Chiropractic from Spring, TX on March 19th, 2020
    HORRIBLE STAY AWAY!!
    Teaser rate to hook you and then they fee you to death.....look at their earnings and you will see they make tons on all their fees. Even after 8 years in business they still are losing money? How are they even around?
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Crazy No More! from Houston, TX on August 16th, 2019
    Mysteriously late arriving bill
    My bill arrived 8 days after their bill date but only 7 days before the bill was due. My only option was to pay the bill online and pay their 3.99 processing fee. I called customer service to find out what the problem was and was met with a not their problem attitude and told if the bill was late I would be charged a 10% late fee and it if was 15 days late, I would be served a termination notice. I assured the lady I wasnt planning to be late but was trying to figure out why it took 8 days to get their bill. No response!! I will not be renewing with them.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Frustrated!! from North Richland Hills, TX on October 12th, 2017
    Worst Electric Co ever
    BEWARE OF SUMMER ENERGY ELECTRIC COMPANY, they are by far the worst electricity provider, I don't see how they are even still in business...A moving company recommended them to me, so I guess they are all in it together, but Summer Energy jacks up your bill with hidden fees, disconnect your services before you are even 15 days past due without sending a disonnect notice even if you have never been late on your bill previously (but of course they say the did after 3 days past due), and the customer service is horrible on top of all that! Summer Energy does not value their reputable customers at all.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dissatisfied Customer from Irving, TX on April 3rd, 2017
    Liars and Cheats
    They sent me a letter saying they were changing the terms of service. They were adding processing fees to pay your bill. The letter said if this is not acceptable you may terminate the contract with no early termination fee if done within 14 Days. I called to verify the letter and informed them I would be terminating the contract. I changed to a different company in less than 14 days but still got a bill for a $200 early termination fee.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Edwin Lomax from Pasadena on June 1st, 2016


    Electric Plans & Rates


    Recommended Plans
    All Plans
    Plan Name
    Company
    /
    Rating
    Length
    Price
    Est Avg Bill
    15 Month Fixed Rate
    15 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $133 est. avg. bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    10.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $160 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $124 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $137 est. avg. bill
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $149 est. avg. bill
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $132 est. avg. bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
  • Low Average Bill
  • Donates to Charity
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
  • 100% Solar Energy
  • Reduce your Carbon footprint
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    9.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $147 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $120 est. avg. bill
    Popular Plan
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $144 est. avg. bill
  • Big Time Bill Credit
  • No Monthly Base Charge
  • 12 months of bill stability
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $145 est. avg. bill
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $139 est. avg. bill
  • 24 month fixed rate plan
  • No base charge, no minimum usage fees
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $126 est. avg. bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    12.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $29 min balance
  • Prepaid - No Deposit EVER
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $125 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $134 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $142 est. avg. bill
  • Low rate!
  • Well known brand.
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $122 est. avg. bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $142 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $144 est. avg. bill
  • Great Plan for Medium Homes
  • $95 Bill Credit at 1k usage
  • 1 year of bill security
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $145 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $136 est. avg. bill
  • Tiered Rate Plan
  • 12 Month Contract
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $145 est. avg. bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $138 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    9.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $147 est. avg. bill
    36 Month Bill Credit